Home > Newsroom > News Releases > DRBC Launches Food Drive Ahead of Meeting in Narrowsburg, N.Y.
DRBC Launches Food Drive Ahead of Meeting in Narrowsburg, N.Y.

For Immediate Release

May 13, 2024

(West Trenton, N.J.) -- Reflecting the Delaware River Basin Commission's (DRBC) commitment to communities throughout our shared waters, the agency is kicking off a distributed food drive benefiting food pantries in several upper Delaware River Basin communities.

Donations are being collected through June 4 and will be presented to the Narrowsburg Ecumenical Food Pantry, the Wayne County Food Pantry Program, and the Sullivan County Federation for the Homeless at the DRBC's second-quarter business meeting in Narrowsburg, N.Y., on June 5.

Collection points also reflect the partnership at DRBC, with an array of nonprofits, local businesses, and government offices in New York and Pennsylvania generously hosting drop-off locations. DRBC staff will also be on hand at the Barryville Farmers Market for ShadFest on May 18 to collect donations and share information about the agency's upcoming programs and meetings.

"Interstate collaboration is at the heart of DRBC's mission to manage and improve the Basin's water resources for the benefit of over 14 million people," DRBC Deputy Executive Director Kristen Bowman Kavanagh said. "While we focus on the Delaware River's water resources every day, our agency culture of caring for our communities runs deep."

The DRBC's second-quarter business meeting will be held at the Tusten Theatre, 210 Bridge St, Narrowsburg, NY, beginning at 10:30 a.m. The meeting is open to the public and additional activities will follow the Commission's official business, including an open public comment session and a film screening.

For more information on the food drive, business meeting and additional events, please visit: www.nj.gov/drbc/public/outreach/UpperDelawareDay2024.html.

The DRBC is a federal/interstate government agency created in 1961 by concurrent compact legislation, marking the first time that the federal government and a group of states joined together as equal partners in a river basin planning, development and regulatory agency. The five Commission members are the governors of the Basin states (Delaware, New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania) and the commander of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers' North Atlantic Division, who represents the federal government.

To learn more about the Commission, please visit www.drbc.gov or follow DRBC on X at @DRBC1961.

#  #  #  #


Elizabeth Brown, Elizabeth.Brown@drbc.gov

Kate Schmidt, Kate.Schmidt@drbc.gov

#  #  #  #