MINUTES OF EXECUTIVE SESSION NEW JERSEY PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS COMMISSION April 28, 2005 10:30 a.m. 495 West State Street Trenton, NJ

The executive session was called to order by Chairman Lawrence Henderson

Present were: Chairman:

Lawrence Henderson

Commissioners:

Donald J. Buchanan Peter J. DiNardo Cheryl G. Fuller Matthew U. Watkins

Also present were: Robert E. Anderson, General Counsel Susan Galante, Special Counsel to the Chairman Don Horowitz, Deputy General Counsel Timothy Hundley, Director of Conciliation & Arbitration Ira Mintz, Special Assistant to the Chairman Annette Thompson, who acted as Stenographer

Chairman Henderson opened the session by stating that in March 2002, the Commission appointed, for three-year terms, most members of the current Special Panel of Interest Arbitrators. In December of 2004, one additional member was added to the panel. He is recommending that the Commission reappoint the panel members for three-year terms, in accordance with <u>N.J.A.C</u>. 19:16-5.6 and <u>N.J.A.C</u>. 19:16-5.15. Chairman Henderson stated that Tim Hundley, Director of Conciliation and Arbitration, was present to answer any questions. Commissioner Watkins asked if the reappointments would be for three years, after all the adjustments have been made. Chairman Henderson responded that is correct. Commissioner Buchanan asked if there have been any complaints. Chairman Henderson responded that there have not been any. Commissioner Fuller asked if the three-year terms would commence and end at the same time for all arbitrators. Chairman Henderson responded yes. Commissioner Watkins asked if there is a set number of arbitrators that is maintained on the panel. Tim Hundley responded that there is no set number and that appointment to the panel depends solely on an arbitrator's meeting the Commission's high standards.

Commissioner Watkins moved to close the executive session and Commissioner Buchanan seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved (Chairman Henderson, Commissioners Buchanan, DiNardo, Fuller and Watkins). The executive session then ended.

-2-