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License Information
& Fees 2018-19°

Licenses are valid from date of purchase to Dec. 31 of
each year. For license sales by phone or Internet, call
(888) 773-8450 or go to www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com.
See also pages 22—23 for license agent listings.

FIREARM LICENSES
Resident Firearm Hunting (16—64 years)
Apprentice Firearm* (NJ Resident 18—-64)....
Senior Resident Firearm Hunting

(65 years and older) $15.50
Apprentice St. Resident Firearm* (65 and older).$15.50
Non-Resident Firearm Hunting $135.50
Non-Resident Apprentice* (18 and olde ... $135.50
Non-Resident Two-Day Small Game

(not turkey) & Waterfowl Firearm Hunting ... $36.50
Special One-Day Hunting.... .

(On commercial preserves only.)
Youth Firearm (ages 10-15, see page 10) ....ccvuvevenene FREE

BOW AND ARROW LICENSES
Resident Bow & Arrow Hunting (16—64 years) ..$31.50
Apprentice Resident

Bow & Arrow” (age 14—64) ..isissssissisennn $31.50
Senior Resident Bow & Arrow Hunting

(65 years & older)
Apprentice Sr. Resident Bow & Arrow*.
Non-Resident Bow & Arrow Hunting...
Apprentice Non-Resident Bow & Arrow

$135 50

(14 and older) $135.50
Youth Bow (ages 10-15, see page 10).......cuvvrvrrrererens FREE
TRAPPING LICENSES
Resident Trapping

Non-Resident Trapping
Youth Trapping (ages 12-15, see page 10)..

PERMITS

Deer Permits for Bow, Shotgun,
Muzzleloader or Bucks ..

Youth Deer and Turkey Permit

Turkey Season Permit

Black Bear Permit

Rifle Permit (Valid from July 1-June 30,

16 years old and older)....
Rifle Permit, Youth

(Valid from July 1-June 30, under 16 only) .......... $6
Beaver Trapping Permit. $17
Coyote/Fox Permit $2
Otter Trapping Permit $2
STAMPS
Pheasant & Quail Stamp $40
Resident Waterfowl Stamp (Valid July 1-June 30)....$5

Non-Resident Waterfowl Stamp
(Valid July 1-June 30) ...

MISCELLANEOQUS LICENSES

All-Around SPortsman ... vevvrsmmsssssmsssssssseses $72.25
(Includes Resident Firearm Hunting, Bow and
Arrow Hunting and Fishing Licenses. (With Buddy
Fishing License, $62.50)

Duplicate License, Permit or Stamp ..oveveeessssssnsssieens $2

+ New licenses become available on Dec. 15 annually.
See page 8 for additional license information.

* Apprentice hunters must purchase any related stamp,
permit or HIP certification as required of all hunters.

[m]=X5R[=] Scan this QR code with your mobile

= = device for a direct link to NJ Division
of Fish and Wildlife’s website or visit:
E‘ NJFishandWildlife.com

'] Follow us on Facebook
Facebook.com/NJFishandWildlife

New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife receives federal assistance from
the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and thus prohibits discrimination on the
basis of race, color, national origin, disability, age and sex pursuant to
Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation
Act of 1973, Title Il of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the
Age Discrimination Act of 1975 and Title IX of the Educational Amend-
ments of 1972. If you believe that you have been discriminated against
inany program, activity or service, contact New Jersey Division of Fish
and Wildlife, MC501-03, P.0. Box 420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0420. The
telephone number is (609) 292-9410. You may also write to the U.S.
Fish and Wildlife Service, Civil Rights Coordinator for Public Access,
4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: WSFR-4020, Arlington, VA, 22203.
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New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife is a professional, environmental organization dedicated to the
protection, management and wise use of the state’s fish and wildlife resources. The Digest is available at
license agents and Fish and Wildlife offices. Information may be reprinted with permission. Subscriptions
are not available. This Digestis designed and produced by J.F. Griffin Publishing, LLC; www.jfgriffin.com.
Partial funding for the Digest is provided by the Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration Program.
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New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection, Division of Fish and Wildlife
MC 501-03 o P.0. Box 420 e Trenton, NJ 08625-0420 e NJFishandWildlife.com

New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife

Our Mission

To protect and manage the state’s fish and wildlife to maximize their long-term biological,

recreational and economic value for all New Jerseyans.

Our Goals

o To maintain New Jersey’s rich variety of fish and wildlife species at stable, healthy levels
and to protect and enhance the many habitats on which they depend.

¢ To educate New Jerseyans on the values and needs of our fish and wildlife and to foster
a positive human/wildlife co-existence.

o To maximize the recreational and commercial use of New Jersey’s fish and wildlife for both
present and future generations.
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FIREARMS ARCHERY RANGES TRAINING GUN/B80WSMITH EVENTS

THE AREA'S BEST EQUIPPED FIREARMS & ARCHERY STORE IN
A COMFORTABLE, MODERN AND SAFE DESTINATION

P Novice to expert firearms classes, including specialized clinics and tactical level courses
P Clean, state-of-the-art indoor ranges (29 lanes), including rifle and tactical ranges

D Over 160+ rental firearms available including machine guns

D Indoor archery range, full service archery pro shop, and training

P Events held for bachelor/ette parties, special events and corporate meetings

EASTON, PA CALL: 610.258.5500 WE BUY USED FIREARMS

NEW JERSEY’S PREMIER ARCHERY, TRAINING AND FIREARMS CENTER

) Indoor test archery range & 40 yard outdoor archery range

) Full service archery pro shop with bow techs on site
) Multi State Pistol Permit Class and Archery Courses offered

D Large firearms and accessories selection

BRANCHBURG, NJ CALL: 908.429.9500 WE BUY USED FIREARMS

THE NORTHEAST'’S FINEST SELECTION OF GUNS, KNIVES, OPTICS,
SAFES, AND AMMUNITION

D Over 1,750 handguns and long guns in stock
) Purchases estates, collections or single pieces and accepts firearms in trade
p Full service gunsmithing

RAHWAY, NJ CALL: 732.382.4066 WE BUY USED FIREARMS




LARRY HERRIGHTY

There are a few changes on the horizon—all of
them good!

First, take a look at the positive results from our
introductory year of the apprentice hunting license
program featured on page 16. This program offers a
terrific opportunity to introduce someone to hunt-
ing—if you are willing to mentor them—without
first requiring a Hunter Education course. Studies
show thata principle factor in keeping a new hunter
active (even those who did complete Hunter Ed) is
having someone to show them where, and how, to
hunt. (For excellent tips to engage new hunters, see
page 76, Recruiting the Next Generation). Gaining
field knowledge and confidence allows novice hunt-
ers to venture on their own in the future.

New hunters might be enticed to learn they will
become part of the growing trend to eat local. As
a hunter, find out if you are already a locavore on
page 78.

This year’s pheasant stocking schedule is found on
page 55. Fish and Wildlife is phasing out pheasant

4. |~ New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest

production at the Rockport Game Farm due to ris-
ing production costs and new, mandatory federal
bio-security standards that would require prohibi-
tively expensive alterations to the facility.

Last year, birds stocked in the southern region were
purchased as adults from a contract vendor. Reports
from the field were positive, and analysis by staff
showed the birds weighed the same as our own
Rockport pheasants. This year we will purchase
a combination of 6-week-old birds to be raised at
the farm plus adult birds for direct stocking. In the
fall of 2019, all birds stocked will come directly
from contract breeders. This approach will save a
quarter million dollars annually. The following year,
the pheasant farm will be decommissioned with
buildings converted to other uses.

As you hunt and trap this fall, you may encounter
our law enforcement officers. Those with a keen
eye may notice the addition of “police” to the offi-
cers’ uniform shoulder patch and patrol vehicles.
A bill has been introduced to officially change
their title from conservation officer to conserva-
tion police officer. Although their responsibilities
remain the same, the authority associated with
the term police is instantly recognizable, enhancing
both compliance and officer safety. Additionally,
this official title update allows Fish and Wildlife
to apply for financial grants typically restricted to
police agencies.

In many regards, these officers are the face of our
agency, making over 36,000 field contacts with
New Jersey'’s resource users each year. And they
do an excellent job. Years ago, when I served as a
deputy conservation office patrolling with full-time
COs, I was impressed with their professionalism
and respectful interaction with sportsmen and

sportswomen. When an officer is thanked after
issuing a summons (ticket) to a hunter or angler,
it’s clear that the officer has handled the interac-
tion with skill.

Most people try to obey the law. Some, purposely,
do not. A now-retired DFW law enforcement chief
once characterized hunting, trapping and fishing
violators as two types. The first type knows the law
and violates it anyway, out of greed or lack of true
sportsmanship. These folks are a small minority
that must be dealt with effectively. The second,
and more common violator inadvertently makes a
mistake because they don’t understand, or forget,
regulations involving season dates, zone boundaries
or baglimits—or they made an unwise decision that
day. These folks deserve some degree of understand-
ing and, as I have observed, are treated fairly.

Turning to the regulatory information contained
in this Digest, I've been told many times that our
regulations are complicated and confusing, While
that may seem true, the regulations are designed to
keep our sport safe, ethical and to maximize your
recreational opportunity where game populations
can support them.

The rules vary depending on the season, the type of
sporting arm used and the hunting or trapping loca-
tion. I encourage you to read this Digest carefully.
Ifyou have questions, calla DFW law enforcement
office for clarification. Or ask for an explanation
from one of our conservation police officers that you
meet in the field. Thank them for a job well done.
And tell them you are as proud of them as T am.
Now—Iet’s go hunting!

Larry Herrighty is the Director of New
Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife.
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America's Fish & Wildlife are in Danger LEGRIFFIN

We're facing a funding challenge that threatens our nation’s precious fish and wildlife.

= 494 Williamstown, MA | Birmingham, AL

Americans love the outdoors
and the wildlife that inhabits
it... but
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This high-quality guide is offered to you
by the New Jersey Division of Fish and

. Wildlife through its unique partnership
@ with J.F. Griffin Publishing, LLC.
o The revenue generated through ad sales

significantly lowers production costs and

101.6 MILLION $887 BILLION 76% generates savings. These savings translate
Americans enjoyed a form of outdoor recreation industry of American adults agree we need into additional funds for other important
wildlife-associated recreation contributes to our national to increase the number of programs agency programs.
in 20162 economy annually? available for Americans to enjoy

ture, the outd d wildlife. .
nature, the outdoors, and wiidiite If you have any feedback or are inter-

ested in advertising, please contact us at

What will it take to protect our nation'’s fish and wildlife? 413.884.1001 or at www.JFGriffin.com
Graphic Design:
Current Annual State Wildlife Grant Funding Wwildlife Funding Needed Annually Jon Gulley, Dane Fay, John Corey,

Evelyn Haddad, Chris Sobolowski
e &
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Species of fish and wildlife that are in greatest "
need of conservation, and will be helped by
' passing the Recovering America’s Wildlife Act. " "

EXAMPLES OF SPECIES AT RISK OF BECOMING ENDANGERED.
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Monarch Butterfly Lake Sturgeon Golden Eagle Gopher Tortoise rus ERegs
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This guide is also
available online at

‘ -‘ CALL OR WRITE YOUR REPRESENTATIVE TODAY
% TO SPEAK UP FOR YOUR FISH AND WILDLIFE.

Regulations.com

Our Nature, Our Nation, Our Future.
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Regulations in red are new this year.

DEER PERMITS ARE VALID for the 2018-2019
hunting season. New Jersey sportinglicenses are
valid for the calendar year and expire on Dec. 31.
Beaver and river otter trapping permits are valid
for the 2018-19 trapping season. For permit and

license fees, see page 1.

Licenses

The electronic license system will create a cus-
tomer profile identified by an assigned lifetime
Conservation Identification Number (CID#) for
all first-time purchasers of any hunting, trapping
or fishing license or permit. This unique number
appears on every license, permit and stamp issued
by New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife. Your
customer profile and CID# can be established on
the license website (www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com)
from your home computer or with valid identifica-
tion at a license agent (see agent list, page 22),
during—or preferably prior to—your first license or
permit purchase. A first-time hunting license must
be purchased at an agent by showing a appropriate
Hunter Education course completion card or witha
prior resident hunting license (firearm or bow and
arrow) from any state.

All persons hunting or trapping must be properly
licensed. It is unlawful for any person age 10 or
older to hunt without a hunting license. (See Farmer
License Exemption, page 10.) It is unlawful for any

censes, Permits & Stamps
LICENSE INFORMATION

person age 12 or older to trap without a trapping
license. Hunting licenses are valid for the calendar
year and expire on Dec. 31 regardless the purchase
date. See page 1 for license and permit fees. See
page 10 for youth license information. To acquire
your first New Jersey hunting license (firearm, bow
and arrow), present to a license agent (see list, page
22) either an appropriate hunter education course
completion card or a resident (firearm or bow and
arrow) license from this or any other state. The
automated license system will allow subsequent
huntinglicense purchases for that sporting arm to be
purchased by phone or online or at any license agent.

All hunters and trappers must openly display
their license in the middle of the back on their outer
clothing and must show their license to any law
enforcement officer or any person requesting to
see it. Farmers hunting their own land must also
display any deer season permit.

Licenses, permits and stamps may be pur-
chased using Fish and Wildlife’s Internet sales site
(www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com), via your smartphone
or other mobile device, from approved license agents
listed on page 22, or by calling (888) 773-8450. A
license or permit cannot be self-printed. Permits with
a designated zone or hunting season must be pur-
chased at a license agent. See also Non-resident and
Resident Licenses, page 10.

Do NOT heat laminate the durable license or
permit. High temperature will destroy these
waterproof, heat-sensitive documents.

Apprentice License

An Apprentice License allows a new hunter (or new
to hunting with a particular sporting arm) to partici-
pate in the sport but does not require completion of
ahunter education course. However, an apprentice
MUST hunt under the direct supervision and guid-
ance of a hunting mentor, hunting together as a unit
in the same location. Mentors must be 21 years of
age or older and must possess a valid NJ Hunting
License for the weapon type being used.

Both residents and non-residents are eligible. Indi-
viduals are limited to two apprentice licenses per
weapon type per lifetime. The Apprentice License
cannot be used as proof of the hunter education
requirement for purchasing a regular license. Due to
N.J. Firearm ID Card regulations, Firearm Appren-
tice Licenses are limited to individuals 18 years of
ageand older. An archery Apprentice License holder
must be 14 years of age or older.

There are no free youth apprentice licenses. Appren-
tice license holders are NOT eligible for a Bear Per-
mit, Rifle Permit or Muzzleloader Deer Permit and
may not hunt with any type of rifle. An air gun is not
considered arifle. See Firearms and Missiles beginning
on page 26. For additional information, see the
Apprentice License QR code and web-link on page 6.

Apprentice hunters must ALWAYS hunt under
the direct supervision of alicensed hunter and cannot
hunt at night nor hunt for coyote, fox or black bear.
Apprentice hunters must adhere to huntinglaws,

(continued on page 10)

-

CuNiCAL anD FORENSIC PEyCHOLOGY

A Limired Liability Company
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New
Release!

80 Pompton Ave, Suite 204

Psychological Firearm Evaluations for
Initial Applicants & Reinstatement AND

Comprehensive Psychological Firearm Evaluations

* Focused on firearms and specific legal prohibitors, such as mental health,
substance use, domestic violence, and legal histories

¢ Assessment of violence and suicide risk included

¢ Designed to be directly applied to state-specific legal standards

An expert in forensic psychology, firearms & mental health

e Evaluation and testimony experience at the

e 40+ courses taught at the undergraduate,

Gianni Pirelli, Ph.D.

Licensed Psychologist
NJ#4975 NY#019418

Verona, NJ
973-944-0810
www.gpirelli.com

Specializing in

Civil & Criminal Evaluations
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Disabled Veteran Licenses, Stamps & Permits

Free hunting a“d fishing |icenses’ Call before going to one of these offices to ensure that staff will be

available to assist you. Applications for disabled veteran certification and

stamps and permits are available for your first disabled veteran license may be made via the mail by sending the

I'ESIdent dlsabled veterans. application and all required documentation to:
) N ) ) NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife
For the purposes of this program, legislation defines disabled veterans Attn: Disabled Veteran Licensing
as “...any resident of New Jersey who has been honorably discharged MC 501-03. PO Box 420. Trenton. NJ 08625-0420
or released under honorable circumstances from active service from ’ ’ ’
any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States and who has been All licenses, stamps and permits for which the veteran is eligible will be
declared by the United States Department of Veteran Affairs, or its succes- | free of charge. Disabled Vet status does not give preferential treatment in
sor, to have a service-connected disability of any degree...” any lottery. For questions call (609) 292-2965.

New applicant disabled veterans may obtain their hunting and i H .
fishing licenses and stamps by FIRST CALLING before going to one Dlsabled veteran Appllcants'

of the following Fish and Wildlife field offices to ensure that staff 1. Documentation of current benefits for a service-connected disability
will be available to assist you:: and proof of honorable discharge (such as a copy of your DD-214, VA
card or monthly check stub) must be presented to obtain a free disabled
veteran license.

2. Applicant must provide a hunter education (archery, shotgun or rifle)
course certificate applicable to the license for which he or she is apply-
ing or a previously issued resident archery or firearm license or Rifle
Permit. Resident licenses from other states issued to hunters prior to
establishing residency in New Jersey will be accepted if the license
indicates the sporting arm for which it was valid. Non-resident licenses
from other states are not acceptable.

3. To obtain the free disabled veteran deer/turkey permits one must first
have a free disabled veteran hunting license.

e Pequest Trout Hatchery/Natural Resource Ed. Ctr, Oxford, Warren Co.,
(908) 637-4125;

e Southern Region Office, Sicklerville, Camden Co., (856) 629-0090.

\
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Northern Plains Outfitters, Inc. is proud fo

offr the Best WILD South Dakota T HANDGUNS + MUZZLELOADERS = LONG GUNS + AMMO - SPORTS OPTICS &
Pheasant Hunting in the World! Rt
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Regulations in red are new this year.

(continued from page 8)

regulations and must purchase all hunting per-
mits, stamps or the HIP certification, as required.

Apprentice licenses are available only at web-
based license agents. Call the license agent in
advance to confirm that they are web-based.

On page 16, see Welcome Apprentice Hunters! fora
summary of participation in our first year of offering
an Apprentice Hunting License.

Child Support Certifications

The “Child Support Program Improvement Act”
requires Fish and Wildlife to collect and maintain
Social Security numbers and a child support obli-
gation certification from license applicants and to
make the collection of this information part of the
license application. To comply, Fish and Wildlife,
working with the Division of Law in the Office
of the Attorney General, created the Supplemen-
tal License Application available on the Fish and
Wildlife website at NJFishand Wildlife.com/child_
support_info.htm or at license agents.

The online child support application allows an indi-
vidual to be certified from the privacy of their home.
Once completed—either over the Internet or at a
license agent—the certification remains valid for the
calendar year in which the certification was completed.

Farmer License Exemption

A farmer and members of the immediate family (see
definition under Farmer Regulations, page 30)
who also reside on the farm may hunt, trap and fish
on the farm without being licensed or possessing a
valid Rifle Permit. For details, see Farmer Hunting
and Permit Information, page 30.

All farmers must have a Conservation Identifi-
cation number (CID#). Register online now for a
free CID# at www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com. No
purchase is required.

Hunter and Trapper

Education Requirements

New Jersey requires that everyone, age 10 and above,
applying to hunt with a firearm or bow must show a
previous resident license of the appropriate type from
this or any state, or a course completion card from the
appropriate hunter education course. Anyone, age 12
and above, applying to trap furbearing animals must
show a previous resident trapping license from this or
any state, or a trapper education course completion
card. See also Youth Licenses, this page.

censes, Permits & Stamps
LICENSE INFORMATION

The New Jersey Hunter Education Program
is offered as a home study, video-based course.
Students may obtain course materials at most
license agents and Fish and Wildlife field offices
or download from our website. After completingan
extensive homework assignment, the student will
choose from a list of testing facilities and dates to
complete their hunter education course. For more
Hunter Education Program details, including
course material availability, facility locations, dates
and course registration, go to Fish and Wildlife’s
website at NJFishand Wildlife.com/hunted.htm or
call (877) 2-HUN'T-N]J or (877) 248-6865.

Trapper education courses are offered four times
throughout the state in the months of Septem-
ber and October. To enroll in a trapper education
course, go to the Fish and Wildlife website or call
(877) 2-HUNT-NT] to register.

Note: Devices accessing the mobile version of our
website must click on "full site” to register for a
Hunter Education course.

Lost Licenses

A license, permit or stamp can be replaced at
any license agent, at Fish and Wildlife’s Internet
license sales site, www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com, via
your mobile device or by calling (888) 773-8450.
Licenses and permits which contain the Harvest
Report can be duplicated at license agents or on
the Internet sales site only twice. All subsequent
duplicates of these license and permit types must
be handled in person at Fish and Wildlife regional
offices or the Pequest Natural Resource Education
Center. The Trenton office is not open to the public
for license and permit sales. A $2 fee is charged for
each duplicate license/permit.

New Jersey National Guard Licenses

Only New Jersey National Guard personnel in good
standing are entitled to free sporting licenses, per-
mits and stamps. These privileges are not available
using Fish and Wildlife’s website. However, the NJ
Dept. of Military and Veterans Affairs can issue
fishing licenses through their DMAVA website at
www.nj.gov/military/iasd/fishing.html. For all other
free sporting licenses, call (609) 530-6866, e-mail or
write to: MSG (Ret.) Robert Greco, N DMAVA,
101 Eggert Crossing Rd., Lawrenceville, NJ 08648.

Non-resident Licenses

Non-residents must show either a resident license
from their state or proof of successfully completing
an appropriate hunter education course in order
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to obtain a license to hunt or trap in New Jersey.
(See License Information and Fees, page 1 for
license types and also Youth Licenses, Resident and
Non-resident, this page.) Non-immigrant aliens who
temporarily import firearms to the United States
must first obtain an application for the permit
from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Fire-
arms (ATF). For importation of firearms, use form
ATF Form 5330.3A. The approval may take up to
12 weeks. Contact ATF’s New Jersey field office
at (609) 989-2142 or download forms from their
website at www.atf.gov/firearms/firearms-forms.

Non-resident hunters: For more information on
non-resident hunting, go to NJFishand Wildlife.com/
nonrshnt.htm.

Military Licenses, Active Duty

Any person on active duty in the armed services,
regardless of their current residency, may buy a New
Jersey resident hunting license. Present a previous
resident license (from this or any other state) of the
appropriate type or show proof to the license agent
of successful completion of the appropriate hunter
education course along with proof of your current
active duty status in the armed services.

One-day License

A one-day license may be issued for hunting on a
licensed commercial shooting preserve. This license
may be obtained at the shooting preserve and is
valid only on the day issued for the species covered
by the preserve’s license. Hunter education require-
ments still apply.

Resident Licenses

A residentlicense may be purchased if one currently
resides in—and has resided in—the state for at
least six months immediately prior to application.

Revocation of Licenses

Anyone convicted of a second fish and game violation
within a period of five years will have their New Jersey
hunting and fishing privileges revoked for two years.
Certain violations carry greater periods of revocation,
ranging from three years to lifetime revocation. Two
convictions of any wildlife management area regula-
tion will result in a five-year revocation of all sporting
privileges. Two convictions of the following will result
in lifetime revocation: safety zone violation, causing
damage to real or personal property and negligent use
of a firearm or bow. Fish and Wildlife may revoke any
permit or other authorization issued for violation or
due cause. See also page 15 for New Jersey's participa-
tion in the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact.

Youth Licenses, Resident and Non-Resident
A Youth Firearm or Youth Bow and Arrow License
is valid from 10 years of age (or the time of issuance)
until Dec. 31 of the year when the youth turns 16.
Note that properly licensed youth hunters age 10-13
may hunt only when under the direct supervision
of a properly licensed adult hunter age 21 or older.
See also Youth Hunting, page 29. Youth licenses
are available free to youths who have completed
the hunter (ages 10-15) or trapper (ages 12-15)
education course; see this page for course informa-
tion. See also Take a Kid Hunting pages 24-25.
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Permits for Hunters
and Trappers

Lottery Permit Application Process
Specific permit information for hunting wild
turkey, beaver or otter is now located with the
regulations for each species. For permit and license
fees, see page 1.

A lottery is conducted to allocate spring turkey,
beaver and otter hunting or trapping permits. There
isnolottery for fall turkey permits. To receive cer-
tain permits you must first apply for the lottery. The
application period is listed below with each permit
type. Apply at license agents or via the Internet. Be
sure to have your Conservation ID number (CID#)
on hand. A non-refundable $2 application fee is
charged for each lottery application.

Hunters or trappers will have three choices in
each lottery. If you will accept a permit only for
one particular zone (and/or period), complete only
a first choice selection. There is no obligation to
select a second or third choice; these are optional.

and Status

Changing Your Lottery Application

Regardless of where or how you applied for a lottery, applicants may review their information at any
time from any computer,
application status and can edit the application if a correction is necessary. With your CID# and DOB,
visit www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com to access your profile and follow the prompts. Applications
may be edited only during the actual application period. Once the application period is closed, it is
impossible to change your application. License agents and Fish and Wildlife offices DO NOT have the
ability to change your application once submitted. Only you can make changes, so take care during
the application process then go back into your profile to verify that the information is correct.

Application Status Check

Hunters and trappers may check their application status at any time from a computer, smartphone
or tablet. Go to the licensing website (www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com) to access your profile using
your CID# and DOB, then follow the prompts. The license system indicates if the lottery has been
run and if you won a permit. When the system shows "pending," the lottery has not been completed.
During the application period the system displays your application as "pending."

Check Your Lottery Application

Online!

smartphone or tablet with Internet access. All hunters should check their

When an applicant’s first choice cannot be filled,
the computer will check for the second choice listed.
If this selection is also sold out, the computer will
check for your third choice. Each lottery is com-
pletely random and awards only ONE permit —
not three. Your chance of winning a permit in the
lottery depends on the number of applicants and
the number of permits allocated (permit quota.)

awarded permit.

O36th Annual

cean

IMPORTANT: Hunters who are awarded two
permits in the lottery must claim (purchase) both
at the same time. Hunters may not claim only one

Application via the Internet—

Before You Start

+ Know your Conservation ID number (CID#) or
Social Security Number and date of birth (DOB).

+ Know your desired permit zone and, if appli-
cable, time period or season. Note: After a
period of inactivity, the Internet transaction

County Decoy &
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LICENSES AND PERMITS

Regulations in red are new this year.

will time out, requiring you to start over from
the beginning,

Have your payment ready. Internet transactions
may be paid either by electronic check (e-check)
or major credit card. For e-check transactions,
have your bank routing number and your check
book ready before you begin.

During every transaction, there are several oppor-
tunities to review your information for accuracy. A
complete review at each step will allow you to make
corrections, if necessary. Once a purchase trans-
action is complete there will be NO refunds or
exchanges. Permit applicants will have the oppor-
tunity to edit their application at any time during
the permit application period; see Changing Your
Lottery Application, left. Applicants are responsible
to make application carefully. When the process is
complete, print the confirmation page or note the
transaction number for your records.

+

+

Application at License Agent
Locations—Know Before You Go
+ Know your Conservation ID number (CID#) or
Social Security Number and date of birth (DOB.)
+ Know your desired permit zone and, if applicable
time period or season. The store proprietor or clerk
is not responsible to know the zone/area of your
hunting/trapping property. Be sure to review the
map and zone descriptions at home before you
arrive at the license agent. Not sure of your area?
Use a county map, then follow the zone or area
description shown either on Fish and Wildlife’s
website, NJFishandWildlife.com/ahrs.htm, in
this hunting Digest or in the turkey permit supple-
ment to drive around the zone boundary.
To speed your transaction, write down your infor-
mation (CID#, DOB, lottery type, first, second
and third choices) and hand it to the license agent.
NOTE for applying at license agents: Agents
using a VeriFone” machine (a special keypad)
can print a transaction receipt, but might do so
only at your request. Therefore, you should ask for
a receipt of the transaction. This receipt will list
your choices and the transaction number. Agents
using Web-based (computer) systems may or may
not be able to print a receipt. ASK FIRST! When
an agent cannot print a receipt, it’s important
to have the clerk orally verify your application
choices and to provide your transaction number.
Keep this transaction number; it can be helpful
should a problem occur with your application.
+ Each agent decides what types of payment to
accept. Learn this in advance, then have the cor-
rect payment ready when you arrive.

+

+

Notification of Lottery Results

(Did you win a permit?)

Once the lottery is complete, applicants will be
notified of their results. When applyingatalicense
agent, applicants may or may not be asked to choose
anotification mode. Some license issuing machines
must use the default method of mailing a postcard
notification. Those who select email notification are
reminded to set your junk/spam folder to accept
this notification. IMPORTANT: the notification

| New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest

may fail to arrive due to email account provider
issues (email filters, data storage capacity) or post-

card delivery delays.

Permit Claim

Deadline!

The applicant is responsible to know
the lottery results' notification date

and permit claim period deadline. If

you did not receive your permit award
notification, you can check the permit
award status in your customer profile.
You MUST claim your permit BEFORE the
claim period has ended! (See Application
Status Check in the box on page 11.)

Claim Your Permit!

Successful lottery applicants have only a
short window in which to claim the awarded
permit(s). Pay close attention to the claim
period dates listed! Unclaimed permits will
be redistributed and become available for
over-the-counter sales. NO EXCEPTIONS!

Lottery permit winners may claim their permit(s)
atany license agent or via the Internet. See the cor-
responding lottery permit claim dates listed in this
Digest for beaver/otter and spring turkey permits.
At the time of application, the hunter paid only
the non-refundable $2 application fee; the actual
permit fee must still be paid. Bring your CID# to
the license agent to claim your Fish and Wildlife-
awarded lottery permit. Internet-claimed permits
are subject to an additional convenience fee and will
arrive via mail in 7-10 business days.

Purchasing Non-lottery and

Unclaimed Lottery Permits

Leftover (unclaimed) lottery permits and non-
lottery permits are available at license agents and
online. Internet permit purchases CANNOT be
printed at home. Plan ahead, as it may take 7-10
business days for your permit(s) to arrive. During
every transaction there are several opportunities
to review your information for accuracy. A com-
plete review at each step will allow you to make
corrections, if necessary. Note: Once a purchase
transaction is complete there will be NO refunds
or exchanges. When purchasing permits at alicense
agent, speed your transaction by presenting to the
agent a written note with your CID# and DOB,
plus the season and zone of your permit choices.

Deer Hunting Permits

Permits are required to hunt during the Permit
Bow, Permit Muzzleloader and Permit Shotgun
deer seasons. There is no lottery for deer permits.
See Special Areas, page 44, for specific deer per-

mit requirements on those properties.

NJFishandWildlife.com

Permits may be purchased either atalicense agent
or at Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site
www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com. For details, see Deer
Season Permits, page 18. See page 1 for fees.

Farmer Permits
See Farmer Hunting and Permit Information, page 30.

Falconry Permits

Hunting with raptors (birds of prey) is allowed only
with both a falconry permit and a hunting license.
For hunting regulations see Falconry, page 26.

Rifle Permits

All persons in possession of a rifle (modern or

muzzleloading rifle including a smoothbore muz-

zleloader firing a single projectile) while hunting
or trapping must have a valid Rifle Permit. See the
specific regulations for each game or furbearing ani-
mal for the specific rifles allowed. A Rifle Permit
is not required for hunting with an air gun. Initial

Rifle Permit applicants must be at least 10 years

old and have successfully completed a rifle Hunter

Education Course. New hunters taking the Firearms

Hunter Education courses will also be certified for

rifle hunting, See page 1 for Rifle Permit fees.

+ Rifle Permits may be purchased at license agents
or at Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site.
Rifle Permits are valid for all ages of permit holders.

+ Rifle Permits are valid from July 1-June 30.

Permits for Hunters with
Disabling Conditions

A permit to use alternative methods/equipment
for taking game during the prescribed seasons
for certain physically challenged persons may be
issued. The application period is Jan. 1 to Aug. 31
of each year.

Permits to Shoot from a Standing Vehicle
A permit to hunt or shoot from a standing vehicle
thatis parked off the road may be issued to licensed
hunters who:

1. have a permanent or irreversible physical dis-
ability that limits their ambulatory ability,

2. suffer from cardiovascular disease and are clas-
sified as Class 3 or 4 heart patients according
to American Heart Association standards, or

3. suffer from chronic lung disease. This permit
will be issued if the need is certified by alicensed
physician or chiropractor.

Individuals hunting with a permit to hunt or shoot
from a motor vehicle must mark the vehicle from
which they are hunting either with handicapped
license plates issued by the Motor Vehicle Com-
mission or by displaying a sign provided by Fish
and Wildlife in the rear window of this vehicle.

For more information on these permits, call
(609) 292-1473 or write: NJ Division of Fish and
Wildlife, Handicapped Permits, MC501-03, P.O.
Box 420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0420 or downloaded
directly from our website: NJFishand Wildlife.com/
disinfo.htm.

(continued on page 14)
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—— LICENSES AND PERMITS

Regulations in red are new this year.

(continued from page 12)

Permits, Other
Captive Wildlife Permits

The possession, ownership and release of wildlife

is strictly regulated and allowed only for limited

purposes. Information and permit applications may

be obtained online or by calling:

+ Nongame and exotics permits at (908) 735-5450,
NJFishandWildlife.com/exotic_apps.htm;

+ Game birds and mammals: (609) 984-0530,
NJFishandWildlife.com/captpermits.htm.

Deer Road-kill Permits

Deer accidentally killed by motor vehicles may be
possessed only for private consumption by obtain-
ing a free permit from the local police department
or from a Fish and Wildlife regional law enforce-
ment office. The permit authorizes only possession
of the meat for consumption and is valid only for
90 days. The possession of all other parts such as
antlers, under terms of this permit, are expressly
prohibited. Wrapped venison packages must be
labeled with the permit number.

Tracking Dog Permits, Certification
Fish and Wildlife may issue permits to dog handlers
who possess a certified tracking dog for the search

o o S ]
Licenses, Permits & Stamps

and recovery of deer lost by a hunter during any
deer hunting season prescribed by the Game Code.
Minimum certification: UBT-1 from United Blood
Trackers, Inc., or the equivalent from another rec-
ognized tracking dog organization. A photo of each
certified dog must accompany the application. Each
handler must possess a valid New Jersey bunting
license for the current year. For more information on
obtaininga permit, go to: www.NJFishandWildlife.
com/deer_trackingdog.htm. See also Dogs, Hunt-
ing and Training, page 26.

Stamps

Stamps (such as federal migratory bird stamps) are
not transferable to another person and are not valid
unless signed across the face in ink. Stamps need not
be affixed to the license. State waterfowl “stamps”
and Pheasant and Quail stamps now print either
directly on your hunting license or as a separate stub,
replacing the former paper stamp for these privi-
leges. Waterfowl stamps may be purchased ONLY
for a specific individual; hunters can no longer pur-
chase multiple stamps on behalf of a fellow hunter.

Pheasant and Quail Stamp

Anyone aged 16 and over (except 16 year olds whose
youth license remains valid through the end of the
year in which they turn 16 and which includes a
free youth pheasant and quail stamp) hunting or
possessing pheasant (or quail only on Greenwood

Forest or Peaslee WMAs5) on the following des-

ignated wildlife management areas must have in

possession a current Pheasant and Quail Stamp:

+ Assunpink, Berkshire Valley, Black River, Clin-
ton, Colliers Mills, Dix, Flatbrook, Glassboro,
Greenwood Forest, Howardsville, Heislerville,
Mad Horse, Manahawkin, Manasquan River,
Medford, Millville (Bevan), Nantuxent, Peaslee,
Pequest, Port Republic, Rockport, Stafford Forge,
Tuckahoe (MacNamara), Walpack, Whittingham
and Winslow. The Delaware Water Gap National
Recreation Areais also a designated pheasantand
quail stamp area. Pheasant and quail stamps are
valid for the calendar year, January—December.
Quail may be hunted or possessed ONLY on
Peaslee or Greenwood WMA .

New Jersey Waterfowl Stamp

Anyone 16 or older who hunts waterfowl must pos-
sess a New Jersey Waterfowl Stamp (now printed
directly on your license at the time of purchase)
in addition to the Federal Migratory Bird Stamp.
Both stamps are valid for the fiscal year, July 1-
June 30. A Harvest Information Program (HIP)
certification is also required. For HIP details,
see Migratory Bird Regulations, page 65. W
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Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact

Last year New Jersey joined the Interstate Wild-
life Violator Compact, a multi-state agreement
designed to 1.) enhance protection of wildlife
resources in member states, 2.) provide equal
treatment of non-resident hunters/anglers/trap-
pers, and 3.) improve compliance with citations
or summonses issued for wildlife violations.

Responsible hunters and anglers want
wildlife violators removed from the popula-
tion of ethical sporting enthusiasts.

Under the Compact, information about suspen-
sion of sporting license privileges for people
convicted of wildlife violations in New Jersey will
be shared with participating Compact states. The
other Compact member states determine if the
individual would also be suspended according to
their own state laws.

Similarly, New Jersey will be provided with
information on individuals suspended for convic-
tions under the law of all Compact states. When
reviewed, if the violation(s) would lead to suspen-
sion under New Jersey’s laws, that individual’s
privileges will also be suspended in New Jersey.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If an individual has a wildlife
license or privilege suspension in any Compact
state, it is the individual’s responsibility to

\

first contact the licensing authority in the
state where they intend to hunt, fish, trap,
harvest shellfish or otherwise take or pos-
sess wildlife to determine their eligibility
hefore purchasing any license or engaging
in those activities.

Under New Jersey law, two convictions of any
violation of the fish and game laws of this or any
other state within five years will result in a two-
year hunting and fishing license suspension.

[Marine Violators Only: Any person whose
shellfish license or harvesting privileges have
been revoked or suspended in another state

shall not be eligible for amy New Jersey shellfish
license during the period of revocation or suspen-
sion in the other state. Individuals whose wildlife
privileges have been suspended for failure to
appear in court or to comply with the terms of

a wildlife citation may not recreationally fish for
finfish or lobster)]

For more information on the Interstate Wildlife
Violator Compact, including which states are
members, consult the Fish and Wildlife’s
website at www.NJFishandWildlife.com/
violators_compact.htm

Conservation Police Officer Nicole Carman

is among Fish and Wildlife’s Bureau of Law
Enforcement officers trained to deal with the
illegal taking of wildlife, like this northern pine
snake, a threatened species in New Jersey.
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Welcome

Apprentice Hunters!

By Andrew Burnett, Principal Wildlife Biologist and Ryan Risher, Wildlife Biologist

In 2017, New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife
established an Apprentice Hunting License for archery
and firearm hunters with minimum ages of 14 years and
18 years, respectively. Completion of a Hunter Education
course is not required. However, apprentice hunters are
required to hunt under the direct supervision of a similarly

licensed hunting mentor at least 21 years of age.

Apprentice hunters, according to survey respon-
dents, took to the field mostly to hunt deer, but also to
pursue turkey, waterfowl and small game. Apprentice
hunters’ primary motivation to try hunting was to
spend time with family and friends; equally motivat-
ing was the opportunity to obtain wild meat. (Are
you a locavore? See page 78.) Nearly all participants
expressed satisfaction and a positive hunting experi-
ence while hunting in New Jersey with their mentor.

Both resident and non-residents may purchase an
Apprentice License. (See Apprentice License, page 8.)
In our introductory year, a total of 592 Apprentice
licenses (227 archery and 311 firearm) were sold to
538 hunters. Apprentice hunters were, on average,
34 years old, ranging from 14—88 years old in 2017.

The Division of Fish and Wildlife is excited that
over half of the apprentice hunter respondents
indicated success harvesting game under the

supervision of their mentor! Despite much public
misconception that most hunters are trophy hunt-
ers, approximately 75 percent indicated hunting for
a trophy was the least important reason that they
wanted to try hunting,

I knew, in getting my Apprentice License, that I was
about to take part in something I'd likely remember for
a lifetime, especially because it was my first time bunting
alongside my dad. My appreciation for the outdoors

seems more real now than ever. —Jess Kreppel

There were 120 female and 418 male Apprentice
License holders last year. The percentage of female
hunters in the apprentice category (22 percent)
is greater than the hunter population at large (4
percent) in 2017.

While the majority of Apprentice License hold-
ers (485 or 90 percent) were New Jersey Residents,

First-time apprentice hunter Jess Kreppel
enjoyed a successful day goose hunting
in Cumberland County with mentor Ryan

- Risher. Jess hunted with a 20-gauge

Apprentice

Hunting License

For information on the
Apprentice Hunting
License, scan this

QR code or visit our
website at NJFishand
Wildlife.com/hntlic_
apprentice.htm

Apprentice LicenseType |  #Sold |

Resident Bow 185
Res (Disabled Vet) Bow 1
Sr Res Bow 10
Sr Res (Disabled Vet) Bow 5
Non-Res Bow 26
Res Firearm 262
Res (Disabled Vet) Firearm 2
Sr Res Firearm 18
Sr Res (Disabled Vet) Firearm 2
Non-Res Firearm 27

53 non-resident apprentice hunters came from Penn-
sylvania (19), New York (17), Texas (3), Connecticut,
Delaware and Vermont (two each), Alaska, District
of Columbia, Florida, Michigan, Minnesota, New
Mexico, North Carolina and Virginia (one each.)

In 2017, 67 established hunters tried a new type
of sporting arm as an apprentice hunter: 48 fire-
arm license holders acquired an Apprentice Archery
License; 19 archery license holders acquired an
Apprentice Firearm License.

This fall, (and next spring—gobble, gobble) hunters
are encouraged to introduce someone new to hunting
through this hands-on opportunity—a co-worker, a
family member, a friend or a significant other. Three-
quarters of survey respondents felt strongly that the
apprentice license provided them with a worthwhile
introduction to hunting; 83 percent felt they could
hunt independently in the future!

Share your love of the outdoors and appreciation
for wildlife with someone yet to have the experi-
ence. Equally important, foster respect for the game
animals pursued, model good hunter ethics—and
have fun doing it!

Lastly, we encourage apprentice hunters to com-
plete a Hunter Education course to become an
annual hunter. By purchasing a hunting license,
you make a valuable contribution towards wildlife
management and the protection of public natural
resources. Visit https://www.nj.wildlifelicense.
com/ALS/course/course_report.php for the fall
Hunter Education course schedule.

How many apprentices will you turn-on to
hunting?

For questions about the apprentice huntinglicense
as a mentor or an apprentice, contact Ryan Risher
at Ryan.Risher@dep.nj.gov or call (609) 629-1014.

Mentor hunters:

Convey your knowledge,
transfer your skills, lend
your gear, share your access
and make memories afield
with friends and family.




SHOOTERS & HUNTERS:
HELP PREVENT WILDFIRES.

r I Yhe target shooting and hunting
community prides itself on being safe
and responsible with firearms in all

situations—from using them outdoors to storing

them safely at home. Sometimes, however,
unusual conditions such as extremely dry

environments require an extra level of awareness
and safety on the part of shooters.

Wildfires have many possible causes. The National
Shooting Sports Foundation, the trade association
for the firearms and ammunition industry, reminds
all shooters that during dry and hot weather
conditions their use of certain ammunition and
targets could accidentally ignite a wildfire. NSSF
reminds all target shooters and hunters, as well

as other outdoor enthusiasts, to consider the
potential consequences of their activities in fire-
prone environments.

('Make it a point to know the b
regulations and rules related to
shooting in areas experiencing dry
and hot conditions, whether on public
or private land or at shooting ranges.
Many national forests, for example, do
not allow recreational shooting when
fire restrictions are in effect.

Consider the type of ammunition and
targets you are using. Minimize the

risk of fires by not using steeljacketed
ammunition, ammunition with steel-core
components, tracer rounds or exploding
targets in fire-prone areas.

Remember that equipment, such as
cars and ATVs, can have extremely
hot exhaust systems that could
ignite dry vegetation, so park only in
designated areas.

Extinguish and dispose of smoking
materials safely.

Follow guidelines to extinguish
campfires.

* Warn others of potential dangers and
behaviors for starting wildfires.

Report any wildfire you see to
authorities.

* Spread this message to other target

\shooters, hunters and outdoor enthusiasts.
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on Permits
= PERMIT INFORMATION

Regulations in red are new this year.

PERMIT HUNTING SEASONS play a major role
in Fish and Wildlife's deer management program.
The three permit seasons provide a means to control
hunting pressure, and thereby the harvest, in each
deer management zone to meet specific deer man-
agement objectives. With the additional harvest
and recreational opportunity these seasons provide,
an additional fee is charged for each permit.

Apprentice License Holders!
All hunting permit requirements and regulations
apply to Apprentice License holders.

Farmer deer permit information is detailed
in the Farmer Hunting Information section
beginning on page 30. Farmers purchasing non-
farmer permits should also read this deer season
permit section, below.

For application and purchasing procedures, see
Permits for Hunters and Trappers, page 11.

+ A permit is required to hunt during the Permit

Bow, Permit Muzzleloader and Permit Shotgun

er seasons.
specific deer pe i 0
ss dee

t

Planning Ahead?

Next year's 2019 Six-day Firearm
Deer Season is Dec. 9-14, 2019

f

+ Hunters are still limited to purchasing one Antlered
Buck Permit per permit season (i.e., one Antlered
Buck Bow Permit, one Antlered Buck Shotgun Per-
mitand one Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit).
Buck permits are valid in any zone for which the
hunter has a valid antlerless zone-specific permit.
Note: Only one deer at a time may be taken
during any permit season even if you possess
both an antlered and antlerless permit, except
in those zones in Regulation Sets 6, 7 and 8
where two deer ata time may be harvested dur-
ing the Permit Bow, Permit Shotgun and Permit
Muzzleloader seasons.

Antlerless deer permits are zone-specific and are
valid for the duration of the specified zone’s per-
mit season, including when that season extends
into the 2019 calendar year. Hunters are still
limited to purchasing one zone-specific permit
per zone per permit season. Example: If you hunt
only Zone 19, you may purchase only one muzzle-
loader, one bow and one shotgun antlerless permit
for Zone 19. If you hunt in more than one zone
you may purchase one muzzleloader, one bow and
one shotgun permit for each zone.

+

+

Antlered Buck Permit Deadlines!

Antlered Buck Permits may be purchased only after, or in conjunction with, purchasing a
zone-specific antlerless permit. Purchase a Buck Permit in one of the following ways:

1. Purchase by the opening day of each permit season OR,
2. Purchase at the same time as your first zone-specific antlerless permit for each season.

Permit sales begin MONDAY, Sept. 10, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. and must be purchased either
by 11:59 p.m. on the first day of each permit season as follows:

Antlered Buck Permits for the Permit Bow Season must be purchased by Oct. 27 at 11:59 p.m.
Antlered Buck Permits for the Permit Muzzleloader Season must be purchased by Nov. 26 at

11:59p.m.

Antlered Buck Permits for the Permit Shotgun Season must be purchased by Dec. 12 at 11:59 p.m.

Or, for hunters who do not purchase a deer permit until after the season opens, an Antlered Buck
Permit may be purchased only with the initial antlerless zone-specific permit. There will be no
other chance to purchase an Antlered Buck Permit.

There are NO EXCEPTIONS.

+ Regardless of the number of zone-specific antler-
less permits in possession, hunters are limited to
taking one buck during each of the permit sea-
sons ONLY after first purchasing a Buck Per-
mit for that season. (See Deer Hunting Regula-
tions, Licenses and Permits for details, page 33.)

+ A resident, non-resident or youth huntinglicense is
aprerequisite to purchase a deer permit. See pages
1 and 11 for hunting license information.

+ Muzzleloader season permits are not valid unless
accompanied by both a valid Rifle Permit and
a Firearm or All-around Sportsman License
while hunting,

+ Permits are valid only for the season and zone indi-
cated, are non-transferable and non-refundable.

+ It is illegal to use a permit for a zone, season or
hunter other than those named on the permit.
Deer permit violations are subject to a fine of
$100-%$1,000 for each offense.

+ The cost per permit [both the Antlerless (zone-
specific) Deer Permit or Antlered Buck Permit] is
$28 for each adult and $12 for each youth permit.



Lancaster
ARCHERY SUPPLY

WORLD'S LARGEST GOLD TIP DEALER.
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GOLD TIE

Connect with us! '§ W @ BO0-829-7408

GET AWAY TO

HUNTINGICAM PAGIZII

If you thmk a camp is out of your budget..THINK AGAIN!

$373per mo. i
w/20% down

Camp Balsam / $39,900 Camp- P r_salia/$69,995
Diana, NY - Rustic Camp  Southern Tier Camp on 6.8 Acres
Borders State Forest on 5 Acres with Pond, Close to State Land.
: : MORE
Easy Financing! ANCCoy

AMP
800-229-7843 GRS CHRISTNIAS
www.landandcamps.com ~ Brokerfowner

Broker/Owner

LOWLARDS
WHITETAILS |
HUNTING RANCH k r

8961 Number Three Road
Lowville, NY 13367
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SRS
Maybe your dream is to have a
200-Class B&C buck hanging on your wall...

or is your dream to watch your child take a
trophy buck you can both be proud of...

Please call us with your dream and let us make it a reality!
We have big-bodied bucks ranging up to and over 250 B&C!

Muzzleloader, Rifle or Archery - No License Required
Lodging is Free While You Hunt

315-286-5528 | 315-286-2861 | 315-376-2190

LowlandsWhitetails.com
Email /owlandswhitetails@yahoo.com
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PERMIT INFORMATION

Regulations in red are new this year.

Permits Available at Participating License
Agents (Except Special Areas Zones)
+ The following deer management zones have per-

mit quotas that far exceed hunter demand: Zones
1-19, 21-31, 34-36, 41-43, 45-51, 55, 63, 65,
67 and 68. These permits are available on a first
come, first served basis. In the unlikely event that
sales reach the permit quota for a specific zone and
season combination, those permit sales will end.

+ Permits sales are available at license agents listed

on page 22 and on Fish and Wildlife’s Internet

sales site www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com.

Bow, Muzzleloader,

Shotgun and Antlered
Buck Permits

Bow, muzzleloader, shotgun and antlered buck
permits will be available for sale beginning at
10:00 a.m. on MONDAY, Sept. 10, 2018 and
continue until each season ends. Some sea-
sons run through Feb. 9, 2019. See Regulation
Sets, page 38.

+ Hours of operation and types of payment accepted

vary according to license agent. Be prepared.

+ To purchase a permit at a license agent a hunter
must present his or her valid, current year’s hunt-
ing license.
+ A person may purchase a permit for an absent
hunter only when the following conditions are met:
1. The absent hunter has already completed a
Child Support Certification (see page 10)
through the Integrated Electronic Licensing
System via the Internet or atalicense agent and

2. The buyer shows the absent hunter’s valid
hunting license and identifying information
(date of birth and Conservation ID Number or
Social Security Number). License photocopies
not accepted.

+ The hunter is responsible to know in what zone
and season he or she wants to hunt.

+ Hunters are urged to review their permit before
leaving the license agent.

+ Once a permit fee is paid and the buyer leaves
the store, there will be no returns, exchanges
or refunds. No exceptions.

+ Permits purchased online via the Internet will
take 7-10 days for delivery. Hunters have the

option to pay extra for express delivery.

Special Area Deer Management Zones

+ Special Areas include federal military installa-
tions, certain state and county parks and national
wildlife refuges. Special Area zones include: 37,
38, 39, 53, 54, 56, 57, 58, 61, 64, 66, 67, 68 and
70. Some of these zones have specific qualifying

criteria which hunters must meet before obtain-
ing a permit. Certain zones are not open to the
public. Itis the hunters’ responsibility to arrange
for property access prior to purchasing a permit.

+ There is no lottery for Special Area Permits.
Permits will be available for a limited time on
a first-come, first-served basis. Note: Most of
these Special Areas permits will be available
for sale only for alimited time. It is the hunters
responsibility to pay attention to all deadlines.
Exceptions cannot be made.

+ Refer to a specific Special Area (see Special Areas
Hunting Seasons, page 44) for complete details
including when each permit sale will occur.

Military Zones
Military base deer management zones include
the following: Picatinny Arsenal (Zone 54), Earle
NWS (Zone 39), Lakehurst Section of Joint Base
McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, U.S. Air Force, (Formerly
Lakehurst NAES (Zone 53), FAA Tech Center
(Zone 66) and Dix-McGuire section of Joint Base
McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, U.S. Air Force, (For-
merly Fort Dix) (Zone 37). All have lower quotas
with a limited number of available permits. Due to
heightened security, hunters must be sure to have
proper security clearance and access prior to apply-
ing for or purchasing permits for military base zones.
Refer to a specific Special Area (see Special Areas
Hunting Seasons, page 44) for complete details

including when each permit sale will occur. ¥

BULLET H®LE

Shooting Sports & Indoor Firearms Range ¢ 78 Rutgers Street - Belleville, NJ ¢ 973-759-3968
NEW Ultra-Modern Indoor Archery Range ¢ 236 Washington Avenue - Belleville, NJ ¢ 973-759-8800

STATE-OF-THE-ART INDOOR FIREARMS & ARCHERY RANGE

10 Ports, 23 yards long with electronic target movers. Bright and clean with climate-controlled environment
and excellent airflow. The area’s only range capable of handling High-Powered Rifles and Handguns.

FISHING

e Live bait

¢ Frozen bait
e Pro Shop

CLASSES & CERTIFICATIONS
e SORA
* NJ & PA hunting licenses

¢ Retired/Security/Carry permit Quals
¢ NRA Courses - Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun

e Women-only programs

ARCHERY INSTRUCTORS
ARCHERY PRO SHOP

¢ Hunting gear

¢ In-house bow technicians
¢ Party nights!

FALL DEER HUNTING

CONTEST 2018-2019
GO TO WEBSITE OR
STOP IN FOR DETAILS!

FIREARMS RANGE AND PRO SHOP
® The best selection of firearms

e Ammo available for purchase
e Shooting gear

¢ Experienced in-house gunsmith services

¢ Marksmanship & Kid’s gun safety programs

Training: 973-759-8806 or 201-268-2618 ¢ email: BulletHolelnc@verizon.net

www.BulletHoleNJ.com
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Sea Duck Hunting

HUNTING SERVICES Fordinfo.com | 410-827-9533
Queen Anne's County offers Cherry Blossom Farm Hunting Service Shoreman Outfitters
the best in hunting. Whether CherryBlossomFarmHunting.com ShoremanOutfitters.com
. . 410-556-6630 410-708-2307
it's waterfowl, upland birds,

. Chestnut Manor Farms We Got Em' Charter
whltf_etall deer, small game ChestnutManorFarms.com | 410-310-8165  \yeGotEmGuideService.com
hunting or maybe a round of The Point At Pintail 410-310-7110
sporting clays, you can find it PointatPintail.com | 410-827-7065 Williamson Outfitters
all in Queen Anne's County! Reel Nauti Charters WilliamsonQOutfitters.com

410-570-6745 @ 410-443-4880

Queen Anne’s County Tourism | 425 Piney Narrows Road, Chester, MD 21619 | 4 ao6042100 [ HEal
| y | QUEENANNES COUNTY

VISITQUEENAN NYSWOJ MARYLAND

—— - P e




Permit and License Agents
ELECTRONIC PERMIT AND LICENSE SYSTEM
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ATLANTIC

Bass Pro Outdoor World, 30 N. Christopher Columbus Blvd, Atlantic City . . . . . (609) 449-4500
Buck Tails Outfitters, 6390 Harding Highway, Mays Landing .. ............ (609) 829-2229
Butterhof’s Farm & Home Supply, 5715 White Horse Pk, Egg Harbor City. . . .. (609) 965-1198
DC Sportsman, 366 E. Wheat Rd, Unit C,Buena ....................... (856) 457-5433
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 210 Consumer Square, Mays Landing............. (609) 407-1711
Galloway Ace / Smith Bros., 322 South Pitney Rd., Absecon .............. (609) 567-7400
Lynkris Hometown Hardware, 127 Bellevue Ave, Hommonton. ............ (609) 561-1592
Lynkris Hometown Hardware, 208 Philadelphia Ave., Egg Harbor City . . .. ... (609) 965-0815
Wal-Mart #2108, 4620 Blackhorse Pike, Mays Landing. ................. (609) 625-8200
Wal-Mart #2254, 55 S. White Horse Pike, Hammonton .................. (609) 567-2700
Zeus Products Co. Inc, 6679 Black Horse Pike, Egg Harbor Twp ........... (609) 646-1668
BERGEN

Dick’s Sporting Goods, 240 Rt. 17 North, Paramus ..................... (201) 216-2926
Jigging World, 174 Rt. 17 North, Rochelle Park . .. ..................... (201) 587-0011
Ramsey Outdoor Store, 835 Rt. 17 South, Ramsey ..................... (201) 327-8141
Targeteers Sporting Goods, LLC, 101 Rt. 46, Saddlebrook . ............... (201) 843-7788
BURLINGTON

Cheyenne Mountain OQutfitters, 244 Rt. 130, Bordentown ................ (609) 570-8430
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 1300 Nixon Dr., Mt. Laurel. ..................... (856) 802-1225
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 2703 Rt. 541 Towne Crossing , Burlington Twp.. . .... (609) 747-0400
Fresh Farm Market, 201 E. Broad St.,Palmyra . ....................... (856) 786-0200
Mighty Joe’s Grill & Deli, 1231 Rt. 206, Shamong . . .. .................. (609) 268-0303
Wal-Mart #2841, 1740 Rt. 38, Lumberton. . .............. ..ot (609) 702-9200
Wal-Mart #1869, 150 Rt. 70 East, Marlton ........................... (856) 983-2100
Wal-Mart #2040, 2106 Burlington-Mt. Holly, Burlington. . ................ (609) 386-8400
Wal-Mart #2871, 2501 Rt. 130 So., Cinnaminson . . .................... (856) 303-2119
Wal-Mart #5944, 934 Rt. 73, Mt. Laurel ............. ...t (856) 372-6130
CAMDEN

Dambly’s Garden Center, 51 West Factory Rd., Berlin ................... (856) 767-6883
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 2130 Rt. 70 West, Cherry Hill. ... ................ (856) 317-8394
Wal-Mart #1807, 265 Rt. 73 North, West Berlin. . .. .................... (856) 753-8787
Wal-Mart #4456, 315 Whitehorse Pike South, Somerdale . ............... (856) 545-9052
Wal-Mart #5047, 130 Blackhorse Pike,Audubon. . ..................... (856) 310-1470
Wal-Mart #5340, 500 Rt. 38, Cherry Hill .. ..., (856) 665-5430
CAPE MAY

Avalon Hodge Podge, 2389 Ocean Dr.,Avalon......................... (609) 967-3274
Budd’s Bait & Tackle, 109 Fulling Mill Rd., Villas .. ..................... (609) 886-6935
Belleplain Supply Co. Inc., 346 Handsmill Rd., Belleplain. . ............... (609) 861-2345
City Of Ocean City, 861 Asbury Ave., OceanCity . ...................... (609) 525-9324
Leisure Travel & Ticket Office, 1 Munroe Ave, Cape May . ................ (609) 898-6804
Sea Gear Quitfitters, 795 Rt. 109, Cape May .......................... (609) 884-0330
Sea Isle Bait & Tackle, 4200 Park Rd., Sea Isle City. . . (609) 263-6540
United Uniforms, 1050 Rt. 47, Rio Grande . ......... (609) 849-9347
Upper Township, 2100 Tuckahoe Rd., Tuckahoe ....................... (609) 628-2805
Wal-Mart #3337, 3159 Rt. 9 South,Rio Grande. . .. .................... (609) 465-2204
CUMBERLAND

Blackwater Sports Center, 2228 North Delsea Dr., Vineland. . ............. (856) 691-1571
Butch’s Gun World, 1025 W. Landis Ave., Vineland. . .................... (856) 692-1010
Commercial Township, 1768 Main St., Port Norris. . . . (609) 785-3100
Dick's Sporting Goods, 3849 S. Delsea Dr., Vineland (856) 776-7630
Franzwa Trailer Sales Inc., 2134 So. Second St., Millville. . ............... (856) 825-0111
Greenhorn Outdoors, 1135 Shiloh Pk., Bridgeton. . ..................... (856) 451-0971
The Girls Place Bait & Tackle, 3574 S. Delsea Dr., Port Elizabeth . . ......... (856) 825-4565
The Gun Rack, 1726 North West Blvd., Vineland ....................... (856) 692-4773
Wal-Mart #2109, 2291 N. Second St., Millville .. ...................... (856) 825-4200
Wal-Mart #3339, 1070 West Landis Ave, Vineland. .. ................... (856) 205-0040
Wal-Mart #5384, 1130 Hwy. 77, Bridgeton . . ... ............oooeinnt.. (856) 453-0418
ESSEX

Bullet Hole Annex, 236 Washington Ave., Belleville . .................... (973) 759-8800
Bullet Hole Inc, 78 Rutgers St., Belleville. . .............. ... ouit, (973) 759-3968

| New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest
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GLOUCESTER

The Arsenal Gun Shop, 1924 Cooper St., Deptford. . ................... (856) 232-4867
Bob’s Little Sport Shop, 316 N. Delsea Dr., Glassboro .. ................. (856) 881-7575
Borough of Swedeshboro, 1500 Kings Hwy, Swedesboro ................. (856) 467-0202
Sportsman’s Outpost, 2517 Fries Mill Road, Williamstown. . .............. (856) 881-3244
Twp. Of Greenwich, 420 Washington St., Gibbstown . ................... (856) 423-1038
Wal-Mart #1742, 3501 Rt. 42, Turnersville . ............. ... ...t (856) 629-3888
Wal-Mart #3422, 2000 Clements Bridge Rd., Deptford . ................. (856) 384-3211
Wal-Mart #3774, 1840 S. Whitehorse Pk, Williamstown ................. (856) 629-2054
Wal-Mart #5476, 1350 Delsea Dr.,W. Deptford . . ...................... (856) 686-0133
HUDSON

Caso’s Gun-A-Rama, 176 Danforth Ave., Jersey City. . . ................. (201) 435-5099
Wal-Mart #3520, 400 Park Place, Secaucus . . ........................ (201) 325-9280
Wal-Mart #3795, 2100-88th St., No.Bergen. . ...............coovvnnt. (201) 758-2810
Wal-Mart #5447, 1215 Harrison Ave, Kearny. . .. ................oo... (201) 955-0280
HUNTERDON

Boan’s Marine, 1296 Rt. 179, Lambertville . .......................... (609) 397-3311
Kathee’s General Store, 4 Kingwood Ave., Frenchtown .................. (908) 996-6386
Shannon’s Fly & Tackle, 74 B Main St., Califon ........................ (908) 832-5736
Skip's Outdoors, 8 Risler St., Stockton .............................. (609) 773-6959
Wal-Mart #2294, 50 Rt. 31, Flemington . ............................ (908) 788-6769
Wal-Mart #2582, Rt. 513 & I-78,Clinton. . . ... ......... ... ... ue.. (908) 730-8665
MERCER

Dick’s Sporting Goods, 530 Nassau Park Blvd., Princeton .. .............. (609) 419-1661
NJ Dept Military/Vet Affair, 101 Eggert Crossing Rd., Lawrenceville. .. ... ... (609) 530-6866
Rosedale Mills, 101 Rt. 31 No., Pennington . ......................... (609) 737-2008
Wal-Mart #2171, 101 Nassau Park Blvd., Princeton .................... (609) 987-0202
Wal-Mart #2518, 100 Marketplace Blvd., Hamilton. . ................... (609) 585-1463
Wal-Mart #3266, 839 Rt. 130 North, E.Windsor . ...................... (609) 443-6159
Wal-Mart #5012, 1750 Nottingham Way, Hamilton . .................... (609) 438-4093
MIDDLESEX

Auto Parts Of Woodbridge, 108 Main St., Woodbridge . .................. (732) 634-6264
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 325 State Rt. 18, E. Brunswick .................. (732) 651-3284
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 366 Woodbridge Center Dr., Woodbridge . .. ........ (732) 621-8400
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 4999 Stelton Rd., So. Plainfield . . ................ (908) 226-4912
Sayreville Sportsman, 52 Washington Rd., Sayreville. . .................. (732) 238-2060
Wal-Mart #2003, 979 Rt. 1 South, North Brunswick .................... (732) 545-4499
Wal-Mart #2633, 1303 Centennial Ave, Piscataway .................... (732) 562-1771
Wal-Mart #2825, 1126 Rt. 9, 0ld Bridge . . . ...t (732) 525-8030
Wal-Mart #3078, 290 State Rt. 18, East Brunswick. . ................... (732) 955-0871
Wal-Mart #4153,2825Rt. 18, 0ld Bridge . . . .. .........oovivin it (732) 955-0139

Wal-Mart #5201, 2220 Rt. 27, Edison . . .. ...t
Wal-Mart #5281, 360 Rt. 9 North, Woodbridge

..(732) 650-1297
(732) 826-4652

MONMOUTH

Brielle Bait & Tackle, 800 Ashley Ave., Brielle ......................... (732) 528-5720
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 650 Trotters Way, Freehold ..................... (732) 358-1400
Dick's Sporting Goods, 310 Rt. 36, West Long Branch. .................. (732) 676-7021
Wal-Mart #2195, 4900 Rt. 9, Howell . . . ...t (732) 886-9100

Wal-Mart #3236, 326 W. Main St., Freehold
Wal-Mart #5142, 3575 Rt. 66 West, Neptune

. .(732) 780-3048
(732) 922-8084

MORRIS

Dick’s Sporting Goods, 240 Rt. 10 West, E. Hanover .................... (973) 428-0889
Dick’s Sporting Goods , 387 Mount Hope Ave., Rockaway .. .............. (973) 659-1950
Dorsi’s Deli & Pharmacy, 184 Central Ave, Stirling. .. ................... (908) 647-7878
Dows Boat Rental, 145 Nolans Point Rd., Lake Hopatcong (973) 663-3826

Lakes End Marina, 91 Mt. Arlington Blvd., Landing . ...............
Ramsey Outdoor Store, 281 Rt. 10 E., Succasunna . ...............
Rich’s Refrigeration, 4 King St, Morristown ... ...................

..(973) 398-5707
..(973) 584-7798
..(973) 234-5868

Wal-Mart #2569, 461 Rt. 10, Ledgewood . . ...........c.ovviuninnnn.. (973) 252-7666
Wal-Mart #3291, 40 International Dr. South, Flanders................... (973) 347-7400
Wal-Mart #3443, 48 Rt. 23 North, Riverdale . ......................... (973) 835-5812
Wal-Mart #3598, 235 Ridgedale Ave., Cedar Knolls. . ................... (973) 839-8646
Wal-Mart #5077, 300 Wooton St.,Boonton . . . ........................ (973) 299-3943
Wal-Mart #5178, 220 Enterprise Dr., Rockaway ....................... (973) 361-6089
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BHW Marine Center, 857 Mill Creek Rd, Manahawkin (908) 240-6109
Creekside Outfitters, 403 Rt. 9, Waretown . .......................... (609) 242-1812
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 223 Stafford Park Blvd., Manahawkin ............. (609) 597-5396
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 487 Rt. 70, Brick. . ... ......... ... ..o (732) 477-4844
Downe’s Bait & Tackle, 287 Brennan Concourse, Bayville . ............... (732) 269-0137
Garden State Yacht & Sales, 101 Rt. 35 South, Pt. Pleasant .............. (732) 892-4222
Grizz's Forked River B & T, 103 Lacey Rd., Forked River ................. (609) 693-9298
Lacey Marine, 308 Rt. 9 South, Forked River. ......................... (609) 693-0151
Pells Fish and Sport, 335 Mantoloking Rd., Brick. . ..................... (732) 477-2121
Pineland Sporting Goods, 959 W. Veterans Hwy., Jackson . ............... (732) 598-6676
Shooters Sporting Center, 1535 Rt. 539, Little Egg Harbor. . .............. (609) 296-4080
Surf City Bait & Tackle, 317 Long Beach Blvd., Surf City . ................ (609) 494-2333
Tip’s Hardware, 218 Main St.,West Creek. .. ...................o0o... (609) 296-3192
Wal-Mart #1844, 950 Rt. 37 West, Toms River ... ... (732) 349-6000
Wal-Mart #1921, 525 Rt. 72 West, Manahawkin . . . . . (609) 978-8300
Wal-Mart #1977, 1872 Rt. 88, Brick . . .. .......... (732) 840-7772
Wal-Mart #3830, 631 Rt. 9 So., Little Egg Harbor . . .. (609) 296-2430
Wal-Mart #5414, 580 Rt. 9 North, Lanoka Harbor (609) 242-8311
PASSAIC

City of Newark (Watershed), 223 Echo Lake Rd., Newfoundland . .......... (973) 697-1724
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 76 Willowbrook Blvd., Wayne. . .................. (973) 200-8077
No. Haledon General Store, 20 Manchester Ave, No. Haledon ............. (973) 427-1653
Tackle and Field, 81 Ringwood Ave, Wanaque . .. ..................u... (973) 835-2966
Totowa Bait & Tackle Shop, 10 Albion Ave., Paterson. ................... (973) 956-0825
SALEM

SJ Gas and Shine, 290 Rt. 40, Elmer. .. ..........cooiiiii i (856) 358-3488
Shag’s Bait & Tackle, 1045 South Broad Way, Pennsville. . ............... (856) 935-2826
Wal-Mart #2041, 709 S. Broadway, Pennsville ........................ (856) 935-8200
SOMERSET

Middlebrook Firearms, 288 Rt. 22, Green Brook ....................... (732) 529-6897
Wal-Mart #2651, 100 N. Main St., Manville. . ......................... (908) 575-8997
Wal-Mart #5111, 1501 Rt. 22 West, Watchung .. ...................... (908) 756-1925
SUSSEX

Bait & Boat, 13 Rt. 183, Stanhope. .. ... (973) 345-5797
Garden State Bow & Reel, 2760A Rt. 23N,. Stockholm . ................. (973) 697-3727
Griffin & Howe, 270 Sparta-Stanhope Rd.,Andover..................... (973) 398-2670
Simon Peter Sport Co., 660 Rt. 206 South, Newton..................... (973) 786-5313
Skylands Sport Shop, 33 Rt. 206 So.,Augusta ...................cooun. (973) 300-5883
Stokes Forest Sport Shop, 29 Rt. 206 South, Branchville. ................ (973) 948-5448
Wal-Mart #2090, 230 Rt. 23, Franklin. .. ......... ... ...t (973) 209-4242
Wal-Mart #2604, 26 Hampton House Rd., Newton (973) 300-1859
Wild Bill's Rod & Gun, 53 Hopatchung Rd., Hopatcong .................. (973) 398-1702
YOJ Sports, 196 Main St,Andover. .. ..........cooiii i (973) 786-7382
UNION

Dick’s Sporting Goods, 2700 Rt. 22 E., Union
Wal-Mart #3292, 900 Springfield Road, Union
Wal-Mart #3469, 1601 W. Edgar Blvd., Linden

(908) 964-2580
(908) 624-0644
(908) 474-9055

WARREN

Chrusz’s General Store, 235 Main St., Johnsonburg . ................... (908) 852-0181
Cobra One Tactical, 330 Rt. 46, Great Meadows . ...................... (908) 637-8838
Hi-Way Sport Shop, 253 Rt. 31 North, Washington. .. ................... (908) 689-6208
Knot Just Flies, 61 Rt. 94, Blairstown .. .................. ... ... ..., (908) 362-3474
Pequest Sporting Goods, 290 Rt. 46, Great Meadows . (908) 799-3530
Pequest Trout Hatchery, 605 Pequest Rd., Oxford . . .. (908) 637-4125
Smitty’s Liquors & Deli, 89 Rt. 46, Delaware . . ... ... (908) 475-5933
The Owl’s Nest, 97 Rt. 519, Phillipsburg . .......... (908) 995-7903
Wal-Mart #2497, 1236 Rt. 22, Phillipsburg . . . ........................ (908) 454-3622
Wal-Mart #2503, 1885 Rt. 57 Suite 100, Hackettstown. . ................ (908) 979-9342
Washington One Stop, 288 Rt. 31 South, Washington . .................. (908) 689-1353
PENNSYLVANIA

Cabela’s Retalil, Inc., 100 Cabela Dr., Hamburg . ....................... (610) 929-7000
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Permit and License Agents
ELECTRONIC PERMIT AND LICENSE SYSTEM

For license sales by phone or Internet, call (888) 773-8450 or go to
www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com. See also License Information and Fees, page 1.

It is best to contact the agent in advance to ensure the licenses and/or permits are
available and that the licensing system is active.

License agents may change frequently throughout the year.
Consult our website at NJFishandWildlife.com/agentist.htm for the most current list.

Hunter, Trapper Surveys

0On occasion, the Division conducts hunter and trapper surveys to
determine your participation, harvest and views on important fish- and
wildlife-related issues. We may contact you by mail, email or telephone
using the information you provide when you purchase a license or permit.
In all cases, the Division ensures that your personal information and legal
rights to confidentiality are protected.

Be The First To Know!
Get on the List

The Hunting & Trapping
e-mail list, that is.

This FREE service provides the latest
information about Fish and Wildlife events,
public hearings and other wildlife-related
news. And there are eight other lists to help
you get the most out of New Jersey’s fish and
wildlife resources.

New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest |
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Take this great opportunity to introduce youth hunters to deer hunting!

YOUTH DEER
HUNTING DAYS

» Youth Bow Hunt
Saturday, September 22, 2018

» Youth Firearm Hunt
Saturday, November 17, 2018

WHO CAN HUNT

Hunters with a valid youth hunting license. See

Youth Licenses, page 10.

+ The youth hunter MUST be under the direct
supervision of a person who is at least 21 years
old and who has a valid firearm or bow and arrow
license corresponding to the season hunted.
Direct supervision is defined as both the youth
hunter and parent/guardian set up together at
the same location, hunting as a unit, not hunting
independently. The adult CANNOT hunt on
this day. The adult may grunt, call or rattle for
the youth. In addition to the youth, the adult
accompanying the youth should wear the required
hunter orange during the youth firearm deer hunt.

BAG LIMITS

Youth may hunt statewide for one deer of either
sex on each of the above dates.

INALET IO

YOUTH WATERFOWL
HUNTING DAYS

Youth hunters must possess a valid Youth Firearms
to hunt the Youth Waterfowl Hunting Days. See
also Youth Licenses, page 10.

Allyouth hunters must be under the direct super-
vision of a licensed, non-hunting adult 21 years of
age or older. Hunting hours on these special youth
days are from % hour before sunrise to sunset on
the following dates by zone:

» North Zone—Oct. 6 and Feb. 2
» South Zone—Oct. 13 and Feb. 2
» Goastal Zone—Nov. 3 and Feb. 9

An HIP number is required. See page 65 for all
waterfow] hunting requirements. Daily bag limits
for ducks, Canada geese, brant, snow geese, coots,
and gallinules will be the same as those allowed
during the regular season. Adults may not hunt
on this day.

|  New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest
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+ During the Youth Firearm Deer Hunt, youths
may hunt either with a shotgun or muzzleloader.
No bows.

+ Ifthe youth is hunting with a muzzleloader, both
the youth and the adult must possess a valid Rifle
Permit.,

+ Antler Point Restrictions and Earn-A-Buck
requirements do NOT apply on these days for
the youth hunter.

+ These hunts are extensions of the Fall Bow and
Six-day Firearm seasons; no special season deer
permit is required. Youth hunters may still use
a bow to harvest one antlered deer during the
Fall Bow Season, and use an appropriate firearm
to harvest two antlered deer during the Six-day
Firearm Season.

REPORT YOUR HARVEST

The youth hunter should complete all information
requested on the Harvest Report Card provided
on page 31.

+ The card, or hand-made version, should include
the youth hunting license number or Conserva-
tion ID number, sex of deer, number of antler
points, date, zone, deer management unit, county
and township from which the deer was taken, in
order to have your information ready for when
you report your harvest through the Automated

Harvest Report System. Youth hunters do not
need a harvest number during youth hunts or
non-permit deer seasons.

For additional harvest reporting requirements,
see page 36.

Alex Katyan

Alyssa Katyan arrowed this handsome 8-pointer at
20 yards from a ladder stand on her friends farm in
Clinton Township. The deer was recovered 75 yards
away. Alyssa is an accomplished hunter having
previously harvested several deer. She also enjoys
hunting game birds, including wild turkeys.

A

A“‘

NORTH ZONE/ £

Brian LaFay

| COASTAL
' ZONE

»SOUTH ZONE-L .4

An enjoyable Youth Waterfowl Hunt Day excursion was

shared among (L to R) Logan Bukowski, Darren and

Riley LaFay and Luke Bukowski.

NJFishandWildlife.com
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» Saturday, April 20, 2019

Youth hunters with a valid youth hunting license who have obtained a turkey permit may begin their
spring turkey season on the special youth turkey hunting day, April 20, 2019. See Youth Licenses,
page 10. Youth must be under the direct supervision of an adult 21 years or older who possesses

a valid New Jersey hunting license. Adults may not hunt on this day.

Jim Farinaccio

A 'ltwas agreat time had by all" at the Youth
Pheasant Hunt which included cooking breakfast
and lunch in the woods "as my dad did with me"
said Jim Farinaccio, volunteer hunting mentor.

"I love watching all the kids hunt safely, and we
made sure they did."

PHEeaSAant

YOUTH PHEASANT HUNT

» November 3 and 5-9, 2018

This year's Take a Kid Hunting Pheasant Hunt will
allow properly licensed hunters with a valid youth

license (see Youth Licenses, page 10) to hunt any of

the 10 stocked Wildlife Management Areas (WMA)
on Saturday, Nov. 3 and Monday—Friday, Nov. 5-9,

2018. In a cooperative effort between the Division of

Fish and Wildlife and the New Jersey State Federa-
tion of Sportsmen’s Clubs, volunteer hunting men-
tors with trained bird dogs will guide youth hunters
on a Saturday, Nov. 3 pheasant hunt. This experi-
ence willincrease the young hunters’ opportunity for
harvesting a pheasant in a setting which encourages
responsible and safe hunting practices.

All guided morning hunt participants must pre-reg-
ister and be accompanied to the check-in by a parent
or guardian. Parents or guardians are welcomed and
encouraged to follow the hunters through the fields.
All pre-registered hunters will receive an information
packet. One session will be offered, startingat 7 a.m.

Only 50 youth hunters will be allowed on each
WDMA during the guided morning hunts. To register
for a guided morning hunt, go to NJFishand Wildlife.
com/ythpheas_register.htm and select the wildlife
management area where you wish to hunt. When
registration for each site reaches capacity, that par-
ticular site will be removed from the online registra-
tion options. Select one of the remaining locations.
Register early; spaces fill quickly!

Registrations are accepted from Tuesday Sept. 4
through Monday, Oct. 15, 2018. Information per-
taining to the pheasant hunt will be mailed on or
around Oct. 16, 2018.

Less than 18 hours after completing

her Hunter Education course with a test
score of 100%, 14-year-old Katrina Kling
harvested her first turkey! The gobbler
weighed in at 23 pounds. >

Uetziglel e)lrel

YOUTH UPLAND BIRD HUNT DAY

» Saturday, November 3, 2018

Youth hunters with a valid youth hunting license (see Youth Licenses, page 10), under the direct
supervision of a New Jersey-licensed, non-hunting adult 21 years or older, will be permitted to hunt on
licensed semi-wild hunting preserves. Youths may hunt for pheasant, quail and/or partridge on Saturday,
November 3, 2018 from 8 a.m. to sunset. Take advantage of this great opportunity for hunters belonging
to semi-wild preserves to introduce youth hunters to upland bird hunting without competition from
adult hunters who may not hunt on this day.

Selected Wildlife Management Areas for Youth Pheasant Hunting
Guided Morning—pre-registration required.

Open—afternoon: Any youth hunter with a valid

youth hunting license under the direct supervision of
Whittingham alicensed, non-shooting adult (aged 21 or older), will
be permitted to hunt on the listed wildlife manage-
ment areas on November 3, 2018 from 1 p.m. until
sunset. No registration required.

Black River
Flatbrook
Clinton ) i
Assunpink Open—gll day: Any youth hunter with a yalld youth
hunting license under the direct supervision of a
Glasshoro New Jersey-licensed, non-shooting adult (aged 21 or
oo older), will be permitted to hunt on the listed wildlife
Millville management areas on November 3 and 5-9, 2018

Peaslee from 8 a.m. until sunset. No registration required.
Winslow

Colliers Mills

Volunteer Dog Handlers and Youth
Hunting Mentors Needed

Come volunteer with us as a dog handler or youth hunting mentor to help support the tradition of safe,
responsible hunting! To participate, visit our website at NJFishandWildlife.com/ythpheas_register.htm
and select Youth Hunt Volunteer. When registering, be sure to accurately complete all fields. You will
be contacted by a Fish and Wildlife Take-a-Kid Youth Hunt Coordinator during the week of Oct. 15 with
details about the Nov. 3 hunt.

Jim Cox, the current Take-a-Kid Youth Pheasant Hunt Coordinator at Peaslee WMA said this about
being a volunteer during this youth pheasant hunt: "There's no better reward than sharing in the
joy and excitement of a young hunter's first experience afield! The Youth Pheasant Hunt is more
than just harvesting a bird. It is about forming friendships, hunter safety, and watching trained
A\ bird dogs work a field, all while pursuing premiere upland gamebirds."

NJFishandWildlife.com New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest

Chris Kling
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REGULATIONS

Regulations in red are new this year.

THIS IS NOT THE FULL LAW. The information in this
Digestisbased on N J.S.A. Title 23, Title 13:1B-34and
NJ.A.C.7:25-5. The amended regulations are known
as the Game Code and implement the statute laws.
Consult the Division of Fish and Wildlife's Bureau of
Law Enforcement for further details. See the Telephone
Directory, page 88, for regional Law Enforcement
offices. All persons are reminded that the statutes, code
and regulations are the legal documents.

No person shall hunt except as prescribed by law.
See section Permits for Hunters with Disabling Con-
ditions, page 58, for special rules.

Drones or unmanned aircraft are prohibited for
the purposes of hunting and cannot be used to
harass, scout, drive or rally wildlife.

Persons required by law to wear corrective lenses
to operate a motor vehicle (as noted on a valid
driver’s license) must wear corrective lenses when
hunting with any kind of bow or firearm.

Baiting

Pursuant to NJSA 23:4-24.2, no person shall kill,
destroy, injure, shoot, shoot at, take, wound, or
attempt to take, kill or wound a game bird or game
animal, or have in possession or control any firearm
or other weapon of any kind, while elevated in a
standing tree, or in a structure of any kind within

300 feet of a baited area.

Safety Tips

for Crossbow
Shooting Success

e Keep fingers and thumb low on the cross-
bow forearm, below the rail; the flight
path of string and cable can cause serious
personal injury.

e Never cock a crosshow while in a tree-
stand, except for crank-type models.

e Before shooting, check that bow limbs
will hit nothing when they flex forward
during the release. Crossbow limbs store
enough energy to knock a hunter to the
ground should the bow contact the tree or
your stand.

To see all 10 Safety Tips for Crosshow
Shooting Success, scan this QR code or go
to NJFishandWildlife.com/crossbow_safety
tips.htm.

\
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Pursuant to NJSA 23:4-24.3, a "baited area” shall
mean the presence of placed, exposed, deposited,
distributed, or scattered agricultural products, salt,
or other edible lure whatsoever capable of attracting
or enticing such birds or animals.

Growingand unharvested crops shall not be consid-
ered baiting or feeding game birds or game animals.

Pursuant to NJSA 23:4-24.4, the above restric-
tion does NOT apply to deer hunting. Hunters
targeting deer while elevated in a standing tree
or in a structure of any kind may be within any
distance of a baited area.

Bow and Arrow

“Bow” means any long bow, recurve bow, compound
bow or crossbow. Hand held release devices are
permitted. Air bows are not legal for hunting,

See additional regulations under Specifically Pro-
hibited, page 29 and page 34 for a table on
sporting arms legal for deer hunting,

All bows must have a minimum draw weight of
35 pounds at the archer’s draw length, except com-
pounds, which must have a minimum peak draw
weight of 35 pounds and crossbows which must have
aminimum draw weight of 75 pounds. Crossbows
must have a minimum stock length of 25 inches.

See crossbow safety tips, below. Crossbows
are now legal for bowfishing except for Green-
wood Lake. Crossbows are permitted for hunting
migratory birds. See below for restrictions when
taking game birds in flight.

All arrows used for hunting deer, bear, turkey,
coyote, fox or woodchuck must be fitted with an
edged head of well-sharpened metal and a mini-
mum width of % inches.

Arrows fitted with heads other than specified for
deer, bear, turkey, coyote, fox or woodchuck may
be carried in the woods and fields during the small
game season or other seasons which overlap with the
bow and arrow deer season except that for taking
game birds in flight, arrows equipped with an
edged head are prohibited. Also, flu fluarrows are
required for taking game birds in flight because
the arrow is designed to fly only a short distance.
For the purpose of discharging a crossbow, hunt-
ers may carry judo points, target points or blunts.
Canada geese and turkeys which are not in flight
may be taken with standard fletched arrows and
an edged head as described above.

Sunday bowhunting for deer is legal only on
private land and state wildlife managementareas.

See Safety Zones, page 28.

It is unlawful to:

+ use or possess a poison arrow or one with an
explosive tip

use an edged head for taking game birds in flight
use abow one-halfhour after sunset until one-half
hour before sunrise during any hunting season
use a bow and arrow from any vehicle, moving
or stationary

have both a firearm and bow in possession or
under control while hunting

transportin a vehicle a crossbow in the cocked
position

+

+

+

+

+

NJFishandWildlife.com

Closed Seasons

There is no hunting or trapping season for bobcat,
fisher, mourning dove, sandhill crane and king rail

in New Jersey. See Protected Wildlife, page 28.

Dogs, Hunting and Training

Allowing dogs to run at large is prohibited.

Persons may train dogs without firearms in day-
light at any time except during any open firearm
deer season.

No person shall train a raccoon or opossum hunt-
ing dog on WMAs other than during the periods
of Sept. 1 to Oct. 1 and from Mar. 1 to May 1 each
year. Training hours shall be one hour after sunset
to one hour before sunrise.

It is illegal to use dogs to pursue or run deer or
black bear or to track wounded deer or bear. How-
ever, a hunter may use the services of a dog handler
in possession of a valid, Fish and Wildlife-issued
Tracking Dog Permit with a certified tracking dog
for the search and recovery of deer lost during any
deer hunting season prescribed by the Game Code.
See page 14 for certification requirements.

Note: Regulations for dog training on wildlife
management areas are on page 70.

Delaware River, Hunting

Hunting on the Delaware River is restricted by state
boundaries. A valid hunting license and any appro-
priate permit/stamp is required for your location.

Falconry

No person shall use a raptor for hunting without
a falconry permit and a valid hunting license. No
person under 14 years of age may hunt by means
of a raptor. Hunting migratory birds with raptors
on Sunday is prohibited.

Falconry permits will be issued only to persons
who pass a comprehensive examination and who
can provide proper facilities for housing a raptor.

Beginning falconers must be sponsored by an
experienced falconer.

No person shall possess a firearm while hunting
with raptors.

For additional information, write to New Jersey
Division of Fish and Wildlife, MC 501-03, P.O. Box
420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0420 or call (908) 735-8793.

Farmer Regulations

See Farmer Hunting and Permit Information, page 30.

Firearms and Missiles

For the purpose of hunting in New Jersey, firearms
refer to a shotgun, muzzleloader (rifled or smooth-
bore), air gun and modern rifle.

+ Possession and use of silencers are illegal on
any firearm. Title 2C:39-1 g. classifies a firearm
silencer as “any instrument, attachment, weapon
or appliance for causing the firing of any gun,
revolver, pistol, or other firearm to be silent, or
intended to lessen or muffle the noise of the firing
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of any gun, revolver, pistol or other firearm.” Pur-
suant to Title 2C:39-3 c. “Any person who know-
ingly has in his possession any firearm silencer is
guilty of a crime of the fourth degree.”

+ The use of “smart" rifles or guns for hunting is prohib-
ited. Computer-aided hunting devices would negate
the tenet of fair chase, giving hunters an unfair
advantage by allowinga computer to target the prey.

+ A person may not go into the woods or fields with

a firearm except during prescribed seasons.

It is unlawful to possess in the woods and fields

shotlarger than #4 fine shot except for hunting deer,

bear, waterfowl, woodchuck (farmers only) and
coyote/fox during the Special Permit Coyote and

Fox Season. This shall not apply to the lawful use

of ammunition for air guns; see Air Guns, this page.

Rimfire and centerfire rifles are not legal to hunt deer.

See sections on specific game animals for per-

mitted firearms and ammunition. See table on

page 34 for sporting arms legal for deer hunting,

+ No person shall use a shotgun capable of holding
more than three shells at one time or that may be
fired more than three times without reloading
except for the September Canada goose season
(see page 67) and during a light goose conserva-
tion order season, if any.

+ See also Specifically Probibited and Safety Zones,
page 28.

+

+

+

Air Guns
“Air gun” means any shoulder-mounted firearm
which by the force of a spring, air or other non-
ignited compressed gas expels a missile or projectile
and hasarifled or smooth barrel, usingammunition
no smaller than .177 caliber and no larger than .22
caliber producing projectile velocities of not less
than 600 feet per second measured at the muzzle.
Pursuant to Title 2C:39-1 £, air guns are classified as
afirearm. Air gun BBs are not legal for hunting. Air
guns are now legal for taking cottontail rabbit, hare
and gray squirrel. A Rifle Permit is not required.
Modern air guns have sufficient power to take small
game plus are quieter and lighter than some shot-
guns, making them an ideal tool for smaller-framed
hunters. Air guns hunting information is now part
of the basic shotgun hunter education course.
IMPORTANT: See Firearms and Missiles,
page 26, for the law regarding silencing mecha-
nisms that also apply to air guns.

Muzzleloaders
It is unlawful to use smokeless powder in a muzzle-
loader while hunting in New Jersey. Only black
powder or black powder equivalents, such as Pyro-
dex and Triple Se7en, may be used with a muzzle-
loading firearm when engaged in hunting.

Properly licensed and permitted hunters 10 years
and older may hunt with a muzzleloading rifle. A
valid Rifle Permit must be possessed while hunting
with a muzzleloading rifle. Permitted action types
include percussion, flintlock and inline. Electronic
ignitions are not legal. For muzzleloader barrel
types and legal hunting ammunition, see regula-
tions for each game species.

Itis unlawful to hunt with a muzzleloading rifle on
WDMAGs, except for deer, bear and during the special
seasons for coyote/fox and squirrel hunting. For

2018 Issue

muzzleloader rifle squirrel hunting, see page 58.
For muzzleloader deer hunting, see page 34.
For Rifle Permit information, see page 12. For
muzzleloader coyote/fox hunting, see page 54.

Rifles, Modern
A valid Rifle Permit must be in possession while
hunting with a modern rifle.

Rifles for small game hunting are allowed using
limited types of .22 caliber rimfire ammo and are
legal only for taking woodchuck (ammo restrictions,
page 58), raccoon and opossum with hounds (.22
shorts only) plus coyote and fox (ammo restric-
tions, page 54). NO rifle woodchuck hunting on
wildlife management areas or state parks, forests
and recreation areas. Small game hunting with
centerfire rifles is limited to not larger than .25
caliber for coyote and fox (see page 54) and .25
caliber or larger for woodchuck (see page 58).
See also Firearms and Missiles, page 26.

A modern rifle magazine need not be pinned
(plugged), but may be loaded with no more than three
cartridges. Rife permit holders of all ages may hunt
with all rifle types as allowed by New Jersey laws.

See chart on page 58 for details on small caliber
rifleammunition legal for hunting woodchucks and
page 54 for the special permit coyote/fox season.

Shotguns

Shotguns larger than 10-gauge are prohibited for
hunting, Shotguns may not be capable of hold-
ing more than three shells except for September
Canada goose hunting and during the Spring Light
Goose Conservation Order; see page 67. For
information on legal shot sizes, see regulations for
each game species to be hunted.

Hunter Harassment

Ttisillegal to obstruct or attempt to obstruct or annoy
a person lawfully taking wildlife as per N.J.S.A.
23:7A-1 through N.J.S.A. 23:7A-3. This includes
making loud noises or gestures designed to disturb,
alarm, drive, attract or affect the behavior of wildlife.

Hunter Orange

Firearm hunters must wear a cap made of solid
daylight fluorescent orange or an outer garment
containing at least 200 square inches of fluorescent
orange material visible from all sides at all times while
engaged in hunting, A camo-orange hat alone is not
adequate. This applies to all persons while hunting
with a firearm for deer, bear, rabbit, hare, squirrel, coy-
ote, fox, railbirds, and game birds including while in
atreestand. See exceptions below along with ground
blind hunting fluorescent orange requirements.

It is mandatory to wear a hunter orange hat when
firearm hunting for small game on wildlife manage-
ment areas stocked with pheasant or quail. See list of
WDMAs at Pheasant and Quail Stamp Areas, page 14.

All firearm and bow and arrow deer and black
bear hunters utilizing a ground blind when a
firearm deer season is open concurrently must
display 200 square inches of hunter orange atop
the blind and visible from all sides or within five

feet outside the blind and higher than the blind

NJFishandWildlife.com

Jayson Lucarelli
Registered Maine Guide
(207) 265-6250

\mainewhitetailadventures.com )

Trophy Whitetail Hunting
in N.W. Missouri

R&J OUTFITTERS

www.randjoutfitters.com

CHEMICAL FREE

€LOTHING

REINFORCED ELBOWS &
SHOULDERS

ELASTIC
WAISTBAND
L% REINFORCED CROTCH
B AND KNEES

| W
Scientifically Tested, Cool, Comfortable,
Chemical-Free & Breathable Undergarment!
Protects against:
MOSQUITOES © TICKS * CHIGGERS e FLIES * MIDGES * SAND FLEAS
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REGULATIONS

Regulations in red are new this year.

oratleast three feet off the ground, whichever is
higher. During these concurrent seasons, bow-
hunters in treestands also should consider wear-
ing hunter orange.

Exceptions: the hunter orange law does not apply
to waterfowl, crow, wild turkey, coyote/fox (during
the special permit season, page 54), woodchuck
nor bowhunters except that a bowhunter using a
deer decoy must wear hunter orange, as described
above, while transporting the decoy into and out of
the woods and fields. During the Six-day Firearm
Season, it is recommended that bowhunters wear
hunter orange.

Injured or Orphaned Wildlife

Ifyou encounter injured or orphaned wildlife, contact
awildlife rehabilitator. For more information visit our
website at NJFishandWildlife.com/bornwild.hem.

Landowner Liability Act
(Excerpted from N J.S.A. 2A:42A-2 et seq.) a. An

owner...of a premises, whether or not posted and
whether or not improved or maintained in a natural
condition, or used as part of a commercial enterprise,
owes no duty to keep the premises safe for entry or use
by others for sport and recreational activities, or to
give warning of any hazardous condition of the land
or in connection with the use of any structure or by
reason of any activity on such premises to persons
entering for such purposes; b. An owner of a premises
who gives permission to another to enter upon such

premises for a sport or recreational activity or purpose
does not thereby (1) extend any assurance that the
premises are safe for such purpose, or (2) constitute
the person to whom permission is granted an invitee
to whom a duty of care is owed, or (3) assume respon-
sibility for or incur liability for any injury to person or
property caused by any act of persons to whom the
permission is granted. Note: A landowner’s liability
changesifafeeis charged (or other consideration)
orif there is a “willful or malicious failure” to warn
of a dangerous condition on the property.

Possession of Certain
Wildlife by Persons,
Taxidermists & Butchers

No person shall have in possession a deer, bear,
migratory game birds or turkey that they did not
kill unless it has a label bearing the name, address,
telephone number, license and permit numbers of
the person who killed the deer, bear, migratory game
bird or turkey. Those in the business of processing
deer, bear or turkey (that is butchers, taxidermists,
etc.) shall keep a ledger of all of their customers.
Each customer’s name, current address, day and
evening telephone numbers, Conservation ID Num-
ber and possession seal number of any black bear
or turkey, or Confirmation Numbers, gender and
age (fawn or adult) for deer being processed shall
beincluded in the ledger. The ledger shall be made
available for inspection upon request during the
hours of 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. by any law enforcement ofhi-
cer or employee of the Division of Fish and Wildlife.

Possession of naturally shed deer antlers is legal.

Edible Portions Guide

Edible portions do not include meat from the head or neck; meat that has been damaged by the
method of taking; bones, sinew, and meat reasonably lost as a result of butchering, boning, or close
trimming of bones, or viscera. Edible portions do not include meat from diseased or scavenged
carcasses. See Wanton Waste of Game, page 29.

For white-tailed deer
and black bear:

e Front quarters as far as the distal joint of the
radius-ulna (knee)

e Hind quarters as far as the distal joint of the
tibia-fibula (hock)

e Backstrap/tenderloin — the meat along the
backbone, between the front and hind
quarters

For rabbit and squirrel:

e Front shoulders
e Thighs
e Backstrap

\

For game birds such
as turkey:
e breast, legs and thighs

For game birds other
than turkey:

e Dreast

| New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest
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Parts of deer possessed, other than shed antlers,
must be from lawfully harvested deer. Proof of law-
ful harvest (Confirmation Number or seal) should
be retained for verification. Road killed deer with a
permit are intended only for consumption; antler
possession from these deer is not legal.

Protected Wildlife

Itisillegal to capture, kill, injure or have in possession
any wild bird other than a game bird. The sale of wild
birds or game animals or parts thereofis prohibited
except as described in NJ.S.A. 23:4-27. For more
specific information, refer to our website, NJFis-
handWildlife.com. See also Sale of Wildlife, this page.

No one may rob a bird’s nest.

All nongame mammals, reptiles, birds and
amphibians are protected. Penalties for taking
these species range from $250-$5,000.

There is no open season on bobcat or fisher. It
is illegal to intentionally kill or attempt to kill a
bobcat or fisher in New Jersey. For more informa-
tion about bobcat (including incidentally trapped)
and fisher, see page 62. Bobcat pelts from ani-
mals legally harvested in other states may be
possessed or sold provided a CITES tag from the
state of harvest is attached. Fishers legally har-
vested in other states may be possessed or sold.

See also Possession of Certain Wildlife, above.

Property Damage

Hunters must not huntin unharvested crops unless
first obtaining permission from the owner. Anyone
causing damage to cultivated crops, orchards, fences,
buildings or livestock may be arrested without war-
rant by the owner, occupant, lessee, or any officer of
the law. Violators are liable for a fine of up to $2,000
and restitution to the property owner in addition to
theloss of hunting privileges for a period of five years.

Public Land Hunting

For public land hunting, refer to pages 70, 82
and 83.

Sale of Wildlife

The sale of wild birds and game animals, or parts
thereof, is prohibited in New Jersey with the fol-
lowing exceptions: legally trapped furbearers may
be sold plus the sale of white-tailed deer hides, tails
and the lower portion of the legs is legal. See also
Closed Seasons, page 26. Questions should be
directed to a regional Fish and Wildlife law enforce-
ment office; see page 41.

Safety Zones

No firearm hunter or trapper may carry a loaded
firearm or hunt within 450 feet of a building or any
school playground, even if unoccupied, except the
owner or lessee of a building, and persons specifically
authorized by him in writing. No bowhunter may
carry a nocked arrow or hunt within 150 feet of a
building or within 450 feet of any school playground,

even if unoccupied, except the owner or lessee of a
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REGULATIONS

building, and persons specifically authorized by him
in writing, Persons authorized to bowhunt within 150
feet of a building must hunt from an elevated position
to shoot down toward the ground. Note: persons
authorized to hunt or trap with a firearm within 450
feet, or with bow and arrow within 150 feet of a build-
ing must be in possession of that written permission
while hunting or trapping. Shooting into a safety zone
is prohibited. (See Safety Zone Awareness, page 83,
for diagram and safety zone explanation.)

Stealing Traps or
Trapped Animals

(Excerpted from N,J.S.A. 23:4-40) No person shall

take or unlawfully appropriate, with intent to

steal, a trap or the property of another, set along,
by or in any of the public or private ditches,
streams, ponds or waters in this state for the pur-
pose of catching furbearing animals, or remove

an animal from the trap of another person.

Sunday Hunting

No person may hunt with firearms or any other
weapon or carry a gun in the woods or fields or on
the waters on Sunday except on semi-wild and com-
mercial shooting preserve lands for the purpose of
shooting stocked game; and when using a .22 rifle
for dispatching trapped animals.

NOTE: Sunday bowhunting for deer is legal
only on state wildlife management areas and
private property.

Persons are allowed to hunt raccoon or opossum
on Sunday mornings only between the hours of
12:01 a.m. and one hour before sunrise during the
prescribed season.

Stands and Blinds on
State Parks, Forests

The State Park Service has modified its policy on
the use of hunting treestands and ground blinds on
state parks, forests and recreation areas where hunt-
ingis allowed. To view the updated policy, visit the
State Park Service website at NJParksandForests
.org/stand-blind_policy.htm.

Trespass Law

Hunters and trappers must have permission (oral or
written) from the landowner or lessee prior to enter-
ing either posted lands or agricultural lands (which
are not required to be posted.) Hunters also must
obtain permission to enter posted land and agricul-
turalland to recover deer. Hunters and trappers may
not enter unposted land after having been forbidden
to trespass by the owner, lessee or occupant either by
verbal notice or when the land has been conspicuously
posted with intervisible signs displayed not fewer
than ten to a mile along the exterior boundaries and at
all roads, trails and rights-of-way entering such land.

If a hunter or trapper is charged with trespass,
they must provide documentation of written per-
mission in court for their defense. See page 71
for the Hunt SMART Courtesy Card.
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Wanton Waste of Game

It is unlawful for any person who kills or wounds
any white-tailed deer, black bear, wild turkey, rabbit,
squirrel, pheasant, quail, partridge, ruffed grouse or
waterfow] while engaged in any hunting to refuse
or neglect to make a reasonable effort to retrieve,
retain or lawfully take into possession such game
animal or bird.

It is unlawful for any person to take, kill, or cap-
ture any game mammal or game bird and remove
from the carcass the head, hide or antlers and leave
the edible portions of the carcass and meat to waste
except for a furbearer, crow or woodchuck. See
Edible Portions Guide on page 28.

Itis unlawful for any person to place, leave, dump or
abandon a game mammal, game bird or wildlife car-
cass or parts of it along or upon a public right-of-way
or highway, or on public or private property, including
awaterway or stream, without the permission of the
owner or tenant, or on any wildlife managementarea
or state park. Make every effort to retrieve your game,
remove the animal from the field—except entrails
may be left discretely in the field—consume the
edible portions and propetly dispose of the remains
such as bagged in your household trash.

Wildlife Damage Control

Property owners and occupants of dwellings, or
their agents designated in writing, suffering dam-
age from squirrel, raccoon, opossum, skunk, weasel,
woodchuck, gray fox, red fox and coyote may con-
trol these animals by lawful procedures at any time
subject to state law and local ordinances. Farmers
or their agents may also control the above species by
lawful procedures when found destroying livestock,
crops or poultry at any time subject to state and
local ordinances.

Note: Persons who kill a coyote must notify a
Fish and Wildlife Regional Law Enforcement
Office within 24 hours. See page 41,

Youth Hunting

A youth hunter means the possessor of a youth hunt-
ing license—or the immediate family member of
a qualified occupant farmer—who is at least 10

years of age. Youth hunter status continues until

Dec. 31 of the year in which the youth turns 16. For

youth hunters from 10 through 13 years of age, they

MUST hunt under the direct supervision of a per-
son who is at least 21 years old and who has a valid

firearm or bow and arrow license corresponding to

the season hunted. Direct supervision is defined as

both the youth hunter and parent/guardian set up

together at the same location, hunting as a unit, not
hunting independently. See also Youth Licenses, page

10. Youth licenses are issued free to youths ages

10-15 upon completion of a hunter or trapper edu-
cation course. Youth hunters who pre-registered for

and successfully complete a hunter education course

will receive their youth huntinglicense at the course.
See Hunter and Trapper Education Requirements,
page 10 and Youth Licenses, page 10. Be sure

to visit the Take a Kid Hunting section and special

youth hunt days, pages 24-25. 12
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Specifically Prohibited

e Carrying a loaded firearm within 450 feet,
or a nocked arrow within 150 feet of a
building or within 450 feet of any school
playground (whether or not occupied) is
prohibited, except the owner or lessee of a
building and persons specifically authorized
by him in writing may hunt with a firearm
within 450 feet or a bow within 150 feet of
the building. Note: persons authorized to
hunt with a firearm within 450 feet or with a
bow and arrow within 150 feet of a building
must be in possession of that written per-
mission while hunting. (See page 83 for
diagram with complete safety zone explana-
tion. See also Safety Zone, page 28.)

e Discharging a firearm or a bow and arrow
on or across highways or roads.

e Discharging a firearm or a bow and arrow
from a motor vehicle, including ATVs.

e Sights which project a spot or light onto
the game animal.

e Hunting for or shooting any wildlife by aid of
a light, except when hunting raccoon, opos-
sum while on foot or when hunting coyote/
fox during the special coyote/fox season.

e Hunting or shooting with the aid of a light
attached to or carried in a vehicle.

e 0On national wildlife refuges, the distribu-
tion of bait and/or hunting over bait. Also,
no Sunday hunting on these lands.

e Hunting with arrows, darts or any other
device propelled by any means that is used
for the purpose of injecting or delivering
any type of drug into an animal.

e Possessing a loaded firearm in or on a
motor vehicle, including all-terrain vehicles
(ATVs). Possession of a loaded firearm in
or upon a vehicle is considered proof of
pursuing or taking of wildlife.

e Transporting an uncased firearm in or on a
motor vehicle or ATV or transporting a cocked
crossbow in or on a motor vehicle or ATV.

e Shooting into a squirrel’s nest.

e The removal of the skin or feathers or
mutilation of any wild bird or mammal in
the woods or fields for the purpose of con-
cealing sex or identity is illegal.

In the Delaware Water Gap National
Recreation Area, the following apply:

e Baiting is prohibited.

e No permanent treestands or screw-in
steps are permitted.

e You cannot possess a loaded firearm while
on any publicly traveled roadway within
the area.

e Trapping is prohibited.
¢ No Sunday bowhunting.

New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest |
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No regulation changes this year.

Farmer License Exemption

All farmers hunting deer must have a Conserva-
tion Identification number (CID#), Farmers who
already receive free farmer deer or turkey per-
mits, and farmers who have purchased a hunting
license/permitand/or freshwater fishing license
since 2006 already have an assigned, permanent
CID#, A CID# is required to utilize Fish and
Wildlife’s Automated Harvest Report System.
Farmers who are exempt from the license require-
ment and hunt only during non-permit seasons
still must obtain a CID# in order to report their
harvested deer. Register for a free CID# online
at www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com. No purchase
is required but you must create a profile in the
online license sales site. From our homepage at
NJFishandWildlife.com, click ‘Buy your licenses
and permits’ and follow the instructions to cre-
ate a profile. There will be options to purchase a
license, apply for permits or print an identifica-
tion card. Choose ‘Print an Identification Card.
A card will print with your 9-digit CID#.

All Farmer Deer Hunters: Before going hunt-
ing, be sure to go to Fish and Wildlife’s website
(NJFishandWildlife.com/ahrs.htm) and write
down the DMZ, county, township and Deer Man-
agement Unit of your huntlocation prior to harvest-
ing a deer! Record this info on your license, permit
or the Deer Harvest Report Card (page 31) to
have accessible for when you report your deer harvest
and to record your assigned Confirmation Number.
When reporting a deer harvest on your farm prop-
erty, farmers do not need a Harvest Number during
the non-permit deer seasons. To report a deer call
(855) IHUNT NJ or (855) 448-6865 or online at
www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com. See page 36 for
additional reporting information.

A farmer and members of the immediate family (see
definition below) who also reside on the farm may
hunt, trap and fish on the farm without beinglicensed
or possessing a valid rifle permit. (See page 31 for
a cut-out Harvest Report Card.) All hunting, fishing
and trapping must be conducted in the manner pro-
vided by law during the prescribed seasons. A farm
is defined as an area of at least five acres and having
gross income of at least $500, and tax assessed as
farmland. This exemption does not apply to a tenant
or employee who is not an immediate family member.

Immediate Family: For the purpose of farmers
huntingand trapping, “immediate family” includes
the spouse, mother, father, child, grandchild, step-
child, stepparent, legal guardian, mother-in-law,
father-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, grand-
parent, great grandparent, brother, sister, stepsis-
ter, stepbrother, brother-in-law and sister-in-law
of the farm owner or lessee who resides thereon.

Farmer Regulations

The occupant of a farm may allow his or her dog
to run at large on land he or she occupies, except
during the firearm deer seasons.

Farmers and their lessees occupying or farming
their land, members of their immediate family (see
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definition above), or their farming employees may
kill crows, woodchuck and fox on farm property at
any time when found destroying livestock or crops.
However, they must use legal firearms, ammunition
and other lawful procedures. See also Wildlife Dam-
age Control, page 29. See also General Regulations,
page 26.

Farmers must possess the appropriate permit to
legally hunt the farm during any hunting or trap-
ping season which requires a permit. Permits are
provided free to all qualified farmers for the follow-
ing seasons: Permit Bow, Permit Muzzleloader and
Permit Shotgun deer seasons plus the springand fall
Turkey Permit seasons and the Black Bear Season.

Sunday bowhunting for deer islegal only on state
wildlife management areas and private property.

Farmers may trap fox destroying poultry, crops or
property at any time, subject to state law and local
ordinances. Farmers or their agents may shoot or trap
coyotes by lawful procedures at any time when found
destroying livestock or crops. A regional Fish and
Wildlife Law Enforcement office must be notified
within 24 hours of killing a coyote. See Law Enforce-
ment page 41 or Telephone Directory page 88.

Permits for Farmers

Fish and Wildlife reviews the Farmer Permit
database periodically to ensure compliance. In
2018, all farmers whose last name begins with
the letters A through M will be re-inspected.
A letter and form was mailed in March—April
to the address on record. These farmers cannot
claim any farmer permit until Fish and Wild-
life receives the completed form, conducts the
inspection and re-approves the farmer. Once the
inspection is completed, farmers will receive a
letter with their status. If your last name begins
with letter N through Z, no action is needed for
2018. Our Bureau of Law Enforcement will contact
you if additional information is required during
the re-evaluation process. Farmer status will be
inactivated and farmers notified if the information
on file is no longer accurate.

New farmers must submit an application to obtain
free turkey, deer and/or bear permits. Applications
are available on our website at NJFishandWildlife.
com/farmer.htm under Farmer Certification Applica-
tion for Deer and Turkey Permits. Print out both pages
and use the instruction sheet to fill out the application.

Applications are also available at your local county
agricultural extension office.

The preferred application period for farmers is
June 1-August 1.

Once approved, farmers may claim their farmer
permits by going to any license agent. The dates
when permits will become available are listed below.

Farmer Deer Permits

+ Farmers may claim deer permits beginning
MONDAY, Sept. 10, 2018 at 10 a.m. at any
license agent.

+ Approved farmers are eligible for one free bow,
shotgun and muzzleloader permit and one free
Antlered Buck Permit for each of the three permit
seasons. See Farmer License Exemption, above. See
also Farmer Regulations, above.

NJFishandWildlife.com

+ Two types of farmer permits—occupant and non-
occupant farmer—allow the applicant to decide
for which permit it is easiest to qualify; see below.
Farmers who must change the occupancy status
for their deer permit should call (609) 292-1473.
Only a qualified farmer and members of the
immediate family (see definition on this page)
who reside on the farm, are eligible to apply for
occupant and non-occupant farmer deer permits.

Farmers may also apply for (or purchase at any

license agent) regular deer permits in addition to

the free farmer permits. See Deer Season Permits,

page 18.

+ Farmers are eligible for a Farmer Buck Permit
which are limited to only one per person per
season. If a farmer claims their FARMER Buck
Permit they cannot purchase a regular Antlered
Buck Permit. Likewise, if a farmer first purchases
an Antlered Buck Permit, the farmer cannot claim
a Farmer Buck Permit. The Antlered Buck Permit
is valid for any zone in which the farmer has an
antlerless permit for the season.

+

+

Occupant Farmer Deer Permits

+ Applicants must be the owner, lessee or members
of the immediate family (see definition on this
page) who actually reside on the farm property.

+ Land must be at least five acres, tax-assessed as
farmland.

+ Occupant permits are valid only on the farm
property where the applicant resides.

Non-0ccupant Farmer Deer Permits

+ Applicants are not required to live on the farm
property.

+ Farmer(s) and members of their immediate family
(see definition on this page) may qualify, up to a
total of five people.

+ Must actively till at least 30 acres of land which
is tax-assessed as farmland.

+ Woodlots do not qualify.

+ To apply for hunting leased farmland, a copy
of all leases authorizing the agricultural and
hunting uses of the land must be attached to the
application.

+ Non-occupant permits are valid only on private
land within the deer management zone designated
on the permit and are not valid on public lands
within that zone.

+ Anapplicant who lives on a farm and actively tills
at least 30 acres may apply either as an occupant
or a non-occupant.

Farmer Turkey Permits
Farmers may claim fall season turkey permits
beginning MONDAY, September 10, 2018 at
10 a.m. at any license agent. Farmer Turkey Per-
mits are only for Occupant Farmers. Fall Turkey
Season is now open in all Turkey Hunting Areas.
Farmers may claim spring season turkey permits
beginning MONDAY, April 1,2019 at 10:00 a.m.
If you experience a problem obtaining the fall per-
mit at a license agent, call (609) 292-1473.
Farmers may also apply for (or purchase at any
license agent) regular turkey permits in addition
to the free farmer permits.
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Farmer Bear Permits

Only the owner or lessee of a farm, who resides
thereon, or members of his immediate family 10
years of age or older who also reside thereon, may
apply on forms provided for a special farmer black
bear permit. See definition of “immediate family”
on this page. Under this section a farm is an area
of five acres or more, producing a gross income in
excess of $500 and is tax assessed as farmland.
Special farmer black bear permits will be issued
only in those Black Bear Management Zones where

Farmers undergoing re-inspection this year must
complete the bear permit information in the mail-
ing that was sent. All others need not re-apply.
Application forms may be obtained from Fish and
Wildlife’s website or at county agricultural exten-
sion offices.

Application deadline: Sept. 1. There is no fee; all
qualified applicants will receive a Special Farmer
Black Bear Permit via mail for the 2018 black bear
season which will be valid for both segments. How-
ever, the bag limit remains at one bear.

Submit only one farmer application per individual
during the initial application period. Application
for a farmer black bear permit shall not preclude
a farmer (as a holder of a valid hunting license)
from applying for—and Fish and Wildlife issu-
ing—regular black bear season permit(s).

Special Farmer Black Bear Permits will NOT
be issued via the electronic license system for the
2018 Black Bear Season. Permits will be mailed to
qualified farmers only after receiving valid applica-
tions approved by Fish and Wildlife’s Bureau of

2018 Issue

aseason is prescribed.
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Hunter and skilled photographer Tyler Keggan documented his harvest in this
self-portrait with a fine 8-point buck harvested in DMZ 5, Warren County
during the Six-day Firearm Season using his 20 gauge Mossherg 500.

Regulations in red are new this year.

Legal Deer Hunting Hours: half hour before
sunrise to half hour after sunset

ONLY ONE ANTLERED DEER may be taken per
season statewide regardless of the number of ant-
lered buck permits in possession, except two deer
may be taken during the Six-Day Firearm Season.
To be legal, all deer harvested must be reported
using Fish and Wildlife’s Automated Harvest

Feral Hogs

Report sightings,
rooting evidence or
other damage caused
by feral hogs!

USDA APHIS Wildlife Services at
(908) 735-5654 x 2

Deer hunters must report the harvest of
feral hogs to New Jersey Division of Fish
and Wildlife at (908)735-6938.

For more information on

Feral Hogs in New Jersey, -.E E
visit our website by scanning

this code or go to NJFishand- E

Wildlife.com/gr/hogs.htm.

| New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest

Report System (see page 36), either online or by
telephone. Hunters will be assigned a Confirmation
Number in place of the metal possession seal for-
merly provided at check stations. This Confirmation
Number, like the metal seal, must be kept with the
deer and its parts.

Note: Only one deer at a time may be taken dur-
ing any permit season even if you possess both an
antlered and antlerless permit, except in those
zones in Regulation Sets 6,7 and 8 where two deer
at a time may be harvested during the Fall Bow,
Permit Bow, Permit Shotgun, Permit Muzzleloader
and Winter Bow seasons.

NOTE: Sunday bowhunting for deer is legal
only on state wildlife management areas and
private property.

Feral Hogs

With the ongoing presence of feral hogs in the
Gloucester County area, New Jersey Division
of Fish and Wildlife will allow deer hunters in
Deer Management Zones 25 and 65 to hunt feral
hogs during the regular deer seasons. Feral hogs
must be checked. Hunters who harvest a feral hog
must call (908) 735-6938 to schedule a time to
check in the hog.

Deer Management

Y [=]3 =]
Zone Boundaries
Deer management zone (DMZ)

=
boundary descriptions are now E

available by scanning this QR code with your mobile
device or by visiting our website at NJFishand Wildlife.
com/pdf/deerzones.pdf. Review the map on page 42
for general DMZ borders and the Regulation Set
color-coding scheme.

NJFishandWildlife.com

Six-day Firearm

Deer Season

Dec. 3-8, 2018
Dec. 9-14, 2019

(Season always opens the second
Monday after Thanksgiving.)

For quicker results, use the Deer Hunting Loca-
tion Viewer at NJFishandWildlife.com/ahrs.htm
with simple instructions above the viewer’s map
to determine the deer management zone (zone),
county, township and deer management unit (unit)
where you hunt. Write down all of this information
and keep it accessible while in the field for when you
must report your deer harvest.

Key Concepts and Definitions

+ Antlered deer is defined as any deer with at
least one antler measuring at least three inches
in length as defined below.

+ Antler length is defined as the maximum length
of a deer antler measured from the lowest outside
edge of the antler burr along the outer curve to
the most distant point of what is or appears to be
the main antler beam. For the purposes of this
definition, the antler length does not include the
pedicel or portion of skull between the skull plate
and base of the antler point.
Antler point is defined as any point at least one
inch long from its tip to its base line, and the
length must exceed the width at some location
at least one inch down from the tip.
Antlerless deer is defined as any deer that does
not have an antler length measuring at least three
inches. For the purposes of this definition, adult
male deer that have shed their antlers, button
bucks and adult males with antlers less than three
inches are considered antlerless deer.

Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit, Antlered

Buck Shotgun Permit or Antlered Buck Bow

Permit refers to the antlered buck permits avail-

able for purchase which are valid only when used in

conjunction with the antlerless, zone-specific deer
season permit. The antlered buck permits contain
an antlered deer Harvest Report (formerly called

a transportation tag) and allows for the pursuit

and harvest of an antlered deer only.

Antler Point Restriction zones include Zones 3,9,

13,27,28,29,30, 31,34, 35, 47,63 and 67. The har-

vest of antlered deer from these zones during any
open season is restricted to deer with at least one
antler having a minimum of three antler points as
defined above. The goal of the antler point restric-
tion strategy, as part of Quality Deer Management,
is to reduce harvest pressure on the 1% year-old
antlered deer in the expectation that they will
survive to produce larger antlers as older animals.

Special Areas Deer Management zones include

Zones 37, 38, 39, 53, 54, 56, 57, 58, 61, 64, 66,

67,68 and 70. They are generally small, publicly-

owned properties administered by county, federal

+

+

+

+

+
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or state agencies (other than Fish and Wildlife)
where deer season dates, bag limits or regulations
differ from those of the surrounding deer manage-
ment zone. See page 44 for details.

Youth Hunter status applies to the possessor of
avalid Youth Hunting License (or the immediate
member of a qualified occupant farmer who is at
least 10 years of age) and continues until Dec. 31
of the year in which he or she turns 16 years of age.
The Youth Bow Deer Hunt Day is Saturday,
Sept. 22,2018. The Youth Firearm Deer Hunt
Day is Saturday, Nov. 17, 2018. The bag limit
for youth hunters on this day is one deer of either
sex. Antler Point Restrictions and Earn-A-Buck
requirements do not apply for deer taken on this
day by youth hunters. See page 24 for details.
See page 31 for a cut-out Harvest Report Card.

+

Licenses and Permits

+ See License, Permits and Stamps, page 8, for
details and for Hunter Education requirements.

+ Additional hunting licenses may not be purchased
in order to harvest additional deer.

+ Although hunters may purchase multiple deer
permits, they are limited to only one zone-
specific ANTLERLESS permit per zone dur-
ing each of the permit seasons. For example, a
hunter may buy an ANTLERLESS muzzleloader
permit for each of Zones 18, 21 and 24. A hunter
may purchase a bow permit, a muzzleloader

+

permit and a shotgun permit for Zone 24; how-
ever, they may not purchase two ANTLERLESS
bow permits (nor two shotgun permits nor two
muzzleloader permits) for Zone 24.

It is unlawful to use a bow and arrow for hunting
deer while using a firearm license (except during the
Six-day Firearm Season) and unlawful while using
ashotgun or muzzleloader deer permit. A bow and
arrow license and permit (when required) must
be in possession using this hunting equipment. In
addition, during the overlapping Six-day Firearm
Season, bowhunters with a valid Permit Bow Sea-
son zone permit in those zones governed by Regula-
tion Sets 4—8 may continue to hunt using their bow
and arrow license and must register their harvest
with their zone permit Harvest Report Number.
Hunters without a Permit Bow Season zone permit
who want to use a bow during the Six-day Firearm
Season MUST also possess a valid Firearms Hunt-
ing License and register their harvest using Harvest
Report Number on their firearm license.

The zone-specific Bow, Muzzleloader and Shot-
gun Permits are valid ONLY for the pursuitand
harvest of ANTLERLESS deer. Hunters who
want to pursue and take an antlered deer during
any of these seasons must purchase an Antlered
Buck Bow, Antlered Buck Muzzleloader or Ant-
lered Buck Shotgun Permit. Hunters may purchase
only one Antlered Buck Permit per season. An
Antlered Buck Permit must be used in conjunction
with zone-specific antlerless permit. The Antlered

Buck Permit is not zone-specific; it is valid for use
in any zone for which the hunter already holds a
zone-specific antlerless season permit, but only one
buck may be harvested per season. Adult deer per-
mits are $28; youth deer permits are $12.

Antlered Buck

Permit Deadline!

Antlered Buck Permits must be pur-
chased by 11:59 p.m. on the following
dates: Oct. 27 for Permit Bow; Nov. 26
for Permit Muzzleloader and Dec. 12 for
Permit Shotgun seasons, UNLESS you are
buying your first zone-specific antlerless per-
mit AND an Antlered Buck Permit at the same
time after these dates. See Antlered Buck
Permit Deadline! page 18.

Firearms, Ammunition
and Sights

+ See chart below and page 26 for general hunt-
ing regulations which also apply to deer hunting.
+ All firearms must be cased and unloaded while
being transported in vehicles, including on all-
terrain vehicles. A muzzleloader is considered
unloaded when, in the case of a percussion cap rifle

MOUNTAIN TRAIL WHITETAILS
BOWHUNTING PRESERVE

Hunt On 100 Wooded Acres In Warren County,

‘Home To The Biggest Bucks Inl
f - T *,

“Tim Matthews .'1
(908) 310-0369 ‘

Mountiantrailwhitetails@gmail.com

ew Jersey!s
V- LN [
A

Management Hunts
(Eight (8) points or less,
scoring less than 140")

Gold Hunt —Any Buck
in the Preserve Over 200",
Fully-Guided, Sept.— Jan.

Guided Turkey Hunts $300
per day

Any Buck in the Preserve
Under 200", Semi-Guided

$4400 trophy fee

$3900 trophy fee

$1450
trophy fee

$6400
trophy fee

$3400 trophy fee
$2900 trophy fee
$2400 trophy fee

Hunts are $250 per day (2 day minimum).
If successful, a trophy fee will be charged
based on the type of hunt selected in
addition to the daily fee.

Deer shot on a preserve are not eligible for Boone & Crockett, Pope & Young or New Jersey’s Outstanding Deer Program.

REGULATIONS
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Regulations in red are new this year.

or shotgun, the percussion cap has been removed
from the nipple; in the case of a flintlock, when
the powder is removed from the pan and a boot
or cover made of nonmetallic material is placed
over the frizzen.

Hunters using or possessing any shotgun slug
in the field during the deer seasons must have a
shotgun with adjustable open iron or peep sights
or a scope affixed to the shotgun.

Telescopic sights of any magnification (scope
power) are permitted for deer hunting on all fire-
arms, including muzzleloader rifles and smooth-
bore muzzleloader shotguns. No permits are
required for telescopic sights.

Any sight or device that casts a beam of light upon
the deer is prohibited.

Shotgun shells containing single spherical projec-
tiles referred to as pumpkin balls are prohibited.
While deer hunting with a shotgun, it is illegal
to have in possession any ammunition not autho-
rized for deer hunting,

Muzzleloaders are legal during the Six-day Fire-
arm season where the hunter must also possess
the annual Rifle Permit. See page 12.

When hunting during the overlapping firearms
seasons for deer and when in possession of the
proper permits for the current seasons, hunt-
ers may carry the firearms legal for the current
seasons. For example, when Six-day Firearm and
Permit Muzzleloader seasons run concurrently, a
hunter may be in possession of a shotgun and either
amuzzleloading rifle or smoothbore muzzleloader.

+

+

+

+

+

+

+

+ Double-barreled muzzleloading rifles are not
permitted during the Six-day Firearm or Permit
Muzzleloader seasons.

+ Only one muzzleloading rifle or smoothbore
muzzleloader may be in possession while deer
hunting, but not both simultaneously.

+ Only black powder or black powder equivalents,
such as Pyrodex and Triple Se7en, may be used
with a muzzleloading firearm when engaged in
hunting. Modern smokeless powder is strictly
prohibited while hunting game with a muzzle-
loading firearm.

+ Special Areas Deer Management Zones may
have regulations that differ from the statewide
regulations. See page 44 for details.

Blinds and Treestands

All firearm and bow and arrow deer hunters utiliz-
ing a ground blind when a firearm deer season is
concurrently open must display 200 square inches
of hunter orange atop the blind and visible from
all sides or within five feet outside the blind and
higher than the blind or at least three feet off the
ground, whichever is higher. During these concur-
rent seasons, bowhunters in treestands also should
consider wearing hunter orange.

A “ground blind” is defined as a temporary, man-
made structure used for the purpose of concealing
from sight a person who is hunting. A ground blind
is not a naturally occurring feature that a hunter
merely uses for concealment.

The State Park Service has modified its policy on
the use of hunting treestands and ground blinds on

Firearms, Bows and Ammunition Legal for Deer Hunting

m Weapon Type Gauge, Caliber or Draw Weight Projectile(s) Firearm sights; Bow releases

Bow: long, recurve, compound or crossbow.

Permit Bow
Winter Bow

Muzzleloader: rifle or smoothbore,
single-barrel, single-shot. Flintlock,
percussion and in-line ignitions permitted.
Electronic ignitions are not legal. Double-
barrel firearms prohibited.

Mugzzleloader

Bow: long, recurve, compound or crosshow.

Shotgun: single or double barrel, rifled bore
or smoothbore

Muzzleloader: single-shot, single barrel rifle
OR single or double-barrel smoothbore shot-

gun. Flintlock, percussion and in-line ignitions
permitted. Electronic ignitions are not legal.
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Shotgun: single or double barrel, rifled bore
or smoothbore

Season

Muzzleloader: single or double-barrel
smoothbores only (no rifles.) Flintlock, per-
cussion and in-line ignitions permitted

Permit Shotgun

| New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest

35 pounds pull at archer’s draw length (long and
recurve bows) or peak weight (compound bow) or
75 pounds minimum draw weight (crossbow)

Rifle: not less than .44 caliber

Must be loaded with a single pro-

Smoothbore: not smaller than 20 gauge and not

jectile only
larger than 10 gauge

35 pounds pull at archer’s draw length (long and
recurve bows) or peak weight (compound bow) or
75 pounds minimum draw weight (crossbow)

Not smaller than 20 gauge and not larger than
10 gauge, capable of holding no more than three
shells

Muzzleloading rifle: single shot not less than
A4 caliber

Smoothbore: single or double-barrel not smaller
than 20 gauge and not larger than 10 gauge

projectile

Smoothbore: buck shot not smaller
than #4 (0.24") nor larger than #000
(0.36") or a single projectile

Slugs: lead, lead alloy or copper
rifled slug or sabot slug

Buck shot: sizes not smaller than #4  scope affixed if hunter is hunting
(0.24") nor larger than #000 (0.36")

Not smaller than 20 gauge and not larger than
10 gauge, capable of holding no more than three
shells

Arrows must be fitted with a well-
sharpened metal broadhead with a
minimum width of %"

Slugs: lead, lead alloy or copper
rifled slug or sabotted slug

Buck shot: sizes not smaller than #4
(0.24") nor larger than #000 (0.36")
Muzzleloading rifle: single

WARNING:

Treestand Hunters

Hunters are cautioned to
avoid placing treestands
in or near ash trees
weakened by the Emerald <
Ash Borer beetle. First R,
detected in New Jersey Y

in 2014, beetle damage

is not always evident

although a tree's structural integrity might
already be seriously compromised. Evaluate
any tree carefully but note that ash trees may
die quickly, concealing their risky status. For
more information and ash tree ID tips, visit
www.nj.gov/agriculture/divisions/pi/prog/
emeraldashborer.html.

\

state parks, forests and recreation areas where hunt-
ing is allowed. To view the updated policy, visit the
State Park Service website atNJParksandForests.
org/stand-blind_policy.htm.

Baiting

Baiting is allowed for deer hunting. Hunters may
hunt for deer while in a tree, on the ground or in
a structure and from any height and any distance
from the bait pile. Hunters should check with the
landowner or administrative agency before placing

Arrows must be fitted with a well-
sharpened metal broadhead with a
minimum width of 34"

Handheld release devices are
permitted

Telescopic sights permitted

NOTE: bowhunters must possess
both a firearm and a bow and
arrow license during this season.

Shotgun must have an adjust-
able open iron or peep sight or a
scope affixed if hunter is hunting
with or in possession of slugs

Telescopic sights permitted

Shotgun must have an adjust-
able open iron or peep sight or a

with or in possession of slugs

Buck shot: sizes not smaller than

Not smaller than 20 gauge and not larger than
10 gauge

NJFishandWildlife.com

#4 (0.24") nor larger than #000
(0.36") or a single projectile

2018 Issue



bait on their hunting area as baiting is not allowed
on properties such as national wildlife refuges.

+ Bowhunters may take two antlered deer legally
onaBow or All-around Sportsman License, one
antlered deer each during the Fall Bow and Win-

ter Bow seasons. Hunters who want to pursue
Decoys a.nd - and harvest an antlered deer during the Permit Deer Love
Electronlc DeVIGeS Bow Season must purchase a buck permit valid ”ew Jersey A pp’es !

+

+

Persons may hunt with the aid of deer decoys
statewide in those zones open for deer hunting
only during the Fall Bow, Permit Bow and Win-
ter Bow seasons. When carrying or moving deer
decoys for the purpose of hunting, persons must
wear a fluorescent orange hat or outer garment
consisting of at least 200 square inches of fluores-
cent orange material, which shall be visible from all
sides as currently required for firearm deer hunting,
It is unlawful to hunt for deer with the aid of an
electronic calling device or any device that casts
abeam of light upon the deer.

Bag Limits

+

+

+

For all seasons except Six-day Firearm, properly
licensed and permitted hunters are limited to
taking one antlered buck per season, regardless
of the number of antletless, zone-specific permits
purchased, when applicable.

During fall bow in early season zones, the hunter
need only harvest one antlerless deer to satisfy the
antlerless-first requirement and may then harvest
abuckin any zone where the early season is open.
Bag limits for the fall bow and winter bow seasons
are as prescribed for each zone (see Regulation Sets,
page 38) except that once a hunter has met the
baglimit in a given regulation set, he or she may not
harvest additional deer from any zone in that regu-
lation set or in one of identical or more restrictive
baglimits. However, the hunter may subsequently
huntin a zone with a more liberal (greater) antlet-
less bag limit as described in the regulation sets.

+

+

only when used in conjunction with the zone-spe-
cificantlerless Bow Permit. For permit purchas-
ing deadline, see Deer Season Permits, page 18.

Bowhunters may take antlered deer with their
bow during the Six-day Firearm season, pro-
vided that they have a current and valid fire-
arm license in addition to an archery license,
or have an All-around Sportsman License. Bow
hunters who bag an antlered deer during the
Six-day Firearm Season with their bow must
use the Harvest Report for the Six-day season
from their firearm or All-around Sportsman

License only. However, during the overlapping

Six-day Firearm Season, bowhunters with a valid
Permit Bow Season zone permit in those areas
governed by Regulation Sets 4—8 may continue
to hunt using their bow and arrow license and
must register their harvest with their Permit Bow
Season zone permit Harvest Report Number.

Firearm hunters legally may take two antlered deer
during the Six-day Firearm Season on a firearm or
All-around Sportsman License. Hunters will be

assigned a Confirmation Number upon reporting

their first Six-day Firearm Season buck using the
new Automated Harvest Report System, allow-
ing the immediate pursuit and harvest of a second
buck. Hunters who want to harvest an antlered
deer during the Permit Shotgun or Permit Muz-
zleloader seasons must purchase a buck permit for
the corresponding season, valid only when used
in conjunction with the zone-specific antlerless
Shotgun or Muzzleloader permit. If hunters take
asecond antlered deer during the Six-day Firearm

Apples are a favorite feed
source among New Jersey deer.

Buy direct from the farmer!
EHSE'I' For information of local sources of
New Jersey apple farmers offering
deer feed, contact: The New Jersey
o O] Apple Industry Advisory Council at
(609) 292-8854 (ask for Bill Walker)

Make Hunting & Fishing
Dreams Come True!

Hunt of a Lifetime is a
nonprofit organization
that grants hunting and
fishing dreams to children,
age 21 and under, who
have been diagnosed with
life threatening illnesses.

If you are interested in helping a child live their
dream, please contact us for more information.

Toll Free 866.345.4455 Huntofalifetime.org

Deer Hunting—General Seasons vs. Permit Seasons

New Jersey has six distinct deer hunting sea-
sons, all of which require a hunting license and
three that also require a deer permit.

General Deer Seasons

Three general seasons include the Fall Bow,
Winter Bow and Six-day Firearm (buck) state-
wide seasons open to any hunter bearing a valid
license corresponding to the season. During these
statewide seasons, hunters are not restricted to
hunting particular deer management zones but
still must abide by the specific season dates and
bag limits regulated on a zone-basis. Consult the
Regulation Sets beginning on page 38.

For these general seasons, a deer Harvest
Report is an integral part of every hunting
license valid for taking deer.

Permit Deer Seasons

Three permit seasons include the Permit Bow,
Permit Shotgun and Permit Muzzleloader zone-
specific seasons open to any hunter bearing a

\

valid license corresponding to the season plus
an appropriate deer permit (bow, shotgun or
muzzleloader) for the deer management zone in
which you are hunting. These deer permits are
valid only for taking antlerless deer. To harvest
an antlered buck during any permit season, the
hunter must purchase a buck permit (one per
person per season) which is not zone-specific
but must be used only in a zone for which the
hunter possesses the antlerless zone permit.
(See page 33.)

During the Permit Bow Season hunters must
possess a valid Bow and Arrow or All-around
Sportsmen license plus a Bow Permit for the
specific zone being hunted.

During the Permit Shotgun and Permit
Muzzleloader seasons

hunters must possess a valid Firearm or All-
around Sportsmen license plus either a Shotgun
or Muzzleloader Permit for the specific zone
being hunted. For the Permit Muzzleloader sea-
son, the hunter must also possess a valid Rifle

Permit. (See Muzzleloaders page 27.)

Expiration Dates

All licenses (Firearm, Bow and Arrow and All-
around Sportsmen licenses) are valid for the cal-
endar year from January 1 through December 31.

All deer permits (Shotgun, Muzzleloader, Bow
permits and their respective Buck permits) are
valid for the duration of the season—even when
the season crosses into the new year. Numer-
ous deer management zones have seasons

that begin in November/December and end in
January/February.

All Rifle Permits (not the deer season permit)
are valid for the fiscal year from July 1-June 30.

Find Regulations by Season

Know the deer management zone where you
will hunt. Go to the Regulation Sets table on
page 38. Zones numbers are listed below each
regulation set column heading. Confirm season
dates and bag limits according to the chosen
sporting arm and the corresponding dates. Sev-
eral deer seasons may be open concurrently.
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Season, their Shotgun Permit Season bag limit is
then restricted to antlerless deer only. For purchas-
ing deadlines, see Deer Season Permits, page 18.

+ Remember, although two antlered bucks may be
taken during the Six-day Firearm Season, when
that occurs, the antlered buck bag limit for the
Permit Shotgun Season is then zero. Hunters
may choose: take either two antlered bucks dur-
ing Six-day Firearm Season, or one antlered buck
during Six-day Firearm Season and one antlered
buck during Permit Shotgun Season (while pos-
sessing an Antlered Buck Permit.) The antlerless
bag limit for these permit seasons will be one, two
or unlimited depending on the zone and season.
See Regulation Sets, page 38.

+ Note: Only one deer at a time may be taken
during any permit season even if you possess
both an antlered and antlerless permit, except
in those zones in Regulation Sets 6, 7 and 8
where two deer at a time may be harvested dur-
ing the Permit Bow, Permit Shotgun and Permit
Muzzleloader seasons.

Mandatory Harvest Report
and Tag Requirements

All hunters are required to report harvested deer
on the day killed using the Automated Harvest
Report System and now must immediately tag
your deer.

Before you go hunting:

1. Before your hunt, verify that you have the
correct year’s license and proper, valid zone
permit. This is essential—both to report your
harvest and to comply with the law!

2. Use the Deer Hunting Location Viewer at
NJFishandWildlife.com/ahrs.htm with easy
instructions above the viewer’s map. Use this
app to determine the deer management zone
(zone), county, township, and deer management
unit (unit) where you hunt. Write down all this
information and keep it accessible while in the field
for when you need to report a deer.

MAKE YOUR OWN WILD GAME
SUMMER SAUSAGE AND SALAMI,
WE HAVE EVERTHING YOU NEED TO PROCESS
YOUR MEAT INTO DELICIOUS SAUSAGE
RIGHT IN YOLIIE OWN HOMI

COMPLETE KITS STARTING AT 513,95

" Butcher & Packer Supply
PO, Box 71748
Madison Heights, Michigan 48071

Call 1-800-521-3188
www.batcher-packer.com

e = s

In the field:

Upon retrieval, the deer is considered to be in

your possession. The hunter must:

1. Immediately fill out the Harvest Report that
is part of your license or permit (or a Har-
vest Report card found on page 31) with
the exception of the Confirmation Number (a
number automatically assigned by the system
which replaces the metal possession seal). Leave
the Harvest Report attached to the license.
The Harvest Report is not used as a tag. See
item 2 below for tagging details.

2. Hunters are required to tag all deer upon
harvestand before transporting the deer. The
tag must include the hunter's CID, both the
date and zone of harvest, antler points and
confirmation number, if applicable. Make
your own tag or use the Deer Harvest Report
Card on page 31.

3. Reportyour harvestvia the Automated Har-
vest Reporting System (by phone or Internet
as printed on every hunting license and permit)
by 8 p.m. during the Fall Bow Season or by
7 p.m. for all other seasons. If unable to access
the Automated Harvest Reporting System by
the designated time, the deer shall be reported
immediately by telephone to the nearest Fish
and Wildlife Law Enforcement office (see page
41 for Law Enforcement listings). The hunter
must continue to attempt accessing the Auto-
mated Harvest Report System until they receive
a Confirmation Number for that deer.

4. Record your assigned Confirmation Number
on your Harvest Report or card. Keep this
reportin your license holder — Do not attach to
the deer. Retain your Confirmation Number as
long as the deer or its parts are in possession. To
report the harvest of additional antlerless deer
during the same season (and zone, if applicable)
reuse the same Harvest Report Number from
that season’s antlerless Harvest Report for all
other antlerless deer taken in this season. Since
the license or permit report only has space for
two Confirmation Numbers, use the Harvest
Report Card in this Digest (page 31) and on
our website, or make your own card on which
to record your harvest data and Confirmation
Number for each deer.

NOTE: A hunter may be required to produce the
head of the deer—or produce records relating to
thelocation of the head such as the butcher or taxi-
dermist who has possession of the deet’s head—
upon request by a conservation police officer within
48 hours after a deer harvest is reported.

Harvest Reports from 2018 permits are valid for
the entire length of the Permit Bow, Permit Muzzle-
loader and Permit Shotgun seasons, including Janu-
ary and February 2019, if the zone specified on the
original permitis open for hunting during these dates.

When regulations allow taking multiple deer,
hunting may resume after each deer is reported
and a Confirmation Number assigned.

The online license system, including the Harvest
Reporting section, is optimized for smartphones
and other mobile devices. Mobile device users must
provide a valid email address and phone number.

NJFishandWildlife.com

After Harvesting a Deer

Even when in possession of deer that have been
reported already, each deer must be tagged with
their assigned Confirmation Number, when appli-
cable, and other information. See Mandatory Har-
vest Report and Tag Requirements on this page for
tagging details. See page 31 for a Harvest Report
Card for use when each of your license or permit
Harvest Reports have been filled or for use asa tag. Be
discreet when transporting your deer to the butcher,
taxidermist or home; rinse away excess blood, turn
the field-dressed side to face in toward your vehicle
and push the tongue back into the deer’s mouth.

Deer Recovery with
Tracking Dogs, Restricted

Dog handlers in possession of a New Jersey Divi-
sion of Fish and Wildlife-issued Tracking Dog Per-
mit may assist hunters to recover legally harvested
deer. For alist of authorized handlers with certified
tracking dogs, go to www.NJFishandWildlife.com/
deer_trackingdog.htm. For tracking dog permit
information, see Tracking Dog Permits under Per-
mits, Other, page 14.

After Reporting Your Deer—

Possession or Sale
+ The Confirmation Number assigned by the Auto-

mated Harvest Report System must be retained
until all venison is consumed and as long as you
keep any deer parts, including antlers. Persons with
deer mounts should write their name, assigned
Confirmation Number, date of kill and season of
harvest on back of the mount for future reference.

+ Itisillegal to sell deer meat, deer antlers or any
part of a deer except deer hides, tails and the
lower portion of the legs. However, nonprofit
organizations conducting wild game dinners for
social and fundraising events may offer game or
furbearer meat (the sale of which is otherwise
prohibited) provided that the meat has been
harvested, stored and processed in accordance
with applicable laws and regulations.

Spotlighting

Spotlighting deer during hours of darkness from
a vehicle is illegal while in possession of a weapon
capable of killing deer, whether the weapon is cased,
uncased or in alocked compartment. This does not
apply to the regular use of headlights when traveling
in a normal manner on public or private roads.t

Warning to Violators

Be advised:

two violations of wildlife
management area regulations
will result in loss of all sport-
ing licenses and privileges for
a period of five years.
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2017 eer Harves
SUMMARIES ——

2017-18 Total Deer Harvest by Season and Zone NEW JERSEY DEER HUNTERS harvested 48,545
deer during the 2017-18 seasons. The harvest for

this year’s deer season is 1.4 percent lower than
the 49,246 deer taken in 2016—-17. The antlerless
portion of the 2017-18 harvest was 28,463 deer,
down 3.0 percent from 2016-17. The antlered por-
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1 100 87 83 124 6 25 12 437 tion of the 2017-18 harvest was 20,082 deer, up
2 506 347 207 278 217 75 16 1,646 1.0 percent from 2016-17. W
3 116 103 43 88 8 18 8 384
4 81 73 77 140 9 16 1 397
5 822 575 371 317 330 85 19 2,519
6 292 216 89 82 42 55 7 783
7 532 324 194 202 412 70 13 1,747
8 1,015 723 312 255 572 198 16 3,001
9 246 160 36 33 70 71 1 617 Deer Harvest
10 774 450 265 254 609 155 8 2,515 .
11 494 260 156 190 346 60 11 1,517 Trends in
12 1,076 703 282 304 780 222 14 3,381
13 47 322 46 72 218 139 0 1,214 New Jersey
14 707 518 239 106 524 208 4 2,306
15 451 313 114 G 415 12 6 1,488 Scan this code for additional deer harvest
16 348 280 152 100 196 i 4 1,151 information from the 2016—17 hunting
17 339 262 168 162 623 50 12 1,606 seasons or go to NJFishandWildlife.com/qr/
18 133 88 109 45 21 47 8 451 trends.htm.
19 435 409 278 137 391 108 18 1,776 .
21 90 87 247 53 21 39 10 547 Eﬁm
22 72 54 54 17 B 20 6 228 —_
23 109 99 281 88 30 48 16 671 e e
24 49 32 114 37 8 21 5 266
25 368 296 164 139 294 70 14 1,345 E
26 227 235 353 173 31 124 20 1,163
27 230 209 76 139 158 41 6 859 \
28 316 230 102 152 208 63 10 1,081
29 169 155 81 174 176 27 8 790
30 84 95 37 80 23 34 4 357
31 89 68 19 34 62 20 2 294
34 56 73 92 86 48 52 15 422
35 374 293 99 188 219 82 17 1,272
36 352 289 43 25 151 176 4 1,040
37 85 74 12 48 1 52 1 273 :
38 0 0 0 4 18 0 0 22 The problems:
39 67 64 16 49 22 14 0 232  Poor quality—
4 292 156 90 86 257 58 2 941 processing by
42 84 100 61 45 65 31 0 386 amateurs
43 18 19 141 18 6 19 1 222 e Highcost
45 29 29 145 57 15 2 9 307 * Are you getting the
46 36 46 124 47 10 25 6 294 cuts you want?
a7 99 79 41 48 93 40 2 402 : ééﬁ ry;‘égfgg;?(f"
48 338 203 170 172 438 45 4 1,370 « Are you getting the
49 255 207 34 16 139 86 2 739 ¥ _ __ same deer back?*
50 810 594 134 81 459 234 4 2,316
51 286 224 7 30 132 96 1 840 The AMB Deer
— ” - ; ; - : - — processing solution:
55 18 16 16 9 1 8 0 68 » Reasonable price of $95.00**
56 0 0 0 0 15 0 0 15 « Skilled professional butchers
57 0 4 0 1 11 0 0 16 * Processed the way you request
58 0 8 0 3 7 0 0 18 * 90% boned out
61 0 8 2 4 5 2 0 21 « Properly wrapped and labeled for the freezer
63 30 49 24 25 5 15 3 151
65 46 95 Ed 2 5 16 3 236 Note: A deer tag is absolutely required for
66 5 2 0 0 a 3 0 87, our processing service.
67 0 0 0 89 0 10 0 99
68 12 14 8 10 18 3 0 65 Offering limited line of smoked products!
70 0 2 0 L z Y 2 g Kielbasa « Hot Dogs

Total 13,993 10,402 6,177 5,225 9,008 3,387 353 48,545

Hot & Sweet Sausage
2018 Issue NJFishandWildlife.com *Does not include smoked products  **150 Ibs. and down 37
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Color-coded to Regulation Set Reference Chart and Zone Map (page 42)

Regulation
Set

Zones

Info

Fall Bow
Season

Youth Deer
Hunt Days

Permit Bow
Season

Permit
Muzzleloader
Season

Six-day
Firearm
Season

Permit
Shotgun
Season

Winter Bow
Season

* Any antlered deer taken in Zone 34 must have at
least three antler points on one side of the rack.

e | egal hunting hours: 1/2 hour before sunrise to
1/2 hour after sunset. No firearm deer hunting on
Sunday. Limited Sunday bowhunting allowed.

 Note: Only one antlerless permit, per zone, may
be purchased in each permit season. If a hunter
purchases an antlerless permit for more than one
zone in a season, the Antlered Buck Permit is valid
for a ONE TIME USE in any ONE of the zones for
which the hunter holds a permit. Properly licensed
hunters are still limited to ONE antlered buck per
season, regardless of the number of antlerless
permits purchased.

Sept. 29-0ct. 26, 2018
Season bag limit is one deer of either sex.

Sept. 22, 2018—Bow Only
Nov. 17, 2018—Firearm Only

Season bag limit for either youth day is one deer of
either sex for qualified youth hunters only. Any deer
harvested by a qualified youth hunter accompanied by
a similarly licensed, non-shooting adult mentor is NOT
included as part of the bag limit for the Fall Bow or
Six-day Firearm Season. See also pages 24 and 29.

Oct. 27-Nov. 17, 2018

Season bag limit is one deer of either sex if the Antlered
Buck Bow Permit is purchased. However, if the hunter
chooses not to purchase the Antlered Buck Bow Permit
then the bag limit is one antlerless deer only.

(See Note above.)

Nov. 26-27, Dec. 15, 17-19, 24, 26-31, 2018

Season bag limit is one deer of either sex if the
Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit is purchased.
However, if the hunter chooses not to purchase the
Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit then the bag limit is
one antlerless deer only.

(See Note above.)

Dec. 3-8, 2018

Season bag limit is two antlered deer. However, if a
hunter harvests two antlered deer, he/she forfeits the
opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during the
Permit Shotgun Season. Only one buck may be taken
atatime.

Dec. 12-14, 2018

Season bag limit is one deer. This deer may be antlered
if the Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit is purchased.
However, if the hunter chooses not to purchase the
Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit, or harvested two
antlered deer during the Six-day Firearm Season, then
the bag limit is one antlerless deer only.

(See Note above.)

Jan. 1-31, 2019
Season bag limit is one deer of either sex.

New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest
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* Any antlered deer taken in Zone 3 must have at least
three antler points on one side of the rack.

o | egal hunting hours: 1/2 hour before sunrise to
1/2 hour after sunset. No firearm deer hunting on
Sunday. Limited Sunday bowhunting allowed.

o Note: Only one antlerless permit, per zone, may
be purchased in each permit season. If a hunter
purchases an antlerless permit for more than one
zone in a season, the Antlered Buck Permit is valid
for a ONE TIME USE in any ONE of the zones for
which the hunter holds a permit. Properly licensed
hunters are still limited to ONE antlered buck per
season, regardless of the number of antlerless
permits purchased.

Sept. 29-0ct. 26, 2018

Season bag limit is two deer—however, hunters may
NOT harvest two antlerless deer—only ONE may be
antlerless and ONE may be antlered.

Sept. 22, 2018—Bow Only
Nov. 17, 2018—Firearm Only

Season bag limit for either youth day is one deer of
either sex for qualified youth hunters only. Any deer
harvested by a qualified youth hunter accompanied by
a similarly licensed, non-shooting adult mentor is NOT
included as part of the bag limit for the Fall Bow or
Six-day Firearm Season. See also pages 24 and 29.

Oct. 27-Nov. 25, 2018

Season bag limit is two deer, however, only ONE
antlerless deer may be harvested. ONE deer may be
antlered if the Antlered Buck Bow Permit is purchased.
(See Note above.)

Nov. 26-27, Dec. 10, 11, 15-24, 26-31, 2018

Season bag limit is two deer, however, only ONE
antlerless deer may be harvested. ONE deer may be
antlered if the Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit is
purchased.

(See Note above.)

Dec. 3-8, 2018

Season bag limit is two antlered deer. However, if a
hunter harvests two antlered deer, he/she forfeits the
opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during the
Permit Shotgun Season. Only one buck may be taken
atatime.

Dec. 12-14, 2018

Season bag limit is one deer. This deer may be antlered
if the Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit is purchased.
However, if the hunter chooses not to purchase the
Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit or harvested two
antlered deer during the Six-day firearm season, then
the bag limit is one antlerless deer only.

(See Note above.)

Jan. 1-31, 2019

Season bag limit is two deer—however, hunters may
NOT harvest two antlerless deer—only ONE may be
antlerless and ONE may be antlered.
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Regulation Set #3 Regulation Set #4 Regulation Set #5

Regulation
Set
Zones

Info

Fall Bow
Season

Youth Deer
Hunt Days

Permit Bow
Season

Permit
Mugzzleloader
Season

Six-day
Firearm
Season

Permit
Shotgun
Season

Winter Bow
Season

2018 Issue

30%, 55, 63,65 6 |

* Any antlered deer taken in Zone 30 or 63 must have
at least three antler points on one side of the rack.

e | egal hunting hours: 1/2 hour before sunrise to
1/2 hour after sunset. No firearm deer hunting on
Sunday. Limited Sunday bowhunting allowed.

o Note: Only one antlerless permit, per zone, may
be purchased in each permit season. If a hunter
purchases an antlerless permit for more than one
zone in a season, the Antlered Buck Permit is valid
for a ONE TIME USE in any ONE of the zones for
which the hunter holds a permit. Properly licensed
hunters are still limited to ONE antlered buck per
season, regardless of the number of antlerless
permits purchased.

Sept. 29-0ct. 26, 2018

Season bag limit is two deer—
only ONE may be antlered.

Sept. 22, 2018—Bow Only
Nov. 17, 2018—Firearm Only

Season bag limit for either youth day is one deer of
either sex for qualified youth hunters only. Any deer
harvested by a qualified youth hunter accompanied by
a similarly licensed, non-shooting adult mentor is NOT
included as part of the bag limit for the Fall Bow or
Six-day Firearm Season. See also pages 24 and 29.

Oct. 27-Nov. 25, 2018

Season bag limit is two deer. ONE may be antlered if
the Antlered Buck Bow Permit is purchased. However,
if the hunter chooses not to purchase the Antlered
Buck Bow Permit then the bag limit is two antlerless
deer only. (See Note above.)

Nov. 2627, Dec. 10, 11, 15-24, 26-31, 2018 and
Jan. 1-4, 2019

Season bag limit is two deer. ONE may be antlered if
the Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit is purchased.
However, if the hunter chooses not to purchase the
Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit, then the bag limit
is two antlerless deer only. (See Note above.)

Dec. 3-8, 2018

Season bag limit is two antlered deer. However, if a
hunter harvests two antlered deer, he/she forfeits the
opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during the
Permit Shotgun Season. Only one buck may be taken
at atime.

Dec. 12-14, 2018

Season bag limit is two deer. ONE may be antlered if the
Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit is purchased. However,

if the hunter chooses not to purchase the Antlered Buck
Shotgun Permit or harvested two antlered deer during
the Six-day firearm season, then the bag limit is two
antlerless deer only. (See Note above.)

Jan. 1-31, 2019

Season bag limit is two deer—
only ONE may be antlered.

e | egal hunting hours: 1/2 hour before sunrise to
1/2 hour after sunset. No firearm deer hunting on
Sunday. Limited Sunday bowhunting allowed.

o Note: Only one antlerless permit, per zone, may
be purchased in each permit season. If a hunter
purchases an antlerless permit for more than one
zone in a season, the Antlered Buck Permit is valid
for a ONE TIME USE in any ONE of the zones for
which the hunter holds a permit. Properly licensed
hunters are still limited to ONE antlered buck per
season, regardless of the number of antlerless
permits purchased.

First deer must be antlerless (not required for
youth hunters): Sept. 8-28, 2018

Antlered or antlerless: Sept. 29-0ct. 26, 2018

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer and ONE
antlered deer.

Sept. 22, 2018—Bow Only
Nov. 17, 2018—Firearm Only

Season bag limit is one deer of either sex for qualified
youth hunters only. Any deer harvested by a qualified
youth hunter accompanied by a similarly licensed, non-
shooting adult mentor is NOT included as part of the
bag limit for the Fall Bow or Six-day Firearm Season.
See also pages 24 and 29.

Oct. 27-Dec. 24, 26-31, 2018

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE

may be antlered if the Antlered Buck Bow Permit is
purchased. However, if the hunter chooses not to
purchase the Antlered Buck Bow Permit then the bag
limit is unlimited antlerless deer only. (See Note above.)

Nov. 26-27, Dec. 10, 11, 15-24, 26-31, 2018 and
Jan. 1-4, 2019

Season bag limit is two deer. ONE may be antlered if
the Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit is purchased.
However, if the hunter chooses not to purchase the
Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit, then the bag limit
is two antlerless deer only. (See Note above.)

Dec. 3-8, 2018

Season bag limit is two antlered deer. However, if a
hunter harvests two antlered deer, he/she forfeits the
opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during the
Permit Shotgun Season. Only one buck may be taken
atatime.

Dec. 12-14, 2018

Season bag limit is two deer. ONE may be antlered if the
Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit is purchased. However,

if the hunter chooses not to purchase the Antlered Buck
Shotgun Permit or harvested two antlered deer during
the Six-day firearm season, then the bag limit is two
antlerless deer only. (See Note above.)

Jan. 1-31, 2019

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer—
only ONE may be antlered.

NJFishandWildlife.com

2,16, 27* 28*, 29*, 31*, 35%, 47*

* Any antlered deer taken in Zone 27, 28, 29, 31, 35 or
47 must have at least three antler points on one side
of the rack.

e Legal hunting hours: 1/2 hour before sunrise to
1/2 hour after sunset. No firearm deer hunting on
Sunday. Limited Sunday bowhunting allowed.

o Note: Only one antlerless permit, per zone, may
be purchased in each permit season. If a hunter
purchases an antlerless permit for more than one zone
in a season, the Antlered Buck Permit is valid for a ONE
TIME USE in any ONE of the zones for which the hunter
holds a permit. Properly licensed hunters are still
limited to ONE antlered buck per season, regardless of
the number of antlerless permits purchased.

First deer must be antlerless (not required for
youth hunters): Sept. 8-28, 2018

Antlered or antlerless: Sept. 29-0ct. 26, 2018

Season bag limit is five antlerless deer and ONE
antlered deer.

Sept. 22, 2018—Bow Only
Nov. 17, 2018—Firearm Only

Season bag limit for either youth day is one deer of
either sex for any qualified youth hunter only. Any deer
harvested by a qualified youth hunter accompanied by
a similarly licensed, non-shooting adult mentor is NOT
included as part of the bag limit for the Fall Bow or
Six-day Firearm seasons. See also pages 24 and 29.

Oct. 27-Dec. 24, 26-31, 2018

Season bag limit is five antlerless deer. ONE antlered
deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck Bow Permit
is purchased. However, if the hunter chooses not to
purchase the Antlered Buck Bow Permit, then the bag
limit is five antlerless deer only. (See Note above.)

Nov. 26-27, Dec. 10, 11, 15-24, 26-31, 2018 and
Jan. 1-4, 2019

Season bag limit is five antlerless deer. ONE
antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered
Buck Muzzleloader Permit is purchased. However,
if the hunter chooses not to purchase the Antlered
Buck Muzzleloader Permit, then the bag limit is five
antlerless deer only. (See Note above.)

Dec. 3-8, 2018

Season bag limit is two antlered deer. However, if a
hunter harvests two antlered deer, he/she forfeits the
opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during the
Permit Shotgun Season. Only one buck may be taken
atatime.

Dec. 12-14, 2018 and Jan. 12-19, 2019

Season bag limit is five antlerless deer. ONE antlered
deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck Shotgun
Permit is purchased. However, if the hunter harvests
two antlered deer during the Six-day Firearm Season,
then the bag limit is five antlerless deer only.

(See Note above.)

Jan. 1-31, 2019

Season bag limit is five antlerless deer and
ONE antlered deer.
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aall Regulation Set #6

Zones

Info

Fall Bow
Season

Youth Deer
Hunt Days

Permit Bow
Season

Permit
Muzzleloader
Season

Six-day
Firearm
Season

Permit
Shotgun
Season

Winter Bow
Season

5, 19, 25, 42, 48

e | egal hunting hours: 1/2 hour before sunrise to
1/2 hour after sunset. No firearm deer hunting on
Sundays. Limited Sunday bowhunting allowed.

 Note: Only one antlerless permit, per zone, may
be purchased in each permit season. If a hunter
purchases an antlerless permit for more than one
zone in a season, the Antlered Buck Permit is valid
for a ONE TIME USE in any ONE of the zones for
which the hunter holds a permit. Properly licensed
hunters are still limited to ONE antlered buck per
season, regardless of the number of antlerless
permits purchased.

First deer must be antlerless (not required for
youth hunters): Sept. 8-28, 2018

Antlered or antlerless: Sept. 29-0ct. 26, 2018

Season bag limit is nine antlerless deer and ONE ant-
lered deer. Two deer may be taken at a time.

Sept. 22, 2018—Bow Only
Nov. 17, 2018—Firearm Only

Season bag limit for either youth day is one deer of either
sex for any qualified youth hunter only. Any deer harvested
by a qualified youth hunter accompanied by a similarly
licensed, non-shooting adult mentor is NOT included as part
of the bag limit for the Fall Bow or Six-day Firearm Season.
See also pages 24 and 29.

Oct. 27-Dec. 24, 26-31, 2018

Season bag limit is nine antlerless deer. ONE antlered
deer may also be harvested if the Antlered Buck Bow
Permit is purchased. Two deer may be taken at a time.
(See Note above.)

Antlered or Antlerless: Nov. 26-27, Dec. 10, 11,
15-24, 26-31, 2018 and
Jan. 1-31, 2019

Season bag limit is nine antlerless deer. ONE antlered
deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck Muzzleloader
Permit is purchased. However, if the hunter chooses not
to purchase the Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit, then
the bag limit is nine antlerless deer only. Two deer may
be taken at a time. (See Note above.)

Dec. 3-8, 2018

Season bag limit is two antlered deer. However, if a
hunter harvests two antlered deer, he/she forfeits the
opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during the Permit
Shotgun Season. Only one buck may be taken at a time.

Antlered or Antlerless: Dec. 12-14, 2018 and
Jan. 5-31, 2019

Season bag limit is nine antlerless deer. ONE antlered
deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck Shotgun
Permit is purchased. However, if the hunter harvests two
antlered deer during the Six-day firearm Season, then
the bag limit is nine antlerless deer only. Two deer may
be taken at a time. (See Note above.)

Jan. 1-31, 2019

Season bag limit is nine antlerless deer and ONE ant-
lered deer. Two deer may be taken at a time.

New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest

* Any antlered deer taken in Zone 9 must have at least
three antler points on one side of the rack.

o | egal hunting hours: 1/2 hour before sunrise to
1/2 hour after sunset. No firearm deer hunting on
Sundays. Limited Sunday bowhunting allowed.

 Note: Only one antlerless permit, per zone, may
be purchased in each permit season. If a hunter
purchases an antlerless permit for more than one zone
in a season, the Antlered Buck Permit is valid for a ONE
TIME USE in any ONE of the zones for which the hunter
holds a permit. Properly licensed hunters are still
limited to ONE antlered buck per season, regardless of
the number of antlerless permits purchased.

First deer must be antlerless (not required for
youth hunters): Sept. 8-28, 2018

Antlered or antlerless: Sept. 29-0ct. 26, 2018

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer and ONE
antlered deer. Two deer may be taken at a time.

Sept. 22, 2018—Bow Only
Nov. 17, 2018—Firearm Only

Season bag limit for either youth day is one deer of either
sex for any qualified youth hunter only. Any deer harvested
by a qualified youth hunter accompanied by a similarly
licensed, non-shooting adult mentor is NOT included as part
of the bag limit for the Fall Bow or Six-day Firearm Season.
See also pages 24 and 29.

Oct. 27-Dec. 24, 26-31, 2018

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE
antlered deer may also be harvested if the Antlered Buck
Bow Permit is purchased. Two deer may be taken at a
time. (See Note above.)

Antlered or Antlerless: Nov. 26-27, Dec. 10, 11,
15-24, 26-31, 2018 and
Jan. 1-Feb. 9, 2019

Antlerless deer only: Dec. 3-8, 2018

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE
antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck
Muzzleloader Permit is purchased. However, if the hunter
chooses not to purchase the Antlered Buck Muzzleloader
Permit, then the bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer
only. Two deer may be taken at a time. (See Note above.)

Dec. 3-8, 2018

Season bag limit is two antlered deer. However, if a
hunter harvests two antlered deer, he/she forfeits the
opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during the Permit
Shotgun Season. Only one buck may be taken at a time.

Antlerless deer only: Dec. 3-8, 2018

Antlered or Antlerless: Dec. 12-14, 2018 and
Jan. 5-Feb. 9, 2019

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE
antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck
Shotgun Permit is purchased. However, if the hunter
harvests two antlered deer during the Six-day Firearm
Season, then the bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer
only. Two deer may be taken at a time. (See Note above.)

Jan. 1-Feb. 16, 2019

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer and ONE
antlered deer. Two deer may be taken at a time.
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Regulation Set #8

* Any antlered deer taken in Zone 13 must have at least
three antler points on one side of the rack.

e Legal hunting hours: 1/2 hour before sunrise to
1/2 hour after sunset. No firearm deer hunting on
Sundays. Limited Sunday bowhunting allowed.

 Note: Only one antlerless permit, per zone, may
be purchased in each permit season. If a hunter
purchases an antlerless permit for more than one zone
in a season, the Antlered Buck Permit is valid for a ONE
TIME USE in any ONE of the zones for which the hunter
holds a permit. Properly licensed hunters are still
limited to ONE antlered buck per season, regardless of
the number of antlerless permits purchased.

First deer must be antlerless (not required for
youth hunters): Sept. 8-28, 2018

Antlered or antlerless: Sept. 29-0ct. 26, 2018

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer and ONE
antlered deer. Two deer may be taken at a time.

Sept. 22, 2018—Bow Only
Nov. 17, 2018—Firearm Only

Season bag limit for either youth day is one deer of either
sex for any qualified youth hunter only. Any deer harvested
by a qualified youth hunter accompanied by a similarly
licensed, non-shooting adult mentor is NOT included as part
of the bag limit for the Fall Bow or Six-day Firearm Season.
See also pages 24 and 29.

Oct. 27-Dec. 24, 26-31, 2018

Season hag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE
antlered deer may also be harvested if the Antlered Buck
Bow Permit is purchased. Two deer may be taken at a
time. (See Note above.)

Antlered or Antlerless: Nov. 26-27, Dec. 10, 11,
15-24, 26-31, 2018 and
Jan. 1-Feb. 9, 2019
Antlerless deer only: Nov. 19-21 and 23, and
Dec. 3-8, 2018

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE
antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck
Muzzleloader Permit is purchased. However, if the hunter
chooses not to purchase the Antlered Buck Muzzleloader
Permit, then the bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer
only. Two deer may be taken at a time. (See Note above.)

Dec. 3-8, 2018

Season bag limit is two antlered deer. However, if a
hunter harvests two antlered deer, he/she forfeits the
opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during the Permit
Shotgun Season. Only one buck may be taken at a time.

Antlerless deer only: Nov. 19-21 and 23 and
Dec. 3-8, 2018
Antlered or Antlerless: Dec. 12-14, 2018 and
Jan. 5-Feb. 9, 2019

Season hag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE
antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck
Shotgun Permit is purchased. However, if the hunter
harvests two antlered deer during the Six-day Firearm
Season, then the bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer
only. Two deer may be taken at a time. (See Note above.)

Jan. 1-Feb. 16, 2019

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer and ONE
antlered deer. Two deer may be taken at a time.
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\\ Be aware of all SAFETY ZONES.

“ FstOtene Repeat R

Deer Permit Violations

Hunting without permit, wrong season,
wrong zone, permit transfer

Firearm hunting within 450 ft. of a school
playground or building; bowhunting within
450 ft. of a school playground or within
150 ft. of a building

Negligent use of a weapon
Did cause injury or death of another person

Damage or injury to real or personal
property of another

Careless use of a weapon
Shooting into safety zone, handling weapon

in unsafe manner

Trespass

$100 to $500 fine

$100 to $300 fine

$500 to $2,000 fine and five year
loss of license

Up to $2,000 fine and five-year
loss of license plus restitution for
damages

$100 to $500 fine and two-year loss

of license

$100 to $200 fine

Be Sure of Your Target and Beyond

$300 to $1,000 fine

Two convictions within five years
and two-year loss of license

$300 to $1,500 fine and perma-
nent loss of license

$1000 to $4,000 fine and perma-

nent loss of license

Up to $2,000 fine and permanent
loss of license plus restitution for
damages

$100 to $500 fine and two-year
loss of license

$200 to $500 fine and five-year
loss of license

[
Law Enforcement

REGIONAL OFFICES

Law Enforcement
and Regulation g
Information

Contact a New Jersey
Division of Fish and Wildlife
Law Enforcement office
that serves the county
where you hunt or fish.

¢ Northern Region — (908) 735-8240
(Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Morris,
Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Union and War-
ren counties)

¢ (Central Region — (609) 259-2120
(Burlington, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth
and Ocean counties)

¢ Southern Region — (856) 629-0555
(Atlantic, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland,
Gloucester and Salem counties)

e Marine Region — (609) 748-2050
(coastal and bay areas)

¢ To report violations anonymously call
Operation Game Thief — (855) O0GT-TIPS

ANDOVER HUNT & FISH

196 MaintStreetr:=FAndover, NJ'~ 973-786-7382
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2018-19 NJ Deer Season Regulation Sets Reference Chart

For seasons and bag limits, see
Zone details in Regulation Sets
beginning on page 38.

For seasons and bag limits, see
Zone details in Regulation Sets
beginning on page 38.

1 Regulation Set # 2 Regulation Set # 8
37 Special Area Hunting Season
3 Regulation Set # 2 38 Special Area Hunting Season
4 Regulation Set # 2 39 Special Area Hunting Season
40 Zone is not designated
Regulation Set # 4 41 Regulation Set # 7
7 Regulation Set # 7 _
‘ 8 ‘ Regulation Set # 7 ‘ 43 Regulation Set # 0
9 Regulation Set # 7 44 Zone is not designated
10 Regulation Set # 8 45 Regulation Set # 0
1 Regulation Set # 8 46 Regulation Set # 0
47 Regulation Set # 5
13 Regulation Set # 8
14 Regulation Set # 8 Regulation Set # 8
15 Regulation Set # 8 Regulation Set # 8
16 Regulation Set # 5 Regulation Set # 8
17 Regulation Set # 7 52 Zone is not designated
Regulation Set # 2 53 Special Area Hunting Season
54 Special Area Hunting Season
20 Zone is not designated Regulation Set # 3
21 Regulation Set # 0 56 Special Area Hunting Season
22 Regulation Set # 2 57 Special Area Hunting Season
23 Regulation Set # 0 58 Special Area Hunting Season
24 Regulation Set # 0 59 Zone is not designated
60 Zone is not designated
Regulation Set # 2 61 Special Area Hunting Season
27 Regulation Set # 5 62 Zone is not designated
28 Regulation Set # 5 Regulation Set # 3
29 Regulation Set # 5
30 Regulation Set # 3 Regulation Set # 3
31 Regulation Set # 5 66 Special Area Hunting Season
32 Zone is not designated 67 Special Area Hunting Season
33 Zone is not designated 68 Special Area Hunting Season
34 Regulation Set # 0 70 Special Area Hunting Season
35 Regulation Set # 5

New Jersey Deer

Management Zones*

Scan this QR code with your
mobile device for the detailed
deer management zone boundary
descriptions or go to our website
at NJFishandWildlife.com/pdf/
deerzones.pdf

=7
[=]

* Map is for reference only. Use a county map
or see NJFishandWildlife.com/ahrs_deer_
viewer.htm while following zone boundary

descriptions referenced by the QR code at left.




Deer Hunting

ZONE MAP

Deer Hunting
Location Viewer

Before heading to your hunting location,
use the online Deer Hunting Location
Viewer to make use of the Automated
Deer Harvest Report System.

It's easy, fast and accurate!
See page 36 for details.

Deer Hunting
Location Viewer
Scan this code or visit W.

z,__uasmaé_a_:m.noa\ _M_
ahrs_deer_viewer.htm.

\
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Lakehurst section of Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, U.S. Air Force,
northern portion, southern section)

that formerly consisted of Lakehurst Naval Air Engineering Station

U.S. Air Force, that formerly consisted of Fort Dix Reservation
Picatinny Arsenal (Dept of the Army)

Great Swamp National Wildlife Refuge

Earle Naval Weapons Station
Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge (Southern portion)

Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge (Central portion)
Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge (Northern portion)

Dix-McGuire section of Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst,
Atlantic County Parks System
Franklin Parker Preserve and Four Mile Spring Preserve

Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge

(

Federal Aviation Administration Technical Center
T Not shown on map

Monmouth Battlefield State Park
High Point State Park

SPECIAL AREA

ZONE
37
38
39
53
54
561
57t
58t
61t
641
661
67
68
70t

Four Easy Steps to Find Your
Deer Season Regs by Zone

Start with the map on this page, then go to the Deer Management
Zone (DMZ) Descriptions as noted to the top left of this map to confirm
your exact zone boundary. Follow the zone boundary description with a
county map to determine your exact location. Be sure to check for new
boundary changes each year!

Use the Regulation Sets Reference Chart on page 42 to learn in
which regulation set your DMZ is located.

Find your actual regulation set (see page 38), then confirm that
your DMZ is listed at the top of that regulation set.

Locate your desired hunting season (e.g., fall bow, permit
muzzleloader) for dates, bag limits and special information for your DMZ
in the color-coded Deer Regulation Sets chart.

NJFishandwildlife.com New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest |
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Regulations in red are new this year.

All Special Areas

All Special Area Permits go on sale on a
first-come, first-served basis at 10 am on

MONDAY, September 10, 2018. Refer to
specific areas for the closing deadline since
permit sales for certain special areas are
available only for a limited time.

+ Special areas include federal military instal-
lations, certain state and county parks and
national wildlife refuges where hunter access
is controlled.

+ All state game laws and regulations apply to
Special Areas.

+ Only ONE antlered deer may be taken per permit
season, statewide, regardless of the number of
permits possessed.

+ Due to homeland security measures and mili-
tary actions, NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife
cannot guarantee all military installations will
be available or open to hunting throughout each
deer season. Hunters are reminded that Fish
and Wildlife has a “no refund — no exchange”
policy for deer permits.

Special Areas—
County and State Parks
Atlantic County Park System (Zone 61)

Permits for Zone 61 will be available for sale
until 11:59 p.m. on SUNDAY, September 30,
2018. Permits will be available for sale at all license
agents and online over the Internet. The permit
quotas for Zone 61 are as follows: 60 permits will
be available for the Permit Bow Season, 60 permits
will be available for the Permit Muzzleloader Season
and 100 permits will be available for the Permit
Shotgun Season.

Permit Bow Season: Oct. 27-Dec. 24 and
Dec. 26-31, 2018; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless
deer. In addition, hunters who purchase an Ant-
lered Buck Bow Permit may harvest ONE antlered
deer. A total of 60 permits are available.

Permit Muzzleloader Season: Nov. 26-27,
Dec. 10, 11, 15-24, 26-31, 2018; Jan. 1-4, 2019;
Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In addition,
hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck Muzzle-
loader Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. A
total of 60 permits are available.

Six-day Firearm Season: Dec. 3-8, 2018; Please
note: Hunting during the Six-day Firearm Season
on Atlantic County Park property (Zone 61) is
NOT open to all hunters. ONLY hunters with
a current, valid 2018 Zone 61 Permit Shotgun
Season permit may hunt the property during Six-
day Firearm Season. Baglimit: two antlered deer.
However, if a hunter harvests two antlered deer,
they forfeit the opportunity to harvest an antlered
deer during the Permit Shotgun Season. Only one
buck may be taken at a time.

Permit Shotgun Season: Dec. 3-8 and 12-14,
2018; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In

| New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest

addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck
Shotgun Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer.
However, for hunters who harvest two antlered
deer during the Six-day Firearm Season, the bag
limit in the Permit Shotgun Season is restricted
to unlimited antlerless deer only. A total of 100
permits are available.

Winter Bow Season: Jan. 1-31, 2019; Baglimit:
Unlimited antlerless deer and ONE antlered deer.
Please note: Hunting during the Winter Bow Sea-
son on Atlantic County Park property (Zone 61) is
NOT open to all hunters. ONLY hunters with a
current valid Zone 61 Permit Bow Season permit
are allowed to hunt the property during Winter
Bow Season.

Deer hunting is prohibited here all other times.
The Atlantic County Park office is located at 6303
Old Harding Highway, Mays Landing, NJ 08330.
Allapplicants must call (609) 625-8219 prior to the
lottery for specific rules, restrictions and hunter
orientation dates. Hunter orientation attendance is
required for Zone 61. The use of bait is prohibited
in Zone 61.

Cheesequake State Park (Zone 50)
Designated areas of the park are open to deer hunt-
ing. Deer Management Zone 50 regulations apply.
A free park access permit is required. A limited
supply of permits will be available. Contact the park
office at (732) 566-2161 or check the park website
for details. Hunters must supply both their current
hunting and driver’s licenses.

Delaware and Raritan Canal

State Park (Zone 11)

A portion of the Division of Parks and Forestry’s
My Ben tract and Trap Rock-Knipe tract of the
Delaware and Raritan Canal State Park in Dela-
ware Township in Hunterdon County are open
for deer hunting. Zone 11 regulations apply. Call
(609) 397-2949 for more information.

High Point State Park (Zone 67)

To hunt High Point State Park, hunters must pur-
chase a Zone 67 permit from a license agent or
via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site.
Permits will be available until the quota is met or
the season ends, whichever occurs first, See Deer
Season Permits, page 18.

Permit Muzzleloader Season: Nov. 5-9 and
12-15, 2018; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer
and ONE antlered deer. The hunter’s first deer must
be antlerless. Successful hunters may then harvest
anantlered deer ifin possession of an Antlered Buck
Muzzleloader Permit. Any antlered deer taken in
Zone 67 must have at least one antler with three
antler points. A total of 350 permits are available,

Winter Bow Season: Jan. 1-31, 2019; Bag limit:
unlimited antlerless deer and ONE antlered deer.
Any antlered deer taken in Zone 67 must have at
least one antler with three antler points. Two deer
may be taken at one time. Only those portions of
Zone 67 that are south and west of Rt. 23 will
be open for the winter bow season.

Deer hunting is prohibited in High Point at all
other times, Hunters are not permitted in the park
before 6 a.m. or after 6 p.m. Hunters must visit the

NJFishandWildlife.com

park’s website for details on the hunt, hunting maps
and regulations at nj.gov/dep/parksandforests/
parks/highpoint.html. The High Point State Park
office is located at 1480 Rt. 23 South in Sussex.
Call (973) 875-4800 for more information on park
regulations before applying for a Zone 67 permit.

Hunterdon County Park System

Parks within the Hunterdon County Park System
thatare open to deer hunting require a park access
permit. Applications are available at the Hunterdon
County Arboretum, Rt. 31, Lebanon, NJ. Before
hunting, call (908) 782-1158 for more information,
or log onto co.hunterdon.nj.us and click on Parks
and Recreation.

Mercer County Parks

The Mercer County Park Commission operates
deer management programs at several parkland
properties. Hunters much obtain a county-issued
permit to hunt on county parkland.

Baldpate Mountain (DMZ 41) in Hopewell
Township is open on select days during the Fall
Bow, Permit Bow, Permit Muzzleloader, Permit
Shotgun, Six-day Firearm and Winter Bow Seasons.

Mercer Meadows (DMZ 12) is open for Fall Bow,
Permit Bow and Winter Bow Seasons.

To hunt Baldpate Mountain or Mercer Meadows,
call (609)303-0706, email jstark@mercercounty.
org or check the website at www.mercercountyp-
arks.org for season dates and other regulations.

Howell Living History Farm (DMZ 41) is open
for select days during the Permit Muzzleloader,
Permit Shotgun and Winter Bow Seasons. Call
(609)737-3299 for more information.

Deer Hunting is prohibited at all other times.

Middlesex County Park System

Portions of specified parks within the Middlesex
County Park System are open to deer hunting. A
park system permit is required. Call (732) 745-8278

for maps and more information.

Monmouth Battlefield State Park (Zone 64)
To hunt Monmouth Battlefield State Park, hunters
must apply for a Zone 64 Permit. Permits will be
available for sale until 11:59 p.m. on Sunday,
Oct. 28. Permits will be available for sale at all
license agents and online via the Internet. A total
0f 100 permits will be available for the Permit Shot-
gun Season. All hunters are required to complete
and return a registration packet to Monmouth
Battlefield State Park office prior to Dec. 1, 2018.

Permit Shotgun Season: Dec. 3-8, 2018; Bag
limit: unlimited antletless deer. Two deer may be
taken at one time. A total of 100 permits are available.

Six-day Firearm Season: Dec. 3-8, 2018; Bag
limit: two antlered deer. Only one buck may be
taken at a time.

Winter Bow Season: Jan. 1-Feb. 16, 2019; Bag
limit: unlimited antlerless deer and ONE antlered
deer. Two deer may be taken at one time.

Deer hunting is prohibited at all other times.
Hunters must comply with all state park regula-
tions. Call (732) 462-9616 for more information
on additional park regulations before applying for
a Zone 64 permit.
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Monmouth Gounty Park System

Portions of specified parks within the Monmouth
County Park System are open to deer hunting. A
park system permit is required. Call (732) 842-4000
or visit monmouthcountyparks.com for maps and
more information.

Morris County Park System

In accordance with the Park Commission’s deer
management program, designated areas of select
parks are open for deer hunting on select dates dur-
ing the Fall Bow, Permit Bow, Winter Bow, Permit
Shotgun and Permit Muzzleloader seasons. A Park
Commission access permit is required. Hunting is
prohibited at all other times. All applicable zone
regulations apply.

The Morris County Park Commission will supply
additional information about hunting regulations
and procedures to those hunters that are issued
an access permit. Call (973) 326-7622 or visit
www.morrisparks.net/deer/index.asp for infor-
mation about permit applications.

Ocean County Parks Department

The Ocean County Department of Parks and Rec-
reation oversees the stewardship of the county’s
Natural Lands Trust properties. Currently under
the Natural Lands Trust Program over 13,000
acres of land is open to hunting. A full list of prop-
erties that are open to hunting can be obtained
via the interactive map at www.planning.co.ocean.
nj.us/natlands.htm or by calling the Parks Depart-
ment (732) 506-9090. A complete list of rules and
regulations may be viewed or downloaded from
the website. At this time, there is no registration
process or permit necessary to hunt on any Ocean
County Natural Lands Trust properties. Hunters
are encouraged but not required to call or email to
inform us what properties you are hunting. This
information is valuable for numerous safety related
reasons, including notification if a prescribed burn
is scheduled to take place. For more information
regarding hunting please contact Geoffrey Lohm-
eyer at glohmeyer@co.ocean.nj.us or 732-506-9090
x 5941; or Mark Villinger at mvillinger@co.ocean.
nj.us or 732-929-2054 x3055.

Rancocas State Park (Zone 48)

Designated areas of the park are open to deer hunt-
ing during the Fall Bow, Permit Bow and Winter
Bow seasons. Deer Management Zone 48 regula-
tions apply. The park is closed to deer hunting at
all other times. Before hunting in Rancocas State
Park, call (609) 726-1190 for more information.

Round Valley Recreation Area (Zone 12)
Designated portions of the area are open to deer
hunting during all or portions of the Fall Bow, Pet-
mit Bow, Six-day Firearm and Winter Bow seasons.
Deer Management Zone 12 regulations apply. The
areais closed to deer huntingat all other times. Any
area administered by Round Valley, not located
within Round Valley Recreation Area, is also avail-
able for hunting. Contact the Round Valley office
for hunting information at (908) 236-6355.
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Six-Mile Run Reservoir site, administered
by D & R CGanal State Park (Zone 14)

Designated areas of the park are open to deer hunting
during the Fall Bow, Permit Bow and Winter Bow
seasons. Deer Management Zone 14 regulations
apply. The park is closed to deer hunting at all other
times. Call the Delaware-Raritan Canal State Park
(609) 924-5705 for more information and a detailed

map before hunting in Six-Mile Run Reservoir site.

Spruce Run Recreation Area (Zone 7)
Designated portions of the area are open to bowhunt-
ing for deer hunting during the Fall Bow, Permit Bow
and Winter Bow Seasons. Hunting is not permitted
on Sundays. Deer Management Zone 7 regulations
apply. The area is closed to deer hunting at all other
times. Hunters must use the boat launch parkinglot.
Call (908) 638-8572 for more information.

Washington Crossing State Park (Zone 41)
Designated areas of the park are open to deer hunting
during the Fall Bow, Permit Bow and Winter Bow
seasons. Deer Management Zone 41 regulations
apply. The park is closed to deer hunting at all other
times. Call (609) 737-0623 for more information.

Special Areas—
Federal Installations
(other than National
Wildlife Refuges)

Earle Naval Weapons Station
Depot (Zone 39)
(Zone 40 has been incorporated into Zone 39.)
Not open to the general public. The following
information is provided for civilian employees or
military personnel assigned to the base. Hunters
must purchase a Zone 39 permit from license agents
ot via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site.
Permits will be available until the quota is met or
the season ends, whichever comes first. See Deer
Season Permits, page 18. The hunter is respon-
sible to confirm they have current authorization
for access to Earle prior to purchasing a permit.
Purchasing a deer permit for Zone 39 does NOT
guarantee access to Earle Naval Weapons Station.
Only those individuals who have authorization for
hunting privileges and corresponding gate access
on the installation are allowed to hunt. There are
no refunds or exchanges for permits that cannot be
used. Please contact Eric Helms at (732) 866-2337
for more information. Deer hunting is allowed on
Christmas Day and New Year’s Day in Zone 39.

Fall Bow Season (Zone 39): Sept. 8—Oct. 26,
2018; Baglimit: unlimited antlerless deer and ONE
antlered deer. First deer must be antletless from Sept.
8-28,2018. Two deer may be taken at one time.

Permit Bow Season (Zone 39): Oct. 27-Dec.
31, 2018; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In
addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck
Bow Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. A
total of 190 permits are available. Two deer may
be taken at one time.

Six-day Firearm Season (Zone 39): Dec. 3-8,
2018; Bag limit: two antlered deer. However, if a
hunter harvests two antlered deer, they forfeit the
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opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during
the Permit Shotgun Season. Only one buck may
be taken at a time.

Permit Muzzleloader (Zone 39): Nov. 26-30
and Dec. 1 and 10-31, 2018, and Jan. 1-Feb. 9,
2019; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In
addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck
Muzzleloader Permit may harvest ONE antlered
deer. Two deer may be taken at one time. A total
of 100 permits are available.

Permit Shotgun Season (Zone 39): Dec. 1,3-8,
15, 22 and 29, 2018 and Jan. 5, 12, 19 and 26 and
Feb. 2 and 9, 2019; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless
deer. In addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered
Buck Shotgun Permit may harvest ONE antlered
deer. However, for hunters who harvest two deer
during the Six-day Firearm Season, the baglimitin
the Permit Shotgun Season is restricted to unlim-
ited antlerless deer only. Two deer may be taken at
one time. A total of 160 permits are available.

Winter Bow Season (Zone 39): Jan. 1-Feb. 16,
2019; Baglimit: unlimited antlerless deer and ONE

antlered deer. Two deer may be taken at one time.

Federal Aviation Administration William
J. Hughes Technical Center (Zone 66)

The Technical Center is open to deer hunting
through a cooperative agreement between the
FAATC, New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife,
and the New Jersey State Federation of Sportsmen’s
Clubs (NJSESC). Membership in the NJSFSC is
required to obtain access to the Technical Center

5-Day Guided Deer/Bear Combo
$1000

3-Day Turkey Special ~ $750/Person
~ Both Include Meals & Lodging! ~

315.360.7113

www.BigGameHuntingNY.com

P.O. Box 1526
Richficld Springs, NY
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Regulations in red are new this year.

for deer hunting, Hunters wishing to hunt Zone 66
must have approval from the administrative author-
ity of FAA Technical Center (Zone 66) before pur-
chasing a Zone 66 Permit. Call (609) 485-4928 for
more information.

Not open to the general public. Hunters must
purchase their Zone 66 permits from license
agents or via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license
sales site, Permits will be available for sale until
the season ends or the permit quota is reached,
whichever comes first. The hunter is responsible
to confirm they have current authorization for
access to FAATC prior to purchasing a permit.
Purchasing a deer permit for Zone 66 does NOT
guarantee access to the Federal Aviation Adminis-
tration Technical Center. Only those individuals
who have authorization for hunting privileges
and corresponding gate access on the installa-
tion are allowed to hunt. There are no refunds
or exchanges for permits that cannot be used.

The use of bait is prohibited in Zone 66.

Fall Bow Season: Sept. 8—28, 2018; First deer
must be antlerless. Sept. 29—-Oct. 26, 2018; ant-
lered or antlerless deer. Baglimit: unlimited antler-
less deer and ONE antlered deer.

Permit Bow Season: Oct. 27—-Dec. 24 and
Dec. 26-31, 2018; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless
deer. In addition, hunters who purchase an Ant-
lered Buck Bow Permit may harvest ONE antlered
deer. A total of 80 permits are available.

Permit Muzzleloader Season: Nov. 24—Dec. 1,
and 7-8, 2018 and Jan. 5 and 12, 2019; Bag limit:
unlimited antlerless deer. In addition, hunters who
purchase an Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit
may harvest ONE antlered deer. Two deer may be
taken at one time. A total of 15 permits are available.

Permit Shotgun Season: Nov. 24-Dec. 1,and 7-8,
2018 and Jan. 5 and 12, 2019; Bag limit: unlimited
antlerless deer. In addition, hunters who purchase an
Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit may harvest ONE
antlered deer. However, for hunters who harvest two
antlered deer during the Six-day Firearm Season, the
Baglimit in the Permit Shotgun Season is restricted
to unlimited antletless deer only. Two deer may be
taken at one time. A total of 65 permits are available.

Winter Bow Season: Jan. 1-31, 2019; Bag limit:
unlimited antlerless deer and ONE antlered deer.

Dix-McGuire section of Joint Base
McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, U.S. Air

Force, that formerly consisted of Fort

Dix Military Reservation (Zone 37)
Hunters must purchase a Zone 37 permit. Permits
will be available for sale until the season ends or the
permit quota is reached, whichever comes first. Per-
mits may be purchased at license agents or via Fish
and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site. The hunter
is responsible to confirm they have current authori-
zation for access to Dix-McGuire prior to purchas-
ing a permit. Purchasing a deer permit for Zone 37
does NOT guarantee access. Only those individuals
who have authorization for hunting privileges and
corresponding gate access on the installation are
allowed to hunt. There are no refunds or exchanges
for permits that cannot be used.
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Hunters must comply with all Dix-McGuire reg-
ulations. Persons hunting on this post must sign in
and out at Range 14 each day when hunting. Mili-
tary training will take precedence over hunting, Call
Range 14 at (609) 562-4676 on Wednesday/Friday
2 p.m.—8 p.m. or Saturday/Sunday 9 a.m.—4 p.m.
for more information and fee schedules. Deer hunt-
ing is not permitted on Christmas Day or New
Year’s Day in Zone 37.

Fall Bow Season: Sept. 29—-Oct. 26, 2018; Bag
limit: unlimited antlerless deer and ONE antlered
deer. Two deer may be taken at one time.

Permit Bow Season: Oct. 27-Dec. 24 and 26-31,
2018; Baglimit: unlimited antlerless deer. In addi-
tion, hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck Bow
Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. A total of
330 permits are available for Zone 37. Two deer
may be taken at one time.

Six-day Firearm Season: Dec. 3-8, 2018; Bag
limit: two antlered deer. However, if a hunter har-
vests two antlered deer, they forfeit the opportunity
to harvest an antlered deer during the Permit Shot-
gun Season. Only one buck may be taken at a time.

Permit Muzzleloader Season: Nov. 26—-30 and
Dec.1,10-24 and 26-31, 2018 and Jan. 2-5, 2019;
Bag limit: two deer; one may be antlered only for
hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck Muzzle-
loader Permit. A total of 480 permits are available
for Zone 37.

Permit Shotgun Season: Dec. 22,24 and 26,2018;
Bag limit: two deer, one may be antlered only for
hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck Shot-gun
Permit. However, for hunters who harvest two ant-
lered deer during the Six-day Firearm Season, the
baglimit in the Permit Shotgun Season is restricted
to two antlerless deer only. A total of 100 permits
are available for Zone 37.

Winter Bow Season: Jan. 2—Feb. 16, 2019; Bag
limit: unlimited antlerless deer and ONE antlered
deer. Two deer may be taken at one time.

Lakehurst section of Joint Base
McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, U.S. Air Force,
that formerly consisted of Lakehurst
Naval Air Engineering Station (Zone 53)
Hunters must purchase Zone 53 permits from license
agents or via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales
site. Permits will be available until the quota is met
or the season ends, whichever comes first. See Deer
Season Permits, page 18. The hunter is respon-
sible to confirm they have current authorization for
access to the Lakehurst section prior to purchasing
apermit. Purchasing a deer permit for Zone 53 does
NOT guarantee access to the Lakehurst section.
Only those individuals who have authorization for
hunting privileges and corresponding gate access on
the installation are allowed to hunt. There are no
refunds or exchanges for permits that cannot be used.
There is limited public hunting for hunters
who are sponsored by current members of the
Navy Lakehurst Rod and Gun Club. Military
training will take precedence over hunting. Call
(732) 323-2911 for more information. Deer hunt-
ing is not permitted on Christmas Day in Zone 53.
Fall Bow Season: Sept. 8—Oct. 26, 2018; Bag
limit: unlimited antlerless deer and ONE ant-
lered deer. First deer must be antlerless from
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Sept. 8-28,2018. Two deer may be taken at one time.

Permit Bow Season: Oct, 27-Dec. 24 and 26-31,
2018; Baglimit: unlimited antlerless deer. In addi-
tion, hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck Bow
Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. A total of
100 permits are available. Two deer may be taken
at one time.

Six-day Firearm Season: Dec. 3-8, 2018; Bag
limit: two antlered deer. However, if a hunter har-
vests two antlered deer, they forfeit the opportunity
to harvest an antlered deer during the Permit Shot-
gun Season. Only one buck may be taken ata time.

Permit Muzzleloader Season: Nov. 24 and
26-30 and Dec. 1, 10-24, and 26-31, 2018 and
Jan. 1-12, 2019; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless
deer. In addition, hunters who purchase an Ant-
lered Buck Muzzleloader Permit may harvest ONE
antlered deer. A total of 100 permits are available.

Permit Shotgun Season: Dec. 3-8 and 12-14,
2018 and Jan. 5-12, 2019; Bag limit: unlimited
antlerless deer. In addition, hunters who purchase
an Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit may harvest
ONE antlered deer. However, for hunters who har-
vest two antlered deer during the Six-day Firearm
Season, the bag limit in the Permit Shotgun Sea-
son is restricted to unlimited antlerless deer only.
A total of 100 permits are available.

Winter Bow Season:Jan. 1-31, 2019; Bag limit:
two deer—only one may be antlered.

Picatinny Arsenal (Zone 54)

Not open to the general public. The following infor-
mation is provided for active duty or retired military
personnel and Picatinny Arsenal federal civilian
employees or retirees only. Contact Jon Van De
Venter at (973) 724-4691 for more information.
Deer hunting is not permitted on Christmas Day in
Zone 54. There is no Sunday bow hunting allowed
in Deer Management Zone 54.

Hunters must purchase a Zone 54 permit from
license agents or via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet
license sales site. Permits will be for sale until the
season ends or the permit quotais reached. See Deer
Season Permits, page 18. The hunter is responsible
to confirm they have current authorization for access
to Picatinny Arsenal prior to purchasing a permit.
Purchasinga Zone 54 permit does NOT guarantee
access to Picatinny Arsenal. Only those individuals
who have authorization for hunting privileges and
corresponding gate access on the installation are
allowed to hunt. There are no refunds or exchanges
for permits that can not be used.

Fall Bow Season: Sept. 29-Oct. 26, 2018; Bag
limit: unlimited antlerless deer and one antlered
deer. Two deer may be taken at one time.

Permit Bow Season: Oct. 27-Dec. 24, 26-31,
2018; Baglimit: unlimited antletless deer. In addition,
hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck Bow Permit
may harvest ONE antlered deer A total of 60 permits
are available. Two deer may be taken at one time.

Six-day Firearm Season: Dec. 3-8, 2018; Bag
limit: two antlered deer, However, ifa hunter harvests
two antlered deer, they forfeit the opportunity to
harvest an antlered deer during the Permit Shotgun
Season. Only one buck may be taken at a time.

Permit Muzzleloader Season: Nov. 26-27 and
Dec. 10-31, 2018 and Jan. 1-5, 2019; Bag limit:

2018 Issue



unlimited antlerless deer. In addition, hunters who
purchase an Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit
may harvest ONE antlered deer. Two deer may be
taken at one time. A total of 50 permits are available.

Permit Shotgun Season: Dec. 3-8 and 15, 2018
and Jan. 5 and 7-11, 2019; Bag limit: unlimited
antlerless deer. In addition, hunters who purchase
an Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit may harvest
ONE antlered deer. However, for hunters who
harvest two antlered deer during the Six-day Fire-
arm Season, the bag limit in the Permit Shotgun
Season is restricted to unlimited antlerless deer
only. Two deer may be taken at one time. A total
of 50 permits are available.

Winter Bow Season: Jan. 1-31, 2019; Bag limit:
unlimited antlerless deer and ONE antlered deer.
Two deer may be taken at one time.

Special Areas—U.S. Fish and
Wildlife Service, National
Wildlife Refuge System

Special regulations for U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service (USFWS) lands are in effect throughout
all authorized deer hunting seasons, in addition to
state game laws and regulations. NOTE: No Sun-
day bowhunting on national wildlife refuges. The
following federal regulations apply to all national
wildlife refuges (NWRs) in New Jersey:

PAa¥Ko

PLANTATION

MIDWAY, ALABAMA
Est. 1954

Hunt prime land in Barbour
& Bullock Counties.

deer hunt)
-6,000 acre family-owned plantation. NO LEASED LAND.

To plan your hunt,
call J. Paul Taylor at
877.539.5699

Visit us at

- Highest deer density in Alabama. Coyotes and bobcats (no charge, no limit with paid

-50 Food Plots with elevated shooting houses surrounded by pines and oak bottoms.
- New cottages with private bedrooms and baths. First class lodge. All meals included.

www.pa-ko.com

1. Hunting over bait or distributing bait is pro-
hibited on all refuges.

2. Theuseofaspotlight or other artificial light—
including automotive headlights—for the pur-
pose of spotting, locating or taking any wild-
life is prohibited on all refuges, regardless of
whether one is in possession of a weapon.

3. All firearm hunters (muzzleloader and shot-
gun) must wear an outer garment consisting
of at least 400 square inches of solid fluores-
cent orange while deer hunting on any refuge
(double the state law requirement).

4. Entry is prohibited on all refuge lands posted
Area Closed and on refuge roadways posted with
Inholders Only signs.

5. 'The use of nails, wire, screws or bolts to attach
a stand to a tree, or hunting from a tree into
which a metal object has been driven to support
a hunter, is prohibited on all refuges.

Most refuges can accommodate individuals who
have obtained a permit for handicapped hunters
from New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife,
including permits to hunt from vehicles. Interested
persons should contact the appropriate refuge in
advance of the deer hunting seasons.

Cape May NWR

Cape May NWR is open for all six deer seasons.
Season dates and bag limits for Deer Management
Zone 34 will apply. Contact the refuge office for
more information at (609) 463-0994.

Edwin B. Forsythe NWR

(Zones 56, 57, 58 and 70)

To hunt Edwin B. Forsythe NWR, hunters must
possess the proper permits. Permits will be avail-
able for sale until 11:59 p.m. on SUNDAY,
Sept. 30. There are NO exceptions. Permits will
be available for sale atall License Agents and online.

Only designated sections of the Edwin B. For-
sythe NWR are open for deer hunting. All other
areas are closed. The refuge only allows deer hunt-
ing by permit. While the Permit Bow, Permit Shot-
gun and Permit Muzzleloader seasons may overlap
the Six-Day Firearm season dates, refuge hunting is
only conducted under applicable permit regulations,
not Six-day Firearm Season regulations.

Refuge parking permits and hunt maps will be
mailed to hunters after the refuge receives notifica-
tion of permit holders from New Jersey Division
of Fish and Wildlife. Hunt maps are also avail-
able on the refuge website at www.fws.gov/refuge/
edwin_b_forsythe/. Not all refuge deer hunting
zones are posted with National Wildlife Refuge
property and boundary signs. It is the hunter’s
responsibility to know the zone boundaries.

The refuge encourages hunter feedback on your
refuge hunting experience. For any questions, infor-
mation or comments regarding refuge-specific hunt-
ing regulations or activities, call the refuge manager
at (609) 652-1665. Additional information about
the refuge may also be found at the refuge’s Facebook
page: www.Facebook.com/ForsytheN'WR.

All types of repairs
Bluing, Parkerizing, Cerakote

Stock Refinishing
Customizing
Compliance Work

609-445-5207

roundsixgunsmithing.com
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Regulations in red are new this year.

Edwin B. Forsythe NWR (Zone 56) is open
for deer hunting to properly licensed hunters
as follows:

+ Permit Shotgun Season (Zone 56): Dec. 10-14,
2018; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In
addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck
Shotgun Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer.
However, for hunters who harvest two antlered
deer—not on the refuge—during the Six-day
Firearm Season, the baglimit in the Permit Shot-
gun Season is restricted to unlimited antlerless
deer only. Two deer may be taken at one time.
A total of 25 permits are available for Zone 56.

Edwin B, Forsythe NWR (Zone 57) is open
for deer hunting to properly licensed hunters
as follows:

+ Permit Bow Season (Zone 57): Oct. 27-Dec. 24,
26-31,2018; Baglimit: unlimited antlerless deer.
In addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered
Buck Bow Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer.
A total of 40 permits are available for Zone 57.
Permit Muzzleloader (Zone 57): Nov. 26-27,
Dec. 10,11, 15-31, 2018 and Jan. 1-4, 2019; Bag
limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In addition, hunt-
ers who purchase an Antlered Buck Muzzleloader
Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. Two deer
may be taken at a time. A total of 40 permits are
available for Zone 57.

Permit Shotgun Season (Zone 57): Dec. 3-8,
2018 are antlerless deer only. Antlered or ant-
lerless: Dec. 12-14, 2018 and Jan. 5-31, 2019;
Baglimit: unlimited antlerless deer. In addition,
hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck Shotgun
Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. However,
for hunters who harvest two antlered deer—not
on the refuge—during the Six-day Firearm Sea-
son, the bag limit in the Permit Shotgun Season
is restricted to unlimited antlerless deer only. Two
deer may be taken ata time. A total of 40 permits
are available for Zone 57.

+

+

Ten Dollars Off New M.

377 StokesRd. "~ ~
Shamong, NJ 08088
(609)268-0237

info@pinebeltsportsmansclub.com
Pinebeltsportsmansclub.com

Edwin B. Forsythe NWR (Zone 58) is open
for deer hunting to properly licensed hunters
as follows:

+ Permit Bow Season (Zone 58): Oct. 27-Dec. 24,
26-31,2018; Baglimit: unlimited antlerless deer.
In addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered
Buck Bow Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer.
A total of 35 permits are available for Zone 58.

+ Permit Muzzleloader (Zone 58): Nov. 26-27,
Dec. 10,11, 15-31, 2018 and Jan. 1-4, 2019; Bag
limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In addition, hunt-
ers who purchase an Antlered Buck Muzzleloader
Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. Two deer
may be taken at a time. A total of 35 permits are
available for Zone 58.

+ Permit Shotgun Season (Zone 58): Nov. 28-30
and Dec. 3-8, 2018 are antlerless deer only.
Antlered or antlerless: Dec. 12-14, 2018 and
Jan. 5-12, 2019; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless
deer. In addition, hunters who purchase an Ant-
lered Buck Shotgun Permit may harvest ONE
antlered deer. However, for hunters who harvest
two antlered deer—not on the refuge—during the
Six-day Firearm Season, the baglimit in the Permit
Shotgun Season is restricted to unlimited antler-
less deer only. Two deer may be taken at a time.
A total of 50 permits are available for Zone 58.

Edwin B. Forsythe NWR (Zone 70) is open
for deer hunting to properly licensed hunters
as follows:

+ Permit Bow Season (Zone 70): Oct. 27-Dec. 24,
26-31,2018; Baglimit: unlimited antlerless deer.
In addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered
Buck Bow Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer.
A total of 15 permits are available for Zone 70.

+ Permit Muzzleloader (Zone 70): Nov. 26-27,
Dec. 10,11, 15-31,2018 and Jan. 1-4, 2019; Bag
limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In addition, hunt-
ers who purchase an Antlered Buck Muzzleloader
Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. A total
of 15 permits are available for Zone 70.

+ Permit Shotgun Season (Zone 70): Dec. 12-14,
2018 and Jan. 12-19, 2019; Bag limit: unlimited

antlerless deer. In addition, hunters who purchase

embership

an Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit may harvest
ONE antlered deer. However, for hunters who
harvest two antlered deer—not on the refuge—
during the Six-day Firearm Season, the baglimit
in the Permit Shotgun Season is restricted to
unlimited antlerless deer only. A total of 25 per-
mits are available for Zone 70.

Zones 56,57,58 and 70 are closed to deer hunt-
ing at all other times.

Great Swamp NWR (Zone 38)

To hunt Great Swamp NWR, hunters must possess
aZone 38 permit. Permits will be available for sale
until 11:59 p.m. on SUNDAY, Sept. 30. There are
NO exceptions. Permits will be available for sale
at all license agents and online over the Internet.

‘The refuge is open only for Permit Muzzleloader
and Permit Shotgun season hunting and closed
to deer hunting at all other times. Hunters may
apply only for either a Permit Muzzleloader or a
Permit Shotgun permit, not both. Hunters must
obtain a valid state hunting permit plus a refuge
hunting permit. The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
refuge hunting permit fee is $26 ($13 for holders
of a Senior, Golden Age, or Golden Access Pass-
port. Youth Hunters with a valid New Jersey Youth
Hunting License are free.).

NOTE: Great Swamp hunting permits must be
purchased through RecAccess online services. Go
to www.RecAccess.com, then create a RecAccess
account to pay by credit card. The process s easy; user
instructions are available via www.RecAccess.com.
For more information regarding the deer hunt, con-
tact the refuge Visitor Services Manager, Jonathan
Rosenberg at (973) 425-0215 ext. 115.

Great Swamp NWR (Zone 38) is open for deer
hunting to properly licensed hunters as follows:
+ Permit Muzzleloader and Permit Shotgun
Season (concurrent): Nov. 3 and 7-10, 2018. On
Nov. 3 (Saturday), hunting is only for youths who
possess a valid New Jersey Youth hunting license
and a Zone 38 permit. Youths must be accompa-
nied by a licensed but non-hunting adult that is at

A

(with coupon)
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Skeet Shooting
Wed. 9AM-Dusk
Sun. 9AM-4:30 PM

Trapshooting

Wed. 9AM-10PM

Fri. Night 6PM-10PM
Sat. 9AM-2PM

Sun. 9AM-2PM

Fepfsey S Stimm

President/CEO




Deer Hunting Seasons

least 21 years of age. Bag limit: two deer—either
one antlerless and one antlered or two antlerless.
Hunters must be in possession of the appropriate
Antlered Buck Permit before attempting to take an
antlered deer. A total of 200 muzzleloader and 200
shotgun permits are available. The eastern side of
the refuge (approximately 4,000 acres) will be open
to muzzleloader hunting only and the western side
of the refuge (approximately 3,700 acres) will be
open to muzzleloader and shotgun hunting,

Supawna Meadows NWR (Zone 63)
Supawna Meadows NWR is open for Fall Bow,
Youth Bow Day, Permit Bow and Winter Bow sea-
sons ONLY! Zone 63 Bow dates, bag limits and
regulations apply. The use of firearms is prohibited
on Supawna Meadows NWR. No refuge permit fee
is required to hunt Supawna Meadows NWR. For
more information, call (609) 463-0994.

Any antlered deer taken on Supawna Meadows
NWR must have at least one antler with three or
more antler points.

Wallkill River NWR (Zone 2)

Designated areas of the refuge are open during all six
deer seasons. Season dates and bag limits for Zone
2 apply. An annual hunting map, additional regula-
tions and a signed access permit from the refuge must
be obtained prior to scouting or hunting. The access
permit is $30 (permit is free for youth; discounts
available for those with Federal Senior or Access
Passes) and must be signed and carried at all times
when hunting on refuge property. Permits can be
purchased online at www.WallkillRiverPermits.com;
for more information, visit our website at www.fws.
gov/refuge/ Wallkill_River/visit/hunting.html, or
aall (973) 702-7266.

Special Areas—
Other Public Lands

Bayside PSEG Tract (Zone 29)

Hunters interested in hunting this 4,500-acre
PSEG property located in Greenwich Township,
Cumberland County may visit www.pseg.com/
environment/estuary or call (888) MARSHES
for more information. Driving of deer is prohibited
on all PSEG lands. Season dates and bag limits for
Zone 29 apply.

Franklin Parker Preserve and
Four Mile Spring Preserve (Zone 68)
Hunters must purchase Zone 68 permits from
license agents or via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet
license sales site. See Deer Season Permits, page 18.
The hunter is responsible to confirm they have cur-
rentauthorization for access prior to purchasinga
permit. The purchase of a deer permit for Zone 68
does NOT guarantee access to Zone 68. There are no
refunds or exchanges for permits that cannot be used.
Franklin Parker Preserve and Four Mile Spring
Preserve are managed by the New Jersey Conserva-
tion Foundation. Designated areas of these preserves
are open to deer hunting. Contact the Foundation
directly at (908) 234-1225 for more information.
Season dates and bag limits for Regulation Set

#6 apply.

Horseshoe Bend Park (Zone 11)

Horseshoe Bend Park and adjacent state lands in
Kingwood Township are open for limited deer
hunting through a lottery system. Hunting in
this park is prohibited at all other times. There
is a non-refundable $5 fee for each season lottery
application. Contact the Kingwood Township
Park Commission at (908) 996-4276 or go to
www.kingwoodtownship.com/parks for more infor-
mation, season dates, maps and hunter access details.

Kingwood Township—

Ukarish Property (Zone 11)

The Ukarish Property is open for limited deer hunt-
ing through a first-come, first-served process (limit 10
hunters) for bow hunting only. Hunting in this park is
prohibited at all other times. Contact the Kingwood
Township Park Commission at (908) 996-4276
or go to www.kingwoodtownship.com/parks for
more information, season dates, maps and hunter
access details.

Lizard Tail Swamp (Zone 34)

This 400-acre property, jointly owned by New
Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife and The
Nature Conservancy (TNC), is located in Middle

Township, Cape May County. A TNC access per-
mit is required. Call (609) 861-0600 for permit
applications, maps and site-specific regulations.
Season dates and bag limits for Zone 34 apply.

Newark Watershed (Zones 3 and 6)

The Newark Watershed, located in Morris, Pas-
saic and Sussex counties, is open to deer hunt-
ing from September to December. A watershed
access permit is required. Call (973) 697-1724 or
(973) 697-1758 for access permit applications, maps
and site-specific regulations. Season dates and bag
limits for Zone 3 and Zone 6 apply.

Abbotts Meadow WMA—
Formerly Salem Gountry Club (Zone 63)
The section of Abbotts Meadow WMA—Formerly
Salem Country Club, located in Elsinboro Twp.,
Salem County is open for Fall Bow, Youth Bow
Day, Permit Bow and Winter Bow seasons ONLY!
The use of firearms is prohibited on the section of
Abbotts Meadow WMA—Formerly Salem Coun-
try Club. For more information, call (609) 748-2065.
Antler Point Restrictions apply. Antlered deer
must have at least one antler with three or more
antler points. ¥

Hunters Helping the Hungry Needs

Help with Meat-processing Costs

Hunters Helping the Hungry, an organization
that has enabled hunters to provide over one
million servings of tasty and nutritious venison
to feed New Jersey families since 1997, needs
some help from the public to cover the costs of
professional meat processing.

The program, which donated more than 31,713
pounds of venison (more than 126,800 meals
from 809 hunter-provided deer) to food banks and
charitable organizations last year alone, operates
with limited funding. Butchers who participate in
the Hunters Helping the Hungry program receive
$75 to process the donated deer. Currently, hunt-
ers who donate deer to feed the hungry must con-
tribute either $20 (for field-dressed deer weighing
50 Ibs. or more) or $40 (for deer under 50 Ibs.)
toward that processing fee. However, during the
early season (Sept. 8 through Sept. 28) and
from the day following the Six-day Firearm
season until the end of winter bow (Dec. 9,
2018-Feh. 16, 2019), the hunter fee will

be waived except for small deer (dressed
weight under 50 pounds) where the hunter
fee will remain at $40. If the program’s funding
runs out, hunters who donate deer will have to
cover the entire cost for meat-processing.

Hunters should check on funding availability
before harvesting a deer intended for donation
by visiting the website below.

Anyone interested in making a charitable contri-
bution to offset the program’s meat-processing
costs can visit our website at HuntersHelping
TheHungry.org to donate securely through Pay-
Pal or send a check payable to: Hunters Helping
the Hungry, P.0. Box 587, Lebanon, NJ 08833.

\

Participating Butchers Include:

Newton High School, Newton
(973) 383-7573 x243 (Call first for instructions.)

Game Butchers
The Person Family, Lebanon (908) 735-4646

Hunterdon Deer Butcher (908) 797-2315
51 0ld Franklin School Rd., Pittstown

Bishop’s Market
Whitehouse Station (908) 534-9666

V. Roche & Son, LLC Meat Processing
9 High St., Whitehouse Station (908) 534-2006

Farmer’s Butcher Shop
91 Titus Mill Rd., Pennington (609) 737-0514

The Hunter’s Butcher (732) 414-1446
967 Route 524 (Adelphia near Howell)

The Buck Stop, Stanley Mihalecz (856) 794-1281
989 Alvine Rd., Pittsgrove, Salem Co.

Bringhurst Fine Meats/Catering
Berlin (856) 767-0110

Butchers might not accept donated deer
during the Six-day Firearm Buck Season,
decided by individual butchers on a
day-to-day basis, from Dec. 3-8, 2018,
so they can accommodate their regular
customers. Hunters should contact the
butcher in advance.

For upcoming fundraising events such as sport-
ing clay shoots, a golf outing and a 3-D archery
shoot, visit HuntersHelpingtheHungry.org.

SPECIAL AREAS INFORMATION =——
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Regulations in red are new this year.

THE BLACK BEAR hunting season consists of two
separate segments, A and B. Segment A is Octo-
ber 8-13, 2018. The season bag limit is one bear
per permit, but only one bear may be taken per
segment, regardless of the number of permits the
hunter holds. In total, a hunter with valid permits
may harvest up to two bears, one in each segment.

Black Bear Hunting Permits

A total 0f 11,000 black bear hunting permits, allo-
cated by bear management zone, will be available
to properly licensed hunters and farmer hunters.
These permits are valid for the entire black bear
hunting season, including Segment A in October
and Segment B in December. A hunter may not
possess more than two unfilled permits at any time
during the entire season; these permits must be for
different zones.

If no bear is taken during Segment A, the
permit(s) is still valid for hunting in Segment B. If
a hunter harvests a bear during Segment A, that
permit is no longer valid, though the hunter may
purchase a replacement permit for that same zone
to use during Segment B, if available when permit

Don't Wait to Buy

Bear Permits!

The lottery for bear permits has been elimi-
nated. All hunters (especially hunters who
plan to hunt only in Segment B) are strongly
encouraged to purchase their permit(s)
during the September—October sales
period rather than wait until permit sales re-
open on November 1 since bear permits may
sell out in some zones before the Segment A
hunting period ends.

A\

sales re-open on Nov. 1. Hunters who purchase
only one permit prior to the end of Segment A,
and do not harvest a bear during Segment A, may
continue to use that permit during Segment B,
plus may purchase a second permit after Nov. 1
for a different zone.

Hunters who purchase two permits prior to the
end of Segment A and do not fill either permit
during Segment A may NOT purchase a third

permit when permit sales reopen in November.

Essential Black Bear Bowhunting Strategies

Black Bear Shot Placement Guide

Permit sales are broken into two periods: 10 a.m.
on Sept. 10—Oct. 13 and again beginning at 10 a.m.
on Nov. 1 until the end of the season or until permit
quotas are reached. Hunters are strongly urged to
purchase permits during the early sales period. Per-
mits can be purchased at licenses agents or online.

For permit application process, changes, status
check and to claim your permit, see details on page 11.

2018 Black Bear Hunting Permit Quota
Black Bear .
Management Zone LAl

1 2,000
2 3,000
3 3,000
4 2,000
5 1,000

Following commencement of the black bear sea-
son, the Fish and Wildlife Director may announce
closure of the entire season or extension of Seg-
ment B of the season based upon data obtained and
reviewed by Fish and Wildlife. A season closure,
if announced, will become effective 24 hours from
the daily legal closing time of the day on which
the decision is made. The dates of a Segment B

© JeffCrawn.com

e Keep all shots within 20 yards.

slightly quartering away.

vital area.

\

Improve your black bear hunting success while showing respect for the
wild game you pursue. Be prepared to make a quick, clean harvest.

e Hunters must ONLY take high-percentage shots.

e Shoot only when a bear is standing on all fours, broadside or

e The front leg must be extended forward to create access to the

e Black bear's long hair and thick belly fat make it more difficult than
with a deer to determine the location of the vital zone.

See Black Bear Hunting Tips — Including Bowhunter Info! on page
53. Other important black bear hunting FAQs are answered on our
website at NJFishandWildlife.com/bearseason_fag.htm.

The quartering-away position offers the best lethal approach.
Further behind the shoulder is the best aiming spot.
Avoid a shot that will hit the paunch area.

Gun or Bow

Wait for this near front leg to
move forward like the image
shown at left.

Images from IBEP

for a successful harvest!

Remember these shot placement images and make wise decisions

New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest

NJFishandWildlife.com
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REGULATIONS

season extension, if announced, will be Wednesday,
December 12 through Saturday, December 15,
2018. Hunting regulations for the Segment B sea-
son extension will be the same as those during the
regular part of Segment B. Only those permit hold-
ers with a valid permit(s) for Segment B who did not
harvest a bear during the regular part of Segment
B may hunt during the Segment B extension. The
notification number for season closure or exten-
sion is the permit hotline number, (609) 292-9192.
Season closure or extension notification will also
be announced by news release, radio and Fish and
Wildlife’s website NJFishand Wildlife.com.

Black Bear Hunting Season

Hunting Hours: Legal hunting hours for black
bears shall be % hour before sunrise to % hour after
sunset.

2018 Black Bear Season
Hunting Dates

Hunting .
Legal spnrtmg Arms “

Mon., Oct. 8—

A Archery Sat., Oct. 13, 2018

A Archery / Thurs., Oct. 11—
Muzzleloader Sat,, Oct. 13, 2018

B Shotgun / Mon., Dec. 3—
Muzzleloader Sat., Dec. 8, 2018

B Extension Shotgun / Wed., Dec. 12—
(if authorized) Muzzleloader Sat., Dec. 15, 2018

Apprentice License holders are not eligible to
huntblack bear. The skills necessary to hunt black
bear are not commensurate with an introductory
hunting experience as the apprentice license pro-
gram is intended to provide.

Bag Limit: One bear of either sex and any age
may be harvested per permit, but only one bear
may be harvested per segment, regardless of the
number of permits the hunter holds. A total of two
bears may be harvested per hunter—one bear in
segment A and one bear in segment B, with valid
permits. It is unlawful to take or attempt to take
or continue to hunt for more than the number of
black bear permitted.

Special permit requirement: All black bear
hunters must have a current and valid archery or
firearm or all-around sportsman hunting license
and a special Black Bear Hunting Permit issued
by Fish and Wildlife. See Black Bear Management
Zones page 52; see also Black Bear Hunting Permits,
page 50.

Youth Bear Hunters: Youth hunters with a valid
hunting license must also possess a black bear hunt-
ing permit. Youth hunters aged 10 through 13 on
or before October 7, 2018 must be under the direct
supervision of a properly licensed adult (21 years of
age or older) while bear hunting. The adult must also
possess a black bear hunting permit. Direct supervi-
sion means the youth hunter and the supervising
adult are together at the same location. The youth
hunter may not hunt independently of the adult.

2018 Issue

Firearms, Bows and
Ammunition Legal
for Bear Hunting

Shotgun (Segment B only): not smaller than
20 gauge nor larger than 10 gauge with rifled slugs
and capable of holding not more than three rounds.
Lead, lead alloy or copper rifled slug or sabot slug.
Buckshot is prohibited.

Muzzleloader Rifle (only during the last three
days of Segment A plus all of Segment B): must be
single-barrel, single shot rifles not less than .44 cali-
ber. Flintlock, percussion and in-line ignitions are
allowed. Double barrel muzzleloaders prohibited.
Persons hunting with a muzzleloader rifle must also
possess a current and valid rifle hunting permit.

Archery Equipment: (Segment A only) Bows
used for bear hunting (long, recurve, compound or
crossbow) must have a minimum draw pull weight
of 35 pounds at the archers draw length (long and
recurve bow) or peak weight (compound bow), or
75 pounds minimum draw weight for a crossbow.
Arrows must be fitted with a well-sharpened metal
broadhead with a minimum width of 3/4 inch.

Additional Black Bear
Hunting Regulations

+ Firearm black bear hunters must wear a hat of
solid fluorescent hunter orange or an outer gar-
ment containing at least 200 square inches of
fluorescent orange material visible from all sides
atall times while bear hunting and all bear hunt-
ers must follow the fluorescent orange require-
ments pertaining to hunting from a ground blind
as specified under Hunter Orange, page 27.
During the last three days of Segment A, bow-
hunters in treestands should consider wearing
hunter orange.

It shall be illegal to use dogs to pursue or run
black bears .

No person shall attempt to take or kill a black bear
or have in their possession or control any firearm,
bow or other weapon of any kind, while elevated in
astanding tree or in a structure of any kind within
300 feet of a baited area. On national wildlife
refuges and at the Delaware Water Gap National
Recreation Area, the distribution of bait and/or
hunting over bait is prohibited. Hunters should
also check with the landowner or administrative
agency before placing bait on any hunting area.
Allowable hunting methods: stand hunting, still-
hunting or drive hunting,

Hunters using or possessing any shotgun slug
in the field during the bear seasons must have a
shotgun with adjustable open iron or peep sights
or a scope affixed to the shotgun.

Telescopic sights of any magnification (scope
power) are permitted for bear hunting on all fire-
arms (including muzzleloading rifles) and also
on crossbows.

Shotgun shells containing single spherical projec-
tiles referred to as pumpkin balls are prohibited.
While bear hunting with a shotgun, it is illegal
to have in possession any ammunition not autho-
rized for bear hunting,

+

+

+

+

+

+

+

NJFishandWildlife.com

See callout box on page 12 to change
your lottery application or to check your
permit application status online!

+ Only one muzzleloader rifle may be in possession
while bear hunting,

+ All firearms must be cased and unloaded while
being transported in vehicles.

+ It is illegal to take or attempt to take a bear in a
den structure.

Black Bear Hunting
on State Lands

+ Baiting is prohibited within 450 feet of campsites
and picnic areas in all state parks and forests to
coincide with the bear management policy for these
areas. Learn these locations BEFORE you hunt.

+ Huntingis prohibited in the Cedar Swamp Natu-
ral Area at High Point State Park due to sensitive
wetland habitat that could be impacted by going
off trail in this area.

+ ATV use is prohibited in state parks. forests and
wildlife management areas. However, hunters
might be permitted to use AT Vs to retrieve a bear
but only with approval from, and on a pathway
approved by, the park superintendent or desig-
nee (for state parks and forests) or from Fish and
Wildlife’s regional Law Enforcement office (for
assistance on wildlife management areas).

2017 Black Bear Harvest
by Zone and County

2017 Harvest

1 75 53 128
2 75 56 131
3 68 38 106
4 26 18 44
® 0 0 0
Total 244 165 409

2017 Harvest

Sussex 133 93 226
Warren 52 4 93
Morris 36 17 B8]
Passaic 19 14 B8]
Hunterdon S 0 3
Bergen 1 0 1
Total 244 165 409

No bears were harvested in the portions of Mercer and
Somerset counties open to bear hunting in 2017.

New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest
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Black Bear
Management Zones
Map for general reference only.

For a complete description of the Black Bear
Management Zones, scan this QR code or see Fish
and Wildlife’s bear management zone webpage at
NJFishandWildlife.com/bearzonemap.htm.

Ei

-

,____.
!

Black Bear Hunting
Tips — Including
Bowhunting Info!

Scan this code for tips on hunting
New Jersey's black bear or visit
NJFishandWildlife.com/qr/beartips.htm.

\

After Harvesting a Bear—
Mandatory Bear Check
Requirement

Properly licensed hunters who harvest a black bear
shall immediately complete and affix to the bear
hide the “Black Bear Transportation Tag” from their
Black Bear Hunting Permit. Information included
on the black bear transportation tag shall include:
the hunter’s name, address, Conservation ID num-
ber; date and time of kill; nearest road, county and
municipality of kill; and the sex of the black bear.
When field dressing a black bear, leave the sex organs
intact and attached to the body. A harvested black
bear may be quartered and brought out of the field
in sections, provided all parts are brought to the
check station at the same time.

Successful hunters must take the black bear to
a designated check station on the day of the kill
by 9 p.m. during Segment A or by 7 p.m. during
Segment B. Hunters shall surrender the black bear
transportation tag and will be issued a legal pos-
session seal.

Any legally killed black bear recovered too late to
be brought to a designated black bear check station
by the check station closing time on the date of the
kill must be reported immediately by telephone to
the Northern Region Office, Bureau of Law Enforce-
ment (908) 735-8240. On the telephone message
recording device, hunters must leave their name,
address and a telephone number where they can be
reached. The harvested black bear must be brought
to a designated black bear check station on the next
weekday to be registered and to receive a legal pos-
session seal. To protect the meat from spoilage, the
hunter may bring only the head and hide to the check
station the next day. Note: within 48 hours after a
bear is checked, a hunter may be required to produce
the meat of the bear or produce records relating to
thelocation of the meat, such as a butcher shop, upon
request of a conservation police officer. After check
stations have closed on Saturday during the regular
season segments or Saturday during a season exten-
sion (ifannounced), hunters reporting a bear harvest
via the Law Enforcement recorder will be contacted
by a Fish and Wildlife biologist on Sunday to legally
check the bear and to collect biological data.

Proper Meat Handling

Itis critical to remove the hide and cool the
bear immediately after checking the bear.
Cooling a bear with ice from inside the body
cavity is inadequate to prevent the meat from
spoiling. If the hide remains on overnight, the
meat may be unsuitable for consumption.

| New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest
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Mandatory Black Bear
Check Stations

In the event of a season extension, check station
information will be announced via the permit hot-
line (609) 292-9192, news release, and on Fish and
Wildlife's website NJFishandWildlife.com.

Hours
Segment A: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Segment B: noon to 7 p.m.

Warren Gounty
+ Pequest Wildlife Management Area
605 Pequest Road, Oxford

Morris County

+ Black River Wildlife Management Area*
(Segment A only)
275 North Road, Chester

+ Green Pond Golf Course
765 Green Pond Rd, Rt. 513, Rockaway

Sussex Gounty
+ Flatbrook Roy WMA**
Rt. 615 (Walpack Rd.), Sandyston
+ Whittingham WMA
148 Fredon-Springdale Rd., Newton

* Operating Opening Day and Saturday during
Segment A only.

** Operating all week during Segment A plus
operating only on Opening Day and Satur-
day during Segment B,

Black Bear Game Care

Aswhen cooking any raw meat, care must be taken
to prevent exposure to disease when consuming
wild game. Black bear are known to carry Trichi-
nella, a parasite commonly associated with pork.
States nationwide report incidents of bears infected
with Trichinella and New Jersey is no different. A
Trichinella infection (Trichinellosis) is a risk only
if the meat is cooked improperly. To ensure bear
meat is safe to eat, be sure it’s cooked to an internal
temperature of 170 degrees for at least 15 seconds.

Toxoplasmosis, most commonly associated with
cats, is another parasitic disease that may be trans-
mitted to humans if meat is not handled properly. To
eliminate any health risks associated with Toxoplas-
mosis make sure no one who may be pregnant handle
raw bear meat and always cook the meat thoroughly
asyou would for Trichinella. If you follow these simple
guidelines you can enjoy your bear meat without any
concern for exposure to Trichinella or Toxoplasmosis.
Note: Black bear management zones are dif-
ferent than deer management zones. Choose
carefully when purchasing a black bear permit.
For the 2018 season, only zones 1-5 are open
for hunting, ¥
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Bear Hunting

How Far Can Your Firearm Shoot?

12 gauge maximum distances for shot sizes:
N 6. 708 feet or 236 yards
NO. O 1,845 feet or 615 yards

.......................................................................... 1,895 feet or 632 yards

Sporting Arms and Ammunition Manufacturers’ Institute, Inc. Safety Series,
1075 Post Road, Riverside, CT 06878

* Distances above are with barrel held at an elevated angle for maximum
trajectory. Always consider the angle of your barrel when shooting.
* Never shoot at or over the crest of a hill.

* All distances are approximate and can vary depending on the shotgun’s
gauge/choke and ammunition used.

R ey September 8 & 9, 2018 @
WFLD 10 am - 5 pm daily A

O UTDOO RQ Colliers Mills Wildlife Management Area ol s e

Explore. Experience. Enjoy! Jackson Township, NJ '
Fishing Archery Hiking Sy
Kayaking Hunting/Trapping Instruction Trap Shooting ’@
Birding Fish and Wildlife Exhibits Air Rii:'le Rar.nge SR
Rock Climbing ~ Outdoor Supply Flea Market Camping Skills -,5
" S

And much more FREE family fun! s

For more information, visit WildOutdoorExpo.com
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Small Game Hunting

REGULATIONS

Regulations in red are new this year.

A CURRENT AND valid hunting license (Bow and
Arrow, Firearm or All-Around Sportsman) is required
to pursue any small game species. See page 26 for
General Hunting Regulations. The use of dogs, unless
specifically stated otherwise, is permitted to pursue
any small game species, except wild turkey. Hunting
for those species shown on page 57 is prohibited
during the statewide Six-day Firearm (deer) Season
and on the Wednesday of the Permit Shotgun (deer)
Season that immediately follows the Six-day Fire-
arm Season. For exceptions, see Coyote and Fox and
Semi-wild and Commercial Preserve Hunting sections
below. Sunday hunting is prohibited; see Raccoon
and Opossum, page 56 plus Semi-wild and Com-
mercial Shooting Preserves for exceptions.

Season Dates and Bag Limits: The Small Game
Hunting Seasons table on page 57 lists dates,
hunting hours and daily bag limits for all small
game species open for hunting,

General Small Game Hunting Methods: Properly
licensed hunters may hunt small game with shotguns
or bow and arrow and limited hunting with small
caliber rifles; see air gun and coyote/fox regulations.
See also General Hunting Regulations, page 26.

Coyote / Fox Season

Bow Only Season: Sept. 29—
Nov. 9 (except Sundays)

(except Sundays and Dec. 3-8, 12)

Shotgun: Unless specifically stated otherwise,
shotguns for small game hunting may be single
or double barrel, rifled or smoothbore and not
larger than 10-gauge or smaller than .410 caliber
and capable of holding no more than three shells.

Shot: Unless specifically stated otherwise, shot
size for small game hunting may be no larger than
#4 fine shot.

Bow and Arrow: All bows must meet the require-
ments specified in General Hunting Regulations,
page 26. For taking game birds in flight, arrows
equipped with an edged head are prohibited. Flu flu
arrows arerequired for taking game birds in flight.

Air gun: Air guns may be used for taking cotton-
tail rabbit, hare and gray squirrel usingammunition
not smaller than .177 caliber or larger than .22 cali-
ber. Air gun BBs are notlegal for hunting. See also

Air Guns under Firearms and Missiles, page 27.

Muzzleloading Rifles: For limited small game
rifle hunting, see below for Coyote and Fox—Special
Permit Season, Squirrel—Muzzleloading Rifle Season
and Woodchuck for restrictions.

Wildlife Damage: Property owners or their
agents, and occupants of dwellings that are suffering
damage from coyote, fox, opossum, raccoon, skunk,
squirrel, weasel or woodchuck may control them by
lawful means at any time subject to local ordinances.

General Season
Firearm or Bow:
Nov. 11-Mar. 15

Stealing Traps or Trapped Animals: Itis illegal
to take, carry away or unlawfully remove or steala
trap belonging to another person that is set along,
by or in public or private property, ditch, stream,
pond or water in this state and which has been
set for the purpose of catching any of the furbear-
ing animals species for which a legal season is
established. It is also illegal to remove, alive or
dead, any animal from the trap of another person.

Firearm Ammunition
Legal for Hunting
Coyote and Fox

in New Jersey

Scan this QR code or visit us
at NJFishandWildlife.com/
coyote-fox_ammao.htm for

a reference chart useful for
coyote-fox hunting during
seasons that overlap other
game species.

Special Permit Season: Jan. 1 — March 15 (except Sundays*)

(Permit required with shot larger than #4 fine thru #3 Buck sizes
and/or nighttime hunting and/or using a muzzleloading rifle
other than incidental to deer hunting and/or using a modern rifle)

Y hour before sunrise to %2
hour after sunset

Bow: long, recurve, compound
L CELLLI or crosshow
Type and
Projectiles
Permitted

See General Small Game
Hunting Methods, column
two above.

types.

Manner: Call, stalk or stand

Method: Ground, elevated or
other structure

Bait: 300 ft when hunter
elevated or in other structure

Predator Call: Allowed (manual/
electronic)

Decoys: Allowed (no live decoys)
Dogs: Use prohibited

Hunter Orange: Optional

Daily Bag: Unlimited

| New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest

Y hour before sunrise to %2 hour after sunset,
except 8 a.m. start on Nov. 12

Bow: long, recurve, compound or crossbow. See
General Small Game Hunting Methods, above.

Shotgun: single or double barrel. Not smaller
than 20 gauge or larger than 10 gauge, capable
of holding no more than 3 shells.

Shot: Not larger than #4 fine.

Rifles Prohibited during the general season,
including centerfire, rimfire and muzzleloading

Manner: Call, hound, stalk or stand
Method: Ground, elevated or other structure

Bait: not closer than 300 ft when hunter elevated
or in other structure

Predator Call: Allowed (manual/electronic)
Decoys: Allowed (no live decoys)

Dogs: Allowed (except Dec. 4-9, 13)
Hunter Orange: Required

Daily Bag: Unlimited

2 hour before sunrise to %2 hour after sunset

Bow: long, recurve, compound or crossbow

See General Small Game Hunting Methods, above.
Shotgun: single or double barrel. Not smaller than 20 gauge or
larger than 10 gauge, capable of holding no more than 3 shells.

Shot: Not smaller than BB or larger than #3 Buck. Pellets
must be lead or a tungsten-nickel-iron hybrid.
Muzzleloading rifle: single-shot, single barrel no less than
.44 caliber. Flintlock, percussion and in-line ignitions permit-
ted, loaded only with a single projectile, either round ball or
conical bullet. Electronic ignitions prohibited.

Centerfire rifles: From .17 to maximum of .25 caliber with
soft point or hollow point bullets and maximum of 80 grains.

Rimfire rifles: From .17 to maximum of .22 caliber with soft
point or hollow point bullets and maximum of 50 grains.

A modern rifle magazine need not be pinned (plugged), but
may be loaded with no more than three cartridges.

Y hour after sunset to
¥ hour before sunrise®

Shotgun: single or dou-
ble barrel. Not smaller
than 20 gauge or larger
than 10 gauge, capable
of holding no more than
3 shells.

Shot: sizes not smaller
than #4 fine shot or
larger than T

Note: Apprentice license holders prohibited from using any rifle and from night-

Manner: Call or stand

Bait: Use prohibited

Dogs: Use prohibited

Hunter Orange: Optional
Daily Bag: Unlimited

time hunting during the Special Permit Season.

Method: Ground, elevated or other structure

Predator Call: Required (manual/electronic)
Decoys: Allowed (no live decoys)

* Hunting must cease at 11:59 p.m. Saturday evening.

NJFishandWildlife.com
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Coyote and Fox, General
and Special Permit Seasons

See chart on page 54 for the bow only, general and
special permit season regulations for coyote and fox.
NOTE: All successful coyote hunters must report
any coyote harvested to (609) 748-2058 within 24
hours. Callers must identify themselves by name,
CID# and daytime phone number.

In addition to the general coyote and fox seasons
described in the table on page 54, properly licensed
turkey hunters may legally harvest coyotes if encoun-
tered incidental to legal turkey hunting. Turkey
hunters shall not actively pursue coyotes or have
coyote calls or decoys in possession. Also, properly
licensed persons hunting deer during the Six-day
Firearm, Permit Muzzleloader or Permit Shotgun
deer seasons may kill coyote or fox if the coyote or
fox is encountered before the hunter has taken the
season bag limit of deer. However, after the hunter
has taken a daily bag limit of deer, they must cease
hunting immediately. Incidental hunting of coyote
or fox while deer hunting may resume the follow-
ing day (provided the season remains open and the
season bag limit of deer has not been reached.) Only
applicable projectiles approved for deer hunting may
be used to take coyote and fox incidental to deer
hunting during the deer seasons described above.
See Firearms, Bow and Ammunition chart, page 34.

Baiting for coyote/fox is prohibited while hunting
elevated in a standing tree or in a structure of any
kind within 300 feet of a baited area.

Coyote and fox hunting are allowed on WMAs
including all legal sporting arms listed in the
table on page 54.

Further, in addition to the general Coyote and
Fox seasons plus the incidental harvest of coyote
or fox while deer hunting, a Special Permit Coyote
and Fox Season runs concurrent with the regu-
lar small game coyote and fox season. A Fish and
Wildlife-issued permitis required to hunt coyote or
fox under the provisions (see table, page 54) of the
Special Permit Coyote and Fox Season; as follows:

A permit to hunt coyote or fox is required 1.) to
hunt at night and/or 2.) to use shot sizes larger
than #4 fine and up to size #3 Buck, and/or 3.) to
use arifle for coyote or fox other than incidental
to deer hunting. Sunday hunting is not legal.

Apprentice License holders may not hunt coyote
or fox.

Special Goyote, Red and

Gray Fox Hunting Permits

+ A $2 permit is required to hunt coyote, red or
gray fox during the special permit season from
Jan. 1-March. 15.

+ Permits will be available at any license agent or
via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site

Pheasant Stocking Schedule 2018

(Birds stocked the evening prior to the hunting dates listed.)

Berkshire Valley 70 40
Black River 270 140 140
Clinton 320 160 160
ey Delaware Water Gap 5o 560 g0
Region NRA.
Flatbrook 330 160 160
Pequest 270 140 140
Walpack 70 40 40
Whittingham 260 130 130
Assunpink 500 250 250
Colliers Mills 310 160 160
Greenwood-How-
Central ardsville Section 0 50 .
Region Manahawkin 70 40 40
Manasquan 180 90 90
Medford 130 70 70
Stafford Forge 230 120 120
Fort Dix 60 0 0
Dix 200 100 100
Glassboro 160 80 80
Heislerville 70 40 40
Southern Maq Hprse 140 70 70
Region Millville 540 270 270
Nantuxent 180 90 90
Port Republic 70 40 40
Tuckahoe 170 80 80
Winslow

beginning on or about Dec. 3,2018. A 2019 hunting
license must be purchased prior to, or in conjunc-
tion with, the purchase of a 2019 Special Season
Coyote/Fox Permit.

+ For the permit application process, changes, sta-
tus check and to claim your permits, see details
on pages 11-12.

NOTE: See callout box on page 10 to change
your lottery application or to check your permit
application status online!

Pheasant

See Small Game Hunting Seasons chart, page 57
for season dates and bag limits. See exceptions page
56 for semi-wild and commercial preserve hunting,

Pheasant and Quail Stamp Areas: Anyone aged
16 and over (except 16 year olds whose Youth License
remains valid until Dec. 31 in the year they reach 16
years of age) hunting or possessing pheasant or quail
on the following designated wildlife management
areas shall have in possession a current and valid
Pheasant and Quail Stamp (Youth Huntinglicenses
include pheasant and quail stamp): Assunpink,
Berkshire Valley, Millville (Bevan), Black River,
Clinton, Colliers Mills, Dix, Flatbrook, Glassboro,
Greenwood (including Howardsville), Heislerville,
Tuckahoe (MacNamara), Mad Horse, Manahawkin,
Manasquan River, Medford, Nantuxent, Peaslee,

| Sat | Tues | Thurs | Sat | Tues | Thurs | Sat | Thurs | Sat | Sat | Tues | Thurs | Sat | Thurs | Sat |Season]
11/10 | 11/13 11/15 11/17 11720 | 11/22 | 11/24 11/29 12/1 12/15 12/18 12/20 12/22 12/27 | 12/29 | Total |

40 70 40 30 30 40 30 620

230 140 250 140 110 110 110 110 110 160 140 10 2270
260 160 290 160 130 130 130 130 130 180 160 130 2,630
430 260 480 260 220 220 220 220 220 300 260 220 4,350
270 160 300 160 140 140 140 140 140 190 160 140 2,730
230 140 250 140 110 110 110 110 110 160 140 10 2,270
60 40 70 40 30 30 30 30 30 40 40 30 620
220 130 240 130 110 110 110 110 110 150 130 10 2,180
420 2560 460 250 210 210 210 210 210 290 250 210 4,180
260 160 290 160 130 130 130 130 130 180 160 130 2,620
60 40 70 40 30 30 30 30 30 40 40 30 630
60 40 70 40 30 30 30 30 30 40 40 30 620
150 90 160 90 70 70 70 70 70 100 90 70 1,460
10 70 120 70 50 50 50 50 50 80 70 50 1,090
190 120 210 120 100 100 100 100 100 130 120 100 1,960
50 50 70 60 60 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 350
170 100 180 100 80 80 80 80 80 120 100 80 1,650
130 80 140 80 70 70 70 70 70 90 80 70 1,340
60 40 70 40 30 30 30 30 30 40 40 30 620
120 70 130 70 60 60 60 60 60 80 70 60 1,180
450 270 490 270 220 220 220 220 220 310 270 220 4,460
150 90 160 90 70 70 70 70 70 100 90 70 1,460
60 40 70 40 30 30 30 30 30 40 40 30 620
140 80 150 80 70 70 70 70 70 100 80 70 1,380
1,790

Statewide Totals m 2720 2720 lmm 2770 4980 z7ao mmmmm 3030 2720 EEEI 45,080

Quail Stocking Schedule 2018

(Birds stocked the evening prior to the hunting dates listed.)

Statewide
Greenwood 600 280 260
Peaslee 600 280 260

400
400

280
280

600
600

400
400

280
280

260
260

| Sat | Tues | Thurs | Sat | Tues | Thurs | Sat | Thurs | Sat | Sat | Tues | Thurs | Sat | Thurs | Sat |Season]
11710 | 11/13 | 11715 | 1117 | 11720 | 11/22 | 11724 | 11729 | 12/1 | 12/15 | 12/18 | 12/20 | 12/22 | 12/27 | 12/29 | Total |
260
260

400
400

400
400

400
400

280
280

400
400

5,500
5,500

For maps showing the areas to be stocked with pheasants during the small game season, visit NJFishandWildlife.com/smgame_info.htm.
* Number stocked subject to change based on pre-season farming practices and field conditions. Check for updates at the DFW website link, above.
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Quail Season Closed

Small Game Hunting

In an effort to reverse the decline of quail
in New Jersey, the statewide quail hunt-
ing season is closed except at Peaslee
WMA and Greenwood Forest WMA where
Fish and Wildlife will provide hunters and
falconers the opportunity to hunt for quail.

No person may release quail for dog training
purposes on the following WMASs: Buckshutem,
Dix, Egg Island, Fortescue, Millville (Bevans),
Nantuxent, New Sweden and Stafford Forge.

See Small Game Hunting Seasons chart,
page 57 for season dates and bag limits.
Exception: This statewide closure does not
apply to certain semi-wild and commercial
shooting preserves that were permitted to
stock quail during the 2009-10 season.

Squirrel

Muzzleloading Rifle
Season Zones

For a complete description of the squirrel
hunting areas, scan this QR code with your
mobile device or go to NJFishandWildlife.
com/qr/squirrelzones.htm.

Muzzleloading Rifle
Squirrel Areas

LED Headlamps & Gun Lights
Available in , WHITE, or !

56 | New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest
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Pequest, Port Republic, Rockport, Stafford Forge,
Walpack, Whittingham and Winslow. A current
and valid Pheasant and Quail Stamp is also required
at the Delaware River National Recreation Area.

Pheasant and Quail Stocking

Wearing a hunter orange hatis required for all fire-
arm small game hunters on wildlife management
areas stocked with pheasant or quail.

Fish and Wildlife anticipates pheasant and quail
releases to follow as shown in the table on page 55.
However, the stocking schedule is not finalized until
approved by the Fish and Game Council in October
when it will be published on our website at the link
below. Also, the schedule is subject to pheasant
production issues and may change due to rain or
emergency weather conditions. For these unplanned
stocking schedule changes or other necessary adjust-
ments, visit our website at NJFishand Wildlife.com/
smgame_info.htm.

Pheasants are stocked after dark, precluding inter-
action between Fish and Wildlife personnel and
hunters or the chance of prematurely harvesting a
pheasant before the season opens.

New maps showing the specific field locations for
every stocked wildlife management area are now avail-
able here: NJFishandWildlife.com/pheasmaps.hem.

Stocking Maps

gl

Scan this QR code or follow the  ;
link for maps of the pheasant -

and quail stocked fields for

each stocked WMA. Go to
NJFishandWildlife.com/pheasmaps.htm.

Quail, Northern Bobwhite

Northern bobwhite quail are native to the southern
half of New Jersey. In recent years, quail popula-
tions have declined throughout their range includ-
ing New Jersey.

Rabbit and Hare

The rabbit and hare hunting season will begin the last
Saturday in September. The early opening date allows
for hunting opportunity when rabbit populations are
at their peak. Air guns may be used for taking cot-
tontail rabbit and hare using ammunition not smaller
than .177 caliber or larger than .22 caliber. See also
Air Guns under Firearms and Missiles, page 27 and
General Small Game Hunting Methods, page 54.

See Small Game Hunting Seasons chart, page 57
for season dates and bag limits.

Raccoon and Opossum

See Small Game Hunting Seasons chart, page 57
for season dates and bag limits.

Hours: Hunting may not begin until one hour after
sunset on the opening day of the season. On all other
days open during the season, the hours of hunting
are one hour after sunset to one hour before sunrise.

NJFishandWildlife.com

Persons may hunt raccoon and opossum on Sunday
mornings only between the hours of 12:01 a.m. and
one hour before sunrise during the prescribed season.

Hunting methods: Portable lights are permitted.
Fluorescent orange is encouraged but not required on
outer clothing while hunting raccoon and opossum.
A current and valid Rifle Permit is required when
possessing a .22 caliber rifle while hunting raccoon
and opossum. Only .22 caliber shorts are permitted.

Apprentice License holder are not permitted to
use rifles, obtain rifle permits or hunt at night.

Dog Training: Dogs may be trained during the
month of September and from March 2 to May 1,
inclusive. The training hours are one hour after
sunset to one hour before sunrise.

Ruffed Grouse

The state’s two ruffed grouse hunting zones are
delineated by Rt. 70. North of Rt. 70 the season
will begin October 20. South of Rt. 70 the season
will begin Nov. 10 to reduce harvest mortality of the
remaining populations in the southern zone. The
ruffed grouse zones are identical to those for wood-
cock and will provide for consistent regulations for
these species that are often hunted simultaneously.
See Small Game Hunting Seasons chart, page 57

for season dates and bag limits.

Semi-Wild and Gommercial
Preserve Hunting

Hunting for pheasant, quail and partridge is allowed
from Nov. 10 to March 15 on semi-wild and from
Sept. 1 through May 1 on commercial shooting pre-
serves (which also allows mallards) that are properly
licensed for the taking of such species. These game
birds may be hunted on Sunday only on semi-wild
or commercial shooting preserve lands.

Youth hunters (in possession of a valid Youth Hunt-
ing License and accompanied by alicensed, non-shoot-
ing adult) will be permitted to hunt pheasant, quail
and partridge on licensed semi-wild preserves on Sat-
urday, Nov. 3—the Youth Upland Bird Hunting Day.

All game taken on semi-wild or commercial
preserves must be properly tagged before being
transported off the licensed property.

A person may legally hunt on semi-wild or com-
mercial preserves for game birds during deer seasons,
but no shot larger than #4 fine may be used. There
are no daily bag or seasonal limits for pheasant,
quail, partridge or mallards taken on commercial
preserves. There are no daily bag limits for pheasant,
quail or partridge taken on semi-wild properties.
Seasonal harvests on semi-wild properties may not
exceed the number of birds to be stocked as indi-
cated on the semi-wild permit application.

Squirrel, Regular Season

Air guns may be used for taking squirrel usingammu-
nition not smaller than .177 caliber or larger than
.22 caliber. See also Air Guns under Firearms and
Missiles, page 27 and General Small Game Hunting
Methods, page 54. See Small Game Hunting Seasons
chart, page 57.

Continued on page 58.
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Small Game Hunting Seasons

2018-19 Small Game Hunting Seasons

Bobwhite (quail)

Coyote* and Fox,
General

All coyote must be
reported within 24 hrs.

Coyote* and Fox,
Special Permit Season

All coyote must be
reported within 24 hrs.

Crow**
(Mon., Thurs., Fri., Sat.)

Grouse, Ruffed**

Opossum, Raccoon

Pheasant & Partridge

Rabbit, Hare &
Jackrabbit**
Squirrel, Gray**

Squirrel, Gray:
Muzzleloading Rifle
(.36 caliber or smaller)

Turkey (Fall, Either-Sex)

Turkey (Spring Gobbler)

Turkey
(Spring Gobbler, Youth)

Woodchuck:
Bow, Rifle or Shotgun

Woodchuck:**
Bow or Shotgun

Woodcock**

Youth Turkey Day

Youth Upland Bird Days

Closed statewide; except at Peaslee
& Greenwood WMA (see Notes)

At Peaslee & Greenwood WMAs ONLY:
Nov. 10-Dec. 1; Dec. 10, 11, and 13,
2018-Jan. 31, 2019 (except Sundays)

Bow and Arrow only:
Sept. 29-Nov. 9

Firearm or Bow and Arrow:
Nov. 10-Dec. 1; Dec. 10, 11 and 13,
2018-Mar. 15, 2019 (except Sundays)

Firearm or Bow and Arrow:
Jan. 1-Mar. 15 (except Sundays)
(permit required)

Aug. 13-Dec. 1** and Dec. 10, 2018—
Mar. 16, 2019 (See Notes.)

North of Rt. 70: Oct. 20—Dec. 1; Dec.
10, 11 and 13-31 (except Sundays).

South of Rt. 70: Nov. 10-Dec. 1; Dec.
10, 11, 13-31 (except Sundays)

Oct. 1-Mar. 1 (except Sunday evenings)

Nov. 10-Dec. 1; Dec. 10, 11 and 13,
2018-Feb. 18, 2019 (except Sundays)

Sept. 29-Dec. 1; Dec. 10, 11 and 13,
2018-Feh. 23, 2019 (except Sundays)

Sept. 29-Dec. 1; Dec. 10, 11 and 13,
2018—Feb. 23, 2019 (except Sundays)

Sept. 29—Nov. 9, 2018 and Jan. 5—
Feb. 23, 2019 (except Sundays)

(Period N) Oct. 27 and Oct. 29—Nov. 3,
2018

(Periods A to E) April 22—May 24, 2019

(Period Y) April 20-May 24, 2019

Mar. 1-Sept. 26, 2018
Mar. 1-Sept. 25, 2019

Sept. 29-Dec. 1; Dec. 10, 11 and 13,
2018-Feh. 18, 2019 (except Sundays)
North of Rt. 70: Oct. 20—Nov. 3;

Nov. 6-Dec. 1

South of Rt. 70: Nov. 10-Dec. 1;
Dec. 13—-Jan. 1

April 20, 2019

Nov. 3 and 5-9

Sunrise to % hour after sunset

Y2 hour before sunrise to %
hour after sunset

Permit holders may hunt day
and night with certain restric-
tions; see Notes at right.

Sunday hunting for coyote/
fox is not legal. All such
hunting must end at

11:59 p.m. Saturday night
and may resume at

12:01 a.m. Monday
morning.

Sunrise to ¥ hour after sunset

Sunrise to % hour after sunset

1 hour after sunset to 1 hour
before sunrise

Sunrise to %2 hour after sunset

Sunrise to %2 hour after sunset

Sunrise to ¥ hour after sunset

Sunrise to %2 hour after sunset

Y2 hour before sunrise to %2
hour after sunset.

Y2 hour before sunrise to noon;
starting May 13, hours are %
hour before sunrise to sunset
Y2 hour before sunrise to noon;
starting May 13, hours are %
hour before sunrise to sunset

Sunrise to ¥ hour after sunset

Sunrise to % hour after sunset

Sunrise to sunset

¥ hour before sunrise to noon

8 a.m. to sunset

4

No limit

No limit

No limit

No limit
Partridge — 7
Pheasant — 2

Cottontail — 4
Hare — 1
Jackrabbit — 1

5

®
1 Turkey (either
sex) per permit
1 Male Turkey
per permit

1 Male Turkey
per permit

No limit

No limit

3 daily;
6 possession

1 Male Wild
Turkey
Pheasant — 2
Quail — 4

8 a.m. start on Nov. 10

Quail may be hunted ONLY at Peaslee and Greenwood For-
est WMAs. Pheasant and Quail Stamp required.

Season closed in remainder of the state. (See exceptions under
Semi-Wild and Commercial Preserve Hunting, page 56.)
8a.m. start on Nov. 10

Deer hunters may harvest coyote and fox during all open deer
seasons with restrictions as specified under Small Game Hunting,
Coyote and Fox, page 54.

Rifle Permit required in possession when hunting with rifle
(allowed only incidental to deer hunting).

For complete details, and for when a permit is required, see
Small Game Hunting, Coyote and Fox, page 55.

Calling and standing hunting only.
Predator calling device must be in possession.

See Coyote/Fox Season table, page 54, for firearm and
ammo restrictions.

Rifle Permit required in possession when hunting with any
legal rifle, allowed only during daytime hunting hours.

During night hunting (%2 hour after sunset to % hour before
sunrise), only 10—20 gauge shotguns are permitted. See pellet
restrictions in table on page 54. Coyote/fox Permit required.
8 a.m. start on Nov. 10

Maximum shot size is #4

8 a.m. start on Nov. 10

Rifle Permit required when hunting with rifle.

7:41 p.m. start on Oct. 1. Closed Dec. 3-8 and Dec. 12
8 a.m. start on Nov. 10

Pheasant and Quail Stamp required on designated areas
(see Small Game Hunting page 55).

8 a.m. start on Nov. 10. Air guns are legal to harvest rabbits,
hare and jackrabbit. See Rabbit and Hare, page 56.

8 a.m. start on Nov. 10. Air guns are legal to harvest squirrel.
See Squirrel, Regular Season page 56.

Rifle permit required.
Designated areas only (see Squirrel, ML Rifle Season page 58).

Permit required. All Turkey Hunting Areas statewide are now open
to fall hunting.

Permit required. See turkey hunting regulation, page 58.

Permit required. See turkey hunting regulation, page 58.
Rifle Permit required when hunting with rifle.

Rifle hunting prohibited on state property (see General Hunting
Regulations, page 26 and Woodchuck, page 58).

8 a.m. start on Nov. 10

HIP number required (see page 65).
8 a.m. start on Nov. 10

Permit required.

Selected WMAs and licensed semi-wilds (see page 25).

* All harvested coyotes must be reported to a regional Division Law Enforcement Office within 24 hours. Callers must identify themselves by name, CID# and daytime phone number.
** The starting time to hunt migratory birds on Nov. 10 only on those WMAs designated as Pheasant and Quail Stamp Areas shall be 8 a.m. See list of areas, page 55.

NJFishandWildlife.com
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Spring Turkey Hunting
Supplement and

Permit Information

Printinga separate Spring Turkey Hunting Supple-
ment booklet has been discontinued. All regulation
and permit information are contained in this turkey
hunting segment of the Digest.

Turkey Hunting Permits, General

This hunting Digest contains information for both
the 2018 Fall Turkey Season and 2019 Spring
Turkey Season. Turkey hunting is by permit only.
NOTE: For the permit application process, lot-
tery notes, changes, status check and directions
on how to claim your permits, see details on pages
11-12. See page 1 for fees.

Turkey Permits, 2018 Fall Season

The fall turkey permit lottery has been elimi-
nated. A turkey hunting permit is still required
and may be purchased at license agents or online
at Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site
www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com.

Fall Turkey Permits will be available on a first-
come, first-served basis beginningat 10 a.m. on Mon-
day, September 10, 2018. Permits will be available
until the permit quota is reached or the season ends.

Turkey Permits, 2019 Spring Season

+ Spring Turkey Permits are allocated by lottery.
Hunters who apply in the lottery have a much
greater chance of receiving their desired area and

period choices than hunters who wait for over-
the-counter sales of leftover permits.

+ Application Period January 25—February 22

+ Award Notifications and Permit Pickup Begins
March 4. Permits must be claimed by 11:59 pm
on March 25,

+ All Permits awarded in the lottery will be avail-
able to claim until 11:59 on March 25. Unclaimed
awarded permits will be redistributed in the
over-the-counter sale. Application fee(s) will not
be refunded for unclaimed permits.

+ Over-the-county sale of leftover permits: 10 a.m.
MONDAY, APRIL 1, 2019 until permits sell out

or the season ends, whichever occurs first.

Spring 2019 Gobbler
Season Permits

Hunters are limited to filing only one application
which allows for up to two permits, one in the first
lottery and one in the second lottery. See pages
11-12 for instructions.

First Lottery

+ Selects applicants from the Spring Season First
Lottery.

+ See page 59 for dates of the five turkey hunting
period segments.

+ The Youth Turkey Hunting Program guaran-
tees that all applicants aged 10 to 16 (those still
eligible to hunt using their Youth License) will
receive their first choice permit request in the
first lottery for the spring season designated as
Period Y. Youth permits are not counted in the

permit season quotas. Period Y Permits are also
available during the over-the-counter sales period.
+ Hunters possessing a Permit to Shoot From a
Standing Vehicle are guaranteed one first lottery
permit only for the Spring Season. Any additional
permit purchased is taken from the available per-
mit quota and is not guaranteed. Individuals pos-
sessing a Permit to Shoot from a Standing Vehicle
must apply and/or purchase their permits via their
home computer or go to a web-based license agent.
Verifone® agents cannot handle these requests.

Second Lottery

+ Assigns unissued first lottery permits (leftover) to
applicants who applied for a permit in the second
lottery.

+ Youth permit requests for the second lottery
are not guaranteed. A youth'’s second permit (or
more) is valid only for the one designated hunting
period A, B, C,Dor E.

Consider your requests carefully! If you request
the same turkey huntingarea and period in both the
first and second spring lotteries you could receive
two permits for the identical area and period com-
bination. Permits will not be exchanged if you
receive the permits requested on your applica-
tion. If you are awarded two permits in the lottery
you must claim them both at the same time. You
will not be able to claim only one.

IMPORTANT: Hunters who are awarded two
permits in the lottery must claim (purchase) both
at the same time. Hunters cannot claim only one
awarded permit.

Continued from page 56.

Squirrel, Muzzleloading
Rifle Season

Persons holdinga current and valid firearm license
and rifle permit may hunt for squirrels from sunrise
to ¥ hour after sunset with a muzzleloading rifle
(.36 caliber or smaller loaded with a single pro-
jectile) during the periods Sept. 29-Nov. 9, 2018
and Jan. 5-Feb. 23, 2019. See Small Game Hunting
Seasons chart, page 57.

Hunting for squirrel in the manner described
above is restricted to the areas described.

Woodchuck

All persons in possession of a rifle (including a muz-
zleloading rifle) while hunting woodchuck must

have a current and valid rifle permit in addition to

the current hunting license. Rifle hunting (of any
kind) for woodchuck is prohibited on state wild-
life management areas, state parks, state forests

or state recreation areas. Farmers and their agents

may use shot not larger than #4 buckshot to control

woodchuck causing damage. Hours of hunting are

sunrise to ¥ hour after sunset. See chart above for
woodchuck hunting details. ¥

| New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest

Woodchuck Season
Weapon Type Permitted

Center-fire rifle

March 1 to Rim-fire rifle

Sept. 26, 2018

Muzzleloading rifle: single-shot,
single barrel. Flintlock, percussion
and in-line ignitions permitted.

March 1 to
Sept. 25, 2019

Bow: long, recurve, compound or
crossbow

.25 caliber or less

Larger than .25 caliber

.25 caliber or less

No restriction

35 pounds pull at archers draw
length (long and recurve bows)
or peak weight (compound bow);
75 pounds pull for crosshow

Gauge, Caliber or Weight Projectile(s)

Hollow point, soft point or expand-
ing lead core bullets of any weight.

Hollow point, soft point or expand-
ing lead core bullets of any weight
not exceeding 80 grains in weight.

Hollow point or soft point of any
weight not exceeding 50 grains
in weight.

Must be loaded with a single
projectile, either round ball or
conical bullet.

Arrows must be fitted with a well-
sharpened metal broadhead with
a minimum width of 34"

Sept. 29—

Dec. 1 and

Dec. 10, 11,
13-31, 2018

Jan. 1-
Feb. 18, 2019

Shotgun: single or double barrel,
rifled bore or smoothbore

Bow: long, recurve, compound or
crosshow

Shotgun: single or double barrel,
rifled bore or smoothbore

NJFishandWildlife.com

Not larger than 10 gauge, capable
of holding no more than 3 shells

35 pounds pull at archers draw
length (long and recurve bows) or
peak weight (compound bow);

75 pounds pull for crosshow

Not larger than 10 gauge, capable
of holding no more than 3 shells

Shot — sizes not larger than #4
fine shot

Arrows must be fitted with a well-
sharpened metal broadhead with
a minimum width of 34"

Shot — sizes not larger than #4
fine shot
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REGULATIONS

2019 Spring Gobbler Hunting Season Dates

uning Prio I

Youth Turkey Hunting Day
(1016 years of age)

Hunting Period Y

Sat., April 20
If no turkey is harvested on this youth hunt day, Period Y permits may be
used in the designated zone for balance of season until a bird is harvested

Hunting Period A
Hunting Period B
Hunting Period C
Hunting Period D

Hunting Period E

Turkey Season Dates
and Hunting Hours

The 2018 fall turkey season will consist of one seven
day hunting segment, N, (excluding Sunday) from
Saturday, Oct. 27 through Saturday, Nov. 3, 2018.
Fall hunting hours are one-half hour before sunrise
until one-half hour after sunset.

Hunting hours for the spring season are one-half
hour before sunrise until noon daily, except hunting
hours for the last two weeks of the spring turkey
season (including all of period D and the last Sat-
urday of period E) are changed to one-half hour
before sunrise to sunset. These expanded hunting
hours during the last two weeks of the season allow
opportunities for working and youth hunters.

Coyotes may be harvested incidentally while tur-
key hunting, See page 55.

Youth Turkey Hunt Day

Apl’il 20, 2019 (See page 25)

Mon., April 22—Fri., April 26

Mon., April 29—Fri., May 3

Mon., May 6— Fri., May 10

Mon., May 13— Fri., May 17; Mon., May 20—Fri., May 24

All Saturdays, April 27, May 4, May 11 and May 18

Fall 2018 and Spring 2019

Turkey Hunting Regulations

+ Bag Limit: During the fall season, turkeys of
either sex may be taken. During the spring season,
only male turkey may be taken; bearded hens may
not be taken in the spring. During both seasons,
the bag limit is one turkey per permit, but only
one bird may be taken in a given day, regardless
of the number of permits a hunter holds.
Artificial decoys may be used while turkey hunt-
ing, except the use of electronically-operated
decoys is prohibited. Dogs may be used for turkey
hunting only during the fall season. All hunt-
ers are required to possess a calling device while
turkey hunting. The use of a hand-held decoy or
a turkey tail-on-a-stick as camouflage to sneak
up on a turkey is prohibited. Stalking a turkey
is illegal.

+

Use of a hand-held decoy or a turkey
tail-on-a-stick as camouflage to

Turkey Hunting Areas

Map for general reference only. For a complete
description of the Turkey Hunting Area boundaries,
scan this QR code with your mobile device or visit
our website at NJFishandWildlife.com/qr/
turkeyareas.htm.

Stalking is lllegal

2018 Issue

If no turkey is harvested on this youth hunt day, Period Y permits
may bhe used by the youth hunter in the designated zone for the
balance of the season until a bird is harvested (see page 25).

All youth turkey hunters 10 to 16 years of age must possess a valid spring
turkey hunting permit in addition to their youth hunting license.

Youth hunters must be accompanied by a properly licensed, non-hunting
adult age 21 or older who may not shoot on this youth day.

This season is considered an extension of the regular season permit
held by the youth.

If youth hunter harvests a turkey on this youth hunting day, the “Y”
Period permit is no longer valid for future hunting.

Non-hunting adults accompanying youth turkey hunters need only have
in possession a valid hunting license. Spring and fall turkey hunting are
by permit only. See Turkey Hunting Permits, General, page 12. For
farmers, see Farmer Turkey Permits, page 30.

\

NJFishandWildlife.com

sneak up on a turkey is prohibited. In
New Jersey, stalking of wild turkeys

is illegal, both for ethical reasons and
for personal safety.

New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest

| 59



all & Spring Wild Turkey Huntin

REGULATIONS

60

+ Hunting methods during the spring gobbler
season are restricted to calling or stand hunting,

+ The maximum group size while turkey hunting
is five hunters.

+ Hunters may not attempt to chase or drive tur-
keys for the purpose of putting them in range of
other hunters. However, during the fall season
only, hunters may rush a flock of turkeys to cause
the flock to scatter.

+ No shot larger than #4 fine shot or smaller than
#7% fine shot may be used for turkey hunting.

+ Hunters may not use shotguns larger than
10-gauge or smaller than 20-gauge for turkey
hunting. Shotguns must be plugged to be capable
of holding no more than three shells.

+ Fluorescent hunter orange is not required to hunt
turkeys.

+ Properly licensed hunters may use archery tackle
to hunt turkeys. Bows used for turkey hunting
(long, recurve, compound or crossbow) must have
a minimum draw pull weight of 35 pounds at
the archer’s draw length (long and recurve bow),
or peak weight (compound bow), or 75 pounds
minimum draw weight (crossbow). Arrows must
be fitted with a well-sharpened metal broadhead
with a minimum width of 3/4 inch.

+ While turkey hunting, a weapon may not be in
possession within 300 feet of any baited area.

Mandatory Turkey
Check Requirement

All harvested turkeys must be tagged immediately
with a completed transportation tag. A turkey must
be taken by the person who killed it, on the day
killed, to the nearest turkey check station where
personnel will issue a legal possession tag. See page
60 for a list of official turkey check stations to
locate one closest to your hunting area.

NOTE: During Youth Turkey Hunting Day,
hunting periods A, B, C and the first three Sat-
urdays of hunting period E, the turkey must be
taken to the nearest check station by 3 p.m. During
hunting period D and the last Saturday of hunting
period E, the turkey must be taken to the nearest
check station by 9 p.m. During the Fall Turkey
Season, the turkey must be taken to the nearest
check station by 7 p.m. In the event a turkey is
killed too late to register at a check station, call the
nearest Fish and Wildlife Law Enforcement Office
(see page 41) and leave a message including your
name, phone number, CID number and the Turkey
Hunting Area where the bird was taken. The bird
must be checked the next day. If it was butchered,
bring all remaining parts (beard, head, legs, etc.)
to the check station.

In the future turkey hunters will be able to
report their turkeys via the Electronic License
System. Once this is active, complete instructions
will be available on Fish and Wildlife's website at
NJFishandWildlife.com and printed in the next
hunting Digest. Subscribe to our email lists at
N]JFishandWildlife.com/Istsub.htm to be notified
of Fish and Wildlife updates and events, including

any changes to the harvest reporting system.

Turkey Hunting Seminars

The latest turkey hunting techniques are presented
at several turkey hunting seminars sponsored by
Fish and Wildlife or wildlife conservation organiza-
tions. These seminars focus on how to set up, calling
techniques and key safety information for turkey
hunters. New turkey hunters are especially encour-
aged to join us at a seminar. Check your newspaper
and our website for the seminars scheduled during
March or April. &

Fall 2018 and Spring 2019 Turkey Check Stations

ATLANTIC

Butterhof's Farm & Home Supply,

5715 White Horse Pike, Egg Harbor City . . . .. (609) 965-1198
Ted’s Taxidermy, 713 Rt. 40, Buena. . ....... (856) 697-8585

BURLINGTON

Mighty Joe’s Texaco, 1231 Rt. 206 S., Shamong. . (609) 268-0303
Cheyenne Mountain Outfitters,

244 Rt. 130, Bordentown . . ................ (609) 570-8430

CAPE MAY
Belle Plain Supply,
346 Handisville Ave., Belle Plain .. ......... (609) 861-2345

CUMBERLAND

Beaver Dam Boat Rentals,

514 0ld Beaver Dam Rd, Newport. . ........ (856) 447-3633
Blackwater Sports Center,

2228 Delsea Dr.,Vineland. . .............. (856) 691-1571
Greenhorn Outdoors,

1135 Shiloh Pike, Bridgeton .. ............ (856) 451-0971

GLOUCESTER

Sportsman’s Outpost,

Fries Mill Rd., Williamstown .............. (856) 881-3244
The Bottle Barn, 65 West Broad St., Gibbstown . . (856) 423-3608
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HUNTERDON

Boan’s Marine, 1296 Rt. 179, Lambertville . . . (609) 397-3311
The Corner Store, Rt. 12 and Rt. 519, Baptistown. . (908) 996-7648
Carousel Deli And Bakery,

Rt. 179 and Wertsville Rd., Ringoes. . . . ... .. (908) 788-1850
Jugtown Mountain Campsites,

1074 Rt. 173 East, Asbury. .. ............. (908) 735-5995

MIDDLESEX
Sayreville Sportsmen,
52 Washington Ave., Sayreville . . .......... (732) 238-2060

MONMOUTH
Morganville Game Butchers,
389 Rt. 79, Morganville. .. ............... (732) 620-1022

MORRIS
Mount Hope Deli, 662 Mount Hope Ave., Wharton . .(973) 328-7259

0CEAN
Animals and Gardens Unlimited,
14 Jacobstown Rd, New Egypt............. (609) 752-0000

Shooters Sporting Center
1535 County Rt. 539, Little Egg Harbor. . ... .. .. (609) 296-4080

PASSAIC
Tackle and Field, 81 Ringwood Ave., Wanaque. . .(973) 835-2966

1Greenwood Lake Sports Center,
1745 Greenwood Lake Turnpike, Hewitt . .. ... (973) 728-1000

NJFishandWildlife.com

SALEM

Salem Boat Exchange,

1163 South Broadway, Pennsville . ......... (856) 935-2515
Sam’s Super Service, 290 Rt. 40, Elmer . . . .. (856) 358-3488

SOMERSET
Puskas Dairy Farm,
170 South Middlebush Rd. Somerset . ... ... (732) 690-0380

SUSSEX

Garden State Bow & Reel,

2760A Rt. 23N, Stockholm . .............. (973) 697-3727
Hainesville General Store,

283 Rt. 206 South Hainesville. . ........... (973) 948-4280
Mountain Mike's Sport Shop,

7 0ld Rudetown Rd., McAfee ............. (973) 827-6527
Mountain View Country Store,

300 Rt. 519, Wantage. .................. (973) 875-6000
Simon-Peter Bait And Tackle,

Rt. 206 And Brighton Rd., Newton. ......... (973) 786-5313
Swartswood Deli,

911 Newton-Swartswood Rd., Stillwater. . . .. (973) 383-5470

WARREN

Alpine Meats, Rt. 94 N., Blairstown . ... ..... (908) 362-8568
Hi-Way Sport Shop,

Box 253, Rt. 31 North, Washington . .. ... ... (908) 689-6208

Smitty’s Liquor & Deli, 89 Rt. 46, Delaware . . . (908) 475-5933
The Owl’s Nest, 97 Rt. 519, Warren Glen. . . . . (908) 995-7903
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Public Turkey Hunting Land in New Jersey

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 1

© Delaware Water Gap Nat'l
Recreation Area

o Flatbrook-Roy WMA

 Hainesville WMA

o Stokes State Forest

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 2

© Bear Swamp WMA

© Delaware Water Gap Nat'l
Recreation Area

o Flatbrook-Roy WMA

o Paulinskill WMA

o Stokes State Forest

o Swartswood State Park

* Trout Brook WMA

* Walpack WMA

© White Lake WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 3

© Columbia WMA (partial)

 Delaware Water Gap Nat'l
Recreation Area

 Worthington State Forest

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 4
 Allamuchy Mountain State Park
© Beaver Brook WMA

 Columbia WMA (partial)

* Honey Run WMA

e Jenny Jump State Forest

INTRODUCING

o Stephens State Park
e Whittingham WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 5
e Kittatinny Valley State Park
 Paulinskill WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 6
© Abram Hewitt State Forest

© Hamburg Mountain WMA
 Long Pond Ironworks State Park
* Norvin Green State Forest

* Ramapo Mountain State Forest
* Ringwood State Park

e Wawayanda State Park

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 7
 Berkshire Valley WMA

 Farny State Park

* Rockaway River WMA
 Sparta Mountain WMA

* Weldon Brook WMA

 Wildcat Ridge WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 8
© Buckhorn Creek WMA

e Clinton WMA

* Musconetcong River WMA

© Pequest WMA

 Pohatcong Creek WMA

©TALON

QUIK-CHANGE II"
Our Innovative, Interchangeable
Fixed Blade Cutlery System

=

= 7" FILLET
5% FILLET
= /e

& 3 > 3% GUTHOOK COMBO

2018

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 9
 Black River WMA

* Hacklebarney State Park

* Ken Lockwood Gorge WMA

© Musconetcong River WMA

* Pequest WMA

© Rockport WMA

© South Branch WMA

e \oorhees State Park

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 10
 Black River WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 11

o Alexauken Creek WMA

 Lockatong WMA

* Six Mile Run Reservoir State Park
(bow only)

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 12
© Assunpink WMA
o Turkey Swamp WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 14
e Brendan T. Byrne State Forest

o Colliers Mills WMA

* Double Trouble State Park
 Forked River Mountain WMA
 Greenwood Forest WMA

* Manahawkin WMA

* Manasquan WMA

* Manchester WMA

dﬂen‘s-ﬁr

easy cleaning

rugged canvas
roll pack

* Medford WMA
 Pleasant Run WMA
© Whiting WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 15
 Wharton State Forest

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 16
 Bass River State Forest

* Hammonton Creek WMA
 Great Egg Harbor River WMA
 Penn State Forest

 Port Republic WMA

o Stafford Forge WMA

© Swan Bay WMA

o Warren Grove Recreation Area
 Wharton State Forest

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 20
 Abbotts Meadow WMA
 Cohansey River MWA
*DOD Ponds WMA

© Elmer Lake WMA

© Gum Tree Corner WMA
 Harrisonville Lake WMA
* Mad Horse Creek WMA
© Maskells Mill Pond WMA
 Salem River WMA

© Thundergut Pond WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 21
© Buckshutem WMA

HAY

IN NEW JERSEY —

 Cedar Lake WMA

o Cedarville Pond WMA
 Cohansey River WMA
* Dix WMA

 Egg Island WMA

o Fortescue WMA
 Glasshoro WMA

© Nantuxent WMA

* New Sweden WMA

o Millville WMA
 Parvin State Park
 Union Lake WMA

* White Oak Branch WMA
* Winslow WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 22
* Beaver Swamp WMA
 Belleplain State Forest

* Cape May Wetlands WMA
 Dennis Creek WMA

o Gibson Creek WMA
 Great Egg Harbor WMA
 Heislerville WMA
 Highee Beach WMA

* Makepeace Lake WMA

* Maple Lake WMA

* Menantico Ponds WMA
 Peaslee WMA

 Tuckahoe WMA

ALON

KNIVES

ADING EDGE OF SHARPNESS™
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REGULATIONS

Regulations in red are new this year.

General Trapping

+ A trappinglicense is required and a Trapper Edu-
cation course must be passed. See pages 1 and

8 for license information.

All traps set or used must bear a legible tag of
durable material with the name and address of the

person setting, using and maintaining the traps.
Trap tags with a previous Fish and Wildlife-issued

trap identification number or the trapper’s Con-
servation Identification Number (CID#) may be

used in lieu of name and address to mark each trap.
No traps or trap stakes are to be set prior to 6:00

a.m. on the first day of any open trapping season

indicated in this section.

No trapper may set cable restraint traps prior

to 6 a.m. on Jan. 1 on any wildlife management

area where pheasants or quail are released.
Areas include Assunpink, Berkshire Valley,
Bevans (Millville), Black River, Clinton, Colliers

Mills, Flatbrook-Roy, Glassboro, Greenwood

Forest (incl. Howardsville), Heislerville, Mac-
Namara (Tuckahoe), Mad Horse, Manahawkin,
Manasquan River, Medford, Nantuxent, Peaslee,
Pequest, Port Republic, Stafford Forge, Walpack,
Winslow and Whittingham WMAs. ONLY cage

and foot-encapsulating traps may be set on the

above WMA between Nov. 15 and Dec. 31.
Trapping is prohibited at all times on the Dela-
ware Water Gap National Recreation Area.

All traps must be checked and tended at least once

every 24 hours, preferably in the morning except

traps set for semi-aquatic species in tidal waters

only must be checked once per calendar day.

No trap shall be permitted to remain set on any
property at the close of the trapping season.

No person shall steal or attempt to take traps

of another, or remove a trapped animal without

permission of the trap owner.

Any person (including a farmer) who traps a

coyote must report their harvest to the near-
est Division Regional Law Enforcement Office

[North—(908) 735-8240; Central—(609) 259-
2120; South— (856) 629-0555] within 24 hours.
Callers must identify themselves by name, CID#
and daytime phone number.

Licensed trappers may use an air gun (not smaller

than .177 caliber nor larger than .22 caliber) or a

center- or rim-fire rifle (not larger than .22 caliber)

using only .22 caliber short ammunition to dis-
patch legally trapped animal other than muskrat.
Youth trappers (ages 12-13) using any firearm to

dispatch must be accompanied by—and under the

direct supervision of—a properly licensed adult (at

least 21 years of age). A Rifle Permit is required

when using center- or rim-fire rifles, but is not

required when using an air gun. Firearms may not

be loaded with more than three rounds. See page

29 for safety zone information thatalso applied to

trappers. While trapping is legal within a safety
zone, one cannot possess a loaded firearm within

a safety zone unless having written permission,
in possession, from the property owner or lessee.

+

+

+

+

+

+

+

+
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Beaver and River Otter

Beaver may be taken only by propetly licensed
trappers in possession of a special beaver trapping
permit valid for an entire management zone, or
a special damage control beaver permit valid as
designated on the permit. River otter may only be
taken by properly licensed trappers in possession
of a special river otter trapping permit valid for an
entire management zone.

Beaver and Otter Permits

+ Beaver and otter trapping are allowed by special
permit only.

+ Application can be made at license agents or via
Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site www.
NJ.WildlifeLicense.com. Applicants must have a
current and valid trapping license to apply.

+ Additional information—including zone maps,

boundary and permit quotas descriptions—becomes

available Sept. 16 on Fish and Wildlife’s website,

N]JFishandWildlife.com or call (609) 292-1473.

For the permit application process, changes, sta-

tus check and directions on how to claim your

permits, see details on pages 11-12.

Lottery application period: Oct. 1-31. Applicants

may apply only for one beaver trapping permit

and/or one otter trapping permit.

Successful beaver permit applicants are given

first opportunity for otter permits in their

respective zone.

+ Award Notification and Permit Pickup begins
Nov 5. Permits must be claimed by 11:59 p.m.
on Monday, Dec 3.

+ All Permits awarded in the lottery will be available

to claim until 11:59 p.m. on Dec 3. Unclaimed,

awarded permits will be redistributed in the over-
the-counter sale. Application fee(s) for unclaimed
permits will not be refunded.

Over-the-counter sale of leftover and unclaimed

permits: 10 a.m. Monday, Dec 10. Leftover per-

mits will be sold at all license agents and at Fish
and Wildlife’s Internet license sales at https://
www.NJFishandWildlife.com. For leftover and
unclaimed permit availability, see our website the

afternoon of Thursday, Dec. 6.

+

+

+

+

NOTE: See callout box on page 10 to change
your lottery application or to check your permit
application status online!

Fish and Wildlife's Director may issue Beaver
Damage Control Permits to owners or lessees of any
land to control beaver damage. Damage Control
Permits issued during the open beaver trapping
season may be awarded to applicants that did not
received a zone wide permit during the open lot-
tery and who reside near the damage site. All bea-
ver harvested on Damage Control Permits issued
during the open season must be registered at an
official beaver/otter check station. Beaver taken
on Damage Control Permits issued outside of the
open beaver trapping season may not be possessed

or sold by the damage permit holder.
Other beaver/otter rules and regulations:
+ Season Dates: Dec. 26—Feb. 9

+ BagLimits: 8 beaver per permit; 1 otter per season.
g perp P

NJFishandWildlife.com

+ Recreational permit holders may use up to five

traps daily per zone for beaver and up to three

traps daily for otter. Damage control beaver per-
mit holders may use up to 10 traps daily per site.
Holders of both recreational and damage control

beaver permits in the same zone may use a maxi-
mum of 10 traps daily. All traps must be checked

and tended at least once per every 24 hours unless

in tidal waters.

Trappers may only possess one Special River

Otter Trapping Permit per season.

All beaver and otter trap tags must be clearly vis-
ible above the water or ice.

A Fish and Wildlife-issued Beaver Transporta-
tion Tag or Otter Transportation Tag must be

afhixed to the beaver or otter carcass immediately

upon taking possession of the animal.

All otters harvested incidentally by beaver trap-
pers (i.e., trappers possessing a beaver permit but

not an otter permit) must be fully surrendered

to the Division of Fish and Wildlife. The entire

carcass, including the pelt, must be surrendered.
All successful trappers (or their agents) must pres-
ent their beaver and/or otter pelts at a designated

check station for examination where pelt tags will

be affixed. All otter carcasses must be surren-
dered when pelts are registered, as required by

the Game Code. Failure to submit your carcass

will result in the issuance of a citation by the

Bureau of Law Enforcement.

Trappers are requested to properly flesh and

stretch all pelts for examination. Additional

information on check stations will be provided

to all permit holders.

Fish and Wildlife will staff check-in stations at

the Assunpink, Clinton, Flatbrook, Tuckahoe

and Winslow WMAs and the Newfoundland

Fire Company (tentative) on Saturday, Feb. 23,
2019 (9 a.m.—noon). Successful trappers who

cannot attend the scheduled dates should con-
tact either Joseph Garris at (908) 735-7040 or

Andrew Burnett at (609) 748-2047 prior to

Feb. 15 to make alternate arrangements.

Permit holders will be notified via email, telephone

or U.S. mailin the event the beaver and otter trap-
pingseason is extended for any reason, and notified

of any change in the pelt registration date.

+

+

+

+

+

+

+

+

Bohcat and Fisher

Bobcats are classified as Endangered in New
Jersey and are widely distributed across the state’s
northern counties. Fishers have returned natu-
rally—thanks to reintroduction efforts in N'Y and
PA—to their historic range and have been docu-
mented in several northern and southern counties.

There is no open season for either bobcat or fisher.
Possession is restricted to those animals legally har-
vested in other U.S. states or Canadian provinces
with proper documentation.

Trappers finding a bobcat on their trapline
are required to report the occurrence within
24 hours by calling 1-877-WARN-DEP (1-877-
927-6337), but are strongly encouraged to call
IMMEDIATELY upon discovery of a bobcat
(or fisher) in any trap. If the bobcat is alive,
call 1-877-WARN-DEP. A Fish and Wildlife

2018 Issue
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Trapper Response Team technician will go to
the site to safely release the bobcat. Data will
be collected from the animal and ear tags will
be inserted for future identification.

Coyote, Fox (Red and Gray),
Opossum, Raccoon, Skunk
and Weasel Trapping

+ Season Dates: Nov. 15-Mar. 15* (Exception:
fisher—no open season. Call 1-877-927-6337 to
report any fisher capture.)

+ Bag Limits: No daily or seasonal bag limit for
any of these species.

+ No trap may set prior to 6 a.m. Nov. 15. All traps
must be tended once every 24 hours, preferably
in the morning.

*The following state wildlife management areas
are closed to trapping with cable restraints until
6 a.m. Jan. 1: Assunpink, Berkshire Valley, Bev-
ans (Millville), Black River, Clinton, Colliers
Mills, Flatbrook-Roy, Glassboro, Greenwood
Forest (incl. Howardsville tract), Heislerville,
MacNamara (Tuckahoe), Mad Horse, Mana-
hawkin, Manasquan River, Medford, Nantuxent,
Peaslee, Pequest, Port Republic, Stafford Forge,
Walpack, Winslow and Whittingham. Cage
and foot-encapsulating traps may be set on these
WMAs beginning 6 a.m. Nov. 15. Trapping is
prohibited at all times on the Delaware Water
Gap National Recreation Area.

Beaver and River Otter Trapping Zones

V.

Del. Water Gap
Nat'l Rec. Area
closed to trapping

Season Dates:

Dec. 26—Feb. 9 except

Jan. 1-Feb. 9 on select WMAs*
(See WMA list this page, above.)

Number of Traps Allowed:
Beaver—5 per zone per day
QOtter—3 per day

Bag Limits:
Beaver—8 per permit
Otter—1 per season

Traps may not be set
prior to 6 a.m. on
the respective
opening day.

2018 Issue

Mink, Muskrat and
Nutria Trapping

+ Season Dates: (North Zone) Nov. 15—Mar. 15 in
those portions of Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunt-
erdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Morris, Passaic, Som-
erset, Sussex, Union and Warren counties lying
north and west beginning at the intersection of
U.S. Rt. 1 and the Delaware River at Trenton;
then north along Rt. 1 to its intersection with
1-287; then south along I-287 to its intersection
with Rt. 440; then east along Rt. 440 to the
NJ-NY state line.

Season Dates: (South Zone) Dec. 1-Mar. 15 in
those portions of Atlantic, Burlington, Camden,

+

Mandatory pelt registration:
Feb. 23 (9 a.m.—noon)

North Zone:
Nov. 15—Mar. 15

South Zone:
Dec. 1-Mar. 15

No daily or seasonal hag
limit for these species.

Traps may not be set
prior to 6 a.m. on
the respective
opening day.

All otter carcasses must be
surrendered to the Division
of Fish and Wildlife.

NJFishandWildlife.com

+

+

+

Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Mercer,
Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean and Salem coun-
ties lying south and east of the aforementioned

line above.

Bag Limits: No daily or seasonal bag limits for

any of these species.

Traps may not be set prior to 6 a.m. on the

respective opening day. All traps set for these

semi-aquatic species in tidal waters only must be

checked once per calendar day. Non-tidal water

sets must be checked once every 24 hours, prefer-
ably in the morning,

Trapping is prohibited at all times on the Dela-
ware Water Gap National Recreation Area.

Mink, Muskrat and Nutria Trapping Zones

B

Del. Water Gap
Nat'l Rec. Area
closed to trapping

Report any nutria harvest
to a Division of Fish and
Wildlife Office.
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Traps, Body-gripping
or Killer-type

No body-gripping or killer-type trap shall be used
in non-tidal waters unless completely submerged
underwater when the water is at the normal level. In
tidal water, such traps must be completely covered
at normal high tide.

Itis illegal to use, set or maintain a body-gripping
or killer-type trap having a jaw spread greater than
6 inches without a permit for beaver or river otter. A
body-gripping or killer-type trap with a jaw spread
of no more than 10 inches may be used for beaver or
river otter. Jaw spread shall be measured between the
inner edges of the jaws across the trigger of a set trap.

Beaver and otter trap tags must be placed above
the water line and exposed to view.

Traps, Leg-hold

Itisillegal to possess or use any steel-jawed leg-hold
type trap (i.e., any coil-spring or longspring trap)
anywhere in New Jersey. Foot-encapsulating traps
which do not fall under this trap category may be
possessed and used.

Traps, Live-capture
Cable Restraints

+ No person shall set, use or maintain any type of
snare unless they have first passed a Fish and Wild-
life-approved trapper education course and carry
on their person appropriate certification thereof.

+ All live capture cable restraints must include

a relaxing-type lock, except when submerged

underwater or when set for mink, muskrat, nutria

or weasel.

A relaxing lock is defined as one that stops tight-

ening when the animal stops pulling against the

cable restraint. Cam-locks and spring-assisted
locking systems are prohibited.

+

Be a Conservation-Minded Trapper

If an accidental bobcat trapping occurs, it is mandatory that you immediately call NJ Division of Fish and
Wildlife’s Trapper Response Team at (877) WARN-DEP (877-927-6337) while the bobcat is held in the trap

so that we may obtain genetic samples.
For tips to avoid the accidental capture of bobcat or

to the right.

Have You Seen This Cat?

to prevent injury if one is trapped, scan the QR code,

+ All natural baits consisting of fish, bird or mam-
mal carcasses or flesh used in trapping with
live-capture cable restraints must be covered or
concealed from view except when placed at least
30 feet from any trap set.

Live-capture cable restraints set for

mink, muskrat, nutria and weasel are

subject to the following requirements:

+ All such traps must be constructed of aircraft
cable or crucible wire measuring 1/32, 3/64 or
1/16 inches in diameter, equipped with a swivel;

+ Mink, muskrat and nutria cable restraints must
be set within 50 feet of the mean high water line.

+ All such traps must be equipped with a stop to
prevent the average loop diameter from exceeding
4 inches; and,

+ All such traps must be set so that the distance
between the ground/walking surface to the top
of the loop does not exceed 7 inches.

Live-capture cable restraints set

for coyote, fox, opossum, raccoon

and skunk shall be subject to

the following requirements:

+ Allsuch traps must be constructed of aircraft cable

or crucible wire measuring 5/64 to 3/16 inches

in diameter and be equipped with a swivel and a

relaxing-type lock;

All such traps must be equipped with a deer stop

located no less than 6 inches from the beginning

of the cable and a loop stop to prevent the aver-

age loop diameter from exceeding 12 inches; and,

+ All such traps must be set so that the distance
between the ground / walking surface to the top
of the loop does not exceed 24 inches.

+

The above requirements for cable diameters,
loop stops and loop sizes do not apply to body
gripping restraining snares that are completely
submerged underwater at all times (e.g., when
set for beaver or river otter).

4
O

Bobcat or visit

New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife needs your help by reporting bobcat sightings so we can better
understand the size, distribution and genetic structure of our bobcat population.

Contact our agency if you have observed a bohcat:

¢ Live and trail cam photos—Complete a brief sighting report form:
www.nj.gov/dep/fgw/ensp/rprtform.htm. Data from south Jersey is of particular interest.

¢ Dead on the road—call 1-877-WARN-DEP (877-927-6337) to report the carcass location.

Scan this code for Trapping
Tips to Prevent the Accidental
Capture of —and Injury to —

NJFishandWildlife.com/qr/traptips.htm

F
A few years
back at age 16,
Joshua Garris
| snared these
| beautiful red fox
| near Stillwater.

Traps, Live-capture
Foot Encapsulating

Enclosed or foot encapsulating (also known as
enclosed foothold or dog-proof traps) traps are
now legal for trapping. These traps have been spe-
cifically designed to capture species such as raccoon
and opossum (which possess a degree of manual
dexterity) while minimizing the capture of non-
target animals especially domestic dogs and cats.
Enclosed foothold traps are a live-restraint trap
which do not result in the death of the captured
animal or in the potential for significant injury.
These traps are subject to the following requirements:
+ All triggering and restraining mechanisms shall
be enclosed by a housing.
+ The triggering and restraining mechanism is acces-
sible only by a single opening when the trap is set.
+ The access opening does not exceed 2 inches in
diameter or when measured diagonally.
+ The triggering mechanism can be activated only
by a pulling force.
+ The trap has a swivel-mounted anchoring system. ¥

It is illegal to possess incidentally trépped
or road-killed bobcat from New Jersey.

| New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest
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New Jersey Migratory
Bird Regulations
Major Changes for the 2018-19 Season

+ The pintail daily bag limit was increased to 2
birds.

+ The black duck daily bag limit will remain at 2
birds, similar to last year.

+ The season for woodcock will be longer than
previous years since states like New Jersey with
statutory Sunday hunting closures were given
compensatory days by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife

Service.

Waterfowl Stamps

Both the New Jersey Waterfowl Stamp Certifica-
tion and Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation
Stamp (Federal Duck Stamp) are required for all
waterfow] hunters 16 years and older and must be
signed in ink. New Jersey Stamp Certifications are
available from license agents and from the Licenses
and Permits button on Fish and Wildlife’s web-
site. Federal stamps are available from some U.S.
post offices and online at www.fws.gov/birds/get-
involved/duck-stamp/buy-duck-stamp.php.

Hunters:

Report Banded Birds

Hunters who recover banded migratory birds
are asked to report the band number to the
U.S. Department of the Interior’s Bird Banding
Laboratory (BBL), Washington, D.C. Banding
data plays a critical role in migratory bird
harvest management. There are two ways to
report bands:

1. Online: reportband.gov
2. Write: to the address inscribed on the band.

Online reporting provides instant access to
the original banding information including the
species, sex, location, date and age of the
bird at banding. Band reporters will be able

to print a certificate of appreciation on their
home computer which will include information
about the bird which had been banded.

When contacting the BBL, be prepared to
provide: band number, date the bird was
recovered, exact location of the bird’s recov-
ery as well as nearest town, and method of
recovery, e.g., shot or found dead. Hunters
may keep the bands.

\
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What Do | Need To Hunt Migratory Birds In New Jersey?

Crow
Woodcock, rail, moorhen, snipe v

Duck, brant, goose v

Harvest Information
Program (HIP)

All hunters, including Apprentice License holders,
must obtain an HIP certification before hunting
ducks, geese, brant, coot, woodcock, rails, snipe or
gallinules. Hunters may purchase an HIP certifica-
tion in three ways:

1. Froma License Agent
2. Online at NJ.WildlifeLicense.com

3. By calling the toll-free NJ Telephone Sales
Line at (888) 277-2015

Species Hunted Hunting License HIP Certification Gyr‘{i?i?a'?ign Federal Stamp
4

v

v v v

All three methods allow hunters to go hunting
immediately after registering, Online and license
agent HIP certifications cost $2 while telephone
HIP certifications will include a shipping/handling
fee and cost $5.13. Internet HIP certifications can
be printed on a home computer. Telephone HIP
certifications will be received in about one week;
however, hunters can begin hunting immediately by
recording their HIP certification number.

HIP certification should be carried in the hunter’s
license holder and are valid from Sept. 1 to April
15 the following year. Information collected for
HIP is confidential and used by the U.S. Fish and
Wildlife Service for conducting migratory bird
harvest surveys.

Youth Waterfowl Hunting Days

age or older.

NJFishandWildlife.com

Youth hunters must possess a valid Youth Firearms License—OR be less than 16 years of age and
qualified to hunt without a license under the farmer license exemption (see page 10)—to hunt the
Youth Waterfowl Hunting Days as detailed on page 24.

All youth hunters must be under the direct supervision of a licensed, non-hunting adult 21 years of

Hooded mergansers on the South Branch
of the Raritan River at Califon.

New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest



Migratory Bird

REGULATIONS

66

Summary of
Federal Regulations

The following is a synopsis of Federal Regulations
that pertain to the hunting of migratory game birds.
More information can be found at: NJFishand-
Wildlife.com/pdf/waterfowl_federal_regs.pdf or
by calling the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Law
Enforcement Office at (908) 787-1321.

No persons shall take

migratory game birds:

+ By the aid of baiting, or on or over any baited
area, where a person knows or reasonably should
know that the area is or has been baited. Baiting
means the direct or indirect placing, exposing,
depositing, distributing, or scattering of salt,
grain, or other feed that could serve as a lure or
attraction for migratory game birds to, on, or over
any areas where hunters are attempting to take
them. Baited area means any area on which salt,
grain, or other feed has been placed, exposed,
deposited, distributed, or scattered, if that salt,
grain, or other feed could serve as alure or attrac-
tion for migratory game birds to, on, or over areas
where hunters are attempting to take them. Any
such area will remain a baited area for ten days
following the complete removal of all such salt,
grain, or other feed.

+ With a trap, snare, net, rifle, pistol, swivel gun,
shotgun larger than 10 gauge, punt gun, battery
gun, machinegun, fish hook, poison, drug, explo-
sive, or stupefying substance;

+ With a shotgun of any description capable of
holding more than three shells, unless it is plugged
with a one-piece filler, incapable of removal with-
out disassembling the gun, so its total capacity
does not exceed three shells. Exceptions: In New
Jersey, shotguns capable of holding no more
than 7 shells are permitted during the Septem-
ber Canada goose season and the Light Goose
Conservation Order.

Nontoxic Shot

Regulations

In New Jersey, no person may take ducks,
geese, brant, coots, rails, snipe or moorhens
while possessing shot other than approved
non-toxic shot which includes: steel, tung-
sten-iron, tungsten-polymer, tungsten-matrix,
tungsten-nickel-iron, tungsten-iron-nickel-tin,
tungsten-bronze, tungsten-iron-polymer,
bismuth-tin, copper-clad iron, tungsten-iron-
copper-nickel, tungsten-tin-iron, corrosion-
inhibited copper shot, and tungsten-tin-
bismuth shot types. Shot size may not

exceed Size T (0.200 inch) for waterfowl. See
www.fws.gov/birds/bird-enthusiasts/hunting/
nontoxic.php for more information. For crows
and woodcock, shot size may not exceed Size
#4 and although lead shot is permitted, hunt-
ers are encouraged to use non-toxic shot.

+ From or by means, aid, or use of a sinkbox or any
other type of low floating device, having a depres-
sion affording the hunter a means of concealment
beneath the surface of the water;

From or by means, aid, or use of any motor vehicle,
motor-driven land conveyance, or aircraft of any
kind, except that paraplegics and persons missing
one or both legs may take from any stationary motor
vehicle or stationary motor-driven land conveyance;
From or by means of any motorboat or other craft
having a motor attached, or any sailboat, unless
the motor has been completely shut off and/or the
sails furled, and its progress there from has ceased.
Exception: crippled birds may be shot from craft
under power in the Special Sea Duck Area.

By the use or aid of live birds as decoys; although
not limited to, it shall be a violation of this para-
graph for any person to take migratory waterfowl
on an area where tame or captive live ducks or
geese are present unless such birds are and have
been for a period of 10 consecutive days prior to
such taking, confined within an enclosure which
substantially reduces the audibility of their calls
and totally conceals such birds from the sight of
wild migratory waterfowl;

By the use or aid of recorded or electrically ampli-
fied bird calls or sounds, or recorded or electri-
cally amplified imitations of bird calls or sounds.
Exceptions: In New Jersey, hunters can use
electronic calls during: crow season, Septem-
ber Canada goose season and the Light Goose
Conservation Order.

By means or aid of any motor driven land, water,
or air conveyance, or any sailboat used for the
purpose of or resulting in the concentrating, driv-
ing, rallying, or stirring up of any migratory bird.

+

+

+

+

+

Tagging requirement—No person shall put or
leave any migratory game birds at any place (other
than at his personal abode), or in the custody of
another person for picking, cleaning, processing,
shipping, transportation, or storage (including
temporary storage), or for the purpose of having

See page 81 for sunrise/sunset table.

e Duck, goose, brant, coot, rail, moorhen,
snipe—1/2 hour before sunrise to
sunset. For example, if sunrise is 6:30
a.m. and sunset is 5:00 p.m., hunting
hours for these species are 6:00 a.m. to
5:00 p.m.

e Woodcock—sunrise to sunset.

e Crow—sunrise to 1/2 hour after
sunset.

e September Canada Goose and the Spring
Light Goose Conservation Order—1/2
hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after
sunset.

taxidermy services performed, unless such birds
have a tag attached, signed by the hunter, stating
his address, the total number and species of birds,
and the date such birds were killed. Migratory
game birds being transported in any vehicle as the
personal baggage of the possessor shall not be con-
sidered as being in storage or temporary storage.

Custody of birds of another—No person shall
receive or have in custody any migratory game birds
belonging to another person unless such birds are
properly tagged.

Species identification requirement—No per-
son shall transport within the United States any
migratory game birds, except doves and band-tailed
pigeons, unless the head or one fully feathered wing
remains attached to each such bird at all times while
being transported from the place where taken until
they have arrived at the personal abode of the pos-
sessor or a migratory bird preservation facility.

New Jersey
State Regulations

State laws and regulations may be more stringent
but not more lenient than those prescribed in fed-
eral regulations (50 CFR Part 20).

Restrictions:
a. Migratory bird hunting is not permitted on
Sunday in New Jersey.

b. No person may take rails or snipe while pos-
sessing shot other than non-toxic shot.

c. 'The starting time to hunt waterfowl on open-
ing day of pheasant season (Nov. 10, 2018) is
8 a.m. on wildlife management areas stocked
with pheasant and quail except the tidal waters
or marshes of those WMAs. See page 55 for
pheasant and quail stocked WMAs. The start-
ing time to hunt waterfowl on opening day of
the pheasant season conforms to the regular
start time (e.g. '/2 hr. before sunrise) on private

Waterfowl Blinds

No permanent waterfow! blinds, including pit
blinds, shall be constructed, hunted from or
used in any manner on these WMAs:

1. Assunpink 8. Whittingham
2. Black River 9. Beaver Swamp
3. Colliers Mills 10.Sedge Island
4. Hainesville 11.Salem River
5. Tuckahoe 12.Prospertown
6. Manahawkin 13.Paulinskill

7. Stafford Forge

Any blind used on these WMAs must be
portable and completely removed by day's
end. Blinds remaining on WMAs are subject to
confiscation and disposal by Fish and Wildlife.

\
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land, tidal marshes, WMAs not stocked with
pheasant and quail, and the tidal marsh por-
tions of pheasant and quail stocked WMAs.
There shall be no open season for hunting any
game birds or animals including migratory
waterfowl:

In or on the shores of the Shark River in Mon-
mouth County.

In that portion of the Manasquan River from
the ocean inlet upstream to Route 70 bridge.
On Herring Island and that portion of Bar-
negat Bay lying between northern and south-
ern tips of Herring Island easterly to adjacent
shoreline of Mantoloking Boro, Ocean County.
On Parker Creek and Oceanport Creek, Mon-
mouth County, or the shores thereof, southwest
or upstream of the Conrail R.R. bridge.

On the non-tidal portions of Cox Hall Creek
WMA in Cape May County.

In the waters or shoreline of Barnegat Inlet
westward from the COLREGS Demarcation
Line; to the north end of Broadway in Barnegat
Light; then northwest to Red Buoy 14 in the
channel (39.763783 N; 074.109283 W); then
northeast to the westernmost section of rock
jetty at Island Beach State Park.

All migratory bird closure areas are described in
detail atNJFishand Wildlife.com/migbirdzones.htm

e,

It is unlawful for any person to leave the edible
portions (defined as the breast meat) of migra-
tory birds (excepting crows) to waste. Edible
portions (see illustration, page 28) do notinclude
meat that has been damaged by the method of

f.

g
h.

Waterfowl hunting on Delaware River is gov-
erned by state boundaries and restricted to
respective state seasons.

Permanent blinds may not be constructed on
some state wildlife management areas.
Arrows with flu-flu type fletching are required
for taking flying game birds. Arrows with edged
heads are prohibited for taking flying game birds.

2019 Spring Light Goose
Conservation Order —
Feb. 16-Apr. 6, 2019

1.
2.

Electronic calls are permitted.

Shotguns capable of holding no more than

7 shells (including magazine and chamber)

are permitted.

Shooting hours: % hour before sunrise to ¥

hour after sunset.

A valid hunting license, federal and state

duck stamps, HIP certification and NJ Light

Goose Conservation Order (CO) Permit ($2)

are required.

The NJ Light Goose CO Permit is available

ONLY from the Division’s web site or by

mailing: Light Goose Permit, NJ Division

of Fish and Wildlife, MC501-03, P.O. Box

420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0420. A request for

mailed permits must include:

a) Photocopy of 2019 Hunting or All-around
Sportsman license that clearly shows the
Conservation ID Number and DOB

b) Check or money order for $2 payable to

The light goose permit will not be available until
January 2019. As part of the permit process,
hunters will be required to report their activity
and harvest as requested on the permit. Check the
Division’s web site in late winter for more details.

Falconry—Special season dates and bag limits
apply. Contact NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife
at (908) 735-8793.

Attention

Waterfowl Hunters

Special Regulations
Permitted During
September Canada
Goose Season,

Sept. 1-29, 2018 Only

Special regulations designed to help curb the
growth of resident population Canada geese.

1. Electronic calls are permitted.

2. Shotguns capable of holding no more
than seven shells (including magazine and
chamber) are permitted.

3. Hunting hours: 2 hour before sunrise to %2
hour after sunset.

Remember: these special regulations
apply only to the September Canada
goose season. Hunters who choose to use
an unplugged gun during the September
Canada goose season must remember to rein-
stall the magazine plug before pursuing other
game species.

During all other waterfowl seasons, including
duck, brant, regular and winter Canada goose,
and snow goose, standard regulations apply.
Standard regulations include: electronic calls
prohibited, shotguns may not be capable of
holding more than three shot shells and hunt-
ing hours end at sunset.

REGULATIONS =——
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Migratory Bird Species Daily Bag Limits'
- NothZone ________________

Common Snipe Sept. 15-Jan. 17 8
Aug. 13-Dec. 1
Crow Dec. 10-Mar. 16 No limit
Mon., Thur,, Fri., Sat. Only

Other Migratory Bird Seasons

Oct. 20-Nov. 3 and
Woodcock - North Zone Nov. 6-Dec. 1 3

Nov. 10-Dec. 1 and
Woodcock - South Zone Dec. 13—Jan. 1 3
Sea Ducks in Special Sea Duck Area Only® 5, but no more than 4 scoters in
(Black, Surf and White-winged Scoter; Long-tailed Duck Nov. 3—Jan. 11 aggregate, 4 long-tailed ducks or

o

w

Migratory Bird Zoned Hunting Seasons, 2018-19

Oct. 13—-0ct. 20
Nov. 10-Jan. 10

Nov. 10—Nov. 24
Dec. 8-Jan. 19

Ducks, Brant, Mergansers and Coot

Canada Geese (Regular Season)
— Singly or in aggregate to include
Cackling and White-fronted Goose

Youth Waterfowl Days Oct. 6 and Feb. 2

Oct. 20—0ct. 27
Nov. 17-Jan. 17

Nov. 17-Dec. 1
Dec. 8-Jan. 19

Ducks, Brant,

Mergansers and Coot

Canada Geese (Regular Season)
— Singly or in aggregate to include
Cackling and White-fronted Goose

Youth Waterfowl Days

Nov. 10—Nov. 13
Nov. 22—Jan. 26

Nov. 10—Nov. 13
Nov. 19—Feb. 15

Ducks, Brant, Mergansers and Coot

Canada Geese (Regular Season)
— Singly or in aggregate to include
Cackling and White-fronted Goose

Youth Waterfowl Days Nov. 3 and Feb. 9

Canada Geese (September Season?)
Light Geese - Regular Season*

Light Geese - Conservation Order*
Rail (Sora, Clapper and Virginia) and
Gallinule

Sept. 1-Sept. 29
Oct. 17-Feb. 15
Feb. 16-Apr. 6

Sept. 1-Nov. 21

and Eider only)
Sea Ducks Outside Special Sea Duck Area
Canada Geese (Special Winter Season Zones) — Singly or

Oct. 13 and Feb. 2

Ducks: 6 in aggregate from Duck Limits* below;
Mergansers®: 5 Coot: 15 Brant: 2

3

Same limits for ducks, Canada geese, brant and
light geese within each zone

Ducks: 6 in aggregate from Duck Limits* below;
Mergansers? 5 Coot: 15 Brant: 2

3

Same limits for ducks, Canada geese, brant and
light geese within each zone

Ducks: 6 in aggregate from Duck Limits* below;
Mergansers? 5 Coot: 15 Brant: 2

5

Same limits for ducks, Canada geese, brant and
light geese within each zone

Migratory Bird Statewide Hunting Seasons

15
25, singly or in aggregate
No limit
Sora & Virginia rail: 25 total or aggregate;
Gallinule and Clapper rail: 10

4 eiders

Same as ducks by zone  Count toward the bag limit of 6 ducks

in aggregate to include Cackling and White-fronted Goose
Swans, harlequin duck, king rail and mourning dove

Jan. 21-Feb. 15 5

Closed No Season

*Ducks Limits — 6 ducks in aggregate and may not include more than:

Black duck - 2 Canvasback - 2 Long-tailed duck - 4 Ring-necked duck - 6  Wigeon - 6

Black-bellied Eider - 4 Mallard - 4 (including ~ Ruddy duck - 6 Wood duck - 3
whistling duck - 6 Gadwall - 6 no more than 2 hens) Scaup - 2

Blue-winged teal - 6 Goldeneye - 6 Pintail - 2 Scoter - 4

Bufflehead - 6 Green-winged teal - 6 Redhead - 2 Shoveler - 6

Possession Limits: three times the daily limit for all spe-
cies during each of the corresponding seasons. Exceptions:
light geese and crows have no possession limit.

Mergansers including common, red breasted and hooded,
in aggregate of which only 2 may be hooded. Merganser
limits are in addition to duck limits. See Duck Limits, above.

See special regulations only for September Canada
goose hunting, page 67.

New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest
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Light geese include greater and lesser snow geese and
Ross’s geese

Special Sea Duck Area: All New Jersey coastal waters
seaward from the International Regulations for Preventing
Collisions at Sea (COLREGS) Demarcation Lines shown on
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Nautical Charts and further described in 33 CFR 80 Dis-
tricts 1 and 5.

NJFishandWildlife.com

Migratory Bird Zones

All migratory bird zones are described in detail at
NJFishandWildlife.com/migbirdzones.htm

Waterfowl Zones

Applies to hunting duck, coot, merganser, regular
season Canada goose, brant, regular season light
goose and Youth Waterfowl Days.

Coastal Zone: That portion of the State seaward
of a line beginning at the New York State line in
Raritan Bay and extending west along the New
York State line to NJ 440 at Perth Amboy; west
on NJ 440 to the Garden State Parkway; south on
the Garden State Parkway to NJ 109; south on NJ
109 to Cape May County Rt. 633 (Lafayette St.);
south on Lafayette St. to Jackson St.; south on
Jackson St. to the shoreline at Cape May; west along
the shoreline of Cape May beach to COLREGS
Demarcation Line 80.503 at Cape May Point; south
along COLREGS Demarcation Line 80.503 to the
Delaware state line in Delaware Bay.

North Zone: That portion of the State west of
the Coastal Zone and north of a line extending west
from the Garden State Parkway on NJ 70 to the NJ
Turnpike, north on the turnpike to U.S. 206, north
on U.S.206to U.S. 1 at Trenton, west on U.S. 1 to
the Pennsylvania State line in the Delaware River.

South Zone: Portion of the State not within the
North Zone or the Coastal Zone.
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Special Sea Duck Zone

The area defined as all New Jersey coastal waters
seaward from the International Regulations for
Preventing Collisions at Sea (COLREGS) Demat-
cation Lines shown on National Oceanic and
Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Nautical
Charts and further described in 33 CFR 80 Dis-
tricts 1 and 5.

Woodcock Zones

North Zone—North of Rt. 70 from Point Pleas-
ant to Camden.

South Zone—South of Rt. 70 from Point Pleas-
ant to Camden.

2018 Issue



Migratory Bird

Special Winter Canada
Goose Season Hunting Areas

The two hatched areas are open
to hunting. Scan this QR code
with your mobile device or visit
NJFishandWildlife.com/qr/
migbirdzones.htm for detailed
Special Winter Canada Goose

Season hunting areas and all migratory bird hunt-

ing zone boundaries.

E[E
E.

Every year, experienced waterfowlers throughout New Jersey join
together dedicating their time and energy to present the New Jersey
Waterfowlers Clinic—an all day, free seminar covering “everything you
ever wanted to know” about the traditions of waterfowl hunting in New
Jersey. This year is no exception!

Forty years ago, the clinic began as an opportunity to introduce young

people to the world of waterfowl! hunting. However, with the growing interest among men and
women, as well as youths, the event has been transformed into an opportunity for anyone 10 and up
to spend a fun and interesting day learning about waterfowling!

Our full-day clinic covers waterfowling from A to Z, and includes bird identification, decoys, calling,
guns and ammo, boats, safety, laws and ethics, do’s and don’ts, clothing and camo, and even a
demonstration by working retrievers! The value of the day is priceless! It’s a unique chance to ask
any question you’ve ever had about the sport—to be answered by the most experienced waterfowl-
ers in New Jersey. Our instructors have a combined 300 years of experience!

¢ Free breakfast and lunch to all attending!
¢ Date: Sunday, Oct. 7, 2018

e Location: Tip Seaman Park, Tuckerton, NJ
e Time: 8 a.m.—3:30 p.m.

Please register in advance by calling Marty Kristiansen at (732) 977-5648 so we can plan
accordingly.

We hope you'll join us this year and share our enthusiasm for all that is waterfowling!

\
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Don’t let the next DU event pass you by. When you
attend your local event, you can have a great time
while helping us fill the skies with waterfowl. To find
an event near you, visit ducks.org/events.

(e

DUCKS
UNLIMITED

REGULATIONS =——

New Jersey Waterfowlers Clinic
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Wildlife Management Area
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REGULATIONS

Regulations in red are new this year.

THE FOLLOWING ARE PROHIBITED: alcoholic
beverages, camping, geocaching, cutting or dam-
aging vegetation, removing timber or firewood,
dumping, fires, metal detecting, swimming, pic-
nicking and the use of unmanned aerial vehicles
known as drones.

Wildlife management area (WMA) regulation
violations carry penalties of not less than $50 nor
more than $1,500. A second violation of any
WMA regulation will result in a five-year loss
of all sporting licenses and privileges.

For WMA permit applications, write to New
Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife, MC 501-
03, P.O. Box 420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0420, or
NJFishandWildlife.com/wmaregs.htm.

Fish and Wildlife may revoke any permit (or other

authorization) for violation or due cause.

Boat Ramp
Maintenance Permit

Any vehicle used to transport or launch a vessel or
water conveyance on the following WMAs must
have afhixed to the lower corner of the driver’s side
rear window a Boat Ramp Maintenance Permit
(for the waterbodies listed below), or a photocopy
of a valid hunting, fishing or trapping license with
your Conservation ID number clearly displayed.
For privacy, all other personal information may be
blacked out. The boat ramp maintenance permit fee
is $15, available from license agents or at Fish and
Wildlife’s Internet sales site. For more information
see: NJFishandWildlife.com/wmaregs.htm.

Persons 70 years and older do not need a boat
ramp maintenance permit or a license, but must
affix to their window proof of age, such as a former
license displaying your date of birth.

1. Round Valley 5. Mad Horse Creek
Angler Access 6. Union Lake

2. Assunpink 7. Menantico Ponds

3. Dennis Creek 8. Prospertown Lake

4, Tuckahoe

Dog Training,
Exercising and Hunting

A person may exercise or train dogs only in desig-
nated dog training areas from May 1 to Aug. 31,
inclusive, and only on the following select WMAs:

1. Assunpink 8. Millville

2. Black River 9. Pequest

3. Clinton 10. Salem River
4, Colliers Mills 11. Stafford Forge
5. Glassboro 12. Tuckahoe

6. Hainesville 13. Whittingham
7. Manasquan 14. Winslow

All dogs must be properly licensed. Dogs may be
exercised or trained on any WMA from Sept. 1
to April 30.

Additional regulations involve the release of
game birds for training, the use of pigeons, the
use of firearms, frozen game birds, the use of call
back pens and the release of fox, raccoon, rabbit

| New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest

and hare. NEW! For a link to maps showing the
dogtraining areas on these select WMAs, go to
www.NJFishandWildlife.com/dogtrain.htm.
For more information call (609) 984-0547.

Field Trials

A permit to conduct a field trial on a wildlife man-
agement area may be obtained by contacting Fish

and Wildlife at (609) 259-2132.

Higbee Beach

Higbee Beach WMA is closed to hunting from
Sept. 1 until 12:01 a.m. on Dec. 10, 2018.

Horseback Riding

Horseback riding is allowed on designated WMAss
only by permit from the Division of Fish and Wild-
life. Apply online at www.NJ . WildlifeLicense.com.
Horseback riding permits should be displayed on
outer clothing while riding. For more information

on horseback riding permits, call (609) 259-2132.

Hunting Regulations

Firearm hunting on wildlife managementareas on
the day prior to the opening of the regular small
game season for pheasants and quail is allowed.

The quail season is closed statewide with the
exception of the Peaslee and Greenwood WMAs.
See Quail Season Closed, page 56.

Tt is legal to use a.22 caliber rifle and .22 caliber
rimfire short cartridges for hunting raccoon and
opossum and for dispatching trapped animals other
than muskrat on WMAGs.

For coyote and fox hunting: the use of 177 and .22
caliber rimfire or .177 through .25 caliber centerfire
rifle ammo is allowed on WMAs. See Coyote/Fox
ammo chart on page 54 for additional restrictions.

The use of air guns to hunt rabbit and squirrel is
allowed on WMAs. See Air Guns page 27, and
Squirrel, Regular Season on page 56.

Rifles, including muzzleloading rifles, may not be
used to hunt woodchucks on WMAs.

Motor Vehicles and Other
Forms of Conveyance

No person shall operate an unregistered vehicle on
any state WMA. All motor vehicles are restricted to
established public roads and parking areas.

All motor boats must be properly registered
and have all the required safety equipment. (See
Outboard Motors, below.)

The use of dog sleds and dog carts, off road
vehicles, AT Vs, trail bikes, or snowmobiles is
prohibited on all WMAs unless authorized by
Fish and Wildlife. For mountain bike and pad-

dleboard regulations, visit our website.

Outboard Motors

Only electric motors are allowed on freshwater
lakes and ponds owned by NJ Division of Fish and
Wildlife areas with the exception of Union Lake

NJFishandWildlife.com

where an outboard motor, not exceeding 9.9 hp,
may be used. On Prospertown Lake, only manually
operated boats and canoes are allowed.

All titled boats must also be registered. Any boat
mechanically propelled, regardless of length, must
be registered. All boats greater than 12 feet, regard-
less of propulsion means, must be titled and reg-
istered. A boat license and New Jersey boat safety
certificate are required to operate a power vessel
on non-tidal waters of New Jersey. A boat license
is not required for non-powered vessels.

Restricted Hours

Wildlife management areas are closed from 9 p.m.
until 5 a.m. unless engaged in lawful hunting, fish-
ing or trapping activities. Special permission may be
granted for Fish and Wildlife-approved activities.

Target Practice

Only archery, shotgun, muzzleloading shotgun,
muzzleloading rifle, .177 and .22 caliber rimfire
rifle shooting is allowed in designated hunter train-
ing ranges according to regulations posted at the
training area.

The following types of ranges are available on
designated WMAs statewide:

+ Shotgun Range: for use with clay birds and the
patterning of fine shot;

+ Archery Range: approved backstops at select
ranges, no broadheads allowed;

+ Muzzleloading Rifle and Shotgun Slug Range:
for sighting in with shotgun slugs or buckshot,
177 or .22 caliber rimfire rifles and muzzleload-
ers; no other firearms allowed. See page 71 for
a list of ranges and requirements.

Unmanned Aerial
Vehicles or Drones

The use of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) or
drone is prohibited on WMAs. A UAV is com-
puter-controlled for nearly their entire flight either
autonomously or by remote control by a pilot and has
the capacity for autonomous flight and navigation.

Waterfowl Blinds

No permanent waterfowl blinds, including pit
blinds, shall be constructed, hunted from or used
in any manner on any of the following WMAs:

1. Assunpink 8. Whittingham
2. Black River 9. Beaver Swamp
3. Colliers Mills 10. Sedge Island
4, Hainesville 11. Salem River
5. Tuckahoe 12. Prospertown
6. Manahawkin 13. Paulinskill

7. Stafford Forge

Any blind used in these WMAs must be portable
and shall be completely removed at the day's end.
Blinds remainingin WMAs are subject to confisca-
tion and disposal by Fish and Wildlife.
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Wildlife Management Area (WMA) Ranges

+ All WMA regulations apply.

+ Ranges are open 8 a.m. to sunset.

+ Atleast one member of the shooting party must
have a current, valid New Jersey hunting license
in possession.

+ Shotgun range: fine shot only. No buckshot or
rifled slugs.

+ Archery range: target tips only. NO broadheads
allowed on any WMA range, regardless of the
target used.

+ Muzzleloading rifle range: muzzleloading fire-
arms, shotguns (rifled slug, buckshot), modern
rimfire rifles (177, .22 caliber) and air guns in
calibers legal for hunting are allowed.

+ No handguns or centerfire rifles permitted.

NOTICE: Range Renovations, Closures — Tentative Schedule, March—June, 2019
Muzzleloader ranges scheduled for renovation include Makepeace, Millville, Clinton, Flatbrook, Colliers Mills and Stafford Forge WMAs. Portions of
these ranges may be open occasionally during the process. Shotgun ranges are open but cannot accommodate air guns, shotgun slugs, buckshot or rifles of
any type. Plan ahead for sighting in and practice prior to the hunting seasons! The renovations—including covered shooting stations, new benches and berm
enbancements—are based on NRA guidelines. Check our website for schedule updates and closures: NJFishandWildlife.com/ranges.htm.

Northern Region

Hunterdon County

Clinton WMA

Route 173W, Clinton

+ Shotgun, Archery, Muzzleloader (100 yards)

Sussex County

Flatbrook WMA

Route 615, Layton

+ Shotgun, Archery, Muzzleloader (75 yards)

Warren Gounty

+ All target frames must measure a minimum 30 Pequest WMA
inches from base to bottom of the paper target ~ Pequest Rd., Oxford
held in the frame. Frames must be placed only + Archery

on top of a target mound located at the 25, 50
and 100 yard lines. This minimum target height
requirement eliminates the risk of ricochet to
ensure all projectiles are collected in the berm
behind the 100 yard target.

Spinner type targets for .177 and .22 caliber fire-
arms MUST be placed directly at the base of the
25 yard berm to direct all bullets into the berm.
These targets are not to be used at other yardage
or target mound placements.

+

Morris County

Black River WMA

Route 513 (Dover-Chester Rd.), Chester

+ Archery, open year-round.

+ Shotgun: Closed weekends from the third Sat-
urday in May through the Sunday of Labor Day
weekend, as well as on Christmas and Easter.
Operating hours are 9 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. during

Central Region

Monmouth County

Assunpink WMA

Imlaystown-Hightstown Rd., Upper Freehold Twp.

+ Archery

+ Shotgun range is restricted to the use of non-
toxic shot; no lead shot is allowed.

Turkey Swamp Park

Georgia Rd., Freehold Twp.

+ Archery (Special regulations apply;
call 732-842-4000.)

Ocean Gounty

Colliers Mills WMA

Off Colliers Mills and Hawkins Rds., Jackson Twp.
+ Archery, Muzzleloader (100 yards)

+ Shotgun range is closed.

this summer period, and 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. for the ~ Stafford Forge WMA
rest of the year. Hunter education classes will  Off Route 539, south of Warren Grove, Little Egg
continue at the range and are not affected by these  Harbor Twp.

new hours.
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+ Shotgun, Archery, Muzzleloader (100 yards)

Southern Region

Atlantic County

Makepeace Lake WMA

Elmwood-Weymouth Rd., Weymouth

+ Shotgun, Muzzleloader (100 yards)

+ Target requirements: bottom of paper targetina
frame must be atleast 30 inches above the ground.
Only place target frame on top of a mound at the 25,
50 or 100 yard lines. This minimum target height
eliminates risk of ricochets, ensuring all projectiles
are collected in the berm behind the 100-yard target.
Spinner type targets for .177 and .22 caliber
firearms MUST be placed directly at the base
of the 25 yard berm to direct all bullets into the
berm. Do not use these targets at other yardage
or target mound placements.

+

Gloucester County

Winslow WMA

Piney Hollow Rd., Monroe Twp.
+ Archery

+ Shotgun and muzzleloader ranges are closed.

Cape May County

Tuckahoe WMA

Off Tuckahoe Rd. (Rt. 631), Tuckahoe
+ Archery

+ Shotgun range is closed.

Cumberland County

Millville WMA

Ackley Rd. (Rt. 718), Millville

+ Shotgun, Archery, Muzzleloader (100 yards)

Card

HUNT/TRAP SMART Courtesy Card

Visitor’s Copy — Not Transferable
| request permission to enter your property for the following
purpose:

Dates from to
Limitations

Hunter may hunt within 450 feet (150 feet for bow)
of buildings: WYes U No

Landowner’s Name
Address

Landowner Copy

Permission given to
Address

Vehicle Make
Vehicle Lic. No.
Dates from
Limitations

Other licenses, tag no.
Permission dates from
Limitations

Hunter may hunt within 450 feet (150 feet for bow)
of buildings: WYes U No

Yr. Color
No. in Party

to / /
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—— OUTSTANDING DEER

Garden State
Deer Glassic

January 10-13, 2019

At the Garden State
Outdoor Sportsmen’s Show,
their 35th year!

Raritan Center
Edison, New Jersey

See New Jersey’s most outstanding
white-tailed deer for 2017-18

Awards ceremony on Sunday at 2:30 p.m.

Applications must be received by Nov. 1, 2018
to enter a deer harvested during last year’'s
2017-18 hunting seasons. No exceptions!

To arrange for an official measurer to score your
New Jersey white-tail, contact Cindy Kuenstner
at (609) 633-7598.

Includes a
" Youth Division!
See page 73.

Deer will not be measured at the Deer Classic.

See entry details on page 73. \‘\5“ gsosg

Brought to you by:

NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife

NJ Federation of Sportsmen’s Clubs {

United Bowhunters of New Jersey ,

New Jersey Outdoor Alliance the
Conservation Foundation

Garden State Outdoor Sportsmen’s Show

- #La_;a:oy'\-(qer:tl_pw[ggment Card

| agree to conduct myself safely, responsibly and lawfully,

respecting the landowner, property, and others using it. | accept

the responsibilities which are part of the activities which | pursue. |
agree to comply with the instructions of the landowner while on this
property.

| understand that the laws of New Jersey absolve the landowner from
liability for non-paying recreationists engaged in hunting, fishing,
trapping, boating, hiking, and certain other activities, except in the
case of willful or malicious failure to guard or warn of hazards.

Signed (visitor)

Date / /
ASK

PERMISSION
SEE LANDOWNER

This card provided by the New Jersey Department of
Environmental Protection, Division of Fish and Wildlife

72 | New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest
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HUNT/TRAP SMART Courtesy Card

| hereby give permission to: (visitor’s name)

to enter my property for the purpose listed on the reverse side of this
card. He/she has agreed to act safely, responsibly, and lawfully and
to accept responsibility for his/her actions.

Signed (landowner, lessee, or operator)

Date / /

Outdoor Recreation on Private Property

ASK is a Privilege — NOT A RIGHT

PERMISSION
SEE LANDOWNER
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Youth Division

New Jersey’s Outstanding White-tailed Deer Program has a Youth Division!

The Outstanding Deer Program is designed to showcase the fine quality
deer produced in the Garden State and recognize the hunters who harvested
them with a bow, crossbow, shotgun or muzzleloading rifle.

Joining the program’s regular Open Division is a Youth Division for hunt-
ers ages 10—16 with eased entry requirements reduced by 10 points (inches)
for all Antler categories and a reduction in the Weight categories by 10 or
20 pounds for doe and buck, respectively. (See table below for minimum
entry requirements.)

For the Antler Category, Youth Division deer may be unofficially scored
by our trained volunteers who need not be an official measurer. All Open
Division deer must be scored by an official measurer. Visit our website at
N]JFishandWildlife.com/outdeer.htm for the list of official measurers (see
page bottom for Entering the Outstanding Deer Program; then bottom of next
page), program background, rules, score/entry forms and more.

Youth Division hunters must be prepared to submit a digital, high resolu-
tion, respectful photo of hunter and deer after their entry has been confirmed.
(Day of harvest field photos must be Photoshopped or cropped to conceal
any blood or the body cavity.) A family photo is encouraged! Only Youth
Division hunters (not Open Division hunters who may email or call Cindy,
below) may arrange for a measuring appointment by calling John Messeroll
of the State Federation of Sportsmen’s Club at (732) 735-1672. Don't wait
for the deadline to approach before having your deer scored.

Applications are due Nov. 1 — NO EXCEPTIONS.

First place Youth Division hunters in each category may display a mounted
deer at the Garden State Deer Classic (see page 72), whether as a Euro-
pean skull mount or a taxidermy mount. All other Youth Division entrants’
photos will be digitally displayed at the event.

Open Division

Open Division hunters will be invited to display their deer mount, as always,
at the Deer Classic.

The Outstanding Deer Program follows the measuring standards developed
by the Boone and Crockett Club. This scoring system gives credit to antler
length, spread, number of points, mass and symmetry. Legally harvested deer
must have been taken under the Boone and Crockett-defined rules of fair
chase. Deer taken from enclosed hunting lands are not eligible.

Note: Itis best to have the rack measured before it is mounted. Don’t wait!

In the Weight categories, the program recognizes exceptional body size as
determined by the field-dressed weight, all vitals removed. Minimum eligible
weights are listed in the chart. Bucks must be weighed on a certified scale’ (no
truck scales**) with the weighmaster’s signature on a letterhead receipt or on
the entry form, available on our website; does must be weighed either on a Fish
and Wildlife regional office scale or on a certified scale with proof as above.

Any properly licensed hunter, regardless of residency, is eligible to enter
the Outstanding Deer Program with their deer from the previous year’s
hunting seasons. Deer must be taken in accordance with New Jersey wildlife
laws and regulations. Official entry form consists of the original score sheet,
hunter information form plus a clear photo of the hunter with their deer.
These forms with instructions are available on Fish and Wildlife’s website
NJFishandWildlife.com/outdeer.htm. There is no entry fee.

Applications are due Nov. 1 — NO EXCEPTIONS.

For questions about the Open Division, email Cindy Kuenstner at
Cindy.Kuenstner@dep.nj.gov or call (609) 633-7598.

Qualifying entries for deer harvested during the 201617 hunting seasons
will be recognized at the 2018 Garden State Deer Classic. Join Fish and
Wildlife in celebrating New Jersey’s outstanding white-tailed deer where
this event takes place in January at the Garden State Outdoor Sportsmen’s
Show, Edison. See the ad on page 72 for more information.

The table at right lists the top-scoring deer and the hunters who participated
in the 2018 Garden State Deer Classic which showcased outstanding deer
taken during the 201617 deer hunting seasons, not the most recent
2017-18 hunting seasons. These deer will be honored at the January 2019
Deer Classic and printed in next year’s Digest.

NJFishandWildlife.com

2018 Garden State Deer Classic Winners*

Category/Rank | Score/Weight mm County Harvested

Youth 180 Pound Buck Muzzleloader

1st 182 Kenny Russell 5 Warren
Youth Typical Archer
S 1st 129 1/4 Trevor Haggerty 5 Warren
z Youth Typical Crosshow
2 1st 1337/8 Tyler McClure 19 Burlington
El
> 1st 124 Kenny Russell 5 Warren
Youth Typical Shotgun
1st 143 Olivia Mayhew 27 Salem
2nd 1195/8 Jake C. Koscielski 7 Hunterdon
3rd 119 1/4 Garrett Totten 17 Monmouth

Velvet Typical Archer

1st 135 Nicholas Marchisello 25 Gloucester
1st 1451/8 Anthony Magistro 51 Monmouth
2nd 126 1/8 Darren Hasara 10 Hunterdon

Typical Muzzleloader

1st 1387/8 Michael D. Danner 85 Gloucester

2nd 136 1/4 Harry R. Fox 49 Burlington

3rd 132 Darren Ponce 1 Sussex
Non-typical Muzzleloader

1st 147 7/8 Guido Basile 85 Salem

2nd 141 3/4 Ron Hughes 21 Burlington

1st 156 1/2 Angela Ciarlante 27 Salem
2nd 147 3/4 George W. Peer 5 Warren
- 3rd 144 3/4 Garrett 0'Donnell 31 Cumberland
2 Non-typical Shotgun
S 1st 151 3/8 Joseph Zanni 47 Atlantic
= 2nd 1397/8 Jason Marchioni 35 Gloucester
2
1st 1497/8 Frank J. Olma 14 Middlesex
2nd 144 5/8 Thomas Smith ® Sussex
3rd 141 3/4 Jim Mullin 5 Warren
3rd 141 3/4 Dylan Miller 49 Camden
Non-typical Archer:
1st 1591/2  Joseph S. Kucowski, Il 8 Hunterdon
2nd 154 3/4 Brett Clark 19 Burlington
3rd 1437/8 Clint Miller 49 Burlington
1st 160 Michael Carr 12 Somerset
2nd 1491/8 John Goncalves 51 Monmouth
3rd 1451/2 Colin McCuiston 50 Monmouth
Non-typical Crosshow
1st 161 7/8 William Gangel 48 Burlington
2nd 154 1/2 Tom Shirley 51 Ocean
3rd 151 5/8 Edward Fleming 1 Hunterdon
* For deer harvested during the 2016 —17 hunting seasons.
Outstanding Deer Program
Minimum Requirements
Antler Category Division Division
Minimum | Minimum
Typical Shotgun, Bow, Crosshow, Muzzleloader, Velvet 125 115
Non-typical Shotgun, Bow, Crosshow, Muzzleloader, Velvet 135 125
ey | | |
Buck: Shotgun, Bow, Crosshow, Muzzleloader 200 Ibs. 180 Ibs.
Doe: Shotgun, Bow, Crossbow, Muzzleloader 135 Ibs. 125 Ibs.

t+ See entry form. Visit our website (https://www.njfishandwildlife.com/
pdf/scale_list.pdf) for a partial list of certified scales or contact your
county weights and measures office. Be sure to locate a scale before the
hunting season begins!

** A truck scale is not acceptable as the increments are too large.

New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest
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> Chronic We ‘s’gi'g Disease:

+ Belongs to a family of neurological diseases called

- transmissible spongiform encephalopathies which
include scrapie in sheep, mad cow disease in cattle
and Creutzfeldt—Jakob disease in humans. There
is no evidence that CWD is transmissible to humans;
however the CDC advises against consuming any
animal that appears ill.

+ All members of the Cervid family (white-tailed
deer, black-tailed deer, mule deer, elk, moose,
reindeer) are known to be susceptible.

+ Caused by a misfolded protein called a prion
which could be found in all deer bodily fluids.

+ There is no cure. CWD is always fatal and there
is no live test for deer.

+ First discovered in captive mule deer in Colorado,
in 1967.

+ Now in captive or wild deer in 26 states and Cana-
dian provinces.

+ Detected in wild deer in: New York State and
West Virginia (2005), Virginia (2010), Maryland
(2011), Michigan (2015), in Pennsylvania both in
captive deer (2012) and in wild deer (2013) plus in
captive deer in Texas (2015), and free-ranging deer
and elk in Arkansas (2015) and in free-ranging
reindeer in Norway (2016).

+ Tested for CWD in symptomatic captive cervids
and wild deer, and hunter-harvested wild deer
since 1997. To date over 7,200 wild deer have been
tested with no CWD-positive results.

+Banned the importation of cervids, recently
expanded to include reindeer.

+ Issued an advisory for New Jersey hunters bring-
ing home venison from CWD-endemic states
making itillegal to importinto New Jersey a har-
vested deer carcass or deer parts from any state
with CWD in wild deer unless strictly following
that state’s CWD protocol.

+ Improved captive cervid regulations, including a
oposed Herd Certification Program.
5 =

onse Plan with protocols
ivated when CWD
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Working to protect the
environment through
renewable and natural
resource conservation.

Attention!

Urine-Based Deer Lures Advisory

The NJDEP Division of Fish and Wildlife recommends the
use of synthetic, non-urine-based scents or lures for deer
hunting. The infectious prions which cause Chronic Wasting
Disease can be spread through urine-based lures. Studies
have shown the prions can survive for years in contaminated
soils and the environment. Urine-based scents and lures are [y S uys s

Contact John Erndl, President
(732) 616-5137 or
email: john.erndl@ubnj.org
Visit our website: www.ubnj.org

of New Jersey

not treated to kill the prions as heat or chemical treatments Name:
would also reduce the desired scent characteristics. Street:
Hunters using urine-based scents should place them in City: State: Zip:
areas out of contact with deer, the ground or vegetation. Ehoni Number: ( ) s
~mail: ate:

Individual Membership:* $25/yr. Includes membership card, four issues of
Tracks & Trails, decal and eligibility for contests, trophies and prizes.
*Required for UBNJ special hunts

Family Membership: $40/yr. Includes all benefits of Individual Membership
for the member, spouse and each child under the age of 16.
List names of family members:

» » Chronic Wasting Disease
in North America

Junior Membership: $15/yr. For clubs and organizations, contact
Includes all benefits of Individual ~ UBNJ for details.

Membership for youth up to age 16. Check One:

Life Membership: $400 single New Member:

payment. Includes all benefits of Renewal

Individual Membership. . .
I wish to make a donation of §
Sponsoring Membership: $100/yr.  to the UBNJ Protect our Rights Fund.

Signature:

Mail to: UBNJ Membership, P.O. Box 11, Ringwood, NJ 07456-0011.
Please allow 6 — 8 weeks to receive membership ID.

If wou care aboul:
= Wise management of fish and
wildlife populations
= Protection and enhancement of
natural |ands and waters
» Preservation of traditional
outdoor sports

Then get involved!
« Stay informed on issues affecting K sportsmen
and sportswomen
+ Make an impact on outdoor issues
« Meet others who share similar sporting interests
+ Have fun and participate In Federation-sponsored activities:
Jambaorees, clay target shoots, tournaments, dinners, conventions,

Areas with CWD infected Cervid populations Meml i

540 Includes monthly e-newsletter and 51 million
excess [labllity insurance covering your sporting

States/Provinces where CWD has been activities throughout the LLS. and Canada.
found in captive populations __ 525 Monthly e-newsletter only
Mame
County Phone
Address
Gity State Zip
See NJFishandWildlife.com/cwdinfo.htm T
for more information on CWD in New Jersey Send with your check or money order to:
and the New Jersey CWD Response Plan. NJSFSC « PO Box: 10173 - Trenton, NJ 08650
- Join online at
Visit cwd-info.org for more WWW.N J sfsc org

comprehensive CWD information.




Recruiting the
Next Generation

By Keith Griglak, Senior Biologist

11 years after observing his
first rabbit hunt, the author’s
son Cody now shares his

hunting experiences with his
five-year-old sister Sierra.

Less than one out of four kids in a hunting family are taking
up the sport. Thirty years ago, nearly one out of every

two children of hunters chose to hunt. Sportsmen and
sportswomen are failing to secure the future of hunting!

Competing interests abound along with short attention
spans and information overload in this age of video games,
smartphones and social media. Consider these valuable
points when welcoming new hunters to the sport:

Don’t Use Pressure

Before even starting to recruit a new hunter, be sure
this is something that they want to do. Don't try to
push someone into hunting. If forced, the results
are nearly guaranteed not to be positive. Be mindful
that your child’s hunting career can be made—or
broken—within the first few hunts. There are ways
to introduce a person to hunting s-l-o-w-l-y.

It’'s Never Too Early

If you wait until your kid turns 10 to introduce
them to hunting, it might be too late. By then, time
is already at a premium, competing with sports and
other after-school activities. The earlier you plant
the seed, the better to grow an interest in hunting,

Include your kids in pre-seasons scouting, check-
ing trail cams, setting up ground blinds, running
the dog and blood trailing a deer. Make it a family
event. Invite mom, dad, nieces, nephews, brothers,
sisters and close friends. There is no such thing as
too early to start introducing a youth to hunting,

Before kids are old enough to hunt, supervised
shooting of the bow or air gun can go a long way
to trigger an interest and to instill lifelong, safe
shooting practices. Inviting youngsters on short
hunts will help prepare them for when it’s their
time in the woods.

Choose Hunt Days Wisely

While you may enjoy goose hunting in a blizzard
or sitting in a treestand when it’s 6°F outside, most
newcomers will not find this to be fun. Be selective
on when to take out a new hunter! Wait for enjoy-
able weather. Don't make them wake up at4:00 a.m.
unless they want to. Don’t make them stay out when
the hunt is no longer fun. Let the youth call the
shots on when—and how long—they want to hunt.

Instant Success

Any newcomer to hunting needs to experience suc-
cess for motivation to stick with the sport. Deer
hunting may not be the best introduction—unless
thereis good preparation. Ifa new hunter goes afield

Author with then-15-month-old son Cody on his
first archery rabbit hunt.



six times and doesn't see the quarry, they are likely
to try another activity that is more exciting, Don’t
force a new hunter to hold out for the biggest buck
in the area. Any “first deer” is a huge accomplish-
ment, be it a fawn, doe or young buck.

For the attention span-deficient youth, small
game hunting might be the ticket. Target-rich
environments—whether they are squirrels, rab-
bits, waterfowl or upland birds—provides them
with much more shooting action.

To guarantee seeing pheasant, getinon theaction
with New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife’s
Take a Kid Pheasant Day. (See page 25.) Or book
a hunt at one of New Jersey’s commercial hunting
preserves. Another option to consider is buying
birds and stocking them on your own land. Except
for commercial or semi-wild hunting preserves, the
regular season dates and bag limits must be followed.

It’s All About the
Experience

Make the day fun! Pulling the trigger should be
only a small part of the day. Whether cooking
breakfast in the duck blind, having lunch at the
diner or sitting around the campfire in deer camp,
there is an important social aspect that shouldn’t
be overlooked.

It’s okay to talk or whisper in the blind while
waiting for your quarry to show. Kids will have
questions. Make it a learning experience.

Youths now spend an average of seven hours a
day in front of electronic devices. It’s not the end
of the world to let them bring their cell phone in
the woods—as long as that doesn't become their
main focus of the day. Make the hunt as special as
possible so that they want to get back in the woods.
These are the days that form great family memories.

Celebrate the Game

Take plenty of photos and videos, not just after the
harvest but of all aspects of the day. Simple things
like posting these images on the refrigerator door,
setting as a screen saver or sharing them on social
media will help to memorialize their successes for
others to see. Let them be proud of their accom-
plishments, but best not to force them in front of
other kids at school.

There is a powerful feeling from providing food
for the family from the field. Cook it the way the
new hunter prefers. Jerky, snack sticks and other
specialty meats may be more exciting to them than
cooking roasts or steaks on the grill. Whether it’s
a single meal from that first pheasant or filling the
freezer by harvesting a deer, young hunters can
celebrate an accomplishment that very few other
kids will claim.

Mg fw
he Lowcountry Awaits

Cooking breakfast in the goose blind.

It’s Not Too Late!

Even though hunters comprise less than two per-
cent of New Jersey’s population, research from
Responsive Management—a public opinion survey
research firm specializing in natural resource and
outdoor recreation issues—along with the National
Shooting Sports Foundation, show that nearly 80
percent of Americans support legal, ethical and
regulated bunting.

There is still interest in continuing our hunting
tradition! As adult hunters, parents, friends and
mentors, it is our job to be sure that we properly
foster and welcome this next generation into the
sport of hunting,

RESSINOUMENHIERS

Affordable trophy whitetail hunts in N.W. Missouri

B r 5-Day, Fully Guided, Fair Chase Hunts

with Lodging start at only $1,800.00!

NJ Div. Fish and Wildlife

</

Keith Grig

Thousands of private acres.
No trophy fees or hidden charges.

YES YOU CAN!
Ray: 786-319-1367 John: 786-394-3536

WwWw.randjeutiftters.com

PROFESSIONAL FISHING GUIDE
FLY AND CONVENTIONAL

INSHORE x NEARSHORE x OFFSHORE
Charleston, SC
(843)860-4231 x john@flyrightcharters.com

www.flyrightcharters.com
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Are You a Locavore?

There is a growing movement to eat healthier and more local.

What could be more local than harvesting your own meat?

How Local are You?
The average American meal travels 1,300-2,000

miles from farm to your place using untold gallons of
chemical fertilizer, pesticides and fossil fuels along
the way. Eatinglocal reduces your carbon footprint!

lo-ca-vore ['l0ka,vor]

Noun — One who mainly eats locally produced
or harvested foods.

Wild game is among the most-available local
protein,

Did you know that hunter-harvested venison is:

Free-range
Natural

Native High protein
Low-stress Low fat

Locally produced Low calorie

Low impact

Low food miles
Relatively carbon-neutral

Responsible

¢ Fresh

¢ Antibiotic-free
e Sustainable
e Healthy

After highlighting these facts with a group of New
Jersey Hunter Education instructors, there were
many positive responses.

“Didn’t know I was a locavore!”
“I never considered myself to be a health nut.”
“I didn’t realize how far most food travels.”

Now you know. Become a locavore! Maybe you
already are.

Read about the tremendous hunter-provided,
locavore-related success of a recent Market Pizza/
Hunters Helping the Hungry fundraising event.
See the article, page 79.

xDLQ\

Your Dollars Support
Wildlife Conservation

The Wildlife Restoration Program funds up to 75 percent of
conservation project costs, with state fish and wildlife agencies
typically matching the remaining 25 percent through hunting
and fishing license revenues. Since the program’s inception,
New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife has received over

$100 million in Pittman-Robertson funds, matching it with
approximately $33 million in license revenues and other sources.

Your Dollars Make a Difference!

How it Works:

. Manufacturers
pay federal
excise taxes
on guns and
ammunition.

1. Hunters and

target shooters
purchase guns
and ammunition.

| New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest

3. Revenue
from these
excise taxes is
distributed to
state wildlife
agencies.

NJFishandWildlife.com

4. State wildlife
agencies use these
funds to purchase
land for wildlife
habitat and to
manage wildlife
populations.

5. Results: Millions of
acres of important
habitat have been set
aside to help ensure the
future the diversity and
healthy abundance of
wildlife populations.

2018 Issue



More Locavore News:

The Call of the Wild

New Jersey Pizza Shop Raises Funds
for Hunters Helping the Hungry

Deer meat was on the menu in a three-day promo
that brought together the local Rotary Club, a non-
profit that feeds the hungry, and Market Pizza in
Stockton, New Jersey. Megan Jones-Holt, the piz-
zeria’s chefand owner, hit upon the idea of making
venison pizza for a Rotarian-sponsored fundraiser
tied in with Hunters Helping the Hungry, which
provides the needy with wild deer meat. According
to Jones-Holt, the venison is cut with beef fat for a
less gamy flavor. “T didn't want to do something so
far out of left field that people would be hesitant
to try it,” she says. “The deer has been marinated
in extra-virgin olive oil infused with basil, oregano,
tarragon, thyme, salt and pepper—all good herbs
that one would put on ground beef. The meat was
precooked before going on the pizza.” The pie also
features fresh mozzarella, Parmesan, crushed
tomatoes, red onions, jalapefios and oregano. “The
venison is crumbled on top, then finished off with
birch-smoked salt from Iceland and fresh sweet
basil,” Jones-Holt adds. A portion of proceeds for

every venison pizza sold went to Hunters Helping
the Hungry, raising enough money to serve 4,000
meals to the hungry, according to Jones-Holt.
The artisan pizzeria continued to offer wild-game
pizzas—including wild boar bacon, smoked duck
and bison—for the next three weeks.

For more information about Hunters
Helping the Hungry, see page 49.

Reprinted with permission of PMQ
Magazine, PMQ.com.

T

Owner/chef Megan Jones-Holt creates a true farm-
to-table experience at Market Pizza in Stockton,
New Jersey, designing artisanal pizzas using locally
grown ingredients like mushrooms, sausage, pro-
sciutto, eggs and vegetables.

2004

LE GRIFFIN

PUBLISHING

Showcase

your business!

For advertising inquiries, please call

(413) 884-1001

Missed the printed edition?

Ask about year-round digital opportunities.
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Outdoor Programs

—— GET INVOLVED!
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Join us for the 28th Annual Governor’s Surf Fishing Tournament!

May 19, 2019
Island Beach State Park, Seaside Park, NJ

New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife, along with our co-sponsors—
New Jersey Division of Parks and Forestry, New Jersey State Federation

of Sportsmen’s Clubs, Jersey Coast Anglers Association, and New Jersey
Beach Buggy Association—congratulate Keri Mauger of Mohonton, PA who
took the grand prize and NJ Governor's Cup by catching a 36-inch bluefish.

1st Place in the High School Team Category, Toms River High School
South, with Acting Commissioner Catherine McCabe at the Governor’s

Surf Fishing Tournament.
\

Ms. Mauger received two-rod and reel combinations, a pair of Costa Del
Mar sunglasses, a plague and will have her name engraved on the Gover-
nor's Cup.

Also, congratulations to Toms River High School South for winning first
place in the High School Team Category with a 35 1/2-inch bluefish. Toms
River High School South had their name engraved on the new High School
Team Cup and received a 1st place plaque.

All participants who mailed their registration were entered into an early
entry raffle for a Coastline Surf System.

Prizes are awarded in different species and age categories. For more infor-
mation and to register, visit NJFishandWildlife.com/gsft.htm

A special thanks to our 2018 donors:
e American Angler e NJ Div. of Fis_h e_md Wildlife’s
e Chestnut Neck Boat Yard Hooked on Fishing—Not on Drugs

Program
e Grumpy'’s Bait and Tackle o World Jeep
e Jersey Coast Surfcasters
A special thanks to our 2018 High School Team Category donors:
e The Fisherman e Shark River Surf Anglers
e The Reel Seat

Mark your calendars for the 28th Annual Governor's Surf Fishing
Tournament to be held on May 19, 2019!

Continue the Tradition Operation Game Thief

Become an instructor with Fish and
Wildlife’s Hunter Education Program.

Our Hunter Education Unit is looking for New Jersey’s best sportsmen
and sportswomen to become instructors at locations where students
take the test and field course after first having completed the home
study portion. A minimum of six weekend days each year are required.

Call (856) 629-0552
Leave your name and address to receive an application.

Or complete the application form at:
NJFishandWildlife.com/pdf/hunted/hntedinstr.pdf.

New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest

NJFishandWildlife.com

Report Abuse of our Outdoor Heritage!

1-855-0GT-TIPS

24 Hours a Day, Seven Days a Week

The person who poaches, pollutes habitat and abuses public land
tarnishes the image of sportsmen and robs us of our fish and wildlife as
well as tax and license dollars. You can make a difference.

Call OGT to report:

e Negligent use of firearms

e Qver the limits for game and fish

e Commercial exploitation of fish and wildlife

e Pollution of habitat, dumping on state land

e Destruction of signs and state property

e |llegal Killing, taking or possession of any
wildlife

It's Free. It's Confidential.

You May Be Eligible for

a Reward.

Funded by the New Jersey State Federation
of Sportsmen's Clubs.

Designed to encourage sportsmen to
report poaching and wildlife crimes.

\
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Perpetual Sunrise & Sunset
TRENTON, NEW JERSEY

mmmmmmmmmmm

P.

01 4:43  7:09 5:17 5E5) 7:24 7:55 8:23 5:33 8:32 8:13 6:56 6:41 5:56 4:34
02 4:44  7:08 5:18 6:31 5:52 6:41 7:25 7:56 8:23 5:34 8:32 5:58 8:12 6:57 6:39 7:30 5:55} 4:33
03 4:45 T7:07 5:19 6:29 5:53 6:39 7:26 7:57 8:24 5:34 8:32 5:59 8:11 6:58 6:37 7:31 5:54 4:33
04 4:46 7:06 521 6:27 5:54 6:38 7:27 7:58 8:25 5:35 8:32 6:00 8:09 6:59 6:36 7:32 5:52 4:33
05 4:47 T7:05 522 6:26 5:56 6:36 7:28 7:59 8:25 5:36 8:32 6:01 8:08 6:31 7:24 7:00 6:34 6:34 4:51 4:33
06 4:48 T7:04 5:23 6:24 5:57 6:34 7:29 8:00 8:26 5:36 8:31 6:02 8:07 6:32 7:22 7:01 6:33 6:35 4:50 4:33
07 4:49 T7:02 5:24 6:23 5:58 6:33 7:30 8:01 8:27 5:37 8:31 6:03 8:06 6:33 7:20 7:02 6:31 6:36 4:49 4:33
08 4:50 7:01 526 6:21 5:59 6:31 7:31 8:02 8:27 5:37 8:31 6:04 8:05 6:34 7:19 7:08 6:29 6:37 4:48 4:33
09 4:51  7:00 5:27 6:20 6:00 6:30 7:32 8:03 8:28 5:38 8:30 6:05 8:03 6:35 7:17 7:04 6:28 6:38 4:47 4:33
10 4:52  6:59 528 6:18 6:01 6:28 7:33 8:04 8:28 5:39 8:30 6:06 8:02 6:35 7:15) | 7:05 6:26 6:39 4:46 4:33
1" 4:53 6:58 529 7:16 7:02 6:27 7:34 8:05 8:29 5:40 8:29 6:07 8:01 6:36 7:14 7:06 6:25 6:41 4:45 4:33
12 4:54 6:57 5:30 7:15 7:08 6:25 7:35 8:06 8:29 5:40 8:29 6:08 8:00 6:37 7:12 7:07 6:23 6:42 4:44 4:33
13 4:55 6:56 5:32 7:13 7:04 6:23 7:36 8:06 8:30 5:41 8:28 6:09 7:58 6:38 7:10 7:08 6:22 6:43 4:44 4:34
14 4:56 6:54 5:33 7:12 7:05 6:22 7:37 8:07 8:30 5:42 8:28 6:10 7:57 6:39 7:09 7:09 6:20 6:44 4:43 4:34
15 4:57 6:53 5:34 7:10 7:06 6:20 7:38 8:08 8:30 5:42 8:27 6:11 7:56 6:40 7:07 7:10 6:19 6:45 4:42 4:34
16 4:58 6:52 5:35 7:08 7:07 6:19 7:39 8:09 8:31 5:43 8:27 6:12 7:54 6:41 7:06 7:11 6:17 6:46 4:41 4:34
17 4:59 6:50 5:36 7:07 7:08 6:17 7:40 8:10 8:31 5:44 8:26 6:12 7:53 6:42 7:04 7:12 6:16 6:47 4:40 4:35
18 5:00 6:49 5:37 7:05 7:09 6:16 7:41 8:11 8:31 5:45 8:25 6:13 7:51 6:43 7:02 7:13 6:14 6:49 4:40 4:35
19 5:02 6:48 5:39 7:04 7:10 6:14 7:42 8:12 8:32 5:46 8:25 6:14 7:50 6:44 7:01 7:14 6:13 6:50 4:39 4:36
20 5:083 6:46 5:40 7:02 7:11 6:13 7:43 8:13 8:32 5:47 8:24 6:15 7:48 6:45 6:59 7:15 6:11 6:51 4:38 4:36
21 5:04 6:45 5:41 7:00 7:13 6:12 7:44 8:14 8:32 5:47 8:23 6:16 7:47 6:46 6:57 7:17 6:10 6:52 4:38 4:37
22 5:05 6:44 5:42 6:59 7:14 6:10 7:45 8:15 8:32 5:48 8:22 6:17 7:46 6:47 6:56 7:18 6:09 6:53 4:37 4:37
23 5:06 6:42 5:43 6:57 7:15 6:09 7:46 8:16 8:32 5:49 8:21 6:18 7:44 6:48 6:54 7:19 6:07 6:54 4:37 4:38
24 5:.07 6:41 5:44 6:55 7:16 6:07 7:47 8:16 8:33 5:50 8:21 6:19 7:43 6:49 6:52 7:20 6:06 6:55 4:36 4:38
25 5:09 6:39 5:46 6:54 7:17 6:06 7:48 8:17 8:33 5:51 8:20 6:20 7:41 6:50 6:51 7:21 6:05 6:56 4:36 4:39
26 5:10 6:38 5:47 6:52 7:18 6:05 7:49 8:18 8:33 5:52 8:19 6:21 7:39 6:51 6:49 7:22 6:03 6:57 4:35 4:40
27 5:11 6:36 5:48 6:50 7:19 6:03 7:50 8:19 8:33 5:53 8:18 6:22 7:38 6:52 6:47 7:23 6:02 6:59 4:35 4:40
28 5:12 6:35 5:49 6:49 7:20 6:02 7:52 8:20 8:33 5:54 8:17 6:23 7:36 6:53 6:46 7:24 6:01 7:00 4:35 4:41
29 5:13 6:34 5:50 6:47 7:21 6:01 7:53 8:21 8:33 5:54 8:16 6:24 7:35 6:54 6:44 7:26 5:59 7:01 4:34 4:42
30 5:15 6:46 7:22 5:59 7:54 8:21 8:32 5:55 8:15 6:25 7:33 6:55 6:42 7:27 5:58 7:02 4:34 4:42
31 5:16 6:44 7:23 5:32 8:22 5:56 8:14 6:26 7:32 7:28 5:57 4:43
Eastern Standard AND Eastern Daylight Savings Times e U. S. Naval Observatory, Washington, DC 20392-5420
Times listed are ACTUAL times with Daylight Savings Time already shown.
!

EQUIPMENT ¢ INDOOR RANGE .
LESSONS « LEAGUES U

TARGETEERSARCHERY.COM « SADDLE BROOK
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Hunter Access
PUBLIC DEER HUNTING LAND IN NEW JERSEY

S

© Musconetcong River WMA 2 e Port Republic WMA

NEW JERSEY HAS more than 750,000 acres of 11 Hunterdon County Parks Dept—Lockatong Nature Preserve, e Tuckahoe WMA
public land available to the deer hunter. This list is the Case Farm, Wescott Nature Preserve (see Special Areas) 43 e Millville (Bevan) WMA
arranged by deer management zone for Publ,ic land ) . hﬂ%ﬁ:ggﬁ \(,:vo'\lnjﬁty Parks Dept.—Cushetunk Mountain * . ye?s??é%l\zxnds 1A
opento deer huntmg Generally, only areas with 100 Park, Sourland Mountain Nature Preserve, Deer Path 46 e Gibson Creek WMA
acres or more of upland habitat are listed. State parks Park, South Branch Reservation (see Special Areas) e Great Egg Harbor River WMA
p P
. . e Mercer County Parks—Pole Farm Section o Tuckahoe WMA (Lenape Farms Tract)
a“d forests thatallow hun?ng may have some sections  Round Valley Recreation Area o Maple Lake WMA (Lenape Farms Tract)
which are closed to hunting, Some areas allow deer « South Branch WMA e Peaslee WMA
hunting only during certain seasons, requireanaccess 13 ® Morris County Park System (see Special Areas) 47 o Peaslee WMA )
. . 14 e Assunpink WMA (Robbinsville Twp section only) 48 e Rancocas State Park (see Special Areas)
fe‘? or have other ?Pecml reg‘ﬂa?on& Refer to the * Pigeon Swamp State Park 49 e No public deer hunting land
Digest section Special Areas Hunting Season Informa-  Six Mile Run Reservoir State Park (see Special Areas) 50 e Cheesequake State Park
; tact th iat thorit 15 e Assunpink WMA * Monmouth County Park System—Hartshorne Woods Park,
?on dp agfel 44 or contac f N ﬁpp ropriate authonty * Monmouth County Park System—Charleston Springs Tatum Park, Thompson Park, Big Brook Park, Huber Woods,
or details. See page 83 for hunting opportunities Golf Course, Perrineville Lake Park (see Special Areas) the Ramanessin Section of Holmdel Park (see Special Areas)
on national wildlife refuges in New Jersey. 16 e Butterfly Bogs WMA 51 e Allaire State Park
. ‘o © Turkey Swamp WMA ¢ Manasquan River WMA
R,emember’ Humer‘s must haf/e permission to hunt o Monn¥outh Corimty Park System—Bear Swamp Tract of . Manahgwkin WMA
agriculturalland even if the land is not posted. Hunters Manasquan Reservoir, Howell Park Golf Course, Turkey o Monmouth County Park System—Shark River Park, Rt. 33
should obtain permission before hunting any private Swamp Park, Yellowbrook Tract of Manasquan River Tract and Shark River Park—East of Remsen Mill Rd.
p g any pi ! b .
prope'rty. Hunter's are z}dvised notto p urchase a deer 17 o Iéglﬁg:sPﬁnzlﬁs(sv?liﬂipemalArea.s) 53 e (Ls:lfelftﬁyriilﬁlacgfﬂ Engineering Station (see Special Areas)
permit for a zone in which they have no place to hunt. * Monmouth County Park System—Clayton Park, 54« No public deer hunting land
Updates since last year are noted below in red. Crosswicks Creek Park (see Special Areas) 55 e Glassboro WMA
e Pleasant Run WMA 56 e Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge (see Special Areas)
Zone Public Land Open to Deer Hunting o Prospertown Lake WMA 57 e Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildiife Refuge (see Special Areas)
18 e Colliers Mills WMA 58 e Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge—north of
1 e Bear Swamp WMA o Manchester WMA Rt. 72 (see Special Areas)
o Flatbrook—Roy WMA o Whiting WMA 61 e Atlantic County Park System (see Special Areas)
¢ Hainesville WMA 19 o Medford WMA 63 e Abbotts Meadow WMA
e Stokes State Forest e Wharton State Forest o Supawna Meadows National Wildlife Refuge (see Special Areas)
2 e Kittatinny Valley State Park 21 e Double Trouble State Park 64  Monmouth Battlefield State Park (see Special Areas)
e Paulinskill WMA  Forked River Mountain WMA 65  Winslow WMA
o Wallkill River National Wildlife Refuge (see SpecialAreas) e Greenwood Forest WMA e White Oak Branch WMA
¢ Wawayanda State Park e Lebanon State Forest 66 e Federal Aviation Administration William J. Hughes
3 e Abram Hewitt State Forest 22 e Bass River State Forest Technical Center (see Special Areas)
¢ Hamburg Mountain WMA 23 e Wharton State Forest 67 e High Point State Park (see Special Areas)
e Long Pond Ironworks State Park 24 e Bass River State Forest 68 e Franklin Parker Preserve (see Special Areas)
* Newark Watershed (see Special Areas)  Penn State Forest 70 e Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge, north of the
e Norvin Green State Forest o Stafford Forge WMA Mullica River and south of Rt. 72 (see Special Areas)
 Ramapo Mountain State Forest e Swan Bay WMA
. anwooddStgttetPa';k ) e Warren Grove Recreation Area
o Wawayanda State Parl o Wharton State Forest H
4 e Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area 25 e Cedar Lake WMA Maps Avallable
. gltatli)rooskt—thy WI;IIA o Great Egg Harbor River WMA
o Stokes State Fores © Penbryn Pond WMA . . . .
e Walpack WMA o Wharton State Forest Maps and information on hunting land is also
 Worthington State Forest o White Oak Branch WMA available from the following sources:
5 e Beaver Brook WMA 26 e Great Egg Harbor River WMA '
. ﬁolumtga Wvl\\;ll\/,\IA » Hammonton Creek WMA Wildlife Management Area Maps
e Honey Run o Makepeace Lake WMA i i
« Jenny Jump State Forest « Port Republic WMA Free download. Maps and information on lands
o Paulinskill WMA 27 e Salem River WMA administered by NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife.
« Swartswood State Park o Thundergut Pond WMA Both topographic and road maps available.
° mut‘ ?_VUEK\XIVMMQ 28 Buckshutem WMA NJFishandWildlife.com/wmaland.htm
L] . . . PR
~ Whittingham WMA + Simer Lake WM Photocopies also available of individual WMA
6 e Allamuchy Mountain State Park o Union Lake WMA maps on USGS base. Free. Specify which WMA.
o lI§erkshsi;F;'J[VegleykWMA 29 e Bayside PSE&G Tract (see Special Areas) NJ Div. Fish and Wildlife, WMA Map Request
© Farny oState Parl * Cohansey River WMA o o
* Morris County Park System (see Special Areas) o Gum Tree Corner WMA MC 501-03, P0. Box 420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0420
o Newark Watershed (see Special Areas) o Mad Horse Creek WMA (609) 984-0547.
* Rockaway River WMA i -
* Sparta M)rl)untain WMA . g'\,"tz\s,'v(ee '(';e“ﬁﬁ' gfa'lg mf USGS Topographic Maps
o Weldon Brook WMA 30 o Bear Swamp Natural Area (closed Jan. 15—-Aug. 1) Free download. Topo quads available.
, . \év"d;fr?t Ritége v‘ill\vllvﬁl\vI A * Dix WMA wwu.state.nj.us/dep/njgs/pricelst/usgsbase.htm
A : Eg?téss'gﬂgv‘c’m Or write, below, stating exact location including
o Hunterdon County Parks Dept.—Union Forge Preserve, o Nantuxent WMA county, township and road.
Llower Hil{ Rese;{\{e (ssNe Msgecial Areas)  New Sweden WMA Printed topo quads—$10 ea.
e Musconetcong River 31 e Millville WMA ivisi
« Spruce Run Recreation Area . Bkt A NJ DEP Division of Water Supply and
8 e Allamuchy Mountain State Park 34 e Beaver Swamp WMA Geoscience Maps and Publications
o Black River WMA * Belleplain State Forest MC 29'01, P. 0 BOX 420, Trenton, NJ 08625'0402
o Hacklebarney State Park o Cape May Coastal Wetlands WMA (609) 292-1185
 Hunterdon County Parks Dept.—Cold Brook Preserve,  Cape May National Wildlife Refuge
Teetertown Ravine Nature Preserve, Point Mountain o Dennis Creek WMA State Parks and Forests Maps
Rk Awdr caittirrg A Free download. Find a state park, forest,
« Morris County Park System (see Special Areas) o Tuckahoe WMA recreation area or marina by location.
 Musconetcong River WMA o Lizard Tail Swamp Preserve (see Special Areas) www.state.nj.us/dep/parksandforests/parks/
: Eigﬂg?rtwva 35 B-O-D- PO[rIdsL e WA parkindex.html. Maps and information on lands
 Harrisonville Lake ini Rt
 South Branch WMA 36 * Morris County Park System (see Special Areas) administered b.y the DIVISIOH of Parks and
* Voorhees State Park 37 e Fort Dix Military Reservation (see Special Areas) Forestry. Specify which park or forest. Free.
9 e &Iack RCiver \{VNFI)A < Systom (s Special Areas) 38 e Great Swamp National Wildlife Refuge (see Special Areas) NJ DEP, Division of Parks and Forestry
¢ Morris Lounty Park system (see opécial Area 39 e No public deer hunting land o o
10 e Hunterdon County Parks Dept—Musconetcong Gorge, the 41 e Alexauken Creek WMA MC 501-04, PO Box 420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0420
Drag Strip Property, Hoffman Park, Schick Reserve, South o Mercer County Parks—Baldpate (Kuser) Mountain (800) 843-6420
Branch Reservation, Uplands Reserve (see Special Areas) o Mercer County Parks—Howell Living History Farm
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2018 Issue

SAFETY ZONE Awareness: Protecting Your Hunting Privilege

NEW JERSEY HUNTERS enjoy many types of hunting, numerous days afield and generous bag limits. But development and other human encroachment
on the forests and fields of the Garden State has changed both wildlife habitat and land suitable for hunting, such that SAFETY ZONE awareness is even

more critical for hunters.

What is a SAFETY ZONE?

+ The firearm SAFETY ZONE is the area within 450 feet of a building or
school playground, even if not occupied. For bowhunters, the SAFETY
ZONE around buildings is 150 feet but remains 450 feet from a school
playground. See Safety Zone, page 28.

+ The SAFETY ZONE is the place where you, the hunter, cannot carry a
loaded firearm or nocked arrow unless you have written permission in hand.

+ The SAFETY ZONE was established by legislation in 1946 as an area to
place some physical distance, a buffer, between hunters and homeowners.

+ The SAFETY ZONE could be land where there is suitable wildlife
habitat for adaptable species, like the white-tailed deer, cottontail rabbit
and Canada goose.

+ The SAFETY ZONE is not a magic shield and cannot stop a misdirected
projectile from entering the area around a home.

Neighbor’s
House

Farmer Jones’ Property

| 4— The neighbor’s house
| closes this portion of

150' Bowhunter Farmer Jones’ property

safety zone to firearm hunting

What can you do to heighten your SAFETY ZONE awareness?
1. Post SAFETY ZONE signs.
2. Talk with landowners.

3. Scout hunting property annually
to be aware of new construction
or other changes.

4. Hunt SMART and remind
your hunting partners to Hunt
SMART.

5. Know the law. Know the land.

AEEN

SAFETY ZONE

Remember, failure to hunt safely and responsibly is inexcusable. Always be
aresponsible hunter. Always be aware of your surroundings, the target and
what may lie beyond the target. The principles of good conduct learned at
your hunter education course are called into practice every time you hunt.

Take special care hunting on “high visibility” property, habitat where our
adaptable wildlife species—especially white-tailed deer—are flourishing.
Here, hunter conduct will be watched closely; the image we portray can have
a great impact on the tolerance for our sport. Hunting these Special Areas
carries added responsibility for you, as a hunter, to exercise restraint and
make superior judgment decisions. ¥

Hunting Opportunities on New Jersey’s

National Wildlife Refuges: 2018-19 Hunting Seasons

Hunting on national wildlife refuges is not permitted unless specifically opened as listed below. No Sunday bunting on national wildlife refuges.

Gape May NWR

24 Kimbles Beach Rd., Cape May Court House, NJ 08210

(609) 463-0994; fws.gov/northeast/capemay

+ Deer—Special Areas Hunting Season Information; see page 47.

+ Migratory game birds except crow—on refuge lands north of Rt. 550
or west of Rt. 47

+ Turkey, rabbit and squirrel hunting in select areas only.
No refuge permit is required. Special hunting conditions apply. Contact

refuge office for information.

Great Swamp NWR
32 Pleasant Plains Rd., New Vernon, NJ 07976
(973) 425-0215 ext. 115; www.fws.gov/refuge/great_swamp/
+ Deer—Special Areas Hunting Season Information; see page 48.

In addition to required state licenses and permits, hunters must obtain a
Refuge permit for $26 ($13 for holders of a Senior, Golden Age, Access, or
Golden Access pass and youths with a valid New Jersey youth huntinglicense).

Edwin B. Forsythe NWR
800 Great Creek Rd., Oceanville, NJ 08231-0072;
(609) 652-1665; www.fws.gov/refuge/edwin_b_forsythe/
+ Deer—Special Areas Hunting Season Information; see page 47.
+ Waterfowl
Information can be obtained at the refuge, at dispensers, at the headquar-
ters, on the refuge website, or through the mail.

Supawna Meadows NWR
c/o Cape May NWR, 24 Kimbles Beach Rd., Cape May Court House,
NJ 08210, (609) 463-0994; www.fws.gov/supawnameadows/

NJFishandWildlife.com

+ Deer—Bowhunting only. Special Areas Hunting Season Information;
see page 44.

+ Waterfowl
Special hunting conditions apply. Contact refuge office for information.

Wallkill River NWR

1547 County Rt. 565, Sussex, NJ 07461-4013; (973) 702-7266;
www.fws.gov/refuge/ Wallkill_River/visit/hunting.html

+ Deer—Special Areas Hunting Season Information; see page 49.
+ Migratory Birds except crow

+ Spring and Fall Turkey (Zone 5)

+ Black bear—Segment A and Segment B

+ Small game—squirrel and rabbit only

Note: the refuge is closed to Sunday hunting.

In addition to required state licenses, hunters must purchase a Refuge
hunt permit(s) at heeps://wallkillriver.recaccess.com (Discounts for Senior,
Golden Age, Access, or Golden Access pass and youths with a valid New
Jersey youth hunting license).

+ Additional hunting opportunities

» Hunters with Disabling Conditions: A Disabled Hunter Area exists at
119 Owens Station Rd. Sussex, NJ (see refuge hunt map). Hunters must
possess a valid NJ Permit to Hunt or Shoot from a Stationary Vehicle
in addition to the Disabled Refuge Hunt Permit.

» Mentored Hunts: The refuge partners with the National Wild Turkey
Federation to offer mentored hunts for youth, women and disabled hunt-
ers. Registration is required and space is limited. Contact the refuge for
dates and details. ¥

New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest |
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Hunter’s Showplace

Taxidermy

Accepting
debit/credit cards

FULL TIME
PROFESSIONAL
TAXIDERMY STUDIO

STAGLIANO TAXIDERN¥|

James J. Stagliano U

PO Box 181,27 Weed Rd. | “:"
Walker Valley, NY '\
845-744-5363

Retailers

Kinort Just Files
Rl P s Swoter Suow

¢ Flies & Fly Tying Material
"~ Fly Casting Lessons
i Fly Tying Classes
‘ Guided Trips
P N
-

Hunting Accessories
Live Bait/Tackle
Archery Supplies
Ammo

W,

862-444-8304

Guns e Shooting Supplies ® FFL Services
FULL SERVICE SPORT SHOP
Hunting & Fishing Licenses Sold
Mon-Fri 8a - 7p Sat 6a-7p Sun 8a - 5p

WWW ANOTIUSTHLIES . COM

BOB’S LITTLE SPORT SHOP
Phone: 856-881-7575
» Fax: 856-881-8477
316 N. Delsea Drive * Glassboro, NJ 08028

Indoor Pistol and Archery Range
Rifles

State and Federal Licensed

Hand Guns * Shotguns ¢

« Archery

HOURS:
Mon. thru Fri. 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
Closed for Dinner 5 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Sat. 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

84 WWW.BOBSLITTLESPORTSHOP.COM

MCB TAXIDERMY

- QUALITY TAXIDERMY

V] =46 Years of Experience
 Fast Turn-Around Time
« 3 Months or Less on Most Mounts!
« Pricing for the Budget-Conscious
« Free Estimates!

Mark Buechel, Taxidermist
(973) 492-5312
Visit us at: mcbtaxidermy.com
78 Boonton Ave. Kinnelon, NJ 07405
BIRDS - FISH - GAME HEADS - NOVELTY - TANNING

TED’S TAXIDERMY

Let Us Mount Your Trophy!
Specialist in Big Game & Furbearers -

713 U.S. Hwy. ¢ Rt. #40 (Harding Hwy.)
Buena, New Jersey 08310

Phone 856-697-8585

L.

'I'IIAGI!IIG
SERVICE

13- 0 8144

oo GASEY MAG

UNITED BLOOD TRACKERS

Paul’s Taxidermy
Wildlife Artistry e Spotswood, NJ

Over 100 awards
Division of Excellence
Recipient

Superior Quality and
Artistic Vision

Paul Bacskoczky,
Owner
732-887-5870
732-251-9120

Now two locations!
Clifton, NJ & Fredon, NJ

Y5 1-206-2

s lard e rmy. o

GRANBERG

ALASKAN MILLS.

DURABILITY. RELIABILITY. AFFORDABILITY.
SINCE 1957, GRANBERG INTERNATIONAL HAS BEEN PRODUCING THE
HIGHEST QUALITY CHAIN SAW MILLS AND ACCESSORIES AVALLABLE

ANYWHERE: OUR AVERICAN-VADE ALASKAN® CHAIN SAW MILLS GIVE
YOUTHE CAPABILTY AND ACCURACY OF A PROFESSIONAL-GRADE

SAW MILL AT A PRICE THAT WON'T BREAK THE BANK.
CALL 1-800-233-6499
FOR A FREE CATALOG OR TO FIND A DEALER.

vISIT www.ennussna.cj

Deer Hunters!

Bagged ComeL L.I|-||-.| Molksisess Swoet Feods
Swewtlin Pheer Blocks
Tr'| eiar Swerl Motatoes & ].h:\l;

Al pvpes of andmal fewb— Bary ar the Farm
Bishop's Farm Feeds
18 o Tavern R Elmer, M) = (B35 358-3923
Muoaday-Fridar Bam-Gpm Sanarday Bam- kpm



Hunter’s Showplace

A&M

732-363-2802

www.AMArcheryMNJ.com

Archery-Sporting Goods
201 Second St., Lakewood, N.J.

INIOOR ARCHERY RANGE — DART VIDEOQ EANGE

) 2018 National Bird Hunters
" Top Professional Tralner/Handler" A
. |'in the.USA!!!

Puppies avallable now by CHAMPION
Indian Creek Perfect Storm (plctured)

INDIAN CREEK KENNELS

Hardyston, NJ ¢ www.indiancreekkennels.com e 201-370-6960 ’
2018 NBHA Top TWO Natzonal Award Wmnmg BII‘d Dogs in the Country’ 1

Bow Lines Lessons Available
Hoyt Certified Coaches
Mathews Summer-Fall-Winter
PS.E 3D Leagues
Mission _
Camo Clothes
FREE:
“Professional™ Garbon Clothes
Set-up Tuning Rain Gear
Instruction with Bow Boots

Everything to make your hunt successfulf

Somerset

Grain and Feed Company

74MinebrookiRoad, Bgrnardsville, NJ
« Corn " ”I
* Salt
* Deer.Blocks

. Attra!:tants

Try our IMPROVED Sweetfeed
or Sweet'Apple Corn Mix
MADE FRESH WEEKLY!

Buy 10 bags of Carn...

Get a FREE 50 Ib. Salt With this ad
908-766-0204

www.somersetgrainandfeed.com

New Jersey Outfitters, Guides & Game Preserves

English Pointer, English Setter, German Shorthaired Pointer and British
Labrador Retriever Puppies Available from the heart of our kennel of
Champion National
Award-Winning Bird Dogs.

Deer Attractants & Supplies Wl Feeds N Guns

Shop NJ's Best Supplier!

ANTLERMAK

Deer Feed

Salt Licks
Molasses
Wildlife Seed

OPEN 7 DAYS
mikesfeedfarm.com

MIK
= FEED FARM

"973.839. TTAT

GALLERY
OFGUNSE
Check Out Our...

v/ Weekly Specials
¢/ Product Spotlight
¢/ Daily Arrivals

galleryofguns.com

MOUNTAIN TRAIL
WHIITETAILS

Mountain Trail Whitetails Preserve offers
the best trophy deer hunting in New Jersey.
See our ad on page 33!

Call Tim Mathews for more information:

(908) 310-0869

AtlanticCountyGamePreserve.org

2,000 AGRES OfF
ERRIVIE RIABIZA

DEER | DUCK&TURKEY&\URIANDIBIRDS
TRY HUNT|NG-HEREL

o LimitedIMemberships/Available s
Located in Es‘tell Manor NJ « 08319

Giberson Farm

Wildlife Preserve Inc.
Offering the finest in upland hunting
Quail ® Pheasant e Chukar
Seasonal Memberships Available
SPECIALIZING IN TOWER SHOOTS
Wildlife Feed
*Only 20 minutes from Philadelphia
101 S. Pemberton Rd.
= Pemberton N.J.
(609) 726-0600

Tird s o

FareBook

ADVERTISEMENTS —
L Archery |

© 2018 Davidson's, Inc.




B

Hunter’s Showplace

—— ADVERTISEMENTS

86

Out-of-State Outfitters, Guides & Game Preserves

10,000 acres
of free range
native game!

@\‘EEEHDBQQ

!E|UT|=| TERS
HUNT HARD & PRAY LOUD
SHOOT STRAIGHT

FLORIDA’S BEST HUNTING EXPERIENCE!
Monster Atvigaror © Osceota Turkey © Huge Witn
Boar © Axis Deer © Trory Bass © WhitemaiL Deer

BOWFISHING AND DUCK HUNTING ON OKEECHOBEE

DANNY SANTANGELO
(863) 655-2454 * (863) 634-7449
GUIDED-HUNTING.COM

: For $500 per night, per

. WEAPONS & TACTICS person, we take you on
the ultimate Hog Hunt!

J‘-\ We use highly modified
“-A\ 4x4 vans equipped
with long range FLIR

£ on the roof and large

PATEY AND SONS LTD.

Newfoundland,
Canada

screens and comfortable
2 seating. This allows us
i to take up to 4 hunters
“in comfort and cover
1000’s of thousands of
acres a night in search of
wild hogs to kill. Once we
spot them from the van,
it turns into ‘bowhunting
with an AR. We foot
stalk into 60 yards and
you try to kill every pig
in front of you with an
AR with a top of the line
Armasight thermal scope.
How many will ya get?

)ll YOUR HOG PROBLEM

229 669-9748

Thermal Sales & Consulting

95-100% SUCCESS RATE!

Big Game Outfitters
for moose, caribou
and black bear in
Newfoundland’s
Northern Peninsula

(709) 225-3221
www.PateyOutfitting.com

Deerfield Plantation”
South Carolina /-
3dayhunt - $1350

Elk Hunts Whitetail ¢ Quail g
COWS & Wild Boar ¢ Wild Turkey
TROPHY BULLS Meals & Lodging included!
Starting at $2,000. 1-800-417-HUNT (4868)

Deerfield Plantation
709 Gum Branch Road
St. George, SC 29477

No license required.
September-March.

deerfieldplantation@yahoo.com

Central Minnesota -
www.deerfieldplantation.net

“We have hundreds of acres
‘™. of the best hunting area in the east”

1(570)835.5341
www.TiogaBoarHunting.com

1552 Mann Hill Road | Tioga, PA 16946 | tiogaboarranch@gmail.com

WGUDS K- WQ_TER

Hunting and Fishing Adventures

2-DAY GA

WILD HOG
HUNT
$700

e Year-round Hunts Available
e Hunts Are 100% Fair Chase
= Conducted on +5000 acres
< Deer & Turkey Hunts Too!
888 MAX GAME
888.629.4263
woodsnwaterinc.com

Hunting Products

‘Hastings

\

Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Popular Remington & Browning A5 Models
Paradox Rifled Shotgun Barrels
Wadlock Barrels and Metro Barrels
See our current inventory at:

www.HastingsDistribution.com

Phone: 717.524.5301 Fax: 717.638.8397

\Email: info@HastingsDistribution.com
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New Jersey Outfitters, Guides & Game Preserves

HUNT FAMILY
PRESERVE, LLC

Licensed N.J. Commercial Preserve

PHEASANTS = CHUKARS

Oct. 1, 2018-April 30, 2019

2 & 4 Hour Hunts Available by Appointment
7 Days Per Week = Special Full Day Hunts
* Dogs Available Upon Request
1 Day N.J. Hunting License Available

342 Mt. Airy-Harbourton Rd.
West Amwell Township
Hunterdon County, NJ 08530
www.HuntsFamilyPreserve.com

Call 609-397-2007 /.

for Appointment

-Canadian Honker Outfitters-

D R

For More Information
Call: (609)-466-7582

We specialize in
Canada goose hunts
in Hunterdon County.
High success rate.
Highest quality decoys |
used and pit blinds.

QuaLTY, PRIVATE
Upranp BRp HunTING
AVAILABLE ON OUR
300-Acre Farm

CONVENIENTLY LOCATED
N Harbyston, NJ
(Sussex County)

OUR COMMERCIAL SEASON
RUNS FROM SepT 15T, 2018
to May 1st, 2019
T DAYS A WEEK.
DAILY HUNTING PACKAGES
AND SEASONAL MEMBERSHIP
AVAILABLE

INDIAN CREEK SHOOTING PRESERVE

HARrDYSTON, NJ ® wWwW.BIRDMASTERS.COM ® GARRY MALZONE 201-370-6960
WE ARE A FULL-TIME PROFESSIONAL GUN DOG TRAINING FACILITY.

Take a hunting trip . ..

...to Game Creek Hunting Farms!
Hunt upland birds in the farm country of southern Jersey

« 7 farms to hunt on

«» Spacious clubhouse to relax with friends

» Our cabin by the creek sleeps 4 and is available
for your overnight stay

» Guided hunts with our bird dogs or unguided
with your dog

i

1013 Kings Hwy, Woodstown, NJ
856-769-0035 « www.gamecreek.com

_#{; Consider requesting the cabin for
a great 2 or 3 day hunting trip!

Game Processing

CHESTER GAME
ASSOCIATION Est. 1939

Hunting Club & Trap Shooting Range

211 US Highway 206N
Chester, New Jersey

TRAP RANGE OPEN

Thursday 6pm — 10 pm
Saturday 9am —2pm

One of New Jersey’s
Oldest Sportsmen’s Clubs!

www.chestergame.org

www.thehuntersbutcher.com
We're open 24/7 for self drop off. .f

Cold storage 24/7.

Skill, experience and
knowledge of the food
industry is at your service.
Online payment and
registration required.
Pick up Tue-Sat 8:00-3:30
Home delivery available for $35

d
OPEN FOR THE ENTIRE DEER SEA

732-414-1446 \
967 Adelphia Farmingdale Rd. Adelphia,NJ

PR 5
'Hn..* i
o SAUSAGE

& JERKY
MAKING
SUPPLIES
& EQUIPMENT

FREE CATALOG

Call 800-356-5189 or visit our
wabsaite: www. allledkanco.com 87
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New Jersey

Huntin:

rapping
1gest

NJFishand Wildlife.com
(609) 292-2965

Internet Address
General Information
DEP ACTION LINE—24 HOURS
Automated Harvest Report System

(877) 927-6337 — (877) WARN-DEP
(855) 448-6865 — (855) LHUNT-N]J
(908) 735-7040

Commercial Preserves and Semi-Wild Preserves

Exotic & Nongame Captivity Permi: (908) 735-5450
Falconry Permits (908) 735-8793
Field Trial Permits (609) 259-2132

Freshwater Fisheries
Lebanon Field Office (North)
P.O. Box 394, 1255 County Rt. 629, Lebanon, NJ 08833
Assunpink Regional Office (South)

1 Eldridge Rd., Robbinsville, NJ 08691
Horseback Riding Group Permits
Hunter Education
Hunting, Fishing and Duplicate Licenses
Hunting and Trapping Permit Hotline

(908) 236-2118

(609) 259-6964
(609) 259-2132
(877) 248-6865 — (877) 2-HUNT-NJ
(609) 292-2965
(609) 292-9192
(888) 773-8450

License Sales

Operation Game Thief (855) OGT-TIPS
Outstanding Deer Program (609) 633-7598
Pheasant and Quail Stocking. (609) 984-0547
Trout Stocking Hotline (609) 633-6765
Wildlife Conservation Corps (908) 735-7040
Wildlife Control (908) 735-8793
Wildlife Education (908) 637-4125
Wildlife Management Area (609) 984-0547
Trenton Office

Mail Code 501-03, P.O. Box 420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0420

Endangered and Nongame Species (609) 292-9400

Land Management (609) 984-0547

Marine Fisheries (609) 292-7794

Shellfisheries (609) 292-3093

Wildlife Management (609) 292-6685
Northern Region Office

26 Route 173 W.,, Hampton, NJ 08827

Wildlife Management (908) 735-7040

Endangered and Nongame Species (1 Van Syckel’s Rd.)

Hunter Education

Wildlife Control

Land Management

Law Enforcement (Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Morris, Passaic,
Somerset, Sussex, Union, and Warren counties)

Central Region Office
1 Eldridge Rd., Robbinsville, NJ 08691

Freshwater Fisherie:

(908) 638-4127
(877) 2-HUNT-N]
(908) 735-8793
(973) 383-0918

(908) 735-8240

(609) 259-6964
(609) 259-2132
(877) 2-HUNT-N]J
(609) 259-2120

Land Management

Hunter Education

Law Enforcement (Burlington, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, and Ocean counties) ...
Southern Region Office

220 Blue Anchor Rd., Sicklerville, NJ 08081

Hunter Education

(877) 2-HUNT-N]
Land Management (856) 629-5006
Law Enforcement (Atlantic, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, and Salem counties) .... (856) 629-0555
(908) 637-4125
(908) 637-4173

Pequest Natural Resource Education Center
Pequest Trout Hatchery.
605 Pequest Rd., Oxford, NJ 07863
For questions concerning state stocking programs or comments call (908) 236-2118
Hackettstown Fish Hatchery (15 Warmwater/Coolwater Species)
23 Reese Ave., Hackettstown, NJ 07840
For questions concerning state stocking programs or comments call (908) 236-2118
Nacote Creek Research Station
P.O. Box 418, 360 Re. 9 N. (Milepost 51) Port Republic, NJ 08241

(908) 852-3676

Marine Fisheries (609) 748-2020
Marine Fisheries “Listen Only” regulation information line (609) 292-2083
Shellfisheries (609) 748-2040
Marine Education (609) 748-4347
Marine Law Enforcement (609) 748-2050

Delaware Bay Office

1672 E. Buckshutem Rd. Millville, NJ 08332 (856) 785-0730

Make Hunting & Fishing
Dreams Come True!

Hunt of a Lifetime is a
nonprofit organization
that grants hunting and
fishing dreams to children,
age 21 and under, who
have been diagnosed with
life threatening illnesses.

If you are interested in helping a child live their
dream, please contact us for more information.

Toll Free 866.345.4455 Huntofalifetime.org

HUNTING foR HEROES

:_ ‘? We Provide Hunting
Opportunities to

e " J 2 Law Enforcement Agents
- ; 'F“I Injured in the Line of Duty.
& '

To Volunteer Or Donate, Please Visit Our Website

HuntingForHeroes.org

Win a $100 Gift Card!
Take the monthly

And be entered to win

a $100 gift certificate to your
sporting good retailer of choice.
Your anonymous participation advances

fish and wildlife conservation, helps
protect your right to hunt, fish and shoot,

and guides companies in developing

better outdoor products.
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FOR DETAILS OR DEALER INQUIRIES:970.328. 2399 IHUIETKﬂrcom

The New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife reminds sportsmen and sportswomen that the use of all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) is prohibited on state lands including.wildlife'mapagement areas, stateparks and state.forests. Any person found to be operating‘an ATV
on a wildlife management area will be issued a citation for violating state regulations. Be advised that two violations of wildlife management area regulations will result in the 10ss of all sportingJicenses.and priyileges for a period of five years. The responsible
use of ATVs must be restricted to private land with landowner permission. Riders should take measures to avoid damage to habitat and wildlife.
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You ride. We help you save money.
GEICO

geico.com | 1-800-947-AUTO | local office

Some discounts, coverages, payment plans and features are not available in all states or all GEICO companies. Motorcycle and ATV coverages are underwritten by GEICO Indemnity Company.
GEICO is a registered service mark of Government Employees Insurance Company, Washington, D.C. 20076; a Berkshire Hathaway Inc. subsidiary. © 2017 GEICO



