INSTRUCTIONS FOR ISSUING OFFICERS
A300 Combined Certification Form (R-9-2012)

The A300 Combined Certification Form was revised in September 2012 to accommodate a future web
based application for processing employment certificates for minors. Although the web based
application is still in development, the revised A300 form is available at the Department of Education
and the Department of Labor and Workforce Development’s websites. Minors will be able to download
the form and complete it before submitting it to the Issuing Officer.

The revised A300 (R-9-2012) has the same fields, questions and required signatures as the prior version,
but the revised version has a different format. Because the A300 is no longer printed on NCR paper,
school personnel will have to make copies of the issued employment certificate for school files and to
send to the Department of Labor and Workforce Development (Division of Wage and Hour Compliance)
for review.

Please note that all other procedures for processing the employment certificate remain the same and
have not changed.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

The following information is for ready reference only. For full text of the New Jersey Child Labor Laws
and Regulations, consult N.J.S.A. 34:2-21.1 et seq. and N.J.A.C. 12:58 et seq.
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Hours of Work

Hours of Work - 14 & 15 Year Olds
e no more than 3 hours a day on a school day
e no more than 18 hours a week during a school week
e may not work before 7:00 am or after 7:00 pm during the school year
e summer vacation: may work up to 8 hours a day, 40 hours a week, and may work up to 9:00 pm
with written parental permission (which must be on file with the employer)

Hours of Work - 16 & 17 Year Olds
e no more than 8 hours a day
e no more than 40 hours a week
e may not work before 6:00 am or after 11:00 pm
Exception: may work after 11:00 pm (up to 3 am provided work begins before 11 pm) during
regular school vacation and when there is no school the next day with written parental
permission (which must be on file with the employer)

Hours of Work - All Minors
e no more than 6 consecutive days
e may not work more than 5 continuous hours without at least a 30-minute meal break

Minimum Wage
A minor is entitled to minimum wage in the following industries:
e retail/mercantile
e beauty culture
e laundry/cleaning/dyeing
e light manufacturing apparel
o first processing of farm products
e hotel and motel
e food service (restaurant)

Certain places are not required to pay minimum wage. Some examples are nursing homes, boardwalk
and other seasonal amusements, summer camps, professional offices, and libraries. However, jobs
related to food service in any of those places must pay the minimum wage.

For the current hourly minimum wage, please visit nj.gov/labor and click on Wage and Hour.
Tips
Where tips are part of the pay, the sum of cash wages plus tips earned in a week, and meal credits

(where meals are provided), divided by hours worked during the same week, must amount to at least
the minimum wage.

Overtime
Minors may not work more than 40 hours per week.

Instructions for Issuing Officers — A300 (R-10-2014) Page 2 of 4



Prohibited Work

Certain potentially hazardous jobs are prohibited for minors based on the age of the minor. Some of the
prohibited jobs and activities are listed below. Consult the New Jersey Child Labor Laws and Regulations
for a complete list of prohibited occupations. The laws and regulations are available at
www.nj.gov/labor (click on Wage & Hour).

Prohibited Work - Under 16 Years Old
e may not use power-driven machinery, including power tools, power lawn mowers, power
woodworking, and metal working tools
® may not use conveyers. However, minors age 15 may work as cashiers or baggers.
e Note: must be 16 to operate power lawn mower or golf cart.

Prohibited Work - Under 18 Years Old
e may not work in construction (or do any work within 30 feet of construction operations)
e may not operate hoisting apparatus, including forklifts
e may not service wheels (for changing tires)
e may not work at establishments where alcoholic liquors are distilled, rectified, compounded,
brewed, manufactured, bottled, or sold for consumption on the premises.

o Minors 16 years of age may work in public bowling alleys as pin-setters, lane attendants,
or busboys, and in restaurants, executive offices, maintenance departments, or pool and
beach areas of a hotel as long as they do not prepare, sell, or serve alcoholic beverages.

o Also, minors at least 14 years of age may work as golf caddies and pool attendants.

e may not slaughter animals; or pack, process, or render meat; or operate a deli or other slicing
machines

e may not use dough brakes or mixing machines in bakeries or cracker machinery

e may not use compactors (but may use residential type)

The above is only a partial list of prohibited work. Consult the New Jersey Child Labor Laws and
Regulations for a complete list. The laws and regulations are available at www.nj.gov/labor (click on
Wage & Hour).

Some types of prohibited work are allowed under the Cooperative Education Experience (CEE).
These programs are supervised by school educators, and students receive training in the
occupational area and in relevant health and safety matters through the school. Employers can
contact a local high school or county vocational school to obtain information on these programs.
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Special Permits for Agriculture, Newspaper Carriers, or Theatrical
Employment

Depending on the age of the minor and whether the minor will be working in agriculture, newspaper
carriers, or theatrical employment, the minor may need to obtain a special permit (A310 Combined
Certification Form for Agriculture, Newspaper Carrier, Street Trades or Theatrical Employment). The
A310 is not available online; it is available in the school district.

e Agriculture (minimum age — 12 years old)
12 thru 15 years old - Special Agricultural Permit
e Newspaper Carriers (minimum age — 11 years old)
11 thru 15 years old - Special Newspaper Carrier Permit
16 & 17 years old - Employment Certificate
e Theatrical (minimum age — None)
Under 16 years old - Special Theatrical Permit
16 & 17 years old - Employment Certificate

Age Certificate (issued to persons 18 to 21 years old)

A young worker between 18 and 21 years may need to obtain an age certificate because the employer is
requesting proof of age. The young worker must complete the Minor’s Personal Information (section A
of the A300) and show a birth certificate, passport, baptismal certificate, or other identification if the
school does not already have a copy on file.

Additional Information

For additional information about the New Jersey Child Labor Laws and Regulations, prohibited
occupations, the Child Labor Law Abstract and Schedule of Hours for Minors (required employer
posters), and other helpful Child Labor publications, visit the New Jersey Department of Labor and
Workforce Development’s website at www.nj.qgov/labor (click on Wage & Hour).
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