
Resource Information

Methods of Recreational Fishing

Wanton Waste Prohibited

Spear Fishing

Prohibited Species

Sea Turtles & Marine Mammals

Finfish
Filleting

Black Sea Bass  

Bluefish

Black Drum

Red Drum

Striped Bass (includes Hybrid Striped Bass)

>

This is not the full law. Consult the Division of Fish and Wildlife for further details. 
All persons are reminded that the statutes, code and regulations are the legal authorities.  

Red text in regulations indicates a change for this year.
Purple text denotes proposed regulation changes anticipated to be in effect later in 2009.

Black Sea Bass

Striped Bass
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Striped Bass Closed Seasons

Striped Bass Bonus Program 

Sharks

Summer Flounder (Fluke)

Tautog (Blackfish)

Weakfish (Gray & Spotted Seatrout)

Winter Flounder

Additional Marine Fishing Regulations

Shark

Total Length

Alternate Length

Fork Length
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Motor Boat and Jet Ski Operator License
A motorboat/jet ski operator license is required to operate these on fresh, non-tidal 
waters such as lakes, creeks and rivers for those 16 years or older. All persons who 
wish to operate a power vessel must possess a Boating Safety Certificate by June 1, 
2009. Visit the Motor Vehicle Commission Web site for more information.
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission 
Boat Operators License  
(888) 486-3339 toll free in NJ or (609) 292-6500 from out-of-state 
www.nj.gov/mvc/about/site_index.htm
Boating safety courses  
(800) 336-2628
BoatUS Foundation 
www.BoatUS.com/courseline
For New Jersey State Police, boating laws clarification, call (609) 882-2000, or visit 
their Marine Services Bureau online at: www.nj.gov/lps/njsp/maritime/index.html
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Motor Boat Title and Boating Operator Requirements
Registration
Most boats must be registered to operate on New Jersey waterways. All titled 
boats must be registered also. Any boat (including jet skis and non-titled 
watercraft), mechanically propelled (motorized), regardless of length, must 
be registered. Boats greater than 12 feet in length, regardless of propulsion 
means, must be titled and registered at an MVC office.
Boats and marine equipment which need not be registered:

 Those not based in New Jersey or operating here less than 180 consecutive days
 Ship’s lifeboats
 Non-motorized vessels used exclusively on small lakes and ponds on 
private property
 Racing vessels with New Jersey State Marine Police permit
 Non-motorized inflatable device, surfboard, racing shell, dinghy, canoe or kayak
 Non-motorized vessel less than 12 feet in length

Title
For use on New Jersey waterways, all boats more than 12 feet in length must be 
titled, with the exception of ship’s lifeboat, canoe, kayak, inflatable, surfboard, 
rowing scull, racing shell, tender/dinghy used for direct transportation between a 
vessel and shore for no other purposes. 
For more information, visit the MVC Web site at nj.gov and click on the Motor 
Vehicle Commission link, or stop by an MVC office or call (609) 292-6500.
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Take a  
friend fishing!
The memories will last a lifetime.

FREE Freshwater Fishing Days 
— June 6 and 7, 2009 —

On these two days, residents and non-residents may 
fish New Jersey’s public fresh waters without a license 

or trout stamp. All other regulations, including size and 
daily catch limits, remain in effect.

Federal Registry and State Marine Licensing Requirements

Delaware Fishing License Requirement

New York License Requirement

 Bait Fish

State Police Marine Law Enforcement Stations
Bivalve .................................................................................... (856) 785-1330
North Wildwood ....................................................................... (609) 522-0393
Atlantic City ............................................................................ (609) 441-3586
Burlington ............................................................................... (609) 387-1221
Ocean ...................................................................................... (609) 296-5807
Point Pleasant ......................................................................... (732) 899-5050
Monmouth Station ................................................................... (732) 842-5171
Lake Hopatcong ....................................................................... (973) 663-3400
Newark Bay ............................................................................. (973) 578-8173
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 Horseshoe Crabs

 Mollusks

 Recreational Shellfish License

½
½

 Crustaceans
American Lobster

¼ 

Crabs

½
½

Measure crabs point to point.

Lobster

V notch

1½""
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2009 New Jersey Recreational Fishing Seasons, 
Minimum Size & Possession Limits (Regulations in red are new this year.)

Species Open Season Minimum  
Length

Harvest &  
Possession Limit 

(per person unless noted)

American Eel No Closed Season 6" 50

Black Druma No Closed Season 16" 3

Black Sea Bassa Jan. 1–Dec. 31 12.5"* 25
Bluefish No Closed Season None 15
Cobia No Closed Season 37" 2
Cod No Closed Season 21" No Limit
Haddock No Closed Season 21" No Limit
King Mackerel No Closed Season 23" 3
Pollock No Closed Season 19" No Limit
Red Drum No Closed Season 18" 1 not greater than 27"
River Herring No Closed Season None 35

Scup (Porgy)
Jan. 1–Feb. 28
July 1–Dec. 31

9" 50

Shad No Closed Season None 6

Sharka   
except prohibited speciesc No Closed Season 48" 2 per vessel

Smooth Dogfisha No Closed Season None No Limit
Spanish Mackerel No Closed Season 14" 10
Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass

Delaware River & tributaries** 
(Calhoun St. bridge to Salem 
River & tributaries)

March 1–March 31  
and  

June 1–Dec. 31

28" 2
Delaware River & tributaries** 
(upstream of Calhoun St. bridge) March 1–Dec. 31

Atlantic Oceand 
(0–3 miles from shore )

No Closed Season

March 1–Dec. 31
3–200 miles 
(federal waters) Prohibited  – 0

Summer Flounder May 23–Sept. 4 18" 6

Tautog

Jan. 1–April 30 14" 4
May 1–July 15 – 0

July 16–Nov. 15 14" 1
Nov. 16–Dec. 31 14" 6

Weakfish No Closed Season 13" 6

Winter Flounder March 23–May 21 12" 10

Note: No species of fish with a minimum size limit listed above may be filleted or cleaned at sea (except 
striped bass if fillet is at least 28" long). Party boats licensed to carry 15 or more passengers may apply 
for a permit to fillet the above species, except striped bass, at sea. See Summer Flounder, page 12.

Blue Crab

peeler or shedder No Closed Seasone 3"
1 bushelsoft No Closed Seasone 3½"

hard No Closed Seasone 4½"
Lobster (carapace length) No Closed Season 33/8" 6
Hard Clam (license required) No Closed Season 1½" 150 clams

  a Regulation changes possible during 2009.
 b Not including dogfish; see description on page 12 under Sharks.
 c See page 11 for a list of Prohibited Species.
 d Atlantic Ocean greater than three miles from shore: harvest and possession prohibited.
 e Unless using non-collapsible, Chesapeake-style crab pots. See sections on crab pots, pages 14 and 19.
 * Excluding tail filaments. (See illustration, page 11.) 
 ** See Closed Seasons (page 12) for specifics of springtime non-offset circle hook requirements.

Commercial Shellfish License

½
½

Scott’s Bait & Tackle Super Store

57 Main St, Bradley Beach
732-988-6450

www.ScottsBaitAndTackle.com

All Your Fresh & Saltwater Needs!
2 Striper Surf Tournaments

5 Winning Places • $10.00 Entry Fee
Bonus: $50.00 • Largest Bass Each Month

April 1st & Sept. 1st
s

Fee

2

5 W

1 doz. free clams
Visit store for details

Use this ad for 10% off your next purchase!
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2009 Federal Recreational Regulations for Minimum Size, Possession Limits and Seasons
See New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife Recreational Fishing Seasons Minimum Size and Possession Limits (page 15) for species not included in these 
federal regulations. For federal regulation questions, please contact the National Marine Fisheries Service at (978) 281-9260, or go to www.nmfs.noaa.gov.

Species Season Minimum Size
Possession Limit  

(number per angler per day  
unless otherwise specified)

Notes

Striped Bass Possession prohibited in federal waters (3–200 nm). See pages 11 and 15 for NJ waters.

Dolphin  
(Mahi mahi) Year round None

10, not to exceed 60 per vessel, which ever 
is less — except on a charter or headboat, 

then 10 per paying passenger.

For current regulations refer to  
www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/  
or call (978) 281-9260.

Year round 66" lower jaw  
fork length None

Billfish require Highly Migratory Species (HMS) permit 
when fishing in federal waters (3–200 nm). For permits 
refer to www.hmspermits.gov or call (888) 872-8862. 

During any sanctioned billfish tournaments offering prize 
money, non-offset circle hooks are required for lures 
with natural bait or natural/artificial bait combos. Refer to 
www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/ or call (978) 281-9260. 

All non-tournament billfish landings must be 
reported to NMFS within 24 hours, either online at 
www.hmspermits.gov or by calling (800) 894-5528. 

For current regulations refer to www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/ 
or call (727) 824-5399.

Year round 99" lower jaw  
fork length None

Sailfish Year round 63" lower jaw 
fork length None

Longbill None None Prohibited

Golden Tilefish Year round None None For current regulations, refer to www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/  
or call (978) 281-9260.

Swordfish Year round 47" lower jaw  
fork length

For anglers: 1 per person, no more than  
4 per vessel per trip.

For charter vessels: 1 per paying passenger, 
no more than 6 per vessel per trip.

For headboat vessels: 1 per paying passen-
ger, no more than 15 per vessel per trip. Swordfish, Tuna and Sharks require an HMS permit when 

fishing in Federal Waters (3–200 nm). For permits, refer to 
www.hmspermits.gov or call (888) 872-8862. 

All non-tournament swordfish landings must be 
reported to NMFS within 24 hours either online at 
www.hmspermits.gov or by calling (800) 894-5528. 

All recreational bluefin tuna landings must be 
reported to NMFS within 24 hours either online at 
www.hmspermits.gov or by calling (888) 872-8862. 

For current regulations refer to 
www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/ or call (301) 713-2347 for 
swordfish/sharks or (978) 281-9260 for tunas.

(Longfin) Year round None None

Year round 27" curved  
fork length None

Jan 1–Dec 31, 2009 
or until season  

is closed

27 to <47" curved  
fork length

1 per vessel per trip per day,  
but can vary through season

47 to <73" curved  
fork length

1 per vessel per trip per day,  
but can vary through season

≥73 curved  
fork length 1 per vessel per year

Year round None None

Year round 27" curved  
fork length 3 per person per trip

 
Large Coastal*

Year round >54", 4.5ft, or 1.37m  
fork length

One Shark (of any species, except 
prohibited species) per vessel per trip;  
plus one Atlantic sharpnose shark per 

person per trip (no minimum size);  
plus one bonnethead shark per person 

per trip (no minimum size).

See below for list of shark groups which MAY be kept or 
MUST be released. Swordfish, tuna and sharks require an 
HMS permit when fishing in federal waters (3–200 nm). 
For permits, refer to www.hmspermits.gov or call 
(888) 872-8862. Recreational fishermen (those that do 
not have a limited access commercial shark permit) can 
not sell, barter or trade any Atlantic shark or shark pieces.

 
Small Coastal*

* Shark Species That May Be Kept: Large Coastal Shark—blacktip, bull, lemon, nurse, tiger, spinner, scalloped hammerhead, smooth hammerhead, great 
hammerhead; Small Coastal Shark—Atlantic sharpnose, bonnethead, blacknose, finetooth; Pelagic Shark—Shortfin mako, blue, porbeagle, oceanic whitetip 
and common thresher. Shark Species That MUST Be Released: Atlantic angel, basking, bigeye sand tiger, bigeye sixgill, bigeye thresher, bignose, 
Carribean reef, Carribean sharpnose, dusky, Galapagos, longfin mako, narrowtooth, night, sandbar, sand tiger, sevengill, silky, sixgill, smalltail, whale and white.

Regulations concerning highly migratory species (HMS) such as tuna, swordfish, shark and billfish, are subject to change. Refer to www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/ 
for a list of complete federal regulations for highly migratory species. For questions/clarification of the federal highly migratory species regulations, contact the 
National Marine Fisheries Service at (301) 713-2347 or go to www.nmfs.noaa.gov.
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SHELLFISH LICENSE INFORMATION

Shellfish License Fees

TERRAPIN EXCLUDERS AND BIODEGRADABLE PANELS 
ARE REQUIRED ON CHESAPEAKE-STYLE CRAB POTS

½

SHELLFISH AND NON-COMMERCIAL  
CRAB POT LICENSE AGENTS 
ATLANTIC COUNTY 
Egg Harbor True Value, 208 N. Philadelphia Ave., Egg Harbor City .. (609) 965-0815
Fish Finder Marina, 3645 Atlantic-Brigantine Blvd., Brigantine ......... (609) 457-5384
Main Street Hardware, 6016 Main St., Mays Landing…………. ...... (609) 625-4941
NJ Div. Fish and Wildlife, 360 Rt. 9 N (milepost 51) ........................ (609) 748-2021
Zeus Sporting Goods, 6679 Black Horse Pike, Egg Harbor Twp...... (609) 646-1668
CAMDEN COUNTY
Towne News, 81 So. Whitehorse Pike, Berlin ................................. (856) 768-9132
CAPE MAY COUNTY 
Avalon Hodge Podge, 2389 Ocean Dr., Avalon ............................... (609) 967-3274
Beaver Dam Boat Rentals, 514 Old Beaver Dam Rd., Newport ...... (856) 447-3633
Belleplain Supply, 346 Handsmill Rd., Bellplain ................................ (609) 861-2345
Budd’s Bait & Tackle, 109 Fullingmill Rd., Villas ................................ (609) 886-6935
Capt. Tate’s Tackle Box, 450 No. Route 47, Cape May CH ............. (609) 861-4001
City of Ocean City, 861 Asbury Ave., Ocean City............................ (609) 525-9328
Just Sports, 21 W. Mechanic St., Cape May CH ............................ (609) 465-6171
Upper Township, 2100 Tuckahoe Rd., Tuckahoe  ............................ (609) 628-2805
Wal*Mart, 3159 Rt. 9S, Rio Grande ................................................ (609) 465-7760 
CUMBERLAND COUNTY 
Big Daddy’s Sport Haven, 595 Sherman Ave., Millville .................... (856) 453-9009
Delaware Bay Office, 1672 E. Buckshutem Rd., Millville ................. (856) 785-0730
Shire Products, 389 S. Lincoln Ave., Vineland  ................................ (856) 692-3646
GLOUCESTER COUNTY 
Sportsman’s Outpost, 2517 Fries Mill Rd., Williamstown ................ (856) 881-3244
MERCER COUNTY
Brunswick Sports, 1177 Brunswick Ave., Trenton ........................... (609) 392-4444
MIDDLESEX COUNTY
Auto Parts of Woodbridge, 108 Main St., Woodbridge .................... (732) 634-6264
Sayreville Sportsman Shop, 52 Washington Ave., Sayreville ........... (732) 238-2060
MONMOUTH COUNTY 
Brielle Tackle, 800 Ashley Ave., Brielle ............................................ (732) 528-5720
L & H Woods and Water, 2045 Rt. 35, Wall ..................................... (732) 282-1812
T & A Tackle and Bait, 369 Rt. 36, Port Monmouth .......................... (732) 787-3853
OCEAN COUNTY
American Sportsman, 857 Mill Creek Rd., Manahawkin .................. (609) 597-4104
Bob Kislin’s, 1214 Rt. 37 East, Toms River ...................................... (732) 929-9300
Chumbucket, 381 Rt. 9, West Creek .............................................. (609) 294-2500
Downes Bait & Tackle, 287 Brennan Concourse, Bayville ................ (732) 269-0137
Fish Bonz Bait & Tackle, 103 Lacey Rd., Forked River ..................... (609) 971-2928
Grizz’s Forked River B & T,232 N. Main St., Forked River ................ (609) 693-9298
Lacey Marine, 308 Rt. 9, So., Forked River ..................................... (609) 693-0151
L & H Woods and Water, 403 Rt. 9, Waretown ................................ (609) 242-1812
Pell’s Fish & Sport Shop, 335 Mantoloking Rd., Bricktown .............. (732) 477-2121
Surf City Bait & Tackle, 317 Long Beach Blvd., Surf City ................. (609-494-2333
Tip’s Hardware, 218 Main St., West Creek ...................................... (609) 296-3192
SOMERSET COUNTY
Efinger Sporting Goods, 513 W. Union Ave., Bound Brook ............. (732) 356-0604

May 2009 For more information contact New Jersey  New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest | 19
 Division of Fish and Wildlife at (609)292-2965 2009 Marine Issue  

Shellfish & Crab Information
LICENSE AND AGENTS




