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LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT 

DIVISION OF WAGE AND HOUR COMPLIANCE 

N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1, 3.2 and 3.3 

Notice of Administrative Changes 

Minimum Wage 

Take notice that the Department of Labor and Workforce Development has requested, 

and the Office of Administrative Law has agreed to permit, administrative changes to N.J.A.C. 

12:56-3.1(a); 12:56-3.2(a) and 12:56-3.3(a).  

N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1(a) states: “Except as provided at N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.2, 3.3, 3.4, and 3.5, 

every employee shall, effective January 1, 2020, be paid not less than $11.00 per hour or the 

minimum wage rate set by section 6(a)(1) of the Federal "Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938" (29 

U.S.C. § 206(a)(1), whichever is greater.”  Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1(b), for the period from 

January 1, 2020 through January 1, 2024, on an annual basis, on or about September 30, the 

Department shall revise the minimum hourly wage rate, “so as to be the greater of either an 

amount based on any percentage increase during the one-year period of August of the prior year 

through August of the current year of the consumer price index (CPI) for all urban wage earners 

and clerical workers (CPI-W, U.S. City Average), as released by the United States Department of 

Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics” or the following: “for January 1, 2020, $11.00; for January 1, 

2021, $12.00; for January 1, 2022, $13.00; for January 1, 2023, $14.00; and for January 1, 2024, 

$15.00.”  N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1 indicates further that the Department shall annually, (1) through a 

public notice published in the New Jersey Register, provide the new minimum hourly wage rate, 

and (2) no later than September 30 of each year, publish the public notice on the Department’s 
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website.  The percent increase in the CPI-W, U.S. City Average, for the one-year period, August 

2020 through August 2021 is 5.83 percent. That is, the CPI-W, U.S. City Average, in August 

2020 was 253.597, and in August 2021 it was 268.387.  Consequently, the change in the index 

over the period equaled 14.790 or an increase of 5.83 percent (14.790/253.597 x 100).  Using as 

a base for the CPI-adjustment the current New Jersey minimum hourly wage rate of $12.00, a 

5.83 percent increase (rounded to the nearest penny) is $0.70, which would result in a CPI-

adjusted minimum hourly wage rate of $12.70. Since $12.70 is less than the $13.00 rate set forth 

at N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1(b)2 for January 1, 2022, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4(a) and N.J.A.C. 

12:56-3.1(b), the State minimum hourly wage rate, effective January 1, 2022, must be changed 

from $12.00 to $13.00.  

N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.2(a) states: “Except as provided at N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.3 and 3.4, every 

employee of a small employer and every employee who is engaged in seasonal employment 

shall, effective January 1, 2020, be paid not less than $10.30 per hour or the minimum wage rate 

set by section 6(a)(1) of the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, 29 U.S.C. § 206(a)(1), 

whichever is greater.”  Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.2(b), for the period from January 1, 2020 

through January 1, 2026, on an annual basis, on or about September 30, the Department shall 

revise the minimum hourly wage rate for employees of small employers and employees who are 

engaged in seasonal employment, “so as to be the greater of either an amount based on any 

percentage increase during the one-year period of August of the prior year through August of the 

current year of the consumer price index (CPI) for all urban wage earners and clerical workers 

(CPI-W, U.S. City Average), as released by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of 

Labor Statistics” or the following: “for January 1, 2020, $10.30; for January 1, 2021, $11.10; for 

January 1, 2022, $11.90; for January 1, 2023, $12.70; for January 1, 2024, $13.50; for January 1, 
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2025, $14.30; and for January 1, 2026, $15.00.”  N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.2 indicates further that the 

Department shall annually, (1) through a public notice published in the New Jersey Register, 

provide the new minimum hourly wage rate for employees of small employers and employees 

who are engaged in seasonal employment, and (2) no later than September 30 of each year, 

publish the public notice on the Department’s website.  Using as a base for the CPI-adjustment 

the current New Jersey minimum hourly wage rate for employees of small employers and 

employees who are engaged in seasonal employment of $11.10, a 5.83 percent increase (rounded 

to the nearest penny) is $0.65, which would result in a CPI-adjusted minimum hourly wage rate 

for employees of small employers and employees who are engaged in seasonal employment of 

$11.75.  Since $11.75 is less than the $11.90 rate set forth at N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.2(b)2 for January 

1, 2022, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4(c) and N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.2(b), the State minimum 

hourly wage rate for employees of small employers and employees who are engaged in seasonal 

employment, effective January 1, 2022, must be changed from $11.10 to $11.90. 

N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.3(a) states: “Every employee engaged on a piece-rate or regular hourly 

rate basis to labor on a farm shall, effective January 1, 2020, be paid not less than $10.30 per 

hour or the minimum wage rate set by section 6(a)(1) of the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act of 

1938, 29 U.S.C. § 206(a)(1), whichever is greater.”  Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.3(b) and (c), 

for the period from January 1, 2020 through January 1, 2027, on an annual basis, on or about 

September 30, the Department shall revise the minimum hourly wage rate for employees 

engaged on a piece-rate or regular hourly rate basis to labor on a farm, “so as to be the greater of 

either an amount based on any percentage increase during the one-year period of August of the 

prior year through August of the current year of the consumer price index (CPI) for all urban 

wage earners and clerical workers (CPI-W, U.S. City Average), as released by the United States 
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Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics” or the following: “for January 1, 2020 $10.30; 

for January 1, 2021, $10.30; for January 1, 2022, $10.90; for January 1, 2023, $11.70; for 

January 1, 2024, $12.50; for January 1, 2025, $13.40; for January 1, 2026, $14.20; and for 

January 1, 2027, $15.00.”  N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.3 indicates further that the Department shall 

annually, (1) through a public notice published in the New Jersey Register, provide the new 

minimum hourly wage rate for employees engaged on a piece-rate or regular hourly rate basis to 

labor on a farm and (2) no later than September 30 of each year, publish the public notice on the 

Department’s website.  Using as a base for the CPI-adjustment the current New Jersey minimum 

hourly wage rate for employees engaged on a piece-rate or regular hourly rate basis to labor on a 

farm of $10.44, a 5.83 percent increase (rounded to the nearest penny) is $0.61, which would 

result in a CPI-adjusted minimum hourly wage rate for employees of small employers and 

employees who are engaged in seasonal employment of $11.05.  Since $11.05 is more than the 

$10.90 rate set forth at N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.3(b)2 for January 1, 2022, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 34:11-

56a4(d) and N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.3(b), the State minimum hourly wage rate for employees engaged 

on a piece-rate or regular hourly rate basis to labor on a farm, effective January 1, 2022, must be 

changed from $10.44 to $11.05. 

On the basis of the foregoing, the following administrative changes must be made: 

(1) To N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1(a): the date, January 1, 2021, must be replaced by the 

date, January 1, 2022, and the amount, $12.00, must be replaced by the amount, $13.00. 

(2) To N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.2(a): the date, January 1, 2021, must be replaced by the 

date, January 1, 2022, and the amount, $11.10, must be replaced by the amount, $11.90. 
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(3) To N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.3(a): the date, January 1, 2021, must be replaced by the 

date, January 1, 2022, and the amount, $10.44, must be replaced by the amount, $11.05. 

 

Full text of the changed rule follows (additions indicated in boldface thus; deletions 

indicated in brackets [thus]): 

 

12:56-3.1 Statutory minimum wage rates for specific years 

(a) Except as provided at N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.2, 3.3, 3.4, and 3.5, every employee shall, 

effective [January 1, 2021] January 1, 2022, be paid not less than [$12.00] $13.00 per hour or 

the minimum wage rate set by section 6(a)(1) of the Federal "Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938" 

(29 U.S.C. § 206(a)(1), whichever is greater. 

(b)-(d) (No change.)  

 

12:56-3.2 Statutory minimum wage rate for specific years; small and seasonal employees 

(a) Except as provided at N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.3 and 3.4, every employee of a small 

employer and every employee who is engaged in seasonal employment shall, effective [January 

1, 2021] January 1, 2022, be paid not less than [$11.10] $11.90 per hour or the minimum wage 

rate set by section 6(a)(1) of the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, 29 U.S.C. § 

206(a)(1), whichever is greater. 

(b)-(f) (No change.) 
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12:56-3.3 Statutory minimum wage rate for specific years; labor on a farm 

(a) Every employee engaged on a piece-rate or regular hourly rate basis to labor on a 

farm shall, effective [January 1, 2021] January 1, 2022, be paid not less than [$10.44] $11.05 

per hour or the minimum wage rate set by section 6(a)(1) of the Federal Fair Labor Standards 

Act of 1938, 29 U.S.C. § 206(a)(1), whichever is greater. 

(b)-(i) (No change.) 

 

 


