TR-1040-X

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

AMENDED

2006 HOMESTEAD REBATE APPLICATION
Pesse prin o Type (FOR TENANTS ONLY)

W You must enter your social security number below W

Your Social Security Number

Last Name, First Name and Initial (Joint filers enter first name and initial of each - Enter spouse last name ONLY if different)

Spouse’s Social Security Number

Home Address (Number and Street, including apartment number or rural route)

County/Municipality Code City, Town, Post Office

State

Zip Code

Reason for filing Form TR-1040-X (Check only one box)

To amend original tenant homestead rebate application (Form TR-1040). Complete Lines 1-16. (Do not use this form to file a 2006 tenant

homestead rebate application for the first time.)

DTO withdraw tenant homestead rebate application (Form TR-1040) that was filed in error. Provide explanation at Line 17.

2 1. EISingIe NJ RESIDENCY STATUS
= . I
i 2 Married, filing joint return 6. If you were a New Jersey resident for From — = -
o 3 Married, filing separate return ONLY part of the taxable year, give the on & ear
z 4. Head of household period of New Jersey residency: To
2 5 Qualifying widow(er) Month Day Year
7. On October 1, 2006, | rented and occupied an apartment or other rental dwelling in New Jersey as my principal residence.
€= Yes See instructions.
8. On December 31, 2006, | (and/or my spouse) was a. D €= Age 65 or older b. EI(—BIind or disabled c. EI €= Not 65 or blind or disabled
Check only one box. See instructions.
9. Enter the GROSS INCOME you reported on Line 28, Form NJ-1040
orsee iNStruCtioNsS . . . ... . 9
10. If your filing status is MARRIED, FILING SEPARATE RETURN and you and your
spouse MAINTAIN THE SAME PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE, enter the gross income
reported on your spouse’s return (Line 28, Form NJ-1040) and check this box 10
11. TOTAL GROSS INCOME (Add Line 9 and Line 10) ......... ... ..o, 11
STOP - IF LINE 11 IS MORE THAN $100,000, YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR A TENANT REBATE.
12. Enter the address of the rental property in New Jersey that was your principal residence on October 1, 2006.
Street Address (including apartment number) Municipality
13. Enter the total rent you (and your spouse) paid during 2006 for the rental
property indicated at Line 12. . .. ... ... 13
14. Enter the number of days during 2006 that you (and your spouse) occupied the rental
property indicated at Line 12. (If you lived there for all of 2006, enter 365) ............ ... . ... ... ..... 14 days
15. Did anyone, other than your spouse, occupy and share rent with you for the rental property indicated at Line 127
D(—Yes (If yes, you must complete Lines 15 a, b, and c) D(— No
15a. Enter the total number of tenants (including yourself) who shared the rent during the period
indicated at Line 14. (For this purpose, husband and wife are considered one tenant). . ................. 15a tenants
15b. Enter the name(s) and social security number(s) of all other tenants (other than your spouse) who shared the rent.
Name SS# / /
Name SS# / /
Name SS# / /
15c. Enter the total rent paid by all tenants during the period indicated at Line 14. ........ 15¢
Under the penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this rebate application, including accompanying documents, and to the
best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete and that | occupied the rental property for which | am applying for
the tenant homestead rebate as my principal residence on October 1, 2006. If prepared by a person other than taxpayer, this decla-
ration is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.
L Mail application to:
(1 ' Your Signature Date PP
i ' NJ Division of Taxation
L Spouse’s Signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign) Date PO Box 253
(ZD Paid Preparer’s Signature Federal Identification Number Trenton. NJ 08695-0253
7 (I T T T T TT1

Firm’s Name Federal Employer Identification Number
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16. Explanation of changes to information originally reported. Include the line number of each item you are changing.

17. Reason for withdrawing tenant homestead rebate application.
| am withdrawing my 2006 tenant homestead rebate application because:

D On October 1, 2006, my principal residence was not an apartment or other rental property that | rented and occupied.
D The principal residence that | rented and occupied on October 1, 2006, did not contain its own kitchen and bathroom facilities.
D The principal residence that | rented and occupied on October 1, 2006, was not subject to local property taxes.

Other. Explain.

By completing this section you certify to the New Jersey Division of Taxation that you erroneously applied for a 2006 tenant home-
stead rebate and wish to withdraw your application, and that you understand that you are not eligible for a 2006 tenant homestead

rebate. If you filed a joint application, both spouses must sign Form TR-1040-X.

WHEN TO USE FORM TR-1040-X

File this form:
e If you were a tenant on October 1, 2006, and you need to amend any of the information reported on your
original 2006 tenant homestead rebate application (TR-1040).
or
® To withdraw a 2006 tenant homestead rebate application (TR-1040) that you filed in error.

It is not necessary to file Form TR-1040-X if you are filing an amended gross income tax return (Form NJ-1040X) and
the changes you are making to your original return affect your tenant homestead rebate. The Division of Taxation will
make any necessary changes to your TR-1040 and adjust the amount of your rebate.

You cannot file this form to:
@ File an original 2006 tenant homestead rebate application.

or
® Amend a 2006 homeowner rebate application.

HOW TO USE FORM TR-1040-X
The information on this form should be the correct information on which your tenant homestead rebate claim is being
based. If you are amending a tenant homestead rebate application, explain the changes to the information on your
original Form TR-1040 at Line 16, Form TR-1040-X. If you are withdrawing a tenant homestead rebate application

that you filed in error, indicate the reason at Line 17, Form TR-1040-X.



Use of Form TR-1040-X

You must use Form TR-1040-X to change any of the in-
formation reported on your original tenant homestead re-
bate application (Form TR-1040 or application that was
filed electronically using NJ WebFile or approved ven-
dor software), or to provide information that was missing
from the original application. Fill out Form TR-1040-X
completely, even if certain items are not being amended.

If you are not eligible for a 2006 tenant homestead rebate
(see “Qualifications” below), but you filed a tenant re-
bate application in error, you can use Form TR-1040-X
to withdraw your application. Complete only Line 17 to
indicate the reason for withdrawing the application.

You cannot use Form TR-1040-X to:
¢ File an original 2006 tenant homestead rebate
application.

¢ Amend a 2006 homeowner rebate application.

NortEe: It is not necessary to file Form TR-1040-X
if you are filing an amended gross income
tax return (NJ-1040X) and the changes you
are making to your original return affect
your tenant homestead rebate. The Divi-
sion of Taxation will make any necessary
changes to your TR-1040 and adjust the
amount of your rebate.

Attachments to Form TR-1040-X

You must enclose proof of age or disability if you (or
your spouse) were 65 years of age or older or blind or
disabled on the last day of the 2006 tax year, but you did
not indicate that fact on your original application. See
page 3 for acceptable forms of proof.

Signatures

You must sign and date your amended tenant homestead
rebate application (Form TR-1040-X) in blue or black
ink. Both husband and wife must sign a joint amended
application. An unsigned application cannot be
processed.
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Qualifications

To be eligible for a New Jersey homestead rebate as
a tenant:

¢ You must have rented and occupied a home in New
Jersey that was your principal residence on Octo-
ber 1, 2006; and

¢ Your gross income for the entire year must have been
$100,000 or less; and

¢ Your principal residence must be subject to local
property taxes, and property taxes must have been
paid on that residence through rent; and

¢ Your dwelling unit must contain its own separate
kitchen and bath facilities; and

¢ You must file a timely tenant homestead rebate appli-
cation:

— If you are filing Form NJ-1040, you must file
Form TR-1040 and Form NJ-1040 by
April 16, 2007.

— If you use NJ WebFile or approved vendor
software, you must complete the tenant rebate
application portion of the return and file by
April 16, 2007.

— If you requested an extension of time to file
your income tax return, you must file your
return and tenant rebate application
by the extended due date.

— If you are filing only Form TR-1040, see
“Rebate Only Filers” below.

Rebate Only Filers. A tenant who is not required to file
a New Jersey income tax return because of income below
the minimum filing threshold of $20,000 ($10,000 if fil-
ing status is single or married, filing separate return), and
who meets the qualifications for a tenant homestead re-
bate, may file only Form TR-1040 to claim a rebate. It
is not necessary to file the NJ-1040 along with the ten-
ant rebate application. These residents have until Octo-
ber 31, 2007, to file Form TR-1040.

Part-Year Residents. A part-year resident who rented a
principal residence on October 1, 2006, and meets all the
eligibility requirements qualifies for a tenant rebate. Part-
year residents must enter their full-year income from all
sources on Line 9 of Form TR-1040.



Married, Filing Separate Return. If your

filing status is married, filing separate return

and you maintain the same principal residence as

your spouse, you must combine your gross in-
come with your spouse’s gross income when applying for
the rebate. Neither you nor your spouse can receive more
than one-half of the rebate that you would receive if you
filed a joint return. Both you and your spouse must file
Form TR-1040 to be eligible to receive up to one-half of
the rebate.

Principal Residence. A principal residence means a
homestead, actually and continually occupied as your
permanent residence. No rebate will be granted for a va-
cation home or a “second home.”

Mobile Homes. If you own or rent a mobile home which
is located in a mobile home park, you are considered a
tenant for purposes of the rebate. For more information
on mobile homes, contact the Division’s Customer Ser-
vice Center.

Condominiums and Co-ops. If you rent a condominium
unit or a unit in a cooperative housing complex, you are
considered a fenant for purposes of applying for the re-
bate. If you are a resident shareholder of a cooperative
housing complex or you own a condominium and you pay
property taxes on your unit, you are considered a home-
owner for purposes of applying for the rebate. If you were
a homeowner on October 1, 2006, and you filed a 2006
tenant homestead rebate application in error, you must
file Form TR-1040-X to withdraw your original
application.

Continuing Care Retirement Communities. If you are
a resident of a continuing care retirement community and
your continuing care contract requires you to bear the
proportionate share of property taxes attributable

to your unit, you are considered a homeowner for pur-
poses of applying for the rebate. If you were a home-
owner on October 1, 2006, and you filed a 2006 tenant
homestead rebate application in error, you must file Form
TR-1040-X to withdraw your original application.

Identification Section
Name and Address

Print or type your name (last name first), complete address,
and zip code in the spaces provided. Also include your
spouse’s name if filing jointly.
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Tax-Exempt, Subsidized, and Campus Housing

One of the qualifications for the New Jersey home-
stead rebate is that property taxes be paid on the
applicant’s principal residence, either directly or
through rent. Thus, tenants living in dwellings which
are not subject to local property taxes are not eligible
for the rebate. This includes:

¢ Tenants living in dwellings owned by the State,
County, Municipal, or Federal Government;

¢ Students living in on-campus apartments at State
colleges and universities;

¢ Tenants living in dwellings owned by a religious,
charitable, or other nonprofit organization (includ-
ing on-campus apartments at private, nonprofit col-
leges and universities), if the property is exempt
from property taxes; and

¢ Tenants living in dwellings on which P.L.L.O.T.
(Payments-in-Lieu-of-Tax) payments are made to
the municipality. These payments are not considered
property taxes for purposes of the homestead rebate.

If the dwelling you rent is not subject to local prop-
erty taxes, you do not qualify for a rebate. File Form
TR-1040-X to withdraw your original tenant home-
stead rebate application. If you are not sure whether
the dwelling you rent is subject to local property
taxes, contact your municipal tax assessor for infor-
mation. The Division of Taxation audits returns to
ensure that only qualified applicants receive rebates.

Social Security Number

Enter your social security number(s) in the space pro-
vided. If your filing status is married, filing joint return,
remember to report both spouses’ numbers in the order in
which the names are listed on the return. If you (or your
spouse) do not have a social security number, see the resi-
dent income tax return instruction booklet.

County/Municipality Code

Enter the four-digit code which identifies the county and
municipality of your current residence. See the table in
the Form NJ-1040 instruction booklet for the list of
county/municipality codes.

Reason for Filing Form TR-1040-X

Indicate whether you are amending or withdrawing your
original tenant homestead rebate application. Check only
one box. If you are amending your original application, fill

continued



Reason for Filing Form TR-1040-X - continued

out Form TR-1040-X completely. If you are withdrawing
your application, skip Lines 1-16 and complete Line 17.

Filing Status (Lines 1-5)

Indicate the appropriate filing status. Check only one box.
You cannot change your filing status after the due
date has passed unless you have done so for Federal
income tax purposes. For more information on filing sta-
tus, see the resident income tax return instruction booklet.

NJ Residency Status (Line 6)

If you were a New Jersey resident for only part of the tax-
able year, list the month, day, and year your residency be-
gan and the month, day, and year it ended.

Tenant on October 1, 2006 (Line 7)

If you rented and occupied an apartment or other rental
dwelling in New Jersey as your principal residence on
October 1, 2006, you must check “Yes” to confirm that
you are eligible for the 2006 tenant homestead rebate. If
you did net rent your principal residence on October 1,
2006, you are not eligible for a 2006 homestead rebate as
a tenant. File Form TR-1040-X to withdraw your origi-
nal tenant rebate application. See “Reason for Filing
Form TR-1040-X" on page 2.

Age 65 or Older, Blind, or Disabled
(Line 8)

If you (or your spouse if filing a joint return) were 65
years of age or older or blind or disabled on the last day

of the 2006 tax year, check only one box at Line 8 as
follows:

¢ If you (or your spouse) were 65 or older, check the
box to the left of “Age 65 or older.”

¢ If you (or your spouse) were 65 or older and you (or
your spouse) were also blind or disabled, check the
box to the left of “Age 65 or older.”

¢ If you (and your spouse) were under 65, and you (or
your spouse) were blind or disabled, check the box to
the left of “Blind or disabled.”

¢ If you (and your spouse) do not meet the age or dis-
ability qualifications, check the box to the left of
“Not 65 or blind or disabled.”

Check the “Age 65 or older” box or the “Blind or dis-
abled” box only if you or your spouse meet the
qualifications; they do not apply to your dependents or
domestic partner.

Proof of Age. If you are amending your tenant rebate ap-
plication to indicate that you (or your spouse) are 65

2006 Form TR-1040-X

years of age or older, you must enclose proof of age such
as a copy of a birth certificate, driver’s license, or
church records. If you submitted proof of age with your
original application, you do not need to resubmit this in-
formation with Form TR-1040-X.

Proof of Disability. Disabled means total and permanent
inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity
because of any physical or mental impairment, including
blindness. If you are amending your tenant rebate
application to indicate that you (or your spouse) are blind
or disabled, you must enclose a copy of the doctor’s
certificate or other medical records evidencing legal
blindness or total and permanent disability. If you
submitted proof of disability with your original appli-
cation, you do not need to resubmit this information with
Form TR-1040-X. This information need not be submitted
each year providing there is no change in your condition.

Application Section

Line 9 - Gross Income

Enter on Line 9 the amount of income reported on your
2006 New Jersey income tax return (Line 28, Form
NJ-1040). If you did not complete a New Jersey income
tax return, enter on Line 9 the same income you would
have reported on Line 28, Form NJ-1040, if you had filed
the tax return. Part-year residents must enter their in-
come from all sources for the entire year.

Note: Social Security and Railroad Retirement
benefits are exempt from New Jersey income
tax and should not be reported as income on
Line 9.

Rebate Only Filers. If you were not required to file a re-
turn because your gross income for the entire year did not
exceed the minimum filing threshold, enter “0” on Line 9.
Also enter “0” if you filed a return and the amount of
your gross income on Line 28 did not exceed the mini-
mum filing threshold.

Line 10 - Spouse’s Gross Income

If the filing status on your 2006 New Jersey income tax
return is married, filing separate return, and you and your
spouse maintain the same principal residence, check the
box and enter on Line 10 the amount of income reported
on Line 28 of your spouse’s New Jersey income tax re-
turn, Form NJ-1040. If your spouse did not complete
Form NJ-1040, enter on Line 10 the same income as your
spouse would have reported on Line 28 if a tax return had

been filed. Part-year residents must enter their
continued



Line 10 - Spouse’s Gross Income - continued

spouse’s income from all sources for the entire year.
Enter “0” if your spouse’s gross income did not exceed
the minimum filing threshold.

Line 11 - Total Gross Income
Add Lines 9 and 10 and enter the result on Line 11.

2006 Form TR-1040-X

Note: If the amount on Line 11 is more than
$100,000, you are not eligible for a 2006
tenant homestead rebate. Do not complete
Form TR-1040-X.

Line 12 - Address

Enter on Line 12 the street address (including apartment
number) and municipality of the rental property in New
Jersey that was your principal residence on October 1,
2006. Do not use a PO Box address. Complete this line
even if the physical location of the residence for which
you are applying for the rebate is the same as your mailing
address. If you owned the home that was your principal
residence on October 1, 2006, you are not eligible for a
tenant homestead rebate.

Line 13 - Rent

Enter on Line 13 the total amount of rent you (and your
spouse) paid during the year on the residence indicated at
Line 12. Rent is the amount paid to your landlord for the
right to occupy your residence, not including any security
deposit, or charges for late rent payments. Report only the
actual amount you paid out of pocket. Do not include any
amount paid under the Federal Housing Choice Voucher
(Section 8) Program.

Spouses filing separate returns who maintain the same
principal residence must each enter on their rebate
application the total amount of rent they paid on the rental
property indicated at Line 12. Each spouse is then eligible
to receive one-half the calculated rebate.

If you had more than one New Jersey residence during the
year, enter on Line 13 only the total rent you (and your
spouse) paid on the rental property you occupied on
October 1, 2006.

Note: If you are not sure whether the dwelling you
rent is subject to local property taxes, con-
tact your municipal tax assessor for
information.

Line 14 - Number of Days in the Residence

Enter on Line 14 the number of days during 2006 that you
(and your spouse) occupied the rental property indicated
at Line 12. If you lived there for all of 2006, enter 365.

Line 15 - Multiple Tenants

Check “Yes” at Line 15 only if you lived with someone
(other than your spouse and/or dependent children) and
shared the rent with them for the rental property indicated
at Line 12. If you answer “Yes,” you must complete
Lines 15a through 15c. If you (and your spouse and/or
dependent children) were the sole tenant(s), check “No.”

Lines 15a - 15¢

Do not complete Lines 15a through 15¢ unless you an-
swered “Yes” at Line 15.

Line 15a - Number of Tenants

Enter on Line 15a the number of tenants, including your-
self, who shared the rent during the period indicated at
Line 14. For this purpose you, your spouse, and your de-
pendent children are considered one tenant.

Line 15b - Tenants’ Names and Social

Security Numbers

Enter the name(s) and social security number(s) of all
other tenants who shared the rent (other than your spouse
and/or dependent children). If the spaces provided are not
sufficient, list the required information for each additional
tenant on a separate sheet of paper and enclose it with your
application.

Line 15c¢ - Total Rent

Enter on Line 15c¢ the total amount of rent paid by all ten-
ants (including yourself) for the period indicated at
Line 14.

Line 16 - Explanation of Changes

In the space provided, explain the reason for changes to
any of the information that was reported on your original
tenant homestead rebate application. Include the line num-
ber reference for each item you are amending. If addi-
tional space is needed, attach a statement that includes
your name(s) and social security number(s).

Line 17 - Reason for Withdrawal

If you filed a 2006 tenant homestead rebate application in
error, check the appropriate box to indicate the reason you
are withdrawing your application. If you check the
“Other” box, include an explanation in the space provided.
If additional space is needed, attach a statement that in-
cludes your name(s) and social security number(s).
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