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Notes

New Jersey’s Minimum Wage

New Jersey’s minimum wage law took effect on July 1, 2019, lifting the earnings of more than
one million workers. The goal of the law is to achieve a $15 hourly minimum wage without
adversely affecting small and seasonal businesses, so incremental rates were set to give certain
employers additional time to comply. The chart below details the adjustments to New Jersey’s
minimum wage:

Seasonal & Small . *
MostEmployers ~Employers LI e

January 1, 2019 $8.85 $8.85 $8.85 $2.13

July1,2019 $10.00 NO CHANGE NO CHANGE $2.63
January 1,2020 $11.00 $10.30 $10.30 $3.13
January 1, 2021 $12.00 $11.10 NO CHANGE $4.13
January 1,2022 $13.00 $11.90 $10.90 $5.13
January 1,2023 $14.00 $12.70 $11.70 NO CHANGE
January 1, 2024 $15.00 $13.50 $12.50 NO CHANGE
January1, 2025 TBD $14.30 $13.40 TBD
January 1, 2026 TBD $15.00 $14.20 TBD
January 1,2027 TBD TBD $15.00 TBD

* Cash wage plus tips must equal the minimum wage.
TBD = To Be Determined

For more information about New Jersey Wage and Hour Laws and Regulations, visit nj.gov/labor
and click on Worker Protections and then Wage & Hour Compliance.

This bookilet is for ready reference only. For updated official information, consult the New
Jersey Statutes Annotated and the New Jersey Administrative Code.
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ARTICLE 2. MINIMUM WAGE STANDARDS
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34:11-56a. Minimum wage level; establishment

It is declared to be the public policy of this State to establish a minimum wage level for workers in
order to safeguard their health, efficiency, and general well-being and to protect them as well as their
employers from the effects of serious and unfair competition resulting from wage levels detrimental to
their health, efficiency and well-being.

34:11-56al. Definitions relative to minimum wages

2. As used in this act:
(@) "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development.

(b)  "Director" means the director in charge of the bureau referred to in section 3 of this
act.

(c)  "wage board" means a board created as provided in section 10 of this act.

(d)  "wages" means any moneys due an employee from an employer for services rendered or
made available by the employee to the employer as a result of their employment relationship including
commissions, bonus and piecework compensation and including thefair value of any food or lodgings
supplied by an employer to an employee, and, until December 31, 2018, “wages” includes any
gratuities received by an employee for services rendered for an employer or a customer of an
employer. The commissioner may, by regulation, establish the average value of gratuities received by
an employee in any occupation and the fair value of food and lodging provided to employees in any
occupation, which average values shall be acceptable for the purposes of determining compliance
with this act in the absence of evidence of the actual value of such items.

(e)  "Regular hourly wage" means the amount that an employee is regularly paid for each
hour of work as determined by dividing the total hours of work during the week into the
employee's total earnings for the week, exclusive of overtime premium pay.

() "Employ" includes to suffer or to permit to work.

(g) "Employer" includes any individual, partnership, association, corporation, and the State
and any county, municipality, or school district in the State, or any agency, authority, department,
bureau, or instrumentality thereof, or any person or group of persons acting directly or indirectly in the
interest of an employer in relation to an employee.



(h)  "Employee" includes any individual employed by an employer.

0] "Occupation” means any occupation, service, trade, business, industry or branch or group
of industries or employment or class of employment in which employees are gainfullyemployed.

()] "Minimum fair wage order" means a wage order promulgated pursuant to this act.

(k)  "Fair wage" means a wage fairly and reasonably commensurate with the value of the
service or class of service rendered and sufficient to meet the minimum cost of living necessary for
health.

M "Oppressive and unreasonable wage" means a wage which is both less than the fair
and reasonable value of the service rendered and less than sufficient to meet the minimum cost of
living necessary for health.

(m) "Limousine” means a motor vehicle used in the business of carrying passengers for
hire to provide prearranged passenger transportation at a premium fare on a dedicated, nonscheduled,
charter basis that is not conducted on a regular route and with a seating capacity in no event of more
than 14 passengers, not including the driver, provided, that such a motor vehicle shall not have a
seating capacity in excess of four passengers, not including the driver, beyond the maximum
passenger seating capacity of the vehicle, not including the driver, at the time of manufacture.
"Limousine" shall not include taxicabs, hotel or airport shuttles and buses, buses employed solely in
transporting school children or teachers to and from school, vehicles owned and operated directly or
indirectly by businesses engaged in the practice of mortuary science when those vehicles are used
exclusively for providing transportation related to the provision of funeral services or vehicles
owned and operated without charge or remuneration by a business entity for its own purposes.

(n)  “Seasonal employment” means employment during a year by an employer that is a
seasonal employer ,or employment by a non-profit or government entity of an individual who is not
employed by that employer outside of the period of that year commencing on May 1 and ending
September 30, or employment by a governmental entity in a recreational program or service during the
period commencing on May 1 and ending September 30, except that “seasonal employment” does not
include employment of employees engaged to labor on a farm on either a piece-rate or regular
hourly rate basis .

(0) “Seasonal employer” means an employer who exclusively provides its services in a
continuous period of not more than ten weeks during the months of June, July, August, and
September, or an employer for which, during the immediately previous calendar year, not less
than two thirds of the employer’s gross receipts were received in a continuous period of not more
than sixteen weeks or for which not less than 75 percent of the wages paid by the employer during
the immediately preceding year were paid for work performed during a single calendar quarter.

(p) “Small employer” means any employer who employed less than six employees for
every working day during each of a majority of the calendar workweeks in the current calendar year
and less than six employees for every working day during not less than 48 calendar workweeks in the
preceding calendar year, except that, if the employer was newly established during the preceding
calendar year, the employer shall be regarded as a “small employer” if the employer employed less
than six employees for every working day during all of the weeks of that year, and during a
majority of the calendar workweeks in the current calendar year, and, if the employer is newly
established during the current calendar year, theemployer shall be regarded as a “small employer”
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if the employer employed less than six employees for every working day during a majority of the
calendar workweeks in the current calendar year.

34:11-56a2. Bureau for administration of act; director and assistants

The commissioner shall maintain a bureau in the department to which the administration of this act,
and of any minimum wage orders or regulations promulgated hereunder, shall be assigned, said bureau to
consist of a director in charge and such assistants and employees as the commissioner may deem
desirable.

34:11-56a3. Employment at unreasonable wage declared contrary to public policy;
contract or agreement void

The employment of an employee in any occupation in this State at an oppressive and unreasonable
wage is hereby declared to be contrary to public policy and any contract, agreement or understanding for
or in relation to such employment shall be void.

34:11-56a4. Minimum wage rate; exemptions

5. a. Except as provided in subsections c., d., e. and g. of this section, each employer shall pay to
each of his employees wages at a rate of not less than $8.85 per hour as of January 1, 2019 and, on
January 1 of 2020 and January 1 of each subsequent year, the minimum wage shall be increased by
any increase in the consumer price index for all urban wage earners andclerical workers (CPI-W) as
calculated by the federal government for the 12 months prior to the September 30 preceding that
January 1, except that any of the following rates shall applyif it exceeds the rate determined in
accordance with the applicable increase in the CPI-W for the indicated year: on July 1, 2019, the
minimum wage shall be $10.00 per hour; on Januaryl, 2020, the minimum wage shall be $11.00
per hour; and on January 1 of each year from 2021 to 2024, inclusive, the minimum wage shall be
increased from the rate of the preceding year by $1.00 per hour. If the federal minimum hourly
wage rate set by section 6 of the federal "Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938" (29 U.S.C. s.206), or
a successor federal law, is raised to a level higher than the State minimum wage rate set by this
subsection, then the State minimum wage rate shall be increased to the level of the federal
minimum wage rate and subsequent increases based on increases in the CPI-W pursuant to this
section shall be applied to the higher minimum wage rate. If an applicable wage order has been issued
by the commissioner under section 17 (C.34:11-56a16) of this act, the employer shall also pay not
less than the wages prescribed in said order. The wage rates fixed in this section shall not be
applicable to part-time employees primarily engaged in the care and tending of children in the
home of the employer, to persons under the age of 18 not possessing a special vocational school
graduate permit issued pursuant to section 15 of P.L.1940, c.153 (C.34:2 -21.15), or to persons
employed as salesmen of motor vehicles, or to persons employed as outside salesmenas such terms
shall be defined and delimited in regulations adopted by the commissioner, orto persons employed in
a volunteer capacity and receiving only incidental benefits at a county or other agricultural fair by a
nonprofit or religious corporation or a nonprofit or religious association which conducts or participates
in that fair.

b. (1) An employer shall also pay each employee not less than 1 1/2 times such employee's
regular hourly rate for each hour of working time in excess of 40 hours in any week, except that
this overtime rate shall not apply: to any individual employed in a bona fide executive,
administrative, or professional capacity; or to employees engaged to labor ona farm or employed in
a hotel; or to an employee of a common carrier of passengers by motor bus; or to a limousine
driver who is an employee of an employer engaged in the business of operating limousines; or to
employees engaged in labor relative to the raising or care of livestock.
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(2) Employees engaged on a piece-rate or regular hourly rate basis to labor on a farm shall
be paid for each day worked not less than the applicable minimum hourly wage rate multiplied by the
total number of hours worked.

(3) Full-time students may be employed by the college or university at which they are enrolled at
not less than 85% of the effective applicable minimum wage rate.

Cc. Employees of a small employer, and employees who are engaged in seasonal employment,
except for employees who customarily and regularly receive gratuities or tips who shall be subject to
the provisions of subsections a. and d. of this section, shall be paid $8.85 per hour as of January 1,
2019 and, on January 1 of 2020 and January 1 of each subsequent year, that minimum wage rate shall
be increased by any increase in the consumer price index for all urban wage earners and clerical
workers (CPI1-W) as calculated by the federal government for the 12 months prior to the September
30 preceding that January 1, except that any of the following rates shall apply if it exceeds the rate
determined in accordance with the applicable increase in the CPI-W for the indicated year: on January
1, 2020, the minimum wage shall be $10.30 per hour; and on January 1 of each year from 2021 to
2025, inclusive, the minimum wage shall be increased from the rate of the preceding yearby eighty
cents per hour, and, in 2026, the minimum wage shall be increased from the rate ofthe preceding year
by seventy cents per hour, and, in each year from 2027 to 2028 inclusive, the minimum wage for
employees subject to this subsection c. shall be increased by the sameamount as the increase for
employees subject to subsection a. of this section based on CPI-W increases, plus one half of the
difference between $15.00 per hour and the minimum wage ineffect in 2026 for employees pursuant
to subsection a. of this section, so that, by 2028, the minimum wage for employees subject to this
subsection shall be the same as the minimum wage in effect for employees subject to subsection a.
of this section. If the federal minimum hourly wage rate set by section 6 of the federal "Fair
Labor Standards Act of 1938" (29U.S.C. s.206), or a successor federal law, is raised to a level
higher than the State minimum wage rate set by this subsection, then the State minimum wage rate
shall be increased to the level of the federal minimum wage rate and subsequent increases based on
increases in theCPI-W pursuant to this subsection shall be applied to the higher minimum wage rate.

d. Employees engaged on a piece-rate or regular hourly rate basis to labor on a farm shall
be paid $8.85 per hour as of January 1, 2019 and, on January 1 of 2020 and January 1 of each
subsequent year, that minimum wage rate shall be increased by any increase in the consumer price
index for all urban wage earners and clerical workers (CPI-W) as calculated by the federal
government for the 12 months prior to the September 30 preceding that January 1, except that any of
the following rates shall apply if it exceeds the rate determined in accordance with the applicable
increase in the CPI-W for the indicated year:

(1) on January 1, 2020, the minimum wage shall be $10.30 per hour; on January 1, 2022, the
minimum wage shall be $10.90 per hour; and on January 1 of each year from 2023 to 2024,
inclusive, the minimum wage shall be increased from the rate of the preceding year by eighty cents
per hour; and

(2) subject to the provisions of paragraph (3) of this subsection d., minimum wage rates shall
be increased as follows: on January 1 of 2025, the minimum wage shall be increased to $13.40, and
on January 1 of each year from 2026 to 2027, inclusive, the minimum wage shall be increased from
the rate of the preceding year by eighty cents per hour, and, in each year from 2028 to 2030
inclusive, the minimum wage for employees subject to this subsection d. shall be increased during
that year by the same amount as the increase in that year for employees subject to subsection a. of this
section based on CPI-W increases, plus one third of the difference between $15.00 per hour and
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the minimum wage in effect in 2027 for employees pursuant to subsection a. of this section, so
that, by 2030, the minimum wage for employees subject to this subsection shall be the same as the
minimum wage in effect for employees subject to subsection a. of this section.

(3) Not later than March 31, 2024, the commissioner and the Secretary of Agriculture shall
review the report issued by the commissioner pursuant to subsection b. of section 4 of P.L.2019,
€.32 (C.34:11-56a4.10) and shall consider any information provided by the secretary regarding the
impact on farm employers and the viability of the State’s agriculturalindustry of the increases of the
minimum wage made pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subsection, and the potential impact of the
increases which would be set by paragraph (2) ofthis subsection, including comparisons with the
wage rates in the agricultural industries in other states, and shall recommend: approval of the
increases set forth in paragraph (2) of thissubsection; disapproval of the increases set forth in
paragraph (2) of this subsection; or an alternative manner of changing the minimum wage after
2024 for employees engaged on a piece-rate or regular hourly rate basis to labor on a farm. In
contemplation of the possibility that the commissioner and the secretary are unable to agree on the
recommendation required by this paragraph, by December 31, 2021, the Governor shall appoint a
public member subject to advice and consent by the Senate, who will serve as a tie-breaking
member if needed. The increases set forth in paragraph (2) of this subsection shall take effect
unlessthere is a recommendation pursuant to this paragraph to disapprove the increases or for an
alternative manner of changing the minimum wage after 2024 for employees engaged on a piece-
rate or regular hourly rate basis to labor on a farm and the Legislature, not later than June 30,
2024, enacts a concurrent resolution approving the implementation of that recommendation. Beginning
in 2024, the commissioner, secretary, and public member shall meet biennially to make either a one or
two year recommendation to the Legislature for implementation by way of concurrent resolution.

(4) If the federal minimum hourly wage rate set by section 6 of the federal "Fair Labor Standards
Act of 1938" (29 U.S.C. s.206), or a successor federal law, is raised to a level higher than the
State minimum wage rate set by this subsection, then the State minimum wage rate shall be
increased to the level of the federal minimum wage rate and subsequent increases based on increases
in the CPI-W pursuant to this subsection shall be applied to thehigher minimum wage rate.

e.  With respect to an employee who customarily and regularly receives gratuities or tips, every
employer is entitled to a credit for the gratuities or tips received by the employee against the hourly
wage rate that would otherwise be paid to the employee pursuant to subsection a. of this section of
the following amounts: after December 31, 2018 and beforeJuly 1, 2019, $6.72 per hour; after June
30, 2019 and before January 1, 2020, $7.37 per hour; during calendar years 2020, 2021 and 2022,
$7.87 per hour; during calendar year 2023, $8. 87 per hour; and during calendar year 2024 and
subsequent calendar years, $9.87 per hour.

f. Notwithstanding the provisions of this section to the contrary, every trucking industry
employer shall pay to all drivers, helpers, loaders and mechanics for whom the Secretary of
Transportation may prescribe maximum hours of work for the safe operation of vehicles,
pursuant to section 31502(b) of the federal Motor Carrier Act, 49 U.S.C.s.31502(b), an overtime rate
not less than 1 1/2 times the minimum wage required pursuant to this section and N.J.A.C. 12:56-
3.1. Employees engaged in the trucking industry shall be paid no less than the minimum wage rate
as provided in this section and N.J.A.C. 12:56 -3.1. As used in this section, "trucking industry
employer” means any business or establishment primarily operating for the purpose of conveying
property from one place to another by road or highway, including the storage and warehousing of
goods and property. Such an employer shall also be subject to the jurisdiction of the Secretary of
Transportation pursuant to the federal Motor Carrier Act, 49 U.S.C.s.31501 et seq., whose
employees are exempt under section 213(b)(1) of the federal "Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938,"
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29 U.S.C. s.213(b)(1), which provides an exemption to employees regulated by section 207 of the
federal "Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938," 29 U.S.C. s.207, and the Interstate Commerce Act, 49
U.S.C.s.501 et al.

g. Commencing on January 1, 2020, a training wage of not less than 90 percent of the
minimum wage rate otherwise set pursuant to subsection a. of this section may be paid to an
employee who is enrolled in an established employer on-the-job or other training programwhich
meets standards set by regulations adopted by the commissioner. The period during which an
employer may pay the training wage to the employee shall be the first 120 hours of work after hiring
the employee in employment in an occupation in which the employee has no previous similar or
related experience. An employer shall not utilize any employee paidthe training wage in a manner
which causes, induces, encourages or assists any displacement or partial displacement of any
currently employed worker, including any previous recipientof the training wage, by reducing
hours of a currently employed worker, replacing a current or laid off employee with a trainee, or by
relocating operations resulting in a loss of employment at a previous workplace, or in a manner
which replaces, supplants, competeswith or duplicates any approved apprenticeship program. An
employer who pays an employee a training wage shall make a good faith effort to continue to
employ the employee after the period of the training wage expires and shall not hire the employee
at the training wage unless there is a reasonable expectation that there will be regular employment,
paying at or above the effective minimum wage, for the trainee upon the successful completion of the
period of the training wage. If the commissioner determines that an employer has made repeated,
knowing violations of the provisions of this subsection regarding the payment of a training wage, the
commissioner shall suspend the employer's right to pay a training wage for a period set pursuant to
regulations adopted by the commissioner, but not less than three years.

h.  The provisions of this section shall not be construed as prohibiting any political subdivision
of the State from adopting an ordinance, resolution, regulation or rule, or entering into any
agreement, establishing any standard for vendors, contractors and subcontractors of the subdivision
regarding wage rates or overtime compensation which is higher than the standards provided for in
this section, and no provision of any other State or federal law establishing a minimum standard
regarding wages or other terms and conditions of employment shall be construed as preventing a
political subdivision of the State from adopting an ordinance, resolution, regulation or rule, or entering
into any agreement, establishing a standard for vendors, contractors and subcontractors of the
subdivision which is higher than the State or federal law or which otherwise provides greater
protections or rights to employees of the vendors, contractors and subcontractors of the subdivision,
unless the State or federal law expressly prohibits the subdivision from adopting the ordinance,
resolution, regulation or rule, or entering into the agreement.

[For the current minimum wage rate, visit nj.gov/labor and click on Worker Protections and then Wage
& Hour Compliance.]

34:11-56a4.1. Summer camps, conferences and retreats; exception

The provisions of the act to which this act is a supplement in respect to minimum wages and
compensation for overtime work shall not be applicable during the months of June, July, August or
September of the year to summer camps, conferences and retreats operated by any nonprofit or religious
corporation or association.

34:11-56a4.2. Application of act to wages under wage orders
The provisions of this act shall be applicable to wages covered by wage orders issued pursuant to

section 17 of P.L.1966, c. 113 (C. 34:11-56a16).
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34:11-56a4.3. Date of application of act

The provisions of this act shall be applicable to wages covered by wage orders issued pursuant to
section 17 of P.L.1966, c. 113 (C. 34:11-56a16).

34:11-56a4.4. Date of application of L.1976, c. 88

The provisions of this act shall be applicable to wages covered by wage orders issued pursuant to
section 17 of P.L.1966, c. 113 (C. 34:11-56a16).

34:11-56a4.5. Application of L.1979, c. 32

The provisions of this act shall be applicable to wages covered by wage orders issued pursuant to
section 17 of P.L.1966, c. 113 (C. 34:11-56a16).

34:11-56a4.6. Application of L.1980, c. 182

The provisions of this act shall be applicable to wages covered by wage orders issued pursuant to
section 17 of P.L.1966, c. 113 (C. 34:11-56a16).

34:11-56a4.7. New Jersey Minimum Wage Advisory Commission

a. There is created a commission to be known as the "New Jersey Minimum Wage Advisory
Commission," which shall be a permanent, independent body in but not of the Department of Labor and
Workforce Development. The commission shall consist of five members as follows: the Commissioner
of Labor and Workforce Development, ex officio, who shall serve as chair of the commission, and four
members appointed by the Governor as follows: two persons who shall be nominated by organizations
who represent the interests of the business community in this State and two persons who shall be
nominated by the New Jersey State AFL-CIO.

b. Members shall be appointed not later than December 31, 2005. Members shall be appointed for
four-year terms and may be re-appointed for any number of terms. Any member of the commission may
be removed from office by the Governor, for cause, upon notice and opportunity to be heard. Vacancies
shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment for the balance of the unexpired term. A
member shall continue to serve upon the expiration of his term until a successor is appointed and
qualified, unless the member is removed by the Governor.

c. Action may be taken by the commission by an affirmative vote of a majority of its members and a
majority of the commission shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of any business, for the
performance of any duty, or for the exercise of any power of the commission.

d. Members of the commission shall serve without compensation, but may be reimbursed for the
actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties as members of the commission
within the limits of funds appropriated or otherwise made available for that purpose.
34:11-56a4.8 Annual evaluation of adequacy of minimum wage

a. The commission shall annually evaluate the adequacy of the minimum wage relative to the
following factors:

(1) The overall cost of living in the State;



(2) Changes in the components of the cost of living which have the greatest impact on low-
income families, including increases in the cost of housing, food, transportation, health care and child
care;

(3) The cost of living in the State compared to that of other states;
(4) Changes in the purchasing power of the minimum wage; and

(5) Changes in the value of the minimum wage relative to the federal poverty guidelines, the
federal lower living standard income level guidelines and the self-sufficiency standards established as
goals for State and federal employment and training services pursuant to section 3 of P.L.1992, c.43
(C.34:15D-3) and section 1 of P.L.1992, ¢.48 (C.34:15B-35).

b. In furtherance of its evaluation, the commission may hold public meetings or hearings within the
State on any matter or matters related to the provisions of this act, and call to its assistance and avail itself
of the services of the John J. Heldrich Center for Workforce Development and the employees of any other
State department, board, commission or agency which the commission determines possesses relevant
data, analytical and professional expertise or other resources which may assist the commission in
discharging its duties under this act. Each department, board, commission or agency of this State is
hereby directed, to the extent not inconsistent with law, to cooperate fully with the commission and to
furnish such information and assistance as is necessary to accomplish the purposes of this act.

c. The commission shall submit a written report of its findings regarding the adequacy of the
minimum wage and its recommendations as to whether, or how much, to increase the minimum wage to
the Governor and to the Legislature, who shall immediately review the commission report upon its
receipt. Each House of the Legislature shall consider the commission report within 120 days of the
receipt of the report. The first report shall be submitted to the Legislature no sooner than October 1, 2007
and no later than December 31, 2007, and subsequent reports shall be submitted in one year intervals
thereafter.

34:11-56a4.9. “Task Force on Wages and State Benefits”

3. a. There is established, in but not of the Department of Labor and Workforce Development,
the “Task Force on Wages and State Benefits.” The task force shall consist of 11 members, including
the Commissioners of Health, Human Services, Education, Community Affairs, and Labor and
Workforce Development, and the State Treasurer, or theirdesignees, all who shall serve ex officio, and
five public members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate as follows:
one person nominated by an organization which represents the interests of the business community in
this State, one person nominated by the New Jersey State AFL-CIO, two persons nominated by
organizations representing the interests of low-income individuals, and one person representing the
interests of other disadvantaged individuals who rely on services and benefits provided or
administered by the State or its instrumentalities. Public members shall be appointed for four-year
terms and may be re-appointed for any number of terms. Any public member of the task force may
be removed from office by the Governor, for cause, upon notice and opportunity to be heard.
Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment for the balance of the
unexpired term. A member shall continue to serve upon the expiration of the member’s term until a
successor is appointed and qualified, unless the member is removed by the Governor.

b.  Action may be taken by the task force by an affirmative vote of a majority of its members and

a majority of the task force shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of any business, for the

performance of any duty, or for the exercise of any power of the task force. Members of the task force
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shall serve without compensation, but may be reimbursed for the actual and necessary expenses
incurred in the performance of their duties as members of the task force within the limits of funds
appropriated or otherwise made available for that purpose.

C.  The purpose of the task force is to evaluate how changes in required minimum wage levels
pursuant to P.L.2019, c.32 (C.34:11-56a4.9 et al.) may affect the eligibility of low-income
individuals, and other disadvantaged individuals, for a variety of services and benefits provided or
administered by the State or its instrumentalities, including, but not limited to, health, human
services, childcare, education, housing and tax benefits, and how the combination of changes in
minimum wage and eligibility standards may impact the living standards of the individuals and their
families. The task force shall produce annual reports of its findings, which shall include any
recommendations the task force deems appropriate for adjustments in eligibility standards for the
benefits, changes in benefit subsidy rates, and other relevant reforms, to ensure that the
combination of minimum wage increases and Stateservices and benefits are coordinated effectively
so as to further advance the overall goal of raising the living standards of working families.

d. In furtherance of its evaluation, the task force may hold public meetings or hearings
within the State and call to its assistance and avail itself of the services of the employees of any
other State department, board, or agency which the task force determines possesses relevant data,
analytical and professional expertise or other resources which may assist the task force in
discharging its duties under this section. Each department, board, or agency of this State is hereby
directed, to the extent not inconsistent with law, to cooperate fully with the task force and to
furnish such information and assistance as is necessary to accomplish the purposes of this section.

e.  The task force shall issue its first annual report to the Governor and, pursuant to section 2 of
P.L.1991, c.164 (C.52:14-19.1), to the Legislature not later than September 30, 2019, and make
the report available to the public by means including the posting of the report on the web sites of
all of the State departments represented on the task force. Each subsequent annual report shall be
issued and made available to the public not later than September 30 of the respective year and
shall include a review of any administrative and legislative actions taken in response to
recommendations of previous reports of the task force, together with an evaluation of the
effectiveness of the actions in facilitating the overallgoal of raising the living standards of working
families, and any further recommendation deemed appropriate by the task force.

34:11-56a4.10. Impact reports in 2019-2023 calendar years

4. a. The commissioner shall, not later than September 30, 2024, issue and post on the
Department of Labor and Workforce Development website a report which evaluates the impacts on
employers and employees of the credits provided in calendar years 2019 through 2023 to
employers for gratuities and tips pursuant to subsection e. of section 5 of P.L.1966, ¢.113 (C.34:11-
56a4). The report shall evaluate the adequacy of the minimum wage of employees who customarily
and regularly receive gratuities or tips after adjustment for the credits provided to employers
pursuant to subsection 5 of P.L.1966, ¢.113 (C.34:11-56a4).

b.  The commissioner, in consultation with the State Treasurer, shall, not later than September
30, 2024, issue and post on the Department of Labor and Workforce Development website a report
which evaluates the impacts on employers and employees of the tax credits provided in calendar
years 2019 through 2023 to employers of employees with impairments pursuant to sections 5
through 9 of P.L.2019, ¢.32 (C.34:11-56a39 to 34:11-56a41, 54:10A- 5.42, and 54A:4-18). The
report will include recommendations regarding the continuation of the tax credits.
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34:11-56a5. Administrative regulations; publication; duration

For any occupation for which no wage order issued pursuant to section 17 of this act is in effect, the
commissioner shall, within 6 months after the rate provided in section 5 is in effect, make such
administrative regulations as he shall deem appropriate to carry out the purposes of this act or necessary
to prevent the circumvention or evasion thereof, and to safeguard the minimum wage rates hereby
established. Such regulations may include regulations defining and governing outside salesmen; learners
and apprentices, their number, proportion and length of service; part-time pay; bonuses, overtime pay;
special pay for special or extra work; or permitted charges to employees or allowances for board, lodging,
apparel or other facilities or services customarily furnished by employers to employees; or allowances for
such other special conditions or circumstances.

The commissioner shall publish such regulations as he proposes to issue and such regulations may be
issued pursuant to this section only after a public hearing, subsequent to publication of notice of the
hearing, at which any person may be heard.

Such administrative regulations shall remain in effect only until such time as a wage order governing
the occupation or occupations concerned, and to the extent inconsistent therewith, has been promulgated
and becomes effective as provided in this act.

34:11-56a6. Authority of commissioner and director
The commissioner, the director and their authorized representatives shall have the authority to:
@) investigate and ascertain the wages of persons employed in any occupation in the State;

(b) enter and inspect the place of business or employment of any employer or employees in any
occupation in the State, for the purpose of examining and inspecting any or all books, registers, payrolls
and other records of any such employer that in any way relate to or have a bearing upon the question of
wages, hours, and other conditions of employment of any such employees; copy any or all of such books,
registers, payrolls, and other records as he or his authorized representative may deem necessary or
appropriate; and question such employees for the purpose of ascertaining whether the provisions of this
act and the orders and regulations issued hereunder have been and are being complied with; and

(c) require from such employer full and correct statements in writing, including sworn statements,
with respect to wages, hours, names, addresses and such other information pertaining to his employees
and their employment as the commissioner, the director or their authorized representatives may deem
necessary or appropriate.

34:11-56af7. Investigation of occupation
The commissioner shall have the power, on his own motion, and it shall be his duty upon the petition
of 50 or more residents of the State, to cause the director to investigate any occupation to ascertain

whether a substantial number of employees are receiving less than a fair wage.

34:11-56a8. Appointment of wage board; report upon establishment of minimum fair
wage rates

If the commissioner is of the opinion that a substantial number of employees in any occupation or
occupations are receiving less than a fair wage, he shall appoint a wage board as provided in section 10 of
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this act to report upon the establishment of minimum fair wage rates for employees in such occupation or
occupations.

34:11-56a09. Wage board; membership; quorum; rules and regulations; compensation

A wage board shall be composed of not more than 3 representatives of the employers in any
occupation, an equal number of representatives of the employees in such occupations and not more than 3
disinterested persons representing the public, one of whom shall be designated by the commissioner as
chairman. The commissioner after conferring with the director shall appoint the members of the wage
board, the representatives of the employers and employees to be selected so far as practicable from
nominations submitted by the employers and employees. Two-thirds of the members shall constitute a
guorum and the recommendations or report of the wage board shall require a vote of not less than a
majority of all its members. The commissioner after conferring with the director shall make and establish
from time to time rules and regulations governing the selection of a wage board and its mode of procedure
not inconsistent with this act. The members of a wage board shall serve without pay but may be
reimbursed for all necessary expenses.

34:11-56a10. Powers of wage board

A wage board shall have power to administer oaths and to require by subpoena the attendance and
testimony of witnesses, the production of all books, records, and other evidence relative to matters under
investigation. Such subpoena shall be signed and issued by the chairman of the wage board and shall be
served and have the same effect as if issued out of the Superior Court. A wage board shall have power to
cause depositions of witnesses residing within or without the State to be taken in the manner prescribed
for like dispositions in civil actions in the Superior Court.

34:11-56al1l. Presentation of evidence and information to wage board; witnesses

The commissioner or the director shall present to a wage board promptly upon its organization all the
evidence and information in the possession of the commissioner or director relating to the wages of
employees in the occupations for which the wage board was appointed and all other information which
the commissioner or the director deems relevant to the establishment of a minimum fair wage, and shall
cause to be brought before the committee any witnesses whom the commissioner or the director deems
material. A wage board may summon other witnesses or call upon the commissioner or the director to
furnish additional information to aid it in its deliberations.

34:11-56a12. Rules of evidence and procedure

The commissioner and the wage board in establishing a minimum fair wage, shall not be bound by
technical rules of evidence or procedure, but may consider all relevant circumstances affecting the value
of the service or class of service rendered; may consider the wages paid in the State for work of like or
comparable character by employers who voluntarily maintain minimum fair wage standards; and may be
guided by like considerations as would guide a court in a suit for the reasonable value of services
rendered at the request of the employer without agreement as to amount of wages to be paid.

34:11-56al3. Recommendations of wage board

The report of the wage board shall recommend minimum fair wage rates, on an hourly, daily or
weekly basis for the employees in the occupation or occupations for which the wage board was appointed.
The wage board may recommend establishment or modification of the number of hours per week after
which the overtime rate established in section 5 shall apply and may recommend the establishment or
modification of said overtime rate. The board may also recommend permitted charges to the employees
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or allowances for board, lodging, apparel, or other facilities or services customarily furnished by the
employer to the employee; or allowances for such other special conditions or circumstances excluding
gratuities which may be usual in a particular employer-employee relationship. A wage board may
differentiate and classify employments in any occupation according to the nature of the service rendered
and recommend appropriate minimum fair wage rates for different employments. It may recommend
minimum fair wage rates varying with localities if in the judgment of the wage board conditions make
such local differentiation proper.

A wage board may recommend a suitable scale of rates for learners and apprentices or students in any
occupation which may be less than the regular minimum fair wage rates recommended for experienced
employees.

34:11-56al4. Submission of report of wage board

Within 60 days of its organization a wage board shall submit to the commissioner a report including
its recommendations as to minimum fair wage standards for the employees in the occupation or
occupations the wage standards of which the wage board was appointed to investigate. If its report is not
submitted within such time the commissioner may constitute a new wage board.

34:11-56al15. Acceptance or rejection of report by commissioner

On submission of the report of a wage board the commissioner shall within 10 days confer with the
director and accept or reject the report.

If he rejects the report, he shall resubmit the matter to the same wage board or to a new wage board
with a statement of his reasons for the rejection.

If he accepts the report, it shall be published within 30 days together with such proposed
administrative regulations as the commissioner after conferring with the director may deem appropriate to
supplement the report of the wage board and to safeguard the minimum fair wage standards to be
established.

At the same time notice shall be given of a public hearing before the commissioner or the director, not
sooner than 15 nor more than 30 days after such publication, at which all persons favoring or opposing
the recommendations contained in the report or the proposed regulations may be heard.

34:11-56a16. Approval or disapproval of report following public hearing; effective date of
wage order

Within 10 days after the hearing the commissioner shall confer with the director and approve or
disapprove the report of the wage board. If the report is disapproved the commissioner may resubmit the
matter to the same wage board or to a new wage board. If the report is approved, the commissioner shall
make a wage order which shall define minimum fair wage rates in the occupation or occupations as
recommended in the report of the wage board and which shall include such proposed administrative
regulations as the commissioner may deem appropriate to supplement the report of the wage board and to
safeguard the minimum fair wage standards established. Such administrative regulations may include
among other things, regulations defining and governing learners and apprentices, their rates, number,
proportion or length of service; piece rates or their relations to time rates; overtime or part-time rates,
bonuses or special pay for special or extra work; deductions for board, lodging, apparel or other items or
services supplied by the employer; and other special conditions or circumstances excluding gratuities; and
in view of the diversities and complexities of different occupations and the dangers of evasion and
nullification, the commissioner may provide in such regulations without departing from the basic
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minimum rates recommended by the wage board such modifications or reductions of or addition to such
rates in or for such special cases or classes of cases as those herein enumerated as the commissioner may
find appropriate to safeguard the basic minimum rates established. Said wage order shall take effect upon
expiration of 180 days from the date of the issuance of the order.

34:11-56al7. Special certificates or licenses for employment at wages less than minimum

(a) The commissioner, to the extent necessary in order to prevent curtailment of opportunities for
employment, shall by regulation provide for the employment of learners, apprentices and students, under
special certificates issued pursuant to regulations of the commissioner, at such wages lower than the
minimum wage applicable under the provisions of this act and subject to such limitations as to time,
number, proportion and length of service as the commissioner shall prescribe.

(b) For any occupation for which minimum fair wage order rates or minimum wage rates are
established by or pursuant to this act the commissioner or the director may cause to be issued to an
employee, including a learner, apprentice or student, whose earning capacity is impaired by age or
physical or mental deficiency or injury, a special license authorizing employment at such wages less than
such minimum wage rates and for such period of time as shall be fixed by the commissioner or the
director and stated in the license.

34:11-56al18. Modification of wage order

At any time after a minimum fair wage order has been in effect for 1 year or more, the commissioner
may, on his own motion, after conferring with the director, and shall, on petition of 50 or more residents
of the State, reconsider the minimum fair wage rates set therein and reconvene the same wage board or
appoint a new board to recommend whether or not the rate, or rates, contained in such order, shall be
modified. The report of such wage board shall be dealt with in the manner prescribed in sections 15, 16
and 17 of this act.
34:11-56a19. Additions or modifications to administrative regulations; hearing; notice

The commissioner may, from time to time after conference with the director and without reference to
a wage board, propose such modifications of or additions to any administrative regulations issued
pursuant to sections 6 and 17 of this act as he may deem appropriate to effectuate the purposes of this
article; provided, such proposed modifications or additions could legally have been included in the
original regulation. Notice shall be given of a public hearing to be held by the commissioner or director
not less than 15 days after such notice, at which all persons in favor of or opposed to the proposed
modifications or additions may be heard. After the hearing the commissioner may make an order putting
into effect the proposed modifications of or additions to the administrative regulations as he deems
appropriate.

34:11-56a20. Record by employer of hours worked and wages; inspection; exceptions

Every employer of employees subject to this act shall keep a true and accurate record of the hours
worked by each and the wages paid by him to each and shall furnish to the commissioner or the director
or their authorized representative upon demand a sworn statement of the same. Such records shall be
open to inspection by the commissioner or the director or their authorized representative at any reasonable
time. No employer shall be found guilty of violating this provision for failure to keep a true and accurate
record of the hours worked by outside salesmen, buyers of poultry, eggs, cream, milk or other perishable
commodities in their natural or raw state, homeworkers legally employed in accordance with the laws of
this State or any person employed in a bona fide executive, administrative or professional capacity, except
that no exemption from record keeping pursuant to this section in regard to any person employed in a
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bona fide executive, administrative or professional capacity shall be construed to permit an employer to
pay wages at a rate which violates the provisions of section 5 of P.L.1966, c. 113 (C. 34:11-56a4).

34:11-56a21. Summary of act, orders, and regulations; posting

Every employer subject to any provision of this act or of any regulations or orders issued under this
act shall keep a summary of this act, approved by the commissioner, and copies of any applicable wage
orders and regulations issued under this act, or a summary of such wage orders and regulations, posted in
a conspicuous and accessible place in or about the premises wherein any person subject thereto is
employed. Employers shall be furnished copies of such summaries, orders, and regulations by the State
on request without charge.

34:11-56a22. Violations of act; misdemeanor

Any employer who willfully hinders or delays the commissioner, the director or their authorized
representatives in the performance of his duties in the enforcement of this act, or fails to make, keep, and
preserve any records as required under the provisions of this act, or falsifies any such record, or refuses to
make any such record accessible to the commissioner, the director or their authorized representatives
upon demand, or refuses to furnish a sworn statement of such record or any other information required for
the proper enforcement of this act to the commissioner, the director or their authorized representatives
upon demand, or pays or agrees to pay wages at a rate less than the rate applicable under this act or any
wage order issued pursuant thereto, or otherwise violates any provision of this act or of any regulation or
order issued under this act shall be guilty of a disorderly persons offense and shall, upon conviction for a
first violation, be punished by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for
not less than 10 nor more than 90 days or by both the fine and imprisonment and, upon conviction for a
second or subsequent violation, be punished by a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $1,000 or by
imprisonment for not less than 10 nor more than 100 days or by both the fine and imprisonment. Each
week, in any day of which an employee is paid less than the rate applicable to him under this act or under
a minimum fair wage order, and each employee so paid, shall constitute a separate offense.

As an alternative to or in addition to any other sanctions provided by law for violations of the “New
Jersey State Wage and Hour Law,” P.L.1966, c. 113 (C.34:11-56a et seq.), when the Commissioner of
Labor finds that an individual has violated that act, the commissioner is authorized to assess and collect
administrative penalties, up to a maximum of $250 for a first violation and up to a maximum of $500 for
each subsequent violation, specified in a schedule of penalties to be promulgated as a rule or regulation by
the commissioner in accordance with the “Administrative Procedure Act,” P.L.1968, c. 410 (C.52:14B-1
et seq.). When determining the amount of the penalty imposed because of a violation, the commissioner
shall consider factors which include the history of previous violations by the employer, the seriousness of
the violation, the good faith of the employer and the size of the employer's business. No administrative
penalty shall be levied pursuant to this section unless the Commissioner of Labor provides the alleged
violator with notification of the violation and of the amount of the penalty by certified mail and an
opportunity to request a hearing before the commissioner or his designee within 15 days following the
receipt of the notice. If a hearing is requested, the commissioner shall issue a final order upon such
hearing and a finding that a violation has occurred. If no hearing is requested, the notice shall become a
final order upon expiration of the 15-day period. Payment of the penalty is due when a final order is
issued or when the notice becomes a final order. Any penalty imposed pursuant to this section may be
recovered with costs in a summary proceeding commenced by the commissioner pursuant to “the penalty
enforcement law” (N.J.S. 2A:58-1 et seq.). Any sum collected as a fine or penalty pursuant to this section
shall be applied toward enforcement and administration costs of the Division of Workplace Standards in
the Department of Labor.
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34:11-56a23. Supervision by commissioner of payments of amounts due employees

As an alternative to any other sanctions or in addition thereto, herein or otherwise provided by law for
violation of this act or of any rule or regulation duly issued hereunder, the Commissioner of Labor is
authorized to supervise the payment of amounts due to employees under this act, and the employer may
be required to make these payments to the commissioner to be held in a special account in trust for the
employee, and paid on order of the commissioner directly to the employee or employees affected. The
employer shall also pay the commissioner an administrative fee equal to not less than 10% or more than
25% of any payment made to the commissioner pursuant to this section. The amount of the
administrative fee shall be specified in a schedule of fees to be promulgated by rule or regulation of the
commissioner in accordance with the “Administrative Procedure Act,” P.L.1968, c. 410 (C. 52:14B-1 et
seq.). The fee shall be applied toward enforcement and administration costs of the Division of Workplace
Standards in the Department of Labor.

34:11-56a24 Discharge or discrimination against employee making complaint;
penalties for violations

25. a. Any employer who takes a retaliatory action against any employee by discharging or in any
other manner discriminating against the employee because the employee has made any complaint to
his employer, to the commissioner, the director or to their authorized representatives, or to a
representative of the employee, that he has not been paid wages in accordance with the provisions of
this act, or because such employee has caused to be instituted or is about to cause to be instituted any
proceeding under or related to this act, or because such employee has testified or is about to testify in
any such proceeding, or because such employee has served or is about to serve on a wage board, or
because the employee has informed any employee of the employer about rights under State laws
regarding wages and hours of work, shall be guilty of a disorderly persons offense and shall, upon
conviction for a first violation, be fined not less than $500 nor more than $1,000 or by imprisonment
for not less than 10 nor more than 90 days or by both the fine and imprisonment and, upon conviction
for a second or subsequent violation, be punished by a fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than
$2,000 or by imprisonment for not less than 10 nor more than 100 days or by both the fine and
imprisonment. The employer shall also be required, as a condition of such judgment of conviction,
to offer reinstatement in employment to the discharged employee and to correct any such
discriminatory action, and also to pay to any such employee in full, all wages lost as a result of such
discharge or discriminatory action and an additional amount of liquidated damages equal to not more
than 200 percent of the wages lost, under penalty of contempt proceedings for failure to comply with
such requirement. Taking an adverse action against an employee within ninety days of the employee
filing a complaint with the commissioner, or a claim or action being brought by or on behalf of the
employee in a court of competent jurisdiction, for a violation of P.L.1966, c.113 (C.34:11-56a et
seq.) shall be considered presumptive evidence that the employer’s action was knowingly taken in
retaliation against the employee. An employee complaint or other communication need not make
explicit reference to any section or provision of State law regarding wages or hours worked to trigger
the protections of this section.

b. As an alternative to or in addition to any other sanctions provided by law for violations of
P.L.1966, c.113 (C.34:11-56a et seq.), when the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce
Development finds that an employer has violated that act, or taken any retaliatory action against the
employee in violation of subsection a. of this section, the commissioner is authorized to assess and
collect administrative penalties, up to a maximum of $250 for a first violation and up to a maximum
of $500 for each subsequent violation, specified in a schedule of penalties to be promulgated as a rule
or regulation by the commissioner in accordance with the "Administrative Procedure Act,” P.L.1968,
€.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.). When determining the amount of the penalty imposed because of a
violation, the commissioner shall consider factors which include the history of previous violations by
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the employer, the seriousness of the violation, the good faith of the employer and the size of the
employer's business. No administrative penalty shall be levied pursuant to this section unless the
Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development provides the alleged violator with notification
of the violation and of the amount of the penalty by certified mail and an opportunity to request a
hearing before the commissioner or his designee within 15 days following the receipt of the notice.
If a hearing is requested, the commissioner shall issue a final order upon such hearing and a finding
that a violation has occurred. If no hearing is requested, the notice shall become a final order upon
expiration of the 15-day period. Payment of the penalty is due when a final order is issued or when
the notice becomes a final order. Any penalty imposed pursuant to this section may be recovered
with costs in a summary proceeding commenced by the commissioner pursuant to the “Penalty
Enforcement Law of 1999,” P.L.1999, ¢.274 (C.2A:58-10 et seq.). Any sum collected as a fine or
penalty pursuant to this section shall be applied toward enforcement and administration costs of the
Division of Workplace Standards in the Department of Labor and Workforce Development.

34:11-56a25 Civil action by employee to recover wages, additional amount

26. If any employee is paid by an employer less than the minimum fair wage to which the
employee is entitled under the provisions of P.L.1966, ¢.113 (C.34:11-56a et seq.) or by virtue of a
minimum fair wage order, or suffers a loss of wages or other damages because of a retaliatory action
by the employer in violation of the provisions of section 24 of P.L.1966, ¢.113 (C.34:11-56a24), the
employee may recover in a civil action the full amount of that minimum wage less any amount
actually paid to him or her by the employer, or any wages lost due to the retaliatory action, and an
additional amount equal to not more than 200 percent of the amount of the unpaid minimum wages or
wages lost due to retaliatory action as liquidated damages, plus costs and reasonable attorney's fees
as determined by the court, except that if there is an agreement of the employee to accept payment of
the unpaid wages or compensation supervised by the commissioner pursuant to section 24 of
P.L.1966, ¢.113 (C.34:11-56a23) or R.S.34:11-58, the liquidated damages shall be equal to not more
than 200 percent of wages that were due prior to the supervised payment. The payment of liquidated
damages shall not be required for a first violation by an employer if the employer shows to the
satisfaction of the court that the act or omission constituting the violation was an inadvertent error
made in good faith and that the employer had reasonable grounds for believing that the act or
omission was not a violation, and the employer acknowledges that the employer violated the law and
pays the amount owed within 30 days of notice of the violation. In a case of retaliation against an
employee in violation of the provisions of section 24 of P.L.1966, c.113 (C.34:11-56a24), the
employer shall also be required to offer reinstatement in employment to the discharged employee,
and take other actions as needed to correct the retaliatory action. For purposes of this section, an
employer taking an adverse action against an employee within 90 days of the employee filing a
complaint with the commissioner or a claim or action being brought by or on behalf of the employee
in a court of competent jurisdiction for a violation of P.L.1966, ¢.113 (C.34:11-56a et seq.) shall
raise a presumption that the employer’s action was taken in retaliation against the employee, which
presumption may be rebutted only by clear and convincing evidence that the action was taken for
other, permissible, reasons. Any agreement between the employee and the employer to work for less
than the minimum fair wage shall be no defense to the action. An employee shall be entitled to
maintain the action for and on behalf of himself or other employees similarly situated, and the
employee and employees may designate an agent or representative to maintain the action for and on
behalf of all employees similarly situated. The employee may bring the action to recover unpaid
minimum wages, or wages lost due to retaliatory action, or other appropriate relief, including
reinstatement and payment of damages pursuant to this section, in the Superior Court.

At the request of any employee paid less than the minimum wage to which the employee was
entitled under the provisions of P.L.1966, c.113 (C.34:11-56a et seq.) or under an order, the
commissioner may take an assignment of the wage claim in trust for the assigning employee and may
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bring any legal action necessary to collect the claim, and the employer shall be required to pay to the
employee the unpaid wages and liquidated damages equal to not more then 200 percent the amount of
the unpaid wages and pay to the commissioner the costs and reasonable attorney's fees as determined
by the court. The payment of liquidated damages shall not be required for a first violation by an
employer if the employer shows to the satisfaction of the court that the act or omission constituting
the violation was an inadvertent error made in good faith and that the employer had reasonable
grounds for believing that the act or omission was not a violation, and the employer acknowledges
that the employer violated the law and pays the amount owed within 30 days of notice of the
violation.

34:11-56a25.1 Limitations; commencement of action

1. No claim for unpaid minimum wages, unpaid overtime compensation, unlawful discharge or
other discriminatory acts taken in retaliation against the employee, or other damages under this act
shall be valid with respect to any such claim which has arisen more than six years prior to the
commencement of an action for the recovery thereof. In determining when an action is commenced,
the action shall be considered to be commenced on the date when a complaint is filed with the
Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Workforce Development or the Director of Wage and
Hour Compliance, and notice of such complaint is served upon the employer; or, where an audit by
the Department of Labor and Workforce Development discloses a probable cause of action for unpaid
minimum wages, unpaid overtime compensation, or other damages, and notice of such probable
cause of action is served upon the employer by the Director of Wage and Hour Compliance; or where
a cause of action is commenced in a court of appropriate jurisdiction.

34:11-56a25.2. Defense to action

In any action or proceeding commenced prior to or on or after the date of the enactment of this act
based on any act or omission prior to or on or after the date of the enactment of this act, no employer shall
be subject to any liability or punishment for or on account of the failure of the employer to pay minimum
wages or overtime compensation under this act, if he pleads and proves that the act or omission
complained of was in good faith in conformity with and in reliance on any written administrative
regulation, order, ruling, approval or interpretation by the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and
Industry or the Director of the Wage and Hour Bureau, or any administrative practice or enforcement
policy of such department or bureau with respect to the class of employers to which he belonged. Such a
defense, if established, shall be a complete bar to the action or proceeding, notwithstanding, that after
such act or omission, such administrative regulation, order, ruling, approval, interpretation, practice, or
enforcement policy is modified or rescinded or is determined by judicial authority to be invalid or of no
legal effect.

34:11-56a26. Protection of right to collective bargaining

Nothing in this act shall be deemed to interfere with, impede, or in any way diminish the right of
employees to bargain collectively through representatives of their own choosing in order to establish
wages in excess of the applicable minima under this act.
34:11-56a27. Partial invalidity

If any provision of this act, or the application thereof to any person or circumstance, is held invalid,

the remainder of the act and the application thereof, to other persons or circumstances shall not be
affected thereby.
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34:11-56a28. Supplementation of provisions of Minimum Wage Standards Act

This act shall supplement the provisions of article 2 of chapter 11 of Title 34 of the Revised Statutes.
Nothing herein shall be deemed to supersede any of the provisions of said article 2 of chapter 11, of Title
34, except insofar as the wages entitled to be received by any employee under the provisions of this act
and the regulations and wage orders issued thereunder exceed the wages such employee is entitled to
receive under the provisions of said article 2, of chapter 11, of Title 34 of the Revised Statutes and the
regulations and wage orders issued pursuant thereto.

34:11-56a29. Short title
This act shall be known as the “New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law.”
34:11-56a30. Application of act to minors

Except with respect to the minimum wage rates established by P.L.1966, c. 113, s. 5, the provisions
of the “New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law,” P.L.1966, c. 113 (C. 34:11-56al et seq.) are applicable to
the employment of minors. Wage orders pertaining to minors including those promulgated under R.S.
34:11-34 through R.S. 34:11-56, on the effective date of this act shall remain in force until superseded by
wage orders or regulations issued pursuant to P.L.1966, c. 113.

34:11-56a31. Establishment of maximum work week for certain health care facility
employees

It is declared to be the public policy of this State to establish a maximum work week for certain
hourly wage health care facility employees, beyond which the employees cannot be required to perform
overtime work, in order to safeguard their health, efficiency, and general well-being as well as the health
and general well-being of the persons to whom these employees provide services.

34:11-56a32. Definitions relative to work hours for certain health care facility employees
As used in this act:

"Employee™ means an individual employed by a health care facility who is involved in direct patient
care activities or clinical services and who receives an hourly wage, but shall not include a physician.

"Employer" means an individual, partnership, association, corporation or person or group of persons
acting directly or indirectly in the interest of a health care facility.

"Health care facility" means a health care facility licensed by the Department of Health and Senior
Services pursuant to P.L.1971, ¢.136 (C.26:2H-1 et seq.), a State or county psychiatric hospital, a State
developmental center, or a health care service firm registered by the Division of Consumer Affairs in the
Department of Law and Public Safety pursuant to P.L.1960, ¢.39 (C.56:8-1 et seq.).

"On-call time" means time spent by an employee who is not currently working on the premises of the
place of employment, but who is compensated for availability, or as a condition of employment has
agreed to be available, to return to the premises of the place of employment on short notice if the need
arises.

"Reasonable efforts" means that the employer shall: a. seek persons who volunteer to work extra time

from all available qualified staff who are working at the time of the unforeseeable emergent circumstance;
b. contact all qualified employees who have made themselves available to work extra time; c. seek the use
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of per diem staff; and d. seek personnel from a contracted temporary agency when such staff is permitted
by law or regulation.

"Unforeseeable emergent circumstance” means an unpredictable or unavoidable occurrence at
unscheduled intervals relating to health care delivery that requires immediate action.

34:11-56a33. Excessive work shift contrary to public policy

The requirement that an employee of a health care facility accept work in excess of an agreed to,
predetermined and regularly scheduled daily work shift, not to exceed 40 hours per week, except in the
case of an unforeseeable emergent circumstance when the overtime is required only as a last resort and is
not used to fill vacancies resulting from chronic short staffing and the employer has exhausted reasonable
efforts to obtain staffing, is declared to be contrary to public policy and any such requirement contained in
any contract, agreement or understanding executed or renewed after the effective date of this act shall be
void.

34:11-56a34. Health care facility employee work shift determined; exceptions voluntary

(&) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, no health care facility shall require an
employee to accept work in excess of an agreed to, predetermined and regularly scheduled daily work
shift, not to exceed 40 hours per week.

(b) The acceptance by any employee of such work in excess of an agreed to, predetermined and
regularly scheduled daily work shift, not to exceed 40 hours per week, shall be strictly voluntary and the
refusal of any employee to accept such overtime work shall not be grounds for discrimination, dismissal,
discharge or any other penalty or employment decision adverse to the employee.

(c) The provisions of this section shall not apply in the case of an unforeseeable emergent
circumstance when: (1) the overtime is required only as a last resort and is not used to fill vacancies
resulting from chronic short staffing, and (2) the employer has exhausted reasonable efforts to obtain
staffing. In the event of such an unforeseeable emergent circumstance, the employer shall provide the
employee with necessary time, up to a maximum of one hour, to arrange for the care of the employee's
minor children or elderly or disabled family members.

The requirement that the employer shall exhaust reasonable efforts to obtain staffing shall not apply
in the event of any declared national, State or municipal emergency or a disaster or other catastrophic
event which substantially affects or increases the need for health care services.

(d) In the event that an employer requires an employee to work overtime pursuant to subsection c. of
this section, the employer shall document in writing the reasonable efforts it has exhausted. The
documentation shall be made available for review by the Department of Health and Senior Services and
the Department of Labor.

34:11-56a35. Violations, sanctions

An employer who violates the provisions of this act shall be subject to the sanctions provided by law
for violations of the "New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law," P.L.1966, c.113 (C.34:11-56a et seq.).

34:11-56a36. Construction, applicability of act

(@) The provisions of this act shall not be construed to impair or negate any employer-employee
collective bargaining agreement or any other employer-employee contract in effect on the effective date
of this act.
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(b) The provisions of this act shall not apply to employees of assisted living facilities licensed by the
Department of Health and Senior Services who are provided with room and board as a benefit of their
employment and reside in the facility on a full-time basis.

(c) The provisions of this act shall not apply to on-call time, but nothing in this act shall be construed
to permit an employer to use on-call time as a substitute for mandatory overtime.

34:11-56a37. Collection of data relative to mandatory overtime prohibition, report

The Departments of Health and Senior Services, Human Services, and Law and Public Safety shall
each collect data from all health care facilities which the respective department licenses, operates or
regulates, as to the potential impact of the mandatory overtime prohibition on employee availability and
other considerations, and shall jointly report their findings to the Senate and General Assembly Health
Committees within 18 months of the date of enactment of this act.

34:11-56a38. Rules, regulations

The Commissioner of Health and Senior Services, in consultation with the Attorney General and the
Commissioners of Human Services and Labor, shall adopt rules and regulations, pursuant to the
"Administrative Procedure Act," P.L.1968, ¢.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.), within six months of the date of
enactment of this act, to carry out the purposes of this act. !

[* Mandatory Overtime Regulations are contained in N.J.A.C. 8:43E-8.]
34:11-56a39. Definitions relative to C.34:11-56a39 et al.

5. As used in sections 5 through 9 of P.L.2019, ¢.32 (C.34:11-56a39 to 34:11-56a41, 54:10A-5.42,
and 54A:4-18):

“Commissioner” means the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development.

“Employee with an impairment” means an employee earning at least the minimum wage on the
effective date of P.L.2019, c.32 (C.34:11-56a4.9 et al.) whose work capacity is significantly impaired
by age or physical or mental deficiency or injury and who, based on a determination by the State,
is found eligible for personal assistance services or prescribed drugs because without such services
or drugs the individual would be unable to perform the essential functions of the employment
position that the individual holds.

“Employer” means any nongovernmental business entity including, but not limited to, a nonprofit
organization, a corporation, S corporation, limited liability company, partnership, limited partnership,
and sole proprietorship, and shall include all entities related by commonownership or control.

“Tax year” means the calendar year or fiscal year in which a taxpayer’s gross income tax or
corporation business tax liability is due and payable.

34:11-56a40. Tax credit program to employers of employees with impairments

6. a. There is established in the Department of Labor and Workforce Development a program,
administered by the commissioner, to provide tax credits to employers of employees with impairments.
The purpose of the program is to provide tax credits to employers of employees with impairments to
help to offset the cost to the employer of any wage increases for those employees caused by the
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enactment of P.L.2019, c¢.32 (C.34:11- 56a4.9 et al.), including the cost to the employer of
corresponding increases in payroll taxes that the employer paid on those workers’ wages.

b. Prior to January 1, 2025, an employer subject to the provisions of subsections a. and e. of
section 5 of P.L 1966, c.113 (C.34:11-56a4) may apply to the commissioner for an award of tax
credits under this section. A tax credit allowed pursuant to this section shall bein the amount
provided in subsections d. and e. of this section against the corporation business tax imposed
pursuant to section 5 of P.L.1945, c.162 (C.54:10A-5) or the gross income tax imposed pursuant
to the “New Jersey Gross Income Tax Act,” N.J.S.54A:1-1 et seq., whichever of the two taxes is
applicable to the employer.

C.  Prior to January 1, 2028, an employer subject to the provisions of subsections c. and d. of
section 5 of P.L 1966, c.113 (C.34:11-56a4) may apply to the commissioner for an award of tax
credits under this section. A tax credit allowed pursuant to this section shall bein the amount
provided in subsections d. and e. of this section against the corporation business tax imposed pursuant
to section 5 of P.L.1945, ¢.162 (C.54:10A-5) or the gross income tax imposed pursuant to the “New
Jersey Gross Income Tax Act,” N.J.S.54A:1-1 et seq., whichever of the two taxes is applicable to the
employer.

d. (1) The final amount of the tax credit provided to an employer for employees with
impairments employed by the employer during a tax year shall be a preliminary amount of the tax
credit, which is the amount by which the wages and payroll taxes which the employer is required to
pay each employee with an impairment the employer employs pursuant to P.L.2019, ¢.32 (C.34:11-
56a4.9 et al.) during the tax year exceeds the amount that the employer actually paid for the
employee with an impairment in wages and payroll taxes in the last preceding calendar year (as
adjusted pursuant to subparagraph (c) of this paragraph),provided that:

(@) if the number of hours worked during the tax year by an employee with an impairment
employed by the employer is equal to the number of hours the employee with an impairment worked
for the employer during the last preceding calendar year, then the preliminary amount of the tax credit
for each of the hours worked shall be in the amount that remains after the amount actually paid for
the employee with an impairment in wages and payroll taxes during the last preceding calendar
year (as adjusted pursuant to subparagraph (c) of this paragraph) is subtracted from the amount
which is required to be paid for the employee with an impairment in payroll taxes and in wages
pursuant to the minimum wage rate which applies to the tax year pursuant to P.L.2019, ¢.32 (C.34:11-
56a4.9 et al.);

(b) if the number of hours worked during the tax year by an employee with an impairment
employed by the employer is greater than the number of hours worked by the employee with an
impairment employed by the employer during the last preceding calendar year, then the preliminary
amount of the tax credit shall be calculated in two parts and the sum of the two parts shall be the
preliminary amount of the tax credit. In the first part of the calculation, regarding the hours worked
during the tax year which are equal to the number of hours worked during the last preceding calendar
year, the preliminary amount of the tax credit shall be calculated in the same manner as the credit is
calculated in subparagraph (a) ofthis paragraph. In the second part of the calculation, regarding the
hours worked during the tax year which are in addition to the number of hours worked during the last
preceding calendar year, the preliminary amount of the tax credit for each additional hour shall be
calculated in the same manner as the credit is calculated in subparagraph (a) of this paragraph, except
that it shall be presumed that the additional number of hours worked by the employee with an
impairment would have been paid at the minimum wage rate in effect during the last preceding
calendar year (as adjusted pursuant to subparagraph (c) of thisparagraph), and the preliminary
amount of the tax credit for each of those hours of work shall be calculated by subtracting that
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presumed rate from the actual minimum wage rate for the tax year; and

(c) In making any of the calculations in this paragraph, the actual rate of pay paid to an
employee with an impairment in the preceding calendar year shall be increased by whichever is the
larger of:

(i) the increase in the State minimum wage that would have occurred, for the applicable tax
year, if P.L.2019, ¢.32 (C.34:11-56a4.9 et al.) had not been enacted; or

(i) any increase in the federal minimum hourly wage rate set for the applicable tax year
pursuant to section 6(a)(1) of the federal "Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938" (29 U.S.C.
5.206(a)(1)).

(2) If the number of hours worked during the tax year by an employee with an impairment
employed by the employer is less than the number of hours worked during the last preceding
calendar year, then the employer shall not be eligible for a tax credit under this section for that tax year
for that employee with an impairment.

e.  An employer may qualify for a tax credit pursuant to sections 5 through 9 of P.L.2019, ¢.32
(C.34:11-56a39 to 34:11-56a41, 54:10A-5.42, and 54A:4-18) in a taxable year or privilege period
beginning on or after January 1, 2019. An employer who qualifiesfor a tax credit pursuant to this
section with respect to hours worked during a tax year mayuse the tax credit when determining the
employer’s estimated tax for the purpose of making installment payments of the tax during that tax
year. The commissioner shall, upon request, provide assistance to the employer in estimating the
likely amount of the tax credit to assistthe employer in determining the amount of the tax credit and
the installment payments of the tax during a tax year. For tax years 2019 and 2020, the Director of
the Division of Taxation may waive in part, or entirely, penalties for underpayment of taxes in
connection with installment payments to the extent that the director finds that the underpayment
occurred because of a good faith error of the employer in calculating the amount of the credit.
Any misclassification of an employee by an employer who knowingly, in applying for the tax
credit, falsely represents an employee as an employee with an impairment shall be regardedas a
violation of the applicable State tax law and shall be subject to three times the amount of penalties
otherwise provided in that law for violations of the law and, for that violation, the penalty shall not
be waived, including during tax years 2019 and 2020.

f. An employer shall not be eligible for a tax credit pursuant to sections 5 through 9 of
P.L.2019, c.32 (C.34:11-56a39 to 34:11-56a41, 54:10A-5.42, and 54A:4-18) if the commissioner
determines that the employer reduced the wages that the employer paid to any employee with an
impairment employed by the employer to be eligible for a tax credit under sections 5 through 9 of
P.L.2019, c¢.32 (C.34:11-56a39 to 34:11-56a41, 54:10A-5.42, and 54A:4-18) in a future year.

g.  The combined value of all tax credits approved annually by the commissioner pursuant to this
section shall not exceed $10,000,000 in a calendar year. The commissioner shall annually review and
report to the Legislature in accordance with section 2 of P.L.1991, c.164 (C.52:14-19.1) on the
sufficiency of the tax credit cap authorized pursuant to this subsection and have any recommendations
with respect thereto to the Legislature.

34:11-56a41. Regulations

7. a. Notwithstanding any provision of the "Administrative Procedure Act,” P.L.1968, c.410
(C.52:14B-1 et seq.) to the contrary, the commissioner, in consultation with the State Treasurer,
may adopt, upon filing with the Office of Administrative Law, such regulations that the commissioner
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deems necessary to implement the provisions of sections 5 through 9 of P.L.2019, ¢.32 (C.34:11-
56a39 to 34:11-56a41, 54:10A-5.42, and 54A:4-18), which regulations shall be effective for a period
not to exceed 180 days from the date of the filing. The commissioner shall thereafter amend, adopt,
or readopt the regulations in accordance with the requirements of P.L.1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 et
seq.). The regulations adopted by the commissioner shall include the following:

(1) standards and procedures for determining which employees are employees with impairments
for the purpose of determining the eligibility of employers for tax credits;

(2) any additions to, or modifications of, wage record-keeping requirements needed to calculate
the amounts of tax credits under sections 5 through 9 of P.L.2019, ¢.32 (C.34:11- 56a39 to 34:11-
56a41, 54:10A-5.42, and 54A:4-18);

(3) continuing to provide the calculation, for each year, of what the minimum wage would have
been under section 5 of P.L.1966 (C.34:11-56a4) and paragraph 23 of Article | of the New Jersey
Constitution if P.L.2019, ¢.32 (C.34:11-56a4.9 et al.) had not been enacted; and

(4) a method for employers to submit certificates of credit to the Division of Taxation pursuant to
sections 8 and 9 of P.L.2019, ¢.32 (C.54:10A-5.42 and C.54A:4-18).

b.  Beginning the year next following the year in which P.L.2019, ¢.32 (C.34:11-56a4.9 et al.)
takes effect and every two years thereafter, the commissioner shall prepare a report concerning the
award of tax credits under sections 5 through 9 of P.L.2019, ¢.32 (C.34:11- 56a39 to 34:11-56a41,
54:10A-5.42, and 54A:4-18), and submit the report to the Governor, and, pursuant to section 2 of
P.L.1991, c.164 (C.52:14-19.1), to the Legislature. Each biennial report required under this
subsection shall include the names and locations of, andthe amount of tax credits allowed to, each
employer allowed a tax credit under sections 5 through 9 of P.L.2019, ¢.32 (C.34:11-56a39 to 34:11-
56a41, 54:10A-5.42, and 54A:4-18).
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TITLE 54
TAXATION
54:10A-5.42. Credit against corporation business tax

8. a. The Director of the Division of Taxation in the Department of the Treasury shall allow
an employer a credit against the corporation business tax imposed pursuant to section 5 of P.L.1945,
c.162 (C.54:10A-5) in the amount certified by the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce
Development as the taxpayer’s tax credit amount pursuant to section 6 of P.L.2019, ¢.32 (C.34:11-
56a40). To claim the tax credit amount for a privilege period, the taxpayer shall submit to the
director the certificate of credit issued for that privilege period by the commissioner pursuant to
section 6 of P.L.2019, c.32 (C.34:11-56a40).

b.  An employer shall apply the credit awarded against the employer’s liability under section 5
of P.L.1945, c.162 (C.54:10A-5) for the privilege period during which the director allows the
employer a tax credit pursuant to this section. An employer shall not carry forward an unused credit.

c.  The director shall prescribe the order of priority of the application of the credit allowed under
this section and any other credits allowed by law against the tax imposed under section 5 of
P.L.1945, ¢.162 (C.54:10A-5). The amount of the credit applied under this section against the tax
imposed pursuant to section 5 of P.L.1945, ¢.162 (C.54:10A-5) for a privilege period, together
with any other credits allowed by law, shall not reduce the tax liability to an amount less than the
statutory minimum provided in subsection (e) of section 5 of P.L.1945, ¢.162 (C.54:10A-5).

TITLE 54A
NEW JERSEY GROSS INCOME TAX ACT
54A:4-18. Credit against gross income tax

9. a. The Director of the Division of Taxation in the Department of the Treasury shall allow
an employer a credit against the gross income tax imposed pursuant to the “New Jersey Gross Income
Tax Act” N.J.S.54A:1-1 et seq. in the amount certified by the Commissioner of Labor and
Workforce Development as the taxpayer’s tax credit amount pursuant to section6 of P.L.2019, ¢.32
(C.34:11-56a40). To claim the tax credit amount for a taxable year, the taxpayer shall submit to the
director the certificate of credit issued for that taxable year by the commissioner pursuant to section 6
of P.L.2019, ¢.32 (C.34:11-56a40).

b.  An employer shall apply the credit awarded against the employer’s liability under the “New
Jersey Gross Income Tax Act” N.J.S.54A:1-1 et seq. for the taxable year during which the director
allows the employer a tax credit pursuant to this section. An employer shall not carry forward an
unused credit.

c.  The director shall prescribe the order of priority of the application of the credit allowed under
this section and any other credits allowed by law against the tax imposed under the “New
Jersey Gross Income Tax Act” N.J.S.54A:1-1 et seq. The amount of the credit applied under this
section against the tax imposed pursuant to the “New Jersey Gross Income Tax Act” N.J.S.54A:1-1
et seq. for a taxable year, together with any other credits allowed by law, shall not reduce the tax
liability to an amount less than zero. No tax credit shall be allowed pursuant to this section for
any wages and payroll taxes included in the calculation of any other tax credit granted pursuant to a
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claim made on a tax return filed with the director for a period of time that coincides with the
taxable year for which a tax credit authorized pursuant to this section is allowed.

d. A business entity that is classified as a partnership for federal income tax purposes shall not
be allowed the tax credit directly under N.J.S.54A:1-1 et seq., but the amount of credit of the
taxpayer in respect of a distributive share of partnership income shall be determined by allocating to
the taxpayer that proportion of the credit acquired by the partnership that is equal to the taxpayer’s
share, whether or not distributed, of the total distributive income or gain of the partnership for its
taxable year ending within or with the taxpayer’s taxable year.

A taxpayer that is a New Jersey S corporation shall not be allowed the tax credit directly under
N.J.S.54A:1-1 et seq., but the amount of credit of a taxpayer in respect of a pro-rata share of S
corporation income shall be determined by allocating to the taxpayer that proportion of the credit
acquired by the New Jersey S corporation that is equal to the taxpayer’s share, whether or not
distributed, of the total pro-rata share of S corporation income of the New Jersey S corporation for its
privilege period ending within or with the taxpayer’s taxable year.
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CHAPTER 11D
EARNED SICK LEAVE

AN ACT concerning earned sick leave and supplementing P.L.1966, c.113 (C.34:11-56a et seq.)
approved by the Governor May 2, 2018 and effective October 29, 2018.

34:11D-1 Definitions relative to earned sick leave
34:11D-2 Provision of earned sick leave by employer
34:11D-3 Permitted usage of earned sick leave

34:11D-4 Retaliation, discrimination prohibited
34:11D-5 Violations; remedies, penalties, other measures
34:11D-6 Retention of records, access

34:11D-7 Notification to employees

34:11D-8 Provisions preemptive; construction of act

34:11D-9 Severability
34:11D-10 Development of multilingual outreach program
34:11D-11 Rules, regulations

34:11D-1 Definitions relative to earned sick leave
1. For the purposes of this act:

”Benefit year” means the period of 12 consecutive months established by an employer in which an
employee shall accrue and use earned sick leave as provided pursuant to section 2 of this act, provided
that once the starting date of the benefit year is established by the employer it shall not be changed unless
the employer notifies the commissioner of the change in accordance with regulations promulgated
pursuant to this act. The commissioner shall impose a benefit year on any employer that the commissioner
determines is changing the benefit year at times or in ways that prevent the accrual or use of earned sick
leave by an employee.

"Certified Domestic Violence Specialist” means a person who has fulfilled the requirements of
certification as a Domestic Violence Specialist established by the New Jersey Association of Domestic
Violence Professionals.

"Child" means a biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild or legal ward of an employee, child of a
domestic partner or civil union partner of the employee.

"Civil union™ means a civil union as defined in section 2 of P.L.2006, ¢.103 (C.37:1-29).

“Commissioner” means the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development.

“Department” means the Department of Labor and Workforce Development.

"Designated domestic violence agency" means a county-wide organization with a primary purpose to
provide services to victims of domestic violence, and which provides services that conform to the core
domestic violence services profile as defined by the Division of Child Protection and Permanency in the

Department of Children and Families and is under contract with the division for the express purpose of
providing the services.
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"Domestic or sexual violence" means stalking, any sexually violent offense, as defined in section 3 of
P.L.1998, c.71 (C.30:4-27.26), or domestic violence as defined in section 3 of P.L.1991, c.261 (C.2C:25-
19) and section 1 of P.L.2003, c.41 (C.17:29B-16).

"Domestic partner" means a domestic partner as defined in section 3 of P.L.2003, ¢.246 (C.26:8A-3).

"Employee" means an individual engaged in service to an employer in the business of the employer
for compensation. “Employee” does not include an employee performing service in the construction
industry that is under contract pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement, or a per diem health care
employee, or a public employee who is provided with sick leave with full pay pursuant to any other law,
rule, or regulation of this State.

"Employer" means any person, firm, business, educational institution, nonprofit agency, corporation,
limited liability company or other entity that employs employees in the State, including a temporary help
service firm. In the case of a temporary help service firm placing an employee with client firms, earned
sick leave shall accrue on the basis of the total time worked on assignment with the temporary help
service firm, not separately for each client firm to which the employee is assigned. "Employer" does not
include a public employer that is required to provide its employees with sick leave with full pay pursuant
to any other law, rule or regulation of this State.

"Family member" means a child, grandchild, sibling, spouse, domestic partner, civil union partner,
parent, or grandparent of an employee, or a spouse, domestic partner, or civil union partner of a parent or
grandparent of the employee, or a sibling of a spouse, domestic partner, or civil union partner of the
employee, or any other individual related by blood to the employee or whose close association with the
employee is the equivalent of a family relationship.

“Health care professional” means any person licensed under federal, State, or local law, or the laws of
a foreign nation, to provide health care services, or any other person who has been authorized to provide
health care by a licensed health care professional, including but not limited to doctors, nurses and
emergency room personnel.

“Parent” means a biological, adoptive, or foster parent, stepparent, or legal guardian of an employee
or of the employee’s spouse, domestic partner, or civil union partner, or a person who stood in loco
parentis of the employee or the employee’s spouse, domestic partner, or civil union partner when the
employee, spouse or partner was a minor child.

“Per diem health care employee” means any:

(1) health care professional licensed in the State of New Jersey employed by a health care facility
licensed by the New Jersey Department of Health;

(2) any individual that is in the process of applying to the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs
for a license to provide health care services who is employed by a health care facility licensed by the New
Jersey Department of Health; or

(3) any first aid, rescue or ambulance squad member employed by a hospital system.

An employee listed in paragraphs (1), (2), and (3) of this definition shall be considered a per diem
health care employee if that employee:

(1) works on an as-needed basis to supplement a health care employee, or to replace or substitute for a
temporarily absent health care employee;
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(2) works only when the employee indicates that the employee is available to work, and has no
obligation to work when the employee does not indicate availability; and

(3) either:

(2) has the opportunity for full time or part time employment in their scope of practice under that
healthcare provider which offers paid time off benefits greater in length than provided under this act
under the terms of employment; or

(b) has waived earned sick leave benefits as provided under this act under terms of employment
for alternative benefits or consideration.

“Per diem health care employee” shall not include any individual who is certified as a homemaker-
home health aide.

“Retaliatory personnel action” means denial of any right guaranteed under this act and any threat,
discharge, including a constructive discharge, suspension, demotion, unfavorable reassignment, refusal to
promote, disciplinary action, sanction, reduction of work hours, reporting or threatening to report the
actual or suspected immigrant status of an employee or the employee’s family, or any other adverse
action against an employee.

“Sibling” means a biological, foster, or adopted sibling of an employee.
"Spouse" means a husband or wife.
34:11D-2 Provision of earned sick leave by employer

2. a. Each employer shall provide earned sick leave to each employee working for the employer in the
State. For every 30 hours worked, the employee shall accrue one hour of earned sick leave, except that an
employer may provide an employee with the full complement of earned sick leave for a benefit year, as
required under this section, on the first day of each benefit year in accordance with subsection c. or
subsection d. of section 3 of this act. The employer shall not be required to permit the employee to accrue
or use in any benefit year, or carry forward from one benefit year to the next, more than 40 hours of
earned sick leave. Unless the employee has accrued earned sick leave prior to the effective date of this
act, the earned sick leave shall begin to accrue on the effective date of this act for any employee who is
hired and commences employment before the effective date of this act and the employee shall be eligible
to use the earned sick leave beginning on the 120th calendar day after the employee commences
employment, and if the employment commences after the effective date of this act, the earned sick leave
shall begin to accrue upon the date that employment commences and the employee shall be eligible to use
the earned sick leave beginning on the 120th calendar day after the employee commences employment,
unless the employer agrees to an earlier date. The employee may subsequently use earned sick leave as
soon as it is accrued.

b. An employer shall be in compliance with this section if the employer offers paid time off, which is
fully paid and shall include, but is not limited to personal days, vacation days, and sick days, and may be
used for the purposes of section 3 of this act in the manner provided by this act, and is accrued at a rate
equal to or greater than the rate described in this section.

c. The employer shall pay the employee for earned sick leave at the same rate of pay with the same
benefits as the employee normally earns, except that the pay rate shall not be less than the minimum wage
required for the employee pursuant to section 5 of P.L.1966, c.113 (C.34:11-56a4).

29



d. Upon the mutual consent of the employee and employer, an employee may voluntarily choose to
work additional hours or shifts during the same or following pay period, in lieu of hours or shifts missed,
but shall not be required to work additional hours or shifts or use accrued earned sick leave. An employer
may not require, as a condition of an employee's using earned sick leave, that the employee search for or
find a replacement worker to cover the hours during which the employee is using earned sick leave.

e. If an employee is transferred to a separate division, entity, or location, but remains employed by the
same employer, then the employee shall be entitled to all earned sick leave accrued at the prior division,
entity, or location, and shall be entitled to use the accrued earned sick leave as provided in this act. If an
employee is terminated, laid off, furloughed, or otherwise separated from employment with the employer,
any unused accrued earned sick leave shall be reinstated upon the re-hiring or reinstatement of the
employee to that employment, within six months of termination, being laid off or furloughed, or
separation, and prior employment with the employer shall be counted towards meeting the eligibility
requirements set forth in this section. When a different employer succeeds or takes the place of an
existing employer, all employees of the original employer who remain employed by the successor
employer are entitled to all of the earned sick leave they accrued when employed by the original
employer, and are entitled to use the earned sick leave previously accrued immediately.

f. An employer may choose the increments in which its employees may use earned sick leave,
provided that the largest increment of earned sick leave that an employee may be required to use for each
shift for which earned sick leave is used shall be the number of hours the employee was scheduled to
work during that shift.

34:11D-3 Permitted usage of earned sick leave

3. a. An employer shall permit an employee to use the earned sick leave accrued pursuant to this act
for any of the following:

(1) time needed for diagnosis, care, or treatment of, or recovery from, an employee’s mental or
physical illness, injury or other adverse health condition, or for preventive medical care for the employee;

(2) time needed for the employee to aid or care for a family member of the employee during
diagnosis, care, or treatment of, or recovery from, the family member’s mental or physical illness, injury
or other adverse health condition, or during preventive medical care for the family member;

(3) absence necessary due to circumstances resulting from the employee, or a family member of the
employee, being a victim of domestic or sexual violence, if the leave is to allow the employee to obtain
for the employee or the family member: medical attention needed to recover from physical or
psychological injury or disability caused by domestic or sexual violence; services from a designated
domestic violence agency or other victim services organization; psychological or other counseling;
relocation; or legal services, including obtaining a restraining order or preparing for, or participating in,
any civil or criminal legal proceeding related to the domestic or sexual violence;

(4) time during which the employee is not able to work because of a closure of the employee’s
workplace, or the school or place of care of a child of the employee, by order of a public official due to an
epidemic or other public health emergency, or because of the issuance by a public health authority of a
determination that the presence in the community of the employee, or a member of the employee’s family
in need of care by the employee, would jeopardize the health of others; or

(5) time needed by the employee in connection with a child of the employee to attend a school-related
conference, meeting, function or other event requested or required by a school administrator, teacher, or
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other professional staff member responsible for the child’s education, or to attend a meeting regarding
care provided to the child in connection with the child’s health conditions or disability.

b. If an employee's need to use earned sick leave is foreseeable, an employer may require advance
notice, not to exceed seven calendar days prior to the date the leave is to begin, of the intention to use the
leave and its expected duration, and shall make a reasonable effort to schedule the use of earned sick
leave in a manner that does not unduly disrupt the operations of the employer. If the reason for the leave
is not foreseeable, an employer may require an employee to give notice of the intention as soon as
practicable, if the employer has notified the employee of this requirement. Employers may prohibit
employees from using foreseeable earned sick leave on certain dates, and require reasonable
documentation if sick leave that is not foreseeable is used during those dates. For earned sick leave of
three or more consecutive days, an employer may require reasonable documentation that the leave is
being taken for the purpose permitted under subsection a. of this section. If the leave is permitted under
paragraph (1) or (2) of subsection a. of this section, documentation signed by a health care professional
who is treating the employee or the family member of the employee indicating the need for the leave and,
if possible, number of days of leave, shall be considered reasonable documentation. If the leave is
permitted under paragraph (3) of subsection a. of this section because of domestic or sexual violence, any
of the following shall be considered reasonable documentation of the domestic or sexual violence:
medical documentation; a law enforcement agency record or report; a court order; documentation that the
perpetrator of the domestic or sexual violence has been convicted of a domestic or sexual violence
offense; certification from a certified Domestic Violence Specialist or a representative of a designated
domestic violence agency or other victim services organization; or other documentation or certification
provided by a social worker, counselor, member of the clergy, shelter worker, health care professional,
attorney, or other professional who has assisted the employee or family member in dealing with the
domestic or sexual violence. If the leave is permitted under paragraph (4) of subsection a. of this section,
a copy of the order of the public official or the determination by the health authority shall be considered
reasonable documentation.

c¢. Nothing in this act shall be deemed to require an employer to provide earned sick leave for an
employee's leave for purposes other than those identified in this section, or prohibit the employer from
taking disciplinary action against an employee who uses earned sick leave for purposes other than those
identified in this section. An employer may provide an offer to an employee for a payment of unused
earned sick leave in the final month of the employer’s benefit year. The employee shall choose, no later
than 10 calendar days from the date of the employer’s offer, whether to accept a payment or decline a
payment. If the employee agrees to receive a payment, the employee shall choose a payment for the full
amount of unused earned sick leave or for 50 percent of the amount of unused earned sick leave. The
payment amount shall be based on the same rate of pay that the employee earns at the time of the
payment. If the employee declines a payment for unused earned sick leave, or agrees to a payment for 50
percent of the amount of unused sick leave, the employee shall be entitled to carry forward any unused or
unpaid earned sick leave to the proceeding benefit year as provided pursuant to subsection a. of section 2
of this act. If the employee agrees to a payment for the full amount of unused earned sick leave, the
employee shall not be entitled to carry forward any earned sick leave to the proceeding benefit year
pursuant to subsection a. of section 2 of this act.

d. If an employer foregoes the accrual process for earned sick leave hours pursuant to subsection a. of
section 2 of this act and provides an employee with the full complement of earned sick leave for a benefit
year on the first day of each benefit year, then the employer shall either provide to the employee a
payment for the full amount of unused earned sick leave in the final month of the employer’s benefit year
or carry forward any unused sick leave to the next benefit year. The employer may pay the employee the
full amount of unused earned sick leave in the final month of a benefit year pursuant to this subsection
only if the employer forgoes, with respect to that employee, the accrual process for earned sick leave
during the next benefit year. Unless an employer policy or collective bargaining agreement provides for

31



the payment of accrued earned sick leave upon termination, resignation, retirement or other separation
from employment, an employee shall not be entitled under this section to payment of unused earned sick
leave upon the separation from employment.

e. Any information an employer possesses regarding the health of an employee or any family member
of the employee or domestic or sexual violence affecting an employee or employee’s family member shall
be treated as confidential and not disclosed except to the affected employee or with the written permission
of the affected employee.

34:11D-4 Retaliation, discrimination prohibited

4. a. No employer shall take retaliatory personnel action or discriminate against an employee because
the employee requests or uses earned sick leave either in accordance with this act or the employer's own
earned sick leave policy, as the case may be, or files a complaint with the commissioner alleging the
employer's violation of any provision of this act, or informs any other person of their rights under this act.
No employer shall count earned sick leave taken under this act as an absence that may result in the
employee being subject to discipline, discharge, demotion, suspension, a loss or reduction of pay, or any
other adverse action.

b. There shall be a rebuttable presumption of an unlawful retaliatory personnel action under this
section whenever an employer takes adverse action against an employee within 90 days of when that
employee: files a complaint with the department or a court alleging a violation of any provision of this
section; informs any person about an employer's alleged violation of this section; cooperates with the
department or other persons in the investigation or prosecution of any alleged violation of this section;
opposes any policy, practice, or act that is unlawful under this section; or informs any person of his or her
rights under this section.

c. Protections of this section shall apply to any person who mistakenly but in good faith alleges
violations of this act.

d. Any violator of the provisions of this section shall be subject to relevant penalties and remedies
provided by the “New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law,” P.L.1966, c.113 (C.34:11-56a et seq.),
including the penalties and remedies provided by section 25 of that act (C.34:11-56a24), and relevant
penalties and remedies provided by section 10 of P.L.1999, ¢.90 (C.2C:40A-2), for discharge or other
discrimination.

34:11D-5 Violations; remedies, penalties, other measures

5. Any failure of an employer to make available or pay earned sick leave as required by this act, or
any other violation of this act, shall be regarded as a failure to meet the wage payment requirements of the
“New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law,” P.L.1966, c.113 (C.34:11-56a et seq.), or other violation of that
act, as the case may be, and remedies, penalties, and other measures provided by that act, R.S.34:11-58,
and section 10 of P.L.1999, ¢.90 (C.2C:40A-2) for failure to pay wages or other violations of that act shall
be applicable, including, but not limited to, penalties provided pursuant to sections 23 and 25 of that act
(C.34:11-56a22 and 34:11-56a24), and civil actions by employees pursuant to section 26 of that act
(C.34:11-56a25), except that an award to an employee in a civil act shall include, in addition to the
amount provided pursuant to section 26 of that act (C.34:11-56a25), any actual damages suffered by the
employee as the result of the violation plus an equal amount of liquidated damages.
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34:11D-6 Retention of records, access

6. Employers shall retain records documenting hours worked by employees and earned sick leave
taken by employees, for a period of five years, and shall, upon demand, allow the department access to
those records to monitor compliance with the requirements of this act. If an employee makes a claim that
the employer has failed to provide earned sick leave required by this act and the employer has not
maintained or retained adequate records documenting hours worked by the employee and earned sick
leave taken by the employee or does not allow the department access to the records, it shall be presumed
that the employer has failed to provide the earned sick leave, absent clear and convincing evidence
otherwise. In addition, the penalties provided by the “New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law,” P.L.1966,
€.113 (C.34:11-56a et seq.) for violations of the requirements of that act regarding the maintaining and
disclosure of records shall apply to violations of the requirements of this section.

34:11D-7 Notification to employees

7. a. Employers shall provide notification, in a form issued by the commissioner, to employees of
their rights under this act, including the amount of earned sick leave to which they are entitled and the
terms of its use, and remedies provided by this act to employees if an employer fails to provide the
required benefits or retaliates against employees exercising their rights under this act. Each covered
employer shall conspicuously post the notification in a place or places accessible to all employees in each
of the employer's workplaces. The employer shall also provide each employee employed by the employer
with a written copy of the notification: not later than 30 days after the form of the notification is issued; at
the time of the employee's hiring, if the employee is hired after the issuance; and at any time, when first
requested by the employee. The commissioner shall make the notifications available in English, in
Spanish, and any other language that the commissioner determines is the first language of a significant
number of workers in the State and the employer shall use the notification in English, Spanish or any
other language for which the commissioner has provided notifications and which is the first language of a
majority of the employer’s workforce.

b. The commissioner shall advise any employee who files a complaint pursuant to this section and is
covered by a collective bargaining agreement, that if the agreement provides for earned sick leave, the
employee may have a right to pursue a grievance under the terms of the agreement.

34:11D-8 Provisions preemptive; construction of act

8. a. The governing body of a county or municipality shall not, after the effective date of this act,
adopt any ordinance, resolution, law, rule, or regulation regarding earned sick leave. The provisions of
this act shall preempt any ordinance, resolution, law, rule, or regulation regarding earned sick leave
adopted by the governing body of a county or municipality.

b. No provision of this act, or any regulations promulgated to implement or enforce this act, shall be
construed as:

(1) requiring an employer to reduce, or justifying an employer in reducing, rights or benefits provided
by the employer pursuant to an employer policy or collective bargaining agreement which are more
favorable to employees than those required by this act or which provide rights or benefits to employees
not covered by this act;

(2) preventing or prohibiting the employer from agreeing, through a collective bargaining agreement

or employer policy, to provide rights or benefits which are more favorable to employees than those
required by this act or to provide rights or benefits to employees not covered by this act;
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(3) prohibiting an employer from establishing a policy whereby an employee may donate unused
accrued earned sick leave to another employee or other employees; or

(4) superseding any law providing collective bargaining rights for employees, or in any way reducing,
diminishing, or adversely affecting those collective bargaining rights, or in any way reducing,
diminishing, or affecting the obligations of employers under those laws.

Employees or employee representatives may waive the rights or benefits provided under this act
during the negotiation of a collective bargaining agreement.

c. With respect to employees covered by a collective bargaining agreement in effect at the time of the
effective date of this act, no provision of this act shall apply until the stated expiration of the collective
bargaining agreement.

34:11D-9 Severability

9. The provisions of this act shall be deemed to be severable and if any section, subsection, paragraph,
sentence or other part of this act is declared to be unconstitutional, or the applicability thereof to any
person is held invalid, the remainder of this act shall not thereby be deemed to be unconstitutional or
invalid.

34:11D-10 Development of multilingual outreach program

10. The commissioner shall develop and implement a multilingual outreach program to inform
employees, parents, and persons under the care of health care providers about the availability of earned
paid sick leave pursuant to this act. The program shall include the distribution of written materials in
English, Spanish and any language that is the primary language of 10 percent or more of the registered
voters in the State to all child care and elder care providers, domestic violence shelters, schools, hospitals,
community health centers and other healthcare providers. The commissioner shall, during each calendar
year, allocate not less than $500,000 to the program, which shall be regarded as a cost of administration
of temporary disability and family temporary disability benefits and be charged to the administration
account of the State disability benefit fund, except that the allocation made pursuant to this subsection
shall not result in the total amount credited to administrative costs exceeding the maximum amount
permitted pursuant to subsection (a) of section 22 of P.L.1948, ¢.110 (C.43:21-46).

34:11D-11 Rules, regulations

11. The commissioner shall adopt rules and regulations pursuant to the "Administrative Procedure
Act," P.L.1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.) to effectuate the purposes of this act. [l

[* Earned Sick Leave Rules — Proposed New Rules: N.J.A.C. 12:69 — Filed September 13, 2018]
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CHAPTER 56

WAGE AND HOUR

SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
12:56-1.1 Purpose; scope
@) The purpose of this subchapter is to establish rules to effectuate N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a et seq.,
the New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law (Act), to provide sanctions for noncompliance, and to protect
established wage rates.
(b) The chapter is applicable to:
1. Wages and hours subject to the Act; and
2. Wages paid to an employee for services rendered.
(c) This chapter shall not apply to:
1. Volunteers; or
2. Patients.
12:56-1.2 Violations

@ A violation of the Act shall occur when an employer:

1. Willfully hinders or delays the Commissioner in the performance of the duties of the
Commissioner in the enforcement of this chapter;

2. Fails to make, keep and preserve any records as required under the provisions of this chapter;
3. Falsifies any such record,;
4. Refuses to make any such record accessible to the Commissioner upon demand;

5. Refuses to furnish a sworn statement of such record or any other information required for the
proper enforcement of this chapter to the Commissioner upon demand;

6. Pays or agrees to pay wages at a rate less than the rate applicable under this chapter or any
wage order issued pursuant thereto;

7. Requests, demands, or receives, either for himself, herself or any other person, either before
or after a worker is engaged in public or private work at a specified rate of wages, the following:

i. That such worker forego, pay back, return, donate, contribute or give any part, or all, of
his or her wages, salary or thing of value, to any person upon the statement, representation or
understanding that failure to comply with such request or demand will prevent such worker from
procuring or retaining employment; or
8. Otherwise violates any provision of this chapter or of any order issued under this chapter.
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(b) An employer who knowingly and willfully violates any provision of N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a et
seq. shall be guilty of a disorderly persons offense and shall, upon conviction for a first violation, be
punished by a fine of not less than $100.00 nor more than $1,000, or by imprisonment for not less than 10
nor more than 90 days, or by both the fine and imprisonment.

(c) The employer shall, upon conviction for a second or subsequent violation, be punished by a
fine of not less than $500.00 nor more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for not less than 10 nor more than
100 days or by both the fine and imprisonment.

(d) Each week in any day of which an employee is paid less than the rate applicable to him or her
under the Act or under a minimum fair wage order, and each employee so paid, shall constitute a separate
offense.

(e) The wage rate applicable to the employee shall conform to the overtime provisions of
N.J.A.C. 12:56-6.

12:56-1.3 Administrative penalties

@) As an alternative to or in addition to any other sanctions provided for in N.J.A.C. 12:56-1.2
under N.J.S.A. 34:11-56 et seq. when the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development finds that
an employer has violated that Act, the Commissioner is authorized to assess and collect an administrative
penalty in the amounts that follow:

1. First violation-not more than $250.00;
2. Second and subsequent violation-not less than $25.00 nor more than $500.00.
(b) No administrative penalty shall be levied pursuant to this subchapter unless the
Commissioner provides the alleged violator with notification by certified mail of the violation and the
amount of the penalty and an opportunity to request a formal hearing. A request for a formal hearing

must be received within 15 business days following the receipt of the notice.

1. If a hearing is not requested, the notice shall become the Final Order upon the expiration of
the 15 business day period following receipt of the notice.

2. If a hearing is requested, the Commissioner shall issue a Final Order upon such hearing and a
finding that a violation has occurred.

3. All wages due, fees and penalties shall be paid within 30 days of the date of Final Order.
Failure to pay such wages due, fees and/or penalty shall result in a judgment being obtained in a court
of competent jurisdiction.

4. All payments shall be made payable to the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce
Development, Wage and Hour Trust Fund in the form of a certified check or money order, or such
other form suitable to the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development.

(c) In assessing an administrative penalty pursuant to this chapter, the Commissioner shall
consider the following factors, where applicable, in determining what constitutes an appropriate penalty
for the particular violations:

1. The seriousness of the violation;

2. The past history of previous violations by the employer;
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3. The good faith of the employer;
4. The size of the employer's business; and

5. Any other factors which the Commissioner deems to be appropriate in the determining of the
penalty assessed.

12:56-1.4 Administrative fees

@) The Commissioner is authorized to supervise the payment of amounts due to employees
under this chapter, and the employer may be required to make these payments to the Commissioner to be
held in a special account in trust for the employee, and paid on order of the Commissioner to the
employee or employees affected.

(b) The employer shall also pay the Commissioner an administrative fee on all payments of gross
amounts due to employees pursuant to Articles 1 and 2 of Chapter Il of Title 34 of the revised statutes.

) A schedule of the administrative fees is set forth in Table 1.4(c) below.
Table 1.4(c)
Schedule of Administrative Fees

1. First Violation-10 percent of amount of any payment made to the Commissioner pursuant to
this chapter.

2. Second Violation-18 percent of amount of any payment made to the Commissioner pursuant
to this chapter.

3. Third and Subsequent Violations-25 percent of amount of any payment made to the
Commissioner pursuant to this chapter.

12:56-1.5 Interest

(@) When the Commissioner makes an award of back pay, he or she may also award interest in the
following situations:

1. When an employer has unreasonably delayed compliance with an order of the Commissioner
to pay wages owed to an employee;

2. Where an equitable remedy is required in order to recover the loss of the present value of
money retained by the employer over an extensive period of time; or

3. Where the Commissioner finds sufficient cause based on the particular case.

(b) Where applicable, interest deemed owed to an employee shall be calculated at the annual rate as
set forth in New Jersey Court Rules, 4:42-11.

12:56-1.6 Hearings
(@) When the Commissioner assesses an administrative penalty under N.J.A.C. 12:56-1.3, the

employer shall have the right to a hearing under (b) below.
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(b) No administrative penalty shall be levied pursuant to this subchapter unless the
Commissioner provides the alleged violator with notification by certified mail of the violation and the
amount of the penalty and an opportunity to request a formal hearing. A request for formal hearing must
be received within 15 business days following the receipt of the notice. All hearings shall be heard
pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq. and the Uniform Administrative
Procedures Rules, N.J.A.C. 1:1.

(c) All requests for hearing will be reviewed by the Division of Wage and Hour Compliance to
determine if the reason for dispute could be resolvable at an informal settlement conference. If the review
indicates that an informal settlement conference is warranted, such conference will be scheduled. If a
settlement cannot be reached, the case will be forwarded to the Office of Administrative Law for a formal
hearing.

(d) The Commissioner shall make the final decision of the Department.

(e) Appeals of the final decision of the Commissioner shall be made to the Appellate Division of
the New Jersey Superior Court.

0] If the employer, or a designated representative of the employer, fails to appear at a requested
hearing, the Commissioner or his or her designee may, for good cause shown, re-schedule a hearing.

(9) If the Commissioner or his or her designee does not authorize such a re-scheduled hearing,
then the Commissioner shall issue a final agency determination effective upon the date set for the original
hearing.

(h) Payment of the penalty is due when a final agency determination is issued.

Q) Upon final order the penalty imposed may be recovered with cost in a summary proceeding
commenced by the Commissioner pursuant to the Penalty Enforcement Law, N.J.S.A. 2A:58-1 et seq.

12:56-1.7 Discharge or discrimination against employee making complaint

@ An employer is a disorderly person, if he or she discharges or in any other manner
discriminates against any employee because such employee has made any complaint to his or her
employer or to the Commissioner that he or she has not been paid wages in accordance with the
provisions of this chapter, or because such employee has caused to be instituted or is about to cause to be
instituted any proceeding under or related to this chapter, or because such employee has testified or is
about to testify in any such proceeding, or because such employee has served or is about to serve on a
wage board, and shall be guilty of a disorderly persons offense and shall, upon conviction therefor, be
fined not less than $100.00 nor more than $1,000. Such employer shall be required, as a condition of
such judgment of conviction, to offer reinstatement in employment to any such discharged employee and
to correct any such discriminatory action, and also to pay to any such employee in full, all wages lost as a
result of such discharge or discriminatory action, under penalty of contempt proceedings for failure to
comply with such requirement.

(b) As an alternative to, or in addition to, any sanctions imposed under (a) above, the

Commissioner is authorized under N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a24 to assess and collect administrative penalties as
provided for in N.J.A.C. 12:56-1.3.
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SUBCHAPTER 2. DEFINITIONS
12:56-2.1 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following meanings unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Act” means the New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law, N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a et seq.

“Commissioner” means the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Workforce Development
or his or her designee.

“Covered employee” means an employee subject to this chapter.

“Division of Wage and Hour Compliance” means Division of Wage and Hour Compliance of Labor
Standards and Safety Enforcement of the New Jersey State Department of Labor and Workforce
Development, PO Box 389, Trenton, N.J. 08625-0389.

“Employ” means to suffer or permit to work.

“Employee” includes any individual employed by an employer, except:

1. For trainees who are involved in a program in which:

i The training is for the primary benefit of the trainee;

ii.  The employment for which the trainee is training requires some cognizable trainable
skill;

iii.  The training is not specific to the employer, that is, is not exclusive to its needs, but
may be applicable elsewhere for another employer or in another field of endeavor;

iv.  The training, even though it includes actual operation of the facilities of the employer,
is similar to that which may be given in a vocational school;

v.  The trainee does not displace a regular employee on a regular job or supplement a
regular job, but trains under close tutorial observation;

vi.  The employer derives no immediate benefit from the efforts of the trainee and, indeed,
on occasion may find his or her regular operation impeded by the trainee;

vii. The trainee is not necessarily entitled to a job at the completion of training;

viii. The training program is sponsored by the employer, is outside regular work hours, the
employee does no productive work while attending and the program is not directly related to the
employee's present job (as distinguished from learning another job or additional skill); and

iXx. The employer and the trainee share a basic understanding that regular employment
wages are not due for the time spent in training, provided that the trainee does not perform any
productive work.

2. If a trainee does not meet all of the above-listed criteria, the trainee shall be considered to be
an employee.
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“Employer” includes any individual, partnership, association, corporation or any person or group of
persons acting directly or indirectly in the interest of an employer in relation to an employee.

“Fair wage” means a wage fairly and reasonably commensurate with the value of the service or class
of service rendered and sufficient to meet the minimum cost of living necessary for health.

“N.J.A.C.” means the New Jersey Administrative Code.
“N.J.S.A.” means the New Jersey Statutes Annotated.

“Occupation” means any occupation, service, trade, business, industry, or branch or group of
industries or employment or class of employment in which employees are gainfully employed.

“Oppressive and unreasonable wage” means a wage which is both less than the fair and reasonable
value of the service rendered and less than sufficient to meet the minimum cost of living necessary for
health.

“Patient” means a person, such as an alcoholic or drug addict receiving inconsequential payments in a
program administered by an organized and generally recognized charity.

“Premium pay” means a sum of money or bonus paid in addition to the regular price, salary or other
amount.

“Regular hourly wage” means the amount that an employee is regularly paid for each hour of work as
determined by dividing total hours of work during the week into the employee's total earnings for the
week, exclusive of overtime premium pay.

“Volunteer” means a person who donates his or her service for the protection of the health and safety
of the general public. Such a person would include, among others, a volunteer fireman, rescue worker, an
aide in the care of the sick, aged, young, mentally ill, destitute and the like or assistant in religious,
eleemosynary, educational, hospital, cultural and similar activities.

“Wages” means any monies due an employee from an employer for services rendered or made
available by the employee to the employer as a result of their employment relationship including
commissions, bonus and piecework compensation and including any gratuities received by an employer to
an employee.

“Work hours” means the actual hours suffered or permitted to work.

SUBCHAPTER 3. MINIMUM WAGE RATES
12:56-3.1 Statutory minimum wage rates for specific years

@) Except as provided in N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.2, every employee shall, effective January 1, 2019, be
paid not less than $8.85 [ per hour, the minimum hourly wage rate set by section 6(a)(1) of the Federal
“Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938” (29 U.S.C. 8 206(a)(1)), or the rate provided under N.J.S.A. 34:11-
56a4, whichever is greatest.

(b) On an annual basis, on or about September 30, the Department shall revise the minimum
hourly wage set forth in (a) above based on any percentage increase during the one-year period of August
of the prior year through August of the current year of the consumer price index (CPI) for all urban wage
earners and clerical workers (CPI-W, U.S. City Average), as released by the United States Department of
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Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. Annually, the Department shall, through a public notice published in
the New Jersey Register, provide the new CPI-W, U.S. City Average, adjusted minimum hourly wage.

(c) The Department shall, no later than September 30 of each year, publish a notice, as set forth
in (b) above, on the Department’s website, http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor.

[t For the current minimum wage rate, visit nj.gov/labor and click on Worker Protections and then Wage &
Hour Compliance.]

12:56-3.2 Exemptions from the statutory minimum wage rates
@ Employees in the following occupations shall be exempt from the statutory minimum wage
rates:

1. Full-time students employed by the college or university at which they are enrolled at not less
than 85 percent of the effective minimum wage rate, effective March 1, 1979;

2. OQutside sales person;
3. Sales person of motor vehicles;

4. Part time employees primarily engaged in the care and tending of children in the home of the
employer;

5. Minors under 18 years of age except as provided in N.J.A.C. 12:56-11, 12:56-13, 12:56-14
and N.J.A.C. 12:57, Wage Orders for Minors; and

6. At summer camps, conferences and retreats operated by any nonprofit or religious
corporation or association during the months of June, July, August and September.

SUBCHAPTER 4. RECORDS
12:56-4.1 Contents

Every employer shall keep records which contain the name and address of each employee, the birth
date if under the age of 18, the total hours worked each day and each workweek, earnings, including the
regular hourly wage, gross to net amounts with itemized deductions, and the basis on which wages are
paid.

12:56-4.2 Time keeping system

The employer may use any system of time keeping containing the items specified in N.J.A.C. 12:56-
4.1, provided it is a complete, true and accurate record.

12:56-4.3 Fixed working schedule

@) Many employees, particularly in offices, are on a fixed working schedule from which they
seldom vary. In these instances, the employer may keep a record showing the exact schedule of daily and
weekly work hours that the employee is expected to follow and merely indicate each workweek that the
schedule was followed.

(b) When the employee works longer or shorter hours than the schedule indicates, the employer
shall record the hours the employee actually worked.
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12:56-4.4 Retention period
Records containing the information required by this subchapter shall be kept for six years.
12:56-4.5 Location; inspection

@ Records shall be kept at the place of employment or in a central office in New Jersey, except
as provided in (b) below.

(b) In unusual circumstances where it is not feasible to keep records in New Jersey, exception
from this provision may be obtained from the Commissioner.

(©) All records shall be open to inspection by the Commissioner at any reasonable time.
12:56-4.6 Employer gratuity records

Supplementary to the provisions of any section of this chapter pertaining to the records to be kept
with respect to employee, every employer of employees who receive gratuities shall also maintain and
preserve payroll or other records containing the total gratuities received by each employee during the
payroll week.

12:56-4.7 Employee gratuity reports

@ Employees receiving gratuities shall report them either daily or weekly as required by the
employer. The information in the report shall include:

1. The employee's name, address and social security number;
2. The name and address of the employer;
3. The calendar day or week covered by the report; and

4. The total amount of gratuities received.

12:56-4.8 Acceptable gratuity report form

The United States Treasury Department, Internal Revenue Service, “Employee's Report on Tips”
shall be acceptable in those instances where the report is made on a weekly basis or less.

12:56-4.9 Food or lodging records

@) Supplementary to the provisions of any section of this chapter pertaining to the records to be
kept with respect to employees, every employer, who claims credit for food or lodging as a cash substitute
for employees who receive food or lodgings supplied by the employer, shall maintain and preserve
records substantiating the cost of furnishing such food or lodgings.

(b) Such records shall include the nature and amount of any expenditures entering into the
computation of the fair value of the food or lodging and shall contain the date required to compute the
amount of the depreciated investment in any assets allocable to the furnishing of the lodgings, including
the date of acquisition or construction, the original cost, the rate of depreciation and the total amount of
accumulated depreciation on such assets. No particular degree of itemization is prescribed. The amount
of detail shall be sufficient to enable the Commissioner, assistant director or his or her authorized
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representative to verify the nature of the expenditure and amount by reference to the basic records which
shall be preserved pursuant to this chapter.

12:56-4.10 Additions to wages

If additions to wages paid so affect the total cash wages due in any workweek as to result in the
employee receiving less in cash than the minimum hourly wage provided in the act or in any applicable
wage order or if the employee works in excess of 40 hours a week the employer shall maintain records
showing those additions to wages by reason of gratuities or food, or lodgings paid on a workweek basis.
SUBCHAPTER 5. HOURS WORKED
12:56-5.1 Payment

Employees entitled to the benefits of the act shall be paid for all hours worked.
12:56-5.2 Computation

@) All the time the employee is required to be at his or her place of work or on duty shall be
counted as hours worked.

(b) Nothing in this chapter requires an employer to pay an employee for hours the employee is
not required to be at his or her place of work because of holidays, vacation, lunch hours, illness and
similar reasons.
12:56-5.3 Accounting for irregular hours of resident employees

Employees who reside on the employer's premises and whose hours worked are irregular and
intermittent to the extent that it is not feasible to account for the hours actually on duty may be
compensated for not less than eight hours for each day on duty in lieu of any other applicable provisions.

12:56-5.4 Workweek construed

@ A workweek shall be a regularly recurring period of 168 hours in the form of seven
consecutive 24-hour periods.

(b) The workweek need not be the same as the calendar week and may begin any day of the week
and any hour of the day.

(c) The workweek shall be designated to the employee in advance.

(d) Once the beginning time of an employee's workweek is established, it remains fixed
regardless of the schedule of the hours worked.

(e) The beginning of the workweek may be changed if the change is intended to be permanent
and is not intended to evade the overtime requirements of the act.

12:56-5.5 Reporting for work

@ An employee who by request of the employer reports for duty on any day shall be paid for at
least one hour at the applicable wage rate, except as provided in (b) below.
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(b) The provisions of (a) above shall not apply to an employer when he or she has made available
to the employee the minimum number of hours of work agreed upon by the employer and the employed
prior to the commencement of work on the day involved.

12:56-5.6 On-call time

@ When employees are not required to remain on the employer's premises and are free to
engage in their own pursuits, subject only to the understanding that they leave word at their home or with
the employer where they may be reached, the hours shall not be considered hours worked. When an
employee does go out on an on-call assignment, only the time actually spent in making the call shall be
counted as hours worked.

(b) If calls are so frequent or the “on-call” conditions so restrictive that the employees are not
really free to use the intervening periods effectively for their own benefit, they may be considered as
“engaged to wait” rather than “waiting to be engaged”. In that event, the waiting time shall be counted as
hours worked.

12:56-5.7 On-call employees required to remain at home

“On-call” employees may be required by their employer to remain at their homes to receive telephone
calls from customers when the company office is closed. If “on-call” employees have long periods of
uninterrupted leisure during which they can engage in the normal activities of living, any reasonable
agreement of the parties for determining the number of hours worked shall be accepted. The agreement
shall take into account not only the actual time spent in answering the calls but also some allowance for
the restriction on the employee's freedom to engage in personal activities resulting from the duty of
answering the telephone.

12:56-5.8 Use of time clocks

(a) Differences between clock records and actual hours worked. Time clocks are not required. In
those cases where time clocks are used, employees who voluntarily come in before their regular starting
time or remain after their closing time, do not have to be paid for such periods provided, of course, that
they do not engage in any work. Their early or late clock punching may be disregarded. Minor differences
between the clock records and actual hours worked cannot ordinarily be avoided, but major discrepancies
should be discouraged since they raise a doubt as to the accuracy of the records of the hours actually
worked.

(b) "Rounding" practices. It has been found that in some industries, particularly where time clocks
are used, there has been the practice for many years of recording the employees' starting time and
stopping time to the nearest 5 minutes, or to the nearest 1/10 or quarter of an hour. Presumably, this
arrangement averages out, so that the employees are fully compensated for all the time they actually
work. For enforcement purposes this practice of computing working time will be accepted, provided that
it is used in such a manner that it will not result, over a period of time, in failure to compensate the
employees properly for all the time they have actually worked.

SUBCHAPTER 6. OVERTIME
12:56-6.1 Rate of overtime payment

For each hour of working time in excess of 40 hours in any week, except for those exemptions set
forth in N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4 or as provided in N.J.A.C. 12:56-7.1, every employer shall pay to each of his

or her employees, wages at a rate of not less than 1 1/2 times such employee's regular hourly wage.
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12:56-6.2 Computation

@) Overtime and minimum wage pay shall be computed on the basis of each workweek standing
alone.

(b) Hours shall not be averaged over two or more workweeks.
12:56-6.3 Actual wage basis

Covered employees shall be entitled to overtime pay based upon their actual wages and not the
specified minimum wages.

12:56-6.4 Workweek hours

@) Covered employees shall be paid 1% times the regular hourly wage for each hour of working
time in excess of 40 hours in any workweek.

(b) There is no requirement that an employee be paid premium overtime compensation for hours
in excess of eight hours per day, nor for work on Saturdays, Sundays, holidays or regular days of rest,
other than the required overtime for over 40 hours per week; provided, however, nothing shall relieve an
employer of any obligation he or she may have assumed by contract or of any obligation imposed by
other State or Federal law limiting overtime hours of work or to pay premium rates for work which are in
excess of the minimum required by this chapter.

12:56-6.5 “Regular hourly wage” payment basis
@) The “regular hourly wage” is a rate per hour.

(b) The act does not require employers to compensate employees on an hourly rate basis. Their
earnings may be determined on a piece-rate, salary, bonus, commission or other basis, but the overtime
compensation due to employees shall be paid on the basis of the hourly rate derived therefrom.
Therefore, the regular hourly wage of an employee is determined by dividing his or her total remuneration
for employment, exclusive of overtime premium pay, in any workweek, by the total number of hours
worked in that workweek for which such compensation was paid.

(c) If an employee is remunerated solely on the basis of a single hourly rate, the hourly rate shall
be his or her “regular hourly wage”.

12:56-6.6 Items excluded from “regular hourly wage”
@) The “regular hourly wage” shall not be deemed to include:

1. Payments in the nature of gifts made on holidays or on other special occasions or as a reward

for service, the amounts of which are not measured by or dependent on hours worked, production or

efficiency;

2. Payments made for occasional periods when no work is performed due to vacation, holiday or
other similar cause;

3. Reasonable payments for traveling or other expenses incurred by an employee in the
furtherance of his or her employer's interests and properly reimbursable by the employer which are
not made as compensation for employment;

4. Sums paid in recognition of services performed during a given period if either:
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i. Both the fact that payment is to be made and the amount of payment are determined at
the sole discretion of the employer at or near the end of the period and not pursuant to any prior
contract, agreement or promise causing the employee to expect such payments regularly; or

ii. The payments are made pursuant to a bona fide profit-sharing plan or trust, or thrift or
savings plan to the extent to which the amounts paid to the employee are determined without
regard to hours of work, production or efficiency; or

5. Contributions irrevocably made by an employer to a trustee or third person pursuant to a bona
fide plan providing for old age, retirement, life, accident, or health insurance or similar benefits for
employees; or

6. Additional premium compensation for hours worked in excess of eight hours per day, or for
work on Saturdays, Sundays, holidays, or regular days of rest; or

7. Overtime premiums.
12:56-6.7 Offsets; cash payments

@ Overtime premium payments shall not be offset by allowances for the value of food, lodging
or gratuities since such allowances are already considered in determining the straight time wages paid.
Overtime premium payments shall be cash payments by the employer.

(b) Where the employee's pay includes the value of gratuities, food or lodging and it is not
feasible to determine the exact regular hourly wage during a particular week, the employer shall be
deemed to have fulfilled the overtime requirements of this chapter if the premium payment for the
overtime hours is paid in cash on the basis of the agreed hourly wage, but in no event shall the premium
payment be at a rate less than the applicable minimum rate.

SUBCHAPTER 7. EXEMPTIONS FROM OVERTIME
12:56-7.1 Employees exempt from overtime

Any individual employed in a bona fide executive, administrative, professional or outside sales
capacity shall be exempt from the overtime requirements of N.J.A.C. 12:56-6.1.

12:56-7.2 Defining and delimiting the exemptions from overtime for executive,
administrative, professional and outside sales employees

(a) Except as set forth in (b) below, the provisions of 29 CFR Part 541 ™ are adopted herein by
reference.

(b) Not adopted by reference are those provisions within 29 CFR Part 541 [ that apply solely to
those individuals employed by government employers, including, but not limited to, those individuals
employed by State, county and municipal employers, since the definition of the term "employer" within
N.J.S.A. 34:11-56al1 does not include government employers. See N.J.S.A. 34:11-56al (“employer"
includes any individual, partnership, association, corporation or any person or group of persons acting
directly or indirectly in the interest of an employer in relation to an employee); See also, Allen v. Fauver,
167 N.J. 69 (2001).
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(c) “Administrative” shall also include an employee whose primary duty consists of sales activity and
who receives at least 50 percent of his or her total compensation from commissions and a total
compensation of not less than $400.00 per week.

[* See attached Appendix — Title 29, Part 541.]

12:56-7.3 Exemption from overtime for an employee of a common carrier of
passengers by motor bus

(a) Pursuantto N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4, any individual employed by a common carrier of passengers by
motor bus shall be exempt from the overtime requirements of N.J.A.C. 12:56-6.1.

(b) "Common carrier of passengers by motor bus," as used in this section, shall mean any employer
that operates an "autobus," as that term is defined in N.J.S.A. 48:4-1, where the operation of the "autobus"
has been authorized by the Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission through
the issuance of a certificate of public convenience and necessity under N.J.S.A. 48:4-3.

SUBCHAPTER 8. GRATUITIES, FOOD AND LODGING
12:56-8.1 Definitions

@) “Fair value” means not more than the actual cost to the employer of the food or lodging
supplied by an employer and does not include a profit to the employer nor to any affiliated business or

person.

(b) “Gratuity” means cash received by an employee for services rendered for an employer or
customer of an employer.

12:56-8.2 Gratuity splitting

Where employees practice gratuity splitting (for example, where food servers pay a portion of the
gratuities received by them to food clearers), each employee shall have included in wages only the
applicable proportionate share.

12:56-8.3 Determining cash gratuities

@ In determining the cash gratuities actually received by an employee, the following methods
shall be evidentiary value:

1. Statements, including United States Treasury Department, Internal Revenue Service,
“Employee's Report on Tips”, that are furnished by an employee to an employer;

2. Amounts indicated on customer billing, credit card invoices or other customer charge
accounts wherein there is an indicated service charge or gratuity designated for the employee and
payable to the employee.

12:56-8.4 Administrative handling of gratuities

@ Provided there is an agreement in advance with the employees, the employer, in order to
facilitate the administrative handling of gratuity allowances, may establish an average value of gratuities
received by an employee based upon a percentage of gross sales apportioned on basis of hours worked
among the employees being tipped. This portion shall be:
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1. Derived from a representative sampling of the sources indicated in N.J.A.C. 12:56-8.3; or
2. Ten percent; or
3. Such other method as may be agreed upon subject to the approval of the Commissioner.

(b) Gratuities shall be the property of the tipped employee. Gratuities shall be restored to the
tipped employee except when gratuities are pooled, voluntarily by the employees or as a policy of
management.
12:56-8.5 Additional cash contribution claim

In no event shall N.J.A.C. 12:56-6.4 and 6.5 be interpreted to deny to an employee the right to make
claim for additional cash compensation where it is shown to the satisfaction of the Commissioner that the
actual amount of tips received was less than the amount determined by the employer.
12:56-8.6 Fair value computed

@) Except whenever any determination made by regulation is applicable, the fair value to the
employer of furnishing the employee with food and lodging is the cost of operation and maintenance
including adequate depreciation plus a reasonable allowance for interest on the depreciated amount of

capital invested by the employer.

(b) The fair value so computed shall not exceed the rental value of comparable facilities in the
State.

(c) The cost of operation and maintenance, the rate of depreciation, and the depreciated amount
of capital invested by the employer shall be arrived at in accordance with generally accepted accounting
practices.

(d) Generally accepted accounting practices shall not include those rejected by the New Jersey
Division of Taxation or the Federal Internal Revenue Service for tax purposes, and the term
“depreciation” includes obsolescence.

(e) Items found to be primarily for the benefit of the employer shall not be included in the cost.

()] Lodging furnished which is in violation of any Federal, State, or local law, ordinance or
prohibition shall be valued at nothing.

(o) When a fair market value does not exist for rental of the lodging in the competitive open
market, the fair market value shall be zero.

12:56-8.7 Inspection of fair value methods

Methods of determining fair value shall be subject to inspection and approval by the Commissioner.
12:56-8.8 Method of determining “fair value”

The following is an example of a method of determining fair value:

Employer “A” has three employees who are furnished food and lodging in addition to gross cash
wages of $2.50 per hour. The cost of food purchased for the employees is $72.00 total a week. The

building housing the employees cost $36,000 in 1978 and subsequent improvements amounted to $4,000.
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Maintenance costs for the year were $2,480. The estimated life of the building when constructed was 50
years. The building can adequately house six persons.

The "fair value" of food for the week is determined as follows:

TOLAI COSE..vvuviviiiiiietete ettt sebens 3 72.00

"Fair value" per employee ($72.00 divided by 3)......cccoviiiiiiiiiiiee, $ 24.00
The "fair value" of lodging for year 1979 is determined as follows:

Cost of buIlding IN 1978 ......cvoiviiieeeeee s $ 36,000.00

Add: Subsequent IMProOVEMENTS ..........cocvrirerieieeeee e $ 4,000.00

TOLAD COST. vttt ettt et et e et e et e n e s e e ereeeneeeteenteesreeseenaneas $  40,000.00
Depreciation for year (1/50 times $40,000.00).........ccccrerirerirerneneeree e $ 800.00
Maintenance COSES FOI YEAN ........c.cciiiiiiiiie e s $ 2,480.00
Interest on employer's net investment:

Total INVESIMENT ..o e $ 40,000.00

Depreciation to date ..........ccccoevvevieiciiececece e $ 800.00

NEt INVESEMENT ....vviee it sree e $ 39,200.00
Six percent of NEt INVESIMENT ..........ooiiiiieiii s $ 2,352.00
TOtAl FOF YA ...ttt re e $ 5,632.00
Total for week ($5,632.00 divided by 52) .......cccccevviiviiiiieiiee e $ 108.31
“Fair value” per employee ($108.31 divided by 6 persons) ..........c.ccocevvervrvrnnne. $ 18.05

Assume that employee B worked 40 hours in a particular week. His wages would be as follows:

Gross cash wages (40 times $2.50 ........cccviiririieieeeeesee e $ 100.00
Fair value of fOOM.........cccvoiiiiiiee e $ 24.00
Fair value of 100GiNg .......ccooiiiiiiiiiiree e $ 18.00
GroSS WEEKIY WAGE ....cvvoviieciecicciceeee et $ 142.05
Hourly wage ($142.05 divided by 40) .....ccovievieriieceseniee e $ 3.55

Assume that employee B worked 48 hours in a particular week. His wage entitlement would be as
follows:

Total earnings exclusive of overtime premium pay:

Gross cash wages (48 times $2.50)........cccoevvreierciiicienienn $ 120.00
Fair value of f00d...........ccccviieiiiiiece e, $ 24.00
Fair value of 10dging.........ccocevveiiniiiiee e $ 18.05
Total Straight tiIME WaAgES......ccie et sttt $ 162.05

Overtime wages:
Regular hourly wage (162.05 divided by 48 hours

Overtime pay 8 x $3.38 divided bY 2) .......ccceviiiiiiiice e $ 13.52
Employee B Wage entitlement for 48 NOUIS ..........cccceiviiiiiinini e $ 175.57
12:56-8.9 (Reserved)
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SUBCHAPTER 9. EMPLOYMENT OF INDIVIDUALS WITH DISABILITIES
12:56-9.1 Definitions

(@) “Individual with disability” means an individual whose earning capacity is impaired by a
physical or mental disability and who is being served or eligible to be served in accordance with the
recognized rehabilitation program of a sheltered workshop, education institution, or other program of
rehabilitation approved by the commissioner.

(b) “Sheltered workshop” means a charitable organization or institution conducted not for profit,
but for the purpose of carrying out a recognized program of rehabilitation for individuals whose earning
capacity is impaired by age, physical or mental deficiency or injury, and to provide such individuals with
remunerative employment or other occupational rehabilitating activity of an educational or therapeutic
nature.
12:56-9.2 Application for permit

@ Application for a special permit shall be filed on properly executed prescribed forms with the
Office of Wage and Hour Compliance. Special permit means authorization to employ individuals with
disabilities at wages less than minimum wage rates for such period of time fixed and stated in the
authorization.

(b) A blanket special permit may be issued for an entire sheltered workshop or a department of a
sheltered workshop.

12:56-9.3 Criteria for permit

@ The following criteria may be considered in determining the necessity
of issuing a special permit:

1. The present and previous earnings of disabled employees;

2. The nature and extent of the disability;
3. The wages of employees who are not disabled engaged in comparable work;

4. The types and duration of rehabilitative services;

5. The extent to which individuals with disabilities share, through wages, in the receipts for
work done;

6. The extent to which the disabled employees are learners;

7. Whether there exists any employer arrangement with customers or subcontractors which
appears to be an unfair method of competition which tends to spread or perpetuate substandard wage
levels; and

8. The productivity of the disabled employee.

12:56-9.4 Compliance
(@) All terms and conditions shall be complied with under which a special permit is granted.
(b) No individual who is not an individual with a disability shall be employed under a special

permit at wages lower than the minimum required by the act.
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12:56-9.5 Cancellation of permit
@) The Commissioner may cancel any special permit for cause.
(b) A special permit may be canceled as of the date of issuance upon the following conditions:

1. Ifitis found that fraud has been exercised in obtaining the special permit or in permitting an
individual with a disability to work thereunder; or

2. As of the date of the violation, if it is found that any of the provisions of the act, or of the
terms of the special permit have been violated; or

3. As of the date of notice of cancellation, if in the judgment of the Commissioner, the special

permit is no longer necessary in the interest of the employees covered.
SUBCHAPTER 10. (RESERVED)
SUBCHAPTER 11. EMPLOYMENT IN THE FIRST PROCESSING OF FARM PRODUCTS

OCCUPATIONS

12:56-11.1 Definitions

@ “First processing of farm products occupations” means any activity as an employee in an
establishment which is in an industry engaged primarily in the first processing of farm products during
seasonal operations.

(b) “Industry engaged primarily in the first processing of farm products” means an establishment
which is primarily engaged in the first processing of, or in canning or packing, perishable or seasonal
fresh fruits or vegetables for human consumption, during seasonal operations.

12:56-11.2 Minimum wage

All employees including those under the age of 18 engaged in first processing of farm products
occupations shall be paid at minimum wage rates as provided in N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1.

12:56-11.3 Overtime rates
Overtime at 1 1/2 times the regular hourly rate shall be paid to those engaged in first processing of
farm products occupations for all hours worked in excess of 40 in a week.
SUBCHAPTER 12. EMPLOYMENT IN SEASONAL AMUSEMENT OCCUPATIONS
12:56-12.1 Definitions
(@) “Seasonal amusement occupation”:

1. Means any activity as an employee in an establishment which is exclusively an amusement or
recreational establishment, provided:

i. It does not operate for more than seven months in any calendar year; or
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ii. During the preceding calendar year, its average receipts for any consecutive six months
of such year were not more than 33 1/3 percent of its average receipts for the other six months of
that year.

2. “Seasonal amusement occupation” includes but is not limited to amusement rides and
amusement device operators, cashiers who sell tickets for the rides and device, and operators of game
concessions.

3. “Seasonal amusement occupation” does not include retail, eating or drinking concessions; nor
does it pertain to camps, beach and swimming facilities, movie theatres, theatrical productions,
athletic events, professional entertainment, pool and billiard parlors, circuses and outdoor shows,
sport activities or centers, country club athletic facilities, bowling alleys, race tracks and like facilities
which are not part of a diversified amusement enterprise.

12:56-12.2 Minimum wage

Employees engaged in seasonal amusement occupations shall be paid at minimum wage rates as
provided in N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1.

12:56-12.3 Overtime rates

Employees engaged in seasonal amusement occupations shall be exempt from the overtime
provisions of the act.
SUBCHAPTER 13. EMPLOYMENT IN HOTEL AND MOTEL OCCUPATIONS
12:56-13.1 Definitions

@ “Hotel and motel occupation” means any activity as an employee for an establishment kept,
used, maintained, advertised as or held out to be a place where sleeping accommaodations are supplied for
pay to transient or permanent guests, in which 15 or more rooms are available for rental furnished or
unfurnished; except this definition shall not include summer camps and country clubs when these
activities are not part of a hotel or motel establishment.

(b) “Seasonal hotel and motel” means a hotel or motel in which, during the previous business
year, not less than two-thirds of the gross receipts were received in a continuous period of three months or
less.

12:56-13.2 Minimum wage

Employees including those under 18 years of age engaged in hotel and motel occupations shall be
paid a minimum wage rate as provided in N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1.

12:56-13.3 Overtime rates

Overtime at 1-1/2 times the regular hourly wage rate shall be paid for all hours worked in excess of
40 hours in any week.

12:56-13.4 Cash wage standard

(@) The wage rates established in this subchapter shall be acceptable in those occupations where
gratuities or food and/or lodging are actually received.
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(b) Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the Federal cash wage rate of
$2.13 and must demonstrate that the balance of the $5.05 ! minimum wage required under State law is
paid through gratuities in accordance with N.J.A.C. 12:56-4 and 12:56-8. Employers not subject to the
Fair Labor Standards Act must demonstrate that the total wage, including cash and gratuities, equals the
$5.05™ minimum wage required under State law in accordance with N.J.A.C. 12:56-4 and 12:56-8.

[ For the current minimum wage rate, visit nj.gov/labor and click on Worker Protections and then Wage &
Hour Compliance.]

12:56-13.5 Substantiation of gratuities; food and lodging cost

Employer substantiation of gratuities received by an employee and the cost of food and lodging shall
be as provided in this chapter.

12:56-13.6 Food and lodging as wages over 40 hours

Food and lodging supplied to employees shall not be included in wages for those hours worked in
excess of 40 hours per week.

12:56-13.7 Cash wage condition of employment

Where cash wages have been established as a condition of employment through agreement between
the employer and employee, gratuities, food and lodging shall not be included as part of such cash wages.

12:56-13.8 Required food and lodging acceptance; costs

Meals and lodging which the employer requires the employee to accept shall be considered for the
convenience of the employer and the cost thereof shall not be considered applicable as minimum wages.
SUBCHAPTER 14. EMPLOYMENT IN FOOD SERVICE OCCUPATIONS
12:56-14.1 Definitions

@) “Restaurant industry” means any eating or drinking place which prepares and offers food or
beverages for human consumption either in any of its premises or by such services as catering, banquets,
box lunch or curb service.

(b) “Restaurant occupation” means any activity of any employee in the restaurant industry.

(c) “Uniform” means any garment such as dress, apron, collar, cuffs or headdress which is worn
by the employee either at the direction of the employer or as a condition of employment.

12:56-14.2 Minimum wage

Employees including those under 18 years of age employed at restaurant occupations shall be paid a
minimum wage rate as provided in N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1.

12:56-14.3 Overtime rates
@ Overtime at 1 1/2 the regular hourly wage shall be paid for all hours worked in excess of 40

hours in any week.
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1. The minimum overtime rate for those covered by the overtime provision is $5.70 on May 3,
1990, $6.38 on April 1, 1991, and $7.58 1 on April 1, 1992.

2. If the employee's regular hourly wage rate is more than the minimum per hour, then the
overtime rate is 1-1/2 times the employee's regular rate.

3. Food and lodging supplied to employees shall not be included in wages for those hours
worked in excess of 40 hours per week. Gratuities shall not be counted toward the premium part of
the overtime. The additional halftime must be in cash.

[} The current minimum overtime rate is 1 % the current minimum wage rate. For the current minimum
wage rate, visit nj.gov/labor and click on Worker Protections and then Wage & Hour Compliance.]

12:56-14.4 Cash wage standard

@ The wage rate established in this subchapter shall be acceptable in those occupations where
gratuities or food and/or lodging are actually received.

(b) Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the Federal cash wage rate of
$2.13 and must demonstrate that the balance of the $5.05 I minimum wage required under State law is
paid through gratuities in accordance with N.J.A.C. 12:56-4 and 12:56-8. Employers not subject to the
Fair Labor Standards Act must demonstrate that the total wage, including cash and gratuities, equals the
$5.05 M minimum wage required under State law in accordance with N.J.A.C. 12:56-4 and 12:56-8.

[* For the current minimum hourly wage rate, visit nj.gov/labor and click on Wage & Hour.]

12:56-14.5 Substantiation of gratuities, food and lodging cost

Employer substantiation of gratuities received by an employee and the cost of food and lodging shall
be as provided in this chapter.

12:56-14.6 Food and lodging as wages over 40 hours

Food and lodging supplied to employees shall not be included in wages for those hours worked in
excess of 40 hours per week.

12:56-14.7 Cash wage condition of employment

Where cash wages have been established as a condition of employment through agreement between
the employer and the employee or the employee's collective bargaining agent, gratuities, food and lodging
shall not be included as part of such cash wages.
12:56-14.8 Meals and lodging applicable to minimum wage

Meals and lodging shall be considered applicable toward the minimum wage unless the employee
elects not to receive such meals and lodging.
SUBCHAPTER 15. EMPLOYMENT IN AIR CARRIER INDUSTRY
12:56-15.1 Definitions

(@) “Air carrier employee” means an employee, non-union or union, where applicable labor
agreements permit, who operates in a phase of air carrier employment which operates on a seven day a
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week, 24 hour-a-day basis and whose normal work is scheduled on a seven day a week, 24 hour-a-day
basis.

(b) “Air carrier employer” means an air carrier holding a certificate of public convenience and
necessity issued by the Civil Aeronautics Board pursuant to Section 401 of the Federal Aviation Act of
1958, 49 USC Section 1371.
12:56-15.2 Minimum wage

Employees engaged in the air carrier industry shall be paid a minimum wage rate as provided in
N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1.

12:56-15.3 Overtime rates
@ Overtime shall be paid at 1 1/2 times the regular hourly wage rate to all nonexempt
employees for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a week except rescheduled time off for overtime
shall be permitted to air carrier employees where:
1. The employee so requests;

2. The employer determines that the workload demands permit the employee's absence; or

3. The rescheduled time off is taken within specified periods.

SUBCHAPTER 16. INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR STATUS
12:56-16.1 Independent contractor status criteria

The criteria identified in the Unemployment Compensation Law at N.J.S.A. 43:21-19(i)(6)(A)(B)(C)
and interpreting case law will be used to determine whether an individual is an employee or independent
contractor for purposes of the Wage and Hour Law.

SUBCHAPTER 17. UNIFORMS
12:56-17.1 Uniforms

@ It shall be a presumption that the employer has required his or her employees to wear
uniforms if such garments are of a similar design, color or material, or form part of the decorative pattern
of the establishment.

(b) Maintenance and upkeep of uniforms of kitchen people, cooks, and dishwashers shall be
provided and maintained by the employer.

(c) If uniforms are required which are not appropriate for street wear or use in other
establishments, the employer shall pay for the cost of such uniforms.

(d) If a particular type of clothing is required to be worn, which is appropriate for street wear, the
employer who requires an employee to furnish more than one style, type or color of clothing during any
one year of his or her employment shall pay to each such employee, in addition to his or her regular
wages otherwise due, the amount which employee is required to pay for newly required uniform or
uniforms and such additional payment shall be made to the employee in the week in which the change is
required.
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(e) No deduction from the pay of employees for uniforms shall be permitted. If the employee
pays for uniforms in cash and the cash payment brings the employee below the minimum wage, the
employer shall make up the difference for the minimum wage for that week.

SUBCHAPTER 18. SCHOOL-TO-WORK PROGRAM
12:56-18.1 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following meanings unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Career awareness and exploration” means structured school programs that enable student learners to:
1. Develop awareness of the many employment opportunities available;
2. Develop awareness of the relevant factors to be considered in making career decisions;
3. Become familiar with occupational clusters and classifications;
4. Explore key occupational areas and assess their own interests and abilities; and
5. Develop tentative occupational plans and arrive at a tentative career choice.

“Incidental” means any irrelevant, occasional productive work which is not part of achieving learning
objectives.

“Internship” means a program of study for a student which includes supervised practical training,.

“Job shadowing” means the process by which a student learner determines (by observation, interview
and study) the pertinent information related to an occupation. Information can include such factors as:
qualifications for employment, functions performed, necessary skills and knowledge, equipment and
material used, and physical demands and working environment.

12:56-18.2 School-to-work program requirements

@ The following conditions shall be met to allow for non-paid activities of student learners at
for profit and not-for-profit organizations:

1. The student shall be at least 16 years of age;
2. The activity must be related to a formal school-to-work transition plan for a student learner;

3. There is collaboration and planning between worksite staff and school staff resulting in
clearly identified learning objectives related to the non-paid activities;

4. Any productive work is incidental to achieving learning objectives;

5. The student learner receives credit for time spent at the worksite and the student is expected
to achieve the learning objectives;

6. The student learner is supervised by a school official and a workplace mentor;

59



7. The non-paid activity is of a limited duration, related to an educational purpose and there is
no guarantee or expectation that the activity will result in employment; and

8. The student learner does not replace an employee.

SUBCHAPTER 19. EMPLOYMENT IN THE TRUCKING INDUSTRY
12:56-19.1 Trucking industry employer defined

“Trucking industry employer” means any business or establishment primarily operating for the
purpose of conveying property from one place to another by road or highway, and includes the storage
and warehousing of goods and property. Such an employer must also be subject to the jurisdiction of the
Secretary of Transportation pursuant to the Federal Motor Carrier Act, 49 U.S.C. 31501 et seq., whose
employees are exempt under Section 13(b)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C. 213(b)(1),
which provides an exemption to employees regulated by Section 204 of the Federal Motor Carrier Act
and Interstate Commerce Act.
12:56-19.2 Minimum wage

Employees engaged in the trucking industry shall be paid a minimum wage rate as provided in
N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4 and N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1.

12:56-19.3 Overtime rates

Every trucking industry employer shall pay to all drivers, helpers, loaders and mechanics for whom
the Secretary of Transportation may prescribe maximum hours of work for the safe operation of vehicles
pursuant to 49 U.S.C. § 31502(b) an overtime rate not less than one and one-half times the minimum
wage required pursuant to N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4 and N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1.
SUBCHAPTER 20. EMPLOYMENT OF SKILLED MECHANICS
12:56-20.1 Skilled mechanic defined

@) For purposes of this exemption, “skilled mechanic” is defined as:

1. A mechanic who is a specialist performing all repairs and who works on the total automobile
and who works on various automobile makes and models; or

2. A mechanic who is responsible for work on certain parts of the vehicle, for example,
transmission mechanic, brake mechanic, engine mechanic, air-conditioning mechanic.

(b) The term “skilled mechanic” does not include: a mechanic or helper who works on limited
sections of an automobile and performs minor tasks such as lubricating, tire changing, brake service, oil
changing.

12:56-20.2 Minimum wage

Skilled mechanics engaged in the new or the new and used motor vehicle sales or the automotive
and/or truck repair industry must be paid a minimum wage rate as provided in N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1.
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12:56-20.3 Overtime rates

(@) Skilled mechanics employed by non-manufacturing employers primarily engaged in the
business of selling new or new and used motor vehicles or in the business of automotive and/or truck
repair shall be exempt from the overtime requirements of N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4 and N.J.A.C. 12:56-6.1
provided all of the following conditions are met:

1. The mechanic shall be paid on a flat rate or incentive rate basis; and

2. The mechanic shall be guaranteed a basic contractual hourly rate, separate from and exclusive
from the flat or incentive rate. The contractual hourly rate must include payment of time and one-half
of the hourly rate for all hours actually worked in excess of 40 hours per week. The contractual
hourly rate must be at least minimum wage.

APPENDIX A

AVAILABILITY OF STANDARDS REFERRED TO IN THIS CHAPTER

A copy of each of the standards referenced in this chapter is on file and may be inspected at the following
office between the hours of 9:00 A.M. and 4:00 P.M. on normal working days:

New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Labor Standards and Safety Enforcement

John Fitch Plaza

Trenton, New Jersey

Copies of the referenced standards may be obtained from the following office:
Division of Wage and Hour Compliance
New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development

PO Box 389
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0389
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12:57-4.7 Gratuities

12:57-4.8 Furnishing equipment
12:57-4.9 Individuals with disabilities
12:57-4.10 Records

12:57-4.11 Posting

SUBCHAPTER 5. LAUNDRY, CLEANING AND DYEING OCCUPATIONS

12:57-5.1 Scope

12:57-5.2 Definitions
12:57-5.3 Minimum wage
12:57-5.4 Overtime rate
12:57-5.5 Regular hourly wage
12:57-5.6 Waiting time
12:57-5.7 Travel time
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12:57-5.8 Piece work

12:57-5.9 Individuals with disabilities
12:57-5.10 Records

12:57-5.11 Posting

SUBCHAPTER 6. LIGHT MANUFACTURING AND APPAREL OCCUPATIONS

12:57-6.1 Scope

12:57-6.2 Definitions

12:57-6.3 Minimum wage rate
12:57-6.4 Wage rate

12:57-6.5 Piece work

12:57-6.6 Waiting time

12:57-6.7 Individuals with disabilities
12:57-6.8 Posting

SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
12:57-1.1 Purpose; scope
(2) The purpose of this chapter is to define and clarify certain sections of N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a et seq.

(b) This chapter shall apply to the wage rates for the employment of minors subject to N.J.S.A.
34:11-34 et seq. U

(c) This chapter shall apply to minors employed in mercantile occupations, beauty culture
occupations, and laundry, cleaning and dyeing occupations.

(d) Other wage orders and regulations for minors under 18 years of age are provided for under
N.J.A.C. 12:56-11, 13 and 14, Wage and Hour.

[ Revised N.J.S.A. cite to 34:11-56a et seq. from 34:11-34 et seq.]
12:57-1.2 Violations and penalties

(@) An employer or his or her agent, or the officer or agent of any corporation, is a disorderly person,
if he or she discharges or in any other manner discriminates against any employee because the employee
has served or is about to serve on a wage board or has testified or is about to testify before a wage board
or in any other investigation or proceeding or because the employer believes that the employee may serve
on a wage board or may testify before a wage board or in any investigation or proceeding under this
chapter and shall be guilty of a disorderly person offense and upon conviction be punished by a fine of
not more than $ 500.00. ™

(b) An employer or the officer or agent of any corporation is a disorderly person if he or she pays or
agrees to pay to any minor less than the rates applicable to such minor under a mandatory minimum fair
wage order and shall be guilty of a disorderly person offense and upon conviction be punished by a fine
of not more than $ 500.00 ™ or by imprisonment of not more than 90 @ days or by both such fine and
imprisonment. Each week, in any day of which an employee is paid less than the rate applicable to him or
her under a mandatory minimum fair wage order; and each employee so paid, shall constitute a separate
offense.

(c) An employer or the officer or agent of any corporation is a disorderly person if he or she fails to
keep the records required or to furnish such records to the Commissioner upon request and shall be guilty
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of a disorderly person offense and upon conviction be punished by a fine of not more than $ 500.00 ™ and
each day of such failure to keep the records or to furnish same as required shall constitute a separate
offense.

[* A fine of not more than $1000.00 pursuant to N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a.22.]

[? Imprisonment of not more than 100 days pursuant to N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a.22.]

SUBCHAPTER 2. DEFINITIONS
12:57-2.1 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following meanings unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Act" means New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law, N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a et seq.

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Workforce Development
or his or her designee.

"Division of Wage and Hour Compliance™" means the Division of Wage and Hour Compliance within
the Labor Standards and Safety Enforcement program area of the New Jersey State Department of Labor
and Workforce Development, PO Box 389, Trenton, N.J. 08625.

"Employee" means any individual employed by an employer.

"Employer" means any individual, partnership, association, corporation or any person or group of
persons acting directly or indirectly in the interest of an employer in relation to an employee.

"Minor" means any person under the age of 18 years.
"N.J.A.C." means the New Jersey Administrative Code.

"N.J.S.A." means the New Jersey Statutes Annotated.

SUBCHAPTER 3. MERCANTILE OCCUPATIONS
12:57-3.1 Scope

This subchapter shall apply to the minimum wage rates paid to all minors engaged in mercantile
occupations, irrespective of the nature of the business of the employer or the location of the place where
the work is being performed.
12:57-3.2 Definitions

(&) "Mercantile occupation™ means:

1. Any employment in or for any industry or business selling or offering for sale any type of
merchandise, wares, goods, articles or commodities.
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2. All work connected with the soliciting of sales or opportunities for sale and the distributing of
such merchandise, wares, goods, articles or commodities and the rendering of services incidental to
the sale, use or upkeep of the same whether performed on the employer's premises or elsewhere; or

3. Work performed in the manufacturing of merchandise sold at retail upon the premises where
it is manufactured; and

4. Does not mean work performed in the manufacturing of merchandise which is sold at
wholesale by the manufacturer.

(b) "Working time" means time for which wages are paid and includes both time worked and time of
authorized attendance, whether or not work is provided and time is spent in traveling, within the State of
New Jersey, from one establishment to another which is authorized or requested by the employer.

12:57-3.3 Minimum wage

Minors under 18 years of age at mercantile occupations shall be paid not less than the statutory
minimum wage rate.

12:57-3.4 Overtime rate

(@) Overtime, at the rate of not less than one and one-half times the regular rate at which the
employee is actually employed, shall be paid to each minor for hours worked in excess of 40 in any one
week, except that the overtime rate shall not apply to an executive, professional or administrative
employee who is paid for his or her services in accordance with N.J.A.C. 12:56-7.

12:57-3.5 Regular hourly wage

(a) "Regular hourly wage™" means the amount that an employee is regularly paid for each hour of
work as determined by dividing the total hours of work during the week into the employee's total earnings
for the week, exclusive of overtime premium pay.

(b) The regular rate of pay at which the employee is employed shall not be less than the minimum
rate established by N.J.A.C. 12:57-3.3.

(c) When an employee is paid on a piece work basis or any other basis than an hourly rate the regular
hourly wage shall be determined by dividing the total of the hours worked during the week into the
employee's total earnings exclusive of part time bonuses for the week and exclusive of wages earned at
overtime rates as such rates are defined.

(d) The total computed earnings shall include commissions, bonuses and all compensation paid by
the employer, except overtime pay.

12:57-3.6 Waiting time

Time during regular working hours and at other periods when employees are required to wait on the
premises and no work is provided by the employer shall be counted as working time and paid at such
employee’s regular hourly wage.

12:57-3.7 Travel time

An employee who is required or authorized to travel, from one establishment to another shall be
compensated for the travel time at the same rate as for working time and shall be reimbursed for travel
expense.
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12:57-3.8 Piece work

(&) Minors employed on a piece work or commission basis shall be employed at rates which yield to
each employee not less than the minimum wage established for time workers.

(b) For any week during which a minor is employed on a piece work or commission basis, or any
basis whatsoever other than an hourly or time basis, the minimum amount of wage that shall be paid to
such employee for such work shall be not less than the amount the employer would be required to pay if
such employee were employed on an hourly or time basis.

(c) In the case of commissioned employees, their minimum wage may be charged against the
commissions earned.

12:57-3.9 Employment under existing minimum wage orders

Whenever an employee is employed in any week solely in occupations governed by another
minimum wage order, such employee may, for such week, be paid not less than the minimum rates
required by such other minimum wage order.

12:57-3.10 Diversified employment

(@) "Diversified employment” means employment of an employee by one employer in mercantile
occupations and during the same time being employed in occupations either covered or not covered by
other minimum wage orders.

(b) An employee who during any payroll period works at diversified employment shall be paid for
the full payroll period at the highest minimum wage rate established by any minimum wage order for any
occupation in which the employee was engaged during the pay period in question; provided, however,
that in cases where the employer has kept an accurate record of the actual time the employee has been
engaged in each covered occupation, the employee may be paid not less than the minimum wage earned
at such occupation.

12:57-3.11 Individuals with disabilities

No minor whose earning capacity has been impaired by physical or mental disability shall be paid at
less than the minimum wage until a special license, in accordance with the provisions of N.J.S.A. 34:11-
56a17(b), has been obtained by the employer from the Division of Wage and Hour Compliance.

12:57-3.12 Records

(@) Every employer shall keep a record of the name and address of each such employee, together
with a record of the ages of all minors, a true and accurate record of the amount paid each pay period to
each minor, and such other records as are essential in determining an employee's regular hourly wage and
the amount of overtime wages earned.

(b) Employers are required to keep a true and accurate record of the hours worked each day. These
records shall include the actual starting and stopping time of each work period and the total hours worked
each pay period by each minor.

12:57-3.13 Posting

A notice issued by the Division of Wage and Hour Compliance setting forth the provisions of this
subchapter shall be posted in a conspicuous place in every room where minors are employed at mercantile
occupations.
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SUBCHAPTER 4. BEAUTY CULTURE OCCUPATIONS
12:57-4.1 Scope

This subchapter shall apply to the minimum wage rates paid to all minors engaged in beauty culture
occupations, irrespective of the nature of the business of the employer or the location of the place where
the work is being performed.

12:57-4.2 Definitions

(a) "Beauty culture establishment™ means any shop, store, place, room or part thereof, in which
services are rendered in a beauty culture occupation, or any branch thereof, and a charge is made to the
recipient of such services.

(b) "Beauty culture occupation” means any service, operation or process used or useful in the care,
cleansing, or beautification of or in the enhancement of personal appearance, and all service, operation or
process, incidental to such care, cleansing, beautification or enhancement, including the service of
demonstrators, maids, cashiers, reception or appointment clerks.

(c) "Operator" means any employee duly licensed as an operator, manicurist, manager-operator or
demonstrator by the New Jersey Board of Beauty Culture.

(d) "Senior student permit” means a permit issued by the New Jersey Board of Beauty Culture.
(e) "Temporary permit" means a permit issued by the New Jersey Board of Beauty Culture.
12:57-4.3 Minimum wage

Minors under 18 years of age at beauty culture occupations shall be paid not less than the statutory
minimum wage rate.

12:57-4.4 Overtime rate

Overtime, at the rate of not less than one and one-half times the regular rate at which the employee is
actually employed, shall be paid to each minor for hours worked in excess of 40 in any one week, except
that the overtime rate shall not apply to an executive, professional or administrative employee who is paid
for his or her services in accordance with N.J.A.C. 12:56-7.

12:57-4.5 Regular hourly wage

(@) "Regular hourly wage" means the amount that an employee is regularly paid for each hour of
work as determined by dividing the total hours of work during the week into the employee's total earnings
for the week, exclusive of overtime premium pay.

(b) The regular rate of pay at which the employee is employed shall not be less than the minimum
rate established by N.J.A.C. 12:57-4.3.

(c) When an employee is paid on a piece work basis or any other basis than an hourly rate the regular
hourly wage shall be determined by dividing the total of the hours worked during the week into the
employee's total earnings exclusive of part time bonuses for the week and exclusive of wages earned at
overtime rates as such rates are defined.

(d) The total computed earnings shall include commissions, bonuses and all compensation paid by
the employer, except overtime pay.
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12:57-4.6 Waiting time

Any period of time during which an employee is required to wait on the premises and during which
period no work is provided by the employer shall be counted as working time and be paid at such
employee's regular hourly wage.

12:57-4.7 Gratuities

In no case shall tips or gratuities from patrons be counted as part of the minimum wage or regular
wage rate being paid to an employee.

12:57-4.8 Furnishing equipment

Employers shall furnish all material and equipment pertinent to performance of the work with the
exception of personal manicuring and hair cutting tools.

12:57-4.9 Individuals with disabilities
No minor whose earning capacity has been impaired by physical or mental disability shall be paid at
less than the minimum wage, unless a special license, in accordance with the provisions of N.J.S.A.
34:11-56a17(b), has been obtained by the employer from the Division of Wage and Hour Compliance.
12:57-4.10 Records
(@) Every employer shall keep the following records for each minor employee:
1. Full name, address, and occupational classification;
2. Date of birth;
3. A true and accurate record of hours worked each day including record of starting and
stopping time, meal periods, total daily and weekly hours and amount of wages paid for each pay

period.

4. Such other records as are essential in determining an employee's regular hourly wage and the
amount of overtime wages earned and paid.

(b) Records shall be dated showing the payroll ending date by month, day and year, and all records
shall be kept so as to enable representatives of the Division of Wage and Hour Compliance to determine
readily whether or not the employer is complying with the orders of the Commissioner.
12:57-4.11 Posting

A notice issued by the Division of Wage and Hour Compliance setting forth the provisions of this

subchapter shall be posted in a conspicuous place in every room where minors are employed in a beauty
culture occupation.

68



SUBCHAPTER 5. LAUNDRY, CLEANING AND DYEING OCCUPATIONS
12:57-5.1 Scope

This subchapter shall apply to the minimum wage rate paid to all minors engaged in laundry, cleaning
and dyeing occupations, irrespective of the nature of the business of the employer or the location of the
place where the work is being performed.

12:57-5.2 Definitions

"Laundry, cleaning and dyeing occupation” means any activity of a minor or any capacity in the
marking, sorting, washing, cleansing, collecting, ironing, assembling, packaging, pressing, receiving,
shipping or delivery, or any other activity including clerical work, directly incidental or essential to the
laundering, cleaning or renovating of any articles of clothing, napery, blanket, rugs, carpets, draperies,
bed clothing fabric, textile, fur or leather, when such activity is not performed in the original process of
manufacturing.

12:57-5.3 Minimum wage

Minors under 18 years of age at laundry, cleansing and dyeing occupations shall be paid not less than
the statutory minimum wage rate.

12:57-5.4 Overtime rate

Overtime, at the rate of not less than one and one-half times the regular rate at which the employee is
actually employed, shall be paid to each minor for hours worked in excess of 40 in any one week, except
that the overtime rate shall not apply to an executive, professional or administrative employee who is paid
for his or her services in accordance with N.J.A.C. 12:56-7.

12:57-5.5 Regular hourly wage

(@) "Regular hourly wage" means the amount that an employee is regularly paid for each hour of
work as determined by dividing the total hours of work during the week into the employee's total earnings
for the week, exclusive of overtime premium pay.

(b) The regular rate of pay at which the employee is employed shall not be less than the minimum
rate established by N.J.A.C. 12:57-5.3.

(c) When an employee is paid on a piece work basis or any other basis than an hourly rate the regular
hourly wage shall be determined by dividing the total of the hours worked during the week into the
employee's total earnings exclusive of part time bonuses for the week and exclusive of wages earned at
overtime rates as such rates are defined.

(d) The total computed earnings shall include commissions, bonuses, and all compensation paid by
the employer except overtime pay.

12:57-5.6 Waiting time
Time during regular working hours and at other periods when employees are required to wait on the

premises and no work is provided by the employer shall be counted as working time and paid at each
employee's regular hourly wage.
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12:57-5.7 Travel time

An employee who is required or authorized to travel from one establishment to another after the
beginning or before the ending of his or her work day shall be compensated for travel time at not less than
the employee's regular hourly wage and shall be reimbursed for travel expenses.

12:57-5.8 Piece work
No minor employed on a piece work basis or any basis other than a time basis shall for any week of

employment be paid less than the amount that the employee would earn for the hours of employment at
the minimum wage applicable.

12:57-5.9 Individuals with disabilities
No minor whose earning capacity has been impaired by physical or mental disability shall be paid at
less than the minimum wage, until a special license, in accordance with the provisions of N.J.S.A. 34:11-
56a17(b), has been obtained by the employer from the Division of Wage and Hour Compliance.
12:57-5.10 Records
(@) Every employer shall keep the following records for each minor employee:
1. Full name, address, and occupational classification;
2. Date of birth;
3. A true and accurate record of hours worked each day, including a record of starting and
stopping time, meal periods, total daily and weekly hours, and amount of wages paid for each pay

period;

4. Such other records as are essential in determining an employee's regular hourly wage and the
amount of overtime wages earned and paid.

(b) Records shall be dated showing the payroll ending date by month, day and year, and all records
shall be kept so as to enable representatives of the Division of Wage and Hour Compliance to determine
readily whether or not the employer is complying with the orders of the Commissioner.

(c) Such records shall be open to inspection by the Commissioner at any reasonable time, and sworn
copies shall be supplied to the Commissioner upon demand.

12:57-5.11 Posting

A notice issued by the Division of Wage and Hour Compliance setting forth the provisions of this
subchapter shall be posted in a conspicuous place in every room where minors are employed at laundry,
cleaning, and dyeing occupations.
SUBCHAPTER 6. LIGHT MANUFACTURING AND APPAREL OCCUPATIONS
12:57-6.1 Scope

This subchapter shall apply to the minimum wage rates paid to all minors engaged in light
manufacturing and apparel occupations regardless of the nature of the business of the employer or the

location of the place where the work is being performed.
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12:57-6.2 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the following meanings
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Apparel industry" means the making or otherwise producing of apparel, designed or intended to be
worn by any individual.

"Light manufacturing” means a type of employment where the process or operation of making wares
or any material produced and within compliance of the prohibitive occupations for minors as cited at
N.J.S.A. 34:2-21.17 regardless of the location of the place where the work is being performed.

"Minimum wage" means the current statutory minimum wage rate as cited at N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a.4.

"Minor" means a person under the age of 18 years old.

12:57-6.3 Minimum wage rate

Minors employed in the apparel industry or light manufacturing as defined in N.J.A.C. 12:57-6.2
shall be paid not less than the statutory minimum wage rate.

12:57-6.4 Wage rate

Overtime, at the rate of not less than one and one-half times the regular rate at which the employee is
actually employed, shall be paid to each minor for hours worked in excess of 40 in any one week, except
that the overtime rate shall not apply to an executive, professional or administrative employee who is paid
for his or her services in accordance with N.J.A.C. 12:56-7.

12:57-6.5 Piece work

Minors employed on a piece work basis shall be employed at piece work rates which yield to each
such employee rates not less than the applicable statutory minimum wage rate.

12:57-6.6 Waiting time

No minor required to report for work shall be paid for less than one hour in any one day at the basic
hourly rate of pay.

12:57-6.7 Individuals with disabilities

No minor whose earning capacity has been impaired by physical or mental disability shall be paid at
less than the minimum wage, until a special license, in accordance with the provisions of N.J.S.A. 34:11-
56a17(b), has been obtained by the employer from the Division of Wage and Hour Compliance.

12:57-6.8 Posting

This subchapter or an abstract thereof shall be posted in a conspicuous place in every room where
minors are employed at the occupations covered by this subchapter. A copy of such abstract may be
obtained from:

New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Division of Wage and Hour Compliance
PO Box 389
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0389
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TITLE 8 - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SENIOR SERVICES

CHAPTER 43E - GENERAL LICENSURE PROCEDURES AND ENFORCEMENT
OF LICENSURE REGULATIONS

SUBCHAPTER 8. MANDATORY OVERTIME

8:43E-8.1 Mandatory overtime; scope and general purpose
8:43E-8.2 Applicability

8:43E-8.3 Definitions

8:43E-8.4 Purpose

8:43E-8.5 Overtime procedures

8:43E-8.6 Records; dissemination of information

8:43E-8.7 Enforcement and administrative penalties

8:43E-8.8 Policies and procedures

8:43E-8.9 Discharge or discrimination against an employee making a complaint

8:43E-8.10 Complaint system
8:43E-8.11 Protection of the right to collective bargaining
8:43E-8.12 Data

8:43E-8.1 Mandatory overtime; scope and general purpose
The procedures set forth in this subchapter apply to all health care facilities licensed in accordance
with N.J.S.A. 26:2H-1 et seq., including a State or county psychiatric hospital, a State developmental
center, or a health care service firm registered by the Division of Consumer Affairs in the Department of
Law and Public Safety pursuant to N.J.S.A. 56:8-1.1 et seq. The rules set forth the standards and
procedures governing the use by health care facilities of required overtime by hourly wage employees
involved in direct patient care activities or clinical services in health care facilities.
8:43E-8.2 Applicability
(@) The rules in this subchapter do not apply to the following:
1. Physicians;
2. Volunteers;

3.  Employees who volunteer to work overtime;

4. Employees of assisted living facilities that are licensed in accordance with N.J.A.C. 8:36 and
who receive room and board as a benefit of employment and reside at the facility on a full-time basis;

5. Employees who assume on-call duty;

6. Employees participating in a surgical or therapeutic interventional procedure that is in
progress, when it would be detrimental to the patient if the employee left. However, in the case of
elective procedures, the rules do apply if the procedure was scheduled such that the length of time
ordinarily required to complete the procedure would exceed the end of the employee's scheduled
shift; and

7. Employees not involved in direct patient care activities or clinical services.
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8:43E-8.3 Definitions

The following words and terms, as used in this subchapter, shall have the following meanings, unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise.

"Chronic short staffing" means a situation characterized by long standing vacancies in that portion of
the facility's master staffing plan applicable to the work unit of an employee who files a complaint where
such vacancies are the result of open positions that continually remain unfilled over a period of 90 days or
more despite active recruitment efforts.

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Health and Senior Services.

"Department™ means the New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services.

"Direct patient care activities" or "clinical services" means activities/services in which an employee
provides direct service to patient/residents in a clinical setting, including the emergency department,
inpatient bedside, operating room, other clinical specialty treatment area, or, in the case of a patient

served by a home health care agency or health service firm, the individual's home.

"Employee" means an individual employed by a health care facility who is involved in direct patient
care activities or clinical services and receives an hourly wage, but shall not include a physician.

"Employer" means an individual, partnership, association, corporation or person or group of persons
acting directly or indirectly in the interest of a health care facility.

"Health care facility" means a health care facility licensed by the Department of Health and Senior
Services pursuant to P.L. 1971, ¢.136 (N.J.S.A. 26:2H-1 et seq.), a State or county psychiatric hospital, a
State developmental center, or a health care service firm registered by the Division of Consumer Affairs
in the Department of Law and Public Safety pursuant to P.L. 1960, ¢.39 (N.J.S.A. 56:8-1 et seq.).

"Licenses" means the action taken by a State agency to license, certify, or register a health care
facility subject to the jurisdiction of that State agency.

"On-call time" means time spent by an employee who is not currently working on the premises of the
place of employment, but who is compensated for availability, or as a condition of employment has
agreed to be available, to return to the premises of the place of employment on short notice if the need
arises.

"Reasonable efforts" means that the employer shall:

1. Seek persons who volunteer to work extra time from all available qualified staff who are
working at the time of the unforeseeable emergent circumstance;

2. Contact all qualified employees who have made themselves available to work extra time;
3. Seek the use of qualified per diem staff; and

4. Seek qualified personnel from a contracted temporary agency when such staff is permitted by
law, regulation or applicable collective bargaining agreements.

"Unforeseeable emergent circumstance” means an unpredictable or unavoidable occurrence at
unscheduled intervals relating to health care delivery that requires immediate action.
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8:43E-8.4 Purpose

The rules in this subchapter are intended to promote the health, safety, and welfare of patients,
residents and clients of health care facilities as well as of certain hourly wage employees of those
facilities through establishing rules implementing the statutory limitations on health care facilities'
authority to require certain hourly wage employees, involved in direct patient care activities or clinical
services, to work overtime.

8:43E-8.5 Overtime procedures

(a) Except as provided for in (b) below, an employer shall not require an employee involved in direct
patient care activities or clinical services to work in excess of an agreed to, predetermined and regularly
scheduled daily work shift, not to exceed 40 hours per week. The acceptance by any employee of work in
excess of this shall be strictly voluntary. The refusal of an employee to accept such overtime work shall
not be grounds for discrimination, dismissal, discharge, or any other penalty or employment decision
adverse to the employee.

(b) The requirements of (a) above shall not apply in the case of an unforeseeable emergent
circumstance when:

1. The overtime is required only as a last resort, and is not used to fill vacancies resulting from
chronic short staffing; and

2. The employer has exhausted reasonable efforts to obtain staffing. However, exhaustion of
reasonable efforts shall not be required in the event of any declared national, State or municipal
emergency or a disaster or other catastrophic event which substantially affects or increases the need
for health care services or causes the facility to activate its emergency or disaster plan.

(c) In the event that an employer requires an employee to work overtime pursuant to (b) above, the
employer shall provide the employee with necessary time, up to a maximum of one hour, which may be
taken on or off the facility's premises, to arrange for the care of the employee's minor children, or elderly
or disabled family members.

(d) On-call time shall not be construed to permit an employer to use on-call time as a substitute for
mandatory overtime.

8:43E-8.6 Records; dissemination of information
(@) An employer shall establish a system for keeping records of circumstances where employees are

required to work in excess of an agreed to, predetermined and regularly scheduled daily work shift, or in
excess of 40 hours per week. The records shall include, but not be limited to:

1. The employee's name and job title;

2. The name of the employee's work area or unit;

3. The date the overtime was worked, including start time;

4, The number of hours of overtime mandated;

5. The employee’s daily work schedule for any week in which the employee is required to work

excess time;
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6. The reason why the overtime was necessary;

7. A description of the reasonable efforts that were exhausted prior to requiring overtime. This
shall include:

i. The names of employees contacted to work voluntary overtime;
ii. A description of efforts to secure per diem staff; and
iii. A list of the temporary agencies contacted; and
8. The signature of individual authorizing the required mandatory overtime.

(b) An employer shall provide the employee with a copy of the documentation in accordance with the
requirements set forth in (a) above upon requiring that the employee work overtime, except that the total
number, rather than the names, of employees contacted in accordance with (a)7i above shall be provided.

(c) Records as set forth in (a) above shall be kept a period of two years.

(d) A facility shall post in a conspicuous place a notice prepared by the New Jersey Department of
Labor concerning New Jersey Mandatory Overtime Restrictions for Health Care Facilities (N.J.S.A.
34:11-56a et seq.)

8:43E-8.7 Enforcement and administrative penalties

() If the Commissioner of Labor determines that a facility has violated provisions of this subchapter,
the Commissioner of Labor may issue sanctions in accordance with the wage and hour regulations
contained at N.J.A.C. 12:56.

(b) In cases where the State agency that licenses the facility and/or Department of Labor requests
additional information from a facility concerning mandatory overtime usage, the facility shall comply
with this request within 10 working days. The State agency that requested the information from the
facility may, at its discretion, grant an extension to this time frame if the facility can demonstrate good
cause. Failure to provide these records shall result in the issuance of administrative penalties in
accordance with N.J.A.C. 12:56-1.2 and 8:43E-3.4(a)13.

(c) If the State agency that licenses a facility subject to this chapter determines through a survey or
complaint investigation that the facility exhibits a pattern or practice of noncompliance with N.J.A.C.
8:43E-8.5, that State agency shall notify the Department of Labor of the violation. The Department of
Labor may also share with State agencies that license facilities subject to this chapter any information it
develops on Statewide and facility-specific trends, such as number of mandatory overtime complaints
filed; the number of complaints found to be valid; the number of enforcement actions appealed; and the
number of enforcement actions upheld.

(d) In the event a facility licensed by the Department fails to develop and implement the required
recordkeeping in accordance with N.J.A.C. 8:43E-8.6 and the required policies and procedures in
accordance with this section, the Department shall take enforcement action in accordance with the
provisions of N.J.A.C. 8:43E-3.4(a)13.

(e) Nothing in this subchapter shall be construed to relieve a facility of its obligation to comply with
State licensure standards pertaining to minimum employee staffing levels.
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8:43E-8.8 Policies and procedures

(@) A facility shall develop, revise as necessary and implement policies and procedures for the
purpose of training and educating staff on mandatory overtime. The policies and procedures shall include
mandatory educational programs that address at least the following:

1. The conditions under which an employer can require mandatory overtime;
2. Overtime procedures;

3. Employee rights; and

4. Complaint procedures.

(b) A facility shall establish a staffing plan designed to facilitate compliance with the requirements of
this subchapter.

1. The staffing plan shall include procedures to provide for replacement staff in the event of
sickness, vacations, vacancies and other employee absences.

(c) Upon request, the staffing plan and all related policies and procedures shall be made available to
the Department of Labor and/or the State agency that licenses the facility.

8:43E-8.9 Discharge or discrimination against an employee making a complaint

An employer shall not discharge or in any other manner discriminate against an employee because
such employee has made any complaint to his or her employer, including the employer's representative; to
the Commissioner of Labor; or to the State agency that licenses the facility where the employee works
that the employee has been required to work overtime in contravention to the provisions of this chapter.

8:43E-8.10 Complaint system

(@) An employee covered by this subchapter shall have a right to file a complaint up to two years
following the date of the assigned mandatory overtime if he or she believes the overtime was not in
response to an unforeseen emergent circumstance, and/or required reasonable efforts were not exhausted,
and/or he or she was not provided the allowed time to make arrangements for the care of family members.
All such complaints shall be submitted to:

Labor Standards and Safety Enforcement Directorate

Division of Wage and Hour Compliance of the Department of Labor
PO Box 389

Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0389

1. If requested, records of such reports shall be made available upon request to the Department
or to the Department of Law and Public Safety or to the Department of Human Services.

8:43E-8.11 Protection of the right to collective bargaining
Nothing in this subchapter shall be construed to impair or negate any employer-employee collective
bargaining agreement or any other employer/employee contract in effect as of January 1, 2003 for

licensed general hospitals and July 1, 2003 for all other facilities subject to these rules as set forth at
N.J.A.C. 8:43E-8.1.
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8:43E-8.12 Data
A facility shall submit data related to the effects of prohibiting mandatory overtime in accordance

with this chapter as well as data required to determine whether chronic staffing shortages exist, as the
State agency which licenses the facility shall request from time to time directly from each facility
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APPENDIX - FEDERAL REGULATIONS

Part 541

Title 29: Labor

Defining and Delimiting the
Exemptions for Executive,
Administrative, Professional,
Computer and Outside Sales
Employees







NOTE: Title 29, Part 541 is referenced in N.J.A.C. 12:56-7 Exemptions from Overtime

APPENDIX — FEDERAL REGULATIONS
Title 29: Labor

PART 541—DEFINING AND DELIMITING THE EXEMPTIONS FOR EXECUTIVE,
ADMINISTRATIVE, PROFESSIONAL, COMPUTER AND OUTSIDE SALES EMPLOYEES

Section Contents

Subpart A—General Regqulations

8§ 541.0 Introductory statement.

§541.1 Terms used in requlations.

§541.2 Job titles insufficient.

§541.3 Scope of the section 13(a)(1) exemptions.
§541.4 Other laws and collective bargaining agreements.

Subpart B—Executive Employees

§541.100 General rule for executive employees.
§ 541.101 Business owner.

§541.102 Management.

§541.103 Department or subdivision.

§541.104 Two or more other employees.
§541.105 Particular weight.

§541.106 Concurrent duties.

Subpart C—Administrative Employees

§541.200 General rule for administrative employees.

§541.201 Directly related to management or general business operations.
§541.202 Discretion and independent judgment.

§ 541.203 Administrative exemption examples.

§ 541.204 Educational establishments.

Subpart D—Professional Employees

§541.300 General rule for professional employees.
§541.301 Learned professionals.

§ 541.302 Creative professionals.

8 541.303 Teachers.

§ 541.304 Practice of law or medicine.

Subpart E—Computer Employees

8 541.400 General rule for computer employees.
§ 541.401 Computer manufacture and repair.
§ 541.402 Executive and administrative computer employees.

79


http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.1
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.1.95.1
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.1.95.2
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.1.95.3
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.1.95.4
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.1.95.5
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.2
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.2.95.1
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.2.95.2
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.2.95.3
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.2.95.4
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.2.95.5
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.2.95.6
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.2.95.7
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.3
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.3.95.1
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.3.95.2
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.3.95.3
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.3.95.4
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.3.95.5
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.4
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.4.95.1
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.4.95.2
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.4.95.3
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.4.95.4
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.4.95.5
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.5
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.5.95.1
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.5.95.2
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=7c59910502a8aa56d9c8c43e98f9285b;idno=29;region=DIV1;q1=Part%20541;rgn=div5;view=text;node=29%3A3.1.1.1.23#29:3.1.1.1.23.5.95.3

Subpart F—Outside Sales Employees

8 541.500 General rule for outside sales employees.
§541.501 Making sales or obtaining orders.
§541.502 Away from employer's place of business.
§ 541.503 Promotion work.

§ 541.504 Drivers who sell.

Subpart G—Salary Requirements

8 541.600 Amount of salary required.

§541.601 Highly compensated employees.

8 541.602 Salary basis.

8 541.603 Effect of improper deductions from salary.
§541.604 Minimum guarantee plus extras.
§541.605 Fee basis.

8 541.606 Board, lodging or other facilities.

Subpart H—Definitions and Miscellaneous Provisions

§541.700 Primary duty.

§541.701 Customarily and regularly.

§ 541.702 Exempt and nonexempt work.
§541.703 Directly and closely related.

§ 541.704 Use of manuals.

§541.705 Trainees.

§541.706 Emergencies.

§ 541.707 Occasional tasks.

§ 541.708 Combination exemptions.
§541.709 Motion picture producing industry.
§541.710 Employees of public agencies.

Authority: 29 U.S.C. 213; Public Law 101-583, 104 Stat. 2871; Reorganization Plan No. 6 of 1950 (3
CFR 1945-53 Comp. p. 1004); Secretary's Order No. 4-2001 (66 FR 29656).

Source: 69 FR 22260, Apr. 23, 2004, unless otherwise noted.
SUBPART A GENERAL REGULATIONS
§ 541.0 Introductory statement.

(a) Section 13(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act, as amended, provides an exemption from the Act's
minimum wage and overtime requirements for any employee employed in a bona fide executive,
administrative, or professional capacity (including any employee employed in the capacity of academic
administrative personnel or teacher in elementary or secondary schools), or in the capacity of an outside
sales employee, as such terms are defined and delimited from time to time by regulations of the Secretary,
subject to the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act. Section 13(a)(17) of the Act provides an
exemption from the minimum wage and overtime requirements for computer systems analysts, computer
programmers, software engineers, and other similarly skilled computer employees.
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(b) The requirements for these exemptions are contained in this part as follows: executive employees,
subpart B; administrative employees, subpart C; professional employees, subpart D; computer employees,
subpart E; outside sales employees, subpart F. Subpart G contains regulations regarding salary
requirements applicable to most of the exemptions, including salary levels and the salary basis test.
Subpart G also contains a provision for exempting certain highly compensated employees. Subpart H
contains definitions and other miscellaneous provisions applicable to all or several of the exemptions.

(c) Effective July 1, 1972, the Fair Labor Standards Act was amended to include within the protection of
the equal pay provisions those employees exempt from the minimum wage and overtime pay provisions
as bona fide executive, administrative, and professional employees (including any employee employed in
the capacity of academic administrative personnel or teacher in elementary or secondary schools), or in
the capacity of an outside sales employee under section 13(a)(1) of the Act. The equal pay provisions in
section 6(d) of the Fair Labor Standards Act are administered and enforced by the United States Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission.

§541.1 Terms used in regulations.
Act means the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended.

Administrator means the Administrator of the Wage and Hour Division, United States Department of
Labor. The Secretary of Labor has delegated to the Administrator the functions vested in the Secretary
under sections 13(a)(1) and 13(a)(17) of the Fair Labor Standards Act.

§541.2 Job titles insufficient.

A job title alone is insufficient to establish the exempt status of an employee. The exempt or nonexempt
status of any particular employee must be determined on the basis of whether the employee's salary and
duties meet the requirements of the regulations in this part.

§ 541.3 Scope of the section 13(a)(1) exemptions.

(a) The section 13(a)(1) exemptions and the regulations in this part do not apply to manual laborers or
other “blue collar” workers who perform work involving repetitive operations with their hands, physical
skill and energy. Such nonexempt “blue collar” employees gain the skills and knowledge required for
performance of their routine manual and physical work through apprenticeships and on-the-job training,
not through the prolonged course of specialized intellectual instruction required for exempt learned
professional employees such as medical doctors, architects and archeologists. Thus, for example, non-
management production-line employees and non-management employees in maintenance, construction
and similar occupations such as carpenters, electricians, mechanics, plumbers, iron workers, craftsmen,
operating engineers, longshoremen, construction workers and laborers are entitled to minimum wage and
overtime premium pay under the Fair Labor Standards Act, and are not exempt under the regulations in
this part no matter how highly paid they might be.

(b)(1) The section 13(a)(1) exemptions and the regulations in this part also do not apply to police officers,
detectives, deputy sheriffs, state troopers, highway patrol officers, investigators, inspectors, correctional
officers, parole or probation officers, park rangers, fire fighters, paramedics, emergency medical
technicians, ambulance personnel, rescue workers, hazardous materials workers and similar employees,
regardless of rank or pay level, who perform work such as preventing, controlling or extinguishing fires
of any type; rescuing fire, crime or accident victims; preventing or detecting crimes; conducting
investigations or inspections for violations of law; performing surveillance; pursuing, restraining and
apprehending suspects; detaining or supervising suspected and convicted criminals, including those on
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probation or parole; interviewing witnesses; interrogating and fingerprinting suspects; preparing
investigative reports; or other similar work.

(2) Such employees do not qualify as exempt executive employees because their primary duty is not
management of the enterprise in which the employee is employed or a customarily recognized department
or subdivision thereof as required under §541.100. Thus, for example, a police officer or fire fighter
whose primary duty is to investigate crimes or fight fires is not exempt under section 13(a)(1) of the Act
merely because the police officer or fire fighter also directs the work of other employees in the conduct of
an investigation or fighting a fire.

(3) Such employees do not qualify as exempt administrative employees because their primary duty is not
the performance of work directly related to the management or general business operations of the
employer or the employer's customers as required under §541.200.

(4) Such employees do not qualify as exempt professionals because their primary duty is not the
performance of work requiring knowledge of an advanced type in a field of science or learning
customarily acquired by a prolonged course of specialized intellectual instruction or the performance of
work requiring invention, imagination, originality or talent in a recognized field of artistic or creative
endeavor as required under 8541.300. Although some police officers, fire fighters, paramedics,
emergency medical technicians and similar employees have college degrees, a specialized academic
degree is not a standard prerequisite for employment in such occupations.

§ 541.4 Other laws and collective bargaining agreements.

The Fair Labor Standards Act provides minimum standards that may be exceeded, but cannot be waived
or reduced. Employers must comply, for example, with any Federal, State or municipal laws, regulations
or ordinances establishing a higher minimum wage or lower maximum workweek than those established
under the Act. Similarly, employers, on their own initiative or under a collective bargaining agreement
with a labor union, are not precluded by the Act from providing a wage higher than the statutory
minimum, a shorter workweek than the statutory maximum, or a higher overtime premium (double time,
for example) than provided by the Act. While collective bargaining agreements cannot waive or reduce
the Act's protections, nothing in the Act or the regulations in this part relieves employers from their
contractual obligations under collective bargaining agreements.

SUBPART B EXECUTIVE EMPLOYEES
§541.100 General rule for executive employees.

(a) The term “employee employed in a bona fide executive capacity” in section 13(a)(1) of the Act shall
mean any employee:

(1) Compensated on a salary basis at a rate of not less than $455 per week (or $380 per week, if employed
in American Samoa by employers other than the Federal Government), exclusive of board, lodging or
other facilities;

(2) Whose primary duty is management of the enterprise in which the employee is employed or of a
customarily recognized department or subdivision thereof;

(3) Who customarily and regularly directs the work of two or more other employees; and
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(4) Who has the authority to hire or fire other employees or whose suggestions and recommendations as
to the hiring, firing, advancement, promotion or any other change of status of other employees are given
particular weight.

(b) The phrase “salary basis” is defined at §541.602; “board, lodging or other facilities” is defined at
§541.606; “primary duty” is defined at §541.700; and “customarily and regularly” is defined at §541.701.

§541.101 Business owner.

The term “employee employed in a bona fide executive capacity” in section 13(a)(1) of the Act also
includes any employee who owns at least a bona fide 20-percent equity interest in the enterprise in which
the employee is employed, regardless of whether the business is a corporate or other type of organization,
and who is actively engaged in its management. The term “management” is defined in §541.102. The
requirements of Subpart G (salary requirements) of this part do not apply to the business owners
described in this section.

§541.102 Management.

Generally, “management” includes, but is not limited to, activities such as interviewing, selecting, and
training of employees; setting and adjusting their rates of pay and hours of work; directing the work of
employees; maintaining production or sales records for use in supervision or control; appraising
employees' productivity and efficiency for the purpose of recommending promotions or other changes in
status; handling employee complaints and grievances; disciplining employees; planning the work;
determining the techniques to be used; apportioning the work among the employees; determining the type
of materials, supplies, machinery, equipment or tools to be used or merchandise to be bought, stocked and
sold; controlling the flow and distribution of materials or merchandise and supplies; providing for the
safety and security of the employees or the property; planning and controlling the budget; and monitoring
or implementing legal compliance measures.

§ 541.103 Department or subdivision.

(a) The phrase “a customarily recognized department or subdivision” is intended to distinguish between a
mere collection of employees assigned from time to time to a specific job or series of jobs and a unit with
permanent status and function. A customarily recognized department or subdivision must have a
permanent status and a continuing function. For example, a large employer's human resources department
might have subdivisions for labor relations, pensions and other benefits, equal employment opportunity,
and personnel management, each of which has a permanent status and function.

(b) When an enterprise has more than one establishment, the employee in charge of each establishment
may be considered in charge of a recognized subdivision of the enterprise.

(c) A recognized department or subdivision need not be physically within the employer's establishment
and may move from place to place. The mere fact that the employee works in more than one location does
not invalidate the exemption if other factors show that the employee is actually in charge of a recognized
unit with a continuing function in the organization.

(d) Continuity of the same subordinate personnel is not essential to the existence of a recognized unit with
a continuing function. An otherwise exempt employee will not lose the exemption merely because the
employee draws and supervises workers from a pool or supervises a team of workers drawn from other
recognized units, if other factors are present that indicate that the employee is in charge of a recognized
unit with a continuing function.
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§541.104 Two or more other employees.

(@) To qualify as an exempt executive under 8541.100, the employee must customarily and regularly
direct the work of two or more other employees. The phrase “two or more other employees” means two
full-time employees or their equivalent. One full-time and two half-time employees, for example, are
equivalent to two full-time employees. Four half-time employees are also equivalent.

(b) The supervision can be distributed among two, three or more employees, but each such employee
must customarily and regularly direct the work of two or more other full-time employees or the
equivalent. Thus, for example, a department with five full-time nonexempt workers may have up to two
exempt supervisors if each such supervisor customarily and regularly directs the work of two of those
workers.

(c) An employee who merely assists the manager of a particular department and supervises two or more
employees only in the actual manager's absence does not meet this requirement.

(d) Hours worked by an employee cannot be credited more than once for different executives. Thus, a
shared responsibility for the supervision of the same two employees in the same department does not
satisfy this requirement. However, a full-time employee who works four hours for one supervisor and
four hours for a different supervisor, for example, can be credited as a half-time employee for both
Supervisors.

§ 541.105 Particular weight.

To determine whether an employee's suggestions and recommendations are given “particular weight,”
factors to be considered include, but are not limited to, whether it is part of the employee’s job duties to
make such suggestions and recommendations; the frequency with which such suggestions and
recommendations are made or requested; and the frequency with which the employee's suggestions and
recommendations are relied upon. Generally, an executive's suggestions and recommendations must
pertain to employees whom the executive customarily and regularly directs. It does not include an
occasional suggestion with regard to the change in status of a co-worker. An employee's suggestions and
recommendations may still be deemed to have “particular weight” even if a higher level manager's
recommendation has more importance and even if the employee does not have authority to make the
ultimate decision as to the employee's change in status.

§541.106 Concurrent duties.

() Concurrent performance of exempt and nonexempt work does not disqualify an employee from the
executive exemption if the requirements of 8541.100 are otherwise met. Whether an employee meets the
requirements of 8541.100 when the employee performs concurrent duties is determined on a case-by-case
basis and based on the factors set forth in §541.700. Generally, exempt executives make the decision
regarding when to perform nonexempt duties and remain responsible for the success or failure of business
operations under their management while performing the nonexempt work. In contrast, the nonexempt
employee generally is directed by a supervisor to perform the exempt work or performs the exempt work
for defined time periods. An employee whose primary duty is ordinary production work or routine,
recurrent or repetitive tasks cannot qualify for exemption as an executive.

(b) For example, an assistant manager in a retail establishment may perform work such as serving
customers, cooking food, stocking shelves and cleaning the establishment, but performance of such
nonexempt work does not preclude the exemption if the assistant manager's primary duty is management.
An assistant manager can supervise employees and serve customers at the same time without losing the
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exemption. An exempt employee can also simultaneously direct the work of other employees and stock
shelves.

(c) In contrast, a relief supervisor or working supervisor whose primary duty is performing nonexempt
work on the production line in a manufacturing plant does not become exempt merely because the
nonexempt production line employee occasionally has some responsibility for directing the work of other
nonexempt production line employees when, for example, the exempt supervisor is unavailable.
Similarly, an employee whose primary duty is to work as an electrician is not an exempt executive even if
the employee also directs the work of other employees on the job site, orders parts and materials for the
job, and handles requests from the prime contractor.

SUBPART C ADMINISTRATIVE EMPLOYEES
§541.200 General rule for administrative employees.

(a) The term “employee employed in a bona fide administrative capacity” in section 13(a)(1) of the Act
shall mean any employee:

(1) Compensated on a salary or fee basis at a rate of not less than $455 per week (or $380 per week, if
employed in American Samoa by employers other than the Federal Government), exclusive of board,
lodging or other facilities;

(2) Whose primary duty is the performance of office or non-manual work directly related to the
management or general business operations of the employer or the employer's customers; and

(3) Whose primary duty includes the exercise of discretion and independent judgment with respect to
matters of significance.

(b) The term “salary basis” is defined at §541.602; “fee basis” is defined at §541.605; “board, lodging or
other facilities” is defined at §541.606; and “primary duty” is defined at §541.700.

§541.201 Directly related to management or general business operations.

() To qualify for the administrative exemption, an employee's primary duty must be the performance of
work directly related to the management or general business operations of the employer or the employer's
customers. The phrase “directly related to the management or general business operations” refers to the
type of work performed by the employee. To meet this requirement, an employee must perform work
directly related to assisting with the running or servicing of the business, as distinguished, for example,
from working on a manufacturing production line or selling a product in a retail or service establishment.

(b) Work directly related to management or general business operations includes, but is not limited to,
work in functional areas such as tax; finance; accounting; budgeting; auditing; insurance; quality control;
purchasing; procurement; advertising; marketing; research; safety and health; personnel management;
human resources; employee benefits; labor relations; public relations, government relations; computer
network, internet and database administration; legal and regulatory compliance; and similar activities.
Some of these activities may be performed by employees who also would qualify for another exemption.

(c) An employee may qualify for the administrative exemption if the employee's primary duty is the
performance of work directly related to the management or general business operations of the employer's
customers. Thus, for example, employees acting as advisers or consultants to their employer's clients or
customers (as tax experts or financial consultants, for example) may be exempt.
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§541.202 Discretion and independent judgment.

(a) To qualify for the administrative exemption, an employee's primary duty must include the exercise of
discretion and independent judgment with respect to matters of significance. In general, the exercise of
discretion and independent judgment involves the comparison and the evaluation of possible courses of
conduct, and acting or making a decision after the various possibilities have been considered. The term
“matters of significance” refers to the level of importance or consequence of the work performed.

(b) The phrase “discretion and independent judgment” must be applied in the light of all the facts
involved in the particular employment situation in which the question arises. Factors to consider when
determining whether an employee exercises discretion and independent judgment with respect to matters
of significance include, but are not limited to: whether the employee has authority to formulate, affect,
interpret, or implement management policies or operating practices; whether the employee carries out
major assignments in conducting the operations of the business; whether the employee performs work that
affects business operations to a substantial degree, even if the employee's assignments are related to
operation of a particular segment of the business; whether the employee has authority to commit the
employer in matters that have significant financial impact; whether the employee has authority to waive
or deviate from established policies and procedures without prior approval; whether the employee has
authority to negotiate and bind the company on significant matters; whether the employee provides
consultation or expert advice to management; whether the employee is involved in planning long- or
short-term business objectives; whether the employee investigates and resolves matters of significance on
behalf of management; and whether the employee represents the company in handling complaints,
arbitrating disputes or resolving grievances.

(c) The exercise of discretion and independent judgment implies that the employee has authority to make
an independent choice, free from immediate direction or supervision. However, employees can exercise
discretion and independent judgment even if their decisions or recommendations are reviewed at a higher
level. Thus, the term “discretion and independent judgment” does not require that the decisions made by
an employee have a finality that goes with unlimited authority and a complete absence of review. The
decisions made as a result of the exercise of discretion and independent judgment may consist of
recommendations for action rather than the actual taking of action. The fact that an employee's decision
may be subject to review and that upon occasion the decisions are revised or reversed after review does
not mean that the employee is not exercising discretion and independent judgment. For example, the
policies formulated by the credit manager of a large corporation may be subject to review by higher
company officials who may approve or disapprove these policies. The management consultant who has
made a study of the operations of a business and who has drawn a proposed change in organization may
have the plan reviewed or revised by superiors before it is submitted to the client.

(d) An employer's volume of business may make it necessary to employ a number of employees to
perform the same or similar work. The fact that many employees perform identical work or work of the
same relative importance does not mean that the work of each such employee does not involve the
exercise of discretion and independent judgment with respect to matters of significance.

(e) The exercise of discretion and independent judgment must be more than the use of skill in applying
well-established techniques, procedures or specific standards described in manuals or other sources. See
also §541.704 regarding use of manuals. The exercise of discretion and independent judgment also does
not include clerical or secretarial work, recording or tabulating data, or performing other mechanical,
repetitive, recurrent or routine work. An employee who simply tabulates data is not exempt, even if
labeled as a “statistician.”

(f) An employee does not exercise discretion and independent judgment with respect to matters of

significance merely because the employer will experience financial losses if the employee fails to perform

the job properly. For example, a messenger who is entrusted with carrying large sums of money does not
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exercise discretion and independent judgment with respect to matters of significance even though serious
consequences may flow from the employee's neglect. Similarly, an employee who operates very
expensive equipment does not exercise discretion and independent judgment with respect to matters of
significance merely because improper performance of the employee's duties may cause serious financial
loss to the employer.

§541.203 Administrative exemption examples.

(@) Insurance claims adjusters generally meet the duties requirements for the administrative exemption,
whether they work for an insurance company or other type of company, if their duties include activities
such as interviewing insureds, witnesses and physicians; inspecting property damage; reviewing factual
information to prepare damage estimates; evaluating and making recommendations regarding coverage of
claims; determining liability and total value of a claim; negotiating settlements; and making
recommendations regarding litigation.

(b) Employees in the financial services industry generally meet the duties requirements for the
administrative exemption if their duties include work such as collecting and analyzing information
regarding the customer's income, assets, investments or debts; determining which financial products best
meet the customer's needs and financial circumstances; advising the customer regarding the advantages
and disadvantages of different financial products; and marketing, servicing or promoting the employer's
financial products. However, an employee whose primary duty is selling financial products does not
qualify for the administrative exemption.

(c) An employee who leads a team of other employees assigned to complete major projects for the
employer (such as purchasing, selling or closing all or part of the business, negotiating a real estate
transaction or a collective bargaining agreement, or designing and implementing productivity
improvements) generally meets the duties requirements for the administrative exemption, even if the
employee does not have direct supervisory responsibility over the other employees on the team.

(d) An executive assistant or administrative assistant to a business owner or senior executive of a large
business generally meets the duties requirements for the administrative exemption if such employee,
without specific instructions or prescribed procedures, has been delegated authority regarding matters of
significance.

(e) Human resources managers who formulate, interpret or implement employment policies and
management consultants who study the operations of a business and propose changes in organization
generally meet the duties requirements for the administrative exemption. However, personnel clerks who
“screen” applicants to obtain data regarding their minimum qualifications and fitness for employment
generally do not meet the duties requirements for the administrative exemption. Such personnel clerks
typically will reject all applicants who do not meet minimum standards for the particular job or for
employment by the company. The minimum standards are usually set by the exempt human resources
manager or other company officials, and the decision to hire from the group of qualified applicants who
do meet the minimum standards is similarly made by the exempt human resources manager or other
company officials. Thus, when the interviewing and screening functions are performed by the human
resources manager or personnel manager who makes the hiring decision or makes recommendations for
hiring from the pool of qualified applicants, such duties constitute exempt work, even though routine,
because this work is directly and closely related to the employee's exempt functions.

(f) Purchasing agents with authority to bind the company on significant purchases generally meet the
duties requirements for the administrative exemption even if they must consult with top management
officials when making a purchase commitment for raw materials in excess of the contemplated plant
needs.
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(g) Ordinary inspection work generally does not meet the duties requirements for the administrative
exemption. Inspectors normally perform specialized work along standardized lines involving well-
established techniques and procedures which may have been catalogued and described in manuals or
other sources. Such inspectors rely on techniques and skills acquired by special training or experience.
They have some leeway in the performance of their work but only within closely prescribed limits.

(h) Employees usually called examiners or graders, such as employees that grade lumber, generally do not
meet the duties requirements for the administrative exemption. Such employees usually perform work
involving the comparison of products with established standards which are frequently catalogued. Often,
after continued reference to the written standards, or through experience, the employee acquires sufficient
knowledge so that reference to written standards is unnecessary. The substitution of the employee's
memory for a manual of standards does not convert the character of the work performed to exempt work
requiring the exercise of discretion and independent judgment.

(i) Comparison shopping performed by an employee of a retail store who merely reports to the buyer the
prices at a competitor's store does not qualify for the administrative exemption. However, the buyer who
evaluates such reports on competitor prices to set the employer's prices generally meets the duties
requirements for the administrative exemption.

(j) Public sector inspectors or investigators of various types, such as fire prevention or safety, building or
construction, health or sanitation, environmental or soils specialists and similar employees, generally do
not meet the duties requirements for the administrative exemption because their work typically does not
involve work directly related to the management or general business operations of the employer. Such
employees also do not qualify for the administrative exemption because their work involves the use of
skills and technical abilities in gathering factual information, applying known standards or prescribed
procedures, determining which procedure to follow, or determining whether prescribed standards or
criteria are met.

§541.204 Educational establishments.

(a) The term “employee employed in a bona fide administrative capacity” in section 13(a)(1) of the Act
also includes employees:

(1) Compensated for services on a salary or fee basis at a rate of not less than $455 per week (or $380 per
week, if employed in American Samoa by employers other than the Federal Government) exclusive of
board, lodging or other facilities, or on a salary basis which is at least equal to the entrance salary for
teachers in the educational establishment by which employed; and

(2) Whose primary duty is performing administrative functions directly related to academic instruction or
training in an educational establishment or department or subdivision thereof.

(b) The term “educational establishment” means an elementary or secondary school system, an institution
of higher education or other educational institution. Sections 3(v) and 3(w) of the Act define elementary
and secondary schools as those day or residential schools that provide elementary or secondary education,
as determined under State law. Under the laws of most States, such education includes the curriculums in
grades 1 through 12; under many it includes also the introductory programs in kindergarten. Such
education in some States may also include nursery school programs in elementary education and junior
college curriculums in secondary education. The term “other educational establishment” includes special
schools for mentally or physically disabled or gifted children, regardless of any classification of such
schools as elementary, secondary or higher. Factors relevant in determining whether post-secondary
career programs are educational institutions include whether the school is licensed by a state agency
responsible for the state's educational system or accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting
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organization for career schools. Also, for purposes of the exemption, no distinction is drawn between
public and private schools, or between those operated for profit and those that are not for profit.

(c) The phrase “performing administrative functions directly related to academic instruction or training”
means work related to the academic operations and functions in a school rather than to administration
along the lines of general business operations. Such academic administrative functions include operations
directly in the field of education. Jobs relating to areas outside the educational field are not within the
definition of academic administration.

(1) Employees engaged in academic administrative functions include: the superintendent or other head of
an elementary or secondary school system, and any assistants, responsible for administration of such
matters as curriculum, quality and methods of instructing, measuring and testing the learning potential
and achievement of students, establishing and maintaining academic and grading standards, and other
aspects of the teaching program; the principal and any vice-principals responsible for the operation of an
elementary or secondary school; department heads in institutions of higher education responsible for the
administration of the mathematics department, the English department, the foreign language department,
etc.; academic counselors who perform work such as administering school testing programs, assisting
students with academic problems and advising students concerning degree requirements; and other
employees with similar responsibilities.

(2) Jobs relating to building management and maintenance, jobs relating to the health of the students, and
academic staff such as social workers, psychologists, lunch room managers or dietitians do not perform
academic administrative functions. Although such work is not considered academic administration, such
employees may qualify for exemption under §541.200 or under other sections of this part, provided the
requirements for such exemptions are met.

SUBPART D PROFESSIONAL EMPLOYEES
§ 541.300 General rule for professional employees.

(a) The term “employee employed in a bona fide professional capacity” in section 13(a)(1) of the Act
shall mean any employee:

(1) Compensated on a salary or fee basis at a rate of not less than $455 per week (or $380 per week, if
employed in American Samoa by employers other than the Federal Government), exclusive of board,
lodging, or other facilities; and

(2) Whose primary duty is the performance of work:

(i) Requiring knowledge of an advanced type in a field of science or learning customarily
acquired by a prolonged course of specialized intellectual instruction; or

(if) Requiring invention, imagination, originality or talent in a recognized field of artistic or
creative endeavor.

(b) The term “salary basis” is defined at §541.602; “fee basis” is defined at §541.605; “board, lodging or
other facilities” is defined at §541.606; and “primary duty” is defined at §541.700.

§ 541.301 Learned professionals.

(@ To qualify for the learned professional exemption, an employee's primary duty must be the
performance of work requiring advanced knowledge in a field of science or learning customarily acquired
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by a prolonged course of specialized intellectual instruction. This primary duty test includes three
elements:

(1) The employee must perform work requiring advanced knowledge;
(2) The advanced knowledge must be in a field of science or learning; and

(3) The advanced knowledge must be customarily acquired by a prolonged course of specialized
intellectual instruction.

(b) The phrase “work requiring advanced knowledge” means work which is predominantly intellectual in
character, and which includes work requiring the consistent exercise of discretion and judgment, as
distinguished from performance of routine mental, manual, mechanical or physical work. An employee
who performs work requiring advanced knowledge generally uses the advanced knowledge to analyze,
interpret or make deductions from varying facts or circumstances. Advanced knowledge cannot be
attained at the high school level.

(c) The phrase “field of science or learning” includes the traditional professions of law, medicine,
theology, accounting, actuarial computation, engineering, architecture, teaching, various types of
physical, chemical and biological sciences, pharmacy and other similar occupations that have a
recognized professional status as distinguished from the mechanical arts or skilled trades where in some
instances the knowledge is of a fairly advanced type, but is not in a field of science or learning.

(d) The phrase “customarily acquired by a prolonged course of specialized intellectual instruction”
restricts the exemption to professions where specialized academic training is a standard prerequisite for
entrance into the profession. The best prima facie evidence that an employee meets this requirement is
possession of the appropriate academic degree. However, the word “customarily” means that the
exemption is also available to employees in such professions who have substantially the same knowledge
level and perform substantially the same work as the degreed employees, but who attained the advanced
knowledge through a combination of work experience and intellectual instruction. Thus, for example, the
learned professional exemption is available to the occasional lawyer who has not gone to law school, or
the occasional chemist who is not the possessor of a degree in chemistry. However, the learned
professional exemption is not available for occupations that customarily may be performed with only the
general knowledge acquired by an academic degree in any field, with knowledge acquired through an
apprenticeship, or with training in the performance of routine mental, manual, mechanical or physical
processes. The learned professional exemption also does not apply to occupations in which most
employees have acquired their skill by experience rather than by advanced specialized intellectual
instruction.

(e)(1) Registered or certified medical technologists. Registered or certified medical technologists who
have successfully completed three academic years of pre-professional study in an accredited college or
university plus a fourth year of professional course work in a school of medical technology approved by
the Council of Medical Education of the American Medical Association generally meet the duties
requirements for the learned professional exemption.

(2) Nurses. Registered nurses who are registered by the appropriate State examining board generally meet
the duties requirements for the learned professional exemption. Licensed practical nurses and other
similar health care employees, however, generally do not qualify as exempt learned professionals because
possession of a specialized advanced academic degree is not a standard prerequisite for entry into such
occupations.
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(3) Dental hygienists. Dental hygienists who have successfully completed four academic years of pre-
professional and professional study in an accredited college or university approved by the Commission on
Accreditation of Dental and Dental Auxiliary Educational Programs of the American Dental Association
generally meet the duties requirements for the learned professional exemption.

(4) Physician assistants. Physician assistants who have successfully completed four academic years of
pre-professional and professional study, including graduation from a physician assistant program
accredited by the Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant, and who
are certified by the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants generally meet the
duties requirements for the learned professional exemption.

(5) Accountants. Certified public accountants generally meet the duties requirements for the learned
professional exemption. In addition, many other accountants who are not certified public accountants but
perform similar job duties may qualify as exempt learned professionals. However, accounting clerks,
bookkeepers and other employees who normally perform a great deal of routine work generally will not
qualify as exempt professionals.

(6) Chefs. Chefs, such as executive chefs and sous chefs, who have attained a four-year specialized
academic degree in a culinary arts program, generally meet the duties requirements for the learned
professional exemption. The learned professional exemption is not available to cooks who perform
predominantly routine mental, manual, mechanical or physical work.

(7) Paralegals. Paralegals and legal assistants generally do not qualify as exempt learned professionals
because an advanced specialized academic degree is not a standard prerequisite for entry into the field.
Although many paralegals possess general four-year advanced degrees, most specialized paralegal
programs are two-year associate degree programs from a community college or equivalent institution.
However, the learned professional exemption is available for paralegals who possess advanced
specialized degrees in other professional fields and apply advanced knowledge in that field in the
performance of their duties. For example, if a law firm hires an engineer as a paralegal to provide expert
advice on product liability cases or to assist on patent matters, that engineer would qualify for exemption.

(8) Athletic trainers. Athletic trainers who have successfully completed four academic years of pre-
professional and professional study in a specialized curriculum accredited by the Commission on
Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs and who are certified by the Board of Certification of
the National Athletic Trainers Association Board of Certification generally meet the duties requirements
for the learned professional exemption.

(9) Funeral directors or embalmers. Licensed funeral directors and embalmers who are licensed by and
working in a state that requires successful completion of four academic years of pre-professional and
professional study, including graduation from a college of mortuary science accredited by the American
Board of Funeral Service Education, generally meet the duties requirements for the learned professional
exemption.

(f) The areas in which the professional exemption may be available are expanding. As knowledge is
developed, academic training is broadened and specialized degrees are offered in new and diverse fields,
thus creating new specialists in particular fields of science or learning. When an advanced specialized
degree has become a standard requirement for a particular occupation, that occupation may have acquired
the characteristics of a learned profession. Accrediting and certifying organizations similar to those listed
in paragraphs (e)(1), (e)(3), (e)(4), (e)(8) and (e)(9) of this section also may be created in the future. Such
organizations may develop similar specialized curriculums and certification programs which, if a standard
requirement for a particular occupation, may indicate that the occupation has acquired the characteristics
of a learned profession.
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§541.302 Creative professionals.

(@) To qualify for the creative professional exemption, an employee's primary duty must be the
performance of work requiring invention, imagination, originality or talent in a recognized field of artistic
or creative endeavor as opposed to routine mental, manual, mechanical or physical work. The exemption
does not apply to work which can be produced by a person with general manual or intellectual ability and
training.

(b) To qualify for exemption as a creative professional, the work performed must be “in a recognized field
of artistic or creative endeavor.” This includes such fields as music, writing, acting and the graphic arts.

(c) The requirement of “invention, imagination, originality or talent” distinguishes the creative
professions from work that primarily depends on intelligence, diligence and accuracy. The duties of
employees vary widely, and exemption as a creative professional depends on the extent of the invention,
imagination, originality or talent exercised by the employee. Determination of exempt creative
professional status, therefore, must be made on a case-by-case basis. This requirement generally is met by
actors, musicians, composers, conductors, and soloists; painters who at most are given the subject matter
of their painting; cartoonists who are merely told the title or underlying concept of a cartoon and must
rely on their own creative ability to express the concept; essayists, novelists, short-story writers and
screen-play writers who choose their own subjects and hand in a finished piece of work to their employers
(the majority of such persons are, of course, not employees but self-employed); and persons holding the
more responsible writing positions in advertising agencies. This requirement generally is not met by a
person who is employed as a copyist, as an “animator” of motion-picture cartoons, or as a retoucher of
photographs, since such work is not properly described as creative in character.

(d) Journalists may satisfy the duties requirements for the creative professional exemption if their primary
duty is work requiring invention, imagination, originality or talent, as opposed to work which depends
primarily on intelligence, diligence and accuracy. Employees of newspapers, magazines, television and
other media are not exempt creative professionals if they only collect, organize and record information
that is routine or already public, or if they do not contribute a unique interpretation or analysis to a news
product. Thus, for example, newspaper reporters who merely rewrite press releases or who write standard
recounts of public information by gathering facts on routine community events are not exempt creative
professionals. Reporters also do not qualify as exempt creative professionals if their work product is
subject to substantial control by the employer. However, journalists may qualify as exempt creative
professionals if their primary duty is performing on the air in radio, television or other electronic media;
conducting investigative interviews; analyzing or interpreting public events; writing editorials, opinion
columns or other commentary; or acting as a narrator or commentator.

§541.303 Teachers.

(a) The term “employee employed in a bona fide professional capacity” in section 13(a)(1) of the Act also
means any employee with a primary duty of teaching, tutoring, instructing or lecturing in the activity of
imparting knowledge and who is employed and engaged in this activity as a teacher in an educational
establishment by which the employee is employed. The term “educational establishment” is defined in
8541.204(b).

(b) Exempt teachers include, but are not limited to: Regular academic teachers; teachers of kindergarten
or nursery school pupils; teachers of gifted or disabled children; teachers of skilled and semi-skilled
trades and occupations; teachers engaged in automobile driving instruction; aircraft flight instructors;
home economics teachers; and vocal or instrumental music instructors. Those faculty members who are
engaged as teachers but also spend a considerable amount of their time in extracurricular activities such as
coaching athletic teams or acting as moderators or advisors in such areas as drama, speech, debate or
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journalism are engaged in teaching. Such activities are a recognized part of the schools' responsibility in
contributing to the educational development of the student.

(c) The possession of an elementary or secondary teacher's certificate provides a clear means of
identifying the individuals contemplated as being within the scope of the exemption for teaching
professionals. Teachers who possess a teaching certificate qualify for the exemption regardless of the
terminology ( e.g., permanent, conditional, standard, provisional, temporary, emergency, or unlimited)
used by the State to refer to different kinds of certificates. However, private schools and public schools
are not uniform in requiring a certificate for employment as an elementary or secondary school teacher,
and a teacher's certificate is not generally necessary for employment in institutions of higher education or
other educational establishments. Therefore, a teacher who is not certified may be considered for
exemption, provided that such individual is employed as a teacher by the employing school or school
system.

(d) The requirements of 8541.300 and Subpart G (salary requirements) of this part do not apply to the
teaching professionals described in this section.

§541.304 Practice of law or medicine.

(a) The term “employee employed in a bona fide professional capacity” in section 13(a)(1) of the Act also
shall mean:

(1) Any employee who is the holder of a valid license or certificate permitting the practice of law or
medicine or any of their branches and is actually engaged in the practice thereof; and

(2) Any employee who is the holder of the requisite academic degree for the general practice of medicine
and is engaged in an internship or resident program pursuant to the practice of the profession.

(b) In the case of medicine, the exemption applies to physicians and other practitioners licensed and
practicing in the field of medical science and healing or any of the medical specialties practiced by
physicians or practitioners. The term “physicians” includes medical doctors including general
practitioners and specialists, osteopathic physicians (doctors of osteopathy), podiatrists, dentists (doctors
of dental medicine), and optometrists (doctors of optometry or bachelors of science in optometry).

(c) Employees engaged in internship or resident programs, whether or not licensed to practice prior to
commencement of the program, qualify as exempt professionals if they enter such internship or resident
programs after the earning of the appropriate degree required for the general practice of their profession.

(d) The requirements of §541.300 and subpart G (salary requirements) of this part do not apply to the
employees described in this section.

SUBPART E COMPUTER EMPLOYEES
8 541.400 General rule for computer employees.

(a) Computer systems analysts, computer programmers, software engineers or other similarly skilled
workers in the computer field are eligible for exemption as professionals under section 13(a)(1) of the Act
and under section 13(a)(17) of the Act. Because job titles vary widely and change quickly in the computer
industry, job titles are not determinative of the applicability of this exemption.

(b) The section 13(a)(1) exemption applies to any computer employee compensated on a salary or fee
basis at a rate of not less than $455 per week (or $380 per week, if employed in American Samoa by
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employers other than the Federal Government), exclusive of board, lodging or other facilities, and the
section 13(a)(17) exemption applies to any computer employee compensated on an hourly basis at a rate
not less than $27.63 an hour. In addition, under either section 13(a)(1) or section 13(a)(17) of the Act, the
exemptions apply only to computer employees whose primary duty consists of:

(1) The application of systems analysis techniques and procedures, including consulting with users, to
determine hardware, software or system functional specifications;

(2) The design, development, documentation, analysis, creation, testing or modification of computer
systems or programs, including prototypes, based on and related to user or system design specifications;

(3) The design, documentation, testing, creation or modification of computer programs related to machine
operating systems; or

(4) A combination of the aforementioned duties, the performance of which requires the same level of
skills.

(c) The term “salary basis” is defined at §541.602; “fee basis” is defined at §541.605; “board, lodging or
other facilities” is defined at §541.606; and “primary duty” is defined at §541.700.

§541.401 Computer manufacture and repair.

The exemption for employees in computer occupations does not include employees engaged in the
manufacture or repair of computer hardware and related equipment. Employees whose work is highly
dependent upon, or facilitated by, the use of computers and computer software programs ( e.g., engineers,
drafters and others skilled in computer-aided design software), but who are not primarily engaged in
computer systems analysis and programming or other similarly skilled computer-related occupations
identified in 8541.400(b), are also not exempt computer professionals.

§541.402 Executive and administrative computer employees.

Computer employees within the scope of this exemption, as well as those employees not within its scope,
may also have executive and administrative duties which qualify the employees for exemption under
subpart B or subpart C of this part. For example, systems analysts and computer programmers generally
meet the duties requirements for the administrative exemption if their primary duty includes work such as
planning, scheduling, and coordinating activities required to develop systems to solve complex business,
scientific or engineering problems of the employer or the employer's customers. Similarly, a senior or
lead computer programmer who manages the work of two or more other programmers in a customarily
recognized department or subdivision of the employer, and whose recommendations as to the hiring,
firing, advancement, promotion or other change of status of the other programmers are given particular
weight, generally meets the duties requirements for the executive exemption.

SUBPART F OUTSIDE SALES EMPLOYEES
8 541.500 General rule for outside sales employees.

(a) The term “employee employed in the capacity of outside salesman” in section 13(a)(1) of the Act shall
mean any employee:

(1) Whose primary duty is:

(i) making sales within the meaning of section 3(k) of the Act, or
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(ii) obtaining orders or contracts for services or for the use of facilities for which a consideration
will be paid by the client or customer; and

(2) Who is customarily and regularly engaged away from the employer's place or places of business in
performing such primary duty.

(b) The term “primary duty” is defined at 8541.700. In determining the primary duty of an outside sales
employee, work performed incidental to and in conjunction with the employee's own outside sales or
solicitations, including incidental deliveries and collections, shall be regarded as exempt outside sales
work. Other work that furthers the employee's sales efforts also shall be regarded as exempt work
including, for example, writing sales reports, updating or revising the employee's sales or display
catalogue, planning itineraries and attending sales conferences.

(c) The requirements of subpart G (salary requirements) of this part do not apply to the outside sales
employees described in this section.

§541.501 Making sales or obtaining orders.

(a) Section 541.500 requires that the employee be engaged in:

(1) Making sales within the meaning of section 3(k) of the Act, or

(2) Obtaining orders or contracts for services or for the use of facilities.

(b) Sales within the meaning of section 3(k) of the Act include the transfer of title to tangible property,
and in certain cases, of tangible and valuable evidences of intangible property. Section 3(k) of the Act
states that “sale” or “sell” includes any sale, exchange, contract to sell, consignment for sale, shipment for
sale, or other disposition.

(c) Exempt outside sales work includes not only the sales of commodities, but also “obtaining orders or
contracts for services or for the use of facilities for which a consideration will be paid by the client or
customer.” Obtaining orders for “the use of facilities” includes the selling of time on radio or television,
the solicitation of advertising for newspapers and other periodicals, and the solicitation of freight for
railroads and other transportation agencies.

(d) The word “services” extends the outside sales exemption to employees who sell or take orders for a
service, which may be performed for the customer by someone other than the person taking the order.

8541.502 Away from employer’'s place of business.

An outside sales employee must be customarily and regularly engaged “away from the employer's place
or places of business.” The outside sales employee is an employee who makes sales at the customer's
place of business or, if selling door-to-door, at the customer's home. Outside sales does not include sales
made by mail, telephone or the Internet unless such contact is used merely as an adjunct to personal calls.
Thus, any fixed site, whether home or office, used by a salesperson as a headquarters or for telephonic
solicitation of sales is considered one of the employer's places of business, even though the employer is
not in any formal sense the owner or tenant of the property. However, an outside sales employee does not
lose the exemption by displaying samples in hotel sample rooms during trips from city to city; these
sample rooms should not be considered as the employer's places of business. Similarly, an outside sales
employee does not lose the exemption by displaying the employer's products at a trade show. If selling
actually occurs, rather than just sales promotion, trade shows of short duration ( i.e., one or two weeks)
should not be considered as the employer's place of business.
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§ 541.503 Promotion work.

(a) Promotion work is one type of activity often performed by persons who make sales, which may or
may not be exempt outside sales work, depending upon the circumstances under which it is performed.
Promotional work that is actually performed incidental to and in conjunction with an employee's own
outside sales or solicitations is exempt work. On the other hand, promotional work that is incidental to
sales made, or to be made, by someone else is not exempt outside sales work. An employee who does not
satisfy the requirements of this subpart may still qualify as an exempt employee under other subparts of
this rule.

(b) A manufacturer's representative, for example, may perform various types of promotional activities
such as putting up displays and posters, removing damaged or spoiled stock from the merchant's shelves
or rearranging the merchandise. Such an employee can be considered an exempt outside sales employee if
the employee's primary duty is making sales or contracts. Promotion activities directed toward
consummation of the employee's own sales are exempt. Promotional activities designed to stimulate sales
that will be made by someone else are not exempt outside sales work.

(c) Another example is a company representative who visits chain stores, arranges the merchandise on
shelves, replenishes stock by replacing old with new merchandise, sets up displays and consults with the
store manager when inventory runs low, but does not obtain a commitment for additional purchases. The
arrangement of merchandise on the shelves or the replenishing of stock is not exempt work unless it is
incidental to and in conjunction with the employee's own outside sales. Because the employee in this
instance does not consummate the sale nor direct efforts toward the consummation of a sale, the work is
not exempt outside sales work.

§541.504 Drivers who sell.

(@) Drivers who deliver products and also sell such products may qualify as exempt outside sales
employees only if the employee has a primary duty of making sales. In determining the primary duty of
drivers who sell, work performed incidental to and in conjunction with the employee's own outside sales
or solicitations, including loading, driving or delivering products, shall be regarded as exempt outside
sales work.

(b) Several factors should be considered in determining if a driver has a primary duty of making sales,
including, but not limited to: a comparison of the driver's duties with those of other employees engaged as
truck drivers and as salespersons; possession of a selling or solicitor's license when such license is
required by law or ordinances; presence or absence of customary or contractual arrangements concerning
amounts of products to be delivered; description of the employee's occupation in collective bargaining
agreements; the employer's specifications as to qualifications for hiring; sales training; attendance at sales
conferences; method of payment; and proportion of earnings directly attributable to sales.

(c) Drivers who may qualify as exempt outside sales employees include:

(1) A driver who provides the only sales contact between the employer and the customers visited, who
calls on customers and takes orders for products, who delivers products from stock in the employee's
vehicle or procures and delivers the product to the customer on a later trip, and who receives
compensation commensurate with the volume of products sold.

(2) A driver who obtains or solicits orders for the employer's products from persons who have authority to
commit the customer for purchases.
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(3) A driver who calls on new prospects for customers along the employee's route and attempts to
convince them of the desirability of accepting regular delivery of goods.

(4) A driver who calls on established customers along the route and persuades regular customers to accept
delivery of increased amounts of goods or of new products, even though the initial sale or agreement for
delivery was made by someone else.

(d) Drivers who generally would not qualify as exempt outside sales employees include:

(1) A route driver whose primary duty is to transport products sold by the employer through vending
machines and to keep such machines stocked, in good operating condition, and in good locations.

(2) A driver who often calls on established customers day after day or week after week, delivering a
guantity of the employer's products at each call when the sale was not significantly affected by
solicitations of the customer by the delivering driver or the amount of the sale is determined by the
volume of the customer's sales since the previous delivery.

(3) A driver primarily engaged in making deliveries to customers and performing activities intended to
promote sales by customers (including placing point-of-sale and other advertising materials, price
stamping commodities, arranging merchandise on shelves, in coolers or in cabinets, rotating stock
according to date, and cleaning and otherwise servicing display cases), unless such work is in furtherance
of the driver's own sales efforts.

SUBPART G SALARY REQUIREMENTS
§ 541.600 Amount of salary required.

() To qualify as an exempt executive, administrative or professional employee under section 13(a)(1) of
the Act, an employee must be compensated on a salary basis at a rate of not less than $455 per week (or
$380 per week, if employed in American Samoa by employers other than the Federal Government),
exclusive of board, lodging or other facilities. Administrative and professional employees may also be
paid on a fee basis, as defined in §541.605.

(b) The $455 a week may be translated into equivalent amounts for periods longer than one week. The
requirement will be met if the employee is compensated biweekly on a salary basis of $910, semimonthly
on a salary basis of $985.83, or monthly on a salary basis of $1,971.66. However, the shortest period of
payment that will meet this compensation requirement is one week.

(c) In the case of academic administrative employees, the compensation requirement also may be met by
compensation on a salary basis at a rate at least equal to the entrance salary for teachers in the educational
establishment by which the employee is employed, as provided in §541.204(a)(1).

(d) In the case of computer employees, the compensation requirement also may be met by compensation
on an hourly basis at a rate not less than $27.63 an hour, as provided in §541.400(b).

(e) In the case of professional employees, the compensation requirements in this section shall not apply to
employees engaged as teachers ( see §541.303); employees who hold a valid license or certificate
permitting the practice of law or medicine or any of their branches and are actually engaged in the
practice thereof ( see 8541.304); or to employees who hold the requisite academic degree for the general
practice of medicine and are engaged in an internship or resident program pursuant to the practice of the
profession ( see §8541.304). In the case of medical occupations, the exception from the salary or fee
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requirement does not apply to pharmacists, nurses, therapists, technologists, sanitarians, dietitians, social
workers, psychologists, psychometrists, or other professions which service the medical profession.

§541.601 Highly compensated employees.

(@) An employee with total annual compensation of at least $100,000 is deemed exempt under section
13(a)(1) of the Act if the employee customarily and regularly performs any one or more of the exempt
duties or responsibilities of an executive, administrative or professional employee identified in subparts
B, C or D of this part.

(b)(1) “Total annual compensation” must include at least $455 per week paid on a salary or fee basis.
Total annual compensation may also include commissions, nondiscretionary bonuses and other
nondiscretionary compensation earned during a 52-week period. Total annual compensation does not
include board, lodging and other facilities as defined in §541.606, and does not include payments for
medical insurance, payments for life insurance, contributions to retirement plans and the cost of other
fringe benefits.

(2) If an employee's total annual compensation does not total at least the minimum amount established in
paragraph (a) of this section by the last pay period of the 52-week period, the employer may, during the
last pay period or within one month after the end of the 52-week period, make one final payment
sufficient to achieve the required level. For example, an employee may earn $80,000 in base salary, and
the employer may anticipate based upon past sales that the employee also will earn $20,000 in
commissions. However, due to poor sales in the final quarter of the year, the employee actually only earns
$10,000 in commissions. In this situation, the employer may within one month after the end of the year
make a payment of at least $10,000 to the employee. Any such final payment made after the end of the
52-week period may count only toward the prior year's total annual compensation and not toward the total
annual compensation in the year it was paid. If the employer fails to make such a payment, the employee
does not qualify as a highly compensated employee, but may still qualify as exempt under subparts B, C
or D of this part.

(3) An employee who does not work a full year for the employer, either because the employee is newly
hired after the beginning of the year or ends the employment before the end of the year, may qualify for
exemption under this section if the employee receives a pro rata portion of the minimum amount
established in paragraph (a) of this section, based upon the number of weeks that the employee will be or
has been employed. An employer may make one final payment as under paragraph (b)(2) of this section
within one month after the end of employment.

(4) The employer may utilize any 52-week period as the year, such as a calendar year, a fiscal year, or an
anniversary of hire year. If the employer does not identify some other year period in advance, the calendar
year will apply.

(c) A high level of compensation is a strong indicator of an employee's exempt status, thus eliminating the
need for a detailed analysis of the employee's job duties. Thus, a highly compensated employee will
qualify for exemption if the employee customarily and regularly performs any one or more of the exempt
duties or responsibilities of an executive, administrative or professional employee identified in subparts
B, C or D of this part. An employee may qualify as a highly compensated executive employee, for
example, if the employee customarily and regularly directs the work of two or more other employees,
even though the employee does not meet all of the other requirements for the executive exemption under
§541.100.

(d) This section applies only to employees whose primary duty includes performing office or non-manual
work. Thus, for example, non-management production-line workers and non-management employees in
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maintenance, construction and similar occupations such as carpenters, electricians, mechanics, plumbers,
iron workers, craftsmen, operating engineers, longshoremen, construction workers, laborers and other
employees who perform work involving repetitive operations with their hands, physical skill and energy
are not exempt under this section no matter how highly paid they might be.

§ 541.602 Salary basis.

(@) General rule. An employee will be considered to be paid on a “salary basis” within the meaning of
these regulations if the employee regularly receives each pay period on a weekly, or less frequent basis, a
predetermined amount constituting all or part of the employee's compensation, which amount is not
subject to reduction because of variations in the quality or quantity of the work performed. Subject to the
exceptions provided in paragraph (b) of this section, an exempt employee must receive the full salary for
any week in which the employee performs any work without regard to the number of days or hours
worked. Exempt employees need not be paid for any workweek in which they perform no work. An
employee is not paid on a salary basis if deductions from the employee's predetermined compensation are
made for absences occasioned by the employer or by the operating requirements of the business. If the
employee is ready, willing and able to work, deductions may not be made for time when work is not
available.

(b) Exceptions. The prohibition against deductions from pay in the salary basis requirement is subject to
the following exceptions:

(1) Deductions from pay may be made when an exempt employee is absent from work for one or more
full days for personal reasons, other than sickness or disability. Thus, if an employee is absent for two full
days to handle personal affairs, the employee's salaried status will not be affected if deductions are made
from the salary for two full-day absences. However, if an exempt employee is absent for one and a half
days for personal reasons, the employer can deduct only for the one full-day absence.

(2) Deductions from pay may be made for absences of one or more full days occasioned by sickness or
disability (including work-related accidents) if the deduction is made in accordance with a bona fide plan,
policy or practice of providing compensation for loss of salary occasioned by such sickness or disability.
The employer is not required to pay any portion of the employee's salary for full-day absences for which
the employee receives compensation under the plan, policy or practice. Deductions for such full-day
absences also may be made before the employee has qualified under the plan, policy or practice, and after
the employee has exhausted the leave allowance thereunder. Thus, for example, if an employer maintains
a short-term disability insurance plan providing salary replacement for 12 weeks starting on the fourth
day of absence, the employer may make deductions from pay for the three days of absence before the
employee qualifies for benefits under the plan; for the twelve weeks in which the employee receives
salary replacement benefits under the plan; and for absences after the employee has exhausted the 12
weeks of salary replacement benefits. Similarly, an employer may make deductions from pay for absences
of one or more full days if salary replacement benefits are provided under a State disability insurance law
or under a State workers' compensation law.

(3) While an employer cannot make deductions from pay for absences of an exempt employee occasioned
by jury duty, attendance as a witness or temporary military leave, the employer can offset any amounts
received by an employee as jury fees, witness fees or military pay for a particular week against the salary
due for that particular week without loss of the exemption.

(4) Deductions from pay of exempt employees may be made for penalties imposed in good faith for
infractions of safety rules of major significance. Safety rules of major significance include those relating
to the prevention of serious danger in the workplace or to other employees, such as rules prohibiting
smoking in explosive plants, oil refineries and coal mines.
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(5) Deductions from pay of exempt employees may be made for unpaid disciplinary suspensions of one or
more full days imposed in good faith for infractions of workplace conduct rules. Such suspensions must
be imposed pursuant to a written policy applicable to all employees. Thus, for example, an employer may
suspend an exempt employee without pay for three days for violating a generally applicable written
policy prohibiting sexual harassment. Similarly, an employer may suspend an exempt employee without
pay for twelve days for violating a generally applicable written policy prohibiting workplace violence.

(6) An employer is not required to pay the full salary in the initial or terminal week of employment.
Rather, an employer may pay a proportionate part of an employee's full salary for the time actually
worked in the first and last week of employment. In such weeks, the payment of an hourly or daily
equivalent of the employee's full salary for the time actually worked will meet the requirement. However,
employees are not paid on a salary basis within the meaning of these regulations if they are employed
occasionally for a few days, and the employer pays them a proportionate part of the weekly salary when
so employed.

(7) An employer is not required to pay the full salary for weeks in which an exempt employee takes
unpaid leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act. Rather, when an exempt employee takes unpaid
leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act, an employer may pay a proportionate part of the full
salary for time actually worked. For example, if an employee who normally works 40 hours per week
uses four hours of unpaid leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act, the employer could deduct 10
percent of the employee's normal salary that week.

(c) When calculating the amount of a deduction from pay allowed under paragraph (b) of this section, the
employer may use the hourly or daily equivalent of the employee's full weekly salary or any other amount
proportional to the time actually missed by the employee. A deduction from pay as a penalty for
violations of major safety rules under paragraph (b)(4) of this section may be made in any amount.

8 541.603 Effect of improper deductions from salary.

(@ An employer who makes improper deductions from salary shall lose the exemption if the facts
demonstrate that the employer did not intend to pay employees on a salary basis. An actual practice of
making improper deductions demonstrates that the employer did not intend to pay employees on a salary
basis. The factors to consider when determining whether an employer has an actual practice of making
improper deductions include, but are not limited to: the number of improper deductions, particularly as
compared to the number of employee infractions warranting discipline; the time period during which the
employer made improper deductions; the number and geographic location of employees whose salary was
improperly reduced; the number and geographic location of managers responsible for taking the improper
deductions; and whether the employer has a clearly communicated policy permitting or prohibiting
improper deductions.

(b) If the facts demonstrate that the employer has an actual practice of making improper deductions, the
exemption is lost during the time period in which the improper deductions were made for employees in
the same job classification working for the same managers responsible for the actual improper deductions.
Employees in different job classifications or who work for different managers do not lose their status as
exempt employees. Thus, for example, if a manager at a company facility routinely docks the pay of
engineers at that facility for partial-day personal absences, then all engineers at that facility whose pay
could have been improperly docked by the manager would lose the exemption; engineers at other
facilities or working for other managers, however, would remain exempt.

(c) Improper deductions that are either isolated or inadvertent will not result in loss of the exemption for
any employees subject to such improper deductions, if the employer reimburses the employees for such
improper deductions.
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(d) If an employer has a clearly communicated policy that prohibits the improper pay deductions specified
in 8541.602(a) and includes a complaint mechanism, reimburses employees for any improper deductions
and makes a good faith commitment to comply in the future, such employer will not lose the exemption
for any employees unless the employer willfully violates the policy by continuing to make improper
deductions after receiving employee complaints. If an employer fails to reimburse employees for any
improper deductions or continues to make improper deductions after receiving employee complaints, the
exemption is lost during the time period in which the improper deductions were made for employees in
the same job classification working for the same managers responsible for the actual improper deductions.
The best evidence of a clearly communicated policy is a written policy that was distributed to employees
prior to the improper pay deductions by, for example, providing a copy of the policy to employees at the
time of hire, publishing the policy in an employee handbook or publishing the policy on the employer's
Intranet.

(e) This section shall not be construed in an unduly technical manner so as to defeat the exemption.
§541.604 Minimum guarantee plus extras.

(@) An employer may provide an exempt employee with additional compensation without losing the
exemption or violating the salary basis requirement, if the employment arrangement also includes a
guarantee of at least the minimum weekly-required amount paid on a salary basis. Thus, for example, an
exempt employee guaranteed at least $455 each week paid on a salary basis may also receive additional
compensation of a one percent commission on sales. An exempt employee also may receive a percentage
of the sales or profits of the employer if the employment arrangement also includes a guarantee of at least
$455 each week paid on a salary basis. Similarly, the exemption is not lost if an exempt employee who is
guaranteed at least $455 each week paid on a salary basis also receives additional compensation based on
hours worked for work beyond the normal workweek. Such additional compensation may be paid on any
basis ( e.g., flat sum, bonus payment, straight-time hourly amount, time and one-half or any other basis),
and may include paid time off.

(b) An exempt employee's earnings may be computed on an hourly, a daily or a shift basis, without losing
the exemption or violating the salary basis requirement, if the employment arrangement also includes a
guarantee of at least the minimum weekly required amount paid on a salary basis regardless of the
number of hours, days or shifts worked, and a reasonable relationship exists between the guaranteed
amount and the amount actually earned. The reasonable relationship test will be met if the weekly
guarantee is roughly equivalent to the employee's usual earnings at the assigned hourly, daily or shift rate
for the employee's normal scheduled workweek. Thus, for example, an exempt employee guaranteed
compensation of at least $500 for any week in which the employee performs any work, and who normally
works four or five shifts each week, may be paid $150 per shift without violating the salary basis
requirement. The reasonable relationship requirement applies only if the employee's pay is computed on
an hourly, daily or shift basis. It does not apply, for example, to an exempt store manager paid a
guaranteed salary of $650 per week who also receives a commission of one-half percent of all sales in the
store or five percent of the store's profits, which in some weeks may total as much as, or even more than,
the guaranteed salary.

8§ 541.605 Fee basis.

(a) Administrative and professional employees may be paid on a fee basis, rather than on a salary basis.
An employee will be considered to be paid on a “fee basis” within the meaning of these regulations if the
employee is paid an agreed sum for a single job regardless of the time required for its completion. These
payments resemble piecework payments with the important distinction that generally a “fee” is paid for
the kind of job that is unique rather than for a series of jobs repeated an indefinite number of times and for
which payment on an identical basis is made over and over again. Payments based on the number of hours
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or days worked and not on the accomplishment of a given single task are not considered payments on a
fee basis.

(b) To determine whether the fee payment meets the minimum amount of salary required for exemption
under these regulations, the amount paid to the employee will be tested by determining the time worked
on the job and whether the fee payment is at a rate that would amount to at least $455 per week if the
employee worked 40 hours. Thus, an artist paid $250 for a picture that took 20 hours to complete meets
the minimum salary requirement for exemption since earnings at this rate would yield the artist $500 if 40
hours were worked.

8 541.606 Board, lodging or other facilities.

(a) To qualify for exemption under section 13(a)(1) of the Act, an employee must earn the minimum
salary amount set forth in §541.600, “exclusive of board, lodging or other facilities.” The phrase
“exclusive of board, lodging or other facilities” means “free and clear” or independent of any claimed
credit for non-cash items of value that an employer may provide to an employee. Thus, the costs incurred
by an employer to provide an employee with board, lodging or other facilities may not count towards the
minimum salary amount required for exemption under this part 541. Such separate transactions are not
prohibited between employers and their exempt employees, but the costs to employers associated with
such transactions may not be considered when determining if an employee has received the full required
minimum salary payment.

(b) Regulations defining what constitutes “board, lodging, or other facilities” are contained in 29 CFR
part 531. As described in 29 CFR 531.32, the term “other facilities” refers to items similar to board and
lodging, such as meals furnished at company restaurants or cafeterias or by hospitals, hotels, or
restaurants to their employees; meals, dormitory rooms, and tuition furnished by a college to its student
employees; merchandise furnished at company stores or commissaries, including articles of food,
clothing, and household effects; housing furnished for dwelling purposes; and transportation furnished to
employees for ordinary commuting between their homes and work.

SUBPART H DEFINITIONS AND MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS
§ 541.700 Primary duty.

(a) To qualify for exemption under this part, an employee's “primary duty” must be the performance of
exempt work. The term “primary duty” means the principal, main, major or most important duty that the
employee performs. Determination of an employee's primary duty must be based on all the facts in a
particular case, with the major emphasis on the character of the employee's job as a whole. Factors to
consider when determining the primary duty of an employee include, but are not limited to, the relative
importance of the exempt duties as compared with other types of duties; the amount of time spent
performing exempt work; the employee's relative freedom from direct supervision; and the relationship
between the employee's salary and the wages paid to other employees for the kind of nonexempt work
performed by the employee.

(b) The amount of time spent performing exempt work can be a useful guide in determining whether
exempt work is the primary duty of an employee. Thus, employees who spend more than 50 percent of
their time performing exempt work will generally satisfy the primary duty requirement. Time alone,
however, is not the sole test, and nothing in this section requires that exempt employees spend more than
50 percent of their time performing exempt work. Employees who do not spend more than 50 percent of
their time performing exempt duties may nonetheless meet the primary duty requirement if the other
factors support such a conclusion.
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(c) Thus, for example, assistant managers in a retail establishment who perform exempt executive work
such as supervising and directing the work of other employees, ordering merchandise, managing the
budget and authorizing payment of bills may have management as their primary duty even if the assistant
managers spend more than 50 percent of the time performing nonexempt work such as running the cash
register. However, if such assistant managers are closely supervised and earn little more than the
nonexempt employees, the assistant managers generally would not satisfy the primary duty requirement.

§541.701 Customarily and regularly.

The phrase “customarily and regularly” means a frequency that must be greater than occasional but
which, of course, may be less than constant. Tasks or work performed “customarily and regularly”
includes work normally and recurrently performed every workweek; it does not include isolated or one-
time tasks.

§541.702 Exempt and nonexempt work.

The term “exempt work” means all work described in §§541.100, 541.101, 541.200, 541.300, 541.301,
541.302, 541.303, 541.304, 541.400 and 541.500, and the activities directly and closely related to such
work. All other work is considered “nonexempt.”

§541.703 Directly and closely related.

(a) Work that is “directly and closely related” to the performance of exempt work is also considered
exempt work. The phrase “directly and closely related” means tasks that are related to exempt duties and
that contribute to or facilitate performance of exempt work. Thus, “directly and closely related” work may
include physical tasks and menial tasks that arise out of exempt duties, and the routine work without
which the exempt employee's exempt work cannot be performed properly. Work “directly and closely
related” to the performance of exempt duties may also include recordkeeping; monitoring and adjusting
machinery; taking notes; using the computer to create documents or presentations; opening the mail for
the purpose of reading it and making decisions; and using a photocopier or fax machine. Work is not
“directly and closely related” if the work is remotely related or completely unrelated to exempt duties.

(b) The following examples further illustrate the type of work that is and is not normally considered as
directly and closely related to exempt work:

(1) Keeping time, production or sales records for subordinates is work directly and closely related to an
exempt executive's function of managing a department and supervising employees.

(2) The distribution of materials, merchandise or supplies to maintain control of the flow of and
expenditures for such items is directly and closely related to the performance of exempt duties.

(3) A supervisor who spot checks and examines the work of subordinates to determine whether they are
performing their duties properly, and whether the product is satisfactory, is performing work which is
directly and closely related to managerial and supervisory functions, so long as the checking is
distinguishable from the work ordinarily performed by a nonexempt inspector.

(4) A supervisor who sets up a machine may be engaged in exempt work, depending upon the nature of
the industry and the operation. In some cases the setup work, or adjustment of the machine for a particular
job, is typically performed by the same employees who operate the machine. Such setup work is part of
the production operation and is not exempt. In other cases, the setting up of the work is a highly skilled
operation which the ordinary production worker or machine tender typically does not perform. In large
plants, non-supervisors may perform such work. However, particularly in small plants, such work may be
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a regular duty of the executive and is directly and closely related to the executive's responsibility for the
work performance of subordinates and for the adequacy of the final product. Under such circumstances, it
is exempt work.

(5) A department manager in a retail or service establishment who walks about the sales floor observing
the work of sales personnel under the employee's supervision to determine the effectiveness of their sales
techniques, checks on the quality of customer service being given, or observes customer preferences is
performing work which is directly and closely related to managerial and supervisory functions.

(6) A business consultant may take extensive notes recording the flow of work and materials through the
office or plant of the client; after returning to the office of the employer, the consultant may personally
use the computer to type a report and create a proposed table of organization. Standing alone, or separated
from the primary duty, such note-taking and typing would be routine in nature. However, because this
work is necessary for analyzing the data and making recommendations, the work is directly and closely
related to exempt work. While it is possible to assign note-taking and typing to nonexempt employees,
and in fact it is frequently the practice to do so, delegating such routine tasks is not required as a condition
of exemption.

(7) A credit manager who makes and administers the credit policy of the employer, establishes credit
limits for customers, authorizes the shipment of orders on credit, and makes decisions on whether to
exceed credit limits would be performing work exempt under §541.200. Work that is directly and closely
related to these exempt duties may include checking the status of accounts to determine whether the credit
limit would be exceeded by the shipment of a new order, removing credit reports from the files for
analysis, and writing letters giving credit data and experience to other employers or credit agencies.

(8) A traffic manager in charge of planning a company's transportation, including the most economical
and quickest routes for shipping merchandise to and from the plant, contracting for common-carrier and
other transportation facilities, negotiating with carriers for adjustments for damages to merchandise, and
making the necessary rearrangements resulting from delays, damages or irregularities in transit, is
performing exempt work. If the employee also spends part of the day taking telephone orders for local
deliveries, such order-taking is a routine function and is not directly and closely related to the exempt
work.

(9) An example of work directly and closely related to exempt professional duties is a chemist performing
menial tasks such as cleaning a test tube in the middle of an original experiment, even though such menial
tasks can be assigned to laboratory assistants.

(10) A teacher performs work directly and closely related to exempt duties when, while taking students on
a field trip, the teacher drives a school van or monitors the students' behavior in a restaurant.

§541.704 Use of manuals.

The use of manuals, guidelines or other established procedures containing or relating to highly technical,
scientific, legal, financial or other similarly complex matters that can be understood or interpreted only by
those with advanced or specialized knowledge or skills does not preclude exemption under section
13(a)(1) of the Act or the regulations in this part. Such manuals and procedures provide guidance in
addressing difficult or novel circumstances and thus use of such reference material would not affect an
employee's exempt status. The section 13(a)(1) exemptions are not available, however, for employees
who simply apply well-established techniques or procedures described in manuals or other sources within
closely prescribed limits to determine the correct response to an inquiry or set of circumstances.
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§541.705 Trainees.

The executive, administrative, professional, outside sales and computer employee exemptions do not
apply to employees training for employment in an executive, administrative, professional, outside sales or
computer employee capacity who are not actually performing the duties of an executive, administrative,
professional, outside sales or computer employee.

§ 541.706 Emergencies.

(@) An exempt employee will not lose the exemption by performing work of a normally nonexempt nature
because of the existence of an emergency. Thus, when emergencies arise that threaten the safety of
employees, a cessation of operations or serious damage to the employer's property, any work performed
in an effort to prevent such results is considered exempt work.

(b) An “emergency” does not include occurrences that are not beyond control or for which the employer
can reasonably provide in the normal course of business. Emergencies generally occur only rarely, and
are events that the employer cannot reasonably anticipate.

(c) The following examples illustrate the distinction between emergency work considered exempt work
and routine work that is not exempt work:

(1) A mine superintendent who pitches in after an explosion and digs out workers who are trapped in the
mine is still a bona fide executive.

(2) Assisting nonexempt employees with their work during periods of heavy workload or to handle rush
orders is not exempt work.

(3) Replacing a nonexempt employee during the first day or partial day of an illness may be considered
exempt emergency work depending on factors such as the size of the establishment and of the executive's
department, the nature of the industry, the consequences that would flow from the failure to replace the
ailing employee immediately, and the feasibility of filling the employee's place promptly.

(4) Regular repair and cleaning of equipment is not emergency work, even when necessary to prevent fire
or explosion; however, repairing equipment may be emergency work if the breakdown of or damage to
the equipment was caused by accident or carelessness that the employer could not reasonably anticipate.

§ 541.707 Occasional tasks.

Occasional, infrequently recurring tasks that cannot practicably be performed by nonexempt employees,
but are the means for an exempt employee to properly carry out exempt functions and responsibilities, are
considered exempt work. The following factors should be considered in determining whether such work
is exempt work: Whether the same work is performed by any of the exempt employee's subordinates;
practicability of delegating the work to a nonexempt employee; whether the exempt employee performs
the task frequently or occasionally; and existence of an industry practice for the exempt employee to
perform the task.

§541.708 Combination exemptions.
Employees who perform a combination of exempt duties as set forth in the regulations in this part for

executive, administrative, professional, outside sales and computer employees may qualify for exemption.
Thus, for example, an employee whose primary duty involves a combination of exempt administrative
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and exempt executive work may qualify for exemption. In other words, work that is exempt under one
section of this part will not defeat the exemption under any other section.

§541.709 Motion picture producing industry.

The requirement that the employee be paid “on a salary basis” does not apply to an employee in the
motion picture producing industry who is compensated at a base rate of at least $695 a week (exclusive of
board, lodging, or other facilities). Thus, an employee in this industry who is otherwise exempt under
subparts B, C or D of this part, and who is employed at a base rate of at least $695 a week is exempt if
paid a proportionate amount (based on a week of not more than 6 days) for any week in which the
employee does not work a full workweek for any reason. Moreover, an otherwise exempt employee in
this industry qualifies for exemption if the employee is employed at a daily rate under the following
circumstances:

(a) The employee is in a job category for which a weekly base rate is not provided and the daily base rate
would yield at least $695 if 6 days were worked; or

(b) The employee is in a job category having a weekly base rate of at least $695 and the daily base rate is
at least one-sixth of such weekly base rate.

§541.710 Employees of public agencies.

(a) An employee of a public agency who otherwise meets the salary basis requirements of §541.602 shall
not be disqualified from exemption under §8541.100, 541.200, 541.300 or 541.400 on the basis that such
employee is paid according to a pay system established by statute, ordinance or regulation, or by a policy
or practice established pursuant to principles of public accountability, under which the employee accrues
personal leave and sick leave and which requires the public agency employee's pay to be reduced or such
employee to be placed on leave without pay for absences for personal reasons or because of illness or
injury of less than one work-day when accrued leave is not used by an employee because:

(1) Permission for its use has not been sought or has been sought and denied,;
(2) Accrued leave has been exhausted; or
(3) The employee chooses to use leave without pay.

(b) Deductions from the pay of an employee of a public agency for absences due to a budget-required
furlough shall not disqualify the employee from being paid on a salary basis except in the workweek in
which the furlough occurs and for which the employee's pay is accordingly reduced.
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