
 

 

 

New Jersey Corporation Business Surtax and Minimum Tax Changes. 

 

The Governor signed into law a bill, A4706, imposing a 4% surtax in addition to the 

annual corporation franchise tax. For privilege periods ending on or after July 1, 2006 

but before July 1, 2009, each taxpayer shall be assessed and must pay a surtax equal to 

4% of the amount of tax liability remaining after applying credits against liability, other 

than credits for installment payments, estimated payments made with a request for 

extension to file a return, or overpayments from a prior privilege period. Payments of 

the surtax are to be made annually as required under N.J.S.A. 54:10A-15. No credits 

shall be allowed against the surtax liability except for credits for installment payments, 

estimated payments made with a request for an extension of time for filing a return, or 

overpayments from prior privilege periods. 

 

The law also makes adjustments to the New Jersey minimum tax under the Corporation 

Business Tax Act. For calendar years beginning in 2006 and thereafter, the minimum tax 

shall be based on New Jersey gross receipts as defined in the Alternative Minimum 

Assessment. The minimum tax is calculated based upon the following schedule: 
 

 
NEW JERSEY GROSS RECEIPTS MINIMUM TAX 

Less than $100,000 $ 500 

Equal to or greater than $100,000, but less 
than $250,000 

$ 750 

Equal to or greater than $250,000, but less 

than $500,000 

$1,000 

Equal to or greater than $500,000, but less 
than $1,000,000 

$1,500 

Equal to or greater than $1,000,000 $2,000 
 

 

The minimum tax for affiliated or controlled groups remains the same, $2,000 for each 

member of a group that has a total payroll of $5,000,000 or more for a privilege period. 


