

NJDOE News

For More Information Contact the Public Information Office: Tom Rosenthal Richard Vespucci Jon Zlock 609-292-1126

For Release: May 14, 2003

Department of Education Honors 2003 Distinguished Teacher Candidates

As part of an ongoing effort to celebrate teachers, Assistant Commissioner for the Northern Region Judith Weiss and the Department of Education today recognized the 16 outstanding college students recently named as the 2003 Distinguished Teacher Award winners.

"These students have shown the dedication and desire to become the best they can be in their college classrooms and beyond," said Dr. Weiss. "We are proud to recognize these 16 teacher candidates as the 2003 Distinguished Teacher Award winners. They're excellence should take them far and we expect great things from them for years to come."

The Distinguished Teacher Candidate Awards program, now in its 18th year, identifies and honors the top graduates of approved college teacher education programs in New Jersey. Since 1985, the presidents of New Jersey colleges and universities have nominated their top teacher education students for the awards.

Assistant Commissioner Weiss and other DOE officials honored the candidates during an awards ceremony at the DOE headquarters this morning in Trenton.

The 16 people recognized (including their area of licensure) were:

- Carmelyn Barbarito, Caldwell College, elementary education;
- Amy Barrett, Centenary College, elementary/special education;
- Barbara Brandon, Kean University, elementary education;
- Michael Chodroff, Kean University, elementary education;
- Anna Conchado, Rowan University, special education;
- Jeanette Fazzari, Rider University, special education;
- Kari Fitzgerald, Rowan University, English;
- Rebekah Golieb, Rutgers University, elementary education;
- Tiffany Jacobson, St. Peter's College, elementary education;
- Daniel Mark, Princeton University, social studies;
- Aleta Ott, The College of New Jersey, art;
- Marnie Podos, Princeton University, English;
- JoAnn Price, Georgian Court College, English/ESL;
- Jessica Rhoades, Princeton University, English;
- Danielle Schmidt, Caldwell College, English; and
- Elizabeth Voltman, Montclair State University, English.

During the ceremony, Assistant Commissioner Weiss also thanked seven-member panel who selected the award recipients.

They are: Johnette Bennett, science teacher, North Warren Regional High School; Maria A. Corso, principal, Lyncrest Elementary School, George V. Corwell, associate director for education, NJ Catholic Conference; Anthony S. DeNorchia, superintendent, Hillsdale Public Schools; William J. Foley, superintendent, Westfield Public Schools; Sue Krewson, 5th grade teacher, Holland Township Elementary School; and Elene Van Noy, supervisor, Hopewell Valley Regional High School.

More information about the program can be found online at the Office of Innovative Programs and Schools website (http://www.state.nj.us/njded/educators/rpr/recognition/) or by calling the DOE Public Information Office at (609) 292-1126.