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MEDICAID COMMUNICATION NO: 91-21 DATE: September 17, 1991

TO: County Welfare Agency Directors

Medically Needy/New Jersey Care Units

SUBJECT: Expanded Eligibil ity For Newborns

As a result of changes mandated by the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of
1990, there has been a change in regulations covering Medicaid eligibility
for newborn infants.

Previously, any child whose mother was Medicaid eligible at the time of the
child's birth was also considered eligible for up to one year, as long as
the mother remained eligible and as long as the child remained in the
mother's home. Since most AFDC mothers remained eligible after delivering a
child, and most Medically Needy, New Jersey Care and many Medicaid Special

mothers did not, AFDC children essentially received a one-year guarantee of
continued el igibil ity, while New Jersey Care and Medically Needy infants,
and those born to certain Medicaid Special mothers, required that an

application be submitted for continuing eligibility beyond the 60-day post­
partum eligibility period. The significant difference in the new amendment
is inclusion of language which confers continued eligibility to a newborn
whose mother was eligible at the time of the delivery, or would remain

eligible if pregnant. The addition of the phrase" ... or would remain
eligible if pregnant" provides for continued eligibility for all newborns
who were excepted under the language of the previous regulations.

A pregnant woman, once she is found eligible for Medicaid, cannot be found
ineligible as a result of any change in circumstances which occurred
subsequent to that finding of initial eligibility. Therefore, once the

pregnant woman is Medicaid eligible, it is assumed that, unless she dies or

moves out of State, she remains eligible as long as she is pregnant. That
assumption virtually guarantees her newborn eligibility of up to one year,
without requiring that she submit an application, unless she relinquishes
custody of the newborn. Of course, the providers have been asked to notify
CWAs via a PA-1C of the child's birth, and they have also been advised to

urge the mother to provide some formal notification of the child's birth.

In the meantime, providers may submit claims under the mother's
identification and person number, as in the past, for the 60-day period

following the child's birth. By the time the extended eligibility period
has elapsed, the CWA should have received notification and assigned the

child his/her own person number, which providers may then begin to use for
any Medicaid services provided for that child up to the first birthday. The
regulatory amendments do not provide any time beyond the extended 60-day

period for providers to bill under the mother's person number.
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In September of 1989, Medicaid Communication No. 89-21 (copy attached) was
issued to address the initial regulations which provided automatic

eligibility for newborns. Generally, the instructions provided in this
communication remain in force, with the exception of:

1) The requirement that Medically Needy, New Jersey Care and Medicaid
Special mothers must apply on behalf of the newborn prior to the
expiration of the 60-day post-partum period no longer applies. The

mother is not obligated to act until the child is approaching his
or her first birthday.

2) Tne requirement that the CWA must establish a termination date on
the child's eligibility record which coincides with the end of the
mother's post-partum eligibility is no longer in effect. The
county is not required to leave the child's eligibility record
open-ended, but may establish a termination date reflecting the

full one-year eligibility period.

These changes do not affect or change the eligibility status of, or
requirements imposed upon the mother of the newborn, insofar as establishing

continued eligibility for herself or other family members.

Any questions concerning this communication should be referred to the field
service staff assigned to your county.

Jncerely,

~~~

Saul M. Kilstein

Director

SMK:PSd

Attachment

cc: Marion E. Reitz, Director
Division of Economic Assistance

Nicholas R. Scalera, Director

Division of Youth and Family Services
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MEDICAID COMMUNICATION NO: 89-21 Date: September 11, 1989

TO: County Welfare Agency Directors
Medically Needy/New Jersey Care Units

SUBJECT: Medicaid Eligibility for Newborns

In response to numerous provider and recipient comments and concerns, as

well as changes in federal requirements concerning the expeditious
eligibility processing and payment of claims for services provided to
newborns, the Division has modified its policies concerning the payments of
such claims, as well as the process for adding these children to the
Medicaid case.

As you are aware, expenses incurred for newborns in the hospital of delivery
during the mother's confinement (except inpatient hospital expenses for
Medically Needy newborns) a~e payable under the mother's Medicaid
identification number and person number. However, in the past, when the

mother ~as discharged from the hospital, eligibility could not be
established for the child until the mother reported the birth to the CWA and
provided the necessary documentation to add the child to the case.

In instances where the infant remained hospitalized after the mother's

discharge, or needed to be transferred to another medical facility, payments
to providers have been delayed if the mother was slow in reporting the

child's birth or providing the necessary information. Occasionally, such

payments are denied altogether if a critically ill child never left the
hospital to join the household and the mother did not report the birth.

This has created serious problems for neonatal providers and facilities

which handle the most seriously ill newborns requiring the most costly,
intensive care.

Under the provisions of federal law, any child who is born to a woman who is
receiving Medicaid at the time of delivery's deemed to have applied for,

and is eligible for Medicaid for up to one year from the date of birth,

unless the .mother ceases to ~e eligible or the child does not reside with
;er. Federal law also confers continued eligibility to the mother,
regardless of income or resources, for 60 days after the birth of a child,

even if she would have been otherwise ineligible. Such eligibility
continues to the end of the month during which the 60th day occurs. Because

the newborn child's eligibility is linked to the mother's at this point, and

because the mother generally cannot be ineligible during that 60-day
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extension, the child is eligible for a minimum of 60 days, so long as he or
she resides with the mother. For purposes of this communication, a child is
considered to be residing with the mother, even if he or she remains

hospitalized, unless the mother has relinquished custody.

Newborns may now be added to the Medicaid record, even if the mother

postpones or fails altogether to notify the CWA of the birth. Consequently,
receipt of a PA-1C from a hospital will be sufficient to add a newborn child

to the Medicaid eligibility record. Attached is a copy of the PA-1C,
revised to include information on newborns. Upon receipt of such

notification from a provider, the CWA must: 1) assign the child a person

number; 2) accrete the child to the Medicaid Eligibility File effective with

the date of the child's birth, and terminating with the end of the post­
partum eligibility period, as defined for the mother. The Medicaid

eligibility record may be established without a Social Security number for
the infant; however, every effort should be made to have the mother obtain a

SSN for the child as soon as possible. Depending upon the date of
notification, a temporary card may be issued to include the newborn with any
other individuals in the case. The mother should be advised to report the

child's Medi id number to all providers.

A Medically Needy or New Jersey Care pregnant woman, who is not otherwise

eligible will lose eligibility after the 60-day post-partum period. In
these cases, the newborn's eligibility will not extend beyond the mother's

eligibility period unless she has contacted the agency, submitted an
application on behalf of the child, and the child is found eligible beyond
the post-partum period. However, even if the mother establishes continued

eligibility for herself under another program, in no event can the child's

eligibility continue beyond the end of the month during which the child's
first birthday occurs, unless. the mother applies separately to establish the

child's eligibility.

Since eligibility for the post-partum period is limited to individuals who

apply and are eligible to receive benefits upon the birth of the child, a

woman who applies for retroactive Medicaid after the birth of a child, is

not eligible for the 60-day post-partum continuation of Medicaid, nor is the

child automatically eligible. If the mother is found eligible for Medicaid

as a pregnant woman during the retroactive period, such eligibility cannot

continue beyond the month of delivery. All applicable eligibility

guidelines must have been met during the retroactive period. For Medically

Needy cases, prospective eligibility for the child may be determined when

the mother applies for retroactive benefits at the county agency. For New

Jersey Care cases, because retroactive eligibility is determined at the

Division, prospective eligibility for the child must be determined

separately. However, the mother may only be eligible following the birth of
the child if she meets the requirements of another eligibility category.



·

Medicaid Communication No: 89-21
Page 3

Any questions concerning this communication should be referred to the field
service staff assigned to your county.

Sincerely,

~~~(L~~~
Saul M. Kilstein
Director

SMK:PSd

Attachment

cc: Marion E. Reitz, Director

Division of Economic Assistance

William Waldman, Director

Division of Youth and Family Services
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PUBLIC ASSISTANCE INQUIRY

crerral for: CJ SSI CJ New Jersey Care CJ Medicaid Only CJ AFDC CJ Newborn (complete items 1.2•.••11•.•150121'

TO: fROM:

(SSA I DO) --=-__ -;:::::;- _(County Welfare Alency) HeIp\\aI--------
De&c: _

I. Name: ,- ~_----------- _
(1..&11) (Finl) (hhll4le)

(For newborn referral. enter name and sex of parent.)

o ~
Sex 0 f

2. Social Security Account Number:

Unknown CSeparated 0Divorced 0Single 0•. Marital Status: (Check one) Married 0
3. Permanent Home Address: Telephone:

Widowed 0
S. Date of Admission: _______________ Date of Binh: _

6. Address From ~;hi,h Admiucd: Telephone:

t>iqnosis:

a. ProJnosis;

9. Referrinl Physician: _________________________ Telephone: _

_______________ A,e: __ Telephone:10. Spouse: Name:

Address: _

(a) Newborn Data: Name' Date of Binh: _

JI.M~orC~dren~l~mu~~~-------------------------~O~~M ~ 0 F

Motber's HSP (M~icaid) Case No.: - __

12. Next of Kin (If DIM' INm Spouse 0' Childrm;'

-------_ Medicare 0 H.I.C. No.: --------

Address: Telepbone: _

13. Gross Montbly Income of Patient: Source: _

I•. Gross Monthly Income of Family Members: _

IS. Hospital Insurance: Blue Cross 0 J.D. No.:

Applicable to Newborn? Yes 0 No 0
,--

Other 0 Carrier Name: Policy No.: _

16. Employer's Name: Address: -----

7. Name oC Spousc's Employer: Address: _



II. What inquiries have been made reaardin, financial mpoDSibilit)' (or tbe bospital bill?

WMt were the results? _

19. Does patient, patient's authorized agent, or relatives know that an inquiry is beina made for the previously checked proaram?

Yes CJ NoD

20. Whereabouts:

Is client still in hospital'? YcsO NoD

YES, anticipated address upon discharge:

If NO, date of discharge: _

Present address if known:

21. Other Comments: _

22. 1t l':iove patient is being cared for in the hospital sin~ on a ward ser"lce or Jeneral serv;A.
Ow

basis as to professional and other peno r.a. ser"ices and [ believe that such a patient may be elipble for the previously checked
proJT&m ..

Signature: Title: Date: _

.ure of Patient or Relative: Date:

PLEASE R EAD CARE-FULLY BEFORE SIGNING

I uDderstand that I mu.st furnish certain informatioa to the 5S'" 00 or the County Welfare Aaency to establish elipbility and utent
of Deed for Supplemental Sccl.lnty }n,cOIlK&n~fiu or public usatan('~. and that tbe appropnate aaency will belp to secure this information
aDd verily it. I will supply complete and accurate information, within my bowled,e, to representatives of the SSAr 00 or the County
We1fa."eAacncy. I hereby authorize and direct my relatives. physician. hospital. employers, bankers, aDd any other person bavinl information
concerninl the penons named above to furnish collll'lete details to the appropriate aaency investilatin, my application for SllCh ISslStance.
I uDderstand that the information ob~~neQ 'ftlUbe ;aed only in connection witb tbe app1ic&t.ioD(or or receipt of wiJanc:e.

"1 funhcr authorize the Social Security Administration to release bene'tit information and entitlement dates to the bospital whose name
appean on tbe reverse of this (or:n. 1 l.Indersta.Dd the bospiw will ()nly use thu wormation fOT purposes of establiJhinl my eli,ibllity
to Medicaid."

iiJnature: Relationshi": Date: _

F NOT SIGNED BY PATIE~T, EXPLAIN WHY:

iOTICE TO THE SSA/D· (')R CWA INITIALLY RECEIVING THIS INQUIRY. WHEN IT IS NECESSARY TO REFER
-HE APPLICANT TO At-. ....(HER PUBUC ASSISTANCE AGENCY. INCLUDE AT LEAST A COpy OF THIS PA-Ie
:ORM.


