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New Jersey Guide to Accessible Parking

Editors Note: Although state law uses the term “handicapped”
parking, the word “handicapped” has been changed to
“accessible” throughout this guide to reflect person-first
language.

Reserved parking for people with disabilities ensures safe and
equal access to goods and services. Accessible parking makes
it possible for individuals with a disability to use and benefit
from the services offered by public and private entities.

Accessible parking requirements in New lJersey are a
combination of New Jersey statutes and Americans with
Disabilities Act (ADA) standards.

Highlights of Accessible Parking In New Jersey

« Every application for the issuance or renewal of a “Person
with a Disability Identification Card” (see Fig. 1), required
every three years, must include medical certification from a
qualified practitioner that the qualifying disability continues
to exist. (N.J.S.A.39:4-205)

* The individual who holds the “Person with a Disability
Identification Card” must be in the vehicle or with the driver
at all times as proof of disability. This card is for the sole use
of the individual with a disability and is non—transferable.
Abuse or misuse of this privilege will be cause for immediate
revocation of the ID card, placard and plates and fines of at
least $250. (N.J.S.A.39:4-205)

+ Permanent Placards (see Fig. 2) are required to be renewed
every three years and will clearly display the date on which
they shall become invalid. (N.J.S.A.39:4-206)

« Temporary Placards (see Fig. 3) can be granted for short-
term mobility impairments. Written medical certification
from a qualified practitioner is required. Temporary Placards
are valid for six months, renewable once at the discretion of
the issuing authority, and issued by the chief of police of each
municipality.(N.J.S.A.39:4-206)




+ Parking motor vehicles in accessible spaces without special
vehicle identification is prohibited and punishable with an
initial fine of $250 and subsequent fines of at least $250 and
up to 90 days of community service. (N.J.S.A.39:4-197(3)c)

+ Municipalities may establish accessible spaces in front
of residences, schools, hospitals, public buildings, and in
shopping and business districts. (N.J.S.A.39:4-197.5)

« Municipalities may establish accessible parking zones in
front of residences occupied by people with disabilities,
unless such parking interferes with the normal traffic flow.
(N.J.S.A.39:4-197.6)

+ Law enforcement officers may enforce accessible parking
laws on both public and private property. (N.J.S.A.39:4-138.(0)

« Municipalities may set up parking enforcement units
that concentrate on shopping centers and malls.
(N.J.S.A.39.4-197.9)

+ Eligible individuals with a disability may request law
enforcement officers to arrange for the removal and storage
of motor vehicles unlawfully parked in accessible parking
spaces or zones. (N.J.S.A.39:4-207.7)

+ Access to parking spaces, curb cuts, or other improvements
designed to provide accessibility, shall be unobstructed.
Owners or controllers of public parking areas must remove
snow orice fromthese areas within 24 hours afterthe weather
condition causing the snow and/or ice ceases. Violation
of this act is punishable with penalties of S500 to $1,000.
(N.J.S.A.394:4-207.9)

* No penalty shall be imposed on those with valid “Person
with a Disability Identification Cards” for overtime parking in
one location for up to 24 hours, as long as the person with
the disability is either the driver or passenger of the vehicle.
(N.J.S.A.39:4-207)

(Note: metered parking is delegated to local municipalities by
N.J.S.A. 39:4-197; The 24 hour limit is set forth in N.J.S.A. 39:4-207)
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ADA Standards Outline the Following:

+ Accessible parking spaces must be identified by signs that
include the International Symbol of Accessibility.

« Access aisles must be marked.

+ An accessible route must adjoin each access aisle serving
accessible parking spaces. The accessible route connects
each access aisle to accessible entrances.

+ Accessible parking spaces must be located on the shortest
accessible route of travel to an accessible entrance.

+ Accessible parking spaces and the required accessible route
should be located where individuals with disabilities do not
have to cross vehicular lanes or pass behind parked vehicles
to have access to an accessible entrance. If it is necessary
to cross a vehicular lane - for example, perhaps local fire
access requirements prohibit parking immediately adjacent
to a building - then a marked crossing running perpendicular
to the vehicular route should be included as part of the
accessible route to an accessible entrance.

+ One in every six accessible parking spaces must be van
accessible.

Person with a Disability ID Card and Placards

FIGURE 1: Person with a Disability
Identification Card

PERSON WITH A DISABILITY ID
PLACARD#: PH123458 GOOD THRU: 12/2023

JANE SAMPLE HDC PLACARDS 50

225 EAST STATE STREET DL:S0370 38400 54572

TRENTON NJ 08666 REPLACEMENT  PT:PA
EQ:0 FEE: 0.00 KC QT20233250004




FIGURE 2: Permanent Person FIGURE 3: Temporary Person
with a Disability Placard with a Disability Placard

NEW JERSEY NEW JERSEY
MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION

CAUTION CAUTION
E LAW! REM HE LAW!

P1201001 T 102001

Placard or Plate Holder Cannot
Parkin the Following Areas:

+ Striped access aisles adjacent to accessible parking spaces.
+ Parking meters without depositing a coin.
+ Parking meters beyond a 24-hour period.

+ Otherareas prohibited by law including within an intersection,
onacrosswalk, in any area appropriately marked “no parking,”
within 50 feet of a stop sign or within 10 feet of a fire hydrant.

Remember: Restricted parking placards and plates are to be
used solely by the individual with the qualifying disability. If
someone without a disability uses another person’s placard or
plates, the Motor Vehicle Commission or issuing locality may
revoke the placard/plates, deny renewal, and issue fines of at

least $250.
Stel=
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What are Business or Facility Owners

and Operators Required To Do?

Owners or operators of any facility that provides public
parking, whether an indoor or outdoor garage or parking lot,
are required to provide accessible parking in accordance with
federal and state laws. Enforcement of motor vehicle laws,
including parking privileges, is a local matter.

Complaints About Illegal Parking...
What Can Be Done?

+ Ask a state, county or municipal law enforcement officer to
ticket an illegally parked car and to arrange for the removal
and storage of the vehicle.

+ Complain to a shopping center manager or business owner.
Ask them to inform the local authorities.

+ File a complaint with your local municipality.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: How many accessible parking spaces are required?

A: The number of accessible parking spaces required depends
on the total number of parking spaces in the lot or garage.

In accordance with the ADA standards of accessible design,
when there is new construction or an alteration of previously
constructed parking spaces, it is required that at least one
accessible space in every parking lot and one in every six
accessible parking spaces be van accessible, with increased
dimensions of at least 11 feet and an access aisle of at least
5 feet.




Required # Required # of

of accessible | accessible van

Total # Requireo_l # | van spaces if spaces if
o of accessible | constructed constructed
spaces or altered or altered
prior to on or after
3/15/2012 3/15/2012
At least 1in
each lot e e
1-25 1 1 1
26-50 2 1 1
51-75 3 1 1
79-100 4 1 1
101-150 5 1 1
151-200 6 1 1
201-300 7 1 2
301-400 8 1 2
401-500 9 2 2
51-1,000 2% of total 1in every 8 1inevery 6
20 + 1 for
Over 1,000 | each100over | 1linevery 8 1inevery 6
1,000

Q: How must accessible parking spaces and access aisles be

marked?

A: The parking spaces and access aisles must be painted
in a color (most often blue) contrasting with other spaces.
Signage with the International Symbol of Accessibility and
the penalty sign must be provided at each accessible parking
space and must be permanently installed 5 to 7 feet above the
ground. Signs identifying van parking spaces shall contain the
designation “van accessible.” The required “van accessible”
designation is intended to be informative, not restrictive,
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in identifying spaces that are better suited for van use. The
access aisle for both accessible car and van spaces is required
to be a minimum of 5 feet wide. Access aisles shall adjoin an
accessible route, shall be marked to discourage parking in
them, and shall extend the full length of the parking spaces
they serve. Also, two parking spaces may share a common
access aisle.

Q: Can accessible parking spaces be the same size as non-
accessible spaces, as long as the appropriate signs are placed
in front of the space?

[ﬁ ° %7
A: No. Accessible car parking g
spaces must be at least 8 feet — ;Zﬂ
wide. Accessible van parking ] [ g }
spaces must be at least 11 feet VR % ] [
wide. The access aisle for both [ ) s E
accessible car and van spaces | | |® L=
is required to be a minimum of 5 | 9ich |eoinch)  132inch |
feet. Cr e van

Q: If a parking lot does not have spaces designated for people
with disabilities because it was paved a long time ago, before
these requirements were in place, does it now have to provide
accessible parking spaces?

A: Yes. The ADA requires private entities to remove barriers to
become compliant. Therefore, even if business owners are not
planning any type of construction, they are still obligated to
remove barriers that are readily achievable.

Q: Is my wheelchair symbol license plate/placard valid when
traveling outside of New Jersey?

A: Not always. Check with the state you intend to visit.
Reciprocity is standard for some but not all states. For example,
a New Jersey placard/pate is not valid on New York City streets,
as NYC requires their own accessible parking permit. However,
a motor vehicle with a special license plate, placard or parking
permit issued to a person with a disability by another state,




district or territory of the United States or by Canada shall be
entitled to accessible parking privileges in New Jersey. (39:4-
207.5)

Q: Storeowners and other businesses often receive complaints
from patrons about other customers who illegally park in the
accessible parking spaces or misuse the spots by parking in
the striped area next to the space. What should they do?

A: Instances in which individuals illegally park in a space
marked for accessible parking should be reported to the proper
law enforcement authorities. In your area, if the local police are
responsible for addressing violations, they should be notified
as soon as possible. If a local security company staff patrols
your parking area, they should be notified.

Q: Is a person with a wheelchair symbol license plate/placard
required to deposit money when parking at a metered space?

A: Yes. When parking at a metered space, a driver with a
disability placard/license plate must put the appropriate
amount of money in the meter. If the vehicle will occupy the
space for more than the maximum amount of time allotted on
the meter, the driver must fill the meterto the maximum amount
allowed. This will permit the vehicle to occupy the space for up
to 24 hours without having to come back and refill the meter. A
municipality may require the vehicle to vacate the space after
24 hours.

(Note: metered parking is delegated to local municipalities by
N.J.S.A. 39:4-197; The 24 hour limit is set forth in N.J.S.A. 39:4-
207)

Q: Are Disabled Veteran placards and Purple Heart placards
the same as Person with a Disability placards?

A: No - Disabled Veteran and Purple Heart placards do not give
the holder authorization to park in accessible parking spaces.

New Jersey law (N.J.S.A. 39:4-207.10) permits exemption from
payment of municipal parking meter fees, for up to 24 hours,
fordisabled veterans and Purple Heart recipients under certain,
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specific circumstances:

« The parked vehicle is owned by the disabled veteran or the
Purple Heart recipient.

« The disabled veteran or Purple Heart recipient is the driver or
a passenger in that vehicle.

+ The vehicle displays a unique placard issued by the MVC.

The holder of a disabled veteran or Purple Heart recipient
placard can also be issued a Person with a Disability (PWAD)
placard, if eligible. However, these unique placards do not
replace a Person with a Disability Placard.

Q: How can | apply for a person with a disability license plate
or permanent placard?

A: The application and instruction checklist can be obtained
on the Motor Vehicle Commission website at: www.state.nj.us/
myvc/vehicles/disability.htm; by visiting your nearest Motor
Vehicle Commission facility; or by calling the Motor Vehicle
Commission at 609-292-6500, Special Plates x5061 and
requesting that they be mailed to you. The same application
is used for first-time (initial), renewal, and replacement
plate and permanent placard requests. A “Person with a
Disability Identification Card” will be issued following an initial
application and must be used in conjunction with a plate and/
or permanent placard. Qualified applicants receive one set
of wheelchair symbol license plates for a vehicle registered
either to the qualified person with a disability OR to one family
member who provides the qualified person with transportation
(aka driver).
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FOR MORE INFORMATION

NEW JERSEY HUMAN SERVICES

°DDS

. . DIVISION OF
DISABILITY
@\ scrvices
New Jersey Human Services Division of Disability Services
PO Box 705 Trenton, NJ 08625-0705

1-888-285-3036
www.nj.gov/humanservices/dds

== MVC

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
Special Plate Unit
225 East State Street
PO Box 15
Trenton, NJ 08666-0015
609-292-6500 Special Plates x5061
www.nj.gov/mvc/vehicles/disability.htm

ADA Information Line

1-800 514-0301 (Voice)

1-800-514-0383 (TTY)
www.ADA.gov
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PARKING THERE FOR “JUST A MINUTE ...”
is 60 SECONDS TOO LONG!

Never park in a space reserved for people with
disabilities UNLESS you have a Person with a Disability
Identification Card and identifying placard/plates. It's
the courteous thing to do - - and it’s the law.

REMEMBER: Do not park in the striped access aisles
next to spaces reserved for people with disabilities,
even if you have a placard or plates. The access aisles
provide room for wheelchair users to transfer safely to
and from their vehicles.

This publication is designed as a resource only; it is not
a substitute for the law or statute related to accessible

parking.
gvleMAN SERVICES

State of New Jersey Department of
Human Services

Phil Murphy, Governor

Tahesha L. Way, Sarah Adelman,
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