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STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

STATE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS

IN THE MATTER OF THE SUSPENSION
OR REVOCATION OF THE LICENSE OF : Administrative Action

ERIC THOMAS, M.D. : CONSENT ORDER
LICENSE NO. 25MA08851700 :
TO PRACTICE MEDICTINE AND SURGERY :
IN THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY H

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of Medical
Examiners (“Board”) upon the filing of a Verified Complaint and an Order
to Show Cause on October 1, 2015. Both the Verified Complaint and Brief
alleged that Respondent, Eric Thomas, M.D. engaged in indiscriminate
prescribing and that hig continuing practice of medicine presented a
clear and imminent danger to the public.

A hearing on the application for the temporary suspension of Dr.
Thomas’ license commenced before the Board on October 14, 2015, and
ultimately concluded on November 4, 2015. Upon consideration of all
evidence and'testimony presented, the Board found that the State had met

its burden, and palpably demonstrated that Dr. Thomas’ Qontinued practice
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of medicine presented a clear and imminent danger to the public health
safety, and welfare, and therefore temporarily suspended his license to
practice medicine. The matter was then transferred to the Office of
Administrative Law as a contested case and assigned Docket No. BDS 19990-
15,

It appearing that Respondent has read the terms of the within Order
and understands their meaning and effect and consents to be bound by
same, it further appearing that Respondent agrees to the terms of this
Consent Order as a settlement of a disputed matter, and denies any and
all wrongdoing, the Board finding the within disposition adequately
protective of the public health, safety, and welfare; and it appearing
that good cause exists for the entry of the within Order;

IT IS8, therefore, on this ;2.53 day of February, 2018,

ORDERED AND AGREED THAT:

1. Respondent agrees to retire his license to practice medicine
and surgexry in the State of New Jersey, with such retirement to be deemed
a permanent suspension.

2. Respondent’sg New Jersey CDS Registration is hereby surrendered
to the Director of the Division of Consumer Affairs. The New Jersey State
Boaxrd of Medical Examiners takes no position with respect to any
application by Dr. Thomas for DEA credentials/privileges in any other
state.

3. Respondent is hereby assessed civil penalties in the amount of
$100,000 which are stayed until and unless the Board finds that
Respondent has violated the terms of this Order or has engaged in any

other violations. Respondent shall pay a total of $20,000 to reimburse



the Board for costs incurred in the prosecution of this matter. Payment
shall be made over the course of three years in equal monthly
installments of $555.55. Any and all payments required to be made by this
Consent Order shall be made by wire transfer or by bank check, money
order, or certified check made payable to the State of New Jersey and
sent to Executive Director William Roeder, New Jersey Board of Medical
Examiners, P.O. Box 183, Trenton, New Jersey 08625. For any costs not
paid within 10 days of their due date the entire balance shall become due
and owing and a Certificate of Debt shall be filed pursuant to N.J.S.A,
45:1-24 to protect the judgment.

4. Respondent shall immediately return his original New Jersey
medical license and CDS Registration to the New Jersey Board of Medical
Examiners, P.O. Box 183, Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0183.

5. Respondent shall immediately advise the DEA of this Order,
specifically” the suspension of his license to practice medicine and
surgery and CDS Registration in the State of New Jersey.

6. Respondent shall comply with the Directives Applicable to any
Medical Board Licensee who is Disciplined or Whose Surrender of Licensure
or Cessation of Prgctice has been Ordered or Agreed upon, which are
attached hereto and made a part hereof.

7. Reaspondent shall divest himself from any current and future
financial interest in or benefit from the practice of medicine in New
Jersey, including but not limited to the provision of health care
activities taking place at North Arlington Medical Associates,
Respondent’s former medical office, or anywhere else in the State of New

Jersey.



8. Respondent shall be precluded from wmanaging, overseeing,
supervising or influencing the practice of medicine or the provision of
health care services in the State of New Jersey.

9. Respondent agrees not to reapply for a New Jersey medical
license or to seek a CDS registration in the State of New Jersey in the
future.

10. The parties stipulate that entry of this Order is without
prejudice to further action, by this Board, the Attorney General, the
Drug Control Unit, the Director of the Division of Consumer Affairs or
other law enforcement entities resulting from Respondent’s conduct prior
to the entry of this Order.

11. This Final Consent Order shall be a full and final
disposition of the Administrative matter docketed as BDS-19990-15. The

Board shall retain jurisdiction to enforce the terms of this Order.

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF
MEDICAL NERS

BY: e /> — Q/\/

Padl Carniol, M.D.
Board President

I have read this Order and
understand the Order and agree
to be bound by its terms and
conditions.

g,,.,;, /7/&&744%

Eric Thomas, M.D.
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Date
Consent as to form of
this Order.

Dughi, Hewit & Domalewski, P.C.
Attorneys for Respondent
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Michael J. Keatirﬁ, Esq.
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DIRECTIVES APPLICABLE TO ANY MEDICAL BOARD LICENSEE
WHO IS DISCIPLINED OR WHOSE SURRENDER OF LICENSURE
OR CESSATION OF PRACTICE HAS BEEN ORDERED OR AGREED UPON

APPROVED BY THE BOARD ON AUGUST 12, 2015

All licensees who are the subject of a disciplinary order or
surrender or cessation order (herein after, “Order”) of the Board
shall provide the information required on the addendum to these
directives. Failure to provide the information required may result
in further disciplinary action for failing to cooperate with the
Board, as required by N.J.A.C. 13:45C-1 et seqg: Paragraphs 1
through 4 below shall apply when a licensee is suspended, revoked,
has surrendered his or her license, or entered into an agreement to
cease practice, with or without prejudice, whether on an interim or
final basis. Paragraph 5 applies to licensees who are the subject
of an order which, while permitting continued practice, contains
probationary terms or monitoring requirement.

1. Document Return and Agency Notification

The licensee shall promptly forward to the Board office at Post
Office Box 183, 140 East Front Street, 2nd floor, Trenton, New
Jersey 08625-0183, the original 1license, current biennial
registration and, if applicable, the original CDS registration. In
addition, if the licensee holds a Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA)
registration, he or she shall promptly advise the DEA of the
licensure action. (With respect to suspensions of a finite term, at
the conclusion of the term, the licensee may contact the Board
office for the return of the documents previously surrendered to
the Board. Prior to the resumption of any prescribing of
controlled dangerous substances, the licensee shall petition the
Director of Consumer Affairs for a return of the CDS registration
if the basis for discipline involved CDS misconduct. In addition,
at the conclusion of the term, the licensee should contact the DEA
to advise of the resumption of practice and to ascertain the impact
of that change upon his/her DEA registration.)

2. Practice Cessation

The licensee shall cease and desist from engaging in the practice
of medicine in this State. This prohibition not only bars a
licensee from rendering professional services, but also from
providing an opinion as to professional practice or its
application, or representing him/herself as being eligible to
practice. (Although the licensee need not affirmatively advise
patients or others of the revocation, suspension, surrender or
cessation, the licensee must truthfully disclose his/her licensure
status in response to inquiry.) The licensee subject to the order



is also prohibited from occupying, sharing or using office space in
which another licensee provides health care services. The licensee
subject to the order may contract for, accept payment from another
licensee for rent at fair market value for office premises and/or
equipment. In no case may the licensee subject to the order
authorize, allow or condone the use of his/her provider number by
any health care practice or any other licensee or health care
provider. In situations where the licensee has been subject to the
order for less than one year, the licensee may accept payment from
another professional who is using his/her office during the period
that the licensee is (suspended), subject to the order for the

payment of salaries for office staff employed at the time of the
Board action.

A licensee whose license has been revoked, suspended or subject to
a surrender or cessation order for one (1) year or more must
immediately take steps to remove signs and take affirmative action
to stop advertisements by which his/her eligibility to practice is
represented. The licensee must also take steps to remove his/her
name from professional listings, telephone directories,
professional stationery, or billings. If the licensee's name is
utilized in a group practice title, it shall be deleted.
Prescription pads bearing the licensee's name shall be destroyed. A
destruction report form obtained from the Office of Drug Control
(973-504-6558) must be filed. If no other licensee is providing
services at the location, all medications must be removed and
returned to the manufacturer, if possible, destroyed or
safeguarded. (In situations where a license has been suspended for
less than one year, prescription pads and medications need not be
destroyed but must be secured in a locked place for safekeeping.)

3. Practice Income Prohibitions/Divestiture of Equity Interest in
Professional Service Corporations and Limited Liability
Companies

A licensee subject to the order shall not charge, receive or share
in any fee for professional services rendered by him/herself or
others while barred from engaging in the professional practice.l
The licensee may be compensated for the reasonable value of
services lawfully rendered and disbursements incurred on a
patient's behalf prior to the effective date of the Board order.

!This bar on the receipt of any fee for professional services is
not applicable to cease and desist orders where there are no
findings that would be a basis for Board action, such as those
entered adjourning a hearing.



A licensee who is a shareholder in a professional service
corporation organized to engage in the professional practice, whose
license is revoked, surrendered or suspended or who is ordered to
cease practice for a term of one (1) year or more shall be deemed
to be disqualified from the practice within the meaning of the
Professional Service Corporation Act. (N.J.S.A. 14A:17-11). A
disqualified licensee shall divest him/herself of all financial
interest in the professional service corporation pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 14A:17-13(c). A disqualified licensee who is a member of a
limited liability company organized pursuant to N.J.S.A. 42:1-44,
shall also divest him/herself of all financial interest. Such
divestiture of the licensee’s interest in the limited liability
company or professional service corporation shall occur within 90
days following the entry of the order rendering the licensee
disqualified to participate in the applicable form of ownership.

Upon divestiture, a licensee shall forward to the Board a copy of
documentation forwarded to the Division of Revenue and Enterprise
Services demonstrating that the interest has been terminated. If
the licensee is the sole shareholder in a professional service
corporation or sole member of the limited liability company, the
corporation must be dissolved within 90 days of the licensee's
disqualification unless it is lawfully transferred to another
licensee and documentation of the valuation process and
consideration paid is also provided to the Board.

4. Medical Records

If, as a result of the Board's action, a practice is closed or
transferred to another location, the licensee shall ensure that
(during the three (3) month period) immediately following the
effective date of the disciplinary order, a message will be
delivered to patients calling the former office premises, advising
where records may be obtained. The message should inform patients
of the names and telephone numbers of the' licensee (or his/her
attorney) assuming custody of the records. The same information
shall also be disseminated by means of a notice to be published at
least once per month for three (3) months in a newspaper of general
circulation in the geographic vicinity in which the practice was

conducted. If the licensee has a website, a notice shall be posted
on the website as well.

At the end of the three month period, the licensee shall file with
the Board the name and telephone number of the contact person who
will have access to medical records of former patients. Any change
in that individual or his/her telephone number shall be promptly
reported to the Board. When a patient or his/her representative
requests a copy of his/her medical record or asks that record be
forwarded to another health care provider, the licensee shall
promptly provide the record without charge to the patient.



5. Probation/Monitoring Conditions

With respect to any licensee who is the subject of any order
imposing a probation or monitoring requirement or a stay of an
active suspension, in whole or in part, which is conditioned upon
compliance with a probation or monitoring requirement, the licensee
shall fully cooperate with the Board and its designated
representatives, including the Enforcement Bureau of the Division
of Consumer Affairs, in ongoing monitoring of the licensee's status
and practice. Such monitoring shall be at the expense of the
disciplined practitioner.

(a) Monitoring of practice conditions may include, but is not
limited to, inspection of the professional premises and equipment,
and Inspection and copying of patient records (confidentiality of
patient identity shall be protected by the Board) to verify
compliance with the Board Order and accepted standards of practice.

(b) Monitoring of status conditions for an impaired
practitioner may include, but is not limited to, practitioner
cooperation in providing releases permitting unrestricted access to
records and other information to the extent permitted by law from
any treatment facility, other treating practitioner, support group
or other individual/facility involved in the education, treatment,
monitoring or oversight of the practitioner, or maintained by a
rehabilitation program for impaired practitioners. If bodily
substance monitoring has been ordered, the practitioner shall fully
cooperate by responding to a demand for breath, blood, urine or

other sample in a timely manner and providing the designated
sample.

6. Payment of Civil and Criminal Penalties and Costs.

With respect to any licensee who is the subject of any order
imposing a civil penalty and/or costs, the licensee shall satisfy
the payment obligations within the time period ordered by the Board
or be subject to collection efforts or the filing of a certificate
of debt. The Board shall not consider any application for
reinstatement nor shall any appearance before a committee of the
Board seeking reinstatement be scheduled until such time as the
Board ordered payments are satisfied in full. (The Board at its

discretion may grant installment payments for not more than a 24
months period.)

As to the satisfaction of criminal penalties and civil forfeitures,
the Board will consider a reinstatement application so long as the
licensee is current in his or her payment plans.



NOTICE OF REPORTING PRACTICES OF BOARD
REGARDING DISCIPLINARY ORDERS/ACTIONS

All Orders filed by the New Jersey State Board of Medical Examiners
are “government records” as defined under the Open Public Records
Act and are available for public inspection, copying or
examination. See N.J.S.A. 47:1A-1, et seq., N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3(3).
Should any inquiry be made to the Board concerning the status of a
licensee who has been the subject of a Board Order, the inquirer
will be informed of the existence of the Order and a copy will be
provided on request. Unless sealed or otherwise confidential, all
documents filed in public actions taken against licensees, to
include documents filed or introduced into evidence in evidentiary
hearings, proceedings on motions or other applications conducted as
public hearings, and the transcripts of any such proceedings, are
“government records” available for public inspection, copying or
examination.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:9-22, a description of any final board
disciplinary action taken within the most recent ten years 1is
included on the New Jersey Health Care Profile maintained by the
Division of Consumer Affairs for all licensed physicians. Links to
copies of Orders described thereon are also available on the
Profile website. See http://www.njdoctorlist.com.

Copies of disciplinary Orders entered by the Board are additionally
posted and available for inspection or download on the Board of
Medical Examiners’ website.

See http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/bme.

Pursuant to federal law, the Board is required to report to the
National Practitioner Data Bank (the “NPDB”) certain adverse
licensure actions taken against licensees related to professional
competence or conduct, generally including the revocation or
suspension of a license; reprimand; censure; and/or probation.
Additionally, any negative action or finding by the Board that,
under New Jersey law, is publicly available information is
reportable to the NPDB, to include, without limitation, limitations
on scope of practice and final adverse actions that occur in
conjunction with settlements in which no finding of liability has
been made. Additional information regarding the specific actions
which the Board is required to report to the National Practitioner
Data Bank can be found in the NPDB Guidebook issued by the U.S.
Department of Health and Human Services in April 2015. See
http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/resources/npdbguidebook.pdf.




Pursuant to N.J.S.A.45:9-19.13, in any case in which the Board
refuses to issue, suspends, revokes or otherwise places conditions
on a license or permit, the Board is required to notify each
licensed health care facility and health maintenance organization
with which a licensee is affiliated and every other board licensee
in this state with whom he or she is directly associated in private
medical practice.

In accordance with an agreement with the Federation of State
Medical Boards of the United States, a list of all disciplinary
orders entered by the Board is provided to the Federation on a
monthly basis.

From time to time, the Press Office of the Division of Consumer
Affairs may issue press releases including information regarding
public actions taken by the Board.

Nothing herein is intended in any way to limit the Board, the
Division of Consumer Affairs or the Attorney General from
disclosing any public document.



