

State of New Jerzey DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PO BOX 360 TRENTON, N.J. 08625-0360

www.nj.gov/health

JEFFREY A. BROWN Acting Commissioner

The Mobile Intensive Care Advisory Council (MAC) MINUTES of February 10, 2025

Medical Directors Present:

Dr. Kimberly Baldino (St. Joseph's Health), Dr. Joshua Bucher (Robert Wood Johnson Health Network), Dr. Gerard Carroll (Cooper University Health Care), Dr. Howard Felderman (Hackensack Meridian Health – JFK), Dr. Brett Greenfield (AtlantiCare), Dr. Ronald Klebacher (Virtua Health), Dr. Andreia Marques-Baptista (Capital Health), Dr. Amy Ondeyka (Inspira Health), Dr. Stephanie Ortega (Saint Clare's Health), Dr. Shaun Patterson (Hackensack Meridian Health – HUMC), Dr. Michael Prendergast (Hunterdon Health), Dr. Albert Ritter (Atlantic Health System & CentraState Healthcare System), Dr. Timothy Satty (University Hospital), Dr. Barbara Schreibman (Englewood Health), Dr. Cheng Wang (Robert Wood Johnson – Jersey City)

Mobile Intensive Care Unit Directors Present:

Mr. Mark Bober (Hackensack Meridian Health – JFK), Mr. Dennis Castro (St. Joseph's Health), Mr. John Cronin (Saint Clare's Health), Mr. James Fox (Holy Name), Ms. Michelle Kobayashi (Hackensack Meridian Heath – HUMC), Mr. Thomas Lavagna (Virtua Health), Mr. Alex Lewinsky (Capital Health), Mr. Stephen Napoli (AtlantiCare), Mr. Anthony Raffino (Robert Wood Johnson Health Network), Mr. Geoffrey Roberts (Inspira Health), Mr. Rick Rohrbach (Cooper University Health Care), Ms. Ingrid Santucci (Valley Health System)Mr. Keith Shipley (Hunterdon Health), Mr. Richard Sposa (Englewood Health)

Mobile Intensive Care Unit EMS Educators Present:

Mr. Matthew Bremy (Valley Health System), Mr. Steven Cohen (Robert Wood Johnson – Jersey City), Ms. Nicole Ferrarella (University Hospital), Mr. Bruce Graham (Virtua Health), Mr. Mark Jeffries (AtlantiCare), Mr. Ronald Murphy (Cooper University Health Care), Ms. Deborah Paglianite (Saint Clare's Health), Mr. David Petersen (Atlantic Health System & CentraState Healthcare System), Mr. Richard Schlosser (Hackensack Meridian Health – JFK), Mr. Neil Thorn (Robert Wood Johnson Health Network), Mr. Kevin Webb (St. Joseph's Health)

Medical Directors Absent:

Dr. Mark Dreier (Valley Health System), Dr. Timothy Lancaster (Holy Name)

Mobile Intensive Care Unit Directors Absent:

Mr. Joshua Otero (Robert Wood Johnson – Jersey City, Mr. Art Samaras (Atlantic Health System & CentraState Healthcare System), Mr. Harry Shelton (Inspira Health)

Mobile Intensive Care Unit EMS Educators Absent:

Mr. Robert Bertollo (St. Joseph's Health), Mr. Keith Elmer (Capital Health), Mr. Michael Geisler (Englewood Health), Mr. Kevin Pohlman (Holy Name, Mr. Alex Rosario (Hackensack Meridian Heath –HUMC), Mr. David Stangreciak (University Hospital)

PHILIP D. MURPHY Governor

TAHESHA L. WAY Lt. Governor

New Jersey Department of Health:

Ms. Candace Gardner, Mr. Eric Hicken, Ms. Victoria Holmes, Ms. Lisa Kahle, Mr. Dan Kazar, Dr. John Porter (Trauma Medical Director), Ms. Kirsten Posselt, Mr. Zachary Raab, Mr. Logan Rafferty, Mr. Christian Rios, Dr. Novneet Sahu, Mr. Timothy Seplaki,

Guests/Public Attendees:

Mr. Mike Berkenbush, Garett Forosisky, Mr. Alec Glucksman, Mr. Bobby Goyal, Dr. Alexander Kuc (NJ Air Medical Program), Ms. Julia Kulesa (Union County College), Mr. Jeff McBride (Hackensack Meridian Health – JFK), Mr. David Morelle, Ms. Nancy Orlowski, Dr. Matt Steenberg

The Mobile Intensive Care Advisory Council convened on February 10, 2024, virtually, with a call to order at 9:03 AM by Dr. Gerard Carrol

PUBLIC NOTICE

This is a formal meeting of Mobile Intensive Care Advisory Council. Adequate notice of this meeting has been published in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 231, Public Law 1975, c-10:4.10 of the state of New Jersey entitled Open Public Meetings Act. Notice was sent to the Secretary of State who posted the notice in a public place. Notice was also provided electronically on the Department's website

New Business

- Protocols
 - Motion to add push dose phenylephrine and norepinephrine to distributive shock protocol and norepinephrine to the cardiogenic shock protocol
 - Motion by: (Dr. Satty) Seconded: (Dr. Wang)
 - Motion to accept: Yea: 13 Nay: 0 Abstain:
 - Motion to add Levetiracetam to the seizure protocols
 - *Motion by: (Dr. Satty) Seconded: (Dr. Schreibman)*
 - Motion to accept: Yea: 10 Nay: 0 Abstain 1
 - Motion to remove highlighted portion of protocols pertaining to precipitated withdrawal
 - *Motion by: (Dr. Satty) Seconded: (Dr. Schreibman)*
 - Motion to accept: Yea: 14 Nay: 0 Abstain: 0
 - Motion to require MICU's to call medical command to discuss utilization of paralytics or sedative agents during cardiac arrest
 - Motion by: (Dr. Bucher) Seconded: (Dr. Wang)
 - Motion to accept: Yea: 14 Nay: 0 Abstain: 0

- Motion to move TXA to standing orders for postpartum hemorrhage and to add Oxytocin to the radio failure section
 - *Motion by: (Dr. Ritter) Seconded: (Dr. Ondeyka)*
 - Motion to accept: Yea: 14 Nay: 0 Abstain: 0
- Motion to make amendment to Nitroglycerine protocol to include specific verbiage "may transition to Nitroglycerine drip after any IV or sublingual dose of Nitroglycerine has been administered"
 - Motion by: (Dr. Felderman) Seconded: (Dr. Satty)
 - Motion to accept: Yea: 14 Nay: 0 Abstain: 0
- Motion to add shock index of \geq 1 under hemodynamic instability
 - Motion by: (Dr. Wang) Seconded: (Dr. Schreibman)
 - Motion to accept: Yea: 14 Nay: 0 Abstain: 0
- Motion to approve version 3.0 of the protocols and to submit to the Department
 - Motion by: (Dr. Wang) Seconded: (Dr. Satty)
 - Motion to accept: Yea: 14 Nay: 0 Abstain: 0

Public Comment

None

Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting (Dr. Greenfield). Seconded. (Dr. Wang). Approved (Unanimous)

The meeting was adjourned at 10:40 AM