
PROPOSALS LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY 

 NEW JERSEY REGISTER, MONDAY, APRIL 7, 2014 (CITE 46 N.J.R. 585) 

SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS 

13:14-1.2 Definitions 
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have 

the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 
. . . 

“Child,”[,] for the purpose of determining whether an employee is 
eligible for family leave because of such employee’s parental status, 
means a child as defined in the Act to whom such employee is a 
biological parent, adoptive parent, foster parent, resource family parent, 
step-parent, or legal guardian, or has a “parent-child relationship” with a 
child as defined [by law] in N.J.S.A. 34:11B-3, or has sole or joint legal 
or physical custody, care, guardianship, or visitation with a child. 
. . . 

“Eligible employee” means any individual employed by the same 
employer [in the State of New Jersey] for 12 months or more, [and] who 
has worked 1,000 or more base hours during the preceding 12 month 
period. An employee is considered to be employed in the State of New 
Jersey if: 

1.-2. (No change.) 
“Employer” means an employer as defined in the Act, which employs 

50 or more employees, whether employed in New Jersey or not, for each 
working day during each of 20 or more calendar workweeks in the then 
current or immediately preceding calendar year. “Employer” includes the 
State, any political subdivision thereof, and all public offices, agencies, 
boards, or bodies, regardless of whether that government entity 
employs 50 or more employees. 

“Family member” means a child, parent, spouse, or partner in a 
civil union. 
. . . 

“Intermittent leave” means [a non-consecutive leave comprised of 
intervals each of which is at least one but less than 12 workweeks within 
a consecutive 12 month period] leave due to a single qualifying reason 
(the serious health condition of a specific family member or the birth 
or placement for adoption of a child), taken in separate periods of 
time, where each period of leave is at least one workweek. 

“Parent” means a person who is the biological parent, adoptive 
parent, resource family parent, step-parent, parent-in-law, or legal 
guardian, having a “parent-child relationship” with a child as 
defined in N.J.S.A. 34:11B-3, or having sole or joint legal or physical 
custody, care, guardianship, or visitation with a child. 

[“Reduced leave” means a non-consecutive leave of up to the 
equivalent of 12 workweeks which is taken in increments of not less than 
one workday, unless otherwise agreed to by the employee and employer, 
but less than one workweek at a time.] 

“Reduced leave schedule” means [a reduced leave that is scheduled for 
not more than 24 consecutive weeks.] leave due to a single qualifying 
reason (the serious health condition of a specific family member or 
the birth or placement for adoption of a child), that is scheduled for 
fewer than an employee’s usual number of hours worked per 
workweek, but not for fewer than an employee’s usual number of 
hours worked per workday, unless agreed to by the employee and the 
employer. 

“Serious health condition” means an illness, injury, impairment, or 
physical or mental condition which requires: 

1.-2. (No change.) 
As used in this definition, “continuing medical treatment or continuing 

supervision by a health care provider” means: 
1.-4. (No change.) 
5. Any period of absence to receive multiple treatments (including any 

period of recovery therefrom) by a health care provider or by a provider 
of health care services under orders of, or on referral by a health care 
provider, either for restorative surgery after an accident or other injury, or 
for a condition that would likely result in a period of incapacity [or] of 
more than three consecutive calendar days in the absence of medical 
intervention or treatment, such as cancer (chemotherapy, radiation, etc.), 
severe arthritis (physical therapy), or kidney disease (dialysis). 
. . . 

13:14-1.4 Terms of leave 
(a) Family leave may be taken for up to 12 weeks within any 24-month 

period. The leave may be paid, unpaid, or a combination of paid and 
unpaid. The employee who requests the leave must provide the employer 
[reasonable advance notice, the length of which will be determined by the 
type of leave requested, as set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:14-1.5] with notice no 
later than 30 days prior to the commencement of the leave, except 
where emergent circumstances warrant shorter notice. 

(b)-(d) (No change.) 

13:14-1.10 Certification by an employee or health care provider 
(a) (No change.) 
(b) An employer may require that any period of family leave be 

supported by certification issued by a [duly licensed] health care provider 
[or any other health care provider determined by the Director to be 
capable of providing adequate certification]. 

1. Where the certification is for the serious health condition of a family 
member of the employee, the certification shall be sufficient if it states 
the approximate date on which the serious health condition commenced, 
the probable duration of the condition and the medical facts within the 
provider’s knowledge [regarding the condition] showing that the family 
member’s health condition meets the criteria of a serious health 
condition. 

2.-3. (No change.) 
(c) (No change.) 

13:14-1.14 Notice to employees 
(a) Employers covered under the Act shall display the official Family 

Leave Act poster of the Division on Civil Rights in accordance with 
N.J.A.C. 13:8-2.2. The poster is available for printing from the 
Division’s website, www.njcivilrights.gov. 

(b) If an employer covered under the Act maintains written guidance 
to employees concerning employee benefits or leave rights, such as in an 
employee handbook, information concerning leave under the Act and 
employee obligations under the Act must be included in the handbook or 
other document. If an employer does not have written policies, manuals, 
or handbooks describing employee benefits and leave provisions, the 
employer shall provide written guidance to each of its employees 
concerning all the employee’s rights and obligations under the Act. 
Employers may duplicate and provide its employees a copy of the NJFLA 
Fact Sheet available on the Division’s website, [www.njcivilrights.org] 
www.njcivilrights.gov, to provide such guidance. 

__________ 

(a) 
DIVISION OF STATE POLICE 
Regulation of Bounty Hunters 
Proposed Readoption with Amendments: N.J.A.C. 

13:55B 
Proposed Repeals: N.J.A.C. 13:55B-2.5 and 3 
Authorized By: Colonel Joseph Fuentes, Superintendent, New Jersey 

State Police. 
Authority: N.J.S.A. 45:19-40. 
Calendar Reference: See Summary below for explanation of 

exception to calendar requirement. 
Proposal Number: PRN 2014-039. 

Submit written comments by June 6, 2014, to: 
Colonel Joseph R. Fuentes, Superintendent 
c/o Private Detective Unit 
Division Headquarters 
PO Box 7068 
West Trenton, New Jersey 08638 

The agency proposal follows: 

Summary 
In accordance with N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1.b, N.J.A.C. 13:55B, 

Regulation of Bounty Hunters, will expire on March 5, 2014. Since this 
notice of rules proposed for readoption with amendments has been filed 
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with the Office of Administrative Law prior to March 5, 2014, the 
expiration date of this chapter is extended 180 days to September 1, 2014, 
pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1.c(2). The Division of State Police 
(Division) has evaluated the rules at N.J.A.C. 13:55B and has determined 
that they are necessary, reasonable, and appropriate for the purpose for 
which they were originally promulgated. The Division proposes to 
readopt the rules with technical amendments to delete obsolete 
provisions. A summary of the Act follows: 

The Bounty Hunter Licensing Act (Act) P.L. 2005, c. 376, requires 
bounty hunters and employees of bounty hunters to be regulated by the 
Division of State Police. Prior to the enactment of P.L. 2005, c. 376, 
bounty hunters and their employees were unregulated. The Act grants the 
Superintendent of State Police regulatory power over both bounty hunters 
and employees of bounty hunters in order to ensure greater accountability 
and integrity within the bounty hunter industry, to ensure greater 
protection of individual rights, and to further public welfare and safety. 

Under the provisions of the Act, a person seeking to engage in the 
business of, offer to perform, or perform the functions, activities, or 
services of a bounty hunter must complete an application for a bounty 
hunter license on a form provided by and in a manner prescribed by the 
Superintendent, must pass a criminal history record background check, 
and must pay a fee established by rule. 

Under the provisions of the Act, licensed bounty hunters who wish to 
employ a person to assist the licensee in the licensee’s work and in the 
conduct of the licensee’s business must register the prospective employee 
with the Division of State Police and pay a fee established by rule. 
Prospective employees of licensed bounty hunters would also be required 
to pass a criminal history record background check. 

P.L. 2005, c. 376, also requires that persons seeking to be licensed as 
bounty hunters must have: 

1. At least five years of law enforcement experience as a law 
enforcement officer with an organized law enforcement agency; 

2. Five years experience as a licensed private detective; 
3. At least five years investigative employment by a licensed private 

detective; or 
4. Engaged in the business of or performed the functions, activities, or 

services of a bounty hunter, or have held a business out to be that of a 
bounty hunter for at least five years prior to February 1, 2007, provided 
that they submitted an application to the Superintendent before April 1, 
2007, and complete a bounty hunter training course in accordance with 
N.J.A.C. 13:55B. P.L. 2005, c. 376, empowers the Superintendent, 
among other things, to: 

1. Establish minimum requirements for persons seeking to be licensed 
as bounty hunters; 

2. Establish procedures for the licensing of bounty hunters; 
3. Establish procedures for the registration of employees of licensed 

bounty hunters; and 
4. Investigate and conduct criminal history background checks on 

persons seeking to be licensed as bounty hunters and persons seeking 
employment by licensed bounty hunters. 

A summary of the rules proposed for readoption and proposed 
amendments follows. 

Subchapter 1 sets forth the general provisions of the chapter. 
Specifically, N.J.A.C. 13:55B-1.1 states the purpose of the rules. 
N.J.A.C. 13:55B-1.2 states the scope and application of the chapter and 
N.J.A.C. 13:55B-1.3 contains definitions for words and terms used 
throughout the chapter. 

Subchapter 2 establishes minimum requirements for persons seeking 
to be licensed as bounty hunters and sets out procedures for obtaining a 
bounty hunter license. N.J.A.C. 13:55B-2.1 contains the minimum 
qualifications for persons seeking to be licensed as bounty hunters. The 
Division proposes to delete subsection (b), which permitted persons with 
five years experience as a bounty hunter prior to the effective date of the 
statute to become licensed, if an application was filed prior to April 1, 
2007. N.J.A.C. 13:55B-2.2 describes the legislative mandate, whereby no 
person shall perform the functions, activities, or services of a bounty 
hunter without a license after April 1, 2007. The Division proposes to 
delete the obsolete date, which has now passed. N.J.A.C. 13:55B-2.3 
describes the application process for persons seeking to be licensed as 
bounty hunters. N.J.A.C. 13:55B-2.4 describes the issuance of a bounty 

hunter license and bounty hunter identification card to an applicant 
subsequent to a background investigation and criminal history 
background check. The Division proposes to delete language in 
subsection (b) regarding issuance of a temporary bounty hunter license 
and temporary bounty hunter identification card to applicants with bounty 
hunter experience who lack requisite experience as a law enforcement 
officer, or as a licensed private detective, or investigative employment by 
a licensed private detective, since it refers to deleted N.J.A.C. 13:55B-
2.1(b). N.J.A.C. 13:55B-2.5 describes the bounty hunter training course 
requirement that applicants with bounty hunter experience who lack the 
requisite experience as a law enforcement officer, as a licensed private 
detective, or employment by a licensed private detective must complete 
prior to receiving a bounty hunter license and bounty hunter identification 
card, which is valid for two years. The Division proposes to repeal 
N.J.A.C. 13:55B-2.5 as it refers to an interim licensing period which is no 
longer in effect. N.J.A.C. 13:55B-2.6 describes the procedure for renewal 
of a bounty hunter license. N.J.A.C. 13:55B-2.7 sets forth reasons for 
which the Superintendent may deny an application for a bounty hunter 
license, revoke or suspend a current bounty hunter license, or refuse to 
renew an expiring bounty hunter license. 

Subchapter 3 describes the educational and training requirements for 
applicants with bounty hunter experience who lack requisite experience 
as a law enforcement officer, a licensed private detective, or through 
employment by a licensed private detective. N.J.A.C. 13:55B-3.1 
describes the minimum hours of instruction in specific areas which such 
applicants are required to receive prior to receiving a bounty hunter 
license and bounty hunter identification card. The Division proposes to 
repeal Subchapter 3 as it refers to an interim licensing period which is no 
longer in effect. 

Subchapter 4 describes the rights and obligations of licensed bounty 
hunters as employers, including the required registration of employees of 
licensed bounty hunters. N.J.A.C. 13:55B-4.1 distinguishes between 
bounty hunters and employees of bounty hunters, and describes an 
employing licensed bounty hunter’s obligation to obtain and maintain 
“employee statements” from all prospective and current employees. 
N.J.A.C. 13:55B-4.2 describes the process whereby a licensed bounty 
hunter must register employees with the Division of State Police. 
N.J.A.C. 13:55B-4.3 describes the process whereby a licensed bounty 
hunter must renew his or her registration of current employees with the 
Division of State Police every two years. N.J.A.C. 13:55B-4.4 describes 
the process whereby the Superintendent determines if a prospective or 
current employee is qualified for employment by a licensed bounty 
hunter and sets forth the reasons for which the Superintendent may 
disqualify a prospective or current employee from employment. N.J.A.C. 
13:55B-4.5 describes the requirement that a licensed bounty hunter must 
notify the Superintendent whenever an employee is terminated from 
employment. 

Subchapter 5 contains rules pertaining to bounty hunter badges, 
uniforms, identification cards, and other insignia. N.J.A.C. 13:55B-5.1 
proscribes the use of badges, uniforms, and other insignia that would 
likely be confused with that of a law enforcement officer. N.J.A.C. 
13:55B-5.2 prohibits the misuse of bounty hunter identification cards and 
provides for duplicate identification cards if the original is lost or 
destroyed. N.J.A.C. 13:55B-5.3 mandates that bounty hunter 
identification cards be carried and produced when requested, except if 
doing so would compromise the bounty hunter’s safety or assignment. 

Subchapter 6 sets forth additional administrative requirements and 
procedures for compliance with the Bounty Hunter Licensing Act and 
this chapter. N.J.A.C. 13:55B-6.1 describes the submission of 
applications, forms, other documents, and fees required by this chapter. 
N.J.A.C. 13:55B-6.2 describes the Superintendent’s power to inspect the 
business premises of licensed bounty hunters and impound records 
connected to investigations, as well as the requirement that licensed 
bounty hunters provide statements or reports concerning any matter being 
investigated. N.J.A.C. 13:55B-6.3 states that the Superintendent will 
provide written notice of denial, revocation, suspension, or refusal to 
renew licenses and registration cards, with reasons. The Superintendent 
will afford applicants, licensees, and registrants the opportunity for a 
hearing on request within 15 days. All hearings will be held in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et 
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seq. and the rules of the Uniform Administrative Procedure Rules, 
N.J.A.C. 1:1. 

Because the Superintendent has provided a 60-day comment period on 
this notice of proposal, this notice is excepted from the rulemaking 
calendar requirement pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5. 

Social Impact 
The rules proposed for readoption will have a positive impact on the 

welfare and safety of the public, as well as serve to protect the civil rights 
of citizens. P.L. 2005 c. 376 mandates that all bounty hunters receive 
education and training prior to being certified in subject areas such as 
constitutional law; arrest, search, and seizure; the unlawful use of force; 
and ethics/professional conduct. P.L. 2005 c. 376 also mandates 
background investigations and criminal history background checks on all 
applicants for a bounty hunter’s license and for employment by licensed 
bounty hunters, thus ensuring that bounty hunters and their employees are 
of the highest moral character. The proposed amendments and repeals are 
of a technical nature removing outdated “grandfathering” clauses and 
have no social impact. 

Economic Impact 
The rules proposed for readoption with amendments and repeals will 

have an economic impact on bounty hunters and their employees, who 
will have to pay application and registration fees, and pay for criminal 
history record checks. The rules proposed for readoption with 
amendments and repeals will have a minimal economic impact on the 
general public if these costs are passed on to sureties who employ bounty 
hunters, who in turn will then pass costs on to consumers. The proposed 
amendments and repeals are of a technical nature removing outdated 
“grandfathering” clauses and have no economic impact, as the costs 
would have already been borne by applicants. 

The Division recognizes that the fees contained within this chapter 
may have an economic impact on bounty hunters and their employees, 
and ultimately on businesses or persons requiring the services that bounty 
hunters and their employees provide. However, the Division believes that 
any negative economic impact on the bounty hunter industry resulting 
from implementation of the rules is more than offset by greater 
accountability and integrity within the bounty hunter industry, greater 
protection of individual rights, and an overall positive impact on public 
welfare and safety. 

Federal Standards Statement 
The rules proposed for readoption with amendments and repeals are 

not subject to any Federal standards or requirements. Therefore, a Federal 
standards analysis is not required. 

Jobs Impact 
The rules proposed for readoption with amendments and repeals will 

not result in the generation or loss of jobs in New Jersey. The demand for 
bounty hunters and their employees is set by surety companies who 
utilize their services. These companies are unaffected by these rules, save 
for minimal economic costs, which might be passed onto them by bounty 
hunters. 

Agriculture Industry Impact 
The rules proposed for readoption with amendments and repeals will 

not have an impact on the agriculture industry of the State. 

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 
The rules proposed for readoption with amendments and repeals apply 

to approximately 300 individual bounty hunters throughout the State, 
most of whom operate without employees and act as individual 
subcontractors or agents of surety companies, who may be considered 
small businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 
52:14B-16 et seq. The rules proposed for readoption with amendments 
and repeals impose only those minimal reporting, recordkeeping, or other 
compliance requirements on these sole proprietorships that are deemed 
necessary to ensure greater accountability and integrity within the bounty 
hunter industry, to ensure greater protection of individual rights, and to 
further public welfare and safety, as discussed in the Summary above. 
The compliance requirements include submission of applications and 
registration forms for licensing and registration of employees on a 
biennial basis, maintenance of “employee statements,” notification of 

termination whenever an employee ceases to be employed by a licensed 
bounty hunter, and criminal history background checks as mandated by 
the Bounty Hunter Licensing Act. Compliance costs are discussed in the 
Economic Impact above. No professional services are required for 
compliance. 

Housing Affordability Impact Analysis 
The rules proposed for readoption with amendments and repeals will 

have an insignificant impact on affordable housing in New Jersey and 
there is an extreme unlikelihood that the rules would evoke a change in 
the average costs associated with housing because the rules apply to the 
business of bounty hunting. 

Smart Growth Development Impact Analysis 
The rules proposed for readoption with amendments and repeals will 

not have any impact on the achievement of smart growth and there is an 
extreme unlikelihood that the rules would evoke a change in housing 
production in Planning Areas 1 or 2, or within designated centers, under 
the State Development and Redevelopment Plan in New Jersey because 
the rules apply to the business of bounty hunting. 

Full text of the rules proposed for readoption may be found in the 
New Jersey Administrative Code at N.J.A.C. 13:55B. 

Full text of the rules proposed for repeal may be found in the New 
Jersey Administrative Code at N.J.A.C. 13:55B-2.5 and 3. 

Full text of the proposed amendments follows (additions indicated in 
boldface thus; deletions indicated in brackets [thus]): 

SUBCHAPTER 2. LICENSING OF BOUNTY HUNTERS 

13:55B-2.1 Minimum qualifications to be a licensed bounty hunter 
(a) (No change.) 
[(b) Notwithstanding the requirements of (a)3 above, any person who 

can document or demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Superintendent 
that they, for at least five years prior to February 1, 2007, have engaged 
in the business of or performed the functions, activities or services of a 
bounty hunter, or has held a business out to be that of a bounty hunter, 
and who meets the requirements set forth in (a)1 and 2 above, shall be 
deemed to have met the minimum requirements necessary to become a 
licensed bounty hunter if that person submits an application to the 
Superintendent before April 1, 2007, and if that person completes the 
bounty hunter training course in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:55B-2.5.] 

13:55B-2.2 Licensure required to be a licensed bounty hunter 
No person shall engage in the business of, or perform, or offer to 

perform, the functions, activities or services of a bounty hunter, or 
advertise or hold a business out to be that of a bounty hunter [after April 
1, 2007], unless that person is licensed by the Superintendent as set forth 
in this chapter. Any person who engages in the business of, or performs, 
or offers to perform, the functions, activities or services of a bounty 
hunter, or advertises or holds a business out to be that of a bounty hunter, 
without first having received a license to do so, shall be guilty of a crime 
of the fourth degree. 

13:55B-2.4 Issuance of a bounty hunter license and a bounty hunter 
identification card 

(a) (No change.) 
(b) If an application for a bounty hunter license is approved, the 

Superintendent shall issue a bounty hunter license and a bounty hunter 
identification card to the applicant, which shall be valid for two years[, 
except that an applicant who has applied for a bounty hunter license 
pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:55B-2.1(b) shall be issued a temporary bounty 
hunter license and a temporary bounty hunter identification card valid for 
90 days during which time the applicant must complete an approved 
bounty hunter training course as required by N.J.A.C. 13:55B-2.5]. 

__________ 


