School Ethics Commission Meeting Public Session Minutes

March 7, 2019

Chairperson Robert Bender called the meeting to order at 10:06 a.m.

Notice of the meeting was provided to the State House Press Corps and the Secretary of State and filed as required by the Open Public Meetings Act. In attendance were School Ethics Commission (Commission) members Michael Carucci (participated via telephone), Mark Finkelstein (participated via telephone), Dan Kaplan (participated via telephone), Dennis Roberts (participated via telephone), Jude Tanella (participated via telephone), Richard Tomko (participated via telephone), and Chairperson Bender (participated via telephone). Commission member Michael Collins was absent

Also in attendance were Kathryn Whalen, Director, Offices of School Ethics and Compliance, and staff member Jeannine Pizzigoni, along with Deputy Attorney General (DAG) Donna Arons (participated via telephone).

10:09 a.m. Motion was made by Dan Kaplan, and seconded by Dennis Roberts, to adjourn to Executive Session to discuss confidential matters and to obtain legal advice regarding the following Complaints and matters involving possible litigation: C34-18 and A03-19.

Vote: $7 - Yes \quad 0 - No$

11:05 p.m. Open Session

Decisions to Adopt as Written

C34-18 Motion was made by Dennis Roberts, and seconded by Mark Finkelstein, to table this matter for further consideration.

Vote: $7 - Yes \qquad 0 - No$

Advisory Opinions

A03-19 Motion was made by Richard Tomko, and seconded by Dennis Roberts, to adopt the Advisory Opinion as written.

Vote: 6 - Yes 0 - No 1 - Abstention (Mark Finkelstein abstained)

11:09 p.m. Motion was made by Richard Tomko, and seconded by Mark Finkelstein, to adjourn.

Vote: $7 - Yes \qquad 0 - No$

Submitted by:
Jeannine Pizzigoni
Approved by:
Kathryn A. Whalen, Director