Earned Sick Leave in New Jersey

mr snotty

New Jersey’s Earned Sick Leave Law - Effective October 29, 2018

Employers of all sizes must now provide full-time, part-time, and temporary employees with up to 40 hours of earned sick leave per year so they can care for themselves or a family member.

Read press release: Earned Sick Leave Law Goes into Effect in NJ

Information for Employees

You have the right to up to 40 hours of earned sick leave each year to care for yourself and your family.


If You Believe Your Earned Sick Rights Have Been Violated
Employees may click here to download the wage claim form. In the section “Claim Reason Details,” you may now select “Earned Sick Leave.”

Click here to file a wage claim online.

Information for Employers

NJ businesses of all sizes are now required to provide full-time, part-time, and temporary employees with up to 40 hours of paid sick time per year.

 

Laws and Rules

 

Information in Additional Languages

The required Notice of Employee Rights is currently available in 12 languages, in addition to English.

 

Questions?

Email wage.hour@dol.nj.gov or call 609-292-2305 on weekdays between 8:30 am and 4 pm and ask for information about Earned Sick Leave.

Do you need an extended or recurring period of time to care for yourself or a family member? You may qualify for other benefits. See myleavebenefits.nj.gov.

NJDOL prepared this webpage to provide guidance about the new law and will update it as additional information becomes available. Please check back regularly and note the date at the bottom of this page.

Page Updated 01/10/19