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Filing Online 

Business Online Filing System 

Instructions 
New Jersey Recycling Tax 

(Form RC-100 Quarterly Return) 
 

in the Payment Information section of the worksheet before
You can file Form RC-100 online at the Division of Taxation’s 
Web site (www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/).  Choose “File, 
Pay Online” on the navigation bar, scroll down to “Recycling 
Tax,” select  “Form RC-100,” and follow the filing instructions. 

 

Who Must File 
Every owner or operator of a solid waste facility in New Jersey is 
subject to this tax.  The tax is imposed on every ton of solid 
waste accepted for disposal or transfer at the solid waste facility. 

 
The Recycling Tax is also imposed on every ton of solid waste 
collected by a solid waste collector that transports solid waste 
for transshipment or direct transportation to an out-of-state 
disposal site.  Waste haulers who do not haul waste out of 
New Jersey or to a railroad transfer station are not required to 
file and remit this tax. 

 
The Recycling Tax is imposed at the rate of $3.00 per ton.  But 
for the listed exemptions, all transactions are subject to the Re- 
cycling Tax regardless of whether they relate to a contract that 
predates the effective date of the imposition. 

 

When to File 
Taxpayers subject to the tax must file a quarterly Recycling 
Tax Return, Form RC-100, and remit any tax due, on or 
before the 20th day of month following the end of the 
calendar quarter. 
 

Quarter Ending Due Date 
Jan.-Feb.-Mar. March 31 April 20 
Apr.-May-June June 30 July 20 
July-Aug.-Sept. September 30 October 20 
Oct.-Nov.-Dec. December 31 January 20 

 

If a due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the 
return is due the next business day. Returns transmitted by 
11:59 p.m. on the due date will be deemed timely. 

 

How to Pay 
Payments made by 11:59 p.m. on the due date will be 
deemed timely even if the settlement date (date payment is 
debited from the account) is after the filing deadline provided 
the payment is made by e-check or EFT debit through the 
Business Online Filing System, or by credit card. 

 
Electronic Check (e-check) 
You will be given an opportunity 
during your session to pay your tax 
liability by e-check. If you choose 
to pay by e-check, be sure to 
enter the 9-digit routing number 
and the account number (up to 
17 characters – numbers only) 

you sign into your session. 
 
If you choose not to pay the tax due when you file your return, 
you can make an e-check payment by itself in a separate 
session later.  However, your payment must be made by the 
due date to avoid penalty and interest charges. 
 
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) 
Taxpayers with a prior year liability of $10,000 or more in any tax 
are required to make their payments for all taxes by EFT. Other 
taxpayers may voluntarily submit payments by EFT with the 
approval of the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.  
You must enroll with the Division of Revenue and Enterprise 
Services to pay by either EFT debit or credit.  The enrollment 
process may take several weeks.  For more information on 
making payments by EFT debit or credit, call:  609-984-9830, 
write to New Jersey Division of Revenue and Enterprise 
Services, EFT Unit, PO Box 191, Trenton, NJ 08646-0191, or 
visit the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services Web site 
at: www.state.nj.us/treasury/revenue/.  Taxpayers who are 
required to remit payments by EFT can satisfy the EFT 
requirement by making e-check or credit card payments. 
 
If you are an EFT payer, you can initiate payments through the 
Business Online Filing System when filing your return.  If you 
choose not to pay the tax due at the same time you file your 
return, you can make an EFT payment by itself in a separate 
session. Your payment must be made by the due date to avoid 
penalty and interest charges. 
 
Credit Card 
To pay your tax liability by credit card, call 1-888-673-7694 
or go to the Division of Taxation’s Web site at 
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ after you have completed 
your telephone filing and received a Confirmation Number.  
Click on “Electronic Services” in the left-hand column, and 
then choose “Business Taxes and Fees” and “Recycling Tax”.  
Click on the link “File Online.”  Once you have entered your 
New Jersey Taxpayer Identification Number and PIN (or 
business name), choose “All Other Payments - Deficiencies” 
from the list, enter the month and year for which you are 
making a payment, and continue.  A usage fee will be added 
to the total tax payment when you pay by credit card. 

 

Penalties, Interest, and Fees 
Failure to file a return by the due date and/or failure to remit 
any taxes due by the due date will result in penalty and 
interest charges. Business owners, partners, corporate 
officers, and some employees of such businesses may be 
held personally liable for failure to file returns and remit any 
taxes due on a timely basis. 
 
Late Filing Penalties 
5% per month (or fraction thereof) of the balance of tax liabil- 
ity due at original return due date not to exceed 25% of such 
tax liability.  A penalty of $100 per month (or fraction thereof) 
for each month the return is late will also be imposed. 
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Late Payment Penalty 
5% of the balance of the taxes due and paid late. 

Interest 
The annual interest rate is 3% above the average predominant 
prime rate.  Interest is imposed each month (or fraction 
thereof) on the unpaid balance of the tax from the original due 
date to the date of payment.  At the end of each calendar year 
any tax, penalties, and interest remaining due will become part 
of the balance on which interest is charged. 

 
NOTE:  The average predominant prime rate is the rate as 
determined by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve 
System, quoted by commercial banks to large businesses on 
December 1st of the calendar year immediately preceding the 
calendar year in which the payment was due or as deter- 
mined by the Director in accordance with N.J.S.A. 54:48-2. 

 
Collection Fees 
In addition to the above penalties and interest, if your tax bill 
is sent to a collection agency, a referral cost recovery fee of 
10% of the tax due will be added to your liability. If a 
certificate of debt is issued for your outstanding liability, a fee 
for the cost of collection may also be imposed. 

 

General Information 

The Recycling Tax is applicable to the acceptance of solid 
waste beginning on April 1, 2008. The tax will be reported, paid 
and remitted electronically on a quarterly basis on or before the 
20th day of the month following the end of each quarter. 

 
The law allows for the pass-through of the tax obligation from 
subject taxpayers to their customers in amounts equivalent to 
the tax. This pass-through may occur from solid waste facilities 
down to haulers at the time of the solid waste transfer and then 
again from haulers to solid waste generator customers.  
Likewise, where solid waste collectors are direct taxpayers, they 
may choose to pass-through an amount equal to the tax 
obligation to solid waste generator customers.  The pass- 
through may be represented on invoices or statements as a 
recycling surcharge to reflect the amount of Recycling Tax due 
on the tonnage accepted as a separate line item on every 
customer bill or statement. It should be noted that no solid 
waste generators are exempt from this pass-through surcharge. 

 
The law provides that owners or operators of railroad transfer 
stations or other facilities designed exclusively to transport 
waste on railroads are NOT subject to the Recycling Tax. 

 

Tax Base 
There is levied upon the owner or operator of every solid 
waste facility a recycling tax of $3.00 per ton on all solid 
waste accepted for disposal or transfer at the solid waste 
facility and on a waste hauler transporting solid waste to a 
railroad transfer station or directly out-of-state. 

 
“Solid waste”, for purposes of this tax, is limited to the 
following waste ID types:  Type 10 Municipal; Type 13 Bulky; 
Type 13C Construction and Demolition; Type 23 Vegetative; 
Type 25 Animal and Food Processing; and Type 27 Dry 
Industrial, which includes Type 27A Asbestos-containing 
waste. 

 

Exemptions 
The Recycling Tax shall NOT be imposed on the acceptance 
and disposal of: 

•  ash residue resulting from the incineration of solid waste 
at a resource recovery facility; 

•  solid waste originating from out-of-State sources under a 
contract with a solid waste facility awarded prior to 
December 31, 2007 if the contract does not include a 
change-in- law or similar mechanism by which the 
Recycling Tax imposed may be passed through as a fee or 
surcharge on the rate and charges set forth in the contract; 

•  solid waste originating from in-State sources under a 
contract with a resource recovery facility awarded prior to 
December 31, 2007 if a contract does not include a 
change-in-law or similar mechanism by which the 
Recycling Tax imposed may be passed through as a fee 
or surcharge on the rate and charges set forth in the 
contract; 

•  solid waste transported from an in-state transfer station 
from which the Recycling Tax has been levied on the 
owner or operator thereof to an in-State solid waste facility 
for final disposal; 

•  type 13C Construction and Demolition waste accepted at a 
material recovery facility, provided that the facility meets or 
exceeds the recycling materials extraction rate as 
established by the Department of Environmental Protection. 
The extraction rate is currently set at 50%; 

•  residue resulting from the operations of a scrap process- 
ing facility as defined in section 2 of P.L.1987, c.102; and 

•  residue generated as a result of the use of post-consumer 
waste material in the manufacture of a recycled product 
which constitutes at least 75% of total annual sales dollar 
volume of the products manufactured by a manufacturer in 
this State. 

 

Instructions for Online Filing 
Identification 
New Jersey Taxpayer Identification Number.   
Enter your 12-digit New Jersey Taxpayer Identification Number. 
(NOTE:  If you do not enter your ID number correctly, you will not 
be able to file.). 
 
PIN/Taxpayer Name. Enter your 4-digit PIN (Personal 
Identification Number) or your registered taxpayer name. 
(NOTE:  If you do not enter your PIN or your taxpayer name 
correctly, you will not be able to file.). 
 
If you are registered to withhold New Jersey gross income tax 
from wages or other payments, your recycling tax PIN is the 
same PIN that you use to file employer withholding tax returns 
(Forms NJ-927/NJ-500 or Form NJ-927-W) online or by phone. 
The employer PIN is printed in the upper right-hand corner of 
Form REG-C contained in your quarterly NJ-927 forms packet. 
 
If your business does not file employer withholding tax returns, 
your recycling tax PIN is the same PIN you use to file sales and 
use tax returns (Forms ST-50/51) online. 
 
If you have registered to collect the recycling tax and you 
cannot access the Business Online Filing System using your 
assigned PIN, call the Division of Taxation’s Customer Ser- 
vice Center at 609-292-6400 during normal business hours 
for assistance. 
 
Contact Information. Enter the name and phone number of 
a contact person for the taxpayer. 
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Return Period 
Quarter: Enter the number that reflects the calendar quarter 
covered by the return: 

1 – January, February, March 
2 – April, May, June 
3 – July, August, September 
4 – October, November, December 

Year: Enter the year in which the quarter you are reporting fell. 
Example: If you are filing a return for the second quarter of 
2008, enter “2” for the quarter and “2008” for the year. 

 

Return Information 
Line 1 – Tax Base - Tons.  Enter the number of tons of solid 
waste, rounded to the nearest whole ton, accepted for 
transfer or disposal, or, if a hauler, transported to a railroad 
transfer station or directly out-of-State, during the quarter. 

 
Line 2 – Tax Rate.  $3.00 per ton. 

 
Line 3 – Recycling Tax Due.  Multiply line 1 by line 2 and 
enter the result on this line. 

 
Line 4 – Payments or Credits.  Enter any payments made 
previous to filing the quarterly return and/or credits currently 
available on this line. 

 
Line 5 – Quarterly Amount Due.  Line 3 minus line 4. 

 
Line 6 – Penalty and Interest.  Compute any penalty and 
interest charges incurred for late payment and/or late filing for 
the quarter and enter the amount on Line 6. If you are unable 
to determine this amount, enter “0.” You will be billed for any 
penalty or interest due. 

 
Line 7 – Total Amount Due.  The system will calculate the 
total amount due for the quarter and provide the amount to 
you. If you have a balance due, you must pay by e-check, 
credit card, or EFT.  See “How to Pay” on page 1.  You are not 
required to submit your payment on the same date as your 
telephone call; however, your payment must be made by the 
due date to avoid penalty and interest charges. 

 

Payment Information 
If you wish to pay by e-check, enter on the worksheet the 
9-digit bank routing number, the account number (omit 
hyphens, spaces, symbols, and letters), the type of account, 
and the date you want the payment to be debited from your 
account.  The earliest date you may select is the next 
business day.  However, payment transactions initiated by 
11:59 p.m. on the due date will be deemed timely even if the 
settlement date, (date payment is debited from the account), 
is after the filing deadline. 

 
You can also pay by credit card or EFT (debit or credit) after 
you have completed your online filing and received a 
Confirmation Number.  See “How to Pay” on page 1. 

Confirmation Number.  After you file your return, the system 
assigns you a Confirmation Number.  This number serves as 
proof that your return was successfully filed.  Enter the 
number and the date you filed your return in the boxes on 
the worksheet along with the name of the person who “filed” 
the return. Your return is not filed until you receive a 
Confirmation Number. 
 
Your Confirmation Number is your only proof that your return 
was successfully filed. Enter it on your worksheet and keep 
the worksheet for your business files for four years in case of 
audit. Do not mail it to the Division of Taxation. 
 
If you file your quarterly return in one session, but make your 
payment by e-check or EFT debit in a separate session of the 
Online Filing System, you will receive a separate 
Confirmation Number for the payment transaction. 

 
Amended Returns 
If you discover an error after you file your return, file an 
amended return online.  If the correction results in an 
overpayment of tax for the quarter, file a Claim for Refund 
(Form A-3730).  To obtain Form A-3730, visit the Division of 
Taxation web site or call the Forms Request System. 
See “Where to Get Information” below. 

 
Where to Get Information 
By Phone 
Call the Division of Taxation’s Customer Service Center at 
609-943-5000.  Representatives are available from 8:30 a.m. 
to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday (except holidays). 
 
Online 
•  Division of Taxation web site: 

www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ 

•  E-mail:  nj.taxation@treas.state.nj.us 
 
Order Forms and Publications 
To obtain copies of the RC-100 Worksheet and Instructions, 
as well as other tax forms and publications: 
•  Call the Forms Request System from a touch-tone phone 

at 1-800-323-4400 (within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD) or 
609-826-4400 (anywhere). 

•  Call NJ TaxFax at 609-826-4500 from your fax machine’s 
phone. 

•  Visit the Division of Taxation’s web site: 
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ 

 
In Person 
Visit a New Jersey Division of Taxation Regional Office.  For 
the address of the office nearest you, call the Automated Tax 
Information System from a touch-tone phone at: 
1-800-323-4400 (within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD) 
or 609-826-4400 (anywhere) or visit our web site. 


