18A:68-1. Right of colleges to give diplomas and confer degrees

Subject to the provisions of this chapter, any college in this state founded or hereafter to be founded under and by virtue of the provisions of a general act of the legislature, may, from time to time, give diplomas and confer degrees upon those who shall successfully complete prescribed courses of study, and confer honorary degrees upon such others as shall be recommended therefor by its board of trustees. Nothing in this section shall be construed to authorize a college to confer any degree or diploma authorizing the practice of medicine, dentistry, or law.

L.1967, c.271.

18A:68-1.1 Voter registration at private colleges, universities.

- 3. The registrar or other principal officer responsible for the registration of students at each eligible institution, as defined by subsection a. of section 3 of P.L.1979, c.132 (C.18A:72B-17), that receives financial assistance, aid or grants from State funds shall:
- a. cause copies of the voter registration forms and instructions furnished under subsection f. of section 16 of P.L.1974, c.30 (C.19:31-6.4) to be displayed at the office of registration for that institution and to be made available to each eligible enrolled student at and each eligible prospective student of the institution who, when appearing in person at that office, may wish on a voluntary basis to register to vote;
- b. provide for the continuous supply of the forms and instructions specified in subsection a. of this section to that office of registration; and
- c. provide the forms and instructions specified in subsection a. of this section in both the English and Spanish languages to each office of registration that is located in any county in which bilingual sample ballots must be provided pursuant to R.S.19:14-21, R.S.19:49-4 or section 2 of P.L.1965, c.29 (C.19:23-22.4).

As used in this section:

"eligible enrolled student" means an individual who is already enrolled in the eligible institution who, by the time of the next election, shall be at least 18 years old, a citizen of the United States, a resident of the State of New Jersey, and a resident of the county in which the individual resides for at least 30 days before the election; and

"eligible prospective student" means an individual who is applying for initial enrollment in the eligible institution who, by the time of the next election, shall be at least 18 years old, a citizen of the United States, a resident of the State of New Jersey, and a resident of the county in which the individual resides for at least 30 days before the election.

L.2003,c.36,s.3.

18A:68-2. Right of seminaries or schools of theology to confer degrees

Subject to the provisions of this chapter, any seminary or school of theology in this state, whether incorporated by special charter or under general laws, may, upon the precedent recommendation, or with the concurrent approval, of the faculty of instruction and after satisfactory examination held on completion of the studies required for the degree, grant to and confer upon a graduate of the institution, or a person who has done approved work therein:

- a. The degree of bachelor of divinity or theology.
- b. The degree of bachelor, master or doctor of sacred theology as may be appropriate in each case.
- c. In the case of a seminary or school of theology which has a full collegiate course preparatory to the theological course, the degree of bachelor of arts. Such an institution may also confer honorary degrees upon persons recommended therefor by the board of trustees or directors thereof. Nothing contained herein shall be construed to authorize such an institution to confer a degree or diploma authorizing the practice of medicine, dentistry or law.

Degrees may be conferred under this section with all honors, rights and privileges usually incident to them when granted in and by universities or the schools of theology in the United States.

L.1967, c.271.

18A:68-3 Filing copy of certificate of incorporation and obtaining license, payments to consultants.

18A:68-3. a. No corporation shall furnish instruction or learning in the arts, sciences, or professions for the purposes of admitting any person to the grade of a degree, or shall confer or participate in conferring a degree, giving to any person a diploma of graduation or of proficiency in a course of study, in learning, or in scientific arts or methods, within this State, until it shall have filed a certified copy of its certificate of incorporation with the Commission on Higher Education and obtained from the commission a license to carry on the business under such rules as the commission may prescribe.

b. The cost for consultants utilized by the Commission on Higher Education and other out-of-pocket expenses incurred by the commission for licensure and related reviews shall be paid by the institution seeking a license or license renewal.

L.1967, c.271; amended 1994, c.48, s.195; 1999, c.46, s.44.

18A:68-4. Revocation of license

18A:68-4. Any license issued under this article may be revoked by the Commission on Higher Education. L.1967, c.271; amended 1994,c.48.s.196.

18A:68-5. Restraint of corporations operating without license

18A:68-5. When it shall appear that any corporation is carrying on the business of such instruction or teaching, or conferring any such degree, or giving any such diploma without such license, the Commission on Higher Education, represented by the Attorney General, may institute a civil action in the Superior Court to restrain the corporation from the transaction of any such business or the exercise of any such franchise within this State until it shall have obtained such license or the approval of the commission. The court may proceed in the action in a summary manner or otherwise. The costs in any such action, to be fixed by the court, shall be paid by the corporation before the dissolution of any injunctive order or judgment.

L.1967, c.271; amended 1994,c.48,s.197.

18A:68-6. Submission and approval as prerequisite to conferring of degrees

18A:68-6. No school, corporation, association or institution of learning conducted within this State and licensed by the Commission on Higher Education, nor any officer or member thereof, in recognition of the attainment or proficiency of any person in pursuing or graduating from any course or courses of study, arts, or learning conducted by it or another such school corporation, association or institution, shall admit any such person to the grade of a degree by conferring, or participating in conferring, any degree upon any person unless that degree program is consistent with the programmatic mission of the institution or is approved by the commission.

Nothing contained in this section shall apply to any school, corporation, association or institution of learning, or officer or member thereof, which was established and conducted within this State on April 1, 1887, and was then in the course of admitting persons to the grade of a degree by conferring the same upon them in recognition of their attainments or proficiencies, nor to any school conducted under the public school system.

L.1967, c.271; amended 1994,c.48,s.198.

18A:68-7. Withdrawal of approval; record of approvals and revocations

18A:68-7. The approval given by the Commission on Higher Education of the basis or conditions for the admission to the grade of a degree may be revoked for proper cause by the commission after hearing upon 20 days' notice of the time and place of such hearing given to any such school, corporation, association or institution of learning by service upon any officer or member thereof, and proof made at such hearing to the satisfaction of the commission, that the standards presented for admission to such grade of a degree or for the conferring of such degree are not being satisfactorily complied with by such school, corporation, association or institution of learning, or by the officers or members thereof. The commission shall keep a record of such

approvals and revocations in a book to be provided and used solely for that purpose, which book shall be kept at its office in Trenton and may be inspected by any person upon request.

L.1967, c.271; amended 1994,c.48,s.199.

18A:68-8. Conferring degree during revocation

The admitting of any person to any such grade of a degree by conferring the same upon him during the continuation of the revocation of such approval shall render any such school, corporation, association or institution of learning, or any officer or member thereof, participating therein, liable to the penalty prescribed by this chapter as though no approval had been granted in the first instance.

L.1967, c.271.

18A:68-9. Penalties; recovery

18A:68-9. An officer or member of a school, corporation, association or institution of learning who by vote or in any other manner or capacity, or a school, corporation, association or institution of learning which shall admit or participate in admitting a scholar, student, or subscriber to any grade of a degree by conferring or participating in conferring any degree upon him, contrary to the provisions of this chapter, or who shall sign any certificate or diploma as evidence of the conferring of such degree shall be liable to a penalty of not more than \$300.00 for each offense, to be enforced and collected by and in the name of the Commission on Higher Education in a summary proceeding in accordance with chapter 58 of Title 2A of the New Jersey Statutes, the penalty enforcement law. Process shall be either in the nature of a summons or warrant.

L.1967, c.271; amended 1994,c.48,s.200.

18A:68-10. Failure to pay penalty

Upon the failure of the defendant to pay forthwith the amount of any money judgment rendered against him the defendant shall be committed to the county jail for a period not exceeding 90 days.

L.1967, c.271.

18A:68-11. Disposition of moneys recovered

18A:68-11. All moneys recovered under the provisions of this article shall be payable to the State Treasurer. L.1977, c. 123, s. 1, eff. June 6, 1977.