STATE OF NEW JERSEY
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A Memo from the New Jersey Department of Education

Date: September 21, 2022
To: Local Educational Agency Leads
Route To: District Registrars, District Homeless Liaisons, Principals, School Nurses, All District Staff with

Enrollment Responsibilities

From: Kathy Ehling, Assistant Commissioner
Division of Educational Services

Enrollment of Students Displaced (Homeless) by Natural Disasters

The following information is being provided to facilitate a smooth enrollment process for students displaced by
natural disasters (earthquakes, hurricanes, etc.) to enable those students to resume their education as efficiently
as possible. Natural disasters throughout the nation often lead to an increase in the number of displaced families
seeking shelter in New Jersey. Pursuant to the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act, students who lack a
fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence are considered homeless and are eligible for services. Section
725 of McKinney-Vento further defines criteria for students experiencing homelessness

Enrollment/School Records

The documents typically needed for school enrollment are waived for homeless students. Consequently, districts
cannot delay the enrollment of displaced students and must enroll these students immediately even if they do
not have any school records. Children unable to produce enrollment records, such as previous academic records,
records of immunization and other required health records, residency affidavits, or other documentation, should
still be immediately enrolled (McKinney-Vento Act §721(2); §722(g)(3)(C). Districts are also responsible for
translating a student’s school records if the records are in a language other than English. For more information
regarding students’ enrollment/school records see N.J.A.C. 6A:17-1.1.

Required Health Services

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 6A:16-2.2(l), students entering a New Jersey school for the first time are required to have an
entry medical exam, screenings of vision, hearing, blood pressure, height, weight, and, if age 10 to 18, a scoliosis
screening. Also, in accordance with N.J.A.C. 6A:16-2.2(g), the entry medical examination must include a review of
the immunizations pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:57-4.1 through 4.24 and the medical history, including allergies, past
serious illnesses, injuries, operations, medications and current health problems. If a student does not have a
medical home, as defined at N.J.A.C. 6A:16-1.3, the school district shall provide the entry medical examination at
the school physician’s office or other comparably equipped facility, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 18A:40-4.

Under New Jersey regulations (N.J.A.C. 8:57-4.5(e)), children transferring into a New Jersey school,
preschool, or child-care center from out-of-state or out-of-country shall be allowed a 30-day grace period in
order to obtain past immunization documentation before the child is placed on provisional status. If the
student’s past immunization documentation is not provided before the expiration of the 30-day grace
period, the student shall be granted provisional admission in compliance with the specific requirements set
forth in N.J.A.C. 8:57-4.5. Additional requirements regarding a student’s provisional status are available on
the New Jersey Department of Health website.



http://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?path=/prelim@title42/chapter119/subchapter6/partB&edition=prelim
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2016-03-17/pdf/2016-06073.pdf
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2016-03-17/pdf/2016-06073.pdf
https://www.state.nj.us/education/code/current/title6a/chap17.pdf
https://www.state.nj.us/education/code/current/title6a/chap16.pdf
https://www.nj.gov/health/cd/vpdp.shtml

Tuition and Transportation

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17-2.8(c)2, when a student’s district of origin/residence is outside of New Jersey, the
state of New Jersey assumes fiscal responsibility for the student and pays the school district in which the
child is currently enrolled. For information regarding the process for tuition reimbursement for state
responsible homeless students, please see the Tuition Reimbursement for State Responsible Homeless
Children and Youth Guidance.

District Homeless Liaisons

District homeless liaisons are a crucial component of the enrollment process for displaced children and
youth. Liaisons should work in collaboration with district enrollment personnel, school counselors, parents
and other student support services personnel to ensure all children are enrolled, are receiving health
services and being provided educational continuity.

If you have questions or need clarification, please visit the NJDOE’s McKinney-Vento Education for Homeless
Children and Youth webpage or e-mail at McKinney.Vento@doe.nj.gov.

c: Members, State Board of Education
NJDOE Staff
Statewide Parent Advocacy Network
Garden State Coalition of Schools
NJ LEE Group



https://homeroom4.doe.state.nj.us/homeless/
https://homeroom4.doe.state.nj.us/homeless/
https://nj.gov/education/homeless/
mailto:McKinney.Vento@doe.nj.gov

