State of New Jersey
Executive Order #8

Governor Christine Todd Whitman

This executive order updates EO #1 Whitman.

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 1 (1994) established the New Jersey Economic Master Plan Commission ("Commission") consisting of a Chairperson and twelve (12) members appointed by the Governor, including the Secretary of State and the Commissioners of Commerce and Labor; and

WHEREAS, reaction to the Commission has been extremely positive and many people have expressed an interest in serving as public members of the Commission; and

WHEREAS, the call for broad public participation on the Commission should be accommodated;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, CHRISTINE TODD WHITMAN, Governor of the State of New Jersey, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the Constitution and by the Statutes of this State, do hereby ORDER and DIRECT:

1. The Commission's membership shall be expanded and shall consist of a Chairperson and eighteen (18) members appointed by the Governor, including the Secretary of State, the Commissioner of the Departments of Commerce and Labor and the Chief of Policy and Planning.

2. Except as herein modified all of the provisions of Executive Order No. 1 (1994) shall remain in full force and effect.

3. This Order shall take effect immediately.

GIVEN, under my hand and seal,
this 15 day of February in the Year
of Our Lord, one thousand nine
hundred and ninety-four, and of the
Independence of the United States,
the two hundred and eighteenth.

/s/ Christine Todd Whitman


/s/ Peter Verniero
Chief Counsel to the Governor