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Extended Benefits (EB) Program 

In accordance with New Jersey Unemployment Extended Benefits Law, the Extended 
Benefit (EB) program has been activated effective May 3, 2020. The first payable week 
under the Extended Benefits program is July 4, 2020 as the 13 weeks of Pandemic 
Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC) must be paid prior to Extended 
Benefits. Initially the EB program provided additional benefits equal to 13 weeks or 
50% of the maximum benefit amount on your original unemployment claim (whichever 
amount is less.) This increased to 20 weeks or 80% when New Jersey qualified for 
high EB beginning July 5, 2020. The earliest date of claim (DOC) eligible for EB is May 
12, 2019. Your rights and responsibilities for claiming benefits under the EB program 
are listed below. Please read them carefully since the EB law has different 
requirements when compared to regular unemployment compensation law. Your 
failure to meet these requirements may result in your being disqualified for EB 
benefits. Please read your Rights and Responsibilities for further explanation. 
 

Rights and Responsibilities  

1. General Eligibility 
 

 You must be totally or partially unemployed. 

 You must first exhaust all regular state UI benefits, all PEUC benefits and must 
not be eligible for any other UI benefits in any state or territory before collecting 
EB. 

 You must have worked 20 base weeks and earned 40 times your weekly benefit 
rate (WBR) on your original UI claim in order to qualify monetarily for EB. 

 You must have worked and earned four (4) times your weekly benefit rate in 
subsequent employment if you were disqualified on your original unemployment 
claim for being terminated for misconduct or refusing to apply for or accept 
suitable work. 

 You must certify for your benefits on the web at myunemployment.nj.gov or by 
telephone 

 

2. Active Search for Work Requirements 
 

 Due to the pandemic, the state of New Jersey has waived the work search 
requirements for the EB program. Updated information will be provided if/when 
this changes. 
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3. Accepting and Applying for Suitable Work 
 

 Under EB law, suitable work means any work which is within the mental and 
physical capabilities of the individual.  

 If you have the mental and physical capabilities of performing the job, the job will 
be suitable for you if all of the following criteria are met: 

o The gross average pay for the offered work exceeds your weekly benefit 
rate. 

o The job was offered in writing or listed with Workforce NJ. 

o The pay equals or exceeds the minimum wage of $11.00 per hour.  

 Failure to report or accept a Workforce NJ job referral or not accepting a 
reasonable job offer from this service will result in your being disqualified for EB 
benefits. 

 

4. Disqualifications Under EB Program  
 

 Any individual who is claiming EB benefits and is determined to have been 
terminated for misconduct will be indefinitely disqualified until they have 
subsequent employment in which they worked four (4) weeks and earned at 
least four (4) times their weekly benefit rate and completed the six (6) week 
disqualification period following the misconduct. 

 Any individual who is claiming EB benefits and refused to accept or apply for 
suitable work will be indefinitely disqualified until they have subsequent 
employment in which they worked at least four (4) weeks and earned at least 
four (4) times their weekly benefit rate. 

 

5. Out-of-State Residents 

 Any out of state resident claiming EB benefits against the State of New Jersey 
will only be entitled to two (2) weeks of extended benefits unless the state where 
they reside is also in an EB "on period" or they are defined to be a "commuter" 
under the New Jersey Unemployment Compensation Law. 

 
6. Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) 
 

 Claimants receiving PUA are ineligible for EB. Claimants that do not qualify for EB 
may qualify for PUA if they meet any of the PUA self-certification requirements 
under the PUA program. 

 

 
 


