Home > Newsroom > News Releases > Jeffrey Featherstone Appointed Deputy Executive Director
Jeffrey Featherstone Appointed Deputy Executive Director

For Immediate Release

June 25, 1998

(WEST TRENTON, N.J.) - Gerald M. Hansler, Executive Director of the Delaware River Basin Commission, today appointed Jeffrey Featherstone to the new post of Deputy Executive Director. The Commissioners created the position at the Commission's June meeting.

Mr. Featherstone, a 16-year veteran of the DRBC, will assume his new post on July 1, 1998, and will serve as Acting Executive Director until Ms. Carol R. Collier, appointed to succeed Mr. Hansler on his retirement, assumes her duties on August 31.

The Commission's first Deputy Executive Director brings an impressive background to the post. Mr. Featherstone (50) has long been a senior member of the DRBC staff. As Chief of Policy Analysis, he was a leader in the Retreat process that redefined and restated the Commission's mission, goals and core values as well as developing the policies that underlie the Commission's dealings with its many constituencies.

Mr. Featherstone has spent his entire career in environmental and water-related areas. Prior to joining the DRBC, he was Planning Director for the Upper Mississippi River Basin Commission and a planner and hydrologist for the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources. He is a member of the American Water Works Association (AWWA) for which he was also Chair of the Water Conservation Division. He is also an award-winning writer on water issues and a graduate instructor in Public Administration at Rider University.

Mr. Featherstone has a B.A. in Geography from the University of Minnesota, an M.A. in Public Administration from Rider University and is a Ph.D. Candidate in Public Administration at Temple University.

The Delaware River Basin Commission (DRBC) was formed in 1961 via a Congressionally ratified Compact between the states of Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey and New York with the Federal Government as a participating party. The Commission has broad powers to regulate and control water usage and distribution among the four Compact states. Since the Commission was formed, no water dispute between or among any of the states has ever gone to court. The Commission itself, for which the only court of jurisdiction is the Federal Court system, has successfully negotiated all such matters to the satisfaction of all parties.