## UPDATED Tuesday, February 16, 2021

# **EXTENSIONS AND CDLS**

#### Was my expiration date extended?

There are no current extensions for standard driver licenses, permits, non-driver IDs, vehicle registrations, inspections, and temporary tags.

- All standard driver licenses (including permits)
- Standard non-driver IDs
- Vehicle registrations
- Inspections
- Temporary tags

#### What about CDL Extensions?

Any valid New Jersey CDL or CLP due for renewal between March 1, 2020 and February 28, 2021 has been extended until February 28, 2021.

For CDL and CLP holders holding valid medical certification or medical variance for a period of 90 days or longer that expired on or after September 1, 2020 will remain "certified." Medical Examiner Certificates and Medical Certifications that expired prior to September 1, 2020 are NOT extended. Medical Examiner Certificates issued for less than 90 days are NOT extended.

Extensions for HAZMAT endorsements have expired.

The extensions mirror those issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, which oversees CDLs, and the federal Transportation Security Administration, which oversees Hazardous Materials endorsements (HAZMAT).

#### **Disability Placards**

Disability placards are extended until 90 days after the last day of the state Public Health Emergency, by executive order of Governor Murphy.

More information on how to apply for a disability placard is <u>available at the MVC website</u>.

## Out of State Transfer (Moving to NJ)

If you became a New Jersey resident after the COVID-19 emergency was declared in February 2020, a new law gives you 120 days (up from 60 days) before you must transfer your driver's license and registration to New Jersey.

More information on how to transfer your driver's license and register a motor vehicle upon becoming a resident of the State is <u>available at the MVC website</u>.

Make an appointment for an "out-of-state transfer" of your license and registration here.