

Cash benefits for employees who need to bond with a new child or care for a loved one, but haven't worked recently and/or are collecting unemployment benefits

ABOUT THE PROGRAM

If your first day of family leave is more than 14 days after your last day of covered New Jersey employment, and you are not on an approved leave of absence from your employer, you may be eligible for Family Leave During Unemployment Insurance (FLDU), a combination of the Family Leave Insurance and Unemployment Insurance programs.

Benefits may be claimed to:

- Bond with a newborn, newly adopted or newly placed foster child
- Care for a family member with a physical or mental health condition, including COVID-19 (see the generous definition of "family" under the law at myleavebenefits.nj.gov),
- · Handle matters related to domestic or sexual violence, whether you or a loved one is a survivor/victim

Most New Jersey workers qualify

To be eligible you must:

- have earned at least \$11,000 total or \$220 weekly for 20 weeks total in employment in 18 months prior to the start of your claim; and
- meet all of the requirements for Unemployment Insurance except being "available" for potential work due to the need for bonding or caregiving leave.

Receive up to 60% of your average wages, up to \$731/week

Benefits are paid for full calendar weeks, beginning Sunday and ending Saturday. If you have an Unemployment Insurance or Disability During Unemployment claim within that benefit year, you typically will receive the same benefit rate as you were receiving on your prior claim.

Receive up to 12 weeks of benefits

Family Leave During Unemployment benefits can be claimed for up to 12 consecutive weeks in a 12-month period, or up to eight weeks in a 12-month period if claiming benefits on a week-by-week intermittent basis. Each week claimed must be on a Sunday through Saturday schedule. The 12-month period starts on the first day of Family Leave claimed and lasts for 365 consecutive days after.



Apply for benefits online at myleavebenefits.nj.gov/unemployed

You can start the online application process up to 60 days in advance and it will be saved as a draft. Once your leave begins, you must return to your draft (within 14 days of the start of your leave) to certify and submit your application. If applying after your leave begins, you have 30 days from your first day of leave to file your application. It can take four to six weeks for a claim to be approved and benefits to be paid, once we have a complete application.



Payments issued on a Bank of America debit card

Bank of America will send you a debit card in the mail in a plain, unmarked envelope before your application is approved. Don't lose it! Funds will be applied to the card if and when your application is approved. If you previously filed for Family Leave Insurance, Temporary Disability Insurance, or Unemployment Compensation, funds will be issued to that same debit card. For Bank of America debit card inquiries call **866-213-4074**.

LEARN MORE AT:

myLeaveBenefits.nj.gov/unemployed

For further assistance



T: 609-292-3349 / 609-292-3842 MONDAY-FRIDAY





Family Leave Insurance During Unemployment PO Box 956 | Trenton | NJ | 08625-0956

F: 609-292-9209

Hearing-impaired individuals may inquire about their claim via the Telecommunication Device for the Deaf **(TDD)**: **609-292-8319**, or the NJ Relay Service at **1-800-852-7899**.

