2016 News Release

June 30, 2016

Office of Public Affairs (609) 882-2000
Capt. Stephen Jones - ext. 6513
Lt. Brian Polite - ext. 6514
SFC Gregory Williams - ext. 6515
Sgt. Jeff Flynn - ext. 6516

Celebrate This Holiday Weekend with Friends and Family

Not with the New Jersey State Police

West Trenton, N.J. - It is safe to say that we are all looking forward to this holiday weekend. This may include getting together with family and friends at a barbecue or driving to the Jersey shore to enjoy the beautiful weather or watching a fireworks display at one of the many venues throughout the state. Whatever way you plan to celebrate the 240th year of our country’s independence, we want you to do it safely.

To do our part, the New Jersey State Police will have more than 110 additional troopers on patrol statewide this holiday weekend, assisting motorists and looking for people not wearing their seatbelts, aggressive driving, speeding, DWI, and illegal fireworks. Additionally, troopers assigned to the detail, as well as normal patrols, will be looking for signs of fatigued and distracted drivers, who can be as dangerous as impaired drivers.

Troopers will also be on the lookout for any and all suspicious activity, but members of the public are our best defense against terrorism. You can anonymously report suspicious activity by calling 1-866-4SAFENJ, dialing 211, or via email at tips@ohsp.state.nj.us. If you see something, say something.

"The increase in patrols this holiday weekend serves a dual purpose,” said Lt. Colonel Patrick Callahan, Deputy Superintendent of the New Jersey State Police. "With an increase in traffic this weekend, additional troopers will be on patrol providing assistance to broken down motorists and investigating motor vehicle accidents. Their presence should also serve as a deterrent to those who chose to drive irresponsibly."

If you plan to celebrate Independence Day in New Jersey, please leave the fireworks to the experts. Not only is it dangerous but it is illegal to sell, use, or possess any kind of fireworks without a permit. Possession of fireworks is a disorderly persons offense, but possession with the intent to sell is a fourth-degree offense, with a possible maximum penalty of 18 months imprisonment and fines up to $10,000.

The 2016 July 4th holiday officially begins at 6:00 p.m. on Friday, July 1 and continues through 6:00 a.m. on Tuesday, July 5. During the 2015 July 4th holiday, three persons lost their lives on New Jersey roadways and two of those three persons were pedestrians. Since June 27, 263 people have died this year in traffic accidents compared to 248 highway deaths recorded during the same period in 2015.

# # #

Follow the New Jersey State Police online at Twitter and Facebook. The social media links provided are for reference only. The New Jersey State Police do not endorse any non-governmental websites, companies or applications.

Open Public Records Act
Divisional: NJSP Home | About Us | Recruiting | Division | Public Information | Services | News | FAQs | Contact Us
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs

Copyright © State of New Jersey,
New Jersey State Police