
DEXM (12-15) STATE OF NEW JERSEY

2015
Insurer NAIC Code Number

FEDERAL EMPLOYER I.D. NUMBER

Insurer NAIC Group Code Number______________
COMPANY NAME

MAILING ADDRESS

IMPORTANT: THE FOLLOWING INSTRUCTIONS
MUST BE ADHERED TO: CITY STATE ZIP CODE

The Original Return must be filed with the Director, Division of Taxation
on or before March 1 annually and shall be
accompanied with a CHECK PAYABLE TO - " NJ DIVISION OF TAXATION -- INSURANCE TAX"
PLEASE REFER TO THE INSTRUCTIONS CONCERNING ELECTRONIC FUNDS TRANSFER (EFT) PAYMENTS

Mail to: Division of Taxation
PO Box 247 (200 Woolverton St. Bldg 20)

ALSO Trenton,  NJ  08646-0247
A duplicate return must be filed with the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance at the same time.

Mail to: Department of Banking and Insurance
PO Box 325 (20 West State Street)
Trenton,  NJ  08625-0325

Commissioner of Banking and Insurance, State of New Jersey :
Director, Division of Taxation, State of New Jersey :

The 

incorporated or organized under the laws of New Jersey and with offices located at

MAILING ADDRESS OF OFFICE PREPARING RETURN

hereby submit the following statement for the calendar year ending December 31, 20 , as required by, and in accordance

with the New Jersey Revised Statutes Title 54 chapters 16, 17, 18 and 18A.

The actual address of the New Jersey Principal Office:
STREET, CITY, ZIP CODE

 , which is located in
NAME OF MUNICIPALITY* AND COUNTY

*Please be sure to indicate the actual municipality and not the New Jersey mailing address.

Date of Incorporation or organized

Date first licensed in New Jersey

STATE OF

COUNTY OF } ss.

On this day of A.D. 20  before me

personally appeared
(INSERT SECRETARY OR U.S. MANAGER)

 Insurance Company of

who being duly sworn according to law, on his oath did depose and say that the foregoing report is true and correct.

Subscribed and sworn to before me the
day and year aforesaid.

 (INSERT SECRETARY OR U.S. MANAGER)

IMPORTANT:

  NUMBER

  (NAME & TITLE OF PARTY TO CONTACT REGARDING THIS RETURN) (PHONE NUMBER) (EMAIL ADDRESS)

  (SIGNATURE OF INDIVIDUAL PREPARING THIS RETURN) (PREPARER'S IDENTIFICATION NUMBER)

  (NAME OF TAX PREPARER'S EMPLOYER) (EMPLOYER'S IDENTIFICATION NUMBER)

 (OFFICIAL TITLE)

DOMESTIC  COMPANIES

  THIS BLOCK MUST BE COMPLETED 
FEDERAL EMPLOYER IDENTIFICATION

Type or print the requested information

ANNUAL REPORT

          Life Insurance Companies
Statement of Premium Taxes and Other Obligations

WHEN COMPLETING THIS RETURN, PLEASE BE SURE TO FOLLOW THE GENERAL FILING INSTRUCTIONS ON PAGE 4.
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1 . Life Insurance Premium

2 . Individual Accident and Health

3 . Group Accident and Health

4 . All Other explain

5 . Total premiums per Schedule T (reconcile if different) lines 1 to 4

6 . Catchall attach computation

7 . Total Premiums (lines 5 and 6)

8 . Dividends paid in cash: excluding $ ____________  dividends on Qualified Pension Plans

9 Dividends used for renewal: excluding $ _________ dividends on Qualified Pension Plans

10 . Dividends left on deposit: excluding $ ___________ dividends on Qualified Pension Plans

11 Life premiums on qualifies pension plans (Attach documentation)

12 . All Other explain

13 .

14 . Taxable Premiums (line 7 less line 13)

TAX COMPUTATION
Type TAXABLE PREMIUMS Rate Tax

(See Note Below)

15 . Life  $ 2.1%

16 . Individual A & H  $ 2.1%

17 . Group A & H  $ 1.05%

18 . Total Tax (Lines 15 thru 17)  $ xxxxxx
  CALCULATION OF TOTAL AMOUNT DUE xxxxxxxxxxx

19 . Other Credits *  -- Attach Supporting Documentation

20 . Guaranty Fund Assessment Credit (from Schedule C, Line 8 on Page 4)

21 Retaliatory Tax Credit (attach completed Retaliatory Tax Credit form)

22 . Urban Transit Hub Tax Credit  (Attach completed UTHTC-IPT Form)

23 .

24 .

25 .

26 .

27 .

28 .

29 .

30 .

31 .

A copy of New Jersey State page, and, Schedule T as filed with the NAIC must be attached.
* Requires proof of payment    i.e. copies of cancelled checks

PAYMENT OF THE AMOUNT INDICATED AT LINE 28 MUST BE SUBMITTED TO THE DIVISION OF
TAXATION AT THE ADDRESS INDICATED ON THE FIRST PAGE OF THIS RETURN.

STATE OF

Balance of Tax Liability Due (Line 18 less line 23)

Amount to be refunded (If Line 29 plus Line 30 is less than zero).

Total Amount Due State of New Jersey (Line 26 plus line 27)

NOTE: If taxable premiums are determined as provided in N.J.S.A. 54:18A-6 (12 1/2% limitation), then Schedule B,
Calculation of Taxable Premiums as provided in N.J.S.A. 54:18-A-6 must be completed and include a separate schedule listing
each affiliate and its applicable premiums, used in completing column A of Section 1.

Balance Due (Line 24 less line 25)

Prepayment of Tax liability due March 1st-- (50% of line 18)

Amount of line 29 to be applied to Prepayment of Tax Liability due June 1st 

Total deductions (lines 8 to 12) attach a copy of New Jersey State page of Annual Statement as 
filed with the New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance

Credit for Prepayment of Premium Tax paid March 1 and June 1 of prior calendar year

If line 26 plus line 27 is less than zero enter the amount of the overpayment

DEXM (12-15)

Total Tax Credits (Sum of Lines 19 through 22)

SCHEDULE A
DOMESTIC LIFE INSURANCE COMPANIES

MUST BE COMPLETED BY ALL TAXPAYERS

  NEW JERSEY BASIS

PREMIUM TAX
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SCHEDULE B 
LIFE INSURANCE COMPANIES 

CALCULATION OF TAXABLE PREMIUMS AS PROVIDED IN N.J.S.A.  54:18A-6 
 
 
 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 
 This schedule is to be completed only by those companies electing to calculate taxable premiums as provided in 
 N.J.S.A.  54:18A-6 (12 ½% Limitation). 
 

 If the company was licensed subsequent to 6/30/84,  complete both Section I and Section II. 
 
 If the company was licensed prior to 7/1/84, complete only Section II. 
 

Worldwide Premiums should be calculated in Section I and II in accordance with the provisions for calculating 
New Jersey Taxable Premiums as indicated at Schedule A, Line 14. 
 
When completing Section 1, attach a separate schedule listing each affiliate and applicable premiums used 
in completing column A of Section 1. 
 

 Schedule A, Lines 1 to 14, must be completed by ALL TAXPAYERS. 
 
 
 
 

SECTION 1 – COMPLETE ONLY IF LICENSED SUBSEQUENT TO 6/30/84 
 

WORLDWIDE PREMIUM DATA FOR COMPANY COMPLETING THIS RETURN 
AND ALL OF ITS AFFILIATES AS DEFINED IN N.J.S.A.  17:27A-1 et seq. 

 

 
WORLDWIDE PREMIUM DATA 

( A ) 
WORLDWIDE 
PREMIUMS 

( B ) 
12 ½% OF AMOUNT 

IN COLUMN (A) 

( C ) 
NEW JERSEY 

PREMIUMS 

1. Life Insurance Premiums of Company           
and all of its Affiliates    

2. Individual Accident & Health Insurance 
Premiums of Company and all of its Affiliates    

3. Group Accident & Health Insurance Premiums 
of Company and all of its Affiliates 

   

    4.   TOTAL    

 
 
 
 
 
SECTION II –  MUST BE COMPLETED BY ALL COMPANIES ELECTING TO CALCULATE TAXABLE PREMIUMS 
  AS PROVIDED IN N.J.S.A. 54:18A-6. 
 

WORLDWIDE PREMIUM DATA FOR COMPANY COMPLETING THIS RETURN 
 

 
WORLDWIDE PREMIUM DATA 

( A ) 
WORLDWIDE 
PREMIUMS 

( B ) 
12 ½% OF AMOUNT 

IN COLUMN (A) 

    1.    Life Insurance premiums   

    2.    Individual Accident & Health Insurance Premiums   

    3.    Group Accident & Health Insurance Premiums   

    4.    TOTAL   

 

NOTE:  IN ORDER TO DETERMINE WHICH FIGURES SHOULD BE APPLIED AS TAXABLE PREMIUMS AT 
LINE(S) 15,16 AND 17 OF SCHEDULE A, PLEASE REFER TO THE INSTRUCTIONS ON PAGE 4 FOR 
THE DETERMINATION OF TAXABLE PREMIUMS AS PROVIDED IN N.J.S.A.  54:18A-6. 
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SCHEDULE C----CALCULATION OF GUARANTY FUND ASSESSMENT CREDIT

Eligibility-Provided for by the New Jersey Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association Act (N.J.S.A. 17B:32A-18),
a member Life and Health insurer may offset against its premium tax liability, attributable to premiums written in that 
year, any assessments for which a certificate of contribution has been issued, to the extent of 10% of the amount of
those assessments for each of the five calendar years following the second year after the year in which those
assessment were paid, except that no member insurer may offset its premium tax liability by more than 20% of its
tax liability in any one year.  Be sure to include proof of payment for all assessments listed below.

MAXIMUM

YEAR AMOUNT ALLOWABLE CREDIT

ASSESSMENT OF 10% OF

PAID 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ASSESSMENT ASSESSMENT

2008 XX XX 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015  1.
2009 XX XX 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016  2.
2010 XX XX 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017  3.
2011 XX XX 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018  4.
2012 XX XX 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019  5.

  Maximum Credit Available for this Return (add lines 1 through 5 above)  6.
  Enter 20% of the tax liability reported on Schedule A, Line 18  7.
  Enter the lesser of line 6 or 7 here and on Schedule A, Line 21  8.

YEARS IN WHICH A CREDIT FOR AN

ASSESSMENT CAN BE CLAIMED

(CREDIT IS 10% OF ASSESSMENT)

DOMESTIC COMPANIES GENERAL FILING INSTRUCTIONS 

Please note, listed below you will find instructions which highlight specific areas of concern when completing the tax return: 

1. NAIC code—At the top left side of the first page of the return is a space to provide the insurer’s five digit NAIC (National
Association of Insurance Commissioners) code. This space must be completed by all taxpayers.

2. Email address has replaced the Contact Persons Fax number on the Front Page of the return.
3. Schedule A—Please note that Schedule A, including lines 1 to 14, must be completed by all taxpayers, even if the taxpayer

is calculating the tax based on the 12.5% limitation indicated in Schedule B.
4. See instructions below regarding Line # changes for the Retaliatory Tax Credit and the Urban Transit Hub Tax Credit.
5. All credits requested on Schedule A, require supporting documentation as proof of payment (i.e. copy of the initial check in the

case of the New Jersey Firemen’s Relief Credit, or the front & back of the cancelled check).  These documents MUST be
submitted with the return or the credit will be denied.

6. Penalty and Interest—Any taxpayer which fails to file its return when due or fails to pay any tax when due shall be subject to
penalties and interest as provided for in the State Tax Uniform Procedure Law N.J.S.A. 54:48-1 et seq. and N.J.S.A. 18:2-2.1 et
seq.

7. Overpayment – Please note, any refundable credit overpayment included in Line 28 must first be applied to the prepayment
due June 1st before any refund will be issued.

8. Affiliate Schedule-A taxpayer determining its taxable premiums as provided in N.J.S.A. 54:18A-6, when completing Schedule
B Section 1, must include a separate schedule listing each affiliate and its applicable premiums, used in completing column A of
Section 1.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE DETERMINATION OF TAXABLE 
PREMIUMS AS PROVIDED IN N.J.S.A. 54:18A-6 

(SCHEDULE B) 

If the company was licensed subsequent to 6/30/84 and the amount indicated at Section I, Line 4, Column C is not greater 
than the amount indicated at Section I, Line 4, Column B, then the company does not qualify to use this limitation. Taxable Premiums 
are then those included at Line 14 of Schedule A. 

If the company was licensed subsequent to 6/30/84 and the amount indicated at Section I, Line 4, Column C is greater than 
the amount indicated at Section I, Line 4, Column B, then taxable premiums are the amounts indicated at Section II, Column B. These 
amounts should be entered at the applicable Line(s) (15, 16, and 17) of Schedule A.  In addition, a detailed schedule of Worldwide 
and New Jersey Premiums of the Company and each affiliate must be submitted with this schedule. 

If the company was licensed prior to 7/1/84 and if the amount indicated at Section II, Line 4, Column B is less than taxable 
premiums indicated at Line 14 of Schedule A, then enter amounts from Column B at the applicable Line(s) (15, 16, 17) of Schedule A. 
If the amount indicated at Section II, Line 4, Column B is not less than taxable premiums indicated at Line 14 of Schedule A, then 
taxable premiums are those included at Line 14 of Schedule A. 

CHANGES TO THE TAX FORM 

The Retaliatory Tax Credit was inserted on Line 21.  To accommodate this change, the Urban Transit Hub Tax Credit (UTHTC) was 
moved to Line 22.   

URBAN TRANSIT HUB TAX CREDIT (UTHTC) 

To claim this credit, the taxpayer must attach a copy of the tax credit/tax credit transfer certificate issued by the New Jersey Economic 
Development Authority and a completed Form UTHTC-IPT. Failure to attach the tax credit/tax credit transfer certificate or Form 
UTHTC-IPT will result in the denial of the tax credit claimed on Line 22.   
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ELECTRONIC FUNDS TRANSFERS 

The Division of Taxation has established procedures to allow the remittance of tax payments through electronic funds 
transfer (EFT). A taxpayer’s with a prior year’s tax liability of $10,000 or more in any one tax, are required to remit all tax payments 
using EFT. 

For EFT program questions, visit the Division of Revenue website at https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/revenue/eft1.shtml, 
call the EFT Unit at (609) 292-9292 Opt #6, Fax (609) 984-6681 or write to the N.J. Division of Revenue, EFT Section, P.O. Box 191, 
Trenton, N.J. 08646-0191. 

If remitting payment by EFT, the Total Amount Due indicated at Schedule A line 28 must be transmitted in one transaction 
with an applicable year of 2015. The Prepayment of Tax liability included in this amount, along with the Prepayment of Tax liability 
due June 1st, will be credited automatically against the succeeding years’ tax liability, when that years’ Insurance Premium Tax 
Return is filed and processed.  A separate transaction for the amount of the Prepayment of Tax at line 27 is not required. 

HELPFUL HINT FOR EFT REMITTANCE: Return Period Ending MUST read 151231 ((YY) Year, (MM) Month, 
(DD) Day) for ALL payments associated with the 2015 tax return. This includes any PREPAYMENT of tax liabilities due with the 
return on March 1st and on June 1st.  The same procedure should be followed for subsequent tax years, after adjusting the return 
period ending accordingly. 

IMPORTANT NOTE 

PAYMENT for the amount indicated at Schedule A Line 28 of the Insurance Premium Tax Return MUST 
BE SUBMITTED TO THE DIVISION OF TAXATION at the address indicated on the front page of this return. DO NOT 
send payment of this amount to the Department of Banking and Insurance. 

In the event the taxpayer is simultaneously paying obligations to the Department of Banking and Insurance, (i.e. 
Annual Statement Filing Fee, Renewal of Certificate of Authority Fee, Maintenance Fee, Insurance Development Fund etc.) these 
amounts must be submitted under separate cover to the Department of Banking and Insurance at the address indicated on the notice 
received for the particular obligation. 

**ALL ATTACHMENTS MUST BE INCLUDED WITH BOTH THE ORIGINAL RETURN FILED WITH THE DIVISION 
OF TAXATION AND THE DUPLICATE ORIGINAL RETURN FILED SIMULTANEOUSLY WITH THE DEPARTMENT 
OF BANKING AND INSURANCE. 

https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/revenue/eft1.shtml
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