Governor Phil Murphy • Lt.Governor Sheila Oliver
  NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
NJGWS Home | DWSG Home | DEP Home  
New Jersey Geological and Water Survey
What's New at NJGS About NJGS NJGS Programs Publications Digital Geodata Environmental Education Links Contact NJGS

Digital Geodata Series
DGS00-1 Drought Regions in New Jersey (1698 KB)


DGS00-1 is a ArcView 3.x Geographic Information System shapefile that delineates New Jersey drought regions, counties, and municipalities. Drought regions provide a regulatory basis for coordinating local responses to regional water-supply shortages. The six drought regions are based on watershed and water-supply considerations. Drought region boundaries coincide with municipal boundaries as referenced by the N.J. Dept of  Environmental Protection (NJDEP). Each municipality in New Jersey is assigned to a drought region based on the watershed covering and supplying water to the municipality. Each data record of the file includes name and numeric code entries for counties and municipalities, and names of drought regions. This is the second version of the drought regions. It differs from the original delineation in two ways: 1) The number of drought regions were expanded from five to six in order to account for water-supply issues identified for the New Jersey coastal plain.

The original version included the north part of  the Coastal Plain in the central region. Version 2 separates a north coastal region, consisting of Monmouth and northern Ocean Counties, from the coastal region to the south . 2) Municipalities in Mercer County receiving water from the Trenton Water Dept. were moved into the southwest region from the northwest. Pennington and Hopewell boroughs were also moved to the southwest region.

This is the third version of the drought regions and was released in May 2004. There are two changes from the second version. Roosevelt Boro in Monmouth County was moved to the southwest drought region (from the coastal north) and Berlin Twp in Camden County was moved to the coastal south drought region (from the southwest). Both changes were made in recognition of the location of actual water supply to these municipalities.

ArcView Display of New Jersey Drought Regions

ArcView display of Njdrghtregmun.shp

NJGS HOME contact us privacy notice legal statement accessibility statement

Geological and Water Survey: Home | Directions | NJ-GeoWeb
Department: NJDEP Home | About DEP | Index by topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online
Statewide: NJHome | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQ's

Copyright State of New Jersey, 1996-
Department of Environmental Protection
Geological and Water Survey
P. O. Box 420
Mail Code:29-01
Trenton, NJ 08625-0420

Phone: (609) 292-1185
FAX: (609) 633-1004