NEW JERSEY STATE WAGE AND HOUR LAW
MINIMUM RATES

All farm laborers 18 years of age and over in New Jersey must be paid a minimum of $8.85 per hour effective January
1, 2019. Employees engaged on a piece-rate basis to labor on a farm shall be paid for each day worked not less than the
minimum hourly wage rate multiplied by the total number of hours worked. Farm workers, therefore, must earn not less
than $8.85 per hour even if they work at piece rates. For example, if they work 10 hours in one day either at piece rates or
time rates they must earn at least $88.50. The following chart shows the minimum wages to be paid based on the minimum
hourly wage rate multiplied by the total number of hours worked:

1 hour $ 8.85 6 hours $53.10
2 hours 17.70 7 hours 61.95
3 hours 26.55 8 hours 70.80
4 hours 35.40 9 hours 79.65
5 hours 44 .25 10 hours 88.50

OVERTIME RATES

Labor on a farm is exempt from the premium overtime provisions of the law. Workers employed in the first processing of farm
products must be paid overtime in accordance with the wage order for such employment.

MINORS

Minors under 18 in agricultural work are not covered by the New Jersey Minimum Wage but may be covered by the Federal
Wage and Hour rates. Minors in the first processing of farm products are covered by the minimum wage rates in the wage
order.

Children must be at least 12 years old to work on a farm and must have working permits between 12 and 16. Minors under 16
cannot work during the hours which they are required to be in school and they cannot work outside of school hours more than 10
hours in any day, more than 60 hours in a week and not more than 6 days in a row.

RECORDS

All employers must keep records of hours worked and wages paid to his employees. If a crew leader is involved in the
payment of wages or other compensation he must keep certain records for all workers to whom payments are made. These
records must be available for inspection by the Division of Wage and Hour Compliance. These specific records must include:

Place of work

Names of all workers to whom payments are made
Addresses of all workers to whom payments are made
Gross payment

Deductions

The number of units of time (hours) employed

The rate per unit of time (hourly rate)

The number of units of work performed if on piece work
The rate per unit of work
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PAYMENTS TO WORKERS

Employees working on a daily basis must be paid daily.
Payment must be made on the same premises that the work was done.

VIOLATIONS

Any employer who violates any provisions of this act shall be guilty of a disorderly persons offense and upon conviction shall
be punished by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000.
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As an alternative to or in addition to any other sanctions provided by law for violations, the Commissioner is authorized to assess
and collect administrative penalties, up to a maximum of $250 for a first violation and up to a maximum of $500 for each subsequent
violation.

The employer shall also pay the Commissioner an administrative fee equal to not less than 10% or more than 25% of any
payment due to employees.

CREW LEADER ACT

A crew leader may not terminate, suspend, demote, transfer, or take adverse action against any seasonal farm worker in
retaliation for the worker's exercising any of his rights under State or Federal laws and regulations. A worker cannot agree
with the crew leader to waive any of his rights.

Any employer who violates any provisions of this act shall be guilty of a disorderly persons offense and upon conviction shall
be punished by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000.

As an alternative to or in addition to any other sanctions provided by law for violations, the Commissioner is authorized to
impose a penalty not exceeding $500 for any violation of this act or of any rule or regulation duly issued hereunder.

Employers must supply the following information in writing to each employee with each wage payment:

Name and address of the employer.
Name and social security number of the employee.
Total hours worked. Gross pay. Itemized deductions. Net pay.
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LA LEY DE HORAS Y SALARIOS DE NUEVA JERSEY
MINIMO BASICO

Todos los trabajadores agricolas de 18 afios de edad o mayores tienen que ser pagados a razén de $8.85 por hora efectivo el enero 1,
2019. Aquellos que se empleen para trabajar por ajuste en las incas tendrdn que recibir al inal del dia una cantidad no menor que
el minimo por hora multiplicado por el total de horas trabajadas. Los trabajadores agricolas, por lo tanto, deben ganar no menos de
$8.85 por hora aun cuando trabajen por ajuste.

Por ejemplo, si trabajan 10 horas en un dia, lo mismo por ajuste que por hora, deben ganarse por lo menos $88.50. La gré ica de
abajo demuestra los salarios minimos que deben pagarse basado en el minimo por hora multiplicado por el niimero total de horas
trabajadas:

1 hora $ 8.85 6 horas $ 53.10

2 horas 17.70 7 horas 61.95

3 horas 26.55 8 horas 70.80

4 horas 35.40 9 horas 79.65

5 horas 44.25 10 horas 88.50
TIEMPO EXTRA

El trabajo agricola estd exento de las disposiciones sobre tiempo extra de la ley. Aquellos trabajadores empleados en el proceso
inicial de productos agricolas deben recibir la paga que por tiempo extra segin la orden de salarios para tal ocupacion.

MENORES

Los menores de 18 afios que se empleen en trabajos agricolas no estdn protegidos por el Salario Minimo de Nueva Jersey pero pueden
estar cubiertos por los minimos federales sobre horas y salarios. Aquellos menores empleados en el proceso inicial de productos
agricolas estdn cubiertos por el Salario Minimo de Nueva Jersey establecido en la orden de salarios para tal ocupacion. Los nifios
tienen que tener por lo menos 12 afios para poder trabajar en la finca y tienen que tener permisos de trabajo de los 12 a los 16. Los
menores de 16 afios no pueden trabajar durante las horas que se le requiere estar en la escuela y no pueden trabajar fuera de las horas
escolares mds de 10 horas diarias ni mds de 60 horas semanales ni més de 6 dias corridos.

DOCUMENTOS

Todos los patronos tienen que mantener documentacion escrita sobre las horas trabajadas y los salarios pagados a sus empleados. Si un
encargado de trabajadores (crew leader) estd envuelto en el pago de salarios u otra compensacion, tiene que mantener documentacion
escrita de todos los trabajadores a quienes se les hacen los pagos. Esta documentacion tiene que estar disponible para inspecccién la
Division de Horas y Salarios. Tales documentos deben incluir:

Sitio de trabajo

Los nombres de todos los trabajadores a los que se les han hecho los pagos
Las direcciones de todos los trabajadores a los que se les han hecho los pagos
La paga sucia

Las deducciones

El nimero de unidades de tiempo (horas) empleadas

La paga por unidad de tiempo (hora)

El nimero de unidades de trabajo realizadas si es por ajuste

La paga por unidad de trabajo (ajuste)

PAGOS A LOS TRABAJADORES

Todo trabajador empleado por dia tiene que ser pagado al final del dia.
El pago tiene que ser en el mismo sitio en que fue hecho el trabajo.
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VIOLACIONES

Cualquier patrono que viole cualesquiera provisiones de estd ley serd culpable de un delito menor y al encontrarse culpable sera
castigado por una multa de no menos de $100.00 ni m's de $1,000.00.

Como alternativo a o ademds de cualesquier otros castigos proveidos por la ley por violaciones el comisionado estd autorizado para
imponer y para cobrar penalidades administrativas, hasta un maximo de $250.00 por la primera violacién y hasta un maximo de
$500.00 por cada violacion subsiguiente.

El patrono también pagar- al comisionado una penalidad administrativa igual a no menos de diez (10) por ciento ni mds de veinticinco
(25) por ciento de cualquier pago al empleado.

LEY PARA LOS ENCARGADOS DE TRABAJADORES

Un encargado de trabajadores (crew leader) no puede terminar, suspender, rebajar de posicion, transferir o tomar accion adversa
alguna contra cualquier trabajador agricola en represalias por haber el trabajador ejercido alguno de sus derechos bajo leyes o disposi-
ciones estatales o federales. Un trabajador no puede hacer un arreglo con el encargado de trabajadores (crew leader) para renunciar
a ninguno de sus derechos.

Cualquier patrono que viole cualesquiera provisiones de esta ley serd culpable de un delito menor y al encontrarse culpable sera
castigado por una multa de no menos de $100.00 ni mas de $1,000.00.

Como alternativo a o ademas de cualesquier otros castigos proveidos por la ley por violaciones el comisionado estd autorizado para
imponer una penalidad que no exceder- $500.00 por cualquier violacion de esta ley o de cualquier regla o regulacién debidamente
expedida bajo esto.

Los patronos tienen que proveer la siguiente informacion a cada empleado en cada pago: Nombre y direccion del patrono, nombre
y seguro social del trabajador, total de horas trabajadas, paga sucia, deducciones detalladas, paga limpia.
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