New Jersey Department of Human Services
Division of Aging Services

AT-RISK CRITERIA FOR NURSING FACILITY PLACEMENT

The following is a list of “at-risk” criteria to assist providers in determining if a referral for long term care
services, either in a nursing facility or in the community, is indicated.

l. Medical — Has the patient experienced any of the following:

1. Catastrophic illness requiring major changes in lifestyle and/or living conditions, i.e. Multiple
Sclerosis, Stroke, Multiple Trauma, AIDS, Amputation, Neurological Disease, Cancer, Birth
Defect(s), End Stage Renal Disease.

2 Debilitation and/or chronic iliness causing progressive deterioration of self-care skills, i.e.
Diabetes, Fractures, Progressive Pulmonary Disease, Severe Chronic Diseases, Spina
Bifida.

3. Multiple hospital admissions within the past six (6) months. (Do not refer patients admitted
directly from nursing facilities.)

4, Previous nursing facility admissions within the past two (2) years.

5. Major health needs, i.e. tube feedings, special equipment or treatments,

rehabilitative/restorative services.
Il. Social — In addition to the medical criteria, does patient meet any of the following social situations:

1. Living arrangements are uncertain
2. Lives alone and/or has no immediate support system
3. Primary caregiver is not able to provide required care services
4, Lack of adequate support systems
Il. Financial (as of 1/1/19) — Does the patient meet any of the following income/assets tests:
1. Currently eligible for Medicaid
2. Monthly income at/or below the current Medicaid institutional cap of $2,313 and:
a. Has no spouse in the community and resources no greater than $2,000 (plus $1,500
burial fund), or
b. Has no spouse in the community and resources below $65,000 (plus $1,500 burial

fund). This is an indication that the patient may become Medicaid eligible within the
next six (6) months by spending down assets in a nursing facility as private pay, or

C. Has a spouse in the community with combined countable resources at/or below
$123,600 (plus $1,500 burial fund). This allows for calculation of the community
spouse’s resources under the Medicare Catastrophic Coverage Act of 1988.

3. Monthly income at/or below the current New Jersey Care Special Medicaid Program’s
maximum monthly income limit of $1,041 and:

a. Has no spouse in the community and resources no greater than $2,000 (plus $1,500
burial fund), or

b. Has no spouse in the community and resources at/or below $65,000 (plus $1,500
burial fund). This is an indication that the patient may become Medicaid eligible within
the next six (6) months by spending down assets in a nursing facility as private pay,
or

C. Has a spouse in the community with combined countable resources at/or below
$123,600 (plus $1,500 burial fund). This allows for calculation of the community
spouse’s resources under the Medicare Catastrophic Coverage Act of 1988.
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