Advisory Commission Members

Public Law 1991, Chapter 401 permanently establishing the Office of Minority Health (OMMH) in the Office of the Commissioner of the Department of Health was signed into law in January of 1992. The Law also provided for the establishment of a New Jersey Office of Minority and Multicultural Health Advisory Commission.

The Commission has a capacity for 9 members. However, the commission will meet to: review and make recommendatios to the NJ OMMH on any rules, regulations and policies proposed by the OMMH.

  • Review and make recommendations to the NJ OMMH on any rules, regulations and policies proposed by the OMMH.

  • Advise the OMMH on the awarding of grants and the development of programs and services required under P.L. 1991. And advise on the needs, priorities, programs and policies related to minorities in New Jersey.

  • Provide other assistance to the Executive Director of OMMH as requested.

Advisory Commission

Denise Rodgers, M.D.  
Vice Chancellor 
Health Care Facility Representative
Ruppert A. Hawes, M.D.
Capital Health
Health Care Professional
Minnie Campbell, D.N.Sc., RN
Seton Hall University, College of Nursing
Health Care Professional
Alison D. Manning, M.S.
Horizon Blue Cross & Blue Shield of NJ
Health Insurance Industry/Representative
Tammeisha D. Smith, B.S.
Alamo Insurance Group, Inc.
Public Member
Deborah Williams, M.D., PhD.
Touro College of Pharmacy
Health Care Professional
Diana L. Zita, CPA
Hamilton Area YMCA
Public Member
Colette Lamothe-Galette, MPH
Director, Office of Population Health
Department of Health
Shereef Elnahal, M.D., M.B.A.
 Acting Commissioner
Department of Health
Ex officio

Contact Person:
Nashon Hornsby
Office of Integrated Health
Division of Community Health Services
Office of Minority and Multicultural Health
(609) 984-1856

Last Reviewed: 1/24/2018