
IN THE MATTER OF : NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 
 

THE CERTIFICATE OF :  STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS 
 

KEVIN LITTS       :       ORDER OF REVOCATION 
 

_______________________ :   DOCKET NO:  595-12/00-262 
 
 At its meeting of December 7, 2000, the State Board of Examiners reviewed information 

from the Division of Criminal Justice indicating that in May, 2000, Kevin Litts had pled guilty to 

charges of endangering the welfare of a child.  Litts was sentenced to five years’ probation with 

six months in the Bergen County jail as a condition of probation.  In addition, Litts was 

prohibited from working at any schools, preschools or places where infants are present.  Litts 

was also ordered to complete 300 hours of community service within the first three years of his 

probation and to take anger management counseling as required by probation.  Litts is currently 

the holder of a Teacher of Elementary School certificate.  Upon review of the above information, 

at that December meeting, the State Board of Examiners voted to issue Litts an Order to Show 

Cause. 

The Board sent Litts the Order to Show Cause by regular and certified mail on February 

26, 2001.  The Order provided that an Answer to the Order must be filed within 20 days.  Litts 

did not respond to the Order to Show Cause.  On May 3, 2001, the Board of Examiners provided 

Litts an additional ten days in which to respond to the Order.  He was advised that if no response 

was received, the allegations in the Order to Show Cause would be deemed admitted and the 

State Board of Examiners would proceed to a decision as to revocation or suspension on the 

basis of the evidence before it.  Once again, Litts did not respond. 

The threshold issue before the State Board of Examiners in this matter, therefore, is 

whether Litts’ conviction constitute conduct unbecoming a certificate holder.  Since Litts failed 

to respond to the Order to Show Cause, the State Board of Examiners had no responsive pleading 

to consider in the hearing process.  It is therefore ORDERED that the charges in the Order to 

Show Cause are deemed admitted for the purpose of this proceeding.  N.J.A.C. 6:11-3.6(a)1. 



 2
The State Board of Examiners must now determine whether Litts’ conviction, as set 

forth in the Order to Show Cause, represents just cause to act against his certificate pursuant to 

N.J.A.C. 6:11-3.6(a)1.  We find that it does. 

The Commissioner has long-recognized that teachers in the State of New Jersey “are 

professional employees to whom the people have entrusted the care and custody of … school 

children….This heavy duty requires a degree of self-restraint and controlled behavior rarely 

requisite to other types of employment.”  Tenure of Sammons, 1972 S.L.D. 302, 321. 

In this case, Litts has a conviction for a crime that directly imperiled a child.  Moreover, 

as part of his sentence, Litts is prohibited from ever working at any schools, preschools or places 

where infants are present, which only further proves his unsuitability to teach.  Unfitness to hold 

a position in a school system may be shown by one incident, if sufficiently flagrant.  Redcay v. 

State Board of Education, 130 N.J.L. 369, 371 (S. Ct. 1943), aff’d. 131 N.J.L. 326 (E & A 1944).  

The heinous nature of Litts’ crime yields only one conclusion in this matter: that Litts should 

never teach in any New Jersey classroom again.  Accordingly, the State Board of Examiners 

believes that the only appropriate sanction in this case is the revocation of Litts’ certificate. 

Accordingly, it is therefore ORDERED that Kevin Litts’s Teacher of Elementary School 

certificate be revoked on this 14th day of June, 2001.  It is further ORDERED that Kevin Litts 

return his certificate to the Secretary of the State Board of Examiners, Office of Licensing, P.O. 

Box 500, Trenton, NJ 08625-0500 within 15 days of receipt of this decision. 

 
 
 
 
      _______________________________ 
      Acting Secretary 
      State Board of Examiners 
 
 
Date of Mailing:  March 22, 2002 
Appeals may be made to the State Board of Education pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 
18A:6-28. 
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