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The agency proposal follows: 

Summary 

 The Department of Banking and Insurance (Department) proposes to readopt N.J.A.C. 

11:17, which was scheduled to expire on April 8, 2016, in accordance with N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1. 
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Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1.c(2), the submission of this notice to the Office of 

Administrative Law extended the expiration date 180 days to October 5, 2016. 

 The Department has reviewed the rules in this chapter and determined that they continue 

to be necessary, reasonable, and proper for the purposes for which they were originally 

promulgated.  On August 15, 2001, the New Jersey Legislature enacted the New Jersey 

Insurance Producer Licensing Act of 2001 (Producer Act), N.J.S.A. 17:22A-26 et seq.  The 

Producer Act’s stated purpose is to govern the qualifications and procedures for the licensing of 

insurance producers, simplify and organize the statutory law to improve efficiency, permit the 

use of new technology, and reduce costs associated with the issuance and renewal of producer 

licenses.  Rules pursuant to the Producer Act were readopted with amendments on October 10, 

2003.  See 35 N.J.R. 2159(a) and 5115(a).  The Department has reviewed the chapter and has 

determined that the chapter will continue to serve the Producer Act’s stated purpose and is, 

therefore, proposing to readopt the chapter with amendments as discussed below.    

 Subchapter 1 sets forth the purpose and scope of the chapter and definitions of certain 

words and terms that appear in the chapter. 

 Subchapter 2 contains licensing rules regarding terms of licenses; license authorities; 

application filing requirements for initial licenses; requirements for licensing of certain limited 

lines insurance producers; temporary work authority and change in residence status; license 

renewal; additional authorities; legal and business names; addresses; branch offices; business 

relationships; continuation of a business of a producer who becomes disabled, dies, or enters the 

Armed Forces; licensing information requirements; fees; denial of a license; surrender and 

cancellation of a license; reinstatement after surrender of a license; licensee records; and requests 

http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonTFLink?_m=8ece4c0a1491d4c5583468556ac9f2f3&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5b47%20N.J.R.%20600%28a%29%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=4&_butStat=0&_butNum=8&_butInline=1&_butinfo=NJCODE%2052%3a14B-5.1&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=1&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLbVzB-zSkAb&_md5=09338e1fbb89f47a391b4a391c927165
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by the Department for disclosure of Social Security numbers from licensed producers and license 

applicants. 

 The Department is proposing to amend N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.10(a)7 to require an insurance 

company to mail an additional copy of a notice of termination of an agency contract to the 

Department’s Office of Consumer Protection Services (rather than the Department’s 

Enforcement Unit) when the reason for termination involves misconduct by the producer/agency.  

This change reflects the Department’s current handling practices of such notices.   

 Additionally, the Department is proposing to amend N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.11(a) to replace 

“designated officer or owner responsible for the licensed activity of the business” with the term 

“designated responsible licensed producer” to ensure that said term is consistently used 

throughout the chapter.   

 The Department is also proposing to amend N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.12(d) to add designated 

responsible licensed producers to the group of individuals listed in the rule whose departure, 

termination, or deletion from a business entity insurance producer makes the business entity 

producer license inactive. 

 The Department further proposes to amend N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.15(d) to reflect that in the 

event a license is lost or destroyed, a replacement may be printed by the licensee using the 

National Association of Insurance Commissioners-State Based Systems (NAIC-SBS) license 

system accessed from the Department’s website at www.dobi.nj.gov. 

 Subchapter 3 sets forth the rules concerning the Department’s approval of insurance 

education programs; the duties and requirements of insurance education providers; penalties for 

insurance education providers, insurance education directors, and authorized personnel; pre-

licensing education; the State licensing examination; and continuing education. 

http://www.dobi.nj.gov/
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 The Department proposes to amend N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.1, 3.2, and 3.5 to add language to 

implement the statutory amendments to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-31 enacted in P.L. 2015, c. 150, to 

provide that: a) insurance education providers of prelicensing education shall submit an 

acknowledgement that the education provider agrees to provide the course curriculum in Spanish 

that will be made available by the Department; and b) requiring vendors of prelicensure 

examinations to provide examination and examination registration materials in English and 

Spanish.      

 The Department proposes to amend N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.6(a) and (l) by deleting language 

that refers to when the Department transitioned from issuing four-year licenses to two-year 

licenses.  Accordingly, the amendments will reduce the number of continuing education hours 

required of licensees from 48 hours in a four-year licensing term to 24 hours in a two-year 

licensing term and delete “grandfathering” language that is no longer applicable. 

 Subchapter 4 and 5 continue to be reserved. 

 Subchapter 6 sets forth the procedures for the regulation of certain persons, firms, 

associations, or corporations who act as managing general agents on behalf of insurers.  

Specifically, the subchapter addresses the following: the purpose and scope of the subchapter and 

definitions of certain terms and words used within the subchapter; requirements for managing 

general agents and insurers who appoint managing general agents; filing requirements; claim 

processing requirements; record maintenance requirements; and penalties that the Commissioner 

may impose upon violators of N.J.S.A. 17:22C-1 et seq., or this subchapter.  Subchapter 6 also 

contains an Appendix with two forms for use in the regulation of managing general agents. 

 Subchapter 7 sets forth the procedures for the regulation of certain persons, firms, 

associations, or corporations who act as reinsurance intermediaries, and for insurers that transact 
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business through a reinsurance intermediary.  Specifically, the subchapter includes the purpose 

and scope of the subchapter and definitions of certain terms and words used within the 

subchapter; requirements for reinsurance intermediaries and insurers who transact business 

through a reinsurance intermediary; filing requirements; record maintenance; and penalties that 

the Commissioner may impose upon violators of N.J.S.A. 17:22E-1 et seq., or this subchapter.  

Subchapter 7 also contains an Appendix of three forms for use in the regulation of reinsurance 

intermediaries. 

 This notice of rules proposed for readoption with amendments provides for a comment 

period of 60 days, and, therefore, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5, is excepted from the 

provisions of N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.1 and 3.2 governing rulemaking calendars. 

Social Impact 

 The rules proposed for readoption with amendments affect all persons selling, soliciting, 

or negotiating insurance in New Jersey, insurance education providers and instructors, and the 

general public.  The rules proposed for readoption with amendments maintain the substantive 

requirements in the existing rules regarding licensing and pre-licensure education.  Readoption 

of these rules is necessary to maintain the quality of service provided by and the professionalism 

of insurance producers by continuing high standards that protect consumers.  In addition, 

readoption of these rules is necessary to retain reciprocity with other states for producer 

licensing.   

 For these reasons, the proposed amendments will not alter the beneficial social impact of 

the rules.  

 

Economic Impact 
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 The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will continue to economically affect 

insurance producers, insurance education providers, and managing general agents or reinsurance 

intermediaries.  No change in the level of fees is proposed at this time.  Furthermore, no 

additional educational requirements have been added. 

 Insurance producers, insurance education providers, managing general agents, or 

reinsurance intermediaries will continue to pay application fees and renewal fees.  All regulated 

persons and entities currently required to keep records will continue to bear the cost of such 

recordkeeping.  Those who require insurance education will continue to incur the costs of 

acquiring such education while insurance education providers will continue to incur costs 

associated with providing such education, such as instructor’s salaries and the costs associated 

with recording, retaining, and reporting on completed educational requirements.  Managing 

general agents and reinsurance intermediaries will continue to incur the costs of recordkeeping.  

It is not anticipated that any outside professional services will be needed for any of the functions 

required by the rules, but that these functions will continue to be performed by in-house staff. 

 The proposed amendments are proposed to improve the chapter’s clarity and 

organization, or they are implementing changes required by statutory amendments.  The 

Department’s decision to no longer print and mail licenses promotes efficiency, enables 

immediate real-time access to licenses by affected licensees, and saves the Department printing 

costs.  Licensees will, therefore, incur those printing costs, but such costs are minimal.  

Accordingly, the proposed amendments should not result in any added substantial costs incurred 

by licensees.   
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Federal Standards Statement 

 A Federal standards analysis is not required because the rules proposed for readoption 

with amendments are not subject to any Federal standards or requirements. 

Jobs Impact 

 The Department does not anticipate that the rules proposed for readoption with 

amendments will result in the generation or loss of any jobs.  The Department invites 

commenters to submit any data or studies concerning the jobs impact of the proposed 

amendments together with their written comments on other aspects of this proposal. 

Agriculture Industry Impact 

 The Department does not expect any agriculture industry impact as a result of the rules 

proposed for readoption with amendments. 

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 

 Most persons selling, soliciting, or negotiating insurance in New Jersey and some 

engaged in the business of providing insurance education in New Jersey are “small businesses” 

as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et seq.  The same is true for 

managing general agents and reinsurance intermediaries doing business in New Jersey.  These 

persons and entities will be subject to all of the requirements and must bear the costs of 

compliance imposed by the amended and readopted rules as discussed above.  It is not 

anticipated that any outside professional services will be needed for any of the functions required 

by the rules, but that these functions will continue to be performed by in-house staff.  The rules 

proposed for readoption with amendments provide no different reporting, recordkeeping, or other 

compliance requirements specifically based on business size.  The rules proposed for readoption 

with amendments enforce a regulatory framework for the licensure of producers to ensure that 
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they possess the minimum qualifications and knowledge necessary to sell, solicit, or negotiate 

insurance in New Jersey in a competent and lawful manner in order to protect insurance 

consumers and the market generally.  Providing different compliance requirements based on 

business size would be inconsistent with the intent of the Legislature as expressed in the 

Producer Act and would jeopardize reciprocity for New Jersey producers with other states.   

The rules also provide a framework to ensure the minimum qualifications for insurance 

education providers, to delineate the minimum educational curriculums, and to allow for the 

enforcement of those minimums to protect the interests of producers and the general public.  

These purposes do not provide for different compliance requirements based on business size.  

 For the foregoing reasons, the rules proposed for readoption with amendments provide no 

differentiation in compliance requirements based on business size.   

Housing Affordability Impact Analysis 

 The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will have an insignificant impact on 

the affordability of housing in New Jersey and there is an extreme unlikelihood that the rules 

would evoke a change in the average costs associated with housing because the rules proposed 

for readoption with amendments concern the qualifications and procedures for the licensing of 

producer licensees and the regulation of managing general agents. 

Smart Growth Development Impact Analysis 

 The Department believes that the rules proposed for readoption with amendments will not 

evoke a change in housing production in Planning Areas 1 or 2, or within the designated centers, 

under the State Development and Redevelopment Plan in New Jersey because the rules proposed 

for readoption with amendments address licensing and education requirements for insurance 

producers, a profession regulated by the Department pursuant to the Producer Act. 
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Full text of the rules proposed for readoption may be found in the New Jersey Administrative 

Code at N.J.A.C. 11:17. 

Full text of the proposed amendments follows (additions indicated in boldface thus; deletions 

indicated in brackets [thus]): 

SUBCHAPTER 2.  LICENSING RULES 

11:17-2.10 Business relationships 

(a) The agency relationship between company and producer is subject to the following 

requirements: 

 1. – 6.  (No change.) 

 7.  If the reason for termination involves misconduct by the producer, an additional copy 

of the notice of cancellation [which specifies] specifying the reason for termination shall be 

mailed by the insurance company to the [Department’s Enforcement Unit] Department, c/o 

Office of Consumer Protection Services, PO Box 329, Trenton, NJ 08625-0329, together with 

an outline of available information and documentation. 

 8. – 9.  (No change.) 

(b)  (No change.) 

 

11:17-2.11 Continuation of business of a producer who becomes disabled, dies, or enters the  

Armed Forces 

(a) Pursuant to the provisions of the Act, a surviving spouse, or court-appointed personal 

representative of a deceased or disabled producer, or a member or employee of a business entity 

in which the designated responsible licensed producer[, who was the designated officer or 
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owner responsible for the licensed activity of the business,] dies or becomes disabled, or a 

designee of a producer entering active service in the Armed Forces of the United States of 

America, may submit a request for a temporary license by hard copy or electronic means, 

containing the names, addresses, and license numbers of the producers involved and the reason 

for the request.  No temporary license shall last for a period longer than 180 days. 

(b) – (c)  (No change.) 

 

11:17-2.12 Licensing information requirements 

(a) – (c)  (No change.) 

(d)  Departure, termination, or deletion of licensee officers, directors, [or] partners, or 

designated responsible producers, which leaves a business entity insurance producer with no 

licensed officers, directors, [or] partners, or designated responsible producers, or with officers, 

directors, [or] partners, or designated responsible producers who do not have like authorities 

as the business entity producer, shall make the business entity producer license inactive.  Under 

these circumstances, the business entity license shall be returned immediately to the 

Commissioner. 

 

11:17-2.15 Surrender and cancellation of license; reinstatement after surrender 

(a) – (c)  (No change.) 

(d)  In the event a license is lost or destroyed, [the licensee may request a duplicate by submitting 

a signed statement attesting to the loss] a replacement may be printed using the NAIC-SBS 

license system accessed from the Department’s website at www.dobi.nj.gov.   

(e)  (No change.) 

http://www.dobi.nj.gov/
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SUBCHAPTER 3.  PROFESSIONAL QUALIFICATIONS 

11:17-3.1 Approval of insurance education program 

(a) - (b)  (No change.) 

(c) Insurance education providers seeking approval to teach courses of prelicensing education 

shall also provide: 

 1. - 2.  (No change.) 

 3.  A copy of the enrollment application for the insurance education provider, the student 

contract, and any other agreement between the insurance education provider and student; [and] 

 4.  Copies of the course curriculum and a detailed description of the methods that the 

provider will use to document that the student has satisfactorily completed the course content for 

each line of authority for which prelicensing education shall be offered[.]; and 

 5.  An acknowledgement that the education provider agrees to provide the following 

upon the request of any student enrolled in prelicensing education courses: the course 

curriculum in Spanish that the Department has made available to the prelicensure 

education provider pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-31.f. 

(d) - (e)  (No change.) 

 

11:17-3.2 Insurance education provider duties and requirements 

(a) Each approved insurance education provider (except as modified hereafter) shall: 

 1. - 8.  (No change.) 

 9.  If approved to teach prelicensing courses, provide remedies for students who have 

failed the State licensing examination, which may include review courses or additional full 
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courses at reduced rates.  Each provider offering prelicensing education courses shall provide 

each prospective student a written outline of available remedies during the registration process or 

earlier upon request; [and] 

 10.  If approved to teach prelicensing courses and if it charges tuition therefor, without 

specific request and in a manner approved by the Department, provide to all persons at the time 

of requests for enrollment application or information, all passing rates by line of authority for the 

State licensing examination for all prelicensing education courses offered by the provider during 

the preceding [six month] six-month period; or, if the program has not been in operation for this 

period of time, the passing rate for all examinations given during the period which the program 

has been in operation[.]; and 

 11.  If approved to teach prelicensing courses, provide the course curriculum in 

Spanish that the Department has made available to the prelicensure education provider 

upon the request of any prelicensing education student pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-31.f. 

(b) – (d) (No change.) 

 

11:17-3.5 State licensing examination; use of independent examination vendor; exemptions; 

retaking of examination 

(a)  (No change.) 

(b)  Any contract for development and administration of the New Jersey State insurance producer 

licensing examination shall include the following terms and conditions. 

 1.  The contract vendor shall develop and administer the examination in accordance with 

specifications approved by the Commissioner, including, but not limited to, the provision of 
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the examination and the registration materials for the examination in English and Spanish 

pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-31.e. 

 2. - 17.  (No change.) 

(c) - (d)  (No change.) 

 

11:17-3.6 Continuing education 

(a)  [For licenses issued for a four-year term, no] No resident individual insurance producer 

licensed with life, accident, and health or sickness, property, casualty, surplus lines, title, variable 

life and variable annuity, or personal lines authority shall be renewed unless the renewal 

applicant demonstrates that he or she has completed [48] 24 credit hours of approved continuing 

education courses during the previous [four years, six] licensing term, three of which shall be in 

approved courses related to insurance fraud, professional ethics, or any other subject matter 

required by the Commissioner for the protection of consumers.  [Producers licensed as of 

November 4, 2002 shall have until the second renewal following November 4, 2002 to comply 

with the requirement to obtain six credits in approved courses related to insurance fraud, 

professional ethics, or any other subject matter required by the Commissioner for the protection 

of consumers. 

 1.  For licenses initially issued on or after January 1, 2007 and, subject to (a)2 below, for 

renewals on or after January 1, 2007, no resident individual insurance producer licensed with 

life, accident and health or sickness, property, casualty, surplus lines, title, variable life and 

variable annuity or personal lines authority shall be renewed unless the renewal applicant 

demonstrates that he or she has completed 24 credit hours of approved continuing education 
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courses during the previous license term, three of which shall have been in approved courses 

related to professional ethics. 

 2.  During the transition period from four-year license terms to two-year license terms 

based upon the individual producer’s date of birth as set forth in N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.1(b), if the 

term of their expiring license was four years, in order to qualify for renewal, a resident individual 

producer licensee shall demonstrate that he or she has completed 48 hours of continuing 

education credits during the prior license term, six of which shall have been in approved courses 

related to professional ethics or fraud.  If the term of their expiring license was two years or is a 

transitional term as described in N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.1(b), in order to qualify for renewal, such a 

licensee shall demonstrate that he or she has competed 24 credit hours of continuing education 

courses during the previous license term, three of which shall have been in approved courses 

related to professional ethics.] 

 Recodify existing 3. – 5. as 1.-3.  (No change in text.) 

(b) – (k)  (No change.) 

(l)  Attorneys who are licensed for title insurance only [on November 4, 2002] shall submit to the 

Department, at least three months but not more than one year prior to renewal, a certificate of 

good standing issued by the Clerk of the Supreme Court of New Jersey accompanied by a 

completed form prescribed by the Department, which provides the attorney’s name, producer 

reference number, date of birth, [social security] Social Security number, and license expiration 

date.  [Attorneys who as of November 4, 2002, are licensed for title insurance only, shall have 

until the second renewal following November 4, 2002 to comply with the continuing education 

requirements of this section.] 

 


