FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE BENEFITS - NEW MOTHER/BONDING (FL2)

L State of New Jersey 3.Claimant's S.S. No. 4. Seq. No.
Department of Labor and Workforce Development

Division of T Disability In: T Tt
: ;Om %‘:?87 S 5. Disability Date 6. Mailing Date
Trenton, NJ 08625-0387

2.Claimant's Name and Address 7. Recovery/Estimated Date of Recovery

8.FLI Claim ID No.

DO NOT FILE YOUR CLAIM
UNTIL YOUR PREGNANCY -
RELATED DISABILITY ENDS

Our records indicate that you are receiving Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI) benefits
for a pregnancy-related disability. After you have recovered from your disability, you
may be eligible for Family Leave Insurance benefits to bond with your baby.

If you are still disabled after the date in Item 7 above, you and your doctor must
complete and return the Request To Claimant For Continued Claim Information (Form P30) so
that your temporary disability claim can be reviewed for an extension. The P30 form will

be mailed to you when additional medical certification is needed.

FILING YOUR FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE CLAIM
After you recover from your disability, if you take family leave immediately following
your pregnancy related State temporary disability claim, you can file your claim for
Fami ly Leave Insurance benefits at www.nj.gov/labor. Select "Family Leave Insurance" then
"Web Services" from the menu. DO NOT submit an application (Form FL1) by mail if you
intend to file a claim using the internet application. Keep this form until you file

since the FLI Claim ID No. listed in Item 8 above is needed to file your claim using the
internet application,

If you plan on returning to work following your recovery and take a bonding leave at some

future time, you must file your claim for benefits on Form FL1, Application for Family

(CONTINUED ON REVERSE ->)




Leave Insurance Benefits, when your leave begins. Form FL1 may be obtained from your
employer or downloaded from the Division's website at: http://www.state.nj.us/labor.

You must notify our agency immediately if you change your address or return to work during
the period you are claiming benefits. All correspondence to our office must include your
social security number and signature.

FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE BONDING CLAIM FACTS

New Jersey law provides up to six (6) weeks of Family Leave Insurance benefits to covered
individuals (biological parent, domestic partner or civil union partner) to bond with a
child during the first 12 months after the child's birth or the first 12 months after the
placement of the chiid for adoption.

Bonding leave must be for a single continuous period of time unless the employer permits
the leave to be taken in non-consecutive periods. In this case, each leave period must be
at least seven days.

If you file your claim for Family Leave Insurance benefits immediately after you recover
from your pregnancy-related disability and it is determined to be eligible:

* For most claims, you will be paid at the same weekly benefit amount as your
pregnancy~-related disability claim.
* No waiting period will be required.
Your maximum benefit amount will be either six (6) times your weekly benefit rate or 1/3

of the earnings used to determine your maximum Temporary Disability Insurance claim,
whichever is less. Six (6) weeks is the maximum amount of benefits anyone can receive in
a 12 month period.

Benefits are not payable for any period of time that you receive paid time off from your
employer and your maximum entitlement may be reduced up to two weeks if your employer
required you to take paid time off.

You and your employer have the right to appeal a determination made on your claim. You
must do so in writing within seven (7) calendar days after delivery or within ten (10)
calendar days after the mailing of the decision.

Fami ly Leave Insurance benefits are subject to federal income tax and to federal rules
that apply to the anreporting of income and payment of taxes. However, these benefits are
not subject to New Jersey state income income tax. When you file your application for
benefits, you can voluntarily have 10% of your benefits withheld for federa! income tax.
Following the end of each calendar year, you will be mailed a statement (Form 1099-G) of
the total amount of benefits you received during the year., This information will also be
given to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS),

It is your responsibility to file this claim form promptly. Your claim must be filed

within 30 days of the beginning of your bonding leave. Benefits may be denied or reduced
if the claim is filed late. .

PLEASE ALLOW 14 DAYS TO PROCESS YOUR FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE CLAIM BEFORE INQUIRING ABOUT
YOUR CLAIM,

Additional information pertaining to the Family Leave insurance Program can be found on

our website: www.nj.gov/labor or by contacting our Customer Service Section at
609-292-7060.



	FL-2
	back

