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Updated Preparticipation Physical Evaluation

The Preparticipation Physical Evaluation (PPE), commonly referred to as the “sports physical form,” has been
updated. The PPE was updated jointly by the American Academy of Family Physicians, American Academy of
Pediatrics, American College of Sports Medicine, American Medical Society for Sports Medicine, American
Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine, and American Osteopathic Academy of Sports Medicine in 2019 and
2023. The sports physical form has been tailored to comply with New Jersey law and has been adopted by the
New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE).

There has been a change in the requirements for submission of the updated PPE. The History Form and the
Physical Examination Form within the packet do not need to be submitted to the student’s school. The History
Form and the Physical Examination Form should be kept by the healthcare provider who completes the PPE. Only
the completed Medical Eligibility Form should be submitted to the school. The Medical Eligibility Form provides
space for the healthcare provider to share relevant health information with the school if necessary and includes a
recommendation regarding the student’s ability to participate in athletics. It is important to note that the PPE
must be conducted by a licensed physician, advanced practice nurse, or physician assistant who has completed
the student athlete cardiac assessment professional development module developed by the NJDOE.

Once submitted to the school, the Medical Eligibility Form should be kept in the student’s health file and recorded
on the A-45. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 6A:16-2.4, 2.2(h)1iv, and 2.3(a)4iv, each school district is required to “provide to
the parent written notification signed by the school physician stating approval of the student’s participation in
athletics based upon the medical report or the reasons for the school physician’s disapproval of the student’s
participation.” Districts will develop and implement their own procedures to notify parents of their student’s
approval or disapproval from participating in athletics.

If a student’s PPE was completed over 90 days prior to the first day of official practice in an athletic season, a
Health History Update Questionnaire (often called a 90-day update form) is still required.

The updated forms and a frequently asked questions document are available on the NJDOE Information for
Student Athletes page.

The use of the new forms will be phased in. The previous forms will be accepted for any physical completed prior
to July 1, 2024. Districts should begin the implementation process of utilizing and distributing the new forms
effective immediately.

Contact information
Questions may be directed to healthysch@doe.nj.gov.
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