ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The 4 Action Initiative Core Committee, comprised of representatives from Families of September 11, Liberty Science Center and the New Jersey Commission on Holocaust Education, initiated the idea of developing a curriculum not only about September 11th, but of the circumstances that caused its occurrence, the role of terrorism in history and how students can take action to help build a better world.

Donna Gaffney Anastasia Holmes Emlyn Koster

Caitlin Olson Jeff Osowski Mary Ellen Salamone

Paul B. Winkler

The over 60 individuals that piloted the lesson plans in their classroom to ensure appropriate content, age appropriateness and methodology were:

Vincenza Antonelli Hillsborough JoAnn Cooper-Harris **Ewing** Ryan Archer Parsippany-Troy Hills Lynn Degen Warren Township Richard Asarnow Parochial Darrell DeTample Hunterdon Central Bloomfield Lauren Barton Suzette Dilzer Lebanon Township Jocelyn Bizzarro Bernards Township Connie Donvito Parsippany-Troy Hills Adele Goldfinger-Black Rockaway Twsp. Laura Drago Essex Joan Boland Essex Dena Drobish Parsippany-Troy Hills Holmdel Laura Dunn-Grodewald Kathleen Bradley Jackson Dominick Casais Jackson Nancy Dwyer Parsippany-Troy Hills Erin Casev Bridgewater-Raritan Janet Engel Woodbridge Township Kate Cernak Parsippany-Troy Hills William Fernekes Hunterdon Central Kathi Cole-Giden Kenneth Gaines Camden City Elizabeth

i-7

Teri Hardmeyer	Camden County	Reba Petraitis	Kent Place School
Betty Hatler	Archdiocese of Newark	Elizabeth Petrangel	Bloomfield
Amy Jean Hawke	Fairfield	Joseph Pizzo	Chester Schools
Annarose Haws	Camden County	Phyllis Pollak	Students w/Disabilities
Joanne Hornberger	Hillsborough	Randi Posner	Gloucester Township
Karen Janes	Florham Park	Neda Pourki	Boonton
Colleen Jasperse	Holmdel	Christine Rotondo	Diocese of Paterson
Patricia Kebrdle	Lakeland Regional HS	Melyssa Saldino	South Brunswick
Tara Kellerman	Ewing	Ryan Shaffer	Parsippany
Bethany Kiefer	Gloucester Township	Arlene Shenkus	Retired Educator
Karen H. Levine	Parsippany-Troy Hills	Joan Sheridan	Hillsborough
Steve Linzebold	Parsippany-Troy Hills	Carmella Siems	Diocese of Metuchen
Peppy Margolis	Raritan Valley CC	Helen M. Simpkins	NJCHE
Jill McCracken	Howell Township	Deborah Sisk	Sayerville
Rachel Mizrak	Edgewater	Vincent Soccodato	Woodbridge Township
Susan Morrissey	Maple Shade	Jacqueline Storts	Bloomfield
Elaine Mostello	Totowa	Colleen Tambuscio	New Milford
Pamela Musat	South Brunswick	Jill Tejeda	Livingston
Matthew Normile	Union Beach	Patricia Trouse	Totowa
Derrick Owings	Cherry Hill	Mary Vazquez	Millburn
Vernoy Paolini	Vernon Township	Tina von Dohlen	Parsippany-Troy Hills
Lori Perez	Livingston	Mary Beth Winsor	North Plainfield
Nicolette Perna	New Milford	Faye Zaninelli	Jackson

For their support and guidance we also wish to thank

Elizabeth Romanaux, Senior Communications Consultant Liberty Science Center Jersey City, New Jersey Professor William B. Stanley School of Education Monmouth University Long Branch, New Jersey

i-8

And most importantly, to the people who collectively worked on a volunteer basis for well over 1,000 hours in developing, revising and finalizing the lesson plans for students in grades K - 12.

The curriculum, *Learning from the Challenges of Our Times: Global Security, Terrorism and 9/11 in the Classroom,* was developed under the auspices of the 4 Action Initiative:

Families of September 11

Donald Goodrich, Board Chairman

Anastasia Holmes, Executive Director

Maryellen Salamone, Advisory Board

Caitlin Olson, Former Executive Director

Liberty Science Center

Emlyn Koster, President Emeritus David Hespe, Co-Executive Director, VP STEM Education

Jeff Osowski, Former Vice President of Teaching and Learning

NJ Commission on Holocaust Education

Philip Kirschner, Commission Chair Paul B. Winkler, Executive Director
Helen M. Simpkins, Project Coordinator Colleen Tambuscio, Consultant

Elementary Committee Members

Laura Dunn Grodewald, Committee Coordinator, Jackson School District/Global Youth Leadership Institute
Ryan R. Archer, Parsippany-Troy Hills School District
Dena Ann Drobish, Parsippany-Troy Hills School District
Tina M. von Dohlen, Parsippany-Troy Hills School District
Dr. Connie Donvito, Parsippany-Troy Hills School District
Peppy Margolis, Raritan Valley Community College

Middle School Committee Members

Karen Hinkes Levine, Committee Coordinator, Central Middle School, Parsippany-Troy Hills School District
Adele Goldfinger Black Copeland Middle School, Rockaway Township
Vernoy Joret Paolini, Lounsberry Hollow Middle School, Vernon
Amy Jean Hawke, Lincoln School, Fairview
Mary M. Vazquez, Millburn Middle School, Millburn

High School Committee Members

Reba Petraitis, Committee Coordinator, Kent Place School William R. Fernekes, Hunterdon Central Regional High School Jill McCracken, Holmdel High School, Holmdel, NJ Vincent Soccodato, Woodbridge Township School District Patricia Telschow Kebrdle, Lakeland Regional High School Arlene Shenkus, Paulsboro High School