

CHRIS CHRISTIE
Governor

KIM GUADAGNO Lieutenant Governor DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT
WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT
CENTER FOR OCCUPATIONAL EMPLOYMENT
INFORMATION (COEI)
TRAINING EVALUATION UNIT
PO BOX 057
TRENTON, NJ 08625-0057

AARON R. FICHTNER, Ph.D. Acting Commissioner

February 1, 2017

## Dear Training Provider Director:

On December 19, 2016, new regulations pertaining to the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development's (LWD) Center for Occupational Employment Information were adopted at New Jersey Administrative Code Title 12, Chapter 41 (*N.J.A.C.* 12:41). These regulations repeal *N.J.A.C.* 12:41-5.1, which set forth the Chapter 531 Training Provider approval process.

You are receiving this letter because you are an approved Chapter 531 Training Provider under LWD's Training Provider approval process serving solely the needs of eligible recipients of Federal or State supported training programs under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act, Workforce Investment Act, Workforce Development Program and the Work First New Jersey programs.

Effective immediately, the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development will no longer approve or renew Chapter 531 Training Providers to operate in New Jersey.

## What does this mean?

- Effective immediately, LWD will no longer accept Initial or Renewal Applications under the Chapter 531 Training Provider approval process.
- Effective immediately, each Chapter 531 Training Provider operating in a current approval cycle must submit a Private Career School Initial Application within 90 days of this notice (applications must be postmarked no later than May 2, 2017) in order to continue to operate and receive student referrals from the One-Stop Career Centers. *N.J.A.C.* 12:41-2.1(e).
- Chapter 531 Training Providers that submit a <u>fully completed</u> Private Career School Initial Application
  within 90 days of this notice (applications must be postmarked no later than May 2, 2017) will be
  permitted to continue to operate during LWD's processing of the Private Career School application. A
  fully completed application must contain all required information, fees and documents in good
  standing.
- LWD will waive the pre-approval facilities inspection required pursuant to *N.J.A.C.* 12:41-2.3 for Chapter 531 Training Providers applying to become Private Career Schools.
- Chapter 531 Training Providers that do not submit a fully completed Private Career School Initial Application within 90 days of this notice will removed from the Eligible Training Provider List



(<u>www.njtopps.com</u>) and no longer eligible to receive student referrals from the One-Stop Career Centers effective May 3, 2017. These providers will be operating out of compliance with the Private Career School regulations.

- Chapter 531 Training Providers removed from the Eligible Training Provider List effective May 3, 2017 that submit a Private Career School Initial Application on or after May 3, 2017 will not be permitted to receive student referrals from the One-Stop Career Centers until LWD processes the Private Career School application and issues an official Certificate of Approval. This also applies to Chapter 531 Training Providers that submit a Private Career School Application when their Chapter 531 approval cycle has already expired.
- Chapter 531 Training Providers that do not wish to become Private Career Schools and chose to close shall submit a Chapter 531 Training Provider Close Out Form to the Training Evaluation Unit. Close Out Forms are available on the Training Evaluation Unit's website.

In addition to the repealing of the Chapter 531 Training Provider approval process, the new regulations at *N.J.A.C.* 12:41 make changes to the Private Career School approval process. The changes are listed below:

- The Department of Labor and Workforce Development, in conjunction with the Department of Education, shall issue a Certificate of Approval to approved private career schools for a period of two (2) years. *N.J.A.C.* 12:41-2.1(c).
- Each applicant private career school shall pay an initial, non-refundable, application fee of \$1,150, payable to the State Treasurer. *N.J.A.C.* 12:41-2.2.
- Each applicant private career school must submit an initial tuition performance bond in the amount of \$20,000 payable to the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Workforce Development. *N.J.A.C.* 12:41-2.2.
- Each private career school shall submit an annual report to the Training Evaluation Unit for the period of July 1 through June 30 of the preceding year. *N.J.A.C.* 12:41-3.2.

Please visit our website at <a href="http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/lwdhome/coei/teu.html">http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/lwdhome/coei/teu.html</a> for more information, including:

- A copy of the new regulations
- Private Career School Initial Application Packet
- Annual Reporting Requirements
- Chapter 531 Training Provider Close Out Form
- Frequently Asked Questions

If you have any questions, please email us at trainingevaluationunit@dol.nj.gov.

Sincerely,

Deshahn M. Lawrence

Deshahn M. Lawrence

Chief