

NEW JERSEY PAID FAMILY & MEDICAL LEAVE DURING COVID-19:



WHAT EMPLOYERS NEED TO KNOW

DISCLAIMER

- The presentation is intended as general information only and does not carry the force of legal opinion.
- The Department of Labor and Workforce Development is providing this information as a public service. This information and related materials are presented to give the public access to information on Department of Labor and Workforce Development programs. You should be aware that while we try to keep the information timely and accurate, there will often be a delay between official publications of the materials and the modification of these pages. Therefore, we make no express or implied guarantees. The New Jersey Register and the New Jersey Administrative Code remain the official sources for regulatory information published by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development. We will make every effort to keep this information current and to correct errors brought to our attention.

NEW JERSEY **DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT**

The New Jersey Department of Labor & Workforce Development is dedicated to protecting our workforce, strengthening our businesses and promoting the dignity of work.



NOW MORE THAN EVER, EMPLOYEES NEED TIME TO GIVE AND RECEIVE CARE.

The U.S. is the only advanced economy without a national paid family leave policy – NJ is one of the few states that has one!

NJ Paid Family & Medical Leave benefits can cover:

- Illness (physical or mental) or injury
- Pregnancy and childbirth
- Bonding with a new child
- Caring for a loved one
- Coping with domestic or sexual violence

NJ PAID FAMILY & MEDICAL LEAVE IS MADE UP OF:

- NJ TEMPORARY DISABILITY INSURANCE (TDI)
- NJ FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE (FLI)

These programs are different from the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), which offers unpaid, job-protected leave for specified family and medical conditions. We'll explain how this law, and other forms of job-protected leave, relate to our benefit programs.

HOW CAN THESE PROGRAMS HELP YOUR BUSINESS?

NJ Paid Family & Medical Leave:

- Supports employee health
- Boosts employee morale and job satisfaction
- Helps with employee retention which reduces turnover costs
- Increases labor force participation, especially for women
- Allows small businesses that cannot afford private plans to compete with larger organizations

WHICH EMPLOYERS ARE COVERED FOR TEMPORARY DISABILITY AND FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE?

- Employers must participate in these State public insurance programs and deduct payroll taxes for employees working in NJ or provide employees coverage through a private insurance plan that meets State of NJ requirements.
- The federal government is exempt
- Temporary Disability is optional for local governments, for example, counties, municipalities, and school districts
- Generally, employees working substantially outside of New Jersey are not covered

For more information on private insurance plans, see: myleavebenefits.nj.gov/privateplan

WHICH EMPLOYEES ARE ELIGIBLE?

For your employee's claim to be approved they must:

- Work for a covered employer
- Have worked 20 weeks total earning at least \$240 weekly or have earned a combined total of \$12,000 in the base year
 - The standard base year refers to the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters before the worker's claim begins.

WHAT BENEFITS CAN EMPLOYEES RECEIVE?

- Benefits are 85% of an employee's average weekly wage with a maximum of \$993 per week
- For Temporary Disability Insurance: up to 26 weeks of benefits, as certified by a medical professional
- For Family Leave Insurance: up to 12 weeks of benefits if taken consecutively, 56 days of benefits if taken intermittently

HOW ARE THE PROGRAMS FUNDED?

Both New Jersey workers and employers contribute to the cost of the Temporary Disability Insurance program. Workers contribute through deductions taken out of their paychecks.

 The contribution rate for employers varies from 0.10% to 0.75% on the first \$39,800 earned by each employee.

The Family Leave Insurance program is financed 100% by worker payroll deductions. Employers do not contribute to the program.

THE EMPLOYER ROLE

- The employer's role in the application process has changed: no longer an "employer portion"
- Must display TDI and FLI posters in a workplace location clearly visible to employees
- Provide written notice of TDI and FLI when an employee is hired, requests information, or notifies an employer of their need for leave
- Report employee's quarterly earnings to the state
- We advise that you keep track of notifications that an employee is receiving benefits, and check for accuracy
 - ▶ If you notice any discrepancies or incorrect payments, please report them to the division in a timely manner contact our customer service center at (609) 292-7060 or submit corrected statements via fax to (609) 984-4138.

HOW EMPLOYERS CAN HELP EMPLOYEES UTILIZE THEIR BENEFITS

- Keep them informed use our employer toolkit and share our resources: myleavebenefits.nj.gov/employerkit
- We encourage you to assist employees with their application, but it is their responsibility to submit a complete application
- Direct them to myleavebenefits.nj.gov to file their claim

FORMS REQUESTED

 If we do not get all requested information from the employee, you may be required to supply some information.

These items include:

- E10 Request for Information: Last physical date of work, wages, or payments to employee during disability or family leave period
- E20 Request for Additional Wage Information: Employee's quarterly wages to establish valid claim
- Failure to complete these documents may result in denial of benefits for the employee and a monetary penalty for you

PAID TIME OFF PRIOR TO DISABILITY AND FAMILY LEAVE

- Employers are not prohibited from requiring employees to use paid time off before claiming Temporary Disability Insurance benefits. However, employers may not require employees to utilize their NJ Earned Sick Leave.
- The State of NJ may only require state employees to use up to two weeks of accrued sick time before receiving Temporary Disability Insurance benefits, although the State of NJ may not require state employees to use their last week of sick time before receiving Temporary Insurance benefits.
- Employees may choose to use accrued paid time off before claiming Family Leave benefits, although employers cannot require it. If an employee chooses to use paid time off before claiming Family Leave Insurance benefits, it will not reduce the maximum duration of benefits to which the employee is entitled.

FAMILY LEAVE FOR PART-TIME EMPLOYEES

- Employees with multiple jobs may collect Family Leave benefits if they only take leave from one employer, provided that they do not exceed their usual work schedule in their other job.
- The employee's weekly benefit rate will be based only on wages from the employment from which they are taking leave. (As of July 1, 2020)

EXPERIENCE RATING: IS OUR COMPANY/ ORGANIZATION CHARGEABLE?

- For Temporary Disability Insurance claims, benefits are charged against the experience rating account of the last employer the applicant worked for prior to the start of their claim. The law provides no alternate criteria for liability such as length of employment, if work was considered full- or part-time employment, amount of earnings, or circumstances surrounding separation with the last employer.
- For Family Leave Insurance claims, there is no charge against the employer's experience rating

HOW DO I FILE AN APPEAL?

- An employee or employer who disagrees with a determination can file an appeal
- It must be in writing and received within 10 days of the mailing date of the determination
- See our employer information at myleavebenefits.nj.gov for the online form

COVID-19 QUALIFYING REASONS FOR NJ PAID FAMILY & MEDICAL LEAVE



Let's review the COVID-19 scenarios for which an employee may receive Temporary Disability or Family Leave benefits



QUARANTINE OR RECOVERY FROM COVID-19: TEMPORARY DISABILITY INSURANCE



- If an employee cannot work due to a health condition, including COVID-19, or if a healthcare provider certifies they are unable to work because they are high risk for COVID-19 due to an underlying health condition
 - TDI also covers other physical and mental illnesses or injuries
- May receive up to 26 weeks of benefits, as certified by a medical professional
- With employer approval, employees who have been unable to work due to a disability can transition back into the workplace on a partial schedule and still receive partial Temporary Disability Insurance benefits (as of June 2020)

CARING FOR A LOVED ONE: **FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE**

- If an employee cannot work because they must care for a loved one with COVID-19
 - Includes other physical and mental illnesses or injuries
- If an employee cannot work because they must provide required care or treatment for a child with an illness, injury, or underlying health condition that prevents them from returning to school in person
- If an employee cannot work because they must provide required care or treatment for a child with a diagnosed mental health condition, including ADHD, who is participating in remote learning
- Also covers care for a loved one coping with domestic or sexual violence
- A medical provider must certify the need for care

CARING FOR A LOVED ONE: FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE (continued)

Who is a considered a "Family Member" in the law?

- Child (biological, adopted, foster, stepchild),
- Spouse (includes domestic partner and civil union partner)
- Parents
- Siblings
- Grandparents

- Grandchildren
- In-laws
- Any blood-relation to the claimant
- Any other individual with a close association equivalent of a family relationship

Claims may be filed for

12 consecutive weeks

Up to 56 intermittent days

BENEFITS FOR NEW PARENTS: TEMPORARY DISABILITY AND FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE



- For pregnancy and childbirth recovery, a birthing parent can typically receive 4 weeks of benefits prior to the delivery date and 6-8 weeks for recovery (with complications, a doctor may certify more benefits)
- Then, the birthing parent can receive Family Leave benefits to bond with their new child, within a year of the birth; up to 12 consecutive weeks or 56 intermittent days
- Typical benefits for a birthing parent without complications:
 - 4 weeks for pregnancy + 6 weeks for recovery
 - + 12 weeks for bonding = 22 weeks total

BONDING WITH A NEW CHILD: FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE



- Both parents can receive Family Leave benefits to bond with a child within a year of the child's birth, adoption, or foster placement
 - Up to 12 consecutive weeks
 - Up to 56 intermittent days

COPING WITH DOMESTIC OR SEXUAL VIOLENCE: FAMILY LEAVE OR TEMPORARY DISABILITY INSURANCE

- An employee can apply for Family Leave benefits to cope with domestic or sexual violence
- Coping with domestic or sexual violence includes many things, such as:
 - Seeking medical attention, therapy, victim advocacy, or legal services
 - Safety planning or escaping abuse, such as staying in a domestic violence shelter
 - Attending or preparing for court
 - Recovering at home

Can receive Family Leave benefits for

- 12 consecutive weeks
 Up to 56 intermittent days
- An employee could receive Temporary Disability benefits for a medical condition resulting from domestic or sexual violence for up to 26 weeks, as certified by a medical provider

JOB PROTECTION

Temporary Disability and Family Leave Insurance are partial wage replacement programs and they do not provide job protection. However, during the period in which they are receiving TDI or FLI benefits, an employee's job may be protected under the following laws:

Federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)

- Enforced by US Department of Labor: dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla
- Employees can receive up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave to:
 - Care for their own illness or injury (including COVID-19)
 - Care for a spouse, child, or parent with a serious health condition (including COVID-19)
 - Bond with a newborn, newly adopted, or foster child

Federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)

- Generally applies to employers with 50 or more employees within 75 miles of the worksite, or a government entity regardless of size
- Employee must have worked there for at least 12 months
- Must have worked at least 1,250 hours in the past 12 months
- Employee must give you 30 days' notice if your need for leave is foreseeable
- All these requirements must be met or you are not required to hold your employee's job

New Jersey Family Leave Act (NJFLA)

- Enforced by the NJ Division on Civil Rights: njcivilrights.gov
- Employees can receive up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave to:
 - Care for a family member, or someone who is the equivalent of family, with a serious health condition (including a diagnosis of COVID-19), or who has been isolated or quarantined because of suspected exposure to a communicable disease (including COVID-19) during a state of emergency
 - Provide required care or treatment for a child if their school or place of care is closed due to a public health emergency (like COVID-19)
 - Care for or bond with a new child

New Jersey Family Leave Act (NJFLA)

- Generally applies to employers with 30 or more employees worldwide, or government entities regardless of size
- Employee must generally give you 30 days' notice if need for leave is foreseeable

PAID AND JOB-PROTECTED LEAVE DURING PREGNANCY AND RECOVERY



How to Receive Benefits

Temporary Disability Insurance

Apply at: myleavebenefits.nj.gov/maternity

New parents can transition directly to bonding benefits

While Bonding With Baby

S How to Receive Benefits

Family Leave Insurance

Apply at: myleavebenefits.nj.gov/maternity

PAID AND JOB-PROTECTED LEAVE **DURING PREGNANCY AND RECOVERY**



During Pregnancy & Recovery





Solution Job Protection

Federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)

Enforced by US Department of Labor

dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla



Job Protection

NJ Family Leave Act (NJFLA)

Enforced by NJ Division on Civil Rights

njcivilrights.gov

Employees can take up to 12 weeks of FMLA for pregnancy/recovery and/or a serious health condition related to pregnancy + up to 12 weeks of NJFLA for bonding = up to 24 weeks of job protection

New Jersey SAFE Act

- Employees can receive up to 20 days of unpaid, job protected leave to cope with domestic or sexual violence
- Generally applies to employers with 25 or more employees and government agencies
- For more information on the SAFE Act, visit https://nj.gov/labor/forms_pdfs/lwdhome/ AD-289_9-13.pdf.

RETALIATION

 It is unlawful for an employer to retaliate against an employee for taking or seeking to take their Temporary Disability or Family Leave benefits. If retaliation occurs, an employee has the right to take private legal action.

Retaliation includes, but is not limited to:

- Firing an employee
- Reducing their salary
- Increasing oversight on their job duties
- Changing their workplace responsibilities
- Excluding them from meetings
- Learn more at myleavebenefits.nj.gov/jobprotection

CONTACT US

Need Help With Your Claim?

Customer Service: 609-292-7060

Website: myLeaveBenefits.nj.gov

Mailing Address:

New Jersey Department of Labor &

Workforce Development

Division of Temporary Disability Insurance

P.O. Box 387 | Trenton, NJ 08625-0387

Fax Number: 609-984-4138

Debit Card Help: 1-866-213-4074





Please see our employer toolkit for resources, including printable handouts, our podcast, and more:

myleavebenefits.nj.gov/employerkit