
ABOUT THE PROGRAM
If your first day of family leave is more than 14 days after your last day of covered New Jersey  
employment, and you are not on an approved leave of absence from your employer, you may be eligible 
for Family Leave During Unemployment Insurance (FLDU), a combination of the Family Leave Insurance 
and Unemployment Insurance programs.

 

Benefits may be claimed to:
•	 Bond with a newborn, newly adopted or newly placed foster child

•	 Care for a family member with a physical or mental health condition, including COVID-19  
(see the generous definition of “family” under the law at myleavebenefits.nj.gov/caregiver),

•	 Handle matters related to domestic or sexual violence, whether you or a loved one is a survivor/victim

Most New Jersey workers qualify
To be eligible you must: 

•	 have earned at least $12,000 total or $240 weekly for 20 weeks total in employment in 18 months prior  
to the start of your claim; and

•	 meet all of the requirements for Unemployment Insurance except being “available” for potential work  
due to the need for bonding or caregiving leave. 

Receive up to 60% of your average wages, up to $804/week
Benefits are paid for full calendar weeks, beginning Sunday and ending Saturday. If you have an  
Unemployment Insurance or Disability During Unemployment claim within that benefit year, you typically  
will receive the same benefit rate as you were receiving on your prior claim. 

Receive up to 12 weeks of benefits
Family Leave During Unemployment benefits can be claimed for up to 12 consecutive weeks in a 12-month  
period, or up to eight weeks in a 12-month period if claiming benefits on a week-by-week intermittent basis. 
Each week claimed must be on a Sunday through Saturday schedule. The 12-month period starts on the  
first day of Family Leave claimed and lasts for 365 consecutive days after. 

 
NEW JERSEY
FAMILY LEAVE 
DURING UNEMPLOYMENT
Cash benefits for employees who need to bond with a new child or care for a loved 
one, but haven’t worked recently and/or are collecting unemployment benefits

http://www.myleavebenefits.nj.gov/caregiver


Learn about how you’ll be paid at myleavebenefits.nj.gov/unemployed

Apply for benefits online at myleavebenefits.nj.gov/unemployed
You can start the online application process up to 60 days in advance and it will be 
saved as a draft. Once your leave begins, you must return to your draft (within 14 days 
of the start of your leave) to certify and submit your application. If applying after your 
leave begins, you have 30 days from your first day of leave to file your  application. It 
can take four to six weeks for a claim to be approved and benefits to be paid, once we 
have a complete application.
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LEARN MORE AT:

Hearing-impaired individuals may inquire about their claim via the Telecommunication Device for the Deaf 
(TDD): 609-292-8319, or the NJ Relay Service at 1-800-852-7899.

/unemployed

For further assistance
T: 609-292-3349 / 609-292-3842

MONDAY-FRIDAY  
8:00 am – 4:30 pm

F:  609-292-9209

Family Leave Insurance During Unemployment
PO Box 956 | Trenton | NJ | 08625-0956

https://www.nj.gov/labor/
https://myleavebenefits.nj.gov/labor/myleavebenefits/worker/resources/unemployed_apply.shtml
https://myleavebenefits.nj.gov/labor/myleavebenefits/worker/resources/unemployed_apply.shtml
http://www.myleavebenefits.nj.gov/unemployed

