Next-of-Kin Registry

The Next-of-Kin Registry is a New Jersey statewide web-based system that allows individuals at least 14 years of age to voluntarily submit and maintain emergency contact information through the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. This non-public information will only be used by law enforcement officers to locate designated emergency contacts in an event that a person is involved in a vehicle crash that renders him or her unable to communicate.

The Next-of-Kin Registry was established in response to "Sara's Law," which was created in memory of Sara Elizabeth Dubinin from Sayreville. Miss Dubinin became unresponsive following a motor vehicle crash in September 2007 and lapsed into a coma before her parents could be notified. She eventually passed away. The law sought to ensure that an emergency contact could be notified immediately in the event of a vehicle crash.

To register (or update) Next-of-Kin information online
By mail - print out the form, complete the information and mail it to:

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
Driver Management Unit – Data Entry
PO Box 134
Trenton, NJ 08666-0134

Information needed to fill out the form:

  • Applicant’s first and last name.
  • Applicant’s address.
  • Applicant’s driver’s license number (or non-driver identification card number).
  • Applicant’s full social security number (on-line only).
  • Up to two (2) emergency contacts may be entered:
  • Provide first name, last name and the primary 10-digit phone number (example – 609-292-6500) for each emergency contact.
  • Applicant’s signature.
  • Parent/Guardian signature, if applicant is under 18 years old.
  • If you are a parent of a minor, the same last name, a birth certificate and marriage license are required for verification.
  • If you are the guardian of the minor, then Guardianship papers and/or any legal paperwork showing this must be shown for verification.


  • It is the sole responsibility of all individuals who utilize the registry to ensure the accuracy of the information they submit and to keep it up-to-date.
  • Emergency contacts must be at least 18 years old.
  • If the registry user is under 18 years of age, the emergency contact must be his or her parent or legal guardian.
Contacts may be changed and/or added at any time by logging onto the registry online or
mailing in an updated form.