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The agency proposal follows:
Summary
N.J.S.A. 39:6A-4.6(a) requires the Commissioner of the Department of Banking and
Insurance (Department) to promulgate and biennially review medical fee schedules for the
reimbursement of health care providers providing services or equipment for which
reimbursement is made under the medical expense benefit of the Personal Injury Protection

(PIP) coverage and medical expense benefits by motor bus insurers. The statute requires


mailto:Legsregs@dobi.state.nj.us

that the fee schedules “incorporate the reasonable and prevailing fees of 75 percent of the
practitioners” within a region. The medical fee schedules establish per service limits of
liability for reimbursement of medically necessary services provided as part of the PIP
coverage.

The current Home Care Fee Schedule was adopted effective April 7, 2003. The
Department now proposes to repeal that fee schedule and replace it with a new home care
fee schedule that reflects current reimbursement levels. In developing the proposed fee
schedule, the Department acknowledges the assistance of the New Jersey Home Care
Association. The per-visit fees on the schedule are an average of those used by Medicare,
the largest payor for these types of services. The private duty care fees are based on those
charged by agencies that provide these types of services. The services on the fee schedule
are now described by the Federal Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)
Common Procedure Code System, known as “HCPCS.” This should make it easier for
providers to bill these services.

A 60-day comment period is provided for this notice of proposal and, therefore,
pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5, the proposal is not subject to the provisions of N.J.A.C.

1:30-3.1 and 3.2 governing rulemaking calendars.

Social Impact

The proposed repeal and new rule affect automobile insurers, purchasers of
automobile insurance and health care providers who provide medical services to New Jersey

resident insureds injured in accidents involving automobiles and/or buses.



The home care fee schedule has been updated to “incorporate the reasonable and
prevailing fees of 75 percent of the practitioners within the region” as required by N.J.S.A.

39:6A-4.6a.

Economic Impact

The medical fee schedules and rules are intended to establish limits on the amount of
medical expenses paid by auto insurers on behalf of New Jersey residents who are injured in
automobile or bus accidents, thereby lowering the cost of automobile personal injury
protection coverage and motor bus medical expense coverage in New Jersey.

The fees for the codes on the new Exhibit 3 have been increased over the amounts
reflected on the schedule proposed for repeal. Thus, the providers of the health care
services covered by the new schedule will receive reimbursement amounts higher than
those paid under the current schedule. Health care providers and insurers will incur some
cost, initially, as a result of incorporating the revised fee schedules and rules into their
respective billing and claims payment systems and procedures. The Department does not
believe that these costs will be substantial.

Additionally, the Department believes that the proposed repeal and new rule will have
a favorable economic impact on insurers and providers by eliminating many costly disputes
and ensuring that fees are uniform and not excessive. This rule should also reduce
inefficiency in billing and payment fraud and enhance competition, all of which should exert
downward pressure on private passenger auto insurance rates. As amended, these rules
should also continue to provide a reasonable and prevailing level of reimbursement to

providers.



Federal Standards Statement

A Federal standards analysis is not required because the medical fee schedules and

rules are not subject to any Federal requirements or standards.

Jobs Impact

The Department does not anticipate the creation of any jobs as a result of the
proposed repeal and new rule. The Department invites commenters to submit any data or
studies regarding the jobs impact of this proposal together with any written comments on

other aspects of this proposal.

Agriculture Industry Impact

The proposed repeal and new rule will not have any impact on the agriculture industry

in New Jersey.

Requlatory Flexibility Analysis

The Department’s proposed repeal and new rule will apply to “small businesses” as
that term in defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et seq. These
“small businesses” are insurance companies authorized to write private passenger
automobile insurance and/or motor bus medical expense coverage.

The new rule will require that all automobile and motor bus insurers, including those
qualifying as small businesses, implement the proposed fee schedule changes. Since

medical fee schedules for automobile and motor bus insurers have been utilized for many



years, the Department does not believe that compliance with the proposed new rule will
require any additional professional services other than those used by insurers as part of their
regular claim review processes. Insurers may incur a one time cost to distribute the new fee
schedules, make necessary system adjustments, and for the training of personnel in the new
rules. Accordingly, the Department does not believe that the requirements set forth in the
proposed new rule impose any undue burden on insurers.

The proposed new rule provides no different reporting, recordkeeping or other
compliance requirements based on business size. The requirement that the maximum
reimbursement for treatment of injuries sustained in automobile accidents be established by
the fee schedule is set by statute, N.J.S.A. 39:6A-4.6, which does not provide for any
exceptional treatment based upon insurer size. To ensure that New Jersey resident
insureds receive adequate treatment of injuries covered by PIP provisions and that
policyholders receive the cost containment benefits that the statutory no-fault auto insurance
system was intended to provide, it is important that all automobile accident claims be
administered in a similar manner. Thus, the utilization of different compliance requirements
would not be desirable, feasible or consistent with the intent of N.J.S.A. 39:6A-4.6.
Therefore, for the reasons discussed above, and to continue to ensure consistency in the
benefits provided to New Jersey insureds under their PIP automobile insurance coverage, no

differentiation in compliance requirements is provided based on business size.

Housing Affordability Impact

The proposed repeal and new rule will not have an impact on housing affordability

because these rules relate to the medical fee schedules which are intended to establish



limits on the amount of medical expenses paid by insurers on behalf of New Jersey residents

who are injured in automobile or bus accidents.

Smart Growth Impact

The proposed repeal and new rule will not have an impact on the achievement of

smart growth or the implementation of the State Development and Redevelopment Plan.

Smart Growth Analysis

The Department believes that there is an extreme unlikelihood that these rules would
evoke a change in housing production in Planning Areas 1 or 2 or within the designated
centers under the State Development and Redevelopment Plan in New Jersey because the
proposed repeal and new rule address PIP medical fee schedules which establish limits on
the amount of medical expenses paid by auto insurers to reimburse medical providers on

behalf of New Jersey residents who are injured in automobile or bus accidents.

Full text of the rule proposed for repeal may be found in the New Jersey Administrative
Code at N.J.A.C. 11:3-29 Appendix, Exhibit 3.

Full text of the proposed new rule follows:



Exhibit 3

Fee Schedule — Home Care Services

Service

PRIVATE NURSING CARE (PER HOUR) HCPCS Code Fee
Registered Nurse S9123 70.00
Licensed Practical Nurse S9124 65.00
Home Health Aide S9122 24.00
Live-in attendant (per 24 hr shift) S5126 180.00
HOME HEALTH VISITS (PER VISIT) HCPCS Code Fee
Registered Nurse T1030 110.00
Physical Therapist S9131 130.00
Speech Therapist S9128 125.00
Occupational Therapist S9129 125.00
Medical Social Worker S9127 167.00
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