Environmental Health

Child Abuse and Neglect


Who is responsible for reporting suspected child abuse in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, ANY person having reasonable cause to believe a child has been abused or neglected has a legal responsibility to report it to the Division of Youth and Family Services (DYFS). A concerned caller does not need proof to report an allegation of child abuse and can make the report anonymously. Any person who knowingly fails to report suspected abuse or neglect according to the law or to comply with the provisions of the law is a disorderly person and subject to a fine of up to $1,000 or up to six months imprisonment, or both.


How do I report child abuse in New Jersey?

All reports of child abuse and neglect, including those occurring in institutional settings such as child care centers, schools, foster homes and residential treatment centers, must be reported to the State Central Registry (SCR). This is a toll-free, 24-hour, seven-days-a-week hotline. If a child is in immediate danger, call 911.

Child Abuse Hotline (State Central Registry)
1-877 NJ ABUSE
TTY 1-800-835-5510

For further details, please visit: Prevent Child Abuse NJ.


To learn more about child abuse & neglect, check out this video from the Center for Disease Control & Prevention.



Identifying Child Abuse and Neglect -Mandated Reporting in Early Care and Education Training

Free 2-hour training course. Topics include Child Abuse and Neglect, Discipline, Mandated Reporting, and Child Maltreatment. IMPORTANT NOTE: You must complete the training in one sitting. Progress will not be saved if you exit, close or refresh the training.



Prevent Child Abuse-New Jersey builds a brighter future for children by promoting Great Childhoods, positive parenting and healthy child development.


We educate parents, provide training and technical assistance to youth/family serving organizations and schools, and keep community members informed. We help transform homes and schools into nurturing, trauma-informed environments. PCA-NJ is the New Jersey State Chapter of Prevent Child Abuse America, a network of chapters in all 50 states. Our nonprofit subsidiary, the Child Wellness Institute (ChildWIN), builds resilience and social-emotional health within children and families.


Last Reviewed: 4/29/2024