About New Jersey Taxes

Vending Machines & New Jersey Sales Tax

Publication ANJ-16

Introduction

Several factors determine the taxability of sales made through coin-operated vending machines. This
bulletin will clarify the different tax treatments required on a variety of vending transactions. Effective
January 1, 2018, the New Jersey Sales and Use Tax rate decreases from 6.875% to 6.625%. The tax rate
was reduced from 7% to 6.875% in 2017. Additional information about the rate change is available
online. The examples in this publication use the 2018 rate.

Nonfood Items

The gross receipts from all sales of tangible personal property (other than food and drink) such as
laundry detergent, cigarettes, nail clippers, barrettes, and bobby pins sold through coin-operated
vending machines are taxable. Sales of items that are exempt by law, such as clothing and footwear
(e.g., shoe laces and bathing caps), as well as any items sold for 25 cents or less, are not taxable and
should be deducted from gross receipts before calculating tax.

Postage stamps purchased for mailing purposes only are exempt from tax. Stamps (postage and other)
purchased as collector’s items are taxable.

To calculate the tax due on receipts from the sale of taxable nonfood items, multiply the total gross
receipts (less exempt sales if any) by the current Sales Tax rate. Follow the example below.

Example:
Receipts from sales of nonfood items $ 1,000
Tax due ($1,000 x 6.625% Sales Tax rate) $ 66.25

Food and Drink

Sales of food and drink for 26 cents or more through coin-operated vending machines are taxable.
Milk sales are exempt from taxation. Sales of all food and drink sold in vending machines located in
cafeterias or other eating facilities in elementary or secondary schools, and institutions of higher
education are also exempt. Student lounges, dormitories, gymnasiums, libraries, etc., are not
considered to be eating facilities.

Operators of vending machines that dispense taxable food and drink must report and pay Sales Tax on
the wholesale price of these items. The wholesale price is defined as 70% of the retail vending machine
selling price. The receipts from the sales of exempt items should be deducted from gross receipts prior
to calculating the tax. To calculate the tax due on sales of food and drink, subtract sales of milk and
30% of sales of food and beverages from total vending machine sales. Then multiply this amount by
the current Sales Tax rate.
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Example:
Receipts from sales of milk $ 1,000
Receipts from sales of food and
beverages (other than milk) $ 8,000
Total vending machine sales $ 9,000
Less deductions:
Milk $ 1,000
30% of sales of food and
beverages (other than milk)
($8,000 x 30%) $ 2400

Total deductions $ 3,400
Sales subject to tax $ 5,600
Tax due ($5,600 x 6.625% Sales Tax rate) $ 371

Registration

New Jersey law requires vendors operating coin-operated vending machines to register with the State
for tax purposes at least 15 business days before starting business. To fulfill the registration obligation,
you must file a Business Registration Application (Form NJ-REG). You can file Form NJ-REG online
through the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services’ NJ Business Gateway Services website. One
Sales Tax registration number will be given to each vendor for all machines. On each machine there
must be the following statement: “This vending machine is operated by Name of Vendor at Place of
Business of Vendor" and "New Jersey Sales Tax Registration Number !

You also may be required to make a public records filing depending on the type of business
ownership. More information on public records filing is available in the New Jersey Complete Business
Registration Package (NJ-REG) or by calling 609-292-9292.

Resale

A vendor may purchase all items to be sold through coin-operated vending machines without paying
New Jersey Sales Tax by issuing a Resale Certificate (Form ST-3) to a supplier. If the vendor
purchases the items out-of-state, the vendor may have to pay the other state’s sales tax. For further
information on out-of-state purchases and on the use of exemption certificates, see publications
ANJ-10, Out-of-State Sales & New Jersey Sales Tax, and Tax Topic Bulletin S&U-6, Sales Tax Exemption
Administration.

For More Information

Contact the Division’s Customer Service Center at 609-292-6400 or email us. Many State tax forms and
publications are available on our website.
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