
 

 
 

Date: August 7, 2024 
 

To: Local Educational Agency Leads 
 

Route To: District Registrars, District Homeless Liaisons, Principals, School Nurses, All District Staff with 
Enrollment Responsibilities 

 

From: Kathy Ehling, Assistant Commissioner 
Division of Educational Services 

 
Enrollment of Students Displaced (Homeless) by Natural Disasters 

 

The following information is being provided to facilitate a smooth enrollment process for students displaced by 
natural disasters (earthquakes, hurricanes, etc.), enabling those students to resume their education as efficiently 
as possible. Natural disasters throughout the nation often lead to an increase in the number of displaced families 
seeking shelter in New Jersey. Pursuant to the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act, students who lack a 
fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence are considered homeless and are eligible for services. Section 
725 of the McKinney-Vento Act further defines criteria for students experiencing homelessness. 

 

Enrollment/School Records 
The documents typically needed for school enrollment are waived for homeless students. Consequently, districts 
cannot delay the enrollment of displaced students and must enroll these students immediately even if they do not 
have any school records. Children unable to produce enrollment records, such as previous academic records, 
records of immunization and other required health records, residency affidavits, or other documentation, should 
still be immediately enrolled (McKinney-Vento Act §721(2); §722(g)(3)(C)). For more information regarding 
students’ enrollment/school records see N.J.A.C. 6A:17-1.1. 
 
Required Health Services 
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 6A:16-2.2(l), students entering a New Jersey school for the first time are required to have an 
entry medical exam, screenings of vision, hearing, blood pressure, height, weight, and, if age 10 to 18, a scoliosis 
screening. Additionally, in accordance with N.J.A.C. 6A:16-2.2(g), the entry medical examination must include a 
review of immunizations pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:57-4.1 through 4.24 and the medical history, including allergies, 
past serious illnesses, injuries, operations, medications, and current health problems. If a student does not have a 
medical home, as defined at N.J.A.C. 6A:16-1.3, the school district shall provide the entry medical examination at 
the school physician’s office or other comparably equipped facility, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 18A:40-4. 
 
Under New Jersey Department of Health regulations (N.J.A.C. 8:57-4.5(e)), children transferring into a New Jersey 
school, preschool, or child-care center from out-of-state or out-of-country shall be allowed a 30-day grace period 
in order to obtain past immunization documentation before the child is placed on provisional status. If the 
student’s past immunization documentation is not provided before the expiration of the 30-day grace period, the 
student shall be granted provisional admission in compliance with the specific requirements set forth in N.J.A.C. 
8:57-4.5. 
 
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:57-4.6, all immunization records submitted by a parent or guardian in a language other than 
English are required to be accompanied by a translation sufficient to determine compliance with the immunization 
requirements. For additional information, please refer to the May 31, 2023 Translation of Student Immunization 
Records broadcast. 

http://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?path=/prelim@title42/chapter119/subchapter6/partB&edition=prelim
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2016-03-17/pdf/2016-06073.pdf
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2016-03-17/pdf/2016-06073.pdf
https://www.state.nj.us/education/code/current/title6a/chap17.pdf
https://www.state.nj.us/education/code/current/title6a/chap16.pdf
https://www.nj.gov/education/broadcasts/2023/may/31/TranslationofStudentImmunizationRecords.pdf
https://www.nj.gov/education/broadcasts/2023/may/31/TranslationofStudentImmunizationRecords.pdf


Tuition and Transportation 
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 6A:17-2.8(c)2, when a student’s district of origin/residence is outside of New Jersey, the 
state of New Jersey assumes fiscal responsibility for the student and pays the school district in which the 
child is currently enrolled. For information regarding the process for tuition reimbursement for state 
responsible homeless students, please see the Tuition Reimbursement for State Responsible Homeless  
Children and Youth Guidance. 
 

District Homeless Liaisons 
District homeless liaisons are a crucial component of the enrollment process for displaced children and 
youth. Liaisons should work in collaboration with district enrollment personnel, school counselors, parents, 
and other student support services personnel to ensure all children are enrolled, receiving health services, 
and being provided educational continuity. 
 

For any questions or clarification, please visit the NJDOE’s McKinney-Vento Education for Homeless Children and 
Youth webpage or e-mail us at McKinney.Vento@doe.nj.gov. 

 
c: Members, State Board of Education 

NJDOE Staff 
Statewide Parent Advocacy Network 
Garden State Coalition of Schools 
NJ LEE Group 
 

https://homeroom4.doe.state.nj.us/homeless/
https://homeroom4.doe.state.nj.us/homeless/
https://nj.gov/education/homeless/
mailto:McKinney.Vento@doe.nj.gov

