
 

 

 
 DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

PO BOX 360 
TRENTON, N.J. 08625-0360 

www.nj.gov/health 

  
  

JEFFREY A. BROWN 
Acting Commissioner 

 

PHILIP D. MURPHY  
Governor 

TAHESHA L. WAY 
Lt. Governor 

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
 

CONTROL NUMBER: 2025-02 

A) AUTHORITY 
 

This Standing Order is issued by the Deputy Commissioner of Public Health Services of the New Jersey 
Department of Health in his official capacity authorizing pharmacists, pharmacy interns, pharmacy externs 
and pharmacy technicians practicing in the State of New Jersey, in accordance with their respective scopes 
of practice, to administer age-appropriate, FDA approved COVID-19 vaccines to eligible individuals. 
 
Pharmacists, pharmacy interns, pharmacy externs and pharmacy technicians are authorized to administer 
COVID-19 vaccines to persons aged 3 years and older pursuant to the 12th Amendment to the Declaration 
under the Public Readiness and Emergency Preparedness (PREP) Act, through December 31, 2029, as well 
as under the Division of Consumer Affairs Administrative Orders – DCA-AO-2021-18 and DCA-AO-2021-
19.  Should the PREP Act Declaration terminate prior to the expected date, pharmacy personnel shall be 
authorized pursuant to existing New Jersey statutes and rules governing immunization by pharmacy 
personnel.   
 
   

B) PURPOSE 
 

To prevent individual cases and outbreaks of COVID-19 in New Jersey, individuals must have ready access 
to the COVID-19 vaccine.  Preventing the spread of COVID-19 through vaccination provides individuals 
and communities with protections from the physical sequelae, morbidities, and mortalities that this 
disease can cause and curtails the associated high social costs, such as absenteeism from school and work 
and healthcare system strain, that otherwise would burden children, families, older adults, and the 
community at-large when COVID-19 rates are high. The purpose of this standing order is to ensure 
equitable, timely, and consistent access to FDA-approved COVID-19 vaccines for all eligible individuals in 
New Jersey, consistent with the American Academy of Pediatrics 2025 immunization schedule, the 
American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists recommendations for use in pregnancy,  the 
American Academy of Family Physicians 2025 immunization recommendations, and robust expert 
evidence by scientific groups including, but not limited to, the Center for Infectious Disease Research and 
Policy’s Vaccine Integrity Project at the University of Minnesota.  Accordingly, this Standing Order is issued 
to protect and promote the health of individuals in New Jersey by conforming COVID-19 vaccination 
access with evidence-based recommendations and schedules for eligible individuals.  
  
 

C) PROCEDURES 
 
Indication and Eligibility 
 
An age-appropriate COVID-19 vaccine is indicated for active immunization for any person aged 6 months 



 

 

or older who desires protection from COVID-19.  However, in accordance with the PREP Act Declaration, 
pharmacists, pharmacy interns, pharmacy externs and pharmacy technicians may only administer vaccines 
to children 3 years of age and older. 
 
• Moderna SPIKEVAX for people 6 months and older 
• Pfizer COMIRNATY for people ages 5 years and older 
• Moderna mNEXSPIKE for people 12 years and older 
•Novavax NUVAXOVID for people 12 years and older 
 
Pregnant individuals should receive an updated COVID-19 vaccine at the earliest opportunity in any 
trimester; post-partum and lactating persons are also recommended to receive a COVID-19 vaccination. 
 
Order to Administer 
 
Administer an FDA-approved 2025–2026 COVID-19 vaccine per current manufacturer Dosing and 
Administration information. If multiple doses of the vaccine are needed, all doses in the series should be 
from the same manufacturer. Co-administration with other routine vaccines is permitted, including the 
influenza vaccine. 
 
Moderna — SPIKEVAX (2025–2026 Formula)1 
Route: Intramuscular (IM). 
Dose & Schedule by Age/History: 
2–11 years (any prior vaccination status): single 0.25 mL dose; if previously vaccinated, give ≥2 months 
after last COVID-19 vaccine dose.2   
 
≥12 years (any prior vaccination status): single 0.5 mL dose; if previously vaccinated, give ≥2 months after 
last COVID-19 vaccine dose.  
 
OR 
 
Pfizer-BioNTech — COMIRNATY (2025–2026 Formula) 
Route: Intramuscular (IM). 
Dose: 0.3 mL (single dose). 
Dose & Schedule by Age/History 
5-11 years: single 0.3mL dose (vials with blue caps labeled with blue borders) 
:≥12 years: single 0.3 mL dose (prefilled syringe labeled with gray borders) 
If previously vaccinated with any COVID-19 vaccine: give dose ≥2 months after last COVID-19 vaccine dose.  

 
1 It is noted that the Moderna SPIKEVAX (2025–2026 Formula) is FDA authorized for ages 6 months and 
older.  However, this Order is limited to ages 3 years and older, consistent with the scopes of practice 
established by the PREP Act Declaration for pharmacists, pharmacy interns, pharmacy externs, and 
pharmacy technicians for immunization administration.  
 
2 It is again noted that this Order is limited to ages 3 years and older, consistent with the scopes of practice 
established by the PREP Act Declarations for pharmacists, pharmacy interns, pharmacy externs, and 
pharmacy technicians for immunization administration.  
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OR 
 
Moderna — mNEXSPIKE (2025–2026 Formula) 
Route: Intramuscular (IM). 
Dose: 0.2 mL (single dose). 
Age: :≥12 years 
If previously vaccinated with any COVID-19 vaccine: give dose ≥3 months after last COVID-19 vaccine dose.  
 
OR 
 
Novavax — NUVAXOVID (2025–2026 Formula) 
Route: Intramuscular (IM). 
Dose: 0.5 mL (single dose). 
Age: :≥12 years 
If previously vaccinated with any COVID-19 vaccine: give dose ≥2 months after last COVID-19 vaccine dose 
 
Contraindications 
 
Do not administer age-appropriate COVID-19 vaccine to individuals with a known history of severe allergic 
reaction (e.g., anaphylaxis) to any component of the vaccine or to individuals who had a severe allergic 
reaction following a previous dose of a COVID-19 vaccine.  
 
Warnings and Precautions 
 
Analyses of data from use of authorized or approved mRNA COVID-19 vaccines have demonstrated 
increased risks of myocarditis and pericarditis, with onset of symptoms typically in the first week following 
vaccination. The observed risk has been highest in males 12 years through 24 years of age.   
 
Documentation and Reporting 
 
Provide proof of vaccination to the recipient.  
 
Enter all doses in the New Jersey Immunization Information System (NJIIS) as required by N.J.S.A. 26:4-
134; N.J.A.C. 8:57-3.12; and Executive Order No. 207.  
 
Report vaccine administration errors and adverse events to the Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System 
(VAERS). Report all adverse events following the administration of COVID-19 vaccine to the federal 
Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System (VAERS). To submit a VAERS report online (preferred) or to 
download a writable PDF form, go to https://vaers.hhs.gov/reportevent.html. Further assistance is 
available at (800) 822-7967. 
 
Patient Education 
 
The individual should be provided the Information for Recipients and Caregivers or the Vaccine 
Information Sheet (VIS), as applicable to understand side effects, warnings and precautions, drug 
interactions and contradictions.  The pharmacist may engage in shared decision-making to engage the 
Individual in an informed vaccination decision. 



 

 

 
D)  INSURANCE and BILLING  
 
For insurance coverage and billing for the administered COVID-19 vaccine, the pharmacy will request the 
individual’s insurance information.  While the pharmacy will obtain the individual’s insurance information, 
this Standing Order does not guarantee insurance coverage as insurance coverage and administration for 
COVID-19 vaccines may vary based on insurance policies and individual plans. 
 

 

E) LIMITATIONS  
 
This Standing Order does not establish the New Jersey Department of Health, or its clinicians, as a 
healthcare provider for an individual.  Individuals seeking medical advice on vaccinations should contact 
a primary care provider.   
 
 

F) EXPIRATION AND REVIEW 
 

This standing order shall take effect immediately and shall remain in force and effect until modified, 
supplemented, superseded, or rescinded.   
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