NEW Private Detective License Application Instructions

e Review the Private Detective Act of 1939, Amended Statutes & Rules and Regulations
prior to continuing.

Things to know
e YOU MUST BE A U.S. CITIZEN with proof of citizenship

e NO PERSON who is an ACTIVE member of an organized POLICE DEPARTMENT of
this or any other State...or who is an officer or INVESTIGATOR with an investigative
agency of the United States of America or of any State, County or municipality thereof,
shall be issued a Private Detective License, nor shall he be a qualifying member, officer
or director of any firm, association or corporation licensed under the Act (13:55-1.8
Active Law Enforcement Officers)

e A credit check is performed as part of your background investigation. If your credit is
frozen, you must unfreeze it. Poor credit may inhibit you from obtaining a license

Existing Corporation or LLC
e Ifyou are applying as an Officer or Qualifier of an existing NJ license:

-indicate license # in the upper right corner of the application in the box labeled “Case
File Number”

-a letter of intention that you would like to be added to the license on company letterhead
with personal direct contact information for the license holder

-we do not require an application fee or bond for an existing NJ license (subject to
change)

Bond
e Do NOT purchase a bond until your background investigation has been completed & you
receive further instructions from a member of the Private Detective Unit

Fingerprints
e See instructions under Fingerprint Section

Fees
e Applicants must submit their application along with a Non-Refundable license fee:

-Individual License Fee: $250.00 (Cashier’s Check, Business Check or Money Order)

-LLC or Corporation License Fee: $300.00 (Cashier’s Check, Business Check or Money
Order)



-NO PERSONAL CHECKS
-NO fee required if you are being added to an EXISTING license (subject to change)

-Check made out to “State of New Jersey”

Instructions for Application for Private Detective License
Application can be found in the Application Section

Page 1:
e All information must be filled out & legible

e Include cell phone number & personal email address

Page 2:
e Indicate only one type of license for which you are applying (ONLY check one
(1) box)
e List all individuals on your current corporate or LLC filing
e Select two names for your proposed license
e Ifyou have already filed your corporation or LLC with the NJ Department of
Treasury, submit your filing with this application
e Out of State must also file with the NJ Department of Treasury
Page 3:

e Submit a recent photo (shoulders & above, no glasses or hats)
e Must be a U.S. Citizen
e Ifyou answer yes to any of the four (4) questions, state full details

Any omission or misstatement of fact is grounds for DENIAL - NJAC 13:55-1.11. Any
person who shall knowingly state any fact falsely shall be guilty of a misdemeanor -
NJS 45:19-11

Page 4:
e List all experience, licenses, certificates and all relevant employment information

that would qualify you for a license

Page S:
e Applicant shall list five (5) unrelated reputable citizens over the age of 21



e References will sign & date form, attesting to the approval of applicant’s character

& competence

Page 6:
e Authorization for Release of Information must be signed, dated and notarized

Page 7:

e Continuation page, if needed

Page 8:

e New Jersey State Police use only

Remit Application to: New Jersey State Police
Private Detective Unit

P.O. Box 7068
West Trenton, N.J. 08628
Attn: PI Application




