



STATE OF NEW JERSEY

Philip D. Murphy Governor

Sheila Y. Oliver Lt. Governor

B. Sue Fulton
Chair and Chief Administrator

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER 2020-10

I, B. Sue Fulton, Chair and Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission ("MVC"), as authorized pursuant to Executive Order No. 210 (2020), the Motor Vehicle Security and Customer Service Act, N.J.S.A. 39:2A-1, et seq., N.J.S.A. 39:3-10, N.J.S.A. 39:3-10, N.J.S.A. 39:3-10.30, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Waiver in Response to the COVID-19 National Emergency For States, CDL Holders, CLP Holders, and Interstate Drivers Operating Commercial Motor Vehicles, December 15, 2020, and for good cause shown, do hereby order as follows:

1. Any valid New Jersey commercial driver license ("CDL") or commercial learner permit ("CLP") due for renewal between March 1, 2020 and February 28, 2021, shall hereby expire on February 28, 2021. Expired nondomiciled CDLs and CLPs are NOT extended beyond the driver's approved legal presence.

CDL or CLP holders with proof of a valid medical certification or medical variance issued for a period of 90 days or longer that expired on or after September 1, 2020 will remain "certified." Those driving with a CDL or CLP must carry a paper copy of their medical certificate.

The requirement that CLP holders wait 14 days to take the CDL skills test is waived through February 28, 2021.

Medical Examiner Certificates and Medical Certifications that expired prior to September 1, 2020 are NOT extended. Medical Examiner Certificates issued for less than 90 days are NOT extended.

Drivers who, since their last medical certificate was issued, have been diagnosed with a medical condition that would disqualify the driver from operating a commercial motor vehicle, or who, since their last medical certificate was issued, have developed a condition that requires an exemption or Skill Performance Evaluation from FMCSA are not covered under this waiver.

2. Nothing in this Order shall be construed as reducing the fee required to be paid upon renewal of any basic or commercial driver license or vehicle registration.



Nothing in this Order shall be construed as restoring the commercial driving privilege of any person whose driving privilege has been suspended or withdrawn or is otherwise disqualified from operating a CMV, or any suspension order or withdrawn driving privilege or other disqualification from operating a CMV imposed after the date of this Order.

Nothing in this Order shall be construed as permitting the operation of a commercial motor vehicle without complying with the appropriate laws pertaining to commercial driver licensing and all safety requirements governing the operation of commercial motor vehicles, including maintaining and having in effect all required insurance.

This Order shall take effect December 23, 2020.

B. Sue Fulton

Chair and Chief Administrator

Ball

Date: December 23, 2020