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Dear Parents/Guardians:

Your teen has just entered an exciting new chapter in life and will soon be joining more  
than six million licensed drivers on New Jersey’s roadways. With guidance and supervision,  
your teen is assured a positive start on that journey.

Parents play an important role in helping their teens learn to drive safely. In fact, according 
to the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Center for Injury Research and Prevention, 
parents can reduce their teen’s crash risk by as much as 50 percent when they set 
rules, offer support, and monitor their teen's driving. By setting a good example, 
enforcing the Graduated Driver Licensing restrictions, and spending more time teaching  
them to drive, you can substantially lower their risk of being involved in a motor vehicle crash.

Share the Keys is a research-based orientation program offered by NJM Insurance Company  
as part of its ongoing commitment to teen driver safety. The program, which was developed  
by the New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety and Kean University, has been proven  
to effectively reduce teen driver crash risk by providing information, resources and support 
that encourage parental involvement.

This resource guide includes tools that can aid you in helping your teen develop safe driving 
attitudes and behaviors, while increasing your involvement during their formative driving 
years. The information in this guide complements the wealth of information that can be  
found in the New Jersey Driver Manual and other driver education resources.

We wish you and your teen driver the best during this exciting new chapter of your lives  
and a lifelong journey of safe driving.
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THESE BEST PRACTICES WERE USED TO DEFINE THE KEY  
OBJECTIVES FOR THE ORIENTATION PROGRAM:

Understanding the GDL
While New Jersey's GDL is considered one of the most progressive and stringent in the  
United States, it must be clearly understood and supported by parents to be effective.

Effectively Supporting the GDL at Home
The two restrictions of the GDL that have the most lifesaving potential are the curfew and passenger 
restrictions. Forty percent of all fatal teen crashes occur after 9:00 p.m. Teens with even one 
passenger are nearly twice as likely to be involved in a fatal crash.

Being a Good Role Model
Research by CHOP and other studies found that teens mimic their parents' driving behaviors.

Increasing Practice Driving Hours
Teens are at the greatest risk for being involved in a crash during the first 12 to 24 months  
of driving. Practicing driving during this time is essential in reducing crash risk for new drivers.

Sharing the Keys
CHOP’s research also revealed that teens who requested permission to use the car were  
50 percent less likely to be involved in crashes when compared to teens that had primary access. 
Drivers whose parents shared the keys were also less likely to violate the provisions of the GDL.

NJM offers Share the Keys (STK) as part of our enduring commitment to safety and support of the communities  
we are privileged to serve. STK is a research-based, data-driven orientation program designed to reduce teen  
driver crash risks through increased parental involvement.

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws are recognized as the single most effective tool for reducing teen driver  
crashes, injuries, and deaths. Ensuring that parents and teens fully understand the risks and responsibilities  
associated with driving is essential to teen driver safety.

Parental involvement has a significant impact on teen driver safety. Driving Through the Eyes of Teens,  
A Closer Look, a research report conducted by the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) Center for  
Injury Research Prevention, examined the impact parenting styles had on teen driver safety and found that  
teens whose parents set rules and pay attention to their driving activities in a helpful, supportive way are  
half as likely to be involved in a crash.

New Jersey Parent/Teen

Safe Driving Orientation



The Facts About the Numbers
Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death 
and disability to teens in New Jersey and across the 
nation. The Graduated Driver License law is proven to 
be effective in reducing crash rates. New Jersey has 
one of the most comprehensive GDL laws in the nation. 

• In New Jersey, an average of 69 fatal teen driver 
crashes occur each year.

• Teens are the largest age group reported as 
distracted at the time of fatal crashes.

• Teen crashes are most often the result of 
inexperience, distraction, following another vehicle 
too closely, failure to yield to other vehicles or 
pedestrians, and speeding.

• Teens represent the largest contingent of New 
Jersey drivers involved in crashes. They account for 
only 7 percent of the licensed drivers in the state 
but are involved in 11 percent of the crashes.

• Seatbelt use among teens is the lowest for any age 
group.

• More male drivers than female drivers are involved 
in teen crashes.

• More teen crashes occur in June than any other 
month, and on Friday and Sunday more than any 
other days of the week.

The Facts About the Law
Drivers from 16 to 20 years of age holding a 
probationary license under New Jersey’s GDL law:

• May not drive between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.

• May only transport one passenger, unless the 
driver is accompanied by a parent or guardian or 
the passengers are the driver’s dependents.

• Cannot use a cell phone (hand-held or hands-
free), hand-held video games, or any other hand-
held wireless electronic devices.

• Must ensure that they and all of their passengers 
wear seatbelts.

• Must display the GDL decals on any vehicle they 
drive.

• Face a fine of $100 for a violation of the GDL law.

• May not plea bargain any point-carrying offense 
to a non-point-carrying offense.

The Facts

About  
Teen Driving
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Driving Hours
• No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.*

*Restriction does not apply to drivers 21 years of  
age or older

• Work or religious exemption*

*Drivers must carry legible documentation on  
letterhead signed by the employer, organization,  
or religious institution stating the reasons for the  
request to be exempt from the curfew restriction

GDL Decal
• Required on front and rear license plates by all 

drivers under age 21 who possess a permit or 
probationary license

Passengers
• No more than one passenger*

*Restriction does not apply to drivers 21  
years of age or older, teens accompanied  
by a parent/guardian, or passengers who  
are the driver’s dependents

Electronic Devices
• No use of cell phones (hand-held or hands-free)

Seatbelt
• Must be worn at all times

Special Learner’s Permit
• Be at least 16 years old

• Obtain consent of a parent or guardian

• Enroll in an approved behind-the-wheel driver  
training course

• Pass the knowledge and vision tests

Examination Permit
• Be at least 17 years old

• Obtain consent of a parent or guardian

• Pass the knowledge and vision tests

• Practice supervised driving for at least six 
months

Practice Hours
• Complete at least 50 hours of practice driving, 

including 10 hours at night, with a parent or 
adult present (effective February, 2025)

Probationary License
• Be at least 17 years old

• Pass the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission 
(MVC) road test

• Practice unsupervised driving for at least one 
year

Basic License
• Be at least 18 years old

• Complete one year of unsupervised driving with 
probationary license restrictions

• Pay the required fee

For more information about the GDL licensing process, please visit njmvc.gov.

PERMIT STAGE REQUIREMENTS

LICENSE STAGE REQUIREMENTS

PERMIT AND PROBATIONARY 
LICENSE RESTRICTIONS

New Jersey’s

Graduated Driver License
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Parent/Teen

Driving Agreement

Passengers
The presence of even one passenger can nearly double  
a teen’s risk of being involved in a fatal crash.

___________________________________________________________________
RULE

___________________________________________________________________
CONSEQUENCE

___________________________________________________________________
REWARD

Curfew
Late night driving increases a teen's risk of being involved  
in a fatal crash.

___________________________________________________________________
RULE

___________________________________________________________________
CONSEQUENCE

___________________________________________________________________
REWARD

Seatbelts – All Occupants
Wearing your seatbelt significantly increases your chances of 
surviving a crash.

___________________________________________________________________
RULE

___________________________________________________________________
CONSEQUENCE

___________________________________________________________________
REWARD

Speeding
Speed is a contributing factor in 40 percent of fatal teen  
driver crashes.

___________________________________________________________________
RULE

___________________________________________________________________
CONSEQUENCE

___________________________________________________________________
REWARD

Teen Driver
I promise to abide by the agreement outlined above. If I break 
any part of this agreement, I will accept the consequences.

___________________________________________________________________
TEEN SIGNATURE DATE

Cell Phones & Texting
People talking or texting while driving were as impaired as  
if they drove under the influence of alcohol at the legal limit.

___________________________________________________________________
RULE

___________________________________________________________________
CONSEQUENCE

___________________________________________________________________
REWARD

Driving Under the Influence
One in 10 teens in high school drinks and drives. Young drivers 
are 17 times more likely to die in a crash while driving drunk.

___________________________________________________________________
RULE

___________________________________________________________________
CONSEQUENCE

___________________________________________________________________
REWARD

Distractions
Anything or anyone that takes focus away from driving  
is a distraction.

___________________________________________________________________
RULE

___________________________________________________________________
CONSEQUENCE

___________________________________________________________________
REWARD

House Rules (Add Your Own)
___________________________________________________________________
RULE

___________________________________________________________________
CONSEQUENCE

___________________________________________________________________
REWARD

Parent/Guardian
I promise to help my teen succeed in following this agreement 
and make time to help them become a safe and responsible 
driver. I understand this is an evolving agreement and promise 
to make myself available to discuss these rules and their 
consequences when necessary.

___________________________________________________________________
PARENT/GUARDIAN SIGNATURE DATE
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Teen Driver Pledge
I pledge to Just Drive. I will do my part to help put  
an end to distracted driving by driving safely.  
Beginning right now, I commit to:

_____ Not text or use my phone while I am driving.  
If I need to use my phone, I will pull over to  
the side of the road.*

I will ask other drivers I know to do their part to end 
distracted driving. I pledge to make a difference.

____________________________________________________________

TEEN SIGNATURE

____________________________

DATE

*Permit and probationary drivers are prohibited from using electronic 
devices, hand-held or hands-free, under the New Jersey Graduated  
Driver License law.

Parent/Guardian Driver Pledge
I pledge to Just Drive. I will do my part to help put an 
end to distracted driving by driving safely. Beginning 
right now, I commit to:

_____ Not text while I am driving.*

_____ Not text while driving and only use hands-
free calling if I need to speak on the phone 
while I am driving.

_____ Not text or use my phone while I am driving.  
If I need to use my phone, I will pull over to  
the side of the road.

I will ask other drivers I know to do their part to end 
distracted driving. I pledge to make a difference.

____________________________________________________________

PARENT/GUARDIAN SIGNATURE

____________________________

DATE

*Texting while driving is prohibited under New Jersey law.

Pledge
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Quality driver education can provide a great foundation for safe driving. Driving instructors help teens get road-ready  
by ensuring they have the basic skills and knowledge needed for safe driving. 

WHEN DECIDING ON THE RIGHT DRIVING SCHOOL FOR YOU AND YOUR 
TEEN, CONSIDER THE FOLLOWING TIPS:

Seek Advice
Ask other parents and teens about their experiences with driving schools, why they selected the school, and if they  
would recommend it to others.

Use a Licensed Driving School
Make sure the driving school is licensed by the New Jersey MVC. For a list of licensed schools, visit njmvc.gov.

Make Sure Your Teen is Comfortable with the Driving School and Instructors
A good driving school experience will involve a lot of time alone or in small groups with the instructors. Teens can find  
it difficult to learn when they’re not comfortable with their instructor.

QUESTIONS TO ASK WHEN CHOOSING A DRIVING SCHOOL:
• Is behind-the-wheel training thorough and personalized based on the needs of your teen?

• What is its student-to-teacher ratio?

• What percentage of the time is spent on real driving, classroom learning, and driving simulations?

• Does it address issues like road rage, cell phones, and text messaging?

• Does the school prioritize face-to-face interaction between the driving instructor and the parent?

• Is the course primarily designed to make sure students pass the driving test, or is it also focused on developing  
safe driving skills?

Choosing

a Driving School



Selecting a Vehicle

for Your  
Teen Driver
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According to CHOP, teens with primary access to a vehicle were 
50 percent more likely to be involved in a crash. Research shows 
in order to reduce crash risk, it is best for your teen driver to share 
a car for at least the first year of driving. Then, based on the 
successful completion of the GDL process, and even after they 
obtain a basic license, parents need to assess whether their teens 
are ready to own a car. You know your teen best. If you’re unsure, 
consider postponing the purchase. Remember, your role is to keep 
your teen safe.

WHEN SELECTING THE VEHICLE  
YOUR TEEN WILL DRIVE, KEEP  
THESE IMPORTANT POINTS IN MIND:

Avoid High-Performance Vehicles
Not only do teen drivers lack experience, but the area of their 
brain that is used for risk assessment and risk-taking has not been 
fully developed. As a result, speeding and reckless driving are 
common among young drivers. High-performance features are 
likely to increase these behaviors.

Avoid Driving Unstable Vehicles
Sport utility vehicles and minivans, especially smaller ones, are 
inherently less stable than cars because of their higher centers 
of gravity. Abrupt steering maneuvers commonly occur with 
inexperienced drivers and can cause rollovers.

Pick a Vehicle with Modern Crash 
Protection Features
Teenagers should drive vehicles that offer the best protection 
in the event of a crash. The best models have side and curtain 
airbags, as well as the standard driver and passenger airbags. 
Electronic Stability Control (ESC) and an Anti-Lock Braking 
System (ABS) are also great features for helping your teen avoid 
a crash, but new drivers need to be thoroughly trained in their 
use. Unfamiliarity with ABS can affect emergency braking. To 
obtain safety ratings for a vehicle, visit NHTSA.gov/ratings 
and iihs.org for yearly top safety vehicle picks for new drivers.

Look for the Right Size Vehicle
Small vehicles offer much less protection in crashes than  
larger ones. However, this doesn’t mean you should  
put your teen in the largest vehicle you can find. 
Many mid-and full-size cars offer more than  
adequate crash protection. Pick a vehicle,  
preferably a passenger sedan, between  
3,500 and 4,500 pounds curb weight.
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Practice “SAFE” Driving

PARENTS ARE ALSO ENCOURAGED TO FOCUS ON DIFFICULT DRIVING 
SITUATIONS SUCH AS:
• Driving at night (in addition to the required 10 hours) • Merging

• Navigating through inclement weather • Changing lanes

• Recognizing different speed zones • Maintaining a safe following distance

Crash risk decreases dramatically with driving experience. It is crucial that teens get at least one hour per week of 
deliberate practice driving. Finding the time for practice can be difficult but is achievable. Plan your teen’s practice  
driving around your normal day-to-day activities. The following are examples of opportunities to fit in practice driving.  
We call it “SAFE” driving:

SHOPPING TRIPS can be an excellent opportunity for a new driver to learn how to successfully 
navigate commercial districts, which pose unique challenges.S

ACTIVITIES, such as after-school and extracurricular, can be used to teach navigation through  
the use of alternate routes and can build on regular driving lessons.A
FAMILY OUTINGS can provide teens with experience in driving on different roadways  
such as toll roads and multiple lane highways. Teens can also learn how to manage the distraction  
of additional passengers.F
ERRANDS, such as picking up the dry cleaning, offer teens more time behind the wheel.  
Use this time to assess your teen’s progress or to refresh a lesson, such as entering and exiting  
a commercial district or yielding when entering a roadway.E



Expect the Unexpected
It can be difficult for new drivers to anticipate 
pedestrians and bicyclists on the roadway, especially 
in busy areas like intersections, downtown hot spots, 
and marketplace parking lots. An important rule of 
thumb is to “expect the unexpected” and always keep 
a watchful eye for people walking and riding bikes.

Pedestrians
Remember, drivers must stop for pedestrians in 
crosswalks and approach people on the road 
cautiously. Here are some additional tips to  
increase awareness and keep pedestrians safe:

• When passing a person who is sharing the road, 
change lanes or pass at least four feet from the 
person, otherwise slow down to 25 mph and be 
prepared to stop until it is safe to pass

• Any intersection, marked or not, is considered 
a legal crosswalk so long as there is no sign 
prohibiting pedestrian crossing

• When approaching an intersection, look for and 
yield to pedestrians who may have a “WALK” 
indication

• Don’t attempt to pass a vehicle that  
is stopped for a pedestrian

• Be attentive and cautious when backing out of  
a parking spot

• Keep windshields clear to optimize visibility

Bicyclists
Always treat bicyclists, skateboarders, and inline 
skaters with the same level of respect you show 
other vehicles. Here are some additional tips to help 
you safely share the road with anyone traveling on 
wheels:

• When passing a bicyclist, change lanes or pass 
at least four feet from the cyclist, otherwise slow 
down to 25 mph and be prepared to stop until 
safe to pass

• Be aware of shared lane markings,  
which encourage cyclists to ride in  
a safe area outside of parked cars

• Don’t drive or park in a bike lane

• Allow for at least four feet of space  
when passing to the left of a cyclist

• When parked on the street,  
check for passing cyclists  
before opening the door

Pedestrians and Bicyclists

Share the 
Roads
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Parent/Guardian

Driving Hours Certification Form

I hereby certify that  

  _________________________________________________________________ 
PRINT NAME OF MINOR

has completed at least 50 hours of supervised driving,  
including 10 hours at night. All hours logged were completed  
with an adult age 21 years old or parent/guardian present.

 
  _________________________________________________________________ 

LEARNER’S PERMIT NUMBER

  _________________________________________________________________ 
SIGNATURE OF PARENT OR GUARDIAN

  _________________________________________________________________ 
PRINT NAME OF PARENT OR GUARDIAN
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New Jersey Parent/Teen

Safe Driving Orientation

Practice

Driving Log

DATE DRIVING 
TIME DAY/NIGHT LOCATION 

(EX. RURAL/HIGHWAY)
WEATHER 

CONDITIONS SKILLS PRACTICED

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night
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Practice

Driving Log Continued

DATE DRIVING 
TIME DAY/NIGHT LOCATION 

(EX. RURAL/HIGHWAY)
WEATHER 

CONDITIONS SKILLS PRACTICED

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night
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Practice

Driving Log Continued

DATE DRIVING 
TIME DAY/NIGHT LOCATION 

(EX. RURAL/HIGHWAY)
WEATHER 

CONDITIONS SKILLS PRACTICED

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night

o Day 
o Night
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“Say Yes to Life”

Contract

This contract empowers teens to make decisions based 
on their personal safety, eliminating peer pressure, and 
judgment. The agreement between parent and teen 
provides young drivers with a safe way out of dangerous—
and potentially life-threatening—situations.

The contract’s name originated from the Rebeka Verea 
Foundation’s slogan: "Say Yes to Life." The Foundation’s 
mission is to create awareness about the lifesaving 
importance of safe driving behaviors and to encourage 
teen drivers to make responsible decisions. Modeled after 
that mission and from research conducted by CHOP, the 
intention of this contract is to save lives.

Teen Driver Agrees to:

Contact  _______________________________  if I ever 
find myself in a situation in which I do not feel safe 
(e.g. the driver has been involved in an argument, is 
drinking or has taken drugs, etc.). I will use the code word
___________________  to indicate I need help getting 
home safely. I understand that I will be asked to discuss  
what happened following a cool-off period and will 
be expected to work on strategies that will assist me in 
avoiding dangerous situations in the future. I also agree to 
do my best to avoid situations involving risky behaviors.

___________________________________________________________________

TEEN SIGNATURE

____________________________

DATE

Parent/Guardian Agrees to:
Pick up _____________ if I receive a text or call that 
includes our code word  __________________________
no matter the time of day or night. I will do my best to 
avoid a socially awkward situation for my teen by creating 
a reason to pick them up, relieving them from any social 
judgment, or pressure. I further agree to reward my teen 
for making a courageous and responsible decision by not 
penalizing or lecturing them. I will take a cool-off period 
to gain more perspective before discussing what they have 
learned and work with them to develop strategies to              
 avoid situations involving risky behaviors.

_______________________________________________

PARENT/GUARDIAN SIGNATURE

_______________________________________________

DATE
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Avoid Aggressive Driving

Reach Your 
Destination 

Safely
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Aggressive Driving Facts 
• Aggressive behavior accounts for more 

than half of all fatal crashes

• A single aggressive act by one driver  
can trigger escalating responses from  
other drivers

What is aggressive driving?
The National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration defines aggressive driving as  
a combination of traffic offenses that endanger 
other people and property. These include:

• Running red lights or stop signs

• Tailgating

• Weaving through traffic

• Passing illegally on the right

• Making improper or unsafe lane changes

• Screaming, making hand gestures, honking 
horns, or flashing high beams

What should you do when 
confronted by an aggressive 
driver?
• Make every attempt to get out of the way

• Avoid eye contact, ignore gestures,  
and don’t engage the other driver

• Pull over in a safe, public location and call 
#77 to report the incident

Emotions can greatly impact the ability to drive. 
When overwhelmed, it’s best to pull over and 
take time to calm down before resuming your trip.



Parent  
to Parent
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TALKING TEEN DRIVER SAFETY 
WITH OTHER PARENTS
Starting a friendly conversation with other parents 
about working together creates a better support system 
to protect teen drivers and passengers.

Share What You’ve Learned
A casual “Did you know?” conversation is a friendly and 
helpful way to support other parents in protecting their 
teen drivers.

Talk About Your Parent/Teen Driving 
Agreement
Discuss the rules, consequences, and rewards you’ve 
established. Explain how the contract protects your 
teen driver. Note that each section of the contract is 
supported by a related fact about teen driver safety.

Discuss Ways You Can Support Each 
Other to Ensure the Safety of Your  
Teen Drivers
Offer to pick up each other's teen drivers. Parents 
can also work together to create a Get Home Safe 
Contract, which includes other parents as alternative 
contacts. These are two great ways parents can work 
together to create a safer driving environment for their 
teens. 

Establishing good communication and 
mutual safety goals between parents 
is essential for your teen’s safe and 
successful completion of the GDL 
process.
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Teen Driving

Web  
Resources

These websites contain useful 
information and resources related  
to teen driver safety. 

NJM Insurance Group 
njm.com/share-the-keys 
Program updates, training, and resources for parents

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission 
NJMVC.gov 
Parent guide, driving manual, driver abstracts, and list  
of licensed driving schools

New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety  
(Office of the Attorney General) 
njsaferoads.com 
Teen driver safety programs, awareness, educational 
resources, and more

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
cdc.gov/parentsarethekey 
Teen driver information and resources for parents

Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Center  
for Injury Research Prevention 
teendriversource.org 
Tools and guides for parents, teens, policy makers,  
and researchers 

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 
safercar.gov 
Tips, driving contracts, message boards, and conversation 
starters for parents

Brain Injury Alliance of New Jersey 
bianj.org 
Teen driver safety programs, awareness, educational 
resources, and more

National Safety Council 
driveithome.org 
Free resources parents can use to help teens become  
safer drivers

Impact Teen Drivers 
impactteendrivers.org 
Teen driver information, resources, and tools

Just Drive 
justdrive.com 
Public education forum for dangers of driving while 
distracted
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PLEASE TAKE A FEW MINUTES TO 
COMPLETE THE SURVEYS BELOW.

Pre-Event Survey

Post-Event Survey


