
Regulations in red are new this year. 

Regulations remain in effect until changed. For the 
most current regulations, go to NJFishandWildlife.
com/njregs.htm#marine. 

Highlights of Regulation Changes: 
Rules for the recreational harvest of striped bass 
have changed.
•	 A new regulation requires using inline (non-

offset) circle hooks when fishing for striped bass 
with bait. See page 5 for more information. 

•	 The recreational black sea bass regulations 
have been modified to include an open season 
May 17–June 19 with a ten fish possession limit; 
an open season July 1–Aug. 31 with a two fish 
possession limit; an open season Oct. 7–Oct. 26 
with a ten fish possession limit; and an open 
season Nov. 1–Dec. 31 with a 15 fish possession 
limit. The minimum size limit for all seasons is 
13 inches.

•	 The recreational summer flounder regulations 
for Delaware Bay and tributaries and Island 
Beach State Park remain unchanged. For all 
other waters, open season has been modified to 
May 2–Sept. 27 with a possession limit of two 
fish at 17 inches to less than 18 inches and one 
fish at 18 inches or greater.

•	 The recreational scup minimum size limit has 
increased to 10 inches. Season and possession 
limits remain unchanged.

New Jersey recreational marine regulations apply 
to all fish species when they are possessed in state 
waters or landed in New Jersey regardless of where 
they are caught. Saltwater anglers must comply 
with the requirements of the New Jersey Saltwater 
Recreational Registry Program. See page 16.

Resource Information
Anyone who takes fisheries resources may be 
required to provide information on the species, 
number, weight or other information pertinent to 
management of resources. Anglers are encouraged 
to report all fishing activity after each trip. Visit 
Fish and Wildlife's Volunteer Angler Survey at 
NJFishandWildlife.com/marinesurvey.htm.

Methods of Recreational Fishing
No person shall take, catch, kill or attempt to take, 
catch or kill any fish within the marine waters 
of the state by any means except in the manner 

commonly known as angling with hand line or rod 
and line unless specifically provided for by statute 
or regulation.

Delaware Fishing License Requirement
A Delaware fishing license is required for all non-
resident anglers aged 16 and over fishing either 
fresh or tidal waters of Delaware. Delaware fishing 
license information can be found at https://dnrec.
alpha.delaware.gov/fish-wildlife/licenses/. 

New York Fishing Registry Requirement
New York offers a free registry to all marine anglers 
fishing in New York. Visit www.dec.ny.gov/
permits/54950.html.

Bait Fish
No license is required to take bait fish for personal 
use with the following gear:
1.	 Dip nets 24 inches diameter or less for taking 

Atlantic herring only for live bait. The taking 
or possession of river herring (alewife and 
blueback herring) is prohibited.

2.	 Bait seines 50 feet long or less.
3.	 Cast nets 20 feet in diameter or less.
4.	 Lift or umbrella nets four feet square or less.
5.	 Not more than five killipots.
6.	 Not more than two miniature fykes or pots for 

the taking of eels for bait.

Fish taken in this manner may not be sold or used 
for barter unless the angler is in possession of a 
commercial bait net license.

No person shall take or attempt to take fish by any 
means from the Deal Lake flume, Lake Takanasse 
spillway or Wreck Pond spillway on any Monday, 
Wednesday or Friday during the months of April 
and May. 

Wanton Waste Prohibited
Fish of any species which are purposely killed shall 
become part of the angler’s daily possession limit 
and shall not be returned to the water from which 
they were taken. This does not apply to fish which 
are released alive and subsequently die, but does 
apply even to species without size/possession limits.

Spearfishing
Spearfishing may be conducted by means of a spear, 
harpoon or other missile while completely sub-
merged in the marine waters of the state for any 
species, except lobster.

Persons who fish with a spear for species with size 
limits are reminded that it is their responsibility 
to ensure the fish meets the minimum size limits 
before being killed or injured. 

Sea Turtles &  
Marine Mammals
It is illegal to intentionally molest, kill or possess sea 
turtles, including terrapins, or marine mammals, 
or to possess any part thereof.

Fish Measurement

1. �Lay fish flat on top of, or alongside a 
measuring rule, not measured over the body.

2. �Fish are measured from the tip of the snout 
(mouth closed) to the longest part of the tail.

Prohibited Species
It is illegal to take, possess, land, purchase, or sell 
any of the following species:
•	 Atlantic sturgeon
•	 Diamondback terrapin
•	 Shortnose sturgeon
•	 River herring (alewife and blueback herring; see 

herring illustrations, page 18)
•	 Various shark species (See page 22 footnote for 

the species list prohibited from harvest.)
•	 Horseshoe crabs

Finfish
Regulations for most finfish are listed in the table 
on page 21.

Filleting
The filleting at sea of all fish with a size limit, or 
any species of flatfish, is prohibited except for sum-
mer flounder; see Summer Flounder, page 17. 
Anglers shall possess no parts of any fish caught on 
a previous fishing trip. Party boats may fillet fish 
at sea if they obtain a Special Fillet Permit avail-
able from Fish and Wildlife’s Marine Resources 
Administration. 

Beware!
New Jersey participates in the Interstate 
Wildlife Violator Compact which means that 
a violator with repeat convictions of New 
Jersey marine fishing laws may face license 
suspensions in participating states.

Interstate Wildlife 
Violator Compact 

The Marine Fisheries and Shellfish 
e-mail list, that is. Get the latest 
information on Fish and Wildlife events, 
public hearings and other marine resource 
issues. Our six other lists help you get the 
most out of New Jersey’s fish and wildlife 
resources. Sign up today at:

NJFishandWildlife.com/lstsub.htm 

Be the First to Know! 
Get on the List
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Black Sea Bass
Black sea bass are measured along the midline from 
the snout to the end of the central portion of the 
tail, not to include the tail filaments. (See image, 
page 14.) The recreational regulations for black 
sea bass are: open season May 17–June 19 with a 
ten fish possession limit; an open season July 1–
Aug. 31 with a two fish possession limit; an open 
season Oct. 7–Oct. 26 with a ten fish possession 
limit; and an open season Nov. 1–Dec. 31 with a 
15 fish possession limit. The minimum size limit 
for all seasons is 13 inches.

Bluefish
Bluefish recreational regulations: 5 fish (no size 
limit, open season all year) while fishing from a 
party/charter vessel with a valid federal party/char-
ter vessel permit and captained by a properly cre-
dentialed operator with a valid U.S. Coast Guard 
endorsement (see important additional information 
regarding for-hire trips at: NJFishandWildlife.
com/pdf/marine/bluefish4hire.pdf); 3 fish (no 
size limit, open season all year) for all other anglers.

River Herring
The taking or possession of any river herring (ale-
wife and blueback herring) in New Jersey is pro-
hibited. See the fish ID illustrations on page 18 
for herring species identification.

Proper handling and releasing techniques reduce fish mortality.

•	 Land fish quickly, except when retrieving 
from depths of 40-feet or more. Fighting a 
fish to exhaustion increases mortality as does 
rapidly bringing fish up through the changing 
water pressure and temperature gradients.

•	 Minimize the effect of barotrauma, which 
occurs when gases expand faster than they 
can diffuse due to decreasing pressure 
during ascent through the water column. 
For more information about barotrauma and 
how to release fish safely visit: https://
www.fisheries.noaa.gov/national/
resources-fishing/catch-and-release-
best-practices.

•	 Keep fish to be released in the water as 
much as possible. Plan ahead with tools and 
camera.

•	 Minimize physical injury. Do not touch gills 
or eyes. Support the weight of the fish along 
the length of its body. Do not allow fish to flop 
around on deck.

•	 Carefully remove hooks using a dehooker or 
needle-nose pliers.

•	 Use plain hooks, not stainless, which 
rust away quickly if one must be left in a 
gut-hooked fish. Be prepared with a long-
reach tool to cut the leader at the hook, close 
to the hook’s eyelet.

•	 To bring a fish out of the water momentarily, 
use a neoprene net or one of knotless nylon. 
Handle the fish carefully using wet hands, wet 
cotton gloves or similar material to minimize 
loss of the fish’s protective slime layer.

•	 To revive lethargic fish, hold in a normal, 
upright position. Move the fish forward in an 
“S” or figure-8 pattern so that water flows 
over the gills only from front to back.

•	 Use circle hooks (not offset) for species that 
bite and flee, such as striped bass, weakfish 
or sea bass. Consider pinching hook barbs 
with pliers.

Tips for Releasing Fish Unharmed

The new PENN Slammer IV spinning reel 
features our proven IPX6 sealed body and spool, 
and a redesigned Slammer drag system with 
Dura-Drag to not only be better sealed, but also 
offer a wider range of usable drag - all while 
being bearing supported for extra smoothness.

• Full Metal body and sideplate
• CNC Gear • CNC Gear Technology with brass main gear
• IPX6 Sealed body and spool design
• 8+1 stainless steel bearing system
• Hydrophobic Line Roller Bearing

SLAMMER IV

Shop Online: TackleDirect.com   Call: 888.354.7335   Retail Location: 6825 Tilton Rd Bldg C Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234-4426

Our IN-STOCK Inventory Can't Be Beat! 80,000+ Products for Anglers

#HookedOnTD
Follow and share with us! 
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Sharks
Some species of sharks may be harvested by rec-
reational fishermen from the shore or from a boat 
only by hand line or rod and reel. If a shark is 
caught but not kept, it must be released immedi-
ately. Anglers should access the following National 
Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration website, 
www.fisheries.noaa.gov/resources/educational-
materials, to download helpful materials such as 
the NOAA Fisheries Shark Identification Placard 
and the Careful Catch and Release Brochure, which 
provide a pictorial guide to identifying sharks 
and tips on handling and releasing large saltwater 
pelagic fish.

All sharks harvested must have heads, tails and 
fins attached naturally to the carcass until landed, 
although anglers may still gut and bleed the carcass. 
Filleting sharks at sea is prohibited. Recreational 
size limits for sharks are specified in the state and 
federal regulation charts on pages 21 and 22. Refer 

Regulations in red are new this year. •	 All sharks within the Aggregated Large Coastal 
and Hammerhead groups* will have a closed 
season within state waters from May 15 through 
July 15 to protect spawning female sharks during 
the pupping season.

* �See page 22 footnote for the species list defining 
shark groupings, including species prohibited 
from harvest.

Note: To differentiate sharks from dogfish—
dogfish have flat, tiny teeth; spiny dogfish have 
dorsal spines in front of the dorsal fins. Neither 
are present in other sharks.

Striped Bass  
(includes Hybrid Striped Bass)
The possession limit for striped bass/hybrid striped 
bass is one fish with a size limit of 28 inches to less 
than 38 inches total length. Anglers participating 
in the Striped Bass Bonus Program may possess a 
striped bass at 24 inches to less than 28 inches in 
length. Fish may be harvested in any order.

to the illustration, below, for the proper measure-
ment of fork length.

The 2022 shark regulations complement exist-
ing federal shark regulations (see 2022 Federal 
Recreational Regulations table, page 22). However, 
the following additional measures are required for 
state waters:
•	 In state waters, there is no minimum size limit 

for non-blacknose small coastal sharks and blac-
knose sharks* in the recreational fishery, but 
federal regulations include a 54-inch minimum 
size limit for blacknose and finetooth small 
coastal sharks.

Dr. William Driggers, III/NMFS

Shark

Fork Length

ATTENTION: Recreational Saltwater Anglers
Register because you make a difference! FREE. EASY. REQUIRED.

The saltwater registry acts as a current contact list for mail and telephone 
surveys. Participation in the New Jersey Saltwater Recreational Registry 
Program (NJSRRP) is vital in achieving accurate recreational fishing 
estimates, helping to ensure healthy fisheries for future generations.

Do your part to help maintain sustainable fisheries and join the thousands 
of other anglers who have already registered with the New Jersey 
Saltwater Recreational Registry Program. 

In 2021, the NJSRRP had 143,704 individual registrants and 745 for-hire 
vessels. The total number of individuals registered was at an all time low. 

* �Anglers are reminded that registrations expire at the end of each 
calendar year and must be renewed annually. For more information on 
the NJ Saltwater Recreational Registry Program and to register, visit 
www.saltwaterregistry.nj.gov.

If you’re not contacted through the Saltwater Registry or intercepted by an 
APAIS interviewer while fishing, you can still participate by submitting a 
fishing report after each saltwater trip to the NJ Volunteer Angler Survey. 
Your reports impact how our oceans are managed. Submit online reports 
at NJFishandWildlife.com/marinesurvey.htm.

Wanted: Increased Participation!

Since the NJSRRP was implemented in May of 2011, there has been a 
fairly steady decline in the annual number of individual participants. Total 
number of individuals ranges from 270,437 in 2012 to 143,704 in 2021.

�New Jersey Saltwater Recreational Registry Program (NJSRRP)
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Making Hunting & Fishing Dreams Come True
for YoungsTers, 21 & unDer, with 

LiFe-THreaTening iLLnesses

Toll Free: 814-572-4387
 www.HuntofaLifetime.org

It is illegal to take, attempt to take, catch or kill 
any striped bass from or in any marine waters of 
this state, by means of a net of any description, or 
by any methods other than angling with a hook and 
line or by spear fishing.

It is illegal to possess any striped bass which is less 
than the legal minimum size of 28 inches unless in 
possession of a Striped Bass Bonus Permit. It is ille-
gal to possess any striped bass 38 inches or greater.

Harvest and possession of striped bass from 
federal waters (outside three miles) is prohibited.

Sale of striped bass in New Jersey is prohibited. 
Note: Non-offset circle hooks are required to 

reduce striped bass release mortality while fish-
ing with bait. See page 5 for more information.

Striped Bass Closed Seasons
No person may take, attempt to take, or have in 
possession any striped bass from the following 
closed waters:

Jan. 1–Feb. 28: All waters closed except the Atlan-
tic Ocean from zero to three miles offshore. All 
inlets and bays are delineated from ocean waters 
by a COLREGS Demarcation line.

April 1–May 31: Delaware River and its tributar-
ies closed from the upstream side of the Calhoun 
St. bridge downstream to and including the Salem 
River and its tributaries. 

Summer Flounder (Fluke)
The recreational summer flounder open season 
is May 2 to September 27. For Delaware Bay and 
tributaries, west of the COLREGS line, which 
delineates Delaware Bay from the Atlantic Ocean, 

the size limit is 17 inches and the possession limit 
is three fish. The 17 inch minimum size limit appli-
cable to Delaware Bay does not include the waters 
of the Cape May Canal east of the Cape May Ferry 
Terminal. Transport of summer flounder caught in 
Delaware Bay, greater than or equal to 17 inches 
but less than the 18 inches may occur in waters east 
of the Cape May Ferry Terminal to the George 
Redding Bridge (Route 47) located at the entrance 
of Wildwood provided all fishing gear aboard the 
vessel is stowed with rigs removed and the vessel 
may not stop to fish for any species. Shore-based 
anglers fishing at Island Beach State Park (IBSP) 
may retain 2 fish greater than or equal to 16 inches 
(total length) only at IBSP during the current open 
summer flounder fishing season. Shore-based fish-
ing is defined as fishing from a pier, jetty, beach, 
bank or marsh. In all other waters, open season 
is May 2 to September 27 and the size limit is two 
fish at 17 inches to less than 18 inches and one fish 
at 18 inches or greater. Fish can be caught in any 
order. Transportation of summer flounder less than 
17 inches is prohibited.

Anglers may fillet one legal-sized summer floun-
der from their daily possession limit catch for use 
as bait. This carcass, commonly known as the rack, 
shall be kept intact so it can be measured for com-
pliance with the minimum size limit. Anglers shall 
not be in possession of any parts of any summer 
flounder caught on a previous fishing trip; only fish 
just caught on the current outing.

Additional Marine Fishing Regulations
See pages 18–19 for the fish ID pages and 
pages 21–22 for the regulation charts. 

Registration
Most boats must be registered to operate on New 
Jersey waterways. 

•	 All titled boats must be registered. 

•	 �Any boat (including jet skis and non-titled 
watercraft), mechanically propelled 
(including electric motors), regardless of 
length, must be registered. 

•	 �Boats greater than 12 feet in length, regardless 
of propulsion means, must be titled and 
registered at an MVC office.

Boats and marine equipment which need not be 
registered:

•	 �Those not based in New Jersey or operating 
here less than 180 consecutive days that 
are operating under a federally approved 
numbering system from another state

•	 Ship’s lifeboats

•	 �Non-motorized vessels used exclusively on 
small lakes and ponds on private property

•	 �Racing vessels with New Jersey State Marine 
Police permit

•	 �Non-motorized inflatable device, surfboard, 
racing shell, dinghy, canoe or kayak

•	 �Non-motorized vessel less than 12 feet in length

Title
For use on New Jersey waterways, all boats 
more than 12 feet in length must be titled, with 
the exception of ship’s lifeboat, canoe, kayak, 
inflatable, surfboard, rowing scull, racing shell, 
tender/dinghy used for direct transportation 
between a vessel and shore for no other purposes. 

Boat Safety Certificate 
(NJSP)
A boat safety certificate (from an approved 
boat safety course; see NJSP website, below) 
is required to operate a personal watercraft or 
power vessel, including electric motors, in NJ 
waters (tidal and non-tidal).

Boat Operator License 
(MVC)
An operator license is required to operate power 
vessels on fresh, non-tidal waters such as lakes, 
creeks and rivers. (Minimum age 16 years; with 
certain exceptions.) 

For More Information:
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission 
(888) 486-3339 toll free in NJ or (609) 292-6500 
from out-of-state 
www.nj.gov/mvc/vehicles/boating.htm.

New Jersey State Police (NJSP) 
(609) 882-2000 
www.njsp.org/marine-services

Motor Boat Registration & Title Requirements
NJ Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC)
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