
BE SURE OF
YOUR TARGET—
AND BEYOND

Be Aware of all SAFETY ZONES

VIOLATION FIRST OFFENSE REPEAT OFFENSES

Deer Permit Violations Up to $300 Up to $500
(Hunting without permit, Loss of License
wrong season, wrong 
zone, permit transfer)

Hunting within 450 ft. of a Up to $300 $1,500;
school playground Permanent Loss
or building of License

Injury to another person Up to $2,000 Up to $4,000;
Loss of License Permanent Loss

of License 

Damage to crops or Up to $2,000 + Up to $2,000 +
other property Restitution for damages Restitution for

Loss of License damages
Permanent Loss
of  License 

Careless use of weapon Up to $500 Up to $500
(shooting into safety zone, Loss of License Loss of License
handling weapon
in unsafe manner)

Trespass Up to $200 Up to $500
Loss of License

The Perfect
Deer Feed!

PLUS…
most sweet
potatoes are
too large
and heavy
for a squirrel to remove.

Deer love sweet potatoes!

Sweet potatoes, a locally available 
feed source that is economical,

nutritious and very popular with deer.
Buy direct from the farmer!

For more information, and local
sources of New Jersey sweet potato
farmers offering deer feed, contact:
The New Jersey Sweet Potato Industry
Commission at: 609-292-8856
c/o Logan Brown.

ONE FLEW OVER
THE HEDGEROW

Our 2002-2003 Commercial Preserve Hunting Season…
Starts on October 1 and runs through March 30

WE CAN SHOOT 7 DAYS A WEEK!!!

20 Pheasants Minimum Weekend • 10 Pheasant Minimum Weekday
Try our 10-20 men Tower ShootsANNUAL

PIG
ROAST One Flew Over the Hedgerow Hunting Preserve

is located 45 minutes from Philadelphia  on the
Franklinville, Buena Vista Township border.

(856) 728-6454
For live Quail—

Call Buck Levari (609) 476-3662
www.hedgerowfarms.com





Special Area Hunting Season Information
All state game laws and regulations apply to special areas.

Only ONE antlered deer may be taken per season, regardless of the number of permits possessed. 
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Atlantic County Park System (Zone 61):
Hunters wishing to hunt Atlantic County

Park System will need to apply for a Zone 61
permit through the mail. Please use the
enclosed permit application.

Zone 61 is not open on Christmas Day.
Permit Bow Season—October 26, 2002 to

January 31, 2003 (78 days)—bag limit—unlimit-
ed antlerless deer per permit. Only ONE antlered
deer may be taken statewide during the permit
bow season, regardless of the number of permits
purchased. A total of 30 permits will be available.

Permit Muzzleloader Season—December 2,
3, 16, 17, 21–24 and 26–31, 2002; and, January
1–10, 2003 (21 days)—bag limit—unlimited
antlerless deer per permit. Only ONE antlered
deer may be taken statewide during the permit
muzzleloader season, regardless of the number of
permits purchased. A total of 30 permits will be
available.

Six-day Firearm Season—December 9–14,
2002—bag limit—two antlered deer.

Permit Shotgun Season—December 9–14
and 18–20, 2002 (9 days)—bag limit—unlimited
antlerless deer per permit. Only ONE antlered
deer may be taken statewide during the permit
shotgun season, regardless of the number of
permits purchased. A total of 80 permits will be
available.

Bayside Tract:
The Nature Conservancy currently manages

this PSE&G property, located within Greenwich
Township in Cumberland County. Deer hunting
opportunities are available on the 4,500-acre site.
The Bureau’s Deer Research Project recommends
that deer season dates, bag limits, and state
hunting regulations for Deer Management Zone
29 apply on the Bayside Tract. An access permit
issued by The Nature Conservancy is required
(there is no charge for the access permit). Permit
applications, maps and site-specific regulations
may be obtained by calling The Nature
Conservancy at (609) 861-0600.

Earle Naval Weapons Station Depot
(Zones 39 and 40):

Not open to the general public. Unless you are
a Civilian Employee or Military assigned to the
Base, you are NOT eligible to hunt at Earle NWS.
Bring your completed applications to the Station’s
annual Hunter Orientation. Permits for Zones 39
and 40 will only be sold at Earle NWS. If you
have any questions please contact Ray Green—
Station Game Warden at (732) 866-2708.  Earle
NWS allows hunting on Christmas and New
Year’s Days. 

Earle Naval Weapons Station (Zone 39) will
be open for deer hunters as follows:

Fall Bow Season (Zone 39)—September
28–October 25, 2002—bag limit—unlimited
antlerless deer. Only ONE antlered deer may be
taken statewide during the fall bow season.

Permit Bow Season (Zone 39)—October
26–December 31, 2002 (57 days)—bag limit—
unlimited antlerless deer per permit. Only ONE
antlered deer may be taken statewide during the
permit bow season, regardless of the number of
permits purchased. The permit quota is set at 110
permits.

Six Day Firearm Season (Zone 39 only)—
December 9–14, 2002—bag limit—two antlered
deer.

Permit Muzzleloader Season (Zone 39)—
December 2–7, 16–21, 23–28, 30–31, 2002;
January 1–31, 2003 (47 days)—bag limit—
unlimited antlerless deer per permit. Only ONE
antlered deer may be taken statewide during the
permit muzzleloader season, regardless of the
number of permits purchased. Two deer may 
be taken at one time. The permit quota is set at 
60 permits.

Permit Shotgun Season (Zone 39)—
December 7, 21, 28, 2002; January 4, 11, 18 and
25, 2003 (7 days)—bag limit—unlimited
antlerless deer per permit. Only ONE antlered
deer may be taken statewide during the permit
shotgun season, regardless of the number of
permits purchased. Two deer may be taken at one
time. The permit quota is set at 180 permits.

Winter Bow Season (Zone 39)—January
1–31, 2003—bag limit—unlimited antlerless
deer. Only ONE antlered deer may be taken
statewide during the winter bow season.

Earle Naval Weapons Station (Zone 40) will
be open for deer hunters as follows:

Fall Bow Season (Zone 40)—September
7–October 25, 2002—bag limit—unlimited
number of antlerless deer. The first deer must be
antlerless. Only ONE antlered deer may be taken
statewide during the fall bow season. Any antlered
buck taken in Zone 40 must have at least one
antler with at least three points.

Permit Bow Season (Zone 40)—October
26–December 31, 2002 (57 days)—bag limit—
unlimited antlerless deer per permit. Only ONE
antlered deer may be taken statewide during the
permit bow season, regardless of the number 
of permits purchased. The first deer must be
antlerless. Any antlered buck taken in Zone 40
must have at least one antler with at least three
points. The permit quota is set at 80 permits.

Permit Muzzleloader Season (Zone 40)—
November 2, 9, 16, 23 and 30 and Dec. 16–21,
2002 (11 days)—bag limit—unlimited antlerless
deer per permit. Only ONE antlered deer may be
taken statewide during the permit muzzleloader
season, regardless of the number of permits
purchased. The first deer must be antlerless. Any
antlered buck taken in Zone 40 must have at least
one antler with at least three points. Two deer may
be taken at one time. The permit quota is set at 50
permits.

Permit Shotgun Season (Zone 40)—Dec.
16–21, 2002 (6 days)—bag limit—unlimited
antlerless deer per permit. Only ONE antlered

deer may be taken statewide during the permit
shotgun season, regardless of the number of
permits purchased. The first deer must be
antlerless. Any antlered buck taken in Zone 40
must have at least one antler with at least three
points. Two deer may be taken at one time. The
permit quota is set at 50 permits.

Winter Bow Season (Zone 40)—January
1–31, 2003—bag limit—unlimited number of
antlerless deer. The first deer must be antlerless.
Only ONE antlered buck may be taken statewide
during the winter bow season. Any antlered buck
taken in Zone 40 must have at least one antler with
at least three points.

Federal Aviation Administration William
J. Hughes Technical Center (Zone 66):

The FAA Technical Center had cancelled its
deer management program for the 2001–02 
season as a result of the national tragedy of
September 11, 2001. It is hoped that a deer
management program will be reinstated in time
for the 2002–03 seasons. For further information
contact FAA Technical Center at (609) 485-4938.

Fall Bow Season—September 28 to October
25, 2002—bag limit—unlimited antlerless deer.
Only ONE antlered buck may be taken per season.
Any antlered buck taken in Zone 66 must have at
least one antler with at least three points.

Permit Bow Season—October 26 to
December 31, 2002 (56 days)—bag limit—
unlimited antlerless deer per permit. Only ONE
antlered buck may be taken statewide during the
permit bow season, regardless of the number of
permits purchased. Any antlered buck taken in
Zone 66 must have at least one antler with at least
three points. Some areas may be closed during
days of firearm deer hunting. A total of 100
permits will be available.

Permit Muzzleloader Season—December
2–7 and December 14, 21 and 28, 2002 (9 days)—
bag limit—unlimited antlerless deer per permit.
Only ONE antlered buck may be taken statewide
during the permit muzzleloader season, regardless
of the number of permits purchased. Any antlered
buck taken in Zone 66 must have at least one
antler with at least three points. A total of 10
permits will be available.

Permit Shotgun Season—December 2–7 and
December 14, 21 and 28, 2002 (9 days)—bag
limit—unlimited antlerless deer per permit. Only
ONE antlered buck may be taken statewide during
the permit shotgun season, regardless of the num-
ber of permits purchased. Any antlered buck taken
in Zone 66 must have at least one antler with at least
three points. A total of 55 permits will be available.

Winter Bow Season—January 1–31, 2003—
bag limit—unlimited antlerless deer per permit.
Only ONE antlered buck may be taken statewide
during the winter bow season. Any antlered buck
taken in Zone 66 must have at least one antler with
at least three points.

(continued on page 37)
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The permit quota is set at 100 permits for Zone 37
and 25 permits for Zone 52.

Winter Bow Season—January 1–31, 2003—
bag limit—two deer—only one antlered deer may
be taken statewide during the winter bow season.

Fort Dix Military Reservation (Zones 37 and
52) will be CLOSED to all hunting on December
25, 2002 and January 1, 2003.

High Point State Park (Zone 67) 
High Point State Park (Zone 67) will be open

for deer hunting to properly licensed hunters during
the Permit Muzzleloader season only. The Park will
be closed to hunting at all other times. Hunters
wishing to hunt High Point State Park will need
to apply for a Zone 67 permit through the mail.
Please use the enclosed permit application.

Permit Muzzleloader Season—November
11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19, 20, 21, 2002 (8 days)—bag
limit—Unlimited antlerless deer per permit. Only
one antlered deer may be taken statewide during
the permit muzzleloader season, regardless of the
number of permits purchased. The permit quota is
set at 350 permits. All hunters are required to har-
vest an antlerless deer first. Hunters that success-
fully harvest an antlerless deer may then harvest
an antlered deer with at least three points on one
side. Antlered deer that do not have at least three
points on one side may not be harvested in High
Point State Park at any time. 

The Quality Deer Management program will
continue in Deer Management Zone 66. Antlered
bucks must have at least one antler with at least
three points to be harvested during all open
seasons.

Fort Dix Military Reservation 
(Zones 37 and 52):

Persons interested in hunting on Fort Dix
Military Reservation should call (609) 562-6667
or (609) 562-4676 for general information and fee
schedules. Hunters must comply with all Fort Dix
regulations. Persons hunting on Fort Dix must pay
an annual fee of $18.50. When hunting, hunters
must sign in and out at Range 14 on a daily basis.
Military training will take precedence over
hunting. Hunters should be familiar with several
hunting areas in case their preferred area is closed
on a given day. As a result of September 11, 2001
and increased security measures, up to 50% of
Zone 37 will remain closed until further notice.
Contact Fort Dix directly for further information.

Permits for Zones 37 and 52 will be sold
only at the Fort Dix Recreation Center.

The Quality Deer Management Program will
continue during the 2002–03 deer hunting seasons
in Zone 37. The program will include a point
restriction on all antlered deer taken in this zone.
Specifically, Fort Dix will require that any
ANTLERED buck taken in Zone 37, during any
season, must have at least one antler with at least
three points. An antler point is defined as at least
one inch long from its tip to its base line, and the
length must exceed the width at some location at
least one inch down from the tip. Fort Dix is closed
to hunting on Christmas and New Year’s Day.

Fort Dix Military Reservation (Zone 37 and
Zone 52) will be open for deer hunting to properly
licensed hunters as follows:

Fall Bow Season—September 28– October
25, 2002—bag limit—two deer—only one
antlered deer may be taken statewide during the
fall bow season.

Permit Bow Season—October 26–November
23 and November 28–30, 2002 (28 days)—bag
limit—two deer per permit- only one antlered
deer statewide during the permit bow season,
regardless of the number of permits purchased.
The permit quota is set at 116 permits for Zone 37
and 65 permits for Zone 52.

Six-day Firearm Season—December 9–14,
2002—bag limit—two antlered deer. 

Permit Muzzleloader Season—November
4–8, December 9–14, 16–21, 23, 24, 26, 27, 2002
(21 days)—bag limit—two deer per permit—only
one antlered deer may be taken during the permit
muzzleloader season, regardless of the number of
permits purchased.  The permit quota is set at 100
permits for Zone 37 and 180 permits for Zone 52.

Permit Shotgun Season—December 28,
2002 (Saturday),—bag limit—one deer per
permit – only one antlered deer may be taken
statewide during the permit shotgun season,
regardless of the number of permits purchased.

All deer hunters will be restricted to that
portion of High Point State Park located north and
east of Route 23 during the first four days of the
hunt (November 11, 12, 13, and 14, 2002). Both
sides of Route 23 will be open November 18, 19,
20, and 21, 2002. No hunters are permitted in the
park before 6:00 am or after 6:00 p.m.

Maps of High Point State Park and
regulations will be distributed with all Zone 67
permits. In addition to a valid rifle permit, hunting
license, and Zone 67 muzzleloader permit, the
Division of Parks and Forestry will charge each
hunter a non-refundable $15.00 administration
fee. A receipt will be issued to each hunter when
the fee is collected. This receipt must be carried
while hunting. 

The High Point State Park Office is located at
1480 Route 23 South, in Sussex. For additional
information contact the High Point State Park
office at 973-875-4800.

Hunterdon County Park System:
Parks within the Hunterdon County Park

System that are open to hunting require an access
permit, in addition to the necessary hunting
license and/or deer permit. Applications are
available at the Hunterdon County Park office on
Route 31, Flemington. Call (908) 782-1158 for
more information.

(continued on page 38)
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Lakehurst Naval Air Engineering Station
(Zone 53):

All sportsman considering hunting on
Lakehurst NAES for any season should contact
John Joyce, Naval Air Engineering Station,
Code 872, Route 547, Lakehurst, NJ, 08733-5065
or call 732-323-2911. There will be VERY limited
public hunting for hunters who are sponsored by
current members of the Navy Lakehurst Rod and
Gun Club. Zone 53 state permits for the three
permit seasons (bow, muzzleloader and shotgun)
will be sold only at Lakehurst.

Fall Bow Season—September 28–October
25, 2002—bag limit—two deer—only one
antlered deer may be taken statewide during the
fall bow season.

Permit Bow Season—October 26–November
23 and November 28–30, 2002 (28 days)—bag
limit—two deer per permit—only one antlered
deer may be taken statewide during the permit
bow season, regardless of the number of permits
purchased. The permit quota is set at 35 permits.

Six-day Firearm Season—December 9–14,
2002—bag limit—two antlered deer.

Permit Muzzleloader Season—November
30; December 2–7, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 23, 24,
26, 27, 28, 30, 31, 2002; Jan 1–10, 2003 (29
days)—bag limit—two deer per permit—only
one antlered deer may be taken statewide during
the permit muzzleloader season, regardless of the
number of permits purchased. The permit quota is
set at 60 permits.

Permit Shotgun Season—Saturday, January
11, 2003—bag limit—one deer per permit—only
one antlered deer may be taken during the permit
shotgun season, regardless of the number of permits
purchased. The permit quota is set at 31 permits.

Winter Bow Season—January 1–31, 2003—
bag limit—two deer—only one antlered deer may
be taken statewide during the winter bow season.

Lizard Tail Swamp Preserve:
The Nature Conservancy manages this 400-

acre preserve, located within Middle Township in
Cape May County. Approximately 340 acres are
jointly owned by the Division and The Nature
Conservancy, and are open to deer hunting. The
Bureau’s Deer Research Project recommends that
deer season dates, bag limits and state hunting
regulations for Deer Management Zone 34 apply
on Lizard Tail Swamp. An access permit issued by
The Nature Conservancy is required (there is no
charge for the access permit). Permit applications,
maps and site-specific regulations may be
obtained by calling The Nature Conservancy at
(609) 861-0600.

Mercer County Parks:
Baldpate Mountain, located in Hopewell

Township, Mercer County (Zone 41) will most
likely be open for some portions of the 2002-03
deer hunting season. The details of the 2002-03
hunting program including season dates, bag
limits, access permits, fees and parking
information have not been finalized. Persons

wishing to hunt Baldpate Mountain should 
contact the Mercer County Park Commission at
(609) 989-6540 in the beginning of September
2002. Deer hunting in Baldpate Mountain is
prohibited at all other times.

Howell Living History Farm, located in
Hopewell Township, Mercer County (Zone 41)
will be open for limited permit muzzleloader and
winter bow hunting. Additional information
including, season dates, maps and access permits
MUST be obtained by calling the Howell Living
History Farm at (609) 737-3299 prior to
purchasing a deer permit. There is a $5 processing
fee. Deer hunting in Howell Living History Farm
is prohibited at all other times. Those hunters
interested in hunting Baldpate Mountain
should call 609-989-6540.

Monmouth Battlefield State Park  (Zone 64):
The Permit Shotgun season will be four days.

Hunt dates are scheduled for Wednesday, January
15; Friday, January 17; Wednesday, January 22;
and Friday, January 24, 2003. The bag limit for
Zone 64 is unlimited antlerless deer per permit.
Only ONE antlered deer may be taken statewide
during the permit shotgun season, regardless of
the number of permits purchased. Two deer may
be taken at one time. The park is closed to hunting
at all other times.

The permit quota for Zone 64 for the 2002-03
hunting season will be 100 permits. Successful
applicants will be permitted to hunt all four days
of the hunt dates. In addition, hunters are required
to attend a hunter orientation session. All hunters
MUST attend the session. The orientation
session will be held at 6:30 p.m. on Wednesday,
January 8, 2003. There are NO EXEMPTIONS
for hunters who have attended an orientation
in the past. This is due to changes in safety
zones and regulations because of increased
development around the park. The orientation
will be held at the Monmouth County Library
Headquarters, 125 Symmes Drive (off U.S. Hwy.
Rt. 9), in Manalapan Township. Additional
information regarding special regulations, and
directions regarding orientation sessions will be
mailed to successful applicants by January 1,
2003. If hunters can not attend the orientation
session, it is recommended that they do not apply
for a Zone 64 shotgun permit. Zone 64 permittees
will NOT be given a refund. Hunters wishing to
hunt Monmouth Battlefield State Park will need to
apply for a Zone 64 permit through the mail.
Please use the enclosed permit application. Any
left over permits will ONLY be sold at the Central
Region Office.  

Permit holders must comply with State Park
regulations. Only shotgun slugs, number 4 buck-
shot or number 000 buckshot will be permitted 
for use during the permit shotgun season at
Monmouth Battlefield State Park (Zone 64).

Morris County Park System:
The Black River County Park located in

Chester Township, Schooley’s Mountain County
Park located in Washington Township, Silas

Condict County Park located in Kinnelon, and the
Mahlon Dickerson Reservation, located in
Jefferson Township, under the stewardship of the
Morris County Park Commission will be open for
deer hunting during portions of the Permit
Shotgun season only. 

Hunters will be required to have a Zone 8
permit as well as an access permit from the Park
Commission to hunt in the Black River County
Park in Chester Township and the Schooley’s
Mountain County Park in Washington Township.
It is recommended that you have permission to
hunt in an alternative location in Zone 8, as you
may not be selected in the Park Commission’s
lottery. The program is filled on a first-come basis.

The Mahlon Dickerson Reservation in
Jefferson Township and the Silas Condict County
Park in Kinnelon will be open for a controlled
hunt during the Permit Shotgun season. Hunters
will be required to have a Zone 6 permit as well as
an access permit from the Park Commission. It is
recommended that you have permission to hunt in
an alternative location in Zone 6, as you may not
be selected in the Park Commission’s lottery. The
program is filled on a first-come basis. 

Black River County Park
Permit Shotgun Season—Nov. 26 and Dec.

18, 2002 and Jan. 7 and 23, and February 6,
2003—bag limit—Unlimited antlerless deer 
per permit. Only ONE antlered deer may be 
taken statewide during the permit shotgun 
season, regardless of the number of permits
purchased. Hunters in the Black River Park 
are required to take two antlerless deer prior to
taking an antlered deer. 

Mahlon Dickerson Reservation and 
Silas Condict County Park

Permit Shotgun Season—Dec. 18, 2002—
bag limit—one deer per permit—only ONE
antlered deer may be taken statewide during the
permit shotgun season, regardless of the number
of permits purchased. Hunters at Mahlon
Dickerson and Silas Condict are required to take
two antlerless deer prior to taking an antlered deer,
regardless of the Zone 6 season bag limit. Because
the season bag limit for Zone 6 is one deer, any
hunter wishing to harvest an antlered buck at
Mahlon Dickerson Reservation or Silas Condict
County Park must purchase two Zone 6 shotgun
permits. Any antlered buck taken from Zone 6,
including Mahlon Dickerson Reservation and
Silas Condict County Park, must have at least one
antler with at least three points.

Schooley’s Mountain County Park
Permit Shotgun Season—Nov. 26 and Dec.

18, 2002 and Jan. 9 and Feb. 4, 2003—bag
limit—Unlimited antlerless deer per permit. Only
ONE antlered deer may be taken statewide during
the permit shotgun season, regardless of the
number of permits purchased. Hunters are
required to take two antlerless deer prior to taking
an antlered deer.

Anyone interested in hunting on the Black

(continued on page 39)
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BAIT and TACKLE

OPEN 7 DAYS
NJ Deer Check 

Deer Butchering
Fresh & Saltwater Bait

Fishing Equipment

(973) 956-0825
10 ALBION AVE.

PATERSON, NJ 07502
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BOB’S
LITTLE

SPORT SHOP
Indoor Pistol and Archery Range
Hand Guns • Shotguns • Rifles • Archery

State & Federal Licensed

316 N. Delsea Dr. • Glassboro NJ 08028

856-881-7575
Fax: 856-881-8477

www.bobslittlesportshop.com
HOURS:

MON.–FRI. 10 am–9 pm
CLOSED FOR DINNER 5 pm–6:30 pm

SAT. 10 am–5 pm

River Park, the Mahlon Dickerson Reservation,
the Silas Condict park or Schooley’s Mountain
Park must obtain an application from the Morris
County Park Police Headquarters located at 300
Mendham Road (approximately 3 miles west of
Morristown). Applications must be picked up in
person Monday through Friday, between the hours
of 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. A non-refundable, $15
processing fee for Morris county residents ($30
fee for non-county residents) must be paid by
applicants at that time. Hunters will be offered a
$5.00 rebate for each doe harvested, up to the
actual registration fee. Applications must be
submitted by September 1. Successful applicants
will be notified by October 1. All participants will
be required to attend an orientation seminar (date
to be announced). Additional information may be
obtained by contacting the Morris County Park
Police at 973-326-7632.

Newark Watershed:
Most of Newark Watershed is located in Zone

3 and a portion of the property is located in Zone
6. People interesting in hunting the portion of
Newark Watershed property located in either Zone
3 or Zone 6 please refer to the Set Of
Regulations—Set 2 for season dates and bag
limits. Zone 3 and Zone 6 permits will be
available over the counter at select license agents
beginning September 7, 2002. Any antlered buck
taken in either Zone 3 or Zone 6 must have at least
one antler with three antler points.

No deer hunting is permitted in Newark
Watershed in the month of January. In addition to
the hunting license and/or deer permit, hunters are
required to obtain an access permit to hunt on
Newark Watershed property. A fee of $30 will be
charged for non-residents of Newark City (other
fees apply to Newark residents and senior
citizens). Applications for access permits are
available at the Newark Watershed office, 223
Echo Lake Rd., Newfoundland, NJ. Please call
973-697-2850 for more information. 

Picatinny Arsenal (Zone 54):
Picatinny Arsenal is not open to the general

public for hunting. Picatinny Arsenal is open to
deer hunting for Picatinny Arsenal employees and
designated persons only. Zone 54 bow, shotgun
and muzzleloader permits will be available for
sale at Picatinny Arsenal. Contact Jonathon Van
De Ventor at 973-724-4691 for information on
applying for a zone 54 permit. Picatinny is open
on Christmas and New Year’s Days.

Fall Bow Season—September 28–October
25, 2002—bag limit—unlimited antlerless deer.
Only ONE antlered deer may be taken statewide
during the fall bow season.

Permit Bow Season—October 26—
December 31, 2002 (57 days)—bag limit—
unlimited antlerless deer. Only ONE antlered deer
may be taken statewide during the permit bow
season, regardless of the number of permits in
possession. The permit quota is set at 40 permits. 

Six-day Firearm Season—December 9–14,
2002—bag limit—two antlered deer. 

Permit Muzzleloader—Dec. 2, 3, 16,17, 21,
23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 30, 31, 2002 and Jan. 1–4,
and 6–10, 2003. (22 days)—bag limit—unlimited
antlerless deer. Only ONE antlered deer may be
taken statewide during the permit muzzleloader
season, regardless of the number of permits in
possession. The permit quota is set at 25 permits.

Permit Shotgun—December 21, 2002 and
January 11, 2003 (2 days)—bag limit—unlimited
antlerless deer. Only ONE antlered deer may be
taken statewide during the permit shotgun season,
regardless of the number of permits in possession.
The permit quota is set at 25 permits.

Winter Bow—January 1–31, 2003—bag
limit—unlimited antlerless deer. Only ONE
antlered deer may be taken statewide during the
winter bow season. 

Rancocas State Park (Zone 48):
Designated areas of the Park will be open for

deer hunting during the Fall Bow, Permit Bow and
Winter Bow Seasons. During these seasons, the
season dates, bag limits, and State hunting regula-
tions for Deer Management Zone 48 will apply to
Rancocas State Park. Detailed maps of the hunt
areas and additional information MUST be
obtained prior to hunting Rancocas State Park.
This information can be obtained by calling (609)
726-1191 or by writing to Rancocas State Park,
c/o Lebanon State Forest, PO BOX 215, New
Lisbon, NJ 08064. Deer hunting in Rancocas
State Park is prohibited at all other times.

Round Valley Recreation Area:
Round Valley Recreation Area is no longer

designated as Special Management Zone 60. Hunters
wishing to hunt Round Valley Recreation Area
must have a Zone 12 permit for the appropriate
season and be registered with the Park office. All
regulations applicable to Zone 12 will apply to Round
Valley Recreation Area. Park applications will be
available at the Park this fall and will be accepted on
a first-come, first-served basis. Please call (908)
236-6355 for applications and/or information.

Fall Bow Season—A proposed Fall Bow
season is planned for a limited number of hunters
at portions of Round Valley Recreation Area not
open to shotgun hunting.—bag limit—unlimited
antlerless deer. Only ONE antlered deer may be
taken statewide during the fall bow season. Please
call after September 2, 2002 for more information.

Permit Bow Season—A proposed Fall Bow
season is planned for a limited number of hunters at
portions of Round Valley Recreation Area not open
to shotgun hunting.—bag limit—unlimited antler-
less deer. Only ONE antlered deer may be taken
statewide during the permit bow season, regard-
less of the number of permits in possession. Please
call after September 2, 2002 for more information.

Permit Shotgun Season—December 18, 19,
20, 2002 and January 10 & 11, 2003.—bag
limit—unlimited antlerless deer. Only ONE
antlered deer may be taken statewide during the
permit shotgun season, regardless of the number
of permits in possession. Access will be limited to
50 hunters per day. Zone 12 regulations apply.

Six-Mile Run Reservoir State Park:
Designated portions of the Six-Mile Run

Reservoir property will be open for deer hunting
during the fall bow, permit bow and winter bow
seasons only. Six Mile Run Reservoir State Park is
located in Zone 14. Please refer to the Set of
Regulations—Set 8 for season dates and bag lim-
its for Zone 14 and contact the Delaware-Raritan
Canal State Park office at 732-873-3050 for a map
of the areas open for deer hunting.

Spruce Run Recreation Area:
A proposed fall bow and permit bow season is

planned for a limited number of hunters at Spruce
Run Recreation Area. Call (908) 638-8572 after
September 2, 2002 for more information. Zone 7
regulations will apply.

Deer Hunting on National Wildlife
Refuges in New Jersey

Most State laws relating to deer hunting apply
to New Jersey’s National Wildlife Refuges. How-
ever, special U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service regu-
lations are in effect throughout all authorized deer
hunting seasons. Hunters should take notice that the
following, additional regulations apply to all National
Wildlife Refuges (Refuges) in New Jersey:
1. The State regulation which allows deer hunters

to hunt over bait does NOT apply to National

(continued on page 42)
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Wildlife Refuges. Hunting over bait or
distributing bait is prohibited on all
National Wildlife Refuges.

2. The use of a spotlight, or other artificial light
including automotive headlights, for the
purpose of spotting, locating, or taking any
wildlife on a National Wildlife Refuge is
prohibited. This regulation applies to all
persons regardless of whether or not they have
a weapon or firearm in their possession. 

3. Firearm hunters (shotgun and muzzleloader)
must wear an outer garment consisting of at
least 400 square inches of solid fluorescent
orange while deer hunting on national wildlife
refuges. The amount of fluorescent orange
required to hunt on a national wildlife refuge 
is double the amount required by New Jersey
regulations.

4. Entry is prohibited on Refuge lands posted
“Area Closed” and on Refuge roadways posted
with “Inholders Only” signs.

5. The use of nails, wire, screws or bolts to attach
a stand to a tree, or hunting from a tree into which
a metal object has been driven to support a
hunter, is prohibited on National Wildlife Refuges.

Most refuges can accommodate
individuals who have obtained a permit for
handicapped hunters from the New Jersey
Division of Fish & Wildlife, including permits
to hunt from vehicles. Interested individuals
should contact Refuge in advance of the deer
hunting seasons.

In addition to the regulations outlined above
the following information is provided about
individual Refuges:

Cape May National Wildlife Refuge:
Cape May NWR be open for all six deer

seasons. Season dates, bag limits and state hunting
regulations for Deer Management Zone 34 apply
on the Refuge in addition to the regulations out-
lined above. 

Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife
Refuge (Zones 56, 57, and 58):

Hunters wishing to hunt on the Edwin B.
Forsythe NWR will need to apply for Zone 56,
57 and/or 58 permits through the mail. Please
use the enclosed permit application. Any left
over permits for the Edwin B. Forsythe NWR will
be purchased as over-the-counter permits from the
Nacote Creek Research Station only. Bow, shot-
gun and muzzleloader permits will be available for
sale on or about September 30, 2002. Call the
permit hotline in mid-September at (609) 292-
9192 for the exact date. Permits will be available
for sale until October 16, 2002 or until they are
sold out, whichever comes first. Due to the limited
availability of shotgun permits for Zone 56,
permits will be sold on a first come, first served
basis until all permits are sold. No Exceptions!
The purchase of a Zone 22, 42, and/or 51
permit does not allow you to hunt anywhere on
the E.B. Forsythe NWR!

Special Area Hunting Season Information
(continued from page 39)
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For all permit sales, permit purchases must be
done in person by the person whose name will be
on the permit. All hunters who obtain a deer
permit must have their permit validated before
they are allowed to scout or hunt on the refuge.
Validation of permits must be done at either the
Brigantine or Barnegat Divisions during business
hours (8:00 am–4:00 p.m., Monday–Friday), at
the orientation sessions, or during the first day of
the Nacote Creek Research Station over-the-
counter sales. Permit validation must be done in
person by the person whose name appears on the
permit. Those wishing to have their permits
validated at the Barnegat Division, please call
(609) 698-1387 prior to coming to the station
headquarters. Scouting is only permitted on the
two Sundays prior to the opening of the permittees
corresponding season. Only designated sections of
the Edwin B. Forsythe NWR will be open for deer
hunting. All other areas are CLOSED.

Hunters who will be hunting the Edwin B.
Forsythe NWR for the first time are required to
attend a hunter orientation session prior to hunting
or scouting. Orientation sessions will be held at
the Brigantine Division on Sunday, October 6, and
Sunday, November 17, 2002. Orientation sessions
will be held at the Barnegat Division on Sunday,
October 20, and Sunday, November 24, 2002. All
sessions begin at 10:00 am. All attendees will be
allowed to scout after that days orientation
session. For additional and updated hunting
information at the Edwin B. Forsythe NWR,
please call (609) 652-1665, or by Internet at
http://forsythe.fws.gov/.

Edwin B. Forsythe NWR (Zone 56) will be
open for deer hunting to properly licensed
hunters as follows:

Permit Shotgun Season—December 16–20,
2002 (5 days)—bag limit—unlimited antlerless
deer per permit. Only ONE antlered deer may be
taken statewide during the permit shotgun season,
regardless of the number of permits purchased.
Successful hunters will be required to register
their deer at the Division’s Nacote Creek Office,
where biologists will collect biological informa-
tion from refuge deer. Hunters have the option of
taking two deer at a time during the permit
shotgun season. This will allow a hunter the
opportunity of shooting two deer while in the field
during the permit shotgun season. This will also
allow a hunter the opportunity of shooting two
deer before going to the check station. Zone 56
will be closed to deer hunting at all other times. A
total of 25 permits will be available.

Edwin B. Forsythe NWR (Zone 57 & 58) will
be open for deer hunting to properly licensed
hunters as follows:

Permit Bow Season—October 26 to
November 23 and November 28–30, 2002 (28
days)—bag limit—unlimited antlerless deer per
permit. Only ONE antlered deer may be taken
statewide during the permit bow season,
regardless of the number of permits purchased. A
total of 40 permits for Zone 57 and 50 permits for
Zone 58 will be available.

Permit Muzzleloader Season—December 2,
3, 16, 17, 21, 23, 24, 26–31, 2002 and January
1–10, 2003 (21 days)—bag limit—unlimited
antlerless deer per permit. Only ONE antlered
deer may be taken statewide during the permit
muzzleloader season, regardless of the number of
permits purchased. A total of 40 permits for Zone
57 and 50 permits for Zone 58 will be available.

Permit Shotgun Season—December 9–14,
2002 and January 11–31, 2003 (24 days)—bag
limit—unlimited antlerless deer per permit. Only
ONE antlered deer may be taken statewide during
the permit shotgun season, regardless of the
number of permits purchased. Zones 57 and 58
will be closed to deer hunting at all other times. In
addition, all Zone 57 hunters who harvest deer on
December 11–13, will be required to check their
deer at the Division’s Nacote Creek Office, where
biologists will collect biological information from
refuge deer. A total of 40 permits for Zone 57 and
50 permits for Zone 58 will be available.

Great Swamp National Wildlife Refuge
(Zone 38):

The refuge will be open for Permit Shotgun
and Permit Muzzleloader hunting only. Great
Swamp NWR will be closed to hunting at all 
other times.

Permit Shotgun and Permit
Muzzleloader— December 4–December 7,
2002—bag limit—Unlimited antlerless deer per
permit. Only ONE antlered deer may be taken
statewide during the permit shotgun and permit
muzzleloader seasons, respectively, regardless of
the number of permits purchased. The Refuge
emphasizes the harvest of adult does and manages
for older age-class bucks. Hunters have the option
of taking two deer at a time during the permit
shotgun season and permit muzzleloader seasons.
This will allow a hunter the opportunity of
shooting two deer at once before going to the
check station. In addition, one antlered deer per
season is allowed for those hunters whose first
antlerless deer is an adult doe. The harvest strategy
will emphasize the harvest of adult does and
hopefully decrease the harvest of fawns. The daily
quota of hunters allowed afield is 250.
Historically, hunters have had at least three days
of hunting. Twenty muzzleloader permits and 480
shotgun permits will be available. Hunters
wishing to hunt Great Swamp Nat’l. Wildlife
Refuge will need to apply for a zone 38 permit
through the mail. Please use the enclosed
application. Shotgun and muzzleloader permits
for Zone 38 leftover after the initial mail-in lottery
will be sold at the Great Swamp Refuge Head-
quarters on Sunday, November 3, from 1–5 p.m.,
and on Monday, November 4, from 8 a.m.–4 p.m.

In addition to the Zone 38 shotgun and/or
muzzleloader permit issued by the NJ Division of
Fish and Wildlife, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service will charge a $22 fee ($11 for those
persons with Golden Age or Golden Access
passports) for issuance of a federal hunting permit.
The federal permit will be issued free of charge to

(continued on page 43)
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hunters under the age of 17. The Refuge will
supply specific information regarding this fee, and
hunt procedures and regulations, after applicants
have received their state permit. For further
information, please contact Craig Bitler, Refuge
Wildlife Biologist, at 973-425-1222 Extension 15.

Supawna Meadows National 
Wildlife Refuge (Zone 59):

Hunters wishing to hunt Supawna
Meadows National Wildlife Refuge will need to
apply for a Zone 59 permit through the mail.
Please use the enclosed permit application.

The Quality Deer Management program will
continue in Deer Management Zone 59. Antlered
bucks must have at least one antler with at least
three points to be harvested during all open
seasons. Zone 59 will have an 11-day permit
muzzleloader season, and a permit shotgun season
consisting of three, 3-day segments. Supawna
Meadows NWR (Zone 59) will be open for deer
hunting to properly licensed hunters as follows:

Permit Bow Season—October 26 to November
23, 2002 (25 days)—bag limit—unlimited
antlerless deer per permit. Only ONE antlered
deer may be taken statewide during the permit
bow season, regardless of the number of permits
purchased. A total of 35 permits will be available.

Permit Muzzleloader Season—December
16–21 and 23, 24, 26–31, 2002 (12 days)—bag
limit—unlimited antlerless deer per permit. Only
ONE antlered deer may be taken statewide during
the permit muzzleloader season, regardless of the
number of permits purchased. Two deer may be
harvested at a time. A total of 25 permits will be
available.

Permit Shotgun Season—December 5–7,
2002 (first segment); December 26–28, 2002
(second segment); and January 23–25, 2003 (third
segment)—bag limit—unlimited antlerless deer
per permit per segment. Only ONE antlered deer
may be taken statewide during the permit shotgun
season, regardless of the number of permits
purchased. Two deer may be harvested at a time. A
total of 25 permits will be available for each

segment (a total of 75 shotgun permits).

Wallkill River National Wildlife Refuge:
Designated areas of the Refuge will be open

for deer hunting during the Fall Bow, Permit Bow,
Permit Muzzleloader, Permit Shotgun and Winter
Bow Seasons. Deer hunting in Wallkill River NWR
is prohibited at all other times. Wallkill River
National Wildlife Refuge is located in Zone 2.
Please refer to the Set of Regulations—Set 4 for
season dates and bag limits for Zone 2. Because
hunt areas change each year, new hunt maps are
required. Detailed maps of the hunt areas, a list of
additional regulations and a signed access permit
from the Refuge MUST be obtained prior to
scouting or hunting the Refuge. The access permit
is free and must be carried by the hunter at all
times when on Refuge property. The permit is
non-transferable. Current hunt maps, information
and access permits will be available by August
15th and can be obtained by calling 973-702-7266
or by writing Wallkill River National Wildlife
Refuge, 1547 County Route 565, Sussex, NJ 07461.

Special Area Hunting Season Information
(continued from page 42)

Zone No. 1: That portion of Sussex County lying within a
continuous line beginning at the intersection of Rt. 521
(River Rd.) and Mashipacong Rd.; then west along the
northern boundary of the Delaware Water Gap National
Recreation Area to the east bank of the Delaware River;
then north along the east bank of the Delaware River to
the New York State line; then east along the New York
State line to Rt. 519; then south along Rt. 519 to its
intersection with Rt. 206 at Branchville; then northwest
along Rt. 206 to the intersection with Rt. 560; then west
along Rt. 560 to the intersection with Ridge Rd.; then
north on Ridge Rd. to the intersection with Rt. 646; then
east on Rt. 646 to the intersection with Rt. 645 in
Hainesville; then north on Rt. 645 to the intersection with
Rts. 206 and 521; then north on Rts. 206 and 521 to
Montague; then north on Rt. 521 (River Rd.) to the
intersection with Mashipacong Rd., the point of beginning.
The island of Mashipacong lying in the Delaware River is
included in this zone. High Point State Park (Zone 67) is
excluded from Zone 1.

Zone No. 2: That portion of Sussex County lying within a
continuous line beginning at the intersection of Rt. 94 and
the New York State line; then south along Rt. 94 to its
intersection with Rt. 23 at Hamburg, then southeast along
Rt. 23 to its intersection with Rt. 517 at Franklin; then
south along Rt. 517 to its intersection with Rt. 206 at
Andover; then north along Rt. 206 to its intersection with
Rt. 519 at Newton; then north along Rt. 519 to the New
York State line; then east along the New York State line to
Rt. 94 to the point of beginning.

Zone No. 3: That portion of Sussex, Morris, Passaic, and
Bergen counties lying within a continuous line beginning
at the intersection of Rt. 94 and the New York State line;
then east along the New York State line to its intersection
with Rt. 202 near Suffern; then south along Rt. 202 to its
intersection with Rt. 23; then west along Rt. 23 to its
intersection with Rt. 94 at Hamburg; then north along Rt.
94 to the point of beginning on the New York State line.

Zone No. 4: That portion of Sussex and Warren counties
lying within a continuous line beginning at the intersection
of Rt. 521 (River Rd.) and New Mashipacong Rd.; then
running along Rt. 521 to the intersection with Rt. 206 in
Montague; then south on Rt. 206 to the intersection with
Rt. 645 (Layton-Hainesville Road); then south on Rt. 645
to the intersection with Rt. 646 in Hainesville (Jagger

Road); then west on Rt. 646 to the intersection with Ridge
Rd.; then south on Ridge Rd. to the intersection with Rt.
560 (Dingman’s Bridge Road); then southeast along Rt.
560 to its intersection with Rt. 206; then south on Rt. 206
to the intersection with the base of the Kittatinny Ridge at
Culvers Inlet; then southwest along the east base of the
Kittatinny Ridge to the Delaware River at the Delaware
Water Gap north and west of Quarry Road; then north
along the east bank of the Delaware River to the northern
park boundary of the Delaware Water Gap National
Recreation Area; then east along the northern park
boundary of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation
Area to Rt. 521 (River Rd.), the point of beginning.
Namanock, Minisink, Depew, Tocks, Poxono and Labar
Islands in the Delaware River are included in this zone.

Zone No. 5: That portion of Warren and Sussex counties
lying within a continuous line beginning at the intersection
of the base of the Kittatinny Ridge and Rt. 206 at Culvers
Inlet; then southeast along Rt. 206 to its intersection with
Rt. 519 at Branchville; then south along Rt. 519 to its
intersection with Rt. 206 at Newton; then south along Rt.
206 to its intersection with Rt. 517 at Andover; then south
along Rt. 517 to its intersection with Rt. 46 at
Hackettstown; then west along Rt. 46 to its intersection
with the Delaware River at Manunkachunk; then north
along the east bank of the Delaware River to its intersec-
tion with the Zone 4 boundary at the Delaware Water Gap
north and west of Quarry Road then northeast along the
base of the Kittatinny Ridge to its intersection with Rt.
206, the point of beginning.

Zone No. 6: That portion of Morris, Sussex, Passaic,
Warren and Essex counties lying within a continuous line
beginning at the intersection of Rt. 80 and Rt. 517 at
Allamuchy; then northeast along Rt. 517 to its intersection
with Rt. 23 at Franklin; then southeast along Rt. 23 to its
intersection with Rt. 80; then west along Rt. 80 to the
point of beginning at Allamuchy. Picatinny Arsenal (Zone
54) is excluded from Zone 6.

Zone No. 7: That portion of Hunterdon and Warren
counties lying within a continuous line beginning at the
intersection of Rts. 31 and 78 at Clinton; then north along
Rt. 31 to its intersection with Rt. 46 at Buttzville; then west
on Rt. 46 to the Delaware River at Manunkachunk; then
south along the east bank of the Delaware to its
intersection with Rt. 78 at Phillipsburg; then east along Rt.
78 to the point of beginning at Clinton.

Zone No. 8: That portion of Hunterdon, Morris, Somerset
and Warren counties lying within a continuous line begin-
ning at the intersection of Rts. 22 and 206 near Somerville;
then north along Rt. 206 to its intersection with Rt. 80 near
Netcong; then west along Rt. 80 to its intersection with Rt.
517 at Allamuchy; then south along Rt. 517 to its intersec-
tion with Rt. 46 at Hackettstown; then west along Rt. 46 to
its intersection with Rt. 31 at Buttzville; then southeast
along Rt. 31 to its intersection with Rt. 22 at Clinton; then
east along Rt. 22 to the point of beginning at Somerville.

Zone No. 9: Those portions of Morris and Somerset
counties lying within a continuous line beginning at the
intersection of Rt. 206 and Rt. 80 near Netcong; then east
along Rt. 80 to its intersection with Rt. 46; then east on Rt.
46 to the intersection with Rt. 10 in Ledgewood; then east
on Rt. 10 to the intersection with Morris Tpk.; then east
and south on Morris Tpk. to Calais Rd.; then west on
Calais Rd. to Combs Hollow Rd.; then south on Combs
Hollow Rd. to Calais Rd.; then south on Calais Rd. to
Mountain Ave. in Mendham; then south and east on
Mountain Ave. to Hilltop Rd. (Rt. 525); then south on Rt.
525 to the intersection with Rt. 78; then west on Rt. 78 to
the intersection with Rt. 206 near Pluckemin; then north
on Rt. 206 to the intersection with Rt. 80 in Netcong, the
point of beginning.

Zone No. 10: That portion of Hunterdon and Warren
counties lying within a continuous line beginning at the
intersection of Rts. 31 and 12 in Flemington; then north
along Rt. 31 to its intersection with Rt. 78 at Clinton; then
west along Rt. 78 to the Delaware River at Phillipsburg;
then south along the east bank of the Delaware River to
Rt. 12 at Frenchtown; then east along Rt. 12 to the point
of beginning at Flemington.

Zone No. 11: That portion of Hunterdon County lying
within a continuous line beginning at the intersection of
Routes 12 and 31 and 202 at Flemington; then southwest
along Route 202 to the Delaware River; then northwest
along the east bank of the Delaware River to its intersec-
tion with Route 12 at Frenchtown; then east along Route
12 to the point of beginning at Flemington. Shyhawks,
Treasure, Rush, Bull and Eagle Islands lying in the
Delaware River are in this zone.

(continued on page 46)


